Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

AARP

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about AARP

1952nonnie Send email
 
Jul 26, 2014

Travel bag - not

I used to have an AARP membership which was given as a gift. When I received the renewal notice with the free insulated travel bag offer I threw it on the pile of other "l'll look at it later" mail with the intentions of maybe renewing. Next time I picked it up was to throw it away but, being like all of us, the allure of getting something free caused me to give it a second glance. After closely reading the details about the bag, I realized there still wasn't enough information to make me want to renew. My previous experience with AARP was unmemorable, as another reviewer wrote, ' I can get the same discounts with my AAA membership'. So admittedly, if I were to renew it would only be because of the gift offer. Decided to google it in an attempt to find out more details - how big, how sturdy, etc. First thing my search results brought up was the complaints, which of course I proceeded to read every one of them expecting to find maybe one or two praising the bag. Finding none I tore the offer card in half and threw it away. If the gift being offered is the only reason to purchase a membership you had better do some research into the gift, after all, you will be paying for it. If you are not in the least bit interested in what you're really paying for - the membership and the perks that come with it, why bother? Why would you send money and then complain about what was free to begin with- especially if you didn't take the time to look into it further? Everyone who has posted a complaint has access to the internet, why take the time to complain when you could have taken the time to research it first?
mickeyfan63 Send email
 
Jul 10, 2014

insulated bag

I agree with the other complaints, I expected a bigger bag, but when I received it I was greatly disappointed. It's a smaller version of a lunch bag, you can fit a sandwich and soda and that's it. They better explain the size on their ads so there won't be any more complaints.
RetireGranny Send email
 
Jun 8, 2014

Free "Travel Bag"

Shame on me for trusting AARP. I received the free insulated travel bag with the purchase of a membership and discovered the "travel bag" was a lunch bag. It is obvious to me that credibility is not important to AARP. This membership campaign has been running for several years with many complaints, yet AARP continues this dishonest practice. I feel that I cannot believe anything that AARP claims and will pass this information on to all my friends.

I have requested my membership be canceled and refund of $49 sent immediately. Also, I have requested that any and all of my personal information NOT be shared with anyone, including AARP member products or services or selected nonprofits; and, remove my name from your mailing list.
ryansmom Send email
 
Apr 14, 2014

I received someone else's membership card

AARP sent another couple's membership cards to my address, which means my cards were sent to someone else. I called customer service and got a run-around from a representative and her supervisor. The supervisor finally admitted there had been a "glitch I the system" but when I tried to press for reassurance that my cards had NOT been sent elsewhere, she would not confirm and kept deflecting my concerns. I requested a phone number for corporate so I could voice my concerns regarding identity theft implications and was told no phone numbers were available but I could email their membership department. As far as I'm concerned, this is a security breach and warrants a lot more concern than was shown by their unhelpful staff.
heidi343 Send email
 
Apr 14, 2014

Red travel bag on wheels

I saw the red insulated bag on wheels, I ran into a couple that had one and it was a nice bag. It is a nice size and good and roomy, the problem is that I have been waiting and they keep sending me a sandwich bag.
Flagirl50 Send email
 
Dec 27, 2013

Where is my Insulated Travel Bag

I have been waiting for this bag since August,2013..Still have not gotten it ..But from the reviews/comments don't think I am missing anything.
aea63 Send email
 
Sep 18, 2012

travel bag

I have called numerous times because I still haven't received my free travel bag ( talk about a bait and switch operation you have going on) how in the hell long doe's it take to get from California to Utah, and every time I call they say it is on the way , not! come on get with it and send them to all the people you promised you would or refund our money , It sure in the hell didn't take 6-8 weeks to cash our checks. I will not renew my aarp card and will tell all my friend you are a bunch of liars!!!!!
Central Iowa Guy Send email
 
Aug 18, 2012

AARP Travel Bag

I'm amazed at the complaints about this bag. Recently, I received the same promotional piece from AARP, and I noticed the following things about it:

1. Nowhere does it state the dimensions of the bag. To me, that's the first sign that I don't have details I may want to know. Consequently, I need to look further.

2. In the photo, I can see that a car key fob is attached on the right side. Car key fobs tend to be only a couple inches long, so I can easily see that the bag is only two or three times the length of my key fob.

3. I can see a pen in the pocket on the front of the bag. From that, I can easily estimate that the bag is perhaps twice the length of an average pen. To me, that's a clear sign the bag is small.

4. In the top of the bag I can see a banana and one snack bar that I would figure is probably the size of a standard granola bar. From their usual size, I can also likely guess that the bag is not terribly deep.

4. Nowhere does the piece refer to the "insulated travel bag" as anything that gives me the impression that it is what I would consider luggage that I would pack as any sort of bag to roll aboard, use as a sort of suitcase, or even a cooler for holding anything much larger than one bottled beverage.

5. The photo clearly shows the bag won't serve as an insulated carrier for much more than one bottled beverage, so I didn't think of the bag as a cooler. From what is shown in the photo, I'd figure I'd use the bag only for conveniently carrying a few very small items when I travel and don't want to stuff my pockets or carry a large bag.

6. Some complaints say AARP was using false advertising. False advertising applies to the goods, services, or commercial activities a business offers. From my experience, AARP does provide the goods, services, and activities they sell. AARP was not selling you the bag. They were selling their services and they threw in the bag as an incentive to get you to buy the services. The bag itself is not a good, service, or activity of AARP. Even if the bag were a good, service, or activity of AARP, they make no claims about what the bag will or will not do other than that the bag is insulated and can be used for travel. If you read more into that they what they say, you are assuming much that the photo easily gives away.

I would also add to this the following points:

a. A consumer needs to take care to confirm they are getting what they expect. The phrase "Caveat emptor" (Let the buyer beware) goes back a few thousand years.

b. AARP makes no promises or statements about the bag's dimensions. If it may be helpful to you to know the size of the bag, then ask. If you think AARP is being deceitful, you haven't paid attention to how many things are sold. For evidence, look at car ads (print or on TV) that give you the impression that many small cars are large, long, and powerful. For more evidence, look at food ads for things like the size of meal portions and think about how often the item you receive at the restaurant is the same size and has the same eye appeal as what you see in print, online, or on TV. For further evidence, look at the size of your cereal box compared to its contents, the size of your potato chip bag compared to its contents, and so on.

c. If you still feel cheated, consider that AARP does not state or imply a value for the bag. They say it is free as a bonus gift. I checked online for similar bags and found they range in cost from about $9 on up to nearly $20 in retail price. Even if you assume that it costs AARP $1 or $2 per bag from whoever their fulfillment item provider is, the bag is still worth about 6% to 12% of the cost of annual membership.

d. When you get a gift for free, try to have the graciousness not to complain. If you bought AARP membership thinking the bag was worth more than the $16 membership fee, you clearly didn't do your homework. Also, you probably weren't joining AARP to get the benefits of membership but to get the free gift. Why join or buy something you don't intend to use? Sandiegoliving and a few other respondents understand this, but the complainers haven't figured that out.

Last point: I joined AARP in July and have already used my membership to save over $80 in a few hotel stays. When I joined, there was no free gift offer of any kind. While it may have been nice for me to get a free gift, I'm not lodging a complaint with AARP asking or demanding "Where's mine?" Instead, I'm appreciative of the services they do offer, and I weighed whether I thought membership was going to yield me more than $16 in savings. To me, membership is a bargain, with or without a low-value gift throw in at no cost.
User915456 Send email
 
Mar 28, 2012

Travel Bag

Well, after a couple of weeks of waiting for a response, I did finally receive an apology email from AARP regarding the incorrect travel bag. The email said they would send it in the next four weeks. The email I received is below. (I suggest to anyone who received the incorrect bag that you send an email to the email address below.

Thank you for contacting AARP. We appreciate hearing from you.

We have mailed the AARP Travel Pack you requested. You will receive
it within the next four weeks.

Thank you again for contacting us. Please accept our apologies for
the delay in getting back to you. It has been our pleasure to assist
you.

Jaimie
Member Communications
Member@aarp.org
User924296 Send email
 
Mar 27, 2012

Travel Bag

I was going to subscribe to AARP but I will NOT now because of what was written about the insulated travel bag. I guess it should be called an insult travel bag. AARP should know that you can only make one first impression and they messed up with this offer.
User924296 Send email
 
Mar 27, 2012

Travel Bag

I was going to subscribe to AARP but I will NOT now because of what was written about the insulated travel bag. I guess it should be called an "insult travel bag". AARP should know that you can only make one first impression and they messed up with this offer.
User924079 Send email
 
Mar 27, 2012

Travel Bag

It appears to me that there have been different bags represented in different media, i.e., TV, print and on-line.
Everything from a small wheeled carry-on type bag, back-pack type bag, grocery tote bag and two different bags called travel bags (small insulated red bag with draw string & black passport/cell phone/wallet bag).
I actually connected via phone with customer service to make my request for a bag and still was confused by what I was going to receive. Descriptions and dimensions of the items offered were not clear. I must admit that I should not complain that the item I received was not what I expected. After all, it was FREE. For those of us who may have thought about joining AARP and finally decided to join because we thought there was a freebee bonus to do so, a valuable lesson has been learned or relearned. I only joined for one year and will have that time to see if there will be any tangible benefit to continue membership beyond that.
Indigogirl1 Send email
 
Mar 6, 2012

Travel Bag

Apparently AARP has been sending this crappy little good for nothing bag for a long time (looks like the complaints started in 2009 on here). The bag in the photo shows a bag with 3 zippered pockets and a large AARP logo on the bottom pocket. I renewed my membership only to receive an insulated miniature bag that as others have said, isn't good for much of anything, and they had the balls to send me my membership card with ANOTHER offer for the zippered bag when you give a gift membership. I emailed them a nice email asking for a replacement as I'd thought they'd shipped out the wrong one. Never heard back from them. They sent me renewal notices I don't know how many times per year when I was only a member for one year several years ago. I shouldn't have fallen for the ad, but I did because nowhere on it did it say anything about them having the option to replace the bag with a similar item at their discretion. I like their magazine, but I'm not happy with the way they communicate things to their CUSTOMERS.
InterestedMember Send email
 
Mar 5, 2012

Travel Bag

I don't understand all of the complaints about this bag -- the promotional leaflet clearly shows its size. There are car keys, a banana, a pen, etc. clearly pictured. It's a small bag intended to carry small things, and it hasn't been misrepresented.. "Insulated Travel Bag" hardly means a 21 inch rollaboard!! And it's free, so to call it "false advertising" or intended to "dupe" people or to expect a "3 foot high" bag doesn't make sense.
Hers Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Travel Bag

At least you all received a bag. I signed up for a 5 year membership. Continue to get solicitations to join and NEVER received a travel bag. Can't find a customer service number. When my membership expires, i will not renew. I can use my AAA card for discounts.
Sandiegoliving Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Travel Bag

I just received my bag after thinking it only went to those joining and not renewing membership as I had done...
I wanted to find a picture of it to know how it was "presented" and for what use exactly because it is smaller than I remember it. Mine has an insulated "larger" compartment, with drawstring closure capability (maybe for a bottle of water and fruit...?) and then there's a smaller velcroed compartment on the outside of the larger one (maybe for cell phone and/or sun/reading glasses...?), an adjustable strap and a metal clip (for keys?)... I still can't think of a use for it, but I will - it was a "gift" after all - thank you - and as the saying goes...
Irishred Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Travel Bag

I am a tour director for a coach line, and I would LOVE to have that bag. Anyone offering freebies? I'm trying to contact AARP and see if they have any more. It would be perfect for my job!! Barb
Jteach Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Travel Bag

I understand that the bag was free. However, that being said, once mine came I had to go back to the Aarp site to even figure out what it was. Mine looks NOTHING like the picture. There is one outside compartment and it is bright red. I have NO idea how it would be useful for anything when you are traveling. Looks like something somebody could grab away from you. I certainly wouldn't put in my passport, etc.
Ap4190 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

taking money

I have had this company for 3 years, not one single claim or problem, so out of the blue they raised my insurance 50.00 with out my approval.this is very bad business in my book
Lillysin Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

taking money

thts the insurance company not AARP itself
Victoria Minarik Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Travel Bag

I joined AARP because they offered a free travel bag if I joined. The picture of the bag showed a banana, a fruit drink in a large plastic bottle, a candy bar and some mail that the bag was holding. Plus there was a set of keys attached to the bag. So all in all I'm thinking that the bag should be average travel bag size. But since I haven't ever received the bag yet, i got on their site and started reading some of the complaints from other people about the same thing. But they got their bag. But they said that the bag was not travel size at all. It was very small. Maybe enough room to hold a pack of cigarettes. That to me is false advertisement. Anyways, I would appreciate if you would send me the promo travel bag a.s.a.p. please!!!
Tony S. Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Travel Bag

I recently joined AARP partly because they offered a free travel bag, the promotional flier showed a photo of the bag, it looked very nice. I expected a substantial bag with a shoulder strap, a bag which could carry a significant amount of belongings in when you "travel." When it came, it did look like what was pictured on the flier, but it was tiny, about the size of a small camera bag. Not really useful in a practical way, and not what one normally thinks of as a travel bag. The photo of the bag on the flier didn't show a person or anything next to it so you'd know that it was tiny. That was deliberate, in my opinion. I doubt anyone would want this next to useless bag. In my opinion, this is about as close to a scam as you can get without it legally being considered a scam.
La196 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Travel Bag

I'm glad I decided to look into customer reviews for this bag. Actually the picture that I received does show, among many other things, a bottle that resembles "Vitamin Water" in the bag where about the top 3 inches or so is sticking out of the bag. Needless to say, I am kind of shocked by some of the other stories I am reading about not only this bag but how certain people are being treated with their insurance and so forth from the AARP representatives. In fact I just went out to my mailbox and brought my renewal with enclosed check back in.
I'm going to think about renewing all together. I will continue to read a little more from the folks out there about AARP before I decide to do anything. Just my two cents.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    151 - stolen my sony xperia z
    name: Tyron ray carlos kamdon brand: sony xperia z...
    bbc lottry - sir pleas help me it is true or wro9ng
    RESERVE BANK OF INDIA Sep 15 (3 days ago) to me...
    Advance Auto Parts - Card not accepted
    Tried in six different establishments to get my card...
    ABORTION CLINIC IN MAFIKENG 0788723164 - ABORTION CLINIC IN MAFIKENG
    Abortion clinic at very low costs, 100% Guaranteed and...
    DR.MUKASA ABORTION CLINIC IN CENTURION 0788723164 - ABORTION CLINIC IN CENTURION
    Abortion clinic at very low costs, 100% Guaranteed and...
    samsung grand galaxy - Mobile stolen
    Sir I have lost my mobile samasung galaxy grand...
    WebCreation UK - Useless. Incompetent. Totally unprofessional. Cynical....
    I echo many many of the complaints on this board.12 months...
    DR MARON ABORTION CLINIC IN WINDHOEK 0737761854 - ABORTION CLINIC
    DR MARON ABORTION CLINIC IN SOUTH AFRICA ALSO DELIVER...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username