Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Booking.com

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Booking.com

Suejonno Send email
 
Aug 12, 2014

Albert& Victoria hotel

We booked a holiday through you which we do on a regular basis,unfortunately this one was everything but what it says in the brochure/review!! We had a Deluxe double room which gave a list of the extras in the room ( which I have in print ) None of these things were in the room I.e hairdryer/ c d & DVD players/ iron/trouser press/ alarm clock... The S/C kitchen had 1 teaspoon & fork /2 saucepans and NO crockery only 2 cups ( the photo shows plates etc) ...the bar closed at 9-30 pm .. The receptionist was no help as all she would say was that the 'Boss' was away till Monday. I complained about the items that were missing ( on Thursday/fri & Sat in a nice polite way even waiting till there wasn't any other guest around as not to embarrass them & was told "We don't put them in now as people were stealing them" !!!! As we paid £260 for the privilege we feel this is a feeble & wrong answer ,To top it all ,when I went to open curtains on the Sunday morn the carpet was sodden .When I told the receptionist about this she replied" well it has been raining so it's an ACT OF GOD!!!! We would like our money refunded as the room was a big factor to our holiday on this occasion ( my husband hasn't been well)We normally stay in the Best Western but thought we would give this hotel a go as it was a bit nearer the pier but sadly we were very wrong ... We hope you can help us as I have continually rang the number of the BOSS which the receptionist gave me but it's always an answer phone ... Thank you in advance...PS i also have photos ( which you wouldn't believe ) our booking number is -403226103......7th August/10th August 2014
RUINEDVACATION Send email
 
Apr 7, 2013

Over Booking is their game

PLEASE do yourself and your family a favor and NEVER use Booking.com, Priceline.com or ANY of the online booking services to book your accommodations. YOU NEED to call the hotel directly to confirm your booking information. These sites will advertise that there is space available when even the hotel will tell you THERE IS NO VACANCY. Online booking companies ROUTINELY OVERBOOK hotel capacities, and leave vacationing families standing in utter disbelief that there is NO ROOM AT THE INN when they arrive after a grueling day on the road. THEN, in the case of Booking.com, they will get completely belligerent with hotel check-in desks for NOT having your booking information, when clearly they have no rooms available! LIKE IT's THEIR FAULT the hotel is overbooked. TRUST ME, you DO NOT want this to happen to you. AND FOR THE LOVE OF GOD, don't let them try and fix the problem by rebooking you at another hotel after they've ALREADY RUINED your vacation. They will send you to some other city than where you wanted to be, and hook you up with a hotel that has a NON-REFUNDABLE POLICY, so that even if you never set foot on the property, YOU WILL BE BILLED on your credit card for the FULL ACCOMMODATION. Then, you will have to fight the charges by placing them in dispute with the credit card company, as I am now doing. By the way, Best Western PLUS Yacht Harbour Inn of Dunedin Florida, is indeed one of the SLEEZE DIVES that is in bed with these companies, and WILL CHARGE YOU THE FULL AMOUNT if for some reason you don't want to come look at rich people's yachts floating in their precious harbor but would RATHER stay on the beach where your family was SUPPOSED to have a room waiting after 13 hours on the road. I HOPE THAT ALL OF YOU WILL HEED THIS ADVICE as I would NOT wish ANYONE's vacation to be ruined the way mine has.
User706660 Send email
 
Mar 26, 2012

Scam

Dear bres1,

If you post your reservation number in this thread our specialised team will be able to contact you to discuss your problems. Our team are always on hand to help with any issues you experience in relation to a reservation or any other aspect of our service.

We look forward to your reply and discussing this issue further.

Kind regards Your Booking.com Team
Booking.com_CR Send email
 
Mar 24, 2012

Scam

Hi Bres1. We would like to have a look into this. Can you post your booking number? Many thanks. Your Booking.com Team.
Bres1 Send email
 
Mar 19, 2012

Scam

I booked a room advertised as 39 euros per night for three nights. And the results was that they charged me 69 for the second and 89 for the third night without any warning! BOOKING.COM is a shameless scam site.
Booking.com_CR Send email
 
Mar 2, 2012

Glitches during booking process caused incorrect reservation

Hi Bsanders44. Please help us get to the bottom of this by posting your Booking.com reservation number. We will get in touch with you as soon as possible. Thanks.
Bsanders44 Send email
 
Feb 29, 2012

Glitches during booking process caused incorrect reservation

I searched for a hotel in NYC for 3/2/2001. When I clicked through to Booking.com, their system transposed the date and month values, and the hotel received a reservation for 2/3/2001. I of course did not realize the glitch until I called to confirm with the hotel a few days prior to my trip. When the hotel couldn't find my reservation for 3/2 I checked my CC statement and saw that I had been charged as a no-show a month prior.

Unfortunately, since the hotel is not at fault, they have no incentive to offer me a refund or apply my charges towards another reservation. I called Booking.com where I spoke with an agent who initially tried to blame me for the mixup. When I told him that I would be contacting Kayak.com about the issue, he offered to call the hotel, but could not get them to refund or reapply the charges. He then told me that I was basically out of luck, and because Booking.com doesn't take payments from customers, they don't issue refunds.

This company does not stand behind their service, and when errors occur within their system, they blame the customer. They are unreliable and will leave you stranded with no recourse!
Bsanders44 Send email
 
Feb 29, 2012

Glitches during booking process caused incorrect reservation

Correction: the dates in my complaint should be 2011, not 2001.
Booking.com_CR Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Scam

Hi G.Lee. Please help us get to the bottom of this by posting your Booking.com reservation number. We will get in touch with you as soon as possible. Thanks. Your Booking.com Team.
G.Lee Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Scam

Sorry, regardless of if you have to cancel or not the booking.com cancellation policy states that you cannot cancel within 7 days of the arrival. Well, we are cancelling 7 months in advance and are still being charged. However, when you book, the cancellation policy changes when you receive the confirmation email which changes to you will be charged regardless of what they said on their website prior to booking. That is nothing more than FALSE and MISLEADING!! My complaint is very similar to the original poster's comments on the misleading cancellation policy. I am now being told to contact the hotel when it is NOT the hotels policy, but Booking.com's BS policies at work. I will never go through booking.com nor will I ever recommend anyone else do the same.
Angela Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Scam

On June 2, 2010 I have made a hotel reservation from booking.com on behalf of a friend of mine who was planning to visit Prague and stay in My Hotel Apollon from June 25 to July 6, 2010.

This reservation was necessary for her visa application before coming to Prague, and the reason that I chose Booking.com was its flexibility in the cancellation process in advance in case the visa in question can not be obtained on time, which can happen quite often in the Czech Embassy in Istanbul.

As you can see from the link: http://www.booking.com/hotel/cz/apollon-prague.html?aid=304142 and the screenshots that I attached, the Hotel Conditions section for My Hotel Apollon clearly states that no fee will be charged on the credit card until the 24 hours prior to the booking start date. Based on this information, I logically assumed that Booking.com would prove a trustworthy site which could be relied upon not to abuse the sensitive credit card information provided. Unfortunately, this proved to be far from the case.

On review, the "small print" of the booking on the second page was understandably missed given the clear assurances to the contrary on the first page of booking. Without noting the small text in the

Conditions column below, I therefore continued with giving my friend's personal data and credit card information, assuming that the transaction would be kept on hold until one day prior to the booking date.

Unlike stated on the website, I was informed by my friend that the equivalent of 423 Euros in Turkish Lira currency was in fact credited from her account by this hotel. On review of the reservation details on Booking.com, I noticed in a separate page that, in blatant contradiction to the flexibility so generously offered on the first page, that cancellation was in this case not a possible option after all and the reservation would be charged anyway.

I am very frustrated by the inconsistency between the information given on this site and the hotel's policy. Now my friend is having problems with getting the visa, and probably she will not be able to come to Prague on the stated dates. This is not only the abusive use of my friend's personal details, but also a big amount of lost money which has been illegitimately drawn from her credit card just because that booking.com didn't show My Hotel Apollon's cancellation policy in a clear and consistent way on their site. I am attaching some proof images, just have a look to avoid falling into this scam. I have contacted both the company and the hotel, asking for a refund to compensate their negligence, but booking.com refused to pay my friend back what they have already taken claiming that this is the policy of the hotel and not that of Booking.com. I am going to share this unfortunate experience with everyone I know until they correct their mistake on their site and refund what they have taken from my friend's credit card.
Nicci, Austria Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Scam

:)

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    RedBox - Cancellation
    I subscribed to redbox instant three months ago, before...
    Taylor Walker - Do you need Business or Personal Loan?
    Do you need Business or Personal Loan? Do you wish to...
    Carls Jr - Hardee's vulgar commercials
    My 5 year old daughter just saw the first few seconds of...
    M2 Media Group - Unwanted magazine subscriptions
    Like others, I recently received two unsolicited...
    PNC CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT? - PNC MORTGAGE
    MY COMPLAINT IS NO HELP WHEN I LOST MY JOB I SENT IN 8...
    ADECCO.co.in - PF Balance
    Dear Sir, My name is MITESH KUMAR, I am working in ESSAR...
    Jad Loan Service - HOW I GOT MY LOAN FROM A RELIABLE AND GENUINE LOAN COMPANY
    Hello everyone... I am Nicole Morgan by name, currently...
    22834 - HOW I GOT MY LOAN FROM A RELIABLE AND GENUINE LOAN COMPANY
    Hello everyone... I am Nicole Morgan by name, currently...
    ADT - Absoute Security of America And ADT
    I signed up with ADT and evidently their "authorized...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username