Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

CenturyLink

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about CenturyLink

User771874 Send email
 
Apr 2, 2012

Worst Customer Service

I've recently have had the misfortune of dealing with the JOKE they call customer service at CenturyLink. I work for a company that processes invoices for every carrier possible in North America and CenturyLink has managed to get the worst reputation out of all the carriers. I submitted a disco request 5 times by email, called over 10 times for status and each time I was told that there was no record of the disconnect request. Finally after 4 months of not paying I received a not so friendly call from Account Receivable asking for there money. I politely told them to cancel the service for non-payment and I would fight with whatever collection agency they send me to...all I can say is I will fight tooth and nail to make sure no client I manage ever tries to use CenturyLink again. The company this happened too is a Law Firm and they were more then happy to back me up!!!
User926344 Send email
 
Apr 2, 2012

Worst Customer Service

I worked for Centurylink in customer care for almost 2 years it’s truly a terrible company.

Centurylink does not have a dedicated customer care department it’s a sales department.

Centurylink looks at the calls to customer care as $$$$ signs. They looked the other way when

top sales associates slam accounts with products and services. If you weren’t top in sales you

are treaded like dirt and always threatened to be fired if you didn’t meet sales quota. People

would get fired on a weekly basis and the training classes which we called our replacements were

constantly churning out new agents. I’m shocked they don’t get giant fines for over billing. To

give a couple examples for the state of Florida during the full year of 2011 when a customer

went on vacation mode they didn’t get the discount unless the customer called in every month for

it and when they came back from vacation the system would charge them a $53.00 connection fee.

Another example when a customer calls in to add a call feature the system auto charge the

account a $53.00 connection fee as if it is new service. Centurylink was aware of these over

billing problems and never fixed them. I would give thousands of dollars a month in credits

because of the dishonest over billing. These are just a couple examples of many! You know you

work for a bad company if you won’t even subscribe to their service. I started to look for a

better job when I received my first write-up for falling short meeting quota I had 89.10% and I

need 90.00% to goal to meet quota. I’m happy to report I no longer work for Centurylink as they

are paying for me to look for another job via unemployment. Two weeks after being fired

Centurylink is downsizing because sales are bad and the call center I worked at in Altamonte

Springs Florida is closing on June 1 2012 and everyone is being fired. I can’t say I feel bad

for the supervisors! You should stay away from this company at all cost!
User806091 Send email
 
Apr 2, 2012

Customer Service

CenturyLink jacked up MyAccount:
https://skydrive.live.com/redir.aspx?cid=ecc340b486192ecc&page=play&resid=ECC340B486192ECC!118
Refuses to fix the problem.
User926344 Send email
 
Apr 2, 2012

Customer Service

I worked for Centurylink in customer care for almost 2 years it’s truly a terrible company.

Centurylink does not have a dedicated customer care department it’s a sales department.

Centurylink looks at the calls to customer care as $$$$ signs. They looked the other way when

top sales associates slam accounts with products and services. If you weren’t top in sales you

are treaded like dirt and always threatened to be fired if you didn’t meet sales quota. People

would get fired on a weekly basis and the training classes which we called our replacements were

constantly churning out new agents. I’m shocked they don’t get giant fines for over billing. To

give a couple examples for the state of Florida during the full year of 2011 when a customer

went on vacation mode they didn’t get the discount unless the customer called in every month for

it and when they came back from vacation the system would charge them a $53.00 connection fee.

Another example when a customer calls in to add a call feature the system auto charge the

account a $53.00 connection fee as if it is new service. Centurylink was aware of these over

billing problems and never fixed them. I would give thousands of dollars a month in credits

because of the dishonest over billing. These are just a couple examples of many! You know you

work for a bad company if you won’t even subscribe to their service. I started to look for a

better job when I received my first write-up for falling short meeting quota I had 89.10% and I

need 90.00% to goal to meet quota. I’m happy to report I no longer work for Centurylink as they

are paying for me to look for another job via unemployment. Two weeks after being fired

Centurylink is downsizing because sales are bad and the call center I worked at in Altamonte

Springs Florida is closing on June 1 2012 and everyone is being fired. I can’t say I feel bad

for the supervisors! You should stay away from this company at all cost!
Robertj63 Send email
 
Mar 20, 2012

Definition of poor customer service

I never had any problems with Embarq but Centurylink is a different story. My problems started when they “lost” a payment in October 2011. Both my bank and I provided proof several times. During this I was informed by 2 managers and a finance rep that I would be contacted about the resolution of the issue – NEVER HAPPENED. I was also told by several customer service reps/mangers that Centurylink will not call a customer. Pretty funny considering the 2-3 calls per month trying to sell me more services but they don’t have the time to call a customer with real issues. Finally, I did receive credit but I wanted an explanation of the delays and poor customer service. I called and talked to a customer service manager and informed him someone needed to call me within 48 hours or I would cancel my service – SURPRISE NO ONE CALLED. I then moved my service to another provider. About 3 week later received my final bill. I only received a partial credit for the time canceled. At the rates claimed, I have overpaid $500 during the past 2 years of Centurylink service. I disputed the bill verbally, through email and fax – the only response was to turn the account over for collection at one month from the original final bill. I then sent a letter to the collection agency disputing the bill. I also sent a letter to the CEO, Glen F. Post III, of Centurylink informing him of the extremely poor customer service and non-responsiveness of the company. Both letters were received over 35 days ago. AGAIN NO RESPONSE.

My advice to anyone considering Centurylink is stay away unless you enjoy poor customer service. They lie, do not follow through with promises, cannot or refuse to address valid issues, have representatives who do not have knowledge or authority to decide anything (call this other number and maybe you can reach someone who can’t help you also), and finally will turn you over to collection agencies without even acknowledging a customers dispute. I have no problem with paying what I owe and have almost spent as much money with the certified letters and significantly more by wasting over 10 hours of my life on a simple issue that could have been solved early with no issues.
Scott77 Send email
 
Mar 20, 2012

Definition of poor customer service

I totaly agree with you.This company straight out lies to your face .When i asked them how much the bill would be for the month it was double what they quoted me?. We also wanted to add the tv service so they sent dish network to are house.. I ended up getting a bill from dishnetwork and century link for the same tv service;. So i asked them and i couldnt believe what i heard:. They told me they dont use dish network so i asked them how did they show up to my house and install the motem they centurylink sent me in the mail/. They didnt know what to say". Each service person you get has a different lie to tell you'. I cant believe this company can get away with this..
Jiggylvsknicks1 Send email
 
Feb 27, 2012

Poor customer service/ $99 early term fee for service that never worked

CenturyLink does not care about their customers, or customer satisfaction! I have had terrible service since Qwest went to CenturyLink, and when I tried to cancel I was told we are in a contract for 36 months, not because we signed anything but because it was stated on our bill, and since I paid the bill, that was me agreeing to it! Are you kidding me? Now that I want to cancel they are saying that they will charge me a termination fee of $1500.00!!! I have never been treated so poorly by a company. I deal with hundreds of residents a day as an apartment manager, I bet CenturyLink won't be on my move in sheet information, nor will I ever recommend CenturyLink to one of my residents! Terrible experience, terrible company, terrible policies, terrible customer service, everything about CenturyLink-TERRIABLE!
Realistic Approach Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

ethics

Embarq was a pretty good company and great cust service but ever since Centurylink took it over their reps have become robots sustaining early term fees for poor service and lying to customers to get them under contract ... once this is done then they will keep you on the phone for hours sustaining these charges .. its the most unethical company I ever had any interactions with.. they are soo very curtious and nice on the phone when you call but your bill will be way to high and your service will be the worst in america .. there reps have no authority to help at all anymore. so if you want to tie up ALOT of money for poor service and hear how there so very sorry but you owe hundreds of dollers but no one has the authority to make any decision other than make you pay it and tell you about your contracts .. the centurylink managers are greedy pigs that are ruining a great company .. good by embarq .. im going to cable .. centurylink sucks
Employeed At Least Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

ethics

The complaints board staff is checking into this for me,
@CenturyLinkHelp Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

It's all about money

Hello,

We would like to talk to you about this situation, we can review billing, promotions and services. Please Email the account information and a contact number for you to us at talktous@centurylink.com

Thank-You
Patti
CenturyLink Help
Shatup Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

It's all about money

It's all about money and not about people. Not about employees. Not about customers. It's all about gaining the $$$ at any cost.
Scammersneedarealjob Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

It's all about money

We signed up for their current special and price-lock guarantee in Oct. The CSR told us we could have the rate and bundle with our current cell plan. When we got our first bill, we had charges and fees that weren't disclosed, and the rate was more than double than what was quoted. When we called about the bill, the CSR said that the promotion had already ended (lie) and that the CSR that helped us obviously didn't know what she was doing (great, huh?). So we dropped them like a bad habit. My advice, save your $$ and just go use the wifi at a local coffee shop.
TCordova Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Unbelievable bad service.

I am having issue also. I recently switched from Century Link to Comcast. I called to disconnect my phone, internet and cable services. This started Oct. 27, 2011 and to this day no one can tell me the date it was actually disconnected. I did a third party authorization to keep my home phone #. I am getting billed through Century Link, Comcast and now Direct TV. It has been very irritating and I feel that my rights as a consumer have been taken away to even diconnect my own services. The day I said disconnect my services they should have all been disconnected. I have spen many waisted hours calling and getting transferred left requested for supervisors to call me with no response. Good luck and I am sure there are other people getting taken advantage of. tcord0dn@yahoo.com
About Done With Centurylink Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Horrible Customer Support

See? EVERYONE seems to be having issues with them outright LYING! I urge EVERYONE to contact ALL of the following: Your state attorney general's office, BBB, FTC, FCC, and send them a link to this site! They are lying to us, defrauding us, cheating us, giving us crap service for premium prices, and all-around just screwing us! You get hung up on (the latest note from the AG's office, CenturyLink tells them that I hung up on them, but not ALL the times they hung up on me, they won't even admit to that!), each person has a different story, they conveniently LOSE information if it doesn't look good for THEM.
About Done With Centurylink Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Horrible Customer Support

But when this many people are complaining about them lying, it's significant. It shows there is a definite pattern of lying.
About Done With Centurylink Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Horrible Customer Support

And by everyone, I meant everyone here who has complaints, not everyone as in all their customers.
1KM Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Horrible Customer Support

If there were another option for service in my area I would definitely leave CenturyLink. I have them for phone service too and it is just as bad!

This is the umptenth time I've had an issue with them, so this time I decided to complain. My internet went out on Monday during a storm. I called Tuesday and was told there had been an outage in the area but that it was fixed. I told them that mine was still out and they said to give it until that evening and if it was still down to call back. I waited two days-trying to give them the benefit of the doubt. I called back on Thursday and went through trouble shooting with tech support. It didn't work so I was given a ticket for someone to come out Friday between 12 and 4pm. So, Friday comes and I sit in the living room (10 feet from the door-becuase I do not want to miss this appt!) from 11:30 until 4:00 and no one shows up or calls. I call at 4:00 on the dot and ask for an update and the person tells me the ticket is still open but he doesn't know why. He contacts Tier 2 support (whoever that is) to see if they can tell me. After being on hold for almost 30 minutes he comes back and says that they don't know what happened, but someone will be out that day because they haev 24 hours to handle these issues. I remind him that 24 hours has well passed since the ticket was put in at noon the previous day and furthermore this service had been down since Tuesday. I ask to speak to a supervisor and he says "He's only going to tell you the same thing I did" and I tell him but maybe he has the authority to get something done. I'm put on hold for another five minutes or so and he comes back and says no one is available and that I will get a call back in the next 15 minutes. I waited 45 minutes and no call, so I call back. The next guy I talk to says the previous guy didn't even note our conversation...WOW! And that he sees my ticket but it says its been closed since 3pm and that there is a note that the tech couldn't get on the premises and couldn't reach anyone. Seriously!! I let him know that I have taken off and have been sitting in this room since 11:30, no one has even pulled in my driveway (which I can see sitting in my living room) nor called my phone. He says all of the techs are gone home for the day so he can put in another ticket for tomorrow. I say no thanks and ask him for a supervisor, which again is not available so I'm told one will call me back and I'm told I'm second in line to sepak with one. An hour and a half later a supervisor finally calls me back and he claims that he can't fidn a ticket and there never was a ticket for me. So I say I guess the two men I talked to before were lieing because they both went over my ticket with me. He says no I'm not saying they lied. I say well I've been mislead either by them or by you. He then says well all he can do is send someone out tomorrow. And I say I've got to sit around again tomorrow and wait for someone to come and he says they may be able to just fix it from the outside and that he'll put a rush on my ticket. I end the call by letting him know that I know someone is trying to cover there butts and don't know whether its him or not but something needs to be done ASAP. Saturday the guy comes ringing my doorbell and 8am (waking me up, but at least someone is here). It turns out the fiber optic power box they previously installed was not working so they had to install a new one. Had nothing to do with a so-called area outage as I was told on Tuesday. My internet is now up and the first order of business was to write this complaint, next I'll check my "online classroom" becuase I'm a doctoral student who hasn't been able to get online to participate in my final week of class. I hope this hasn't affected my grade to much.

If there were another option for service in my area I would definitely leave CenturyLink. I have them for phone service too and it is just as bad!
About Done With Centurylink Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

No customer service

Oh, and get this...one time I supposedly talked to a real supervisor (when you ask to speak to a supervisor, they don't always send you to one, they send you to a co-worker who claims to be a supervisor...they lie non-stop. I've also gotten sent to another department, and even though I was yelling by this time and not swearing, got hung up on anyway), the guy is telling me how bad the connection is, it must be my cell phone, etc. I said, "IT'S NOT MY CELL PHONE, I'M USING YOUR SH*TTY SERVICE!!! THIS IS MY LAND LINE!" He was silent for a bit before he just said, "Oh. That's not good."
@CenturyLinkHelp Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

They suck

Hello,

We would like to address this issue with you directly we can answer questions, review your account and make changes if needed. Please email us with account information and a contact number to reach you at if needed email address is talktous@centurylink.com

Thank-You
Patti
Cenurylink Help, Manager
Partiz Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

They suck

They suck. 3/4 of time you can't get on the internet or you have to wait and wait. How do you get a class action lawsuit going?
Not Hot On CenturyLink Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

They suck

Since CL took over Qwest service has gone down hill dramatically. And the future of service looks dim. I am thoroughly surprised that many Class Action Suits haven't been started already. Only time will tell. And I think it's long past time.
Nolandline Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

unfair selling practice

First, CenturyLink sold me unlimited domestic long distance and told me it would cost $74 a month all fees and taxes included. I was paying about $69 a month for a bundled local and Internet service.
Second, then CenturyLink billed me $85 for the service. I complained to a supervisor who would not reduce the charge to the quoted price.
Third, I asked for my previous bundle service back but the CenturyLink supervisor told me it was "no longer available."
The company basically got me on a more expensive service quoting me a false price without telling me I wouldn't be able to get my old (less expensive) service back.
I've submitted a complaint to the FCC and will look for ways to cancel my landline altogether.
Hard to believe the company would willingly lose a long-time customer worth hundreds of dollars a year over this.
About Done With Centurylink Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

unfair selling practice

I'm going to go the FCC/FTC route, as well as the state attorney general's office and the BBB. They tell you one thing on the phone, which means you have NOTHING in writing, then you get your bill, and what do you know? Different price! And when you call, they have it in black and white on their computer that the agreement is for the price on the bill. They are DEFRAUDING people. I was told my DSL was, at the lowest speed, $19.95/mo, with a $5/mo. price break for TWELVE MONTHS. Then I realize on my bill I'm being charged $29.95, PLUS $4.95/mo for equipment that I had been told was FREE, so, $34.90/mo. for THE SLOWEST SPEED, when their faster speeds are on the commercials at $19.95!!! So, regardless of what the SALES PERSON told me, they do not want to honour the agreement, because I do not have MY version in black and white!
Samuelja Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

3 hours on hold, and counting

I've been on hold for the past 3 hours because some *** customer service employee could not help me get my modem to work. He told me to hold so that he can transfer me to some other tech support. Still have not heard from anyone. Once in a while I'll hear the same guy sucking on the same *** lollipop that he was sucking on when I first talked to him. I am so *** pissed right now. F'ing CenturyLink customer support. I'm still going to keep holding, then once I talk to someone, I better get a month of free internet service. First they want to "lease" you a modem, and once you get one from somewhere else, they trip balls don't give you the service they give you when you sign up.
About Done With Centurylink Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

3 hours on hold, and counting

I was told my equipment was free...then come to find out not only are they charging me DOUBLE the original agreement for the SLOWEST DSL speed, but I'm being charged $4.95/mo for the equipment.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Carls Jr - Advertisement
    Not sure why Carls Jr need to do these kinds of...
    Manraj Kamoh - credit card scam
    Manraj Kamoh is a big card fraud, he paid USD 811 to our...
    ComplaintBoard.com - fake and fabricated complaints
    Story posted by southernmom603 was completely fabricated...
    the spell man that helped me - I welcome every body to this new month try and read
    I welcome every body to this new month,i am fill with joy...
    ScoreSense - o month pt out all options refund my 29.95amonth
    icalled thurs to have this amt taken off my account . she...
    Prophetessashra@gmail.com - How prophetess Ashra saved my marriage
    I'm from Denmark city in the UK, and I'm...
    Topix.com - We have direct providers of Fresh Cut BG, SBLC and MTN...
    We offer fresh cut bank instrument for lease, such as BG,...
    cop@vsnl.net - my phone missing
    NAME : VENUGOPAL BRAND:SAMSUNG PHONE MODEL:GT3312 IMEI...
    Xoom Energy - High energy rates
    My energy bill doubled when I switched to XOOM, should...
    Nelnet - Nelnet
    I hate Nelnet. I am paying off my daughter's loans,...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username