Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Certegy Check Services

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Certegy Check Services

kid11 Send email
 
Jan 22, 2013

certegy check verification and target

I too am frustrated. I used the Target Red Card (Debit) for a $10.98 purchase. My bank returned it unpaid. I recieved a letter from Target informing me of the failed transaction. The letter stated I needed to call Target and pay the $10.98 plus a $20.00 fee. I checked with my bank and learned it was returned in error. My bank wrote a letter explaining what happened and accepting fault for the error. I forwarded that to Target. I also called and paid the $10.98 including the $20 fee(got that back from my bank) to Target. I was told my name, account number, and drivers license would be removed from Certegy and also from Target. However, as of today, I can still not write checks or use my Red Card. I paid the amount within two days of receiving the letter. Upon contacting Target, they claim I am not on any derogatory list. They suggested I contact Certegy to find out what is going on. This is the first and only thing I have ever had returned in 25 plus years of having my checking account. I need answers, but no one is taking responsibility to correct this!
nobsallowed Send email
 
Nov 14, 2012

The truth about certegy

Certegy advertises that they decline between 2-5% of the millions of transactions attempted each year. This 2-5% is more like a quota and does not accurately depict the number of fraudulent attempts. The quotas are used on reports and brochures to clients in order to promote their service as viable and necessary.

As less people rely on checks and check cashing services, Certegy services become less needed. It is only though their 'proprietary fraud model' that they are able to convince big named corporations like Wal-Mart to continue using their system.

This proprietary fraud detection model is written to convince big corporations that 'something is being done to prevent fraud'. In reality, the models goal is to meet the 2-5% quota that their brochures and reports advertise. This means that even if customers are law-abiding citizens who have no intention of committing fraud, they can fall within Certegy's 'proprietary fraud detection model' algorithm.

Certegy gets away with this because they can hide the reasons for check declines through codes. The codes limit the detail that prevent discovery of the algorithms. In essence, they can arbitrarily deny transactions based solely on the hidden algorithm and consumers have no right to know why they were declined.

In summary, your check was declined so Certegy can continue selling their product. You become a statistic that Certegy reports to their shareholders in order to justify the costs of the services.

This is a completely unethical way of doing business especially in the United States that has laws protecting credit and consumers. Certegy has managed to circumvent the laws. They understand fraudsters are finding other ways to steal from businesses and the fact that they sacrifice a few thousand innocent people per year, by denying legitimate transactions, is a small price for them pay.

Then to top it off the companies employees either ex or still employed, get online trolling and make disparging and harrassing remarks to people who have been victimized by this criminal outfit. This is a damn shame and it needs to stop.
nobsallowed Send email
 
Nov 14, 2012

Declined Checks

I went to Macys and was attempting to make a purchase in the amount of 38.32. I wrote a check for the amount and had no idea what was about to happen next. Keep in mind I have over 7k in my checking account alone and I work in collections collecting on bad checks so I know how the check thing works or so I thought. Anyway to my utter disbelief my check was declined and I was given a phone # which I called and was told the biggest bunch of crap known to mankind. The company I called was certegy and what they told me was I had no bad check writing history with them and that my check was declined to fight indentity theft. My check didnt fit a certain pattern I was told therefore it was declined and the decision could not be overidden. Upset I proceeded to go off on a tirade at the rep who was trying to feed me this nonsense and yet nothing was done. I go out a day or so later and I go to marshalls and I go to pay via check and guess what happens? You guessed it another declined check and another call to certegy to have smoke blown up my you know what.

I looked certegy up online and I found nothing but complaints and more complaints this is ridculous I'm so blown away by the ineptness of this company and its system. Something has to be done about this there are laws that were designed to protect consumers yet certegy gets to slip through loopholes while good, hardworking people suffer.
This is just wrong, really wrong.
Nexes Send email
 
Mar 22, 2012

Declined checks!

Has anyone taken steps to Sue?? Or any groups because I would like to join in.Its a embarrassing sad rack that such a poorly ran comp can control an cause undo hardships to consumer in the US. I am a hard working man trying to raise a family. I have never written a check before. An constantly abused an humiliated by this company by trying to cash a payroll check or income tax that is writen by the federal government. If there not good for it who is I am disappointed in Walmart allowing such a piss poor company Rep them in any way. So please I'm tired of being wronged by certegy so if a lawyer is working on this or a group that is making real moves to be compasated for the.undo hardships they cause without even offering a way to resolve please contact. Me. At 724 759 3116
Nexes Send email
 
Mar 22, 2012

Declined checks!

Anyone taking real legal action or groups please contact me... at 7247593116 as the hardships I have unjustly endured not to mention the embarrassment from certegy is wrong and I will gladly stand by any group or persons whom are taking serious steps to Sue these people for what they have an will continue to do.
Faroe Send email
 
Mar 16, 2012

Declined checks!

My $1200 personal check was denied by Certegy, making it impossible to pick up my vehicle from Pep Boys at 8 p.m. My ride had already left. Is this what Pep Boys calls "customer service?" Why use Certegy, which is interested in the gaming industry. And, oh, I had plenty of money in the bank. It was Certegy's faulty "profile" screening. I simply did not have any check-cashing records in Certigy's files. Hell, that's not my fault!!!
Anti-SEO Send email
 
Mar 16, 2012

Declined checks!

How is a 6 year old complaint about 22 dollars still active here?

This site is so pathetic...
Biofrute Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Walgreens refused to cash check using Certegy

The cashier checked me out and the total came to $115.77. I didn't have bank credit card with me and the cashier said I could write a check. The check was denied by Certegy. The manager was called and a long waiting line had formed. They moved me to another register and they rang up the order again. Once again the check was denied. I had over $600.00 in my acciount and naturally I was shocked. I was told to call certegy but was unable to get an answer. The Manager told me theat I would get an answer when I called the 800 # on my receipt. They did not ovver an explanation but said the check was denied for preventitive reasons. When I lloked up the company on Google I saw numerous other complaints and also reference to a lawsuit against the company.
Dicktrickle Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Walgreens refused to cash check using Certegy

Use a real bank you loser!! Not your fraudulent crap!! By the way...learn how to spelllllllell
Eegolf Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Declined checks!

I see by these post that this has been going on for several years with (CERTEGY) I two went thru the same thing at Target. buying a TV that was on sale check denied. I would think the store would be able to over ride there desion all they had to do was call my bank three blocks away to find out I have prefect credit. They told me I do not cash enough checks in Target to cash this one under $500.00 . instead they lost a paying costumer
John In Cuba,Mo Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Declined checks!

I went to a local Lowes and attempted to use my business checking account & was refused. They said a check was returned, yet I got onto my online banking account & the check for $524.11 they said was returned, was paid and deducted from my business account. If you are going to lie about this not being paid, then I DEMAND you put that money back into my account, or that is not only deceit, but theft as well. I refuse to use Lowes, and will gladly pay a little more elsewhere until they find another check service which has honesty & integrity.
Outraged_CertegyComplainer Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Declined Check

My daughter, who recently opened her first checking account as a teenager, had her second written check declined at Target. This is a terrible thing for a teenager to have experienced, it has made her feel like a a criminal. She had the money in her account to cover her purchase. When I called the phone number and talked to a rep, he said that it was because she had no history so they declined it. This seems to be a catch 22 situation, they won't let a check go through so of course she will never get history. He told me a ridiculous thing, have her go to the stores and give checks after so many declines they will approve her!!! HUH!!! How stupid is this!
Is this sort of thing legal????
NICKp0987 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Declined Check

i think this check service certgy SUCKS FUCK YOU CERTGY FUCK YOU!!!
Kay Cromartie Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Declined checks!

On 11-3-11 I attempted to purchase a wireless phone that would work with the blue tooth system in my new car. The verizon sales person was unable to connect the phone and suggested I have the system checked by the dealer. I did so the following day and the service person was able to connect with his phone without problem. I returned the phone explaining the problem was not in the car and asked for a phone that would work with the bluetooth system in my car. She told me there would be a $35. restocking fee which I thought was unfair because they sold me the wrong phone. When I spoke with a supervisor she tried to sell me a less expensive one for more telling me I would receive a rebate which would almost even out the purchase price. I wrote a check for the additional amount but when I asked her to sign a bar code she handed me as assurance I would recieve the rebate, she refused. At that point I went straight to my bank and stopped payment on both checks. Since that time I have had two checks declined in my home town, one in Fla. where I purchase business supplies, and my credit card declined in Ala. I have spoken with, called and written all concerned but the last call was dropped when attempting to speak with an agent about the previous dispute. I have excellent credit and cannot believe any agency or entity has the power to prevent my ability to cash checks or use my credit card because I stopped payment on two checks for two phones I did not get because of the service and treatment I received. If this is not against the law, it should be and something needs to be done to stop it!. I have copies and dates of everything, if needed.
Louper2005 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Declined checks!

I just spent 3 hrs picking out groceries for my family Thanksgiving meal. I went through check out, wrote my check, and then I'm declined, just like everybody else here. They give me a phone number; i'm supposed to call, but It's a recording. I pulled this page up as soon as I got home and wowsers! Needless to say, I have an agreement with my bank that even if I'm 1penny overdrawn, they will float the penny for me and charge my account. So, basically, my checks don't bounce even if that situation happens, which it doesn't. It's almost to the point that you have to fill out a credit application before you walk into the store. I understand about the money lost to bad checks, but maybe they should change their policy to "cash only".
Stay At Home Mommy Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Declined checks!

I wrote a check at Toys R Us, and it was declined .I have no negative history with them or anyone else, my account is good. I called Certegy and this is their explanation why they declined my check " This is not about your banking account . This is about when the systems reads and recognizes patterns and specific types of transactions . Ceregy further said they would put me on a VIP list to cash checks BUT...it does not 100 percent guarantee that my check will not be declined again " . I have the funds in my account, I asked Toys r Us to call my CU to verify that funds were available and they refused . I in turn called the Attorneys General Office in Florida ( Certegy is based in FL. ) to make a complaint against this company. I STRONGLY urge others to as well .
Certegy Is TheWorst!! Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Declined checks!

I attempted to cash my tax refund check at Wal-Mart and was declined. I called the toll free number on the receipt obtained from the CSR at Wal-Mart. The automated voiced stated there was nothing negative in my file, but the decline was based on "consumer patterns" and was preventative measure to protect me from fraud. The automated voice stated further that the decision to decline the check could not be over turned and no further information was available; basically don't call back. Certegy Check Services gets my vote for stellar customer service...NOT!
Browneyes206 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Declined checks!

Certegy said my checks are good, I have no negative check writing history with them, my account is good but just because of their stupid guidelines they wont accept my checks from the dealership I am getting my car from! And they cant overwright that decision the system made! Are they serious?? This is ridiculous its not my fault their stupid guidelines wont accept my checks when they are good!!!
Pissed Off In Winder Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Declined checks!

I just left Akins Ford in Winder Georgia and had the same experience as other with Certegy. I did as the others, called the 1-800 #, got the same automated BULLSHIT!!! ""CODE 2""" I was using my company check to pay for repairs on one of my fleet trucks that I have done At Akins Ford in Winder Georgia for years. I have spent 10s of Thousands of Dollars at AKINS FORD in WINDER GEORGIA 220 WEST MAY STREET WINDER GEORGIA 30680. My Checks, Cash and Credit cards have NEVER had a problem till now. Akins Ford Dodge Jeep Chrysler in Winder Georgia is the Company that hired " Certegy" to do this Check Denial in the first place so I'm Holding Akins Ford In Winder responsible till they make this Right.
Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Declined checks!

My wife tried to cash a $22.00 check at Albertsons Grocery store and the check was declined. Upon talking to a manager in the store I determined that they are using a check verification service called Certegy. I located a phone number and called them with a response that there was no derogatory information about my checks and that I was declined due to my check writing profile. We are retired and hardly ever write checks since we do all our purchases by credit card. This experience of being turned down in a store full of people was very embarrassing for my wife. Albertsons gave her a $40 gift card in an attempt to get her back into the store since we are regular customers (she still will not return).

I am a member of the Board of Directors for America's Credit Union and there was never a question of available funds to cover my check. In talking to our Credit Union CEO his wife was turned by Certegy for the same reason when writing a check at T J Max . I was unable to contact a real person at Certegy but he CEO was able to get to a real person by continually punch numbers that did no exist on automated menu. He was told that he did not have sufficient funds to cover the check and he told them they were liars since he was the CEO and new that he had more than sufficient funds to cover his check.

I am still being ignored by Certegy and we are afraid to write more checks due to the embarrassment that we might endure. We need a class action suit to prevent these folks from doing what they are doing to honest hard working American citizens.
Mo-money Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Declined checks!

All "piece of shit check cashing companies" work the same way so, like you, Wal-Mart has limited choices - the devil or the deep blue sea. "Check cashing companies" make guesses about which checks are likely to be bad and recommend to merchants that they turn those checks down. Guesses is all there is. It doesn't matter if you have money in the bank because you could pass the check then turn around and go to the bank, withdraw the money and screw the person you gave the check to. Be angry at fraudsters that game the system. The reason we have "check cashing companies" is the same reason we have to strip down to our underwear to get on a plane. It's because bad people do bad things and good people are trying to avoid getting caught up in bad things. Be angry at the professional fraudsters who pass bad checks for a living and the terrorists who fly into building and such, not the companies and law enforcement organizations that try to protect you from the bad acts of bad people. And by the way, get a real bank account and cash your checks there. Banks don't use "check cashing companies."

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Topix.com - business personal loan offer apply now
    Do you need an urgent personal loan of any kind ? if yes...
    PCH Games - All final games cut out and say technical difficulties...
    Every time I get to this point the game starts then bam, ...
    Nokia - Loss mobile
    Hi sir i have loss my mobile so please track my...
    GOOGLE GOOGLE.COM/CHCAUS - GooleCom/Chcaus
    OK I want these charges to stop, but you guys taken 9.99...
    Selene Finance - helping people stay in their homes
    Selene put us through a nightmare. Our mortgage was sold...
    M2Media group - unauthorized subscription
    I am quite perturbed by the fact that I was delivered...
    SONY ERICSSON E16I W8I black - Lost mobile
    Lost my sony ericcson E16I W8I red black color my...
    truworths richards bay - bad service
    I been treated badly at richardsbay truworths by Margaret...
    BBC ONE NATIONAL LOTTERY COMPANY. - lotery 2015 bbc london email
    je demande de participer au trage lotery 2015 london bbc
    Micromax canvas lite A92 - I am lost my Mobile.....
    Name : Vikram A Tile. Add : Assaye line qtrs 144/9...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username