Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Enmax (Easymax)

Canada,
Alberta

Consumer complaints and reviews about Enmax (Easymax)

Tamaralynn0480 Send email
 
Apr 14, 2014

"Service Charges"

I'm outraged at the amount of "Service Charges" they can get away with!!

Ideally my bill should have only been $160ish for Water/Gas/Electricity/City Garbage

I was dinged for almost $120 alone in Service charges bringing my bill $280

I'm in a 900 Sqf duplex!!

That is insane

Then to make matters worse, they are back charging me for "extra" amounts they had found I had "used" in months prior. My last bill was over $500!!!
nicolefbcn Send email
 
Jan 23, 2013

Unreasonable Pricing

To Whom It May Concern:

I am writing regarding your work order #22342.

On Oct 3, 2012, I called Enmax customer service around 1:00pm since my house furnace did not work properly. The repairing technician came around 6:00 pm and replaced the thermostat, and then the furnace works.

As you check the attached work order #22342, we were charged three items below:

Demand Service Call after Hours: $187.50

Diagnose Tic & Labor: $125.00

Focus PRO 5000 TH5110D1006 Thermostat: $302.91


The charges in the first item $187.50 and the second item $125.00 sounds unreasonable. I asked other people in a Calgary local forum. The people have same problem with their furnace spent $150 --$ 200. None of them was charged over $200 for replacing thermostat only.


Especially, the charge in the third item, please kindly check the attached screenshot. The thermostat’s price is $31.75/EA and the item number is Focus PRO 5000 TH5110D1006. And we were charged up to $302.91 for the exact same product. It must be something wrong here. Could you please send me a product charged list?

My experience has left a bad taste in my mouth. I am looking forward to getting your response soon.
Sincerely,

Nicole Feng

Enclosures [EasyMax Work Order #22342; Screenshot for price Thermostat Heat/Cool RTH5100B1033; Picture of Thermostat from Enmax in our house]

Unreasonable Pricing

Fuckass Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

irregularities in billing

These people are terrible, proud crooks, lawyer up
Drdo Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

irregularities in billing

I too, am appalled by the lack of customer service shown by enmax. After not receiving bills to my new business for 2 months my power was cut off without a phone call. When I contacted enmax they said they could not help me without an account number, which I did not have because I had not received a bill to my new address. After several phone calls to multiple managers I was informed that my electricity would be reconnected in 24 to 48 hours. That was 3 days ago and I have now been informed that it is actually only 2 business days for Enmax, as they do not work on Sundays. My business runs on Sundays. I will be without power for 4 or more days now and am still unsure of my "place" in their "first come first served" system and none of their agents can tell me that either. They have disconnected me twice during phone calls most recently at 445 today. When I called back their office was closed. Enmax is the worst company I have ever dealt with and if an alternative arrives I will be first in line.
Kevin316 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

irregularities in billing

I feel for everyone that has had problems with Enmax (or any other business).
Any time you are dealing with any company (large or small) keep a paper trail. Big companies will screw you by accident, small companies will sometimes do it on purpose. A big company has nothing to gain by screwing you out of a $300 deposit. $300 to a small company is a lot more substantial.

I regards to knix, and anyone else that wasn't getting properly billed. If you know there is a problem with the billing why wouldn't you set aside money each month to cover the bill you know you are going to get? People need to take some responsibility for the problems they get into. Human nature is to get away with what ever you can against a big company but when the error happens they get mad when it is corrected. The whole time they are hoping they will not notice the problem.

It's no different than getting paid too much on you pay cheque. If you don't say any thing and spend the money is that right? If the company comes back to correct their error should they care you don't have the money any more?

I'm not saying that anyone on here has this thought process but many people do.
Knix Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

irregularities in billing

Our Enmax situation:
We paid a $300.00 deposit to Enmax which we never received back. When we moved to a new house we transferred Enmax to our new house. All of a sudden our bill was $400.00 more then it should be with no explanation as to what that money was for. When we asked them about it they said that there was a $400.00 was for a deposit. We asked them what happened to the $300.00 deposit we already paid; they told us they refunded it to us. When we stated the no deposit had been refunded, they said it had been. When we request documentation showing when it was refunded they said they could not provided that for us but it was recorded in their “system”. When we asked for a letter or some kind of bill explaining that we have paid this new deposit, they said that it was recorded in the system and that they don’t provided the customer with documentation. When we said that we didn’t trust their recording methods because they had already took $300.00 from us, they said to bad. We have been dealing with this for 6 months now and last week we were speaking with another supervisor and our $300 deposit from our old house was found in the system and no it had not been returned to us.
We now have paid $700.00 in deposits that we have no record of other then our bank statement saying we have paid them. They are still refusing to give us documentation that we have paid the deposits. The amounts are just added to our monthly total without explanation as to what it is for and we are told to trust them that it is being recorded on their system.
It has been so frustrating dealing with Enmax because there is no recourse if they do things and you disagree with them. There is no place to go to be able to get your money back or to have a third independent party to make a decision. Currently if you don’t pay whatever they demand you to pay they just threaten you with disconnection. As a renter, there is even less choice out there for service providers for electricity and nothing for water.
As a side note, Enmax didn’t charge us for water for about 6 months as well. We would call them every month after receiving our bill and explained that as students with children, we are on a fix budget and can not afford a sudden bill and asked them to fix the billing issue. They did not fix the issue for months and when they finally did put the outstanding amount on our bill we owed them over $600.00. They then threatened to disconnect us if it was not paid off immediately.
Dealing with Enmax is so difficult and trying to get the company to be accountable for their mistakes is even harder. We struggle every month to make it as a family and the added pressure of dealing with Enmax and never knowing what unexplained demands they will have just adds to our stress. The power that they have and the lack of accountability to its customers is so what frightening; especially, when you are that customer who never knows if they are going to disconnect you or give you your money back.
It is sad that a publically owned company can be so unaccountable to its owners. Clearly the corporate culture of accountability was not only lacking at the top with the CEO but throughout the entire organization. Too bad that they only got rid of the CEO and have done nothing to address the issues around accountability and customer service.
Msmoneypenny Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

irregularities in billing

OMG I thought i was the only one!!! thwy have d****d me around for the last 6 yrs iwas with them. The final act of jerkism on their part was when i was cancelling my account to move to another province. I arranged to have the account terminated effective Aug 30th.I asked for my balance to date and made a payment arrangement to pay the full amount of $290 on Sept 5th. they said everything was done and dandy. Aug 28th, they cut my power-i was still in the house. When i gor a hold of them thay said my final bill was due August 28th and it was not paid so they cut service. i yelled at them that not only is the account terminating in 2 days, I had a mutually agreed to paymrnt arrangememtn to pay the account off Sep 5th. They saud no such arrangement was on file and i had to pay it immediate ly get power back...for 2 frackin' days!! hate them. Then they sent me an invoice for an adjusted metre read plus to charges of 45 dollars each-one to go to my house and cut power, the next to come back and turn it on. The new bill was for $333. May they rot in hell.
Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

irregularities in billing

Hi,

I have been harassed by irregulaty in easymax billing. A few month ago they did mistake in billing and they did correct their mistake after repeated calling from my side. last month they sent me the correct bill and this month they have added an bill for delivery which they said was not added in my last bill.

As a result of this, I am getting a extra amount of bill at one time which does effect my monthly money plan.

I am approaching you since I belive calling them will not solve the problem. I want a regular, legitimate bill and want all my extra service charges (which arised due to their administrative problem) to be removed from my bill.

Regards,
Kumud Deka
Manjung Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

irregularities in billing

That customer service said it's legal to do actual reading only TWO times/year.only need do TWO times actual meter reading and make it's bill legal !!!

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    nokia X2-02 - Mobile Lost
    hello sir This mail is regarding my lost mobile. I have...
    P C Richard & Son - Had to wait 5 business days for someone to come and look...
    My new Samsung washer broke two weeks ago.Water pouring...
    My-picture.co.uk - Damaged Goods
    I ordered a picture on aluminium...it arrived with in a...
    samsung galaxy young - mobile theft
    Respected sir, This is complaint...
    Real spell caster that help me - how i get my ex back, thanks to dr ITUA SPELL HOME
    Dr Itua HELP ME BRING BACK MY EX GIRL FRIEND BACK TO ME....
    htc - I Missed My Phone
    Mobil Model - HTC IME Number- 352228050179226 Color -...
    GreenDot.com - Blocked card
    I've been a customer for three years with no problem...
    EF Tours - Entire trip gone wrong!
    I went on my trip June 11, 2014-June 25, 2014. I have been...
    cop@vsnl.net - LOSS OF MOBILE PHONE
    I AMAN TAKKAR LOST MY PHONE MODEL:-KARBONN A2+(BLACK...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username