Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Florida Department of Children and Families - Food Stamp program

United States,
Florida

Consumer complaints and reviews about Florida Department of Children and Families - Food Stamp program

sleepless17 Send email
 
Dec 3, 2016

Medicaid Share of cost killing me!

I was placed in the program because I had a surgery in January I count pay for.I am in the adap program in which I was covered medically because I am HIV+.unfortunately adap only works at the local health department.so was going OK for first 3 months then the pharmacy I had been going to no longer could accept the s.o.c.so I tried 2 other pharmacies they were unable to invoice for my medication went a month without.finally was able to use Winn Dixie pharmacy for about 3 months.now they have denied me going on 4 months!mind u my share of cost is $105 my medication is over 3600 so I should meet the s.o.v c every month right?apparently not.so I have called children and families,adap and case workers to no availability made over 30calls now.I'm getting worse everyday.can't even sleep cause I know I'm dying a bit faster because I can't get medication which I'm suppose to take everyday.this is America where we are supposed to have so much.woke up thinking maybe I should just go ahead and kill myself.what's the point of waiting.thank u.
rama108 Send email
 
Nov 2, 2016

Hurricane Matthew

All my food was no good after the electric had been out for 5 days. By the time my food stamp card ran out Ebt was no longer helping people who lost their food. Shame on Ebt Florida. I've been hungry for 2 weeks now.
Xoxox Send email
 
Oct 14, 2016

Unable to access the benefits I was given

I had $190 left in food benefits when my card was stolen. I called to request a replacement card, which never arrived. I called again to re-request another replacement card. It supposedly would arrive in 5-7 business days, but this additional card also never arrived. I tried for a month and a half to get a replacement card for the one that was stolen, but it never arrived. I triple-checked that they had my correct address, so I have no idea what the problem is. Then my benefits expired, and no one at the customer service center was able to do anything.

So I just lost $190 in food for absolutely no reason. I'm already doing pretty terribly financially, so that's a big problem.

I'm still waiting for a call from a manager, but I'm not holding my breath.
Dria55 Send email
 
Sep 30, 2016

Called for interview

Today I called for the phone interview I was scheduled to have. I received the rudest agent I've ever dealt with from any company! I completed my application online but she asked me every question that was on the application and I answered politely. She questioned me about every little thing like she wanted to find something wrong. No matter how polite I was she had an attitude. She attempted to make me feel like I'm less than a person. I've never felt so disrespected. I wanted to hang up and call back to speak with anyone but her. I maintained my composure and finished the call. She ended the call with "this interview is over we have 30 days to decide what we're going to do" and hung up. Not professional at all. I understand that they are busy but there still needs to be a level of professionalism. Without families in need the customer service reps would not have a job to perform!
Chodelee1 Send email
 
Aug 9, 2016

Apply for additional benefits

When I go to my access account, it is not giving me the option of applying for additional benefits. What can I do in regards to this?
Eliza Send email
 
Aug 3, 2016

Cannot make contact

The phone number goes nowhere; puts you in a dead zone.

Drive close to 25 miles just to hand in paperwork that is vital to sustaining the case, only to find out I cannot speak with anyone.

Try the fax numbers and ALL OF THEM come back as 'failed'. (Cannot even fax paperwork without being denied 'Access'.

Taken off benefits because of not reporting to work registration. Made a copy of the verification that was the proof from THEIR site!
It's beyond reason how much opposition, disorganization, and apathy comes from a Program that was meant to help someone get back on their feet.

If the workers suffer from burnout or are underpaid or inexperienced with high stress work, they need to be evaluated. It's a damaged system that is overwhelmed with needy people looking for help, and many are waiting for the Hope and Change to happen.
Marcus55z Send email
 
Jul 16, 2016

Ebt bias

I hate to say it, but race has become a great concern when dealing with state and federal services. If you're white, you already have one foot in the grave when applying or re-applying for programs like ebt. If you're black all you have to do is ask for it and get it. I've spoken with both sides and the above gets more upsetting every day. If you're white and make negative money, you stand less of a chance to get ebt than a black who makes a million a year. My daughter has two kids and makes less now than last year when she received ebt. Yet the black ebt rep refused her application for ebt. Plus I know of two blacks who make more now than last year and much more than my daughter, and they had no problems retaining their ebt. If that isn't biased, I don't know what is. People are also more likely to get ebt and other services if they lie on their applications for services from the government! There is no fairness in dealing with government services for whites.
Marcus55z Send email
 
Jul 16, 2016

Ebt

I hate to say it, but race has become a great concern when dealing with state and federal services. If you're white, you already have one foot in the grave when applying or re-applying for programs like ebt. If you're black all you have to do is ask for it and get it. I've spoken with both sides and the above gets more upsetting every day. If you're white and make negative money, you stand less of a chance to get ebt than a black who makes a million a year. My daughter has two kids and makes less now than last year when she received ebt. Yet the black ebt rep refused her application for ebt. Plus I know of two blacks who make more now than last year and much more than my daughter, and they had no problems retaining their ebt. If that isn't biased, I don't know what is. People are also more likely to get ebt and other services if they lie on their applications for services from the government! There is no fairness in dealing with government services for whites.
BCK128 Send email
 
Jul 9, 2016

I have never felt less of a person..

Last night I received an email to call during business hours to conduct a phone interview regarded my recent application for enrollment into SNAP. To say this was unpleasant conversation is putting it lightly. The woman was rude from the start, she was very short with me and did not explain what this phone interview consisted of or that we were even doing an "interview". She asked me my name, address last four of my SSN and then proceeded to ask all the questions that I had filled out on the online application a few days prior. Once done with making me feel about two feet tall, she then said she will submit my application to be reviewed. Confused, I told her that I already submitted the application online and that the email said I needed to call in for an interview. Instead of apologizing for the confusion and that the interview was to review all of the answers submitted online. She commenced to knock me down even further. I finally had enough and told her that I was not an idiot and that all I wanted to do was make sure I understood what was going on and that she had been very rude the entire conversation. Not my proudest moment but I had never been talked to like this before. Even though I felt terrible about my outburst, this woman was not fazed. She continued her rude comebacks to my questions and then we ended the conversation.
Now, I am fully aware that the representatives that work for DCF receive some unpleasant phone calls and more power to them for their continued work in that type of environment but they also need to be aware of the type of situations people are in when they are requesting assistance. The ones that are in actual need are not calling because they are proud of their situation and can't wait to milk the government of free assistance. No, they're calling because they are in a tight spot and as a last resort they are requesting temporary government assistance while they claw their way back up on their feet. Many times, these people are very depressed and just need some sort of light at the end of the road, not to be belittled further by someone who doesn't know their situation. Calling for assistance should be a pleasant experience, the representative should speak to the individual with respect and know that this is usually the first time they are hearing this information.
I am appalled by the lack of training that this representative has received and my heart goes out to anyone that she speaks to that is not in the best mental state due to their own personal situation.
jey Send email
 
Apr 22, 2016

EBT gone, can't prove I work odd jobs :'(

I help take care of my elderly mother, she's 85, and has Alzheimer's, so I can't really keep a steady job, instead I take side jobs, anything I can do, and I get paid in cash, not much, but it helps make ends meet. I'm also in methadone maintenance partially for pain, partially to keep me away from pain pills, which were destroying my health. Since I can't PROVE that I do these odd jobs, and can barely even stay alive WITH food assistance, I have no idea who I'm going to survive now :'( Thanks for making life even more miserable...I honestly wish I could just give up, this along with all the rest of the SHIT in my life, makes me wonder why I even bother. I don't know what to do, and I can't even get in touch with anyone that can help me!!!!!!

NOBODY CARES. I already knew this, what's the point in even trying? these people do not care if I starve, they are so impatient, and rude on the phone that it's intimidating, and just make everything so much worse ><
Doruni Send email
 
Apr 19, 2016

Loss of benefits due to replenishment dates

Calling them does nothing. They are reading from a script and repeat the same thing over and over. Contact local news and a lawyer. Keep the calls and complaints going. There was nothing in that letter about a lapse in benefits. They know exactly what they did. They just can't be that stupid
Fizbnn Send email
 
Apr 18, 2016

Lost benefits

I lost my benefits because I didn't report for a work program, a program I was never informed about and knew nothing about until today. DCF calls it a penalty, the whole month of April w/o food. I called and found out they want me to work 80 hours a month for $170 in food benefits, or at a slave wage of $2.05 per hour. I'm disabled, was denied SSI because I hadn't worked long enough to generate the minimum work credits even though my medical condition was recognized as disabling. I wasn't working because I'm disabled! Hello???!!! What am I supposed to do now? Starve or move to democratic state? No money to move, so pack a backpack and hitchhike North to become homeless in a strange new place, just so I can eat? You might as well just kill me now and get it over with.
Saintly Send email
 
Apr 17, 2016

Florida Department of Children and Families - Food Stamp program

Date changes in Snap issuance cost me two weeks of benefits. I called and Representative was said no, I didn't lose anything. I said, yes, I did, as sure as if they were stolen. In fact, since there's no way to ever recover them, the benefits were, in effect, stolen.

No, she said and besides Florida had nothing to do with it, because it was the federal government. Who in the federal government? The FDA she said. The FDA? Yes, the FDA, she said. With this, it became clear that there was no point in walking her through the dates or walking her through arithmetic. I received benefits on the fifteenth of the months - but not in April. Now, in April no benefits till the 28th. Two weeks will go by with no new benefits; I'll have about $10 for those two weeks.

So I agree with Burimi, except about the cause. Most of the people in FL government may not be able to do the math, but some can. So Florida is simply stealing millions of dollars from Snap program clients.
Doruni Send email
 
Apr 15, 2016

Lost benefits due to replenishment dates

I too have lost two weeks worth of benefits because of their date changes. Argued for an hour with someone that insisted I didn't lose anything. I am very careful with my ebt usage and know exactly what it buys. I'm not sure if this was the States way to save millions of dollars or just the state showing its ignorance at doing simple math. Call the governor's office and voice a complaint. I need to feed my son for the next two weeks
Fedaykin Send email
 
Apr 12, 2016

Food stamps: they punish you if you ask for assistance

I am 42 out of work for 4 years, I have psoriatic arthritis and psoriasis over 40% of my body. In extreme pain a lot :(, I finally am receiving medical care with volunteers in medicine, but the treatment they giving me doesn't really work and because it is free I have to wait months for appointments. I only receive $1100 a year for income and am getting help from my plutonic roommate with phone and rent, plus car insurance. She can not afford to feed me though so I have to somehow find food money. I applied to the food assistance program sent them my income info, plus did their B.S. online course thing. Did it on a pad could not drag over some answers and got easy questions wrong!! Circa 1992 software their. I received one months food stamps, then received a letter saying next month is denied because I did not send my income info, which I faxed, now I just received another letter of denial saying I did not do my work requirement. I never received any correspondence from dcf besides my denial letters lol. After all this I would rather loose my self-respect and beg on the street for food money. Thank you Florida state government for your compassion and understanding, I hope you all burn in hell.
Regards,
Disgusted Florida citizen
Bigdadd7877 Send email
 
Mar 30, 2016

Income info unclear

My wife and I reapply recently she makes $1095 every 2 weeks I am a stay at home dad and watch our 2 kids and I make about $80 per week. So after sending the our pay stubs recently we lost all benefits.
I went to check and see why and it appears as if they entered my wife's monthly income when it asks for her average pay check. Now if the screen is asking for your average paycheck and you get paid biweekly how can you monthly income be entered there. If that's the case we need to do all pay info as monthly but that's not what the screen asks for.
Then for me it shows now that I make 4660 per week cause I get paid per week but only $80. So how did that become so much.
Now I had to reapply and who knows when this will get done.
Also I uploaded all documents requested, the websites said processing then my uploads disappeared... twice.
Eventually I had to fax it but then they entered the wrong information.
Should I just enter monthly income because that's what the do... Should I put down that I get paid monthly instead of weekly...
And also for my wife as well.
svaughn Send email
 
Mar 28, 2016

SNAP Date Change

I am a single mother of 3 young boys. I usually receive $649/month in SNAP benefits for food. According to a notice I received in the mail the date that I was going to be receiving our benefits was going to change from the 13th of the month to the 23rd of the month in March of 2016. In order for this to be achieved I would receive a partial benefit on March 13th in the amount of $325 and then my benefits would begin on the new schedule on March 23rd. With 3 growing boys (ages 11,10 and 9 yrs old) I always run out of benefits before the month is over and my child support is only $450 so that is of no help at all. On March 13th I received the $325 as expected. Thing is I always get the bulk of my groceries at the beginning of the month but I had to hold off. We still ran out of food money before the 23rd of the month. Once the 23rd came I called to check the balance and was shocked to find out that I only received $324 not the expected $649!!! I was confused. I thought there must have been a mistake. So I checked to see when the next deposit would be and it said it would not be until April 23rd!!!!! WHAT!! I only had $324 in food money to spend to feed 4 people for a month! So I call them.
The person on the phone treated me like an idiot. She said ma'am, you received a partial payment of your March benefits on the 13th and the remainder on the 23rd. I tried to make her understand that my next payment was not due until the 23rd of April so I should have been given the entire $649 and that it was impossible for me to make $324 last until April 23rd. I told her I already spent $120 just to get some necessities and that my boys go through at least a gallon of milk every 2 days. And with spring break less than a week a way it was gonna cost me even more in food for the week. She told me to get a calculator. She told me to add $325 plus $324 and asked me what did I get. I told her I got $649 of course (Duh!). I explained it again slowly to her and finally she understood what I was trying to say. She said she understood and felt really sorry about what I have to go through but there is nothing she could do. That is how they decided to do it when they changed the distribution dates.
All I could think of is how much money the government is saving by doing this. By giving only half of the SNAP benefits to each family for the month will save them hundreds of thousands if not more. And at the same time others that don't have dependents may be losing theirs if they do not meet the new requirements. That means more people are going to be relying on food banks/pantries so there will be more food shortages. As for me, with so little child support I cannot afford much gas so I cannot be driving all over the place to go to different food pantries. I am just worried about my kids. They should not have to suffer because the government wants to make some money.
lb79 Send email
 
Mar 14, 2016

snap date change

Im only now learning that the my family is not included in the transition. The letter we received left out the fact that since our case renewed in February, we get to wait until the new date before our snap benefits are available. This was only disclosed in a FAQ on the Access Florida website, not in the notice sent to us. I wouldn't mind getting the benefit amount split like everyone reportedly wilk have to deal with. Instead, my family gets skipped over and we must wait until the 24th (I was expecting to be able to purchase some food tiday, the 13th, which is my usual date.) It would have been nice to at least know so we could plan on going two weeks without food assistance. We barely get enough to pay for two weeks of food as it is, and I just spent 120 last week on basic food. We make sure our son gets what he needs before we eat but now I'm expecting another child and I do need to eat too. These people have no idea what it is like to make such tough decisions, being disabled abd struggling to provide basic food. This feels like a hidden benefit cut, a sneaky way of taking away hakf a month of food assistance from those who rely on it to survive.
Rocker20 Send email
 
Mar 7, 2016

Did not get my foodstamps

I got 211 last month Feb I was only so post to get 60$ this month March it's split in two payments they made I mistake and gave me 211 last month I did not know it was mistake till I read the letter now I'm only so post to get 144 starting this month I resplayed for them wheres my stamps
ByeDCF Send email
 
Feb 6, 2016

It's About Accountability

This is a long post. I am aware. I do not need anyone to point it out to me in an insulting comment. I just want to respectfully offer a perspective from both sides of the argument. Of course no one is obligated to read it.

DCF is a broken system. This is established, and yes it is the government's fault (mostly). The government has enlisted a poverty trap while simultaneously constituting attitudes of entitlement and greed within our nation's youth: a recipe for economic disaster. For far too long, they have made it too comfortable to live on welfare and are now fighting off the monster they have created. I am a 36 year old wife and mother who has always worked hard at a minimum of 1 job at a time to feed my family without any government assistance or a college education. Additionally, 8 of those years were spent as a single mother. So it can happen people. However, we relocated to Florida from another state last year specifically for my husband's job, and I was able to stay home and pursue my Psychology degree. Within 3 months of us being here, he lost his job due to budget cuts. He was a contractor, therefore did not qualify for unemployment. Needless to say, we had to turn to DCF for help. It has been a nightmare jumping through hoops for them. They have treated me like a second class citizen at almost every contact. It is always something!! My youngest child has severe asthma and allergies and lost her medicaid for 2 months due to a clerical error on their part, and it was only reinstated after I contacted my State Representative. That is just one example. However, I do not blame the DCF staff. I blame those who do abuse (and there are a lot) the system, (which are likely the majority of the people they get verbally attacked by daily) and I blame the government for being a catalyst for it. There are plenty like myself who have put a lot more into the funding than taken from it, so I will never make assumptions about someone I see swiping an EBT card at the grocery store. I am one of them. I am happy to say, though, that this is the last month that we will be relying on public assistance. After a year of us both searching for stable, lucrative employment, my husband has finally landed at a great company with great benefits and great pay. It took a lot of perserverance, but we made it and, as grateful as I have been for the help, it feels so good to be free of DCF. If every able-bodied recipient would strive to work their way out of it partnered with the government's aid getting them out of it rather than trapping them into it, I feel that everyone would have more of an appreciation for the (temporary) help, and those on the outside would have more compassion and understanding. As of right now, it is the "moochers" (referenced from another post) that are making it so difficult for those that the system was designed for, not DCF, but complaining on a public forum isn't going to make a difference. It is up to our government at every level to change their mind set. Many of them have never been explained to that filling out paperwork for welfare every few months isn't earning a living.
barbiedoll1 Send email
 
Feb 2, 2016

food stamps cancelled

My food stamps have also been cut by over 1/2 this year! Now they were cancelled due to" non- recertification". They never sent me any notices and I was rudely told that I responsible to check when it was due. Ok fine BUT, my 90 year old mother is on my application and -- her stamps are sill active but reduced to $78.00 a month!!! I guess they do not want old folks to eat much. Trying online to re-certify has proved impossible as no form is available to me with the explanation that I am eligible and no further "actions" are necessary. What are they thinking, without beneficiaries like us, the useless employees would be the first in line to receive government help for themselves.
MariahGreer Send email
 
Jan 20, 2016

Need to report rude DCF Representative

Ever since this new law change that took effect on Jan. 1st 2016, to where you are being force to go volunteer for 80 hours a month in like a goodwill, I have been calling and they keep telling me I need to call Career Source and Career Source says its not their problem I need to call DCF.... At this point Im fed up 3 weeks later. After waiting 45 minute wait time, Once again trying to call DCF, I tried to be as nice as possible even though I was severely frustrated. So I had a confrontation on the phone the a DCF Representative. She had me on hold and I answered a question to a friend of mine who was asking me about my options (Keeping in mind I was put on hold by the representative, so I had no idea she was ease dropping on my personal convo) He asked me about other Options, in which I replied I'm a single white female I don't have any other options.. The representative came back on the line and started calling me a racist. I tried to explain to her I was answering a friends question and I wasn't talking to her, that I thought I was on hold.. She repeatedly called me a racist then told me to be quiet. So I asked to please speak to her supervisor ... I asked several times and she kept saying no, that the call was being recorded. I replied good then they can pull the call, let me talk to your supervisor. She flat out told me she would not transfer me and hung up on me. Afterwards I got a survey that came on the phone line which I gave a completely bad review.

I called back waited for another 30 mins, and that woman told me she had no clue what call center the other rep was apart of. And she wouldn't be able to help me locate her supervisor. That she put in the comments that I was complaining about another rep. Now she did help me solve my issue that I've been calling for, but I would still like to report the original rep. Does anyone know how I would go about this?

I did customer service for years, one of the first things they teach you is no matter how rude or hateful the person is on the line you never get rude back or call them a name. If she was offended there where better responses and ways to deal with it. Especially when I tried to explain I was answering someone else's question, it should of been left at that. I want to make sure this does not happen to me or someone else. Any positive advice or guidance would be greatly appreciated :)
MARIBEL Send email
 
Jan 5, 2016

RENEW

THE CASE WORKER CALL ME WHILE AM AT WORK SAYING THEY WERE UNABLE TO VERIFY MY EMPLOYMENT BUT HE CALLING MY JOB ASKING FOR ME . THAT THE REASON WHY I WAS TURN DOWN, HE DIDN'T EVEN GIVE ME OPTION TO GRAB MY SUPERVISOR ARE HAVE THEM EMAIL EMPLOYMENT VERIFICATION HE SAID I HAD TO RE APPLY AND HUNG UP IN ME
cancersucks Send email
 
Dec 15, 2015

Florida DCF corruption

I applied for medicaid and snap after being diagnosed with cancer which I was eligible for food stamps and share of cost. I work seven days a week and take care of my disabled daughter that is autistic. She doesn't receive any benefits from the government. I also have 3 sons that I take care of. I never used the share of cost for my surgery because UF Shands took care of it. I used the share of cost for a hospital visit in The Villages hospital and shortly after that they cut off my medical and now I can no longer receive my ct scans to see if my cancer is back. I reapplied and needed to send dcf proof of income and a letter of proof of loans and /or gifts. I always upload documents via access florida with no problems, however this time I was unable to due to an error with the files, so I tried to fax the documents several times and they failed to send. I call dcf and I was told the lines are too busy and to keep trying.(never happened). I then did a little digging on the internet for another fax number and I found one from a letter they had sent me. That number worked and they received my docs. I called dcf and I was told they have the documents and my case worker will be working on my case and I should receive benefits right a way.
That was dec 1st 2015. I was officially denied benefits on Dec 22, 2015. reason being that they did not receive my docs. Now I will have to get on the phone with them and see whats going on. If they do not help me I will be making a complaint to the state because I know dcf doesn't care if I die from cancer but I DO and so does my family. I believe in taking care of your own, but unfortunately I have cancer and it's terrifying to know that this state of Florida has no help. My other choice is obamacare, however it would cost me over $500 a month. I tried to pay it but couldn't afford it so that coverage was cancelled.
Lordknows Send email
 
Nov 12, 2015

Super rude man

Dcf employee was super rude and racist (305) 528-4558
that's his line very rude to Hispanic people

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Award Notification Commission - Fake winning letter
    I received a fake letter today stating that I won...
    Award Notification Commission - Fake winning notification
    I received a letter saying I won $2,000,000.00 I knew it...
    ORACLEVISAS.COM IN DUBAI BEWARE STOLE MY MONEY - Fraud
    they scammed me with 6500 dirham after they shutdown and...
    Bunnings Hardware - Bunnings Cessnock nsw
    I am very disappointed with Bunnings at Cessnock.I rang...
    Hallmark channel - Can't hear over the music
    I watch hallmark movies all the time but about to give up...
    Viceland - cruelty to animals
    I cannot believe I had to give up H2 for this! I have been...
    ANC Award Notification Commision - Official Declaration of Certified Award
    I, too, today received an Official Declaration of...
    Immigration of malaysia - Working Visa Illegal
    Name: ANALIZA PUNO LEONG Passport Number: EC7554164 Visa...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Award Notification Commission - Fake winning letter
    I received a fake letter today stating that I won...
    Award Notification Commission - Fake winning notification
    I received a letter saying I won $2,000,000.00 I knew it...
    ORACLEVISAS.COM IN DUBAI BEWARE STOLE MY MONEY - Fraud
    they scammed me with 6500 dirham after they shutdown and...
    Bunnings Hardware - Bunnings Cessnock nsw
    I am very disappointed with Bunnings at Cessnock.I rang...
    Hallmark channel - Can't hear over the music
    I watch hallmark movies all the time but about to give up...
    Viceland - cruelty to animals
    I cannot believe I had to give up H2 for this! I have been...
    ANC Award Notification Commision - Official Declaration of Certified Award
    I, too, today received an Official Declaration of...
    Immigration of malaysia - Working Visa Illegal
    Name: ANALIZA PUNO LEONG Passport Number: EC7554164 Visa...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username