Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Green Dot MoneyPak

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Green Dot MoneyPak

Sealord101 Send email
 
Nov 25, 2014

Scratch off

I purchase money pak from family Dollar and i Scratch of the Number with the silver panel can you pls get me the number back here is my number 208 232 5990 and my email is Hayyah_65@yahoo.com
sharon chamberso Send email
 
Nov 12, 2014

moneypak

I bought two MoneyPak from cvs one for 406.70 and one for184.95 they are now asking for 700.00 please help me charlene clark was her name plus ben morgan telephone num 2026979510 charlene ext.447 i need my money back it was nov. 10 2014 my home phone num is 8602420129 cell num 8605430234 I also have both reciepts
Mjai Send email
 
Oct 29, 2014

money gone on card

Good Afternoon,
I bought some moneypaks with $500 on each. I loaded most of them up with no problem at different times to pay certain bills. This morning I went to pay on my car insurance and tags. I had 2 moneypak cards that were not even scratched yet. Once the car agent told me my total I literally scratch the back of one and tried to load the card. It said that it was an error the first time. When I re-entered it again. It told me that it was at a zero balance. I went into a panic because I need car insurance or else you can not get around here in Augusta. I put that card aside and tried the next one and it went thru. But I still need my original $500 back because I have to buy my tags. Tried to call but was very unsuccessful!!!!!! Can someone please assist me with this matter.
robert w. Send email
 
Jul 22, 2014

UNAUTHOREIZED TRANSACTIONS

A company that goes by the name of american financial which is a personal loan originally askes for financial stability which consists of a green dot money pack containing at least 30% of the loan the loan being 2000 dollars the green dot money pak showed 200.00 dollars not aware it was never told would be a transaction that left my card at 0 dollars including a electronic transaction deposit to be sent to my account for a fee of 150.00 which i only had 100.00 they say its ok go ahead with the discounted fee says green dot problem which would send my 100 in the mail next fri but i would have to purchase another card for the same amount this amount was paid but now needed insurance for haveing bad credit of 150.00 dollars is there a way to find out your transaction unauthorized so it will not be paid these guys say they cannot giveme my money back unlest the loan is completed i told them cancel it i dont want the loan send the money back they say wait for acheck in the mail ..can you help in this unauthorized transactions there phone number is 415)935-7205 MY name is Robert Wilbur my number is 626343-0434
zytavius2008 Send email
 
Jul 19, 2014

thieves

I BOUGHT TO MONEY PAK (GREEN DOT) BOTH 300.00 WHICH EQUAL 600.00 TOTAL ONE WAS LOADED THE OTHER SAID INSUFFIENT FUNDS WHEN I CALLED THE MAN NAME MIKE ASK FOR THE NUMBER ON BACK OF THE CARD WE GOT DISCONNECTED AND WHEN I CALLED BACK HE TOLD ME NO BALANCE ON THE CARD SO IM MISSING 300.00. ITS SAD TIMES ARE TIGHT AND INSTITUTIONS ARE STEALING. CAN ANYNE PLEASE HELP ME 8043131998
montra Send email
 
Jun 23, 2014

where is my money

I brought 3 50dolla cards called customer service gave the guy the info he even gave me another number in case we got disconnected and now all my cards say they have been used but there not in my account the guy said his name was Matthew Barnes the number. He gave me was 2526796224 . my name is montra harris my number is 6173078618 please call
Rajnish418 Send email
 
Jun 20, 2014

For Quick Solution

For Quick solution of complaint click <a href="http//:www.abc.com">here</a>
victory Send email
 
Jun 20, 2014

money gone

11;00am 6/19/2014 i went to walgreens buy a card for 200.4.95 cents the woman give the card i want home and called the back card give the pin they said to wait 15 to20 min i wait and called back they said 0 balance they give my money to some one , thats not rigth i called walgreens and they said tis noting do with them so whos going to pay me back.im thiking go to news watch 12 and make a report or calling the better business burru if i dont here from moneypak i will wait 2 to3 days and if i donot here from moneypak i will call and make a compant and tell everboby i no about moneypak still money call me at 401-383-3448 buy
victor Send email
 
Jun 19, 2014

moneypakgive my to someboby us

i went to walgreens and got a card to put money .and i give the woman 200.4.95 and she give me the card .and i went home and called back of the card number is 1800-473-3636 and give the pin number and they said call back and 15 to 20 min. and now theres noting and there .call me i like to no whats going on .our im going to call the better bus ,b ,and file a complant .heres my number 401-383-3448
Lanice Send email
 
Jun 10, 2014

Loan Fraud

Was getting a loan with this company called Lending Club.com. They was unable to use my account. Went through Western Union to get the loan on the 06/06/2014 which was on a Friday I gave them $152.00 to process the loan. then they told me that I would have to pay a fee for $289.69 on 06/09/2014 which was on a Monday. Then Mr. Chase tell me that I had the wrong amount and I would have to buy another green dot card for the amount of $298.59 which was on Tuesday 06/10/2014. The when I done all of that he gets on the line and started talking about a taxes fee of $400.00 dollars and some changes I got so mad at him that I told him I wasn't paying them another dime. So not I'm out of $740.28 which I desperately need. The loan was suppose to be for $3000.00 dollars but it is turning out to be a scam.
jcolson Send email
 
Jun 10, 2014

GREEN DOT MONEY PACK

I BOUGHT A RELOAD MONEY PAC FROM CVS IN ST PETE AND LOADED THE FUNDS TO MY CARD ON THE GREENDOT WEBSITE IT SHOWED SUCCESSFUL THEN WHEN I WENT TO USE MY DEBIT CARD AT THE GAS STATION IT CAME UP INSUFFICIENT FUNDS THEN WHEN I CALLED GREEN DOT THERE IS NO LIVE CUSTOMER REPS THIS IS TERRIBLE THAT HARD WORKING PEOPLE LIKE MYSELF TRUST THE GREEN DOT NETWORK AND THEY ARE RIPPING THE PUBLIC OFF I AM JOINING THE ACTION LAW SUIT AGAINST GREEN DOT PLEASE HELP
karenhenderson Send email
 
Jun 4, 2014

i need my money from greendotmoneypak

i recently bought two money packs from greendot corporation and had them stolen i bought them on the date may 31 and i reported them missing as soon as monday when i could finally find a way to reach them. that was on june 2 i faxed them the reciepts and had to do it twice. i feel like they are ripping me off i wish somebody would help me i am going to loose my home now i am disabled and only get a little from the state my rent is 291 and then i pay my own utilities.they say they are investigating it but the rent man can only wait so long they dont want to give me my 200 and my 93 dollars. someone needs to shut this down im a 49 year old single lady no family.
KELLYAW Send email
 
May 3, 2014

Theft

My 85 year old father was just hit by a scam using Moneypak. Someone called and said it was his grandson, had only 60 seconds to talk. He had been arrested and needed help. Long story short, I was out of the country so I couldn't stop him or check it out. He was told to buy Moneypak cards and call with the info. $19,000, yes nineteen thousand dollars in three days. Cops say no way to get any of it back. BEWARE!!!!!!!
halljoan149 Send email
 
May 2, 2014

I want my money back from green dot money pak card

I want to get my money back off the green dot moneypak card I purchase from CVS in Baltimore city
demarcus Send email
 
Apr 9, 2014

green dot money pack

Hi my name is demarcus nels I bout 2 green dot money packs and I upload 200 dollars on One and I uploaded 175 on the other and my money was took off bouth of my cards and I don't kno were it wen I gave my card number to customer service and that's the only person I gave it to so I m ineed of yall help cuz that was my last money and I need that to pay my bills my number is 3178328129
skibum Send email
 
Apr 3, 2014

Moneypak refund check not received?

I purchased a moneypak card a little more than a year ago. It got lost in the shuffle of a move, and finally re surfaced. I went through the refund process and got the standard "you should receive your check in 7-10 business days". It's now been 14 days and still no check? I have sent 2 messages to their supposed customer service with no response! I can't find a customer service # to even call them? Even if I could, from what I've read, they've been no help for others. As far as I'm concerned, a company that is willing to take your money, then drag their feet with no contact to your inquiry, or even worse not send your refund AT ALL, should be shut down and put out of business!!! I have no idea if I'll EVER see my check, or how to take action? These guys blow!!!
irma555 Send email
 
Sep 18, 2012

Fucking moneypak

i wish i would of read customer reveiws and complaints before i bought a moneypak i did receive a check but cant cash it it because it shows code red INVALID CHECK nice
DarthDraconis24 Send email
 
Aug 8, 2012

Just about everything about them!!!

I needed a way to pay the Netflix bill on the same day, without having access to deposit money into the bank (which is a whole different story, by the way.) I got a recommendation to buy a Greendot Moneypak, which turned into a huge nightmare, and still is. I brought the card and receipt home, it was apparently supposed to have a scratch-off for the number but didn't, and instead the card told me to refer to the receipt. Which, in fact, was covered with long numbers all relating to the Greendot card, with a handy little activation number of 00|00|00|00 or some ridiculous thing that obviously would not work, as it was *all zeroes*! I went online, tried the numbers from the barcode on the card, they didn't work. So I tried various numbers off the receipt, and they didn't work either. I then called Customer Service, but despite their blurb about being able to activate your Greendot 24/7, and this having been on a Monday, the office was CLOSED, both the helpline and the activation line. Thus, I was not able to pay the Netflix bill that day.

Today, I called back during business hours, and reached that same old phone robot voice, this time rhythmically assaulting my ears with "Your estimated wait time is 20 minutes" and slick company lies about how "Your call is important to us" and "We are sorry about the wait", for about 45 minutes before I got a live person, who unfortunately had an accent and was quite hard to understand. After much back-and-forth, and "What? What? What?" on my part, I received a "case code" in which the company was apparently "investigating" my case (what is this, the FBI?) and to call back in 4 hours to receive a new number for the card so that I could activate it; that would be, then, about 3:15 pm. I got off the phone with an enormous headache, and went off to pass the time until the number would be ready. Just now, about an hour after the end of that conversation, I decided to call back and see if, by a stroke of good luck, my number would be ready. I was lucky I did, but not because the number was ready - apparently they *did not begin* whatever process they were supposed to be doing until I called the second time. Now, it seems as if it will not be ready until 4:30 if it is ready at all.

The one good thing about this is that I was given a handy little survey in which I gave mostly "1's" with regards to how satisfied I was (where 5 is the maximum satisfaction, and 1 is "extremely dissatisfied"), and it even had a list of reasons for dissatisfaction which were remarkably easy to pick from. I'm not sure whether to be grateful that it was easy, or horrified that these options are so well-suited to a problem like mine (ie how many times has this happened before?!)
HOODBLASTER Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Unable to fund PayPal

I FUCKING HATE GREEN DOT MONEY PAK TOOK MY 150$ I FUCKING PUNCH THE CVS GUY
Nunyuh Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Unable to fund PayPal

Purchased two Green Dot MoneyPak cards on October 27, 2009 in order to fund my PayPal account as advertised. I was charged $4.95 for each card and loaded $100 on one card, $600 on the other card. I have the receipt from the merchant (CVS) showing that they activated the cards.

I returned home and followed the directions for funding my PayPal account with the MoneyPak cards. I was asked to enter my name, social security number and some other information. I scratched off the silver spot on the back of the first card and entered the number as requested by the PayPal site. The amount of the card came up, which was correct. But when I click "fund", I get an error saying "Paypal has declined this transaction. Please contact Paypal for assistance". This happened with the second card as well.

So I called Paypal and was asked to go through the entire procedure again while on the phone with them. Same error message. Transferred to a supervisor. Same thing. The supervisor told me this is a "known issue" and that Paypal is working on it and that I should try going through the MoneyPak website and seeing if that worked. Same error message. She then told me that Paypal is "working on the problem" and that it would be resolved at the end of the week. I tried again on Friday, same exact problem, same response from Paypal. Tried again on Monday, same results. Tried again today, same results.

The only way to get my money back from the MoneyPak cards is to request a refund, which takes 10 days and comes in the form of a paper check. I do not have a checking account, so I will have to pay a fee to a check cashing place to cash the checks, which is another loss of money after having paid for the cards in the first place.

No-one seems to care at either place that this is happening and they keep advertising MoneyPak as a way to fund your Paypal account INSTANTLY. Now I owe late fees for the bills I was trying to pay by starting this in the first place. I even tried purchasing a prepaid GreenDot debit card hoping to just transfer the funds (for ANOTHER $4.95) but CVS couldn't sell me the card without my having MORE cash on hand to fund the card with, they couldn't use my already purchased and activated MoneyPak cards.

This feels less like a technical issue and more like a scam to me every day since no-one can give me any answers as to why this is happening, what the problem is, why the transaction is continuing to be declined or when it will be resolved. They have my money, what do they care?
Lordjwalker Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Unable to fund PayPal

i had the very same issue (i even purchased the minimum 25$ prepaid visa) i am bewildered by their incompetence and told them thusly; "you have a very inconvenient loophole in your account verification system that does not allow me to transfer necessary funds to my paypal. i have been delayed 2 weeks so far and it would seem your company intends to delay me further 2 weeks in this refund procedure. your company is making me and my business loose both clients and money indirectly through your inept customer service representatives and over complexified internet banking system. this near-fraudulent not-to-mention stressful process results in complete dissatisfaction with (lack-there-of)"services" rendered. i am hereby requesting a refund of the total balance of greendot moneypak # ****-****-**82-47. i will have mo more relations with GreenDot or any of its business affiliates. please feel free to expedite the refund process..." end quote . needless to say, greendot did not allow me to send my refund request containing this memo. yet another fail on greendots part, pardon me while i roll a fatty to alleviate the stress produced by this robbery of business interaction...

sufficed to say; FUCK GREENDOT!
Rose Mahanor Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

difficult to use

My 14 year old son purchased a Green Dot Moneypak at Walmart a while back. He lost the receipt which you need to activate the card and now we can no longer use the card which was 4.95 to activate along with 50.00 dollars added to the card for a total of 54.95. I phoned Moneypak and they can't help us. I then called Walmart and they too said they can't help. That's a loss of 54.95 for us and a gain of 54.95 for Moneypak. What a scam they've set up. It's preying on those people who lose the receipt. :(
Larry2011 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

difficult to use

Moneypak is a scam... I purchased a card for 300 bucks to transfer to paypal and it wouldnt transfer! I called money pak 5 times and they couldnt help me. they told me to call paypal so i did but they couldnt help me. Its suppose to be convenient right? That is the whole point. Well, nobody could help me so they issued a check to me and took my $4.95. I didnt even get to use it. Now I have to wait 7-10 business days to get my money back... What a scam and a rip off!

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    cop@vsnl.net - mobile lost
    My mobile LOST detail:- 1) IMIE...
    PNI*FREELOTTO FAST SVC, 212-867-1808 NY - Cancelamento
    meu nome é Samuel. Varias vezes tentei contato com a...
    Select Portfolio Servicing - Possible Loan Modification fraud
    My wife and I split up. She asked me to quick deed her...
    pizza hut malaysia - Very poor and slow service
    Pizza Hut at Megalong, Donggongon Penampang Sabah has to...
    OrGreenic pan - OrGreenic Pan Sticks!!!
    Purchased the OrGreenic 10" Skillet last night. We...
    Smart Tuition - Smart Tuition
    Smart Tuition offers a variety of payment options for...
    mobile draw@live.com - prize money
    HOW TO CLAIM MY PRIZE MONEY Name - Laxmi Thapa Address -...
    IDEA MONEY - Fraud withdrawal of Rs. 20000/- from my SBI A/C
    An amount of Rs. 20000/-(5000+5000+5000+5000) has been ...
    Hig Best Documents Producers - Obtain Quality Real and Novelty Document Foa All Countries.
    Buy High Quality Real/Novelty Passport,Drivers License,Id...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username