Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

groupon

United States,
Illinois

Consumer complaints and reviews about groupon

Genoe Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Blackhawk Ticket Fraud

My husband and I did not buy each other Christmas gifts this year, in part because he was laid off from work. When I saw this deal on Groupon, I told my husband about it. We both enjoy watching the games and thought this would be a great time away and get our minds off the job situation, of course we thought the deal was a great price with the dinner and open bar that was included, and figured even though the seats were not going to be the greatest it was going to be exciting to be among the fans. So I was saddened when I received the email and had to tell my husband about the cancellation. After reading the above statements, the only positive thing I can pull from this situation is that we were fortunate enough to have received a cancellation notice well in advance of our game night.
TheCadElf Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Blackhawk Ticket Fraud

We went to the "event" last night (Jan 2) and only got a sign in the window of Galleria Marchetti that the event had been cancelled. No answers from anyone at the time (Groupon, National Event Partners, Blackhawks). We bailed and caught dinner at The Twisted Spoke then went home to find an email from Groupon at 4:17pm saying the event was cancelled "due to unforseen circumstances".

Well, the email arrived 15 minutes after we were on the road. At least we're getting the $220 back, the wife left a nastygram with Groupon to see if they will comp my fuel costs for a 70 mile trip.

Sounds like National Event Planners and Galleria Marchetti are the weasels in this - if you can't pull together a simple event then don't be in the business!
JF7 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Blackhawk Ticket Fraud

Same thing happened to me and Groupon blamed the Blackhawks which when I called they said they had nothing to do with it. I think all of you should do the same thing I did and call the Blackhawks and complain to the Group Ticket sales department. They should be sued for what they did. They cost me a day of work and embrassment to my brother in law who flew up to see the game as part of his holiday visit.
Green Dot Corp Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Blackhawk Ticket Fraud

funny
Chicagoan1 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Blackhawk Ticket Fraud

I also had a bad experience at the 12/26/11 game, and the entire deal was completely misrepresented. I contacted Groupon's customer service and they accomodated me and I am very satisfied with how Groupon handled it, after the fact. The problem isn't Groupon, it's National Event Partners. It is a company that is not even BBB accredited, yet still managed to get a grade of F by the BBB, and they were the ones on the day of the event who didn't even direct the long line of us waiting inside that we should go ahead in and get some food/drink; that the line was just for tickets; and National Event Partners are the ones who did not even secure real seats for people for the game, instead standing room only was made available. They misrepresented the deal to Groupon as far as I can tell.
Mad Blackhawks Fan Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Blackhawk Ticket Fraud

Here was the email that I sent to Groupon regarding the same deal for the 12/26/11 game.


Hi,

I recently purchased two Groupons for the Chicago Blackhawks event on December 26th. The service that I received when I redeemed these groupons was extremely unsatisfactory and not worth the $110 per ticket that I paid. I would like a refund based on the horrible service that we received.

Let me explain:

The dinner at Galleria Marchetti was not nearly of the quality that described in the Groupon details. Groupon listed the details as:
Starting 90 minutes before the game, guests can imbibe premium liquors and select craft brews at an open bar and graze on a buffet that typically includes items such as sliders, salads, pasta, and prime rib carved in the shape of a sieve. A band gets fans in the mood to cheer with a rousing live set, and high-end shuttles will whisk fans to the United Center before the puck drops.

There was no salad, no prime rib. Instead we were offered sliders that were undercooked. The restaurant was running out of food before everyone had a chance to eat. There was not enough seating at the restaurant, so over half of the people had to stand while eating. There was no live band, just a DJ with inadequate sound equipment. We were met by long lines of unhappy people.
The "high-end shuttles" were nothing more than chartered buses, where the bus driver tried to cram us in like cattle. Our bus driver stated that we weren't leaving until the bus was full, and that included the aisle, so many people had to stand for the entire bus ride.
The most disappointing thing about the event was that most people were given standing room only tickets for the Blackhawks game. The Groupon said the tickets were for 300-level seats, however, that's not what most people received.

It is extremely unsatisfactory that I paid $220 for what was supposed to be a fun night, but it turned out to be a night from hell.
Rosalie Lambert Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Blackhawk Ticket Fraud

Back in November 16, 2011 when the Blackhawks not playing well I purchased (2) Blackhawk Party Packages which included a Club Level ticket, pregame party at Galleria Marchetti and Transportation for $110.00 each. The total was $220.00 for the pair of tickets which was the Christmas gift for my sons who are huge fans. I confirmed the reservation by e-mail on 12-16-11 and was given instructions on how to pick up the tickets at the pregame party.
Today I was very upset and disappointed to received an e-mail cancelling the reservation. When I contacted Groupon they were anxious just give me a refund. The price of the game ticket was about $60.00 when I purchased it (excluding the party). Since the Blackhawks on a winning streak, the price is now over $320.00 each. Isn't this fraud or ticket racketeering, they can easily sell my ticket for at a much greater profit now. I was refunded my purchase price but feel scammed since my sons are out their Christmas gift, this seems unethical and illegal. I can't afford this so I guess they will watch from home:( What a bunch a heartless jerks.
Bear07 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Blackhawk Ticket Fraud

I bought my 2 tickets (a Christmas present) when only 70 were sold (6 weeks ago) and it ending up selling out at 240. I received an email from National Event Partners exactly 26 hours and 40 minutes before the event telling me that Groupon hadn't filled their obligation. When I called Groupon, they said that National Event had oversold the event. I did everything I was instructed to do by National Event Partners and have a confirmation email stating that I had confirmed reservations. Now they want me to "believe" that 240 seats at the United Center aren't going to be filled and the Galleria Marchetti bought food for 240 people that won't be showing up because Groupon "didn't fill their obligation"??? My favorite part of this whole fiasco is that National Event Partners suggested in their email that I book directly with them in the future! Fat chance.
Sweetpipes Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Blackhawk Ticket Fraud

My email to Groupon support; I cced National Event Partners:

Hi Nicholas,

Thanks for your prompt reply. I appreciate that Groupon is processing a refund. I do have a few more questions regarding the incident Monday night that can help Groupon shed some light on what was a fairly traumatic experience. This was, as you know, not just a $10 deal for burgers; it was a $110 deal, and I purchased 5 for my family, the day after Christmas. It was a gift for my siblings and my parents, and being yelled at and told we would not be getting the tickets we had purchased was quite unsettling. I would appreciate some guidance on the following questions. Thanks.

We were told by representatives for National Event Partners that "Groupon did not pay us, so we do not have your tickets." Is this true? Because if it is, I have entirely lost faith in Groupon and will be sure to spread news of this utter failure to any current and future customers. Also, if this is the case, Groupon held on to and further invested my $550 for six weeks (I purchased on 11/14/11). Groupon is a publicly traded company, not the federal government; I expect, at a minimum, to be paid interest on the $550 that Groupon borrowed for that period.
The other scenario is this: National Event Partners lied to us. In this case, they are making off like bandits with Groupon's money, and need to be prosecuted, fined, and have their business shut down.
As I mentioned, if this were a less expensive Groupon, with less money and time invested, I would be completely satisfied with a full refund. But this isn't the case. And I'm sure that the Blackhawks fans that traveled many miles from far-flung suburbs, paid for gas and parking and hotels, and also received the kind of offensive, unfair, and insulting treatment at the hands of Groupon and National Event Partners, would agree with me. Further discussion of this embarrassing "deal" can be found here.

I appreciate your answers and look forward to hearing from you.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Carl's Jr. Hardee's - Commercial
    The Texas burger commercial exploits women.
    FAKE ID FORUMS AND FAKEID REVIEW SITES ARE SCAMS - No Complaint
    I got my fake ID from the instagram people...
    caryle Group - BG/SBLC FOR LEASE
    We offer fresh cut bank instrument for lease, such as BG,...
    Modnique - returns
    I have returnd shoes and I didn't gat money...
    13649 - The real spell caster you can trust is Dr Malaika.
    NOW I DON’T WANNA TALK ABOUT MY LIFE BUT I HAVE FOLLOWED...
    Carls Jr - Carls jr commercials
    Carls jr will never get any of my money again. I...
    7810 - LEGAL AND AFFORDABLE LOAN OFFER 2%
    we cater for individual at any risk involved, at 2%...
    United Credit Company - LEGAL AND AFFORDABLE LOAN OFFER 2%
    Are you a business man or woman? Are you in any financial...
    lg mobile - PLEASE HELP ME TO FIND OUT MY NEW MOBILE
    Respected Sir My name is Prabhat Dhar. I live in...
    Dollar General - Poor Checkout Service
    Went to the Dollar General in Hollister, NC, Store# 10063,...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username