Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Harbor Breeze Ceiling Fan

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Harbor Breeze Ceiling Fan

handyone Send email
 
Nov 18, 2016

Haror Breeze Ceiling Fan

I had a Harbor Breeze (Lowe's brand) ceiling fan installed in my home for approximately seven months when the light stopped operating by remote. The fan still responded to the remote but the lights stayed on, completely nonresponsive. I called Lowes.com at 1-877-GO-LOWES. It took about 8 minutes to speak with someone and 7 minutes to resolve my issue. They tied my directly to a sales associate at the store closest to me and stayed on the line until the issue had been resolved. EXCELLENT customer service on the phone and in-store. Lowe's fans carry a lifetime warranty. No receipt. No problems. I was given replacement parts directly from the box of a new fan. The parts needed? A new receiver and remote.
My complaint is that they are aware of the problems their receivers are prone to and rather than improve the product they put it out there, hope for the best, and offer to stand behind it. That's a DISERVICE to say the least. Great, that you back your product. Lousy, that you sell a product prone to fail or malfunction in short order. Parts are free for life but where is the money for my labor and mileage?!
I have installed many fans of various brands in different environments and applications. Some of my installs are over 25 years old. I gone back for upgrades, to service broken chains, worn pull switches, rusty and dust motors, all sorts of things. Rarely, product malfunctions. Even rarer still, product failure. Any ceiling fan that fails or malfunctions in the first year is either junk in its entirety or has junk components, as is the case with this fan. It was a minor repair. Less than 15 minutes. I've just spent longer fussing about it. The time on the phone, driving to and from the store, and twisting out hot bulbs at night, all on a practically new fan are what ticked me off.
I feel for the person who has to pay to get it installed, then pay even more to troubleshoot and service it. They get screwed worse than I did. That epitomizes customer "disservice". I wont purchase another Harbor Breeze fan and I certainly will not recommend one. If anyone has one that's acting up, weigh your options. If you've gotten more than a few year out of it, pitch it. I only serviced the junk I bought because, for the money, it owes me more than 7 months service. By the way, there were no power surges or interruptions that may have caused this. It was just inferior parts.
GO GET YOUR FREE PARTS OR EXERCISE BETTER OPTIONS. I recommend the latter.
RickyZ Send email
 
Oct 14, 2016

Ceiling fan light will not turn off

My Harbor Breeze ceiling fan's light will not turn off. The remote still turns the fan on/off but it's not working with the light and I've done the troubleshooting, however with negative results. Fan light will not turn off,
jday7757 Send email
 
Oct 2, 2016

Harbor Breeze Portes Light Won't Turn OFF

I have 3 Harbor Breeze Portes ceiling fans installed in my house. While one of them was on, I heard a pop and the light bulb blew. I replaced the light bulb and the light came on, but now the light won't turn OFF. The Portes ceiling fans do not have pull chains and operate only via remote. I have done the standard troubleshooting including reprogramming the remote, programming and trying a different remote from one of my other Portes fans (since I knew that remote was good), etc. The results were always the same--the light stays on and doesn't respond to the remote. The remote still controls the fan as it should. I know I can turn the light out by shutting off the power to the entire ceiling fan, but it is more trouble than it's worth turning the power on and off every time I want to turn on or off the fan. So, basically I know that the bulb is good and that the remote is good.
Steven murray Send email
 
Jun 28, 2016

Replacement remote not working

I bought a $300 harbor breeze fan and not long after I had it my wife got water on the remote. Well needless to say it never worked again even after drying out! So I went and bought a replacement at lowes for another $35. And came home it doesn't have the dip switches and the receiver in the fan doesn't either so anyways I tried resetting it just like the paper said. Turn off power then back on and hold learn button down and nothing! I'm not sure if it's where we had the light and fan off by remote and when it messed up it can't send a signal to the new remote or what? Guess I'm out $300! This sucks!
boxerfan_42 Send email
 
Apr 26, 2016

Light doesn't work

Just bought the beach Haven model on Friday and put it up only to find out the lighting system does not work. The fan runs so the electrical must be hooked up correctly. Believe we may have a bad remote system or atleast are hoping that because we really don't want to have to take the unit down and return it. Please advice as I would appreciate another remote sent to me.
Carol Willingham Send email
 
Feb 18, 2016

Remote Control

I've had my ceiling fan since August, 2015. Within the last month, the fan turns ON by itself. The remote has not been touched.
I've changed the batteries in the remote but it still turns itself ON at very strange times of the day, mostly at night or
very early in the morning. This is very strange. Does anyone have an idea of what is going on? And why within the last
month or so and not from the very beginning after installation.
Vica1ME Send email
 
Feb 13, 2016

The pull chain for fan speed will not work

When I run the chain through the glass and then through the metal that holds the globe on, you cannot pull the chain to change fan speed. Please email jfdsa@msn.com with reply.
Hannahno1 Send email
 
Sep 15, 2015

Harbor Breeze Portes ceiling fan

fan installed mid August,worked for two weeks then stopped rotating light works ok but blades do not go round BUT if I turn the fan on then climb up and push the blades manually the start to go round I am 74 years old needless to say that's not a good idea for me.Called Lowes they want $198 to come and replace the fan NOT!!!!!called Harbor Breeze customer service told the receiver must be faulty they will send a new one in six to eight weeks??????who is going to take out the faulty receiver and put in the new one???NOT ME.What should happen is Harbor Breeze should arrange for a technician to come to my house and repair it .I s their warranty worth anything? T
he reason for the delay in installing the fan bought May installed August is that my son has terminal cancer and I went to Texas to be with him during that time.
RaineSG Send email
 
Sep 6, 2015

Ceiling fans

We bought 2 matching fans for our great room 1 1/2 years ago. We were told they could be programmed separately. That didn't work! Light and fan settings for sitting area and eating area will always be the same. If you try to "teach" one fan, they both learn.
That's not such a big problem now, because only the fan in the sitting area responds to the remote at all. We only have a dimmed light, and no fan over the table that can be turned on and off by the light switch. These were professionally installed. I think I'll call the electrician back and have him install another brand!
soclant Send email
 
Jul 9, 2015

fan quit working

Purchases a Harbor Breeze Platinum 52-in w/remote. fan quit working in 5 months. As of right now been on hold for an hour w/ Lowes. Talk about service. This takes the cake. No more Harbor Breeze for me!
harborbreezeripoff Send email
 
May 21, 2015

Harbor Breeze Portes ceiling fan

I purchased four of these fans. Three stopped working within weeks. The fourth I never installed.

After a few weeks, the fans will no longer start by themselves. They need to be push-started.
The fans make a clunking noise when they turn, getting progressively worse. Mine were professionally installed by a licensed contractor.
The light modules (non-user-replaceable LEDS designed to last for years) stop working after mere weeks (two out of three of mine stopped working before I took the fans back down.)

Harbor Breeze does not honor their warranty. Their only response was to talk to Lowe's, which I intend to do.
robkat50 Send email
 
Nov 7, 2014

Fan Stopped Working/Light OK

I purchased a Harbor Breeze Portes Ceiling Fan which stopped working 3 months after purchase. Lowes agreed to replace it with an identical fan. That was in October. Now I am having the same issue with this new one, The remote works for the light but does not turn on the fan. I am getting the beeping sound that tells what speed it should be going at, but no movement. Do I have to get an electrician in again to de-install it and install a new one? (not a Harbor Breeze-Never again!) I am not able to install or fix it on my own. I feel like Harbor Breeze should pay for the new installation. Very angry!
mslivey Send email
 
Oct 5, 2014

light on ceiling fan turns off

My ceiling fan was installed 5 months ago. Recently my light just started turning off after being on for less than 20 mins. I'm using the same bulbs that came with the fan and even tried taking 1 out to see if that would resolve the problem. This is very annoying especially when this is suppose to be a great brand.
nmhundley Send email
 
Aug 10, 2014

fan speed

3-speed pull chain ceiling fan (with pull chain, center globe, light kit) has been working properly for several years; the fan speed control pull chain has stopped working; only runs on one speed, somewhere between slow and medium. Please advise.
Zet Tsui Send email
 
May 5, 2014

remote not working

same problem.
two buttons, slow speed and off buttons, not working.
I could buy a replacement at about half the fan's purchase price.
However, after reading this forum, I am afraid it will quit again soon/
I am leaning towards buying a universal remote,
sslink Send email
 
Jan 12, 2014

Harbor Breeze Ceiling Fan New type Remote

I just bought 3 Harbor Breeze Portes ceiling fan with light and remote from Lowes. The fans have a remote control that only has 2 combinations. There is one dip switch that you put to either 0 or 1. No access to the receiver in the fan itself. You turn the power off, then back on, and press the Learn button. So when I installed the 3rd fan, I had to duplicate the code. Now when I turn the light on that 3rd fan, the 1st fan light also goes on. WHY in the world would Lowes change the technology from the old remotes with 4 dip switches (giving the user 16 different combinations). Why would they want to limit each household to only buying 2 of these fans ? Whoever came up with this idea should be fired. Does anyone know how I can get the 3rd fan to work without affecting one of the other ones ? Thanks
Mouse123080 Send email
 
Mar 20, 2012

Remote control stopped working!

I just bought an Harbor Breeze today and it was one of the higher end ones after my boyfriend worked all day we put it up and guess what the remote won't even work the fan will come on when you turn on at the switch on the wall and its brand new. My boyfriend failed to tell me that the fan we had( which the fan wouldn't work but the light would ) was a Harbor Breeze or I wouldn't have bought another one. I am taking this piece of $H!T back to LOWES Im going to get something else or go to Home Depot
Rmftd69 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Remote control stopped working!

Sorry idiots... I myself have had many harbor breeze fans, all installed myself by the way. they all have done awesome.. no noise what so ever and never any remote problems. Maybe all of you have the same model series and its strictly a problem with that specific one...hard to find bulbs my ass and sounds like a bunch of you have no clue and love to blame shit on someone or something else. Also, are you buying the cheapest model you can??? sometimes you get what you pay for ..I paid 169.00 each for all of mine...
Andrea C Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Remotes not working

So glad to read this information! I have had my harbor breeze fan in my bedroom for only 2 years and the remote no longer works effectively. all controls still work expect to turn the fan off. best i can do is set it in low for the winter months which it is not needed... too bad because i often recommended this great buy to others. disappointing to think i have to buy another unit. next time... my fan will com with a remote and a pull chain for these instances. too bad, was just looking to install fans in 3 other rooms, won't go with harbor breeze. thanks - smart buyer from western new york
Ekim4900 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Remotes not working

I have 3 Harbor Breeze ceiling fans and for each one the remote has stopped working at least 2 times, I have replaced the remote each time it breaks. The cost to replace them is obscene. They cost between 35 and 50 dollars each. It's about time that Lowes does something about the poor quality of there products.
Minchu Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Remotes not working

My harbor breeze ceiling fan stop working too, with the same problem! The remote control. The control is as expensive as the fan. They should replace the remote for free.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Kevin Sweeney Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Remote control stopped working!

I have had this fan since August of this year with no complaints. The battery did fail after four months but not completely. The battery is a 12V and when the voltage drops to a certain point the light in the remote will continue to light up and give you the impression there is something else wrong. After trying to pair the remote to the fan with the learn button several times I finally checked the voltage on the remote. It was 9.63 volts. I swapped it with the battery from my garage opener and it works. Bottom line try the battery first, I am very pleased with this fan overall and was waiting to see how the remote held up before purchasing a second fan. I'm going to give it another year before considering the second.
GinaB07 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Remote control stopped working!

I haven't seen this one on here yet. My daughter accidently spilled something on our remote. I have noproblem getting a new one, but ever since this happened, the entire unit doesnt work at all! Both fan and lights have pull chains that don't do a thing. Do I have to somehow disable the remote function to be able to operate the fan with the chains? P.S. The remote never worked right to begin with and would randomly turn unit on and off and sometimes not at all, but the unit still always worked using the chains. And yes, the wall switch is on...lol!
CMRVA Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Remote control stopped working!

Good fans for the money, however, I too had the remote issue. Actually turned it on after 2 months of use, it smoked a bit and then popped. I re-rigged it so that the fan only needs the remote. Harbor Breeze is a "House brand" of Lowe's made in China probably by the same folks who make name brand units. Stores use house brands for a variety of reasons, cost and the fact that you can't really shop apples to apples for lower price since no one else carries them. Lowe's stores for the most part are among the most accomodating if you have an issue even months later. Some of you should simply try to return and get an exchange; however I understand many of you had them installed professionally and probably don't want to mess with it personally. If the unit is under warranty, ask to speak with the Ops or Store manager, many times they will foot the bill for an installer to replace your unit. Lowe's and Home Depot are in a huge struggle, so both companies want your repeat business.
Phil S. Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Remote control stopped working!

I just bought TWO Harbor Breeze fans from lowe's and had them installed. Although one clearly was intended for a remote (the receiver box is in the fan housing), it didnt come with a remote. Since I have them both wired to individual wall switches for motor and light, I now see the lack of remote is of no concern. I love the look and they were easy to install. Sorry everyone is having such an issue with their remotes.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    chevrolet motors UK - Prize wining
    I have received a mail from Chevl04@outlook.com which says...
    Ross Dress For Less - WORST PLACE EVER
    WORST PLACE TO WORK! Employees and managers and...
    Sundari Bridal - Illegal Immigrants services provider
    Illegal and Unqualified staff working in Sundari...
    The History Channel - Pearl harbor
    You need to have more Pearl Harbor coverage on Pearl...
    DEPARTMENT OF LABOUR - Maternity leave claim since April
    Claim number: 10003969061 I v applied for maternity...
    Motorola moto G3 - stolen my mobile phone
    Stolen my mobile phone in Delhi DTC bus no 540 during just...
    Duracell - Leaking Duracell batteries
    Duracell batteries leaked and damaged my DVD player's...
    Sears / Kenmore Elite Refrigerator - LG / KENMORE REFRIGERATOR
    I didn't know LG makes Sears Kenmore refrigerators....
    Award Notification Commission - Scam
    I also received this crap that I won an awards fund option...
    Dish TV - Recharge on wrong VC no.
    DEAR SIR, I HAVE A WRONG RECHARGE OF RS.315...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    chevrolet motors UK - Prize wining
    I have received a mail from Chevl04@outlook.com which says...
    Ross Dress For Less - WORST PLACE EVER
    WORST PLACE TO WORK! Employees and managers and...
    Sundari Bridal - Illegal Immigrants services provider
    Illegal and Unqualified staff working in Sundari...
    The History Channel - Pearl harbor
    You need to have more Pearl Harbor coverage on Pearl...
    DEPARTMENT OF LABOUR - Maternity leave claim since April
    Claim number: 10003969061 I v applied for maternity...
    Motorola moto G3 - stolen my mobile phone
    Stolen my mobile phone in Delhi DTC bus no 540 during just...
    Duracell - Leaking Duracell batteries
    Duracell batteries leaked and damaged my DVD player's...
    Sears / Kenmore Elite Refrigerator - LG / KENMORE REFRIGERATOR
    I didn't know LG makes Sears Kenmore refrigerators....
    Award Notification Commission - Scam
    I also received this crap that I won an awards fund option...
    Dish TV - Recharge on wrong VC no.
    DEAR SIR, I HAVE A WRONG RECHARGE OF RS.315...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username