Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Hunter Warfield

United States,
Kentucky

Consumer complaints and reviews about Hunter Warfield

Travis Dodadamthang Allison Send email
 
Apr 18, 2013

rude, disrespectful, and frankly non informative

I supposedly had a past due account with an apartment complex, which I never was contacted about, due to no forwarding address, yet they had my phone number and personal references. Ok so lets say I owe them, and didn't know because I put down a matching rent deposit and considered that to cover any costs for cleaning and moving my good conditioned couches. This happened in 2009, since then I've had my credit ran for numerous things and placed my new information on all applications. Yet I still didn't have anyone contact me saying I was accumulating interest or that I had outstanding debt. Recently applied for an apartment in 2013 and was denied, now they come out of the woodwork stating I owe 3k+ from a debt that was $817. I just feel they did not make a real attempt to bring this debt to my attention until interest, late fees, and some non-sense items racked up. I'm not sure how to fight this and I cant get validation of any of this. I called Hunter & warfield and some guy treats me as a flunky when I contacted them to resolve it and they supposedly couldn't find me, he should have been gracious that I was trying.
User924686 Send email
 
Mar 28, 2012

rudeness and attitude; bad customer service

look at yourself ...is an employee of hwi...i recognize the slang of the tone
User924686 Send email
 
Mar 28, 2012

rudeness and attitude; bad customer service

look at yourself is an employee of hunter warfield ..i recognize his tone and language i know exactly who he is
User924686 Send email
 
Mar 28, 2012

rudeness and attitude; bad customer service

will someone tell look at yourself to shut up
Look At Yourself Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

rudeness and attitude; bad customer service

Here is a link that shows what tenants NEED to do to protect themselves legally from scrupulous landlords. Articles like these is where I get my info to post on message boards. Unlike Alsonik I do my research first before I assume anything.

http://realestate.msn.com/january-rental-advice-where-can-tenants-turn-for-help
Whythelongfaces Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

rudeness and attitude; bad customer service

They can charge you interest. Credit reports are updated every 30 days, and actually run about 30 days behind since reporting is dome on PREVIOUS months reporting.
Look At Yourself Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

rudeness and attitude; bad customer service

To Alsonik:

It's called my 1st Amendment rights along with my experience in the business. I will speak my mind with the truth when at all possible. It is really kind of funny how you defend these people who complain but yet DON'T READ what they are complaining about. Some of what they are saying is because of their own fault.
Last I check this was a forum where people can express their opinions. So it's ok to complain about someone calling you on a debt you might legally owe but when someone presents another view your mouth opens and cries foul.

Let me make it CLEAR to you I DON'T need your dumb PR tips because I am not on here representing HWI. I am here giving ANOTHER side of the story which people NEVER hear. I know what is to be a debtor and a collector and can very easily testify to the emotions that run through on either side.

You obviously DON'T READ my post in this forum because I have CLEARLY stated I don't condone ruthless collectors or agencies that promote violating the law. Those companies should be shut down HOWEVER that doesn't mean EVERY collection agency is shady. I have ALWAYS stated it comes down to RESPONSIBILITY and the need to STOP acting like a victim when you are not.

You stated "how many people talk about Hunter Warfield agents rudely hanging up during a call? Do you really thing this isn't happening"?

My response is, "how many of these people do you "think" are being honest in their posts here"? I know because I use to be a floor collector and understand how debtors would make incredible claims against me that turned out to be false every time. Now that is not to say I have never hung up on someone but that's because 99% of the time they refuse to resolve the issue at hand and just wanted waste time cursing me out.

I don't have to apologize to ANYONE much less the people on here or you because I am stating facts. Remember I am a debtor to as well as a former collector. AGAIN I am NOT representing HWI or any other company here but going from experience.

Whenever I am called by a collection agency I KNOW full well if I owe it or not because I request the verification of the debt and the name of the original creditor. I also make sure I find out if there are any legal issues such as being sued. The reason I know about HWI is bc I have friends there and know for a FACT many of their clients will possibly sue the debtor if they choose not to pay. I had a friend of mine who it happened to, a single mother with three kids. So don't ASSUME I am some Hunter Warfield mole in these forums bc I am not. I am just sick and tired of people in this country making excuses for the decisions they chose to make and the contracts they chose to sign.

Mr. Alsonik I could care less what you think about me because I am not doing anything wrong. I will continue to speak my mind and offer another side because after all last I checked this is America right?
Alsonik Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

rudeness and attitude; bad customer service

Very rude scammers. Hunter Warfield reps were very aggressive on the phone, demanded address and phone numbers for my family (yeah, right!), threatened everything from legal action to harassing phone calls at all hours, and then hung up on me when I demanded proof of the debt they claimed (and I still have no idea what it is and whether it is legit).

I filed complaints with the FTC and the Florida Attorney General. I recommend other victims do the same.
Alsonik Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

rudeness and attitude; bad customer service

By the way, "Look at Yourself", it's pretty obvious you work for Hunter Warfield. Which is fine, it's normal for companies to respond to negative comments. But I hope you're doing it with official sanction, because you're not doing a great job and it could easily get you in hot water.

Here are some quick PR tips for you:
1) You don't have to be sincere, but you do have to be nice. Don't blame the upset consumers; apologize that they had a bad experience. Again, it doesn't have to be sincere. But being defensive and then going on the attack is only going to perpetuate bad blood and hurt the company's reputation more (if that's possible).
2) Never assert a legal claim unless you are a lawyer and you are making it in writing. Throwing out words like "defamation" is the worst thing you can do, and your corporate counsel would have a heart attack of they knew you were doing it. Among many other reasons, you make it possible for people to sue for declaratory judgment that their comments are not defamatory. They can do so in any jurisdiction. The legal expense in processing the court docs (even if the company decided not to contest the judgment) probably far outstrips the average amount Hunter Warfield is trying to collect. Don't do this.
3) If you or the company are accused of something, no matter how outrageous or unlikely, always promise to look into it and take appropriate action if abuse is found. Once again, you don't have to be sincere. But noting that a behavior is against company policy and promising to investigate is much better PR than calling people liars and names. Especially when there are huge patterns -- how many people talk about Hunter Warfield agents rudely hanging up during a call? Do you really thing this isn't happening?
4) Realize that anything you post here, along with your identity, is subject to subpoena and use in court. It's unlikely but possible. If you're posting with the company's blessing and oversight, you have nothing to worry about and the company is obligated to cover any legal expense incurred if you're dragged into it personally. If you're just an emotionally attached employee, you open the door to lots of problems with both your employer and aggrieved consumers.
5) Finally, regardless of whether you have official sanction to be responding here, I think it's a mistake for you to do so. People are complaining that Hunter Warfield is rude, unprofessional, abusive, and dishonest. And you come across as rude, unprofessional, abusive, and dishonest. You are *not* helping anyone. What's the benefit of your participation here, compared to the downsides I noted?
Look At Yourself Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

rudeness and attitude; bad customer service

To Kaci:

Your quote:

" If she is, she really need to take courses on customer service. She said that she told me "VERY CLEARLY" that I wouldn't receive a receipt in any way for twenty days. That is NOT the truth. She called me a liar, raised her voice and hung up on me as well. I have worked in multiple customer service positions for the past five years, and I know that it's often difficult to stay calm. I've been cussed out many times by patients and customers, however I can honestly say I have never ONCE called a patient or customer a liar, raised my voice and I have certainly never hung up on one. I do not know what I am going to do. I need a receipt, and it's impossible for me to get one. What should I do?"

I understand your frustration but I MUST clarify two things:

1st - You CHOSE to pay by check AFTER you were told the receipt would not be available for up to twenty days. Rather than using your debit card which would have cleared your account instantly, you CHOSE to use checks. Using checks now a days still takes time to clear because if they give you a receipt right away you could easily cancel the check and now their client won't be paid meanwhile you get what you needed without paying for it. It happens a lot believe it or not especially with credit cards.

Charging you a $15 "fee" to use your card is nothing knew in today's electronic age. I have paid bills online or purchased tickets to an event and was charged a "convenience fee" for using my personal account.

America is the land of the "Fees" NOT the land of the Free. Bank of America and others have been trashed in the media recently and rightfully so for trying to charge their customers a $5 monthly fee to use their debit cards. We are living in a cashless/paperless society now. Did you expect not to pay for that "convenience"? If you did then this is your wake up call.

2nd - I have to state AGAIN, you are NOT a customer. You are the person who owes the bill, another words the "debtor". The customer is their client which is the apt complex you lived at. The bill wasn't going to get paid until you realized you had to move which happens most often than not. People in this country have to understand to make SURE before you vacate the apt that you've done what the lease required. This means move out inspections, turning in keys and 30 - 60 day move out notices depending on the contract. Of course ALWAYS make sure to have EVERYTHING IN WRITING so you have proof you had done your part. You would be surprised how many tenants forget then are shocked to find out when they get charged later on.

I recently paid several past due bills with my debit card; one online, the other one to the collection agency and the last two were to the businesses themselves because my account was still active with them even though it was sent to collections. I immediately was able to get receipts because I knew if I paid by check it would take anywhere from 10 to 15 days to clear in their system.

Unfortunately you are going to have to wait because of the decision you CHOSE to make by going with checks even though by your very OWN admission they told you it would take up to twenty days to get a receipt. You knew that and decided to take the risk because you didn't want to pay the extra fee. This is about being accountable for your actions for not paying their client on time and deciding to do things your way when you should have paid immediately after moving out.

The only option you have is to see if they could cancel the check in their system and pay with your debit card otherwise as you were originally told by them your receipt won't be available for 20 days.
Kaci Nicole Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

rudeness and attitude; bad customer service

I can see both sides of this arguement, however, I recently moved out of my apartment after waiting until the lease ran out. When I moved IN the apartment, there were no lightbulbs in any of the rooms, so I placed energy efficient lightbulbs (the free ones from Duke Energy) in each room. When I moved out, I took them with me. The apartment manager decided to bill me $143.00 for REMOVING APARTMENT PROPERTY. She sent it to collections FIVE days after I moved out. I wasn't going to pay it at all until I got my taxes because because it's a ridiculous amount for lightbulbs. I'm moving into another apartment in two weeks and until they receive a receipt showing that the debt was paid in full, I cannot move in. I called HW yesterday and made the payment, I was told if I paid via check card, they would have to place a $15.00 fee with my debt. Rather than paying extra money (along with the interest it had gained since March) I paid via check. I was told DIRECTLY that I would not receive a receipt IN THE MAIL for up to twenty days.. however I could check online. I interpreted that as I would have a receipt online either today or tomorrow. When I logged on to their website, I received a notice saying that my receipt would not be posted until December 20, 2011. (twenty days from date of payment). I was FURIOUS. I cannot move into my apartment without that receipt and I cannot wait 20 days. I called again today to see if there was ANYTHING they could do, any form they would print out and fax me, etc. I asked for the Manager or the GM's number very politely. The secretary or whomever I was speaking to was VERY rude, requesting that I tell her immediately what I need to speak with them about. I said that I refused to discuss this with her. She mumbled under her breath and slammed the phone down and transferred me to whom I thought at first was the manager. I spoke with Terry. I do not know if Terry is or is not the manager, or any of the sort. If she is, she really need to take courses on customer service. She said that she told me "VERY CLEARLY" that I wouldn't receive a receipt in any way for twenty days. That is NOT the truth. She called me a liar, raised her voice and hung up on me as well. I have worked in multiple customer service positions for the past five years, and I know that it's often difficult to stay calm. I've been cussed out many times by patients and customers, however I can honestly say I have never ONCE called a patient or customer a liar, raised my voice and I have certainly never hung up on one. I do not know what I am going to do. I need a receipt, and it's impossible for me to get one. What should I do?
Look At Yourself Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

rudeness and attitude; bad customer service

So I gather fearlessviking you know Mr. Hines wife to call her a cow? And you have the nerve to call me racist? This is the IGNORANCE I am talking about.

Typical debtor who will resort to low tactics instead of acting responsible and stop the whining about paying a bill they legally owe.
Fearlessviking Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

rudeness and attitude; bad customer service

So do I. Like I said, Hiney got his money... now he can take his cow of a wife out to dinner. :) Raaaaaaaaaaaaaaaacist!
Fearlessviking Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

rudeness and attitude; bad customer service

First of all- it's not sir it's ma'am. Let's try to get that straight at least. :) We can agree to disagree. I don't appreciate someone making stereotypes and generalizations about entire groups of people based on interactions with a small percentage. I was talking about one person, and by using my emoticons was implying that it was a joke. If you are making a harmless joke about Americans, please forgive me! I had NO idea by reading your long pages of rants describing the downfall of American society.

I was meerly asking to be treated like a person and with respect, and from the get go of that phone call that did not happen at all. At that point he did not deserve mine in return. Period. However, someone like you thinks that if someone disputes a bill they DESERVE to be talked to that way? Hmmm. No. Doesn't really fly. There was just no reason for it.

As I said, at the end of the day Hiney got his money. Basically what he did worked. However if you act like that, you really can't avoid this type of backlash because of our first amendment rights. You aren't going to change the world, friend. If all Americans are inherently like this meaning they take no responsibilty and just simply don't pay their bills (my god I can come up with about a million examples to refute), then why don't you leave? I mean really? What's the point if it makes you so angry? :) Is there another culture that takes complete responsibility and always pays on time? I mean does that not sound ridiculous?

My point is not all debt collectors HAVE to act this way, and nor will I say they do. Hiney is the only one that I've spoken to, so I can only say what I think about his manner. If you think that I turned around and did the same thing you did... hmmm... not really! I was talking about one person that I've had a personal experience with.

As for the laundry list of names you called me. Wow. Aren't you the one who has been crazy responding to everyone's post about Hiney? Who looks like a fool now? Do you do anything else? Just curious...
Look At Yourself Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

rudeness and attitude; bad customer service

Fearless Viking:

"Do you do anything else? Just curious..."

Yeah I pay my bills ..lol
Look At Yourself Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

rudeness and attitude; bad customer service

Really fearless viking? Really? You call me racist, stupid and that you're offended by my generalization of Americans calling me ignorant YET you get on here with your sarcastic comments putting down Mr. David Hines laughing at him while he's trying to do his job. Then you wonder why you got treated like a deadbeat.

You sir ARE ignorant because you claim to be insulted by my comments about people but then you turn around and do the same thing with others like David and his wife by calling him names. As for your bill you should have made sure every thing was taken care of before leaving. That means making SURE you have documentation from the apt complex that you did everything the lease required of you which includes a move out inspection so there weren't any damages etc.

I can guarantee you getting a lawyer would have been a waste of time because as long as they got your signature on the dotted line and you have no proof you didn't owe it your lawyer would have told you to pay it. I have seen it over and over again.

STOP acting like you're a victim because it was YOU who started laughing and acting like a fool. Were you being polite when you started laughing at the guy? You could have requested verification of the debt if you TRULY wanted to see the documentation.

This is why I stated that Americans in this country are ignorant and clueless because they make excuses for not taking RESPONSIBILITY of the decisions and actions they make.

THAT IS NOT RACIST SIR IT'S FACT. Then we wonder why we are in the mess financially as a country. Where is YOUR accountability for your dumb actions? It's never ceases to amaze me how Americans preach freedom of speech in this country but when someone comes along with a different belief system or opinion suddenly they are labeled as an outcast.

Hypocrite.
Clearlycobalt Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

rudeness and attitude; bad customer service

I found out I had a debt on my credit report from an apartment community that had been turned over to Hunter Warfield for collections 2 years ago. My credit report stated one amount, when I called the apartment community the amount was $25.00 higher, and they referred me to Hunter Warfield to resolve the debt. When I called Hunter Warfield, they insisted the debt was yet another $20.00 higher than the original on the credit report (which was just ran yesterday). HW explained it was interest... When I tried to get the interest negotiated, they did not want to hear it. This debt was due to cleaning fees from an apartment for an oven cleaning and removing a table from a patio. When I agreed to pay the higher balance, they asked for all sorts of personal information, including a friend or relatives phone number - even though I was paying the balance in full. When I would not give this information, I was hung up on. When I called back, I was placed on hold for an extremely long time and hung up on once again when I wouldn't disclose a friend's number. I finally spoke to a supervisor on my 3rd call and was able to get a pin number to make the payment online without disclosing a friend's number (which the prior associates would not do in the previous calls). This company is extremely rude.
Fearlessviking Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

rudeness and attitude; bad customer service

I recently received a call from the gracious Mr. David Hine, and I would have to agree. I have never spoken to a bigger jerk in my entire life. He uses scare tactics and intimidation. I couldn't help but start laughing, and he said, "Are you laughing at me?" and I said, "Can you hear yourself? I have never heard anyone talk like this..." Then he hung up.

The thing is: I never agreed with the bill the apartment complex slapped me with when I moved out. There was no documentation at all- just a list of the things that were supposedly wrong. I tried to correspond with the apartments, but they didn't respond until they turned the bill over to Hiney. I too would like to buy a house this year, and at the end of the day it just made more sense to pay it and avoid the headache. I don't have time to get a lawyer and go to court all for $1400. I would have been more compliant if Hiney didn't come at me like that- this I will never understand. What's wrong with being polite? I think that was more of my issue.

At the end of the day he got his money, and by reading all of these posts he has been very successful acting that way to get what he wants. I can't help but be grateful that I don't ever encouter anyone like that in my daily life, and I can't help buy wonder about his wife. What can she be like? :)

Lastly, I just want to say I am offended by the generalizations made by LAY by Americans. Come on. In what era are we living? That's ignorant. Being a past debt collector, I'd be willing to bet you were in contact with Americans that owed money to someone, moreso than anyone else. It doesn't mean that everyone is that way. There is no reason to get high and mighty like that, and make racist statements. Even if you are American- that's a disgrace. It takes away all of your credibility and just makes you look stupid.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    caryle Group - BG/SBLC FOR LEASE
    We offer fresh cut bank instrument for lease, such as BG,...
    Modnique - returns
    I have returnd shoes and I didn't gat money...
    13649 - The real spell caster you can trust is Dr Malaika.
    NOW I DON’T WANNA TALK ABOUT MY LIFE BUT I HAVE FOLLOWED...
    Carls Jr - Carls jr commercials
    Carls jr will never get any of my money again. I...
    7810 - LEGAL AND AFFORDABLE LOAN OFFER 2%
    we cater for individual at any risk involved, at 2%...
    United Credit Company - LEGAL AND AFFORDABLE LOAN OFFER 2%
    Are you a business man or woman? Are you in any financial...
    lg mobile - PLEASE HELP ME TO FIND OUT MY NEW MOBILE
    Respected Sir My name is Prabhat Dhar. I live in...
    Dollar General - Poor Checkout Service
    Went to the Dollar General in Hollister, NC, Store# 10063,...
    King Soopers - Joanne
    I asked Joanne where I could find some hot dog buns and...
    sawa stc sa - VAS Charges
    Please deactivate or cancel VAS charges for my mobile...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username