Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Huntington Bank

United States,
Ohio

Consumer complaints and reviews about Huntington Bank

HUNTINGTONGOINGTOTHEDOGS Send email
 
Jan 2, 2014

Agents Know Everything, They Cannot be Wrong

They're Customer Service Department, in Michigan while I'm in Ohio, is absolutely horrible. I have never dealt with arrogance and non-compassion like this from a major Corporation's Customer Service Department. I have worked Cystomer Service for 26 years and have not dealt with attitude like this at this level. i'm hoping the Woman I dealt with is training her counterpart in India. It's sooner than later!
lausus Send email
 
Dec 28, 2013

HUNTINGTON BANK

WORST BANK EVER!!! Offer a 24 hour grace period but do not honor it. They returned a check immediately even though I put the money in THE SAME DAY. The check was short $18. They charged me $37.50 to return the check. I should not have had a problem because of the 24 hour grace which they said doesn't work on checks sometimes. FALSE PUBLICITY!!!! HONOR YOUR POLICIES!!!
User666109 Send email
 
Apr 8, 2012

overdraft protection - opting in

I opened a new checking account last May at Huntington Bank. I have liked the account and never had any fees, problems, or issues.

I have heard about the new legislation where consumers now have to "opt-in" for "overdraft protection" for transactions on their ATM/debit card. I didn’t really know what that meant. I just always figured if you didn’t have the money in your checking account, the transaction would just be declined. Made sense to me. Well I was called last week asking if I wanted to “opt-in” to the overdraft protection which means that I won’t have those “embarrassing situations” when a charge is declined due to no available funds and the “bank is there to protect me” and I have “24 hours to put the money back into my account” to cover any negative balance and I will “never be assessed a fee.”

Well here is what happened. I rarely use this card/checking account but set it up last May because they sent me one of those free $100 offers if I signed up for a new checking account and put money in it every month by direct deposit. So I put in $100 a month and don’t really use this account much.

Last Friday I had a balance in the account of $45.55. Over the weekend I made a few purchases:

$10.00 – entrance fee (for 2) to a bar/club – balance now = $35.55
$7.80 – late night Taco Bell (bad, I know) – balance now = $27.75
$8.59 – gas station, don’t remember what – balance now = $19.16

Now here is where it gets interesting. I went to the drive-thru for beer (yes, we have drive-thrus for beer in Ohio) at Macadoo’s, where I have been going for well over 8 years now for beer. The beer after tax was $6.59. She ran my card and came to me with the little clip board to sign and the receipt showed $65.90. She obviously mis-keyed the transaction amount and added a zero at the end. Now in the old world, this would have just been declined, she would have noticed and then ran it for the correct amount, which would have been approved and brought my balance down to $12.57. But because I now have this amazing protection from the bank, it ran through and made my account negative (pending transactions only, nothing has posted to my account yet – it’s the weekend). I noticed the amount was wrong on the receipt and I told her so she cancelled the transaction and printed me a receipt for the right amount, $6.59.

On Monday I still showed an account balance of $45.55. However I had 5 pending transactions:

Bar/club - $10.00
Taco Bell - $7.80
Speedway - $8.59
Macadoo’s - $65.90
Macadoo’s - $6.59

So on Monday night/Tuesday evening, even though only the four legitimate transactions were presented for payment, they still deducted that $65.90 from my available balance, which I guess is now what they are using to determine if you overdrew your account.

So they took the largest amount first (even though it was a cancelled transaction, I never signed for it, Macadoo’s never presented the amount for payment) and deducted it from my account. So my balance now equals ($45.55 - $65.90 = -$20.35)

So then they charge me $37.50 each for the other 4 transactions totaling $150.00 saying my account was overdrawn when the 4 items were presented for payment, even though ONLY the 4 legitimate charges were – the $65.90 was NOT. They assess these fees on 2/15/11, however if you look at my account ending on 2/14/11 (actual balance – ignoring that pending/incorrect transaction), it shows they paid all 4 VALID transactions and my true/real/posted account balance never went negative. It did not go negative until after they posted the $150 in fees on 2/15/11.

So my question is this… how can a bank say you overdrew your account on a transaction that will never be presented for payment, was never presented for payment, was cancelled by the merchant, and never posted to my account?

Had I never opted in to the “overdraft protection” they would not have allowed my balance to go negative when she accidentally overcharged me and I wouldn’t have been charged $150 on 4 charges totaling around $30. The transaction would have been declined and the merchant would have noticed – keyed in the right amount – end of story.

The overdraft protection is a scam. It is just a way for the banks to now be able to legally assess you fees. Think about this if you are thinking about opting into this service. It is just a way for banks to make money by bypassing the law Obama signed in July, 2010 to protect consumers from this very thing. By now “opting-in” you are really just allowing banks to manipulate your account as best they can to get more money out of you in outrageous fees.

Oh, and about getting those fees back (the erroneous $65.90 did drop off my account and was never presented for payment), the bank is telling me that it is the merchant’s fault and I have to take it up with them. I doubt Macadoo’s is going to give me $150 for an honest mistake/transaction that she did cancel on their credit card machine and they never presented to the bank for payment. It just still (to the bank’s benefit) sat on my account as a pending charge that they used to deduct from my available balance even thought it was never a valid charge so they could say I overdrew my account – which I never did.

Please pass this on so others are aware of what the banks are up to….


Todd Eckstein
Battelle Memorial Institute
Information Management
505 King Avenue
Columbus, Ohio 43201
ecksteint@battelle.org
614-424-7085 ph / 614-458-7085 fax


Confidentiality Notice
This message is intended only for the use of the individual or entity to which it is addressed, and may contain information that is privileged, confidential and/or otherwise exempt from disclosure under applicable law. If the reader of this message is not the intended recipient or the employee or agent responsible for delivering the message to the intended recipient, any disclosure, dissemination, distribution, copying or other use of this communication or its substance is prohibited. If you have received this communication in error, please return to the sender and delete from your computer system.
User928656 Send email
 
Apr 8, 2012

overdraft protection - opting in

Credit card (Visa orMastercard debit cards) refunds may take 3-5 business days to post back to your account. Preauthorizations (gas or restaurants) fall off after 3 days or when the merchant submits the receipt, whichever is sooner. Too bad the beer store screwed up. What is their name?
User928656 Send email
 
Apr 7, 2012

24 hr grace period

You had an additional withdrawn item come through your account on 11/14 that overdafted your account again? Sounds like someone needs a to teach this bank a lesson. Why don't they have 24 hour ATM, online or phone banking to transfer funds. At least offer free overdraft transfers from your savings account or offer checking reserve. What a scam. Banks should call us before they post our authorized transactions.
Oceans08 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Bank fees

My son worked in Columbus and did auto deposit from his employer for 18 months into his checking/debit account. He quit his job and moved back home to attend college, and Huntington started deducting $15 per month because he was no longer having an auto deposit. This went on for 4 months before he realized he was getting a fee for something. He had quit using his debit card all together. In all, Huntington withdrew all his money from his account, continued to deduct the $15 per month bringing him deeper in the hole, he had to pay $70 in fees. I (his Mom) went with him to the bank to figure this out. I asked them why they did not call him until today (Dec 27). I asked my son if he had any idea he would be charged $15 per month for not having auto deposit on his debit card...NO. I told the lady this was not right, and WHY DIDN"T SOMEONE CALL UNTIL DEC 27? I told my son to close account, sever all tied with Huntington. The lady said he had to pay all the fees before he could close the account and that the fees would keep adding up daily until paid. Then I told him "You are not the first to be screwed by them nor will you be the last". This is very bad customer service business practice. I wish I knew the right people to contact because this is just wrong.
Kaushalkhare Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Bank fees

I had my bank account with huntington in year 2011. I opted overdrft facity (a biggest mistake.) . I moved to india later and found fraud transaction. I tried communicating to Huntingtone guys and they said It can not be reinstated unless I personally come to their branch.
Finnaly they have closed my account due to non-payment of dues. :(
mail communication for accounut termincation came to me after 2 months via UPS to my india address. which was of no use ..
Menaremice Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

24 hr grace period

On 11/11/2011 was veterans day. I had some overdrafts on my checking account and because of the holiday I couldn't take care of the overdraft on 11/12/2011 the banks were closed because of the holiday. I called the bank 24 hr help line and asked them if I made a deposit by 11/14/2011 which is the next business day if the everything would be ok, they assured me that everything would be fine. I had an American Express payment that posted on 11/14/2011 and as a result the money that I deposited on Friday didn't post until Monday so my account was not a negative $100.00 I called the bank once again and to make sure that I would be ok and they told me at 6:00 pm in the evening that if I made another $100 deposit I would be ok, I don't know what banks are open that late at night and even if I had made the deposit it wouldn't have posted till the next business day anyway. All said and done I was charged a $150.00 overdraft fee despite my efforts to bring it current in the 24 hr time frame because of a holiday!!! It was veterans day and my husband is a 38yr veteran!!! We got penalized because of a holiday even after being reassured that we wouldn't!!! Their 24 grace only applies on regular business days, don't get caught in the holiday promises from Huntington, because you will be penalized!!!
Just_susan Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

24 hr grace period

The 24 hour grace thing is a big scam! I woke up, checked my balance and saw I was in the red so I immediately made a transfer. The next day i had 3 overdraft fees. I thought maybe they would drop off or be adjusted the next day so I waited to call the bank. When nothing changed the next day, I called and was handed a bunch of BS. I was told my check was deposited but it was "pending' so it wasn't considered a deposit. The charges I made with my debit card, which were also "pending" were paid immediately to the merchant so - get this- even though they were "pending" they really weren't. So..."pending" is only used in their favor. I'm changing banks this week.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    www.fb.me/cc CA - PURCHASE FACEBK for amount of $20.00
    My credit card was used on this site without my knowledge...
    m2 media - Unwanted magazine subscriptions
    M2 Media apparently does deals with other companies...
    Diamond Resorts International - misleading high pressure sales tactics
    Just another customer of DRI. LIED TO THE ONLY WAY TO MAKE...
    Doctors Health Press - Fraudulent charge of my card
    Dear Sir, I would like to inform you that my card has...
    MICROSOFT *XBOX LIVE BILL.XBOX.COM WA - fraud charges
    I am getting charged $4.99 by: MSFT XBOX LIVE BILL.XBOX.C...
    Fort Sill National Bank - Unfairness to Customers
    I've only had my bank opened a little bit over a...
    cop@vsnl.net - lsot my mobile
    i am raghunath.. i lost my micromax canvas doodle 3 A102...
    huwai honor holly - missing mobile
    i lost my mobile to day ie 25-11-2014 arround evening...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username