Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Keiser University

United States,
Florida

Consumer complaints and reviews about Keiser University

Saved1 Send email
 
Mar 14, 2014

Liers!!!

I have tried several times to contact financial aid about my scholarship money I got the runaround several times I just spoke with the director of financial aid she advised to me that my money would be here then she never buys me it would be here the following month I waited and waited for about 3-4 months and I still did not get my money I talked to the bursar office and she advised me that my money would be mailed to me to this day I am waiting and it has been over 2 weeks I know this is a scam to school and they just want your money I cannot wait to get out of this place I advise no one to go here.
User924154 Send email
 
Mar 27, 2012

crooks

Called to tell me that they did not have my transcripts a month before starting my core program when in fact I did upon enrolling.

I have been involved in one of their program for 9 months and made honor roll. I did my general Ed online, then started my core that following year in 2012. averaging C . Was never told that I needed to maintain a C average to be able to continue on in the course until the first day of Core (meanwhile already in the program for 6 months already) Never told about a test the first day. Now into my third core class taking Kines. I missed a C by 3 points. They kicked me out of the program missing a C by 3 points. Asked if there was an academic probation...Nope Teachers where not willing to help, they where into helping themselves in your pockets. On the note of the teachers. They are not certified teacher at all. They are people that are in the field with out a teaching degree.is that who you want to learn from.. They don't know how to have you understand the material. Now I am stuck in a place where I don't like the school I think that they lied to me to get me there. When it came down to transferring credits other UN they would not take the credits earned. Keiser stated it was not accredited school ... ( months of hard work down the drain ) Keiser also would not take A& P that I took at another school because it was not related to their program. How else can you relate the body parts to a particular program. ... This school is a joke and I would not refer this school to no one not even a dead dog!
Send email
 
Mar 25, 2012

Unauthorized billing!

My fiance signed up for Keiser College. They said that they walked him through the entire admissions, registration, financial aid, etc processes. When it came closer for school to start, we found that he could only get loans totaling the tuition. He was actually turned down for 2 different general student loans normally used to cover living expenses (we still haven't been able to find out why). We weren't sure if we could afford it, but tried to make a go of it. We found that he simply couldn't work full time and go to school full time. After he finished his first class (I think this was one month into his first semester) he tried to withdraw. They told him that there is no withdrawal and that he would be charged for an entire semester. My finance called his lender, who said they would be happy to reverse everything (likely he'd still have to pay the origination fees) but Keiser won't give them the money back. I'd never heard of a school doing this so he's tried talking to everyone up to the Provost. Keiser had no interest in making sure he could afford to go to school. They worked with him until he'd garnered enough loans to cover their expenses, then they handed him some websites and walked away. Can they do this? Hold his loans hostage and charge the $14, 000 after only one class? I haven't been able to find anything on their site with any numbers-even on tuition estimates or withdrawal policies!!!
Amanda832 Send email
 
Mar 25, 2012

Unauthorized billing!

I finsihed my AA in CJ and started my AS in forensics and now I am some what forced to finish there because they used up almost all of my undergrad student loan money so when I go to do my BA I don't know how I will pay for it
Raffy Send email
 
Mar 22, 2012

misleading students!

I have to seriously object to what these institutions are doing to students today, both the schools and the medical facilities and there lying doctors...my wife signed up for the medical assistant classes at Keiser U in orlando...you know medical assistant the position that is sweeping the country right now!..."yeah right!!!" she completed this course with top honors a 3.8 GPA finish with flying colors..at this point we believed like many that we were on our way...oh boy to our surprise..my wife leaves her job of couse... because they require you to take there externship for two FREE month's, now like many out there believe if you prove yourself somehow and you do everything correct you will be hired on the spot by theses clinics or hospital..well don't you believe it, the first clinic my wife was sent to was one in winter park privately owned, they took my wife in and practically told her they may have a position, but as the training went by my wife noticed they weren't teaching her much and current employees were threaten by her presence there thinking she was there to take there job or something...my wife called keiser they said ok finish there then we will send you somewhere else...when she finished there, she was literally interviewed by a doctor on Alafaya trail next to UCF...he told the school he had positions availiable..so my wife goes we are excited he saids she was a fast learner bla..bla..bla...he was going to teach her everything in his clinic well the month went by and when the wifey finished the doctor told her...that he was not that busy and that he can call her to come in sometime...this was a shock...i mean where is the protection for students...doctors are clearly lying to schools to get free labored help in there clinics, and schools are not exposing these schools and saying to them please don't waste our time if your not going to properly teach and seriously offer a job to at least one of our graduates...
someone is benefiting from this fiasco, the school the doctors etc...not the student!...there are medical assistance out there working in walmarts, and other places other than M.A. this is dangerous, many can forget what they have done and really make mistakes in the field...but that's not all...the Medical facilities with all there wisdom and support...throw ads saying they want M.A.'s with degrees, certification which the schools gives you 4 months after you've completed your extership if they don't screw up and leave you out the list like they did my wife recently, but anyway some of these clinics are asking two, and now three years of experience...because they know that the gov't is going mad crazy and giving hundreds of minorities loans for this field by the boat loads...yeah...you want to get in on the action...not if they can help it...these vo-tech schools are suppose to study the markets...offering what is hot and staying away with what is not...M.A.'s is NOT!...but they continue to issue loans at record pace to students knowing real well they have old students not being hired in the field especially with six other colleges offering the the same classes with large amounts of students...i mean the jobs are not there...to me that is fraudulant and misleading...no one should have to graduate from a school with high honors to be rejected and told they have no experience...and be stuck with a loan of $25 grand or more and un-employed, the school must protect old and new students from these lying doctors and private clinics, and bust there asses to assist in getting jobs for there students, instead of loans to study a dead end field not grabbing there half of the gov't check and leave you out there to burn by yourself, they tell her keep sending resumes, resumes, after resumes...but still nothing only the next group of M.A.'s going to the same doctors who tell the school send me more students please we need more free slaves..."i mean"... more potential keiser students..lol...man what a waste of time and money that was!...Keiser please step up and help these students and stop wasting there time!
Auroraivy Send email
 
Mar 22, 2012

misleading students!

I agree with jd007. There isn't a school out there that can promise you a job. If they do THAT is a scam. Especially in this market, which in 2010 existed almost like it does now, though it is hitting a larger number of people.

When applying for any school you need to read the fine print. I am not advocating Keiser in this sense but you can't expect a separate institution to force another institution to hire someone. It doesn't work that way. Most times the externship does NOT equal permanent placement. I do know that Keiser does have a large chunk of their Student Services division specifically set aside to help in job placement.

Bottom line: NO College/University can guarantee a job. Period.
Raz29 Send email
 
Mar 17, 2012

Read what you sign...

I too am studying law, and if you don't get value for value, the contract is void. Keiser University has a no refund policy if you withdraw from a course. This is similar to the tactics of a used car salesman! If you go to a college fresh out of high school, are you really prepared to meet the used car salesmen and negotiate against him and his years of sales experience? This is ridiculous. We should not allow our children's futures to be wisked away by used car sales tactics. Schools should remain in the public sector and these private "for-profit" schools should take their for-profit butts somewhere else. Or, laws should prevent them from obtaining federal funding unless they have withdraw policies that allow a student a chance to get their money back. Stay away from Keiser and other schools like them because they do not provide you with an education. They sell you a book, give you access to an online program, and you have to teach yourself! Basically, Keiser University is as good as a stuffed shirt when it comes to teaching in their online programs! AVOID THESE SCHOOLS AT ALL COSTS! Take is from a fool who has learned an expensive lesson.
Ripped-off @ Keiser Send email
 
Mar 16, 2012

Financial Aid

I received a call today from a collection agency FMS that was advising me that Keiser University sent them a bad-debt for me. I last attended their school in November of 2006, almost 3 years ago and no one bothered to tell me I owed them money. This is ridiculous to say the least! I bought a house and a new car since attending their school. Not to mention I got robbed by them with the loans they took out in my name that I still have to pay. And to add to that I owe them $ 1, 849. While this is a good amount of money, the time I wasted at their unaccredited University has no price. This school is a complete and total waste please save anyone you know who is considering this school. If it sounds too good to be true, it is. Not to mention accredited schools are half as much to go to. Save your time and money.
Ahigdon87 Send email
 
Mar 16, 2012

Financial Aid

I AM A STUDENT AT KEISER UNIVERSITY AND I AM GOING TO WITHDRAW TODAY. This place is beyound a scam. THIS PLACE IS A JOKE!!! IM ALL FOR A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT. HAS ANYONE ELSE EVER NOTICED HOW MANY TIMES KEISER CHANGES EMPLOYEES IN THEIR FRONT OFFICE. I HAVE BEEN AT KEISER FOR A YEAR AND A HALF AND IN THAT TIME WE HAVE HAD 4 DEANS AND THATS NO JOKE. ITS A CROCK OF CRAP. THESE PEOPLE ARE CON'S END OF STORY.
MMRMARPT Send email
 
Feb 27, 2012

SCAM

I am a former student at Keiser university and towards the end they gave me a really hard time I sighned a form at the beginning of externship stating that i wasnt planning to take any of my gen eds so when i was half way through the extern coordinator calls me stating that i cant take the licensing exam unless I'm an active student at the time i was working at the hospital at night and completing externship during the day (16hours of work total daily) i already completed all the required classes for the licensing exam and yet if i wasn't planning to take my gen eds i wouldnt be allowed to take the licensing exam so the extern coordinator suggested online classes i told her plainly i need time to sleep and i dont think i have the time and she said it didnt matter if i passed or not as long as i was an active student but what she didnt tell me was if i chose to drop out after that class i would owe the school over 4000 for all the classes i chose not to take and now they refuse to release my transcripts untill i pay them in full
Sally McClinton Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Predatory Practices

If anyone was wronged and is in debt relating to Keiser University, please email me. I am a former Counselor and I can help you!
Kettely Jean Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Predatory Practices

I need help to make department of education to know how Keiser University they are lying to make their millions
Dem420 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

crooks

So i have been going to keiser for about 2 and half years.. i had some issues and changes camousses a few times. And one class i have taken there times and have not passed. Well that happen in the beginning of me starting classes and now two years after that happened and 3 months from me graduating they said that i am not able to finish because of that class i failed tree times and none of my classes will transfer. I plan on getting g a lawyer and suing them for this. If i couldn't finish the program than they should have told me as soon as i failed that class for the third time not two years later after they have taken thousands of dollars of mine
Meirianne Dias Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

crooks

Hi, this happen to me also, and I would like to know if u found a solution for that... How could I contact u.
Meirianne Dias Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

crooks

Let me know...
WTF904 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Financial aid scam!

Look into other PRIVATE COLLEGE/UNIVERSITIES in FLORIDA...The others are more accredited and LESS EXPENSIVE!!! They say they 'personalize' and that is why you pay an arm and a leg for tuiton to a piece of crap/(bad rep) school... might as well go to DeVry or ITT Tech!...Full Sail is private and as expensive as University of Miami...but they actually MAKE you finish their programs, which is more accredited and if you could get into uM, i am sure you would go there. Get good grades in High School and you can go anywhere for 50, 000 for a Bachelors Degree, except IVY leagues.
KEISERisaSCAM Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

SCAM

With Keiser University there were so many red flags, I wish I had paid attention from the start. Now I am 30, 000 in debt making no more money than I started out with.

First off, let me tell you- STAY FAR AWAY from this school.

They will lure you in, paint this picture that it is an excellent school and that the counselors have your best interest in mind. Well they don't. All they want is your money. Here is my experience with Keiser University:

First off, several years ago I toured the school just to see what it was about. The admissions counselor- Chris, was so friendly and nice to me. I wasn't sure if that is where I really wanted to go, I wasn't even sure if I liked any of the programs. He asked me what I was good at in everyday life. I told him I use computers a lot so he suggested the Computer program. He said I was a perfect fit. Blah blah blah. I wasn't sure if that was the field I wanted to choose so I said I will think about it. Well he started calling me every day without fail. Then when I stopped answering his calls, he would call me from ANONYMOUS NUMBER! That was a red flag right there. Anyways. A year went by and I decided maybe I want to go back to the school again and see if there was something that i really wanted this time. I saw Chris again and he was raving about the X-Ray tech program saying he really sees me in it and that it is an excellent field to go in at my age. So he convinced me to sign up. They are SO CONVINCING. Anyway. I completed all the Gen-Eds. Some of them were so easy, I had never made such good grades in my life. But it was weird because I barely tried. I figured maybe I really am learning with this "individual student focus." Well once I finished all my Gen-Eds I realized maybe X-Ray isn't what I really want, so I switched to the Medical Assissting because I could get right in. The program director for the Medical Assisting was excellent, I won't lie. He knew his stuff and I really learned from him. It is a shame to see him in that rat-hole school. Well graduation time came, I completed all my classes for my Associates Degree, completed my externship. Keiser's bursar said I was financially cleared so I would be good to go for graduation. I was excited. I had a couple interviews once I finished school, but never got hired. I harassed and hounded student services to find me a job. THEY HAVE NO CONNECTIONS. When you are in the program, they make it seem like they have endless doctor's offices and employer's who come to the school seeking out "highly educated" Keiser grads. Well that is BS! They do not. I was given the run-around every single time I would speak with the job placement idiot. I would be SHOCKED if at best, she forwarded my resume out on Craigslist. I know she didn't. So I went through all that schooling. All that time. ALL THAT DEBT! And once you graduate (in my case and MANY OTHERS!) Job placement is a JOKE!!! They will NOT help you. So now I am going to have to pay off all this DEBT. And I am no better off than I was. I just have a degree from KEISER UNIVERSITY. They just suck money out of you. And give you free hotdogs and hamburgers now and then. Because at Keiser University, students come FIRST. Do you know why? Not because they want to see you succeed. No. They want all your money, no refunds, so Dr. Keiser can fly around in his fancy f***ing jet.

Live and learn is all I can say to this. I hope other students considering going to this money-trap scam school will think twice. Don't say you haven't been warned.
0987654 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

SCAM

you have 3 sides of the story. yours, theirs, and the truth. if you are a grown adult and don't read what you sign then go figure. same goes if you go buy a new car then 8 months later you take it back because you don't like the color. it seems that either of you read your terms and conditions and now your blaming the school for you not reading your legal contract. I'm studying law and that's all you learn in law school.. Read what you sign!!!
Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Financial aid scam!

This school gives the hard sell, gets you in the door, gets you into financial aid to apply for all sorts of student loans by filling out your forms for you so you will surely be approved and then promptly takes the money without your ever seeing it. Then, once you start classes the financial aid department harasses you by repeatedly pulling you out of classes to update your loan info so they get their next check. If you withdraw because of their behavior-they refuse to return your money. DO NOT ATTEND THIS SCHOOL.
Salita Mason Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Financial aid scam!

No attorney has contacted anyone because no laws have been broken! You messed up not them

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Paraco Gas - Horrible Business Practices
    I was a customer of Synergy gas that was purchased by...
    Marriott Vacation Club - Fraud
    Shame on you Marriott Vacation Club To anyone...
    Turkish Airlines - Worst reservation Call center
    Turkish Airlines has the worst reservations call center I...
    Judges Processing Center/award notification commission - Scam Letters
    I have been receiving letters for the past several months...
    Aer Lingus - Poor Service
    We purchased exit row seats for an additional $100 and...
    Infinity Incentive Group - Thanks for the Heads Up
    Like everyone else on this site, I found it impossible to...
    Net10 & Tracfone - net10 wont tell me the truth
    Sent my phone to net10 an they keep telling me they sent...
    Driver Update - Want a Refund
    Driver Update shut my computer down and now it will not...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username