Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Kroger

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Kroger

peopleneed2work Send email
 
Aug 31, 2014

UNSAFE ENVIRONMENT

Now if an employee complains about unfairness and trys to do their best job gets the boot. Kroger's is now getting their goons to harrass someone. You have alot of nasty verbally absuvie women and also sexually drug induced men whom don't stop preying upon an woman employee. Also
i want everyone to know that Kroger's practices unsafe hazard food and safety sanitation I worked at Kroger's and this employee cleaned the tortilla machine with a pie glaze brush. The bully of the bakery (might i also state she packaged tortillas with bare hands) then stated "oh god we can just wash the bristle of the brush". Um no,

then I threw the brush away and the next day same thing the other employee cleaned the machine AGAIN with the brush used for pie glaze. then, I advised to use another CLEANER APPROVED PRODUCT. I hid the pie glaze brush so neither of the two would find it. So then these two used a paint brush off the product shelf. Only because I hid the second pie glaze brush to prevent any type of unsanitary conditions.
EL
THEN MOVED TO THE CHEESE DEPARTMENT , THEN TO DELI ,

THEN FORCED TO QUIT BECAUSE I SPOKE UP ABOUT MISTREATMENT IN A UNSAFE ENVIRONMENT SAFETY HAZARDS AND UNSAFE ENVIRONMENT.

I FEAR THAT THESE FORMER CO-WORKERS ARE NOW STALKING ME FOR SPEAKING UP ABOUT THE TRUTH .... STOP HARASSING ME FOR WILL FILE A COMPLAINT WITH THE POLICE!!!!

and Customers (SECRET SHOPPERS) AND employees (UNION) AND CERTAIN MANAGERS CREATING A HOSTILE WORK ENVIRONMENT AND UNPLEASANT PLACE TO WORK .
may God have Mercy on your souls on what you do to one woman for your own pleasure.

someone who has had enough and Community needs to know that I did my best to work and be pleasant.
tired of it!
Marilyn Hawkins Send email
 
Aug 17, 2014

Gas pumps

Recently on 2 separate occasions I have stopped at the Kroger gas pumps on Roswell Rd Atlanta Georgia on my way to work. The first morning there wasn't a pump working. The next stop was last week Aug 2014, I pulled in to the pumps to a hand written not stuck on every pump saying CASH ONLY.. Who carries Cash these days or enough to put gas in their car. Totally ridiculous and irritating. I just went to Kroger on Atlanta Road in Smyrna Georgua and they have management problems evidently. There was one young man working in the deli dept. I waited for a while when I first went into the store and decided I would come back. After completing my list I went back to the deli dept and to my surprise that one single person was working as hard as he could to keep customers happy but couldn't keep up. The man in from of me complained to the manager and he sent someone over fairly quickly. The produce dept is never stocked and the buggies are overflowing in the parking lot. It just seems that the management should have better control of thing. I have shopped Kroger for a LONG time and I an getting fed up with the B.S. Aldi has better prices just don't have everything on my list….maybe I need to talk to their manager and see if they will add some things.
hjuanita Send email
 
Jul 30, 2014

over charge

Today I been overcharge from $3.99 to$4.19. approach to costumer service one hour took to solve my problem, for a returned of $2.20 cents. is this the Michigan law when is a customer overcharge? I am very sad for this happen one person only did take so many things the line is growing and , who cares? also the person by the name Andrea comes around coursing and made me hire her frustration, I am a customer with my own problems, please I ask for some respect to the costumers, a worker showing his pink underwear because his pants are so down lower, I do not get inside the store to see this kind of demonstration, and the last the place for the vegetables, are surround by flays over the tomatoes specifically.Could you please take care of this mater as your early convenience, I appreciate it.Respectfully,CustomerToday I been overcharge from $3.99 to$4.19. approach to costumer service one hour took to solve my problem, for a returned of $2.20 cents. is this the Michigan law when is a customer overcharge? I am very sad for this happen one person only did take so many things the line is growing and , who cares? also the person by the name Andrea comes around coursing and made me hire her frustration, I am a customer with my own problems, please I ask for some respect to the costumers, a worker showing his pink underwear because his pants are so down lower, I do not get inside the store to see this kind of demonstration, and the last the place for the vegetables, are surround by flays over the tomatoes specifically.
JRR Send email
 
Jun 23, 2014

CONTAMINATED IN STORE PRPARED HEAT and EAT HAZARADOUS/LETHAL STANDARD OF OPERATING PROCDURES !!!!

Please send an investigator/reporter to my home Immediately as I have a Very Hazardous/Potentially LETHAL story/incident I would like to share with the world as well as my community as a whole. I have gone thru all the "proper channels" of this company's claim process/system and they are Refusing to meet with me Face to Face to resolve this Lethal Food and Safety practice within in their stores quietly.

I REFUSE to be Silenced and Quiet any Longer as I'm not doing my Family nor community Justice be Allowing this to Continue any longer.

I'm Praising God that my family is still alive but have no idea if any others that purchased this store's Garbage/Trash/Health HAZARDOUS Material that was Marked Down and Sold as Homemade and a Quick Fixing Meal on the Run. (Convenient)

Convenient for Them ~ DEADLY to the CONSUMER ~ This Wasn't and Isn't designed/ Prepared IN THEIR Stores Worthy of Human Consumption nor Animal Using RECYCLED Food Products that they also Prepare on a DAILY Basis ( RIGHT NOW As I TYPE this to you all.

Please, Please, Please Have SOMEBODY Call/MEET ME in PERSON AS SOON AS POSSIBLE!!! THIS IS URGENT In My OPINION!!! GRAVE and DEADLY/HAZARDOUS

I will also be contacting the FDA/USDA as well as many other AGENCIES as Well as LEGAL Counsel if this Can't be Resolved Swiftly and without having to bring in Judicial System.

Preferring Not to~ But they are practically leaving No Other Option nor Recourse.

Thank you for your Time and Consideration ~ I DESPERATELY FEEL THIS NEEDS IMMEDIATE ATTENTION as I HAVE BEEN QUIET and EXTENDED THEIR GRACE PERIOD FOR FAR TOO LONG to ALLOW THEM TO Do Their own Investigation into this as well as to PROCESS MY CLAIM

THEY HAVE BEEN AND ARE FAILING MISERABLY and PUTTING MANY MANY, MANY People in HARMS WAY by not Being PROACTIVE IMMEDIATELY

I DESIRE TO SIT DOWN WITH AS MANY Medias and Legal Counsel as it takes until this all been Laid to REST. I WILL NOT REST UNTIL it IS.

PLEASE ALLOW EMILY AKINS or as Many Investigators as you have available to Examine ALL of my Information that I have and I WILL BE MORE THAN HAPPY to Walk slowly and methodically/quiet as possible thru the whole initial incident that occurred as well as Show and Tell You ALL EVERYBODY THAT I DEALT WITH In the PROCESS!! NAMES...PLACES...DATES and TIMES ALL THE WAY TO THE CORPORATE OFFICE AND EXECUTIVES THAT I TALKED TO AND DEALT WITH only to be initially told to BE QUIET!! CALM DOWN.. (CUSTOMER SERVICE /CLAIMS REP OUT OF OHIO/SEDGEWICK CORPORATION Claims EXAMINER.JUSTIN BRUN Told ME this over the phone...a WEEK AGO Last FRIDAY) I haven't Heard from HIM?THEM SINCE THEN. PERIOD and MR DICKINSON in the WOODLANDS/SHENDADOAH CORPO
RATE Office TOLD ME that HE and MR JOHN DUKE this Company's FOOD AND SAFETY EXECUTIVE Have CHOSEN TO RETRACT THEIR OFFER to MEET AND TALK to ME Face to Face and were Washing His/Their Hands of this Matter and ME and PASSING ME and My POTENTIAL L E T H A L FACTual Incident/FOOD and SAFETY PROCESS that is STILL IN PLACE RIGHT NOW away to Mr Justin Brun in OHIO.

UNACCEPTABLE~~ COVER UP and This CORPRATION has ALOT to HIDE APPARENTLY as Well as CHOOSING NOT TO DISCLOSE KEY ELEMENTS of THEIR INSTORE FOOD PREPARATION in ALL Departments Claiming its CLASSIFIED and CONFIDENTIAL on the CORPORATE LEVEL!!! I REPEAT "JUST WHAT ALL DO THEY HAVE TO HIDE as THEY SELL These FOOD PRODUCTS MARKED/PACKAGED and LABELED AS "MANAGER's SPECIALS" ~ LEFTOVERS from LUNCH time ...SCRAPS and TRASH/GARBAGE to INCREASE REVENUE and SCRAPE the BOTTOM of the PAN ...BONES and ALL for INCREASED PROFIT MARGIN At ALL COST!!!! REGARDLESS of What it COST the CONSUMER and THEIR HEALTH AND SAFETY

PLEASE CONTACT ME IMMEDIATELY!! This CORPORATION HAS NOT EXPEDITED This URGENT MATTER AT ALL!!!! LIVES Are STILL At Stake HERE

Your and Mine- Family and Friends- National and Global

SINCERE /WORRIED/CONCERNED ADVOCATE for MY CHILDREN's HEALTH and SARETY . PROTECTING THEM is MY NUMBER ONE GOAL in LIFE as Well as EVERYBODY ELSES.

APPARENTLY NOT THIS HUGE CORPORATION'S!!!!!

Jodi (Odom) Rehwinkel

I AM AVAILABLE 24/7 just like I am for my Children and have told this Corporation the SAME Many Many Many times OVER as they EXPECT THEIR Employees to be FLEXIBLE to Work~ WELL its APPARENT THIS DOES NOT APPLY to THEIR CLAIMS Department NOR THEIR EXECUTIVES in COMMAND HERE ON THE "LOCAL" LEVEL in SHENADOAH TEXAS off of RESEARCH BOULEVARD.

I AM WILLING TO MEET AND TALK and TELL YOU ALL EVERTYHING ANYTIME...JUST LIKE I OFFERED THIS COMPANY and DID JUST THAT. I SHOWED MERCY,COMPASSION and CONCERN and HAVE NOT BEEN GRANTED THE SAME IN RETURN. I would Still like to try to reach some type of an agreement/settlement if all possible as to not DESTROY this CORPORATION's REPUTATION as a MAJOR FOOD CHAIN/GROCERY STORE providing Convenience and Goods to the Community AT ALL COST but WITHOUT SAFETY NETS /FILTERS In PLACE for the CONSUMERS HEALTH And SAFETY

I'm FULLY Prepared to Plaster the Social Media with this VERY Food and Health/SAFETY Hazardous Information and go VIRAL with it IF this Corporation CONTINUES to CHOOSE NOT TO MEET with ME and MY TERMS with in the Next 24 to 48 Hours. THEY can MEET with ME and You ALL (THE PRESS) as well as MY LEGAL Counsel. THEIR Choice and last Chance to Do the Right Thing Just As I DID INITIALLY Out of Goodwill and Courtesy to Let Them Be AWARE of My Hasty Purchase on April 7th 2014. Yes I HAVE Allowed This to Go on For FAR Too Long WITHOUT RESOLUTION nor PEACE of Mind, Heart and Soul while all along having my Own LIFE to Try to Live and Family/Children to Raise and Protect.
pat allen Send email
 
May 8, 2014

digital coupons

Having been a customer of this particular Kroger Store for over 42 years I am very disappointed that I now need to get digital coupons, just to get the best prices on your in store specials. I do not beleive that this is in your best interest as a localI store or my interest to be subjected to this form silent discrimation. As a Senior citizen these sales mean a lot to me. After being this issue today to the store manager, I found that he really had no interest in hearing what I had to say. Therefore I will not be shopping at your Kroger in the future.

Regretfuly yours,
Richard W. Remsing
4729 Dimiond Way
Dimondale, MI 48821
aw87902 Send email
 
Feb 25, 2014

poor shopping experience

im very upset with my shopping experience. went in on Friday the 21st to get a few things for dinner and a couple of extra things. went down the breakfast food isle and a girl named Ashley did not acknowledge me when I said hello . I am a customer too and in was not happy knowing she is in customer service.. I don't usually complain about things but im a emoyee and we are always coached to acknowledge every customer.
What A Joke This Is Send email
 
Mar 14, 2012

Return Policy

THIS IS IN REGARDS TO THE KROGER RETURN POLICY AND HOW THEY ADMINISTER REFUNDS OF ANY PURCHASES. It is apparent Kroger will do whatever it takes to avoid providing you with a refund, if the refund amount is over $10.00.

THE KROGER REFUND POLICY, AS IT APPEARS ON THEIR WEB SITE, IS NOTHING BUT A SELF-SERVING REFUND POLICY DESIGNED TO DEFRAUD CUSTOMERS BASED ON THE LANGUAGE USED. You can expect to receive the runaround without a straight answer when you attempt to OBTAIN A CLEAR DEFINITION OF THE KROGER RETURN POLICY.

On December 28, 2010 a purchase was made at a Kroger store for a New Year's Eve party. When learned the following day that not as much food was needed as the result of a cancellation by a group of guests. An attempt was made to return the unneeded items to Kroger.

The total amount of items to be returned was $131.98. When attempting to return these items Kroger customer service and management at 4 different stores stated that they would not refund the purchase due to the amount. Two managers stated that this was because customers steal items and then return them. That they were not accusing me of stealing, but that is why they would not make a refund. ONE MANAGER SAID HE WOULD DO ME A FAVOR BY REFUNDING APPROXIMATELY $20.00 OF THE ITEMS AS A COURTESY, BUT REFUSED TO REFUND THE ENTIRE AMOUNT.

As a result of this response the Kroger's customer service call center was contacted. They stated they could not assist with this issue, and to contact their regional office at (513) 712-3300 BECAUSE THIS POLICY IS BASED ON EACH INDIVIDUAL STORE DECIDING IF THEY WANTED TO ISSUE A REFUND. When contacting the regional office they stated that there was nothing they could do, that it was up the individual stores to determine.

However, the Kroger return policy clearly states;

"WHAT IF I WISH TO RETURN SOMETHING I PURCHASED AT A KROGER STORE?

Your returns are always welcome. All merchandise is guaranteed. If you are dissatisfied with your purchase, we will gladly give you a refund, exchange, adjustment or credit to a Kroger Gift Card. Some exclusions apply."

Upon review of this return policy the Kroger's Corporate Office was contacted at (513) 762-4000 for a definition of "Some exclusions apply." They said that they did not know what the exclusions were.

NOTE: THIS IS WAS NOW THEIR CORPORATE OFFICE THAT CLAIMS NO ONE THERE KNOWS WHAT THAT STATEMENT MEANS or WHAT THE “EXCLUSIONS APPLY” TO.

I was then transferred back to the Kroger Customer Service department where I again asked for an explanation of what the exclusions were. Once again I was advised that they did not know and that I would have to call the regional office.

IT IS OBVIOUS TO ME THAT THIS IS A CATCH ALL FOR KROGER TO AVOID REFUNDING PURCHASES.

I was told by two out of four managers that they did not want to make a refund due to the amount of the refund because it went against the profit and loss statement for their store.

It is also clear that at the very least this is a catch all initiated by Kroger to avoid making refunds in the name of profits.

BY EXAMPLE AND COMPARISON OF A STRAIGHT FORWARD AND CLEARLY STATED RETURN POLICY OF A CREDIBLE COMPANY, THIS IS THE MEIJER'S RETURN POLICY:

"Meijer Return & Exchange Policy — For Purchases Made at a Meijer Store
Meijer honors General Merchandise returns within 90 days from date of purchase and when accompanied with receipt. After 90 days, manufacturer’s warranty applies. For computer and electronic items, returns must be made within 30 days. We cannot refund alcoholic beverages and opened packages of glucose blood monitors, collector sports cards, music and movies. However, damaged and defective items will be exchanged for an identical item. Ammunition must be returned within 24 hours of purchase.

WE ACCEPT RETURNED FOOD ITEMS WITH OR WITHOUT A RECEIPT INCLUDING MEAT, SEAFOOD, DELI, GROCERY, DAIRY AND FROZEN, PROVIDED THEY ARE NOT STATE APPROVED WIC ITEMS.**

We stand behind our name. Any product with the "Meijer" brand may be returned with or without a receipt, provided they are not state approved WIC items.**

**We are not able to provide refunds on state approved WIC items and formula without a receipt verifying the items were not part of a WIC transaction.

Returns without receipt are subject to lowest sale price."

BASED ON THIS EXPERIENCE WITH KROGER'S I WOULD SUGGEST THAT YOU DO YOU SHOPPING ELSEWHERE, AND REVIEW ANY STORES RETURN POLICY PRIOR TO PATRONIZING THEM.

Again, after my experience with Kroger I would strongly suggest that you shop at any other store other than Kroger after reading this. I would also suggest you tell your friends and relatives about THIS KROGER POLICY.

Furthermore, be advised THAT I OBSERVED OTHER CUSTOMERS ATTEMPTING TO MAKE RETURNS AT KROGER WHILE WAITING FOR A MANAGER BEING LIED TO BY KROGER EMPLOYEE'S AS IT RELATES TO THEIR RETURN POLICY.

In support of that statement I observed the following: A person attempting to return items that were over $10.00 in value were told that the Kroger policy was that if the return was over $10.00 they would not accept such a return. HOWEVER, the Kroger return policy as clearly stated on their web site states that;

“WHEN YOU RETURN MERCHANDISE OVER $10 WITHOUT A RECEIPT TO A KROGER FAMILY STORE, WE'LL ADD THE VALUE OF YOUR RETURNED MERCHANDISE TO YOUR CARD."

This $10.00 reference refers to returns over $10.00 without a receipt, and further states that in the case that a person does not have a receipt that they will be given a gift card for any amount over $10.00.

IT IS CLEAR THAT KROGER DOES NOT HONOR THEIR OWN POLICIES, AND THAT KROGER WILL DO EVERYTHING POSSIBLE TO AVOID PROVIDING A REFUND BY REFUSING TO CLEARLY DEFINE ITS POLICIES AND GIVE CUSTOMERS THE RUN AROUND IN AN ATTEMPT TO FRUSTRATE THEM UNTIL THE CUSTOMER JUST GIVES UP.

MY SUGGESTION: Find ANY another alternative to Kroger and do not shop with them until they clearly define their return policy, honor their return policy, and STOP USING LOOPHOLES TO GET AROUND PROVIDING YOU WITH REFUNDS THEY CLEARLY STATE ON THEIR WEB SITE THAT THEY WILL PROVIDE.
Aim Higher Send email
 
Mar 14, 2012

Return Policy

First of all...this is a rant, not a complaint. It sounds like you may have embellished the truth a bit. That says, to me, you might have known that you didn't have enough ground to stand on and needed to exaggerate to gain sympathizers. I could see maybe talking to the manager at the store of purchase, but not "all that". A whole "group" ($130.00 worth) canceling on the same day? Seems a bit unlikely. Secondly, I agree with the others. I don't blame them for not allowing you a return, much less a refund. There is no telling what some people do to food after bringing it home. The food might not have been "kept" properly (i.e. refrigeration required) and some "sickos" could tamper with it, contaminate it purposefully, and then return it to make someone sick or something. It actually makes me feel better about Kroger's food return policy, rather than Meijer's. As you pointed out many times, Kroger's policy (while I agree it is quite vague, it does state one part clearly) states "if you are DISSATISFIED". In which case, you weren't. Your "group of guests" that canceled are to blame. Maybe next time you should include a mandatory date to R.S.V.P. by...before you go shopping.
I do agree, however, that Kroger's return/refund policy needs a little revamping. I had bought a rug from my local Kroger 24hr Marketplace (where home decor items are also sold). I brought it home, hadn't unwrapped it before my husband noticed I picked up the wrong size (it had been placed in the wrong bin) and less than an hour later I was back at Kroger. It was then around 10 p.m. and there wasn't a manager, whom was needed to make the return/exchange because of the large price, available at that time. The next morning I took the rug, my receipt, and my debit card that I had purchased it with up to the same store of purchase. The correct size rug was actually cheaper. They wouldn't let me exchange the rugs and credit the remaining balance back to my debit card. They wouldn't let me return the rug, credit my card, and then purchase the other rug. The only thing they would do was let me return the rug, credit a Kroger gift card, and then purchase the other one. It was just a lot of hassle...especially considering I had the receipt and they made a note that I had tried to return < 1 hour after purchased. Then I had $100.00, after buying the new rug, remaining on the gift card that I had to spend at Kroger. Two lessons from that ordeal: double check and be sure the tag/storage area description and the item you picked up are a match, and measure twice...buy once.
P.S. to original poster---> "What A Joke This Is"- In order to be taken seriously when writing a blog or review, use proper English and grammar! This web site even has a spell checker on it and asks you to check before posting. Also, don't repeat the same thing 5 times. It's annoying.
Doug9000 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Don't like employees with disabilitys

I have a medical Condition and the store I worked for asked me to clean in the back of the deli area they had me working back there I was a bugger I was making $7.25 an hour the place where I was working workers would get paid $10.00 an hour I was doing all kinds of work I should have been earning more I had to quit do the medical Condition.
Mad In Kentucky Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Don't like employees with disabilitys

If you have a disability of any kind you have to fight then get them to make accommodations.
Then when they feel that your time is up, they start bullying and harassment til you go...
They don't follow the law, they just go around them...
Trololo Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Don't like employees with disabilitys

I don't entirely believe this. I work as a cashier at a Kroger store and can ALWAYS smell bad chicken, and ALWAYS tell the customer it smells bad, and offer to get them a different package. The stench is bad enough that the thin plastic wrapping over it will not prevent it from getting out. Gross as it sounds, try sniffing your chicken a little before you buy it.
Jooman Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

I am very disappointed and upset, as I am afraid this was not a mistake

I Purchased The Velveeta Brand Cheese to make Rotel dip for the Super Bowl. I used the proper measurements, and noticed the dip was watery, with little cheese taste. I added a good bit more cheese. The dip was still thin and watery tasting with very little cheese flavor.

This was the regular Velveeta, and not the 2%.

I am very disappointed and upset, as I am afraid this was not a mistake. I hope I am wrong.
Wifi8827 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

I am very disappointed and upset, as I am afraid this was not a mistake

so why are you upset with Kroger? They don't make the Velveeta.

Your complaint should be with Kraft Foods.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Sonic - management
    I worked at sonic for 2 months in that 2 months I dealt...
    cop@vsnl.net - mobile theft
    My mobile is theft in train Gitanjali exp. in between...
    ALL KIND OF SPELLS - THANK YOU DR. AYO
    My name is Sarah Richardson from Canada,i want to share my...
    Slimcleaner plus and driver updante - charged card twice
    I ordered the slimcleaner plus and driver update. You...
    All Filters LLC - pPoor Customer Service
    I purchased a filter and was sent the wrong product upon...
    28035 - abortion clinic pain free in rustenburg 0721401358 dr sali
    WOMEN'S/ABORTION SERVISES AND PREGNANCY CARE! dr sali...
    Obtain Real Best Quality Documents - Best High Quality Real and Novelty Document For All...
    Purchase Real and Novelty Passports,id cards,visas,drivers...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username