Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Kroger

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Kroger

aw87902 Send email
 
Feb 25, 2014

poor shopping experience

im very upset with my shopping experience. went in on Friday the 21st to get a few things for dinner and a couple of extra things. went down the breakfast food isle and a girl named Ashley did not acknowledge me when I said hello . I am a customer too and in was not happy knowing she is in customer service.. I don't usually complain about things but im a emoyee and we are always coached to acknowledge every customer.
What A Joke This Is Send email
 
Mar 14, 2012

Return Policy

THIS IS IN REGARDS TO THE KROGER RETURN POLICY AND HOW THEY ADMINISTER REFUNDS OF ANY PURCHASES. It is apparent Kroger will do whatever it takes to avoid providing you with a refund, if the refund amount is over $10.00.

THE KROGER REFUND POLICY, AS IT APPEARS ON THEIR WEB SITE, IS NOTHING BUT A SELF-SERVING REFUND POLICY DESIGNED TO DEFRAUD CUSTOMERS BASED ON THE LANGUAGE USED. You can expect to receive the runaround without a straight answer when you attempt to OBTAIN A CLEAR DEFINITION OF THE KROGER RETURN POLICY.

On December 28, 2010 a purchase was made at a Kroger store for a New Year's Eve party. When learned the following day that not as much food was needed as the result of a cancellation by a group of guests. An attempt was made to return the unneeded items to Kroger.

The total amount of items to be returned was $131.98. When attempting to return these items Kroger customer service and management at 4 different stores stated that they would not refund the purchase due to the amount. Two managers stated that this was because customers steal items and then return them. That they were not accusing me of stealing, but that is why they would not make a refund. ONE MANAGER SAID HE WOULD DO ME A FAVOR BY REFUNDING APPROXIMATELY $20.00 OF THE ITEMS AS A COURTESY, BUT REFUSED TO REFUND THE ENTIRE AMOUNT.

As a result of this response the Kroger's customer service call center was contacted. They stated they could not assist with this issue, and to contact their regional office at (513) 712-3300 BECAUSE THIS POLICY IS BASED ON EACH INDIVIDUAL STORE DECIDING IF THEY WANTED TO ISSUE A REFUND. When contacting the regional office they stated that there was nothing they could do, that it was up the individual stores to determine.

However, the Kroger return policy clearly states;

"WHAT IF I WISH TO RETURN SOMETHING I PURCHASED AT A KROGER STORE?

Your returns are always welcome. All merchandise is guaranteed. If you are dissatisfied with your purchase, we will gladly give you a refund, exchange, adjustment or credit to a Kroger Gift Card. Some exclusions apply."

Upon review of this return policy the Kroger's Corporate Office was contacted at (513) 762-4000 for a definition of "Some exclusions apply." They said that they did not know what the exclusions were.

NOTE: THIS IS WAS NOW THEIR CORPORATE OFFICE THAT CLAIMS NO ONE THERE KNOWS WHAT THAT STATEMENT MEANS or WHAT THE “EXCLUSIONS APPLY” TO.

I was then transferred back to the Kroger Customer Service department where I again asked for an explanation of what the exclusions were. Once again I was advised that they did not know and that I would have to call the regional office.

IT IS OBVIOUS TO ME THAT THIS IS A CATCH ALL FOR KROGER TO AVOID REFUNDING PURCHASES.

I was told by two out of four managers that they did not want to make a refund due to the amount of the refund because it went against the profit and loss statement for their store.

It is also clear that at the very least this is a catch all initiated by Kroger to avoid making refunds in the name of profits.

BY EXAMPLE AND COMPARISON OF A STRAIGHT FORWARD AND CLEARLY STATED RETURN POLICY OF A CREDIBLE COMPANY, THIS IS THE MEIJER'S RETURN POLICY:

"Meijer Return & Exchange Policy — For Purchases Made at a Meijer Store
Meijer honors General Merchandise returns within 90 days from date of purchase and when accompanied with receipt. After 90 days, manufacturer’s warranty applies. For computer and electronic items, returns must be made within 30 days. We cannot refund alcoholic beverages and opened packages of glucose blood monitors, collector sports cards, music and movies. However, damaged and defective items will be exchanged for an identical item. Ammunition must be returned within 24 hours of purchase.

WE ACCEPT RETURNED FOOD ITEMS WITH OR WITHOUT A RECEIPT INCLUDING MEAT, SEAFOOD, DELI, GROCERY, DAIRY AND FROZEN, PROVIDED THEY ARE NOT STATE APPROVED WIC ITEMS.**

We stand behind our name. Any product with the "Meijer" brand may be returned with or without a receipt, provided they are not state approved WIC items.**

**We are not able to provide refunds on state approved WIC items and formula without a receipt verifying the items were not part of a WIC transaction.

Returns without receipt are subject to lowest sale price."

BASED ON THIS EXPERIENCE WITH KROGER'S I WOULD SUGGEST THAT YOU DO YOU SHOPPING ELSEWHERE, AND REVIEW ANY STORES RETURN POLICY PRIOR TO PATRONIZING THEM.

Again, after my experience with Kroger I would strongly suggest that you shop at any other store other than Kroger after reading this. I would also suggest you tell your friends and relatives about THIS KROGER POLICY.

Furthermore, be advised THAT I OBSERVED OTHER CUSTOMERS ATTEMPTING TO MAKE RETURNS AT KROGER WHILE WAITING FOR A MANAGER BEING LIED TO BY KROGER EMPLOYEE'S AS IT RELATES TO THEIR RETURN POLICY.

In support of that statement I observed the following: A person attempting to return items that were over $10.00 in value were told that the Kroger policy was that if the return was over $10.00 they would not accept such a return. HOWEVER, the Kroger return policy as clearly stated on their web site states that;

“WHEN YOU RETURN MERCHANDISE OVER $10 WITHOUT A RECEIPT TO A KROGER FAMILY STORE, WE'LL ADD THE VALUE OF YOUR RETURNED MERCHANDISE TO YOUR CARD."

This $10.00 reference refers to returns over $10.00 without a receipt, and further states that in the case that a person does not have a receipt that they will be given a gift card for any amount over $10.00.

IT IS CLEAR THAT KROGER DOES NOT HONOR THEIR OWN POLICIES, AND THAT KROGER WILL DO EVERYTHING POSSIBLE TO AVOID PROVIDING A REFUND BY REFUSING TO CLEARLY DEFINE ITS POLICIES AND GIVE CUSTOMERS THE RUN AROUND IN AN ATTEMPT TO FRUSTRATE THEM UNTIL THE CUSTOMER JUST GIVES UP.

MY SUGGESTION: Find ANY another alternative to Kroger and do not shop with them until they clearly define their return policy, honor their return policy, and STOP USING LOOPHOLES TO GET AROUND PROVIDING YOU WITH REFUNDS THEY CLEARLY STATE ON THEIR WEB SITE THAT THEY WILL PROVIDE.
Aim Higher Send email
 
Mar 14, 2012

Return Policy

First of all...this is a rant, not a complaint. It sounds like you may have embellished the truth a bit. That says, to me, you might have known that you didn't have enough ground to stand on and needed to exaggerate to gain sympathizers. I could see maybe talking to the manager at the store of purchase, but not "all that". A whole "group" ($130.00 worth) canceling on the same day? Seems a bit unlikely. Secondly, I agree with the others. I don't blame them for not allowing you a return, much less a refund. There is no telling what some people do to food after bringing it home. The food might not have been "kept" properly (i.e. refrigeration required) and some "sickos" could tamper with it, contaminate it purposefully, and then return it to make someone sick or something. It actually makes me feel better about Kroger's food return policy, rather than Meijer's. As you pointed out many times, Kroger's policy (while I agree it is quite vague, it does state one part clearly) states "if you are DISSATISFIED". In which case, you weren't. Your "group of guests" that canceled are to blame. Maybe next time you should include a mandatory date to R.S.V.P. by...before you go shopping.
I do agree, however, that Kroger's return/refund policy needs a little revamping. I had bought a rug from my local Kroger 24hr Marketplace (where home decor items are also sold). I brought it home, hadn't unwrapped it before my husband noticed I picked up the wrong size (it had been placed in the wrong bin) and less than an hour later I was back at Kroger. It was then around 10 p.m. and there wasn't a manager, whom was needed to make the return/exchange because of the large price, available at that time. The next morning I took the rug, my receipt, and my debit card that I had purchased it with up to the same store of purchase. The correct size rug was actually cheaper. They wouldn't let me exchange the rugs and credit the remaining balance back to my debit card. They wouldn't let me return the rug, credit my card, and then purchase the other rug. The only thing they would do was let me return the rug, credit a Kroger gift card, and then purchase the other one. It was just a lot of hassle...especially considering I had the receipt and they made a note that I had tried to return < 1 hour after purchased. Then I had $100.00, after buying the new rug, remaining on the gift card that I had to spend at Kroger. Two lessons from that ordeal: double check and be sure the tag/storage area description and the item you picked up are a match, and measure twice...buy once.
P.S. to original poster---> "What A Joke This Is"- In order to be taken seriously when writing a blog or review, use proper English and grammar! This web site even has a spell checker on it and asks you to check before posting. Also, don't repeat the same thing 5 times. It's annoying.
Doug9000 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Don't like employees with disabilitys

I have a medical Condition and the store I worked for asked me to clean in the back of the deli area they had me working back there I was a bugger I was making $7.25 an hour the place where I was working workers would get paid $10.00 an hour I was doing all kinds of work I should have been earning more I had to quit do the medical Condition.
Mad In Kentucky Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Don't like employees with disabilitys

If you have a disability of any kind you have to fight then get them to make accommodations.
Then when they feel that your time is up, they start bullying and harassment til you go...
They don't follow the law, they just go around them...
Trololo Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Don't like employees with disabilitys

I don't entirely believe this. I work as a cashier at a Kroger store and can ALWAYS smell bad chicken, and ALWAYS tell the customer it smells bad, and offer to get them a different package. The stench is bad enough that the thin plastic wrapping over it will not prevent it from getting out. Gross as it sounds, try sniffing your chicken a little before you buy it.
Jooman Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

I am very disappointed and upset, as I am afraid this was not a mistake

I Purchased The Velveeta Brand Cheese to make Rotel dip for the Super Bowl. I used the proper measurements, and noticed the dip was watery, with little cheese taste. I added a good bit more cheese. The dip was still thin and watery tasting with very little cheese flavor.

This was the regular Velveeta, and not the 2%.

I am very disappointed and upset, as I am afraid this was not a mistake. I hope I am wrong.
Wifi8827 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

I am very disappointed and upset, as I am afraid this was not a mistake

so why are you upset with Kroger? They don't make the Velveeta.

Your complaint should be with Kraft Foods.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    25680 - UNAUTHORIZED /ILLEGAL CONSTRUCTION
    THIS IS FOR YOU KIND INFORMATION THAT NAME- DINESH KUMAR...
    1178 - unauthorised / illegal construction
    THIS IS FOR YOU KIND INFORMATION THAT NAME- DINESH KUMAR...
    Singtel - Singtel unknown bill
    Singtel over charged my hand phone bill $280 which I never...
    Steak N Shake - manager was rude and slow on our food
    my name is angela Phillips I,m having a complaint to the...
    NordicTrack - Unprofessional and Liar
    I purchased a treadmill on Sunday and changed mind on...
    LG Nexus 4 - Mobile lost
    Hello, I have lost my mobile LG Nexus-4, last...
    hydro one - Hydro costs
    Unfortunately for most Ontarians, there is no competition...
    CHEVROLET MOTORS WORLDWIDE LTD. - CHEVROLET PROMO AWARD
    Sir, we received a email of certified Winner of the...
    Gambler Tobacco - New Box of Tube with Rolled Cigarettes in Them
    Bought two box'es of Gamble 100's Tubes and...
    Handyman Club of America - handyman club of america
    we were all told that we would get free bucket organizer...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username