Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Legacy Labs

United States,
Texas

Consumer complaints and reviews about Legacy Labs

Love my furkids Send email
 
Oct 2, 2012

DISHONEST BREEDER

BUYER BEWARE!!! Kathie Williams of Legacy-Labs in Terrell, Texas, misled me on many issues and had to resort to lying to me when I finally started to question her honesty. I have had many experiences dealing with breeders, and I truly believe this breeder of Labradors is in the business of producing and selling a lot of puppies with no regard for their well-being or for her clients. Furthermore, she is not to be trusted, which is a characteristic that you do not want to deal with when purchasing a dog, especially a breed that is prone to hip, elbow, and eye problems. The only buyers that I’m sure are really happy with her are the ones that don’t question her and just go along with the way she chooses to do business. If you are a careful-minded buyer, PLEASE GO ELSEWHERE.
In August 2012, I called Kathie Williamson, owner of Legacy Labs in Terrell, Texas. My main question to her at the time was if she had any upcoming litters. Her response was yes and that one of her dogs, Baily, was to have her litter any time. I asked her if I put a deposit down on this litter would I be behind a lot of people as far as the “picking” order. I told her that I had no problem waiting for a future litter. Her response to me was that if I got my deposit in right away, I would be 4th in the picking order, which she said is really good because ”since you want a female and most people choose males, being 4th is a really good position to be in.” I understood that to mean that there was a good chance that the majority of the 3 people before me would want male dogs, so I should be high on the list to pick a female – like maybe even 1st or 2nd pick. Consequently, I got my deposit in right away to get that 4th pick of the litter.
The puppies were born on August 21/22, and I noticed on her Facebook page that she said there were 10 puppies. Then later, I noticed that she posted a picture of the puppies, and there were 11. I asked her about the discrepancy in numbers, and her explanation is as follows:
I was wondering who was going to do the math here. Yes at this time there are 11.. but.. one was born with its sibling at the exact same time. I saw the first baby and was delivering it and had cut the cord, and was warming it and massaging it, then without too much graphic detail..I saw the second puppy and was a bit panicked as it was still in the sack. I opened the second sack and this baby was very slow to respond. Took me several minutes to get her breathing. I finally got her to breath and she started pinking up, but.. she didn't want to nurse..so I though this baby would be a baby that might not make it. These were babies 10 and 11..Baily was so tired,she had quit ! I worked with baby girl for 30 minutes more, wrapped her in a warm towel and took a nap for 45 minutes. When I came back, she had apparently decided that life was just fine and she had wiggled her way to her siblings and mom.She was eating so well, I could no longer tell her from her siblings. I love watching life and nature. You can never count out a strong will to live. What little blessings they all are. Anyway.. she told me not to count her out! So originally I decided that 10 was probably accurate, but now we have 11..and I still can't figure out who was the baby with issues!
This concerned me because she did not keep track of which puppy had the rough start – a health fact that I think prospective “parents” should know.
Kathie told me that the picking process is at 5 weeks, so I proceeded to make plans to fly from Phoenix to Dallas to select my new adorable furkid and told Kathie two weeks before that I was arriving on September 26 and would be available September 27th, 28th, or 29th to make my selection. Then, I sent Kathie a text on Sunday September 23rd to remind her. Then I sent a Facebook message to her on Tuesday, September 25th and then left messages on Wednesday, September 26th and on Thursday morning, September 27th. Finally, she returned my messages on Thursday, and I agreed to meet her at her home that afternoon. And right before we hung up, she quickly stated, “I’ll have you pick 2, and then you’ll get one of those – that’s what I usually do.” I got off the phone thinking that’s weird – she’s never said that before???
When I arrived, I got there 20 minutes early because I was driving from Dallas and didn’t know how long it would take. I called to let her know I had arrived, and she didn’t want me waiting at her gate, so I had to go to a nearby Sonic and wait until the time of our meeting.
I returned to her gate, not to find her, but to be greeted by an employee. I was surprised that I was not asked to wash my hands or put on a protective shirt or coat before I held the 5-week-old puppies, which were placed in the front yard in a small child’s swimming pool, where they were peeing and pooping all over one another. Then, when I asked the employee if I could let the puppies run around so that I could see them run and move, I was told “no.” He said there were fire ants that I couldn’t see that bite the puppies. So then I asked if we could go somewhere like the driveway or backyard (I was met and required to stay in the front yard). He said “no, you can hold them or put them in the pool, but that’s it.” I found this very strange and hard to distinguish between the puppies because they were cramped and crawling all over one another. I also found that it was strange that I couldn’t see the puppies’ parents.
Kathie finally arrived, and I told her which one of the 4 females (there were a total of 6 girls in this litter and 2 had already been chosen) that were in the pool that I wanted. This is when I was told that I had the 4th pick of the females and not 4th pick of the litter as she had earlier led me to believe. Not only did I have the 4th pick of the females, she hadn’t even had the others complete their picks. Consequently, I had to pick 2, and she’d make sure I got one of those 2 picks.
Needless to say, by this time I was completely discouraged by the entire process. There were red flags all over the place, and I kept catching Kathie in lies. She had to tell a lie on top of a lie to try to talk her way out of what I considered to be a very dishonest showing on her part. My 30-year-old son was with me, and he kept catching her lying as well. She said, “Look at those puppies – they’re all beautiful” – meaning just pick 2 and be done. She obviously didn’t see the principal of the matter or the fact that I was questioning her integrity. She then offered to refund my deposit. I was so frustrated because I had spent so much coming to Dallas that I didn’t want it to be for nothing. I ended up telling her I’d pick only 1 puppy and if that was chosen by someone else, then I wanted a refund. I got in the car with my son to leave, and as we were driving and talking about the situation, we both realized that this woman could not be trusted. I was so upset that I had my husband call her and ask for a refund, to which she agreed.
I'm so thankful that I did not go through with this purchase.
Dsherman Send email
 
Mar 25, 2012

Breeding lame puppies

We bought a maltipoo late last year from texasteacuppuppy, we've had no real issues. About a day after we got her she was sick vet treated her for bronchitis. We felt that might have been a result from taking her outside to potty in the cold rain. We were very happy with our purchase. Anyhow, we are wanting to purchase another so she would have a playmate. When we bought her it was sort of a spur of the moment decision, so the only research completed was google search for maltipoo in Texas and the BBB. No negative reviews found or either business. after stopping in a pet store in Frisco "petland" this past weekend and looking up their reviews i was horrified to learn about puppy mills. I had no idea their was such a place, so i started researching for how to find a good breeder, or how to spot a puppy mill breeder. Had we had this info last year we would never have gotten out little paisley. I would have to agree that they meet u at the door, ( we were in the foyer) they had about 6pups, she said that their were a couple different litters. Was not offered to see mom or dad or the area the pups spent most their day in. But we never asked either. We were worried from their site that they would be concerned about us living in an apartment. Since on their site they profess that they care for their puppy's and who they go to. If not for my husband mentioning it they would not have given it a second thought. I cant say all bad things, the pups were not afraid of her nor did they look like they were neglected they appeared to be very well cared for. Just thought i would share my thoughts. Good luck with Ben, after having our little one for just 6 months I know the heartache you feel for him.
Brindamccoy Send email
 
Mar 17, 2012

Breeding lame puppies

So sorry to hear about what happened to your puppy but not surprised to hear about Kathie Williams's response. I will continue to post regular videos of our puppy on YouTube to warn potential buyers about this breeder. Just this past week, I was contacted about another puppy that was purchased from Legacy Labs who is also limping after play. After reading my posts, this owner is now going to have her puppy xrayed for dysphasia. Thank you for your post!
The McCoy Family
Brindamccoy Send email
 
Mar 17, 2012

Breeding lame puppies

So sorry to hear about what happened to your puppy but not surprised to hear about Kathie William's response. I will continue to post regular videos of our puppy on YouTube to warn potential buyers about this breeder. Just this past week, I was contacted about another puppy that was purchased from Legacy Labs who is also limping after play. After reading my posts, this owner is now going to have her puppy x rayed for dysplasia. Thank you for your post!
The McCoy Family
Imctry Send email
 
Mar 17, 2012

Breeding lame puppies

We, too, bought a puppy from Legacy Labs (Kathie Williams). "Dixie" is a female labradoodle puppy and was 3 months old when my daughter brought her home to us. Upon arrival on a Sunday afternoon, she had diarrhea, which I thought might be a type of separation anxiety. It was worse during the night, and we took her to the vet first thing Monday morning. She had two types of parasites, one a most difficult one to get rid of. After several types of medication, pills and liquid, she was finally clear in about 2 months. Needless to say, we felt so sorry for her, along with all the aggravation and great expense. We could not housebreak her, but as soon as she was "clear", she housebroke herself! Dixie's dew claws were not removed. We were given the name of her mother, and her birth date written on a piece of paper. When my daughter asked, she was given a can of food for Dixie, which was the worst for a pup with diarrhea! I emailed Kathie several times, but she could care less, and said that Dixie had to have gotten the parasites after leaving her kennels. She refused to send a picture of Dixie's mother, which I wanted for her "scrapbook, " but did send a picture of a party poodle which is supposed to be her father. Dixie has become the sweetest and most lovable pup imaginable in spite of her beginnings. The same daughter has since bought 2 labradoodle puppies--obviously from another breeder to avoid these difficulties! (This breeder posts pictures of both parents beside the litter of pups!)
Brindamccoy Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Breeding lame puppies

Legacy Labs in Terell Texas sells puppies all over the Internet. She (Kathie Williams) claims to produce one litter a year of white labs. An Internet search will show you otherwise. She has numerous litters a year, including white labs, red labs, labradoodles, etc. please watch our You Tube video of the lame puppy we bought from her in March 2011. She continues to bred "Bear" even though she knows he has produced a severely lame/days plastic puppy.
Jim And Linda LaPorta Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Breeding lame puppies

We also purchased a puppy from Kathie Williams/Legacy Labs, and have only good things to say about the breeder and the pups. We asked her about the "other side of the story" regarding Ben, whose owners have now put their video of Ben on You Tube under no less than 7 different titles and 7 similar complaints about the breeder. People should know that Legacy Labs spent $500 to have a radiologist evaluate the x-ray that was sent to them by Ben's owners, and there were no findings. Even so, Kathie asked the owners to provide her with ANY written assessment and diagnosis from ANY professional, and never received anything from the McCoys, including the "3 different professional opinions" that they claim to have obtained. And, incidentally, Legacy Labs has never had another reported incidence of bilateral elbow dysplasia in any of the labs they have bred in the whole 20 years they have been breeders. The breeders have seen the video of Ben, and Kathie describes it as heartbreaking, adding it is obvious that something is wrong with Ben, but without having sufficient proof of the claim made by the owners (who never sent the breeders anything more than a 1-page report that could not confirm the validity of the owner's charge), they will not reimburse them for the purchase. I feel sorry for the owners, but cannot support the vitriol with which they are attacking the breeder. I highly recommend Legacy Labs for anyone who is considering purchase of a lab or labradoodle.
Brindamccoy Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Breeding lame puppies

All we can say...The YouTube video of our precious Ben speaks for itself. We are very grateful that Ben ended up with a family that will nurture and care for him as long as possible. Ben just had his first birthday and although he does not always limp as bad as the day we shot the video, he walks like an old dog. He can only go for short walks because of the pain that follows. We live in California so the warm weather and pool have helped with physical therapy. We will continue to post additional videos throughout Ben's life. We feel a moral and ethical obligation to let people know how important it is to screen their breeders. Kathie Williams and her relationship with "next day pets" just reinforces warnings that reputable breeders talk about. BUYERS BEWARE!!!
Tubie Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Breeding lame puppies

Well, considering that most of Legacy's dogs have no verifiable elbow clearance information, Legacy really has no way of knowing if they are throwing clear elbows or not. There are also no verifiable eye clearances in a breed that suffers from a debilitating eye disease.

Their newest stud is only 17 months old - too young for final OFA clearances, yet he's sired at least 2 litters already.

Red flags abound here...
Brindamccoy Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Breeding lame puppies

Gee...does this say puppy mill or what!!!
Anniesmom Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Breeding lame puppies

We love our lab that we got from Kathie. She was very knowledgeable and put up with a ton of questions from me and my husband. We even got to throw the ball with all her labs. We get compliments all the time on how beautiful our lab is, and the trainer at petsmart said it was obvious that he was well socialized as a pup. Our vet was impressed with all the work that was already done, and our little Annie is the best dog in the world. I've recommended her to several friends, and would continue to do so.
Brindamccoy Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Breeding lame puppies

We are not questioning the beauty, smarts or personality of our puppy Ben. What we are distraught over is the lack of concern that Legacy Labs (Kathie Williams) when we told her the news about Ben being diagnosed with bilateral elbow dysplasia...not once, not twice, but three different professional opinions. We are upset that the dew claws were not removed as advertised. We are upset that Ben had to have a tumor surgically removed from his back leg...Kathie could not be bothered with the horrible news! All of this occurred before he was seven months old. Please view our video on You Tube and decide for yourself! It just breaks our heart because we love him so much.
Frank McCoy Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Breeding lame puppies

Perhaps to see the parents which were supposed to be on site...running on the ranch chasing birds and swimming in the lake? Perhaps getting to see the litter mates.
Brinda McCoy Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Breeding lame puppies

Legacy Labs (Kathie Williams) sold our family a puppy who was diagnosed with bilateral elbow dysplasia at 5 months of age. We had to remove the dew claws because they were not removed as advertised. We also had to have a tumor surgically removed from our puppy's back leg...all before he was 7 months old! We have sent the breeder two sets of xrays and a video of our poor puppy who is without question...loved but lame. Our family feels a moral and ethical obligation to reach out to other potential buyers and unsuspecting families and let them know that Legacy Labs is NOT the place to purchase a puppy.
Brindamccoy Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Breeding lame puppies

Breeder clams to be a "family" breeder with only 2 litters per year. An Internet search of this breeder and "next day pets" will lead you to the truth. A beautiful ranch in Texas does NOT mean the breeder is reputable or ethical. We drove from California to Texas...only to be handed the puppy on the porch with a small bag of food.
Brindamccoy Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Breeding lame puppies

LEGACY LAB: PUPPY BUYER BEWARE!!!
Brindamccoy Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Bought a lame puppy

I bought a beautiful puppy from Kathie Williams, owner of Legacy Labs (March 2011). when our puppy was 5 months old, he was diagnosed with bilateral elbow dysplasia/lameness. The puppy is 9 months old and cannot play or run without suffering. kathie has refused to honor her contract, even after being sent two sets of xrays and a video. We have resorted to submitting our puppies xrays to the OFA and await official/authoritative interpretation. The puppy never had his dew claws as advertised and had to have a tumor removed from his back leg...Legacy Labs can care less. Please contact me for additional information on this breeder @ (714) 224-8947.a
Serenebass Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Bought a lame puppy

My best friend's mom makes $77 an hour on the computer. She has been out of job for 9 months but last month her check was $7487 just working on the computer for a few hours. Read about it here NuttyRich. Cöm

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Document producer - Apply For High Real Quality And Novelty...
    Apply For High Real Quality And Novelty...
    BILL SNGPL - Meter Stopped
    The meter installed in 'Noor House' House...
    Micromax Unit 2 A106 - lost my phone
    dear sir /madam i was lost my micromax unite 2a 106 today...
    19142 - Guys need more skin!!!!
    I really don't mind the mostly naked women in your...
    Telstra (Australia) - Extremely poor Customers service
    Re : Extremely poor Customers service, told lies, Make...
    Flexi Club - CANCELLATION OF MEMBERSHIP
    Hi there my name is Boikanyo Jantjie i joined flexie club...
    Best Document Home - Get Real and Novelty Passports,id cards,visas,drivers
    Our company has years of experience producing real...
    Document Home - Purchase real and Novelty Passports,id cards,visas,drivers...
    Our company has years of experience producing real...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username