Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Macys Worry No More Protection Plan

United States,
Connecticut

Consumer complaints and reviews about Macys Worry No More Protection Plan

loew4567@gmail.com Send email
 
May 19, 2016

Someone should call the AG's office

This warranty is a joke and a scam. They do everything they can to avoid paying out. I was told by Macy's salesman saying I could actually get the money back if I didn't file a claim. That was clearly a lie.

DO NOT buy this worthless warranty, unless you like giving your money away for nothing in return. Someone should call the AG's office and complain.
Jennyjn Send email
 
May 3, 2016

Shame on Macy's

I purchased this plane for my dining room table and couch. My dining room table chairs were falling apart. I called and they asked when it happened. When I said that I noticed it about 30 days ago they stated that I could not a claim since I needed to report it within 15 days. Macy's salesperson should be trained on the details. Very important to know this information. When I called Macy's to complain they told me that I should have reviewed the materials given to me. I said what materials. They said in the box with the cleaning supplies. No one told me they were located in there. I can't believe that Macy's continues to sell this product to its customers. I was so upset at the terrible service at Worry No More that I needed to replace my table and chairs I did not go back to Macy's. I went to another store and spent twice as much without blinking an eye. I will never buy furniture from Macy's. Total rip-off.
cicinl Send email
 
Apr 23, 2016

The business license should be suspended

Total fraud.
No details on their brochure. When I claimed for refund coz of not using, they said the refund period was expired.
Then I contacted Macy's, Macy's pulled ball back to this company.
I filed complaint to BBB, this company told BBB they would give me refund once I provided supported document.
After providing documents, they told BBB I rejected their final offer but in reality, never heard anything from them.
If many other people have same experiences as me, maybe we should stick together to fight back.
nltc2015@yahoo.com Send email
 
Apr 20, 2016

Warranty cancellation threat

We have had multiple issues with our sectional leather furniture despite having it less than a year only to receive an email from the extended warranty company contracted to Macys that they had threatened to cancel our extended warranty.

Macy's dont want to take any ownership or assist us and have told us to contact Worry no more directly. We are extremely dis- satisfied at this point and unless we get a satisfactory resolution, we would not recommend anyone purchasing furniture or an extended warranty from Macys.
Stormey Send email
 
Apr 16, 2016

Warranty and Exchange policy

I am going to do everything in my power to get a class action lawsuit started against Macy's furniture warranty and exchange policy. I can't believe the companies consumer practices. The reprehensible consumer purchasing practices should be challenged. Stayed tuned. I am on a mission.
cicinl Send email
 
Mar 8, 2016

fraud advertisement

I purchased my couch with this warranty on 9/14/2008 and would like to get the money back since I never claimed to use the service even more. I read through all details on invoice and brochure and didn't find any information such as phone number, website, or email to contact. Eventually found information online and it indicated the claim period was 90 days after 7-year purchase so I wasn't qualified. On the brochure, there was no this note at all. This is definitely fraud advertisement to make free money.
unsatisfied Send email
 
Mar 3, 2016

Big Run Around

This Warranty Plan is more trouble to get action and service than it is worth. I'd rather call in a furniture repair of my own and have this recliner that is stuck up in the air fixed. I am wondering if there is a class action suit against this company. Macy's should be ashamed for selling this policy. I will never buy another piece of furniture from Macy's again.
joan43 Send email
 
Feb 22, 2016

90 day expiration

I bought furniture in Nov. 2008, never mad a claim. Went into Macy's Oak Brook, to get my money back, they told me I had to call customer service. This was in January. I finally made the call today, they told me to go on line to file the claim for the money. Now I am told it is past the 90 days. I can't find 90 days anywhere on any paperwork I have here. This is a total rip off and should be investigated. No wonder Macy's is in the toilet. I will never make a large purchase ever again from them. I long for the days of Marshall Fields.
sunita D Send email
 
Feb 16, 2016

They would make it worse

Bought WNM plan with Macys on dinning chairs and a whole host of other furniture. My first claim was rejected for really stupid reasons. Like i called a few hours later than i should have. Anyway, the next claim, they sent a guy to clean, that made the spot look worse. When i asked for a replacement, they sent a chair that was broken (wobbly as well as completely different color vs. the one before). So now i was left with 3 chairs only with my breakfast dining set. The 4 chair has to be discarded and cant be even put together with the rest 4. I called practically 10 times and they kept shuttling me between macys and worry no more customer service and it was unbelievable. Both of them kept passing the blame on the other, leaving me in limbo. Now, my whole dinning set is useless and would have to buy a new one, as it is kept in the center of the house, and looks awful with 3 chairs. I wish someone could help me sort this out.

Take my advice, DONT BUY WORRY NO MORE. Trust me its a huge hassle! How they clean stains is a joke.. you can do it better and the hassle you have to go through for replacement is an ordeal. Save your money
vkd2057 Send email
 
Feb 10, 2016

Waste of Money

I wish I had checked these boards before I bought into the Worry No More scam. I trusted that Macy's would not be pushing a low-quality service, so I bought it. I wasted $109 on "coverage" for a 4 x 6 expensive rug that, when I went to make my claim, was not covered because I waited too long (I didn't want to bother with it over the holidays and did not realize I had just a few days to report it.) I called Macy's to let the know how unhappy I was. I spoke with 3 different people who said a manager would call me back. No one did. This poor service by Macy's, along with the garbage product of Worry SOME More, means that l not be buying from Macy's Furniture again.
landis29 Send email
 
Feb 8, 2016

WORRY-N0-MORE - DON'T BUY IT!!!

VERY DISAPPOINTED AFTER I'VE JUST LEARNED THAT I'M NOT ELEGIBLE FOR THE REFUND IN THE TIME ELAPSED 90 DAYS AFTER A 7 YEARS PERIOD ! I TRULY BELIEVE IF I HAD TO USE THE COVERAGE FOR ANY REPAIRS THEY WOULD GIVE ME HARD TIMES! PS: THE CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE TOLD ME IF YOU ARE ONE(1) DAY LATE TO FILE YOUR CLAIM, THEY WON'T ISSUE YOU THE REFUND. JUST WASTED MY MONEY....CONSUMERS BUYING THAT KIND OF COVERAGE...JUST THINK TWICE!!
M.M.LANDIS
fdavidm Send email
 
Jan 28, 2016

worrynomore

I purchased about $25K worth of furniture from Macy's, when I moved to California two and a half years ago. With that furniture I also purchased Premium Worrynomore insurance. At Christmas time this year, I noticed that the finish was lifting from my dining room table and my matching credenza. I filed a claim with Worrynomore. They tried to play games with me, but I'm a persistent fellow. First, they tried to tell me that it would take 14 business days to send an a representative out to look at the damaged furniture. After 14 business days, I still had not gotten an appointment for the examination. I called Macy's Customer Service and they tried to give me a song and a dance about how they were a separate company and I had to deal with Worrynomore directly. I would have none of that, and screamed at the Macy's Customer Sales Representative, informing her that Macy's sold me the insurance and they had to deal with this. Finally, I got an appointment. The representative that came to examine the furniture couldn't have been more professional. He told me the credenza and table were clearly damaged and defective and required an excessive amount of repair time. Hence Worrynomore should approve a full replacement.

Worrynomore never called me to follow up. When I did call them, they gave that 14 business day turn around BS again. I told them the representative's report was already on-line and I had a copy of it, and they needed to respond or else I would file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. I did get a call back at which time I was offered $350 to keep the furniture as is or a replacement of the damaged pieces. A $350 refund for $3,000 worth of furniture is ridiculous, given the damage was so extensive, so I opted for the replacement.

Worrynomore then tried to provide a replacement of only the credenza and table, which was unacceptable to me because I purchased the table as part of a set with 8 chairs. I found in the worrynomore contract that in cases of items sold as sets, it was responsible for replacing the entire. I threatened to sue. I also called Macy's Customer Service and informed Macy's that I planned to call the Action Reporter on KESQ, my local ABC station, and ask them to do a story on this scam insurance that Macy's pushes. The Macy's Customer Sales representative offered to resolve this issue, which mercifully she did. I got to pick out a brand new dining room set and credenza, since my original set was no longer being manufactured.

The scam doesn't end there however. After picking out a new set, I was informed that I would have to pay $200 for delivery and if I wanted my new set covered by insurance, there would be another $400 charge. A total rip-off, given that the original insurance still had another 4 1/2 years to go before it expired. I also didn't see why I should have to pay delivery fees, when worrynomore was responsible for a full replacement. I found Macy's on that and I did receive a waiver of the delivery fee.

Here's the real problem. I was told I had to actually pay in full for the new furniture before they would issue credit for the damaged pieces. I was unhappy with having to add $3000 to my American Express credit card tab, but I did that. Once the new furniture was delivered however, I didn't receive my credit from Macy's for the damaged pieces. After more phone calls, I was told once again the credits would take 14 business days, which totally infuriated me because my credit card statement was about to close. I decided to handle this problem by calling American Express and disputing the charge. WOW! That prompted Macy's to quickly issue the proper credits. I recommend everyone to use American Express for this purpose, since they advocate on behalf of the consumer, not the vendor.
OBXFAN Send email
 
Jan 26, 2016

Worry No More small print

I purchased a leather power recliner from Macy's and was sold a Worry No More (WNM) Premium Plan. The salesman told me there were no exclusions. I expressed amazement, stating I expect there had to be SOME exclusions. Since my delivery was scheduled for two weeks into the future, I decided to purchase the plan and evaluate the four-fold shiny contract given me. In the small print, there appeared these two sentences: "See Consumer Service Agreement for complete coverage and exclusions" and "In the event of a discrepancy between this document and the Protection Program Certificate, the Certificate shall govern." Thus, the small print referred to two additional documents I needed. I went back to Macy's to get these two different documents and was told I had to contact WNM. No reason given for why these two documents were not provided at time of purchase. When I call WNM, they said they couldn't send me the documents because my furniture was not delivered yet. Two weeks after delivery, I would receive them. When I explained I wanted to evaluate what the exclusions were BEFORE taking delivery, they claimed there was nothing they could do. So, after reading all of the complaints on this site, I'm heading to Macy's to cancel delivery and request a refund.
liyv Send email
 
Dec 29, 2015

Deceived Worry No More plan

I was persuaded to purchase so called Worry No more plan a few years ago. I was promised that I will get $200 Macy's credit if I don't use the service after 7 years. No mention that I need to file a 'CLAIM' to get the refund!

I just learned that I am not eligible for the refund if the time elapsed 90 days after the 7 year period.

The sales person clearly didn't tell me that. What a bomber.
shajada Send email
 
Dec 10, 2015

Dont but worry No More

I have purchased from macy's Sofa and Love set. it had few cut by nephew and I called worry no more. The representative said it's peeling and cant cover by worry no more. When I was explaining she hung up on me. Tried to call few times no answer...
Krisb88 Send email
 
Dec 5, 2015

Unprofessional and unhelpful

Tried to file a claim as the fabric cleaner they had given us stained the couch and has changed the texture of the fabric, the two women, including the supervisor, I spoke with were extremely unhelpful, kept interrupting me, and were very unprofessional in the manner of which they spoke to me. I will never purchase furniture from Macy's again or use Worry No More as a warranty and advise anyone to do the same. They will try to find any loop hole to not bring out a technician and service your claim and treat their customers with disrespect.
coco10 Send email
 
Nov 25, 2015

Worry no more LIE plan

Seven years ago I bought a bedroom set from Macy's. I bought the extended warranty worry no more plan. I love the bed set, after five month of having the set a piece of the wood veneer chipped. I called worry no more to file a claim and they told me it was not covered for repair, then I asked them what was covered they said Nothing. I was so upset I asked for my money back, then the representative said I would have to wait seven years before I could get the "Credit Certificate". Finally, seven years had passed I requested the the "Credit Certificate" that you have 90 DAYS to purchase from ONLY the Furniture section and It can only be furniture/ mattress or rug. Okay this is in writing under the contract. When I received the worrynomore it was not a "Credit Certificate" but a Voucher that states "IF YOU PURCHASE MERCHANDISE AND YOU RETURN THE ITEM YOU FORFEIT THE VOUCHER. What they are saying is "YOU LOSE SUCKER" all the money you gave to do nothing, NOW if this statement was in the original contract then yes you got me, But guess what, It is not, THIS IS A LIE they slip in the the small print on the Voucher TO KEEP YOUR MONEY, this is why they changed the name from "Credit Certificate" AND THEY ARE GETTING A WAY WITH IT. They had me jumping through one loop whole after another. NOW, I hate Macy's furniture, they suck.

What a RIPOFF!!!!!!
claudia1437 Send email
 
Nov 20, 2015

Macy's Leather Sofa seat sag

I bought this sofa from Macy's in Sunrise Mall. I told the sales lady that I did not want the warranty, it was billed to me anyway.
I have copy of email between her and I about the situation. As I have read all the reports above about warranty scams from Worry No More. I am very upset and would like my cushion filled with more foam or whatever needs to be done. I am seriously thinking of turning them into the Better Business Bureau or KCRA 3 for action.

If you intend to help me out here, please respond ASAP or further action will be taken.
waynemmacewich Send email
 
Nov 8, 2015

unable to use voucger

Just received my Worry No More refund voucher (199.00). When I took it to Macy's furniture store to buy new lamps I was told that lamps were not considered furniture and that I could not use it . Lamps are considered accessories not furniture ??? So, I can buy a lamp and accessorize it with a table but I can't buy a table and accessorize it with a lamp.. If you sell it in a furniture store and I buy it in a furniture store it's FURNITURE !!! . I've been ripped off
megan.mw.snyder Send email
 
Nov 4, 2015

Terrible Company and Treated like dirt

I have had to make over 15 calls to Worry No More with the same stories over and over again with no resolution. They continue to transfer me to voicemails that don't work, provide promises they don't follow through on and the customer service is no service at all. I would fire an employee who acted that way to my customers. I am a loyal Macys customer and have bought 2 couches at Macys with 2 warranties in the past 4 years and I feel like I was scammed. Over 6 weeks later I still have nothing, except lots of bad treatment on the phone and lies. DO NOT BUY THIS WARRANTY. Frankly, this is disgusting that Macy's offers this product. When you call Macys, they say they will transfer you to "Macy's Worry No More", but when I called Macys' to complain, they say they have nothing to do with the company....even though they can it Macy's Worry No More.... Terrible
knwright Send email
 
Oct 2, 2015

Warranty Repair/Replacement

I have an open claim with Worry No More and have been constantly given the run around regarding what they are going to do. I wanted the sofa repaired but they determined that I could get a full-price replacement for this piece. I have been waiting for over two months and am so tired of having a broken/non-working sofa. Every time I call in I get a different story and everyone is forever blaming someone else for the delays. I have NEVER had such a problem with any purchase of furniture in the past but after going through this ordeal, I will never purchase furniture from Macy's again.

I have confirmed that Macy's has eight of my same sofas in stock but Worry No More has to make it happen so a new sofa can be delivered. What a scam!!!!
williemay bellamy Send email
 
Sep 3, 2015

warranty

The complaint is the same, a RIP OFF! I called Macy's warranty service and did not receive a satisfactory answer. The representative took the information and asked how long did I notice the damage, and I said ABOUT a month ago meaning it could have been less than a month, which I was reminded by my daughter that it was about 2 weeks prior. As a senior citizen, there are times when one gets days and time frames mixed up. However, I didn't know that by saying about a month ago, it would cancel out my warranty service (HAS TO BE WITHIN 15 DAYS OF YOUR CALL) who does that? Raymour and Flanaghan has a better "furniture warranty" and is more customer friendly. Also, there technicians are not "Highly" trained furniture experts. Sometimes the repair makes it worse afterwards.

Two other relatives purchased furniture from Macy's in the last several months and they both have experienced the SAME problem (Damage products) with the quality of their purchase. Need I say, we all will NEVER purchase furniture from Macy's again.
EllenMary Send email
 
Jul 10, 2015

WorrynoMore Fraud

I have repeatedly attempted to get Macy's to honor the terms of the WorryNoMore Funiture Protection Plan that I purchased in 2012, to no avail. Again, yesterday I called 1-800-916-6229 and spoke with Laurie. Though the warranty Macy's sold me states "For Damage to wood......Chips, Dents and Gouges ARE COVERED", Laurie repeatedly stated that there was an accumulation of damages to both my dresser and the slat of my bedframe as I once again explained that the damage that I reported is INDEED COVERED and still NEEDS TO BE FIXED. The UNITERS warranty states exclusions "General soiling and wear and tear are defined as a gradual buildup or accumulation of dirt, dust, body oils, perspiration, and/or other damage that cannot be attributed to a single occurrence." None of these describe my claim, as my claim involves a SINGLE occurrence to the dresser as well as a single occurrence to the slat on the bedframe (the one I previously mentioned in both emails, phone calls, and formal complaints). Laurie refused to do anything to correct the errors that were made by the Denial Dispute Department so I asked to speak to a supervisor. I was put on hold until a pre-recorded voice message stated that a supervisor would call me back. No one returned my call.

Interestingly enough, when I was speaking with Macy's WorryNoMore customer service representative (Laurie), she stated that there was an accumulation of damages on the dresser according to the pictures that were taken. I again stated that there was ONLY ONE SINGLE DENT on the dresser, as was evidenced in the photos. The "damage" that Macy's and UNITERS is calling an "accumulation of damages" is THE CHARACTER OF THE WOOD THAT IS EXACTLY AS IT WAS THE DAY THE DRESSER WAS DELIVERED TO MY HOUSE. Only now, they are calling the character of the wood an "accumulation of damages". Laurie insisted that there were numerous dents on my dresser. She had no idea what she was talking about and there was no truth to the statement she made. She had completely overstepped her bounds on this one. I doubt service reps are hired to make unjustifiable accusations and/or assumptions, and I doubt they are trained to disregard and dismiss customers' valid complaints as Laurie did with mine.

I am beyond frustration with this company and their service reps.
E. Nash Send email
 
May 20, 2015

MACY'S "worry no more" rebate NO THANK YOU

I bought it, did not use it, and went to buy a piece of furniture on-line on Macy's. web site. This is allowed.

Macy's has more "EXCLUDES" then listed when it comes to what you can and can not buy, not shown on the final voucher. Can not buy a "direct ship item" even if it is on the furniture page. Only purchase the items that they have to "ship, deliver, and set-up" (of course more money), or per the customer service department, the "phone in items" only.

Wow, my original sales slip, flier, and the warranty paper work, does not state this. Called, and called another and another, only to understand that: "Macy's will allow the sale of and cover the items that they can sell you the "worry no more" program on". So, they don't back all products they sell, only select items, "because they don't monitor the furniture pieces, that ship directly from the manufacture". "And that furniture on-line, that is marked "ship directly to the customer" is "NEW" to Macy's. (18mos. or so)" "therefore Macy's and the salesperson could not inform the customers of this info, if they bought the program before this time frame".

Wow again, so I read the print out on my "NEW" voucher (dated 3-16-2015), " Voucher may be applied to only a single purchase in the furniture, mattress, or area rug department. (Excludes furniture accessories). Valid up to 90 days from issue and has no cash value. Merchandise that is returned will forfeit voucher. Sales Associate process as MOC." NO MENTION OF EXCLUDES DIRECTY SHIPPED FURNITURE.

Well, I sent this info to the FTC, or Federal Trade Commission office. They look into loop-holes that: may or may not be fraudulent, deceptive and unfair business practices. This lends a NEW meaning to: Be a smart shopper.
RosieJ Send email
 
May 8, 2015

Worry No More Warranty Scam

I purchased an upholstered chair 7 years ago and against my better judgment got talked into getting the Worry No More protection plan. The sales lady was very aggressive and kept telling me I had nothing to lose because if I never had to use the plan, I would get MY MONEY back in the form of a GIFT CARD which I could spend at Macys for anything. Afterwards, I had immediate regrets and felt I had been snookered, and boy was I correct. I swore at that moment I would never buy furniture from Macys again, and I made sure I put a reminder on my electronic calendar for exactly 7 years later to get my gift card.

Well, it's 7 years later. They have a faulty website with a final "submit" button which returns an error message. I think they do this on purpose. I called, and after a long wait, was told to hit the submit button twice. That did the trick. If they know that, then why don't they fix it?

I then received notification that I had been approved for my "give back" which is NOT a gift card, but in fact a VOUCHER, that can ONLY be spent on furniture, a mattress or an area rug. It cannot be spent on a "furniture accessory" and it is only valid for 90 days after it is issued.

In other words, the sales lady 7 years ago fraudulently claimed that I would receive my MONEY back so I had nothing to lose. It is a RIP OFF. Stand your ground and say NO to their aggressive sales pitches, or better yet, DON'T SHOP AT MACYS FURNITURE.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Ecco Shoes - Non Water Proof BIOM Golf Shoe
    I am starting on a complaints procedure regarding my...
    Walden University - Looking for a Law Firm to take on a class action lawsuit
    Any one knows of a law firm interested to start a lawsuit...
    Midland Credit Management - Phone harassment
    Midlands credit management been calling me every day none...
    department of labour / uif Lydenburg/mashishing mpumalanga - uif pay-out
    To whom it may concern: PLEASE I need assistance with...
    KFC Malaysia - Always Incomplete Food Collect
    Very annoying to KFC Malaysia regarding the store at...
    AJMAN & SHARJHA BEWARE OF FRAUD JOB VACANCIES - Scam & Fraud Companies
    If you become a vicitm of a friend or a scamm where you...
    Nokia Lumia 720 - lost or stolen
    I lost my lumia while traveling from train on 23/6/16...
    Srixon LWS Construction CC - Registration
    On 2016/02/29 Registration documents (UI8, UI19, CIPC docs...
    Barbarea Stemma (Pty) Ltd - Registration
    Our Accountants Snyman and Oosthuizen have sent through...
    Micromax - mobile phone stolen
    I have lost my Micromax mobile phone IMEI no is...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username