Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Menards

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Menards

Roberthandyman Send email
 
Aug 26, 2014

Selling used chainsaw as new

Bought a chainsaw on sale in early Spring. Itwas in a taped box. Since it was stil cold outside, I stored it in the garage till the weather got warmer (about 10 days later). When I opened the box, the muffer was black and the bar was dirty. I took it back to the store for a replacement or refund. The General Manager would not do either. He told me I had to take it to the repair shop. I now will not shop at Menards. Really sad.
km Frainey Send email
 
Apr 14, 2014

poor customer service

Have waited about 2 months for Oak Lattice to come in always hear it's on back order. there is no one on the sales floor customer has to walk around and find someone to help. Went to the store 3 times during their expansion gave them the benefit for the lousy service .Went last week to buy storage tool cabinet the floor model was locked and they didn't know how to unlock. Went today cabinet still locked ,no one on the floor to help, went to customer service counter,asked to speak to manager,was told he [Vince] was on the phone ,would come on the floor to assist. Waited meanwhile Diana came over got a bag of keys to try and open cabinet,no luck. Vince came by never spoke to us told her to look on counter for key not there They are too have Grand Opening soon if this is what the store will be like forget it. I won't be back. Forgot THEY DO NOT ACCEPT VETERANS DISCOUNT,very sad. Will always go to HOME DEOT
User927356 Send email
 
Apr 4, 2012

Awful place to work in

I worked at menards for little over a month. I agree with everyone on here that says Menards treats their employees like dirt! I was fired because my drawer was always coming up short even when id count out the "change due" to the customer. They dont tell you for days if/when your drawer was shirt. All in all Menards is a crappy company to work for.
Kwill23 Send email
 
Mar 17, 2012

Awful place to work in

to add to the already overwhelming proof that menards if a money grubbing establishment where only gm and managers reap the rewards we are trained to not only ask for add on sales but expected to get add on sales, as well as selling the most expensive products over more affordable choices. Gm and managers must also have no life cause they work 50 plus hours a week and twelve hours days are the norm, heck even low level employees (manager too) often close at ten at night and open the next day or at least very early ins the next day. And because our company did badly on an inspection (what is this the military) managers and employees are having to stay after close even if they are only scheduled to close and even if they have done all their tasks. If is freaking ridiculous as i have basically stood around waiting for other departments to finish their work and punched out up to an hour late, it should be against the law to keep employees after their schedule is over unless they haven't completed their work. and previous, complaints are right, basically a bunch of kids on power trips manage and don't want you to get better because you become a threat
Oldstoremanager Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Awful place to work in

I was a Menards store manager for a number of years until the 70 hours work weeks (on avg) and the constant relocations didnt coincide with my goals to start a family.
Many of the above claims do have some merit.

Age discrimination:
Partially true -- I was once asked to "eliminate" multiple ass. manager positions. This was because Menards wanted ast. managers that would agree to relocate for the company. The people whose positions that were eliminated were all older people with homes and families that had no plans to move. The positions were recreated a few months later with new "young" employees.

Calling the aware line:
-- generally NOT a good plan if you still want a job there. It is not all that anon. and the store managers are given clues (sometimes the transcript) and advised to weed out the problem employee.
The Chicago area stores (at least out of the stores I was moved to/from) did tend to have the worst cust service and employee conditions. The store managers had other duties to worrie about, like bribing the city officials

As far as shifts being cut short:
-- true, managers are paid a bonus if they stay within a certain payroll percentage. They are fined if they go above that percentage. If sales are up there is more payroll to spend, just like any business.

Menards does have a fleet of lawyers that will be sent out if Larry Menard feels slighted in any way, no matter how little the dollar amount involved.

Menards is very anti-union... Ast store managers are sent to an anti union training seminar. Store managers also loose a large portion of their pay if a union ever gets involved in an individual store. They are not allowed to hire any employees that have ever worked for a union, which may also provide some insight as to why many of the employees there have no experience.
Al!@# Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Lyon's Bathtub from Menards is crap!

Lynne, Recommend call Lyon and talk to support.
Dks55 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Can't give receipts for cash sales

BLACK FRIDAY, waited in line 1 hour in the cold patiently with another say several hundred more people. The doors opened, and about 50 people NOT patiently waiting their turn, mobbed the front doors ahead of everyone else. Words were exchanged, upset people, pushing, shoving, holloring! Totally unfair !! After that, i waited in line for a check out for another 1hr., to find out that the 10 items i had just bought for gifts couldn't get a gift receipt...All because of CASH SALE..I could have had them ring each item up seperately, and done cash sale with receipt, but otherwise no gift receipts!! unreal...get with the program Menards!
Upbaja Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Can't give receipts for cash sales

Gift receipts can be given on any item no matter how they are purchaed. Buying with cash has NOTHING to do with it. As stated, they need to know BEFORE the transaction is done, otherwise, NO gift receipt!!!
Oberto0 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Overcharge the disabled

Well, we are done shopping at our local Menards in Big Rapids, Michigan. Although we weren't able to buy an HDTV a few weeks ago due to poor service, after further communication with the store manager, he did contact us to say he talked to his staff to ensure our bad experience wouldn't happen again. We accepted the fact that he couldn't find us another HDTV to buy, and planned on finding one elsewhere.

But then we had another bad experience on 07/16/2011 when we went to our local Menards to do some shopping and buy a "Oversized Leather Rocker Recliner" on sale for their "Crazy Days" promotion. Initially, we got help from a young male staff who was very friendly and helpful as we needed it to be delivered to our apartment. He took us to a computer and put in all the information to sell and deliver us the recliner, and said it would be $40.00 for it to be delivered the following day. We said that would be great. He then said he was sorry, but had to get another sales staff to complete the sale because he wasn't authorized to. He then got a very tall, bald man we believe was named Tim to complete our transaction. This other staff first said it couldn't be delivered on the next day because they weren't doing any deliveries that day. He stated that the next day after was the earliest it would be delivered. We agreed that would be okay if it couldn't be today or the next. He then said they could deliver the recliner to our garage. We stated that we lived in an apartment and had no garage. He then said they would deliver it to the street in front of the address. I then explained that my wife and I are disabled, and needed it delivered to our apartment on an upper floor. That was why we needed it delivered, because we couldn't carry it up the flight of stairs to our apartment. He then said it would cost $10.00 more to bring it to our apartment, on top of the $40.00 delivery fee. We live only one mile from Menards.

We then told Tim (store staff) that we didn't agree with having to pay more than $40.00 just to have it delivered to our apartment. I explained that we recently bought a couch from Big Lots and had it delivered by the same guys who said they also delivered for Menards, and that there was no additional charge over $40.00 to put it in our living room. He stated it didn't matter, and that we would have to pay more if we wanted it delivered to our apartment. We said no, we wouldn't pay more, and he let us leave feeling extremely disappointed in Menards. We won't be going back after being treated this way. It's obvious getting more money on a delivery is more important than servicing good disabled customers.
Getoverit23 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Overcharge the disabled

Just because you are disabled does not mean you should get "special delivery" charges. If others have to pay the extra $10, then so should you! Don't use your disability as a crutch. The guy was following the rules and Menards uses an outside delivery service. The extra $10 (which is a very reasonable price) goes to the person that is delivering the chair, not Menards. Sounds like you want something for nothing, shame on you!
Jan Lucas Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Refused to honor veterans discount,and would not accept rebate

I Jan C. Lucas made a purchase of several items, at Menards 6800 Pendleton Pike Indianapolis, Indiana. The cashier informed me they no longer gave 10% discount to veterans. I spoke to the manager and he said Menards believed this was discrimination against all the good people who chose not to serve, and he was one of them. They also refused my rebate coupon, issued by Menards.I'm an 80% disabled veteran and to refuse a discount that Lowes, Home Depot, and until today Menards offered is an insult to me and everyone else who has served and bled for this country, while the good people who cower are afforded the same benefits.
Getoverit23 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Refused to honor veterans discount,and would not accept rebate

So are you saying Menards should give 10% off to doctors, nurses, firefighters, police officers, school teachers???? What makes a veteran soo different from any of the people I just mentioned?? Get your head out of your ass you selfish prick.
M3C Slimjim Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Refused to honor veterans discount,and would not accept rebate

We're special people. Just ask OLDTIMER AKA SUPERBOWL on my3cents.
Iraklus Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Customer service is non existant

Employees in the store never have time for the customer. When you have a question or need help finding something the staff at Menards seem to have vanished. Where do they go? What is the point in giving these people jobs if they are never around? If you are lucky enough to get the attention of someone to find a product, my experience repeatedly has been a finger point along with "its down the aisle". Don't tell me, SHOW ME. If I wanted to search aimlessly until I stumble across the item of interest I would not be talking to you! Now, if you step into a Home Depot, this never happens. Menard's needs to make some policy changes but I will never know if they do. I won't ever go back. Too much of a pain in the but when all I want to do is get in and get out.
Jeffro28 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Customer service is non existant

Ex customer. If you want to talk to a PERSON good LUK
Lynnepippin Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Lyon's Bathtub from Menards is crap!

30th Nov. 2011. Lynne Pippin
Michael Fahey, or other installer who has not had problems with Lyons tubs.
I have unfortunately ordered my Lyons SeaWave IV, soaking, corner tub before reading the negative comments. Please clarify "correct installation."
We have a 3/4" ply sub-floor on 2x10 joists, at 16"centers. The joist under the middle of the tub is a double one.
How many layers of what thickness ply do you suggest under the tub? What thickness mortar? Should we make a form of 2X4's, fill it with mortar, then seat the tub into the wet mortar?, What mix? Any other potential pitfalls with installing a corner tub and walls?
We would be EXTREMELY grateful for any constructive input to prevent an expensive disaster.
Thank in advance, Lynne Pippin.
Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Awful place to work in

Menard's inc. is a HORRIBLE place to work the don't care about their guest or there team members they care about making money like the rest of America, so tell Menard's to stop ling in all there advertisements about caring about quality and service. They are full of s***, they force you to stay after they close and clean even when your schedule off at a time and tell you u cant leave until u finish. They wont let you take lunch unless u stay an extra half hour to make up for you taking a lunch. The owners of Menard's are piece of *** and need to learn how to help and take care of their employees Menard's inc. is a sweet shop of modern day. I hope Menard's goes out of business soon. and john and Larry Menard have to live on the street. Menard's *** and Larry and john r going to *** for their greed and how they treat people!
Yellowstang70 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Awful place to work in

I agree I worked at Menards and thought it was a good company. Until I found out the hard way that there greedy and backstabbing all the managers must be trained to treat employee's like trash. There horrible people. They fired me saying I'm not friendly when I know I'm a very friendly outgoing person. So don't trust Menards. Don't shop there either because they are all scammers.
Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Lyon's Bathtub from Menards is crap!

I purchased a Lyons bathtub (model 3060) and shower surround form Menards. After less than 2 years of use, it has developed 2 cracks in the floor of the tub. I have spent over a month trying to get my money returned under the warranty claim but have not got any response form Lyons at all, and only responses from Menards saying basically "It's not our problem". I have now gotten to the point that I have informed them I will be employing a lawyer if I don't receive immediate resolution to this problem, but am not really holding my breath on a resolution from them. I have been assured by a management members at Menards that Lyons will contact me "by the end of business today". That was on September 19th. I have went through submitting a warranty claim form to Lyons, with no response. I have emailed the person in charge of Plumbing items at Menards and have gotten nothing but a runaround.

Menards doesn't stand behind their products and their idea of customer service is a joke - it's more a customer disservice!
Donald Trump Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Lyon's Bathtub from Menards is crap!

Wow, a contractor has to identify himself, but a Menards employee doesn't! It sure would be nice if there were some way of filtering the moronic statements out of these posts.

I have been doing business with Menards for over 25 years and as with most large corporations, everything is great until you have a complaint. So, if you are not satisfied because you may have ended up having to deal with a bad employee, like the one who posted above, your best bet is to submit a written complaint to management, and if that doesn't work, picket, make a scene, boycott etc as enthusiastically as you can.

As far as products and prices go, I have found them to (usually) have better prices than Lowes or Home Depot, but in most cases (unless it's on sale) they are all higher than our local plumbing stores.

Lyon bathtubs are cheap, and if a cheap product is not properly installed it will be even more likely fail.

Menards promotes and seems to encourage "Do-it-your-self-ers", but doesn't always have salespeople who are knowledgeable about the products they are selling (there are of course many exceptions to this), or fail to caution the purchaser about tackling something best left to professionals. Therein lies their responsibility.
Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Poor service!

Clive Menards Manager Stephen Smiley has lied to me several times. I purchased some special order doors from Menard's store in Clive, Iowa. They did not come in when they were supposed to. I was building a house and had several delays, so I didn't need the doors, so I kind of forgot about them. Three weeks after I ordered them, I was in the store and looking at clearance merchandise. At that time I saw doors just like I ordered. I asked if they were mine and was told that they were not. When I remembered, I went to pick them up and was told that they had been sold. Because I bought things at two separate stores, I lost track of the doors so I bear some responsibility for the long delay. The front end manager told me that they had sent me a registered letter stating that they were going to sell the doors if I didn't pick them up. No registered letter ever came to my house. Manager Stephen Smiley insisted that he and I knew what happened. He repeatedly said they sent the registered letter, but when I asked the front end manager for the number of the registered letter she refused to give it to me.

Manager Smiley said he would give me my money back minus a 15% restocking fee. I contacted guest services in Eau Claire, but the would not talk to me by phone. I wrote and e-mailed them and they responded with letters that didn't make sense. Finally, I received a letter that said whatever decision the manager made was what their decision was.

I made an offer to pay the difference between the price I paid and what they sold the doors for, but ol' Smiley talked as though he didn't hear what I said. He was haughty, condescending, and downright rude. He once again told me he would give me my money back minus 15% restocking fee, but when I went in to get that (deciding to write it off as a bad place to do business) good ol' Smiley told the clerk she had to give me a merchandise credit check. This goes against their refund policy. I asked for Smiley to come to the front when one voucher had been issued and they still hadn't given me a refund on the second receipt. I asked Smiley face to face to refund the amount on my credit card and he said, "No, I'll do what I said I'd do Saturday. I'll give you a merchandise credit." I said he was lying, he said he'd refund my money. At that point he ordered me out of his store. He said he would not complete the other transaction.

The bottom line is Stephen Smiley is trying to steal $256.46 from me and by ordering me to not come back to his store, what value is the merchandise credit of $203.20? Why would I want to spend any money at his store. The merchandise credit was a slap in the face to begin with. Last year, the same store sold a refrigerator that I had purchased in combination with a side by side freezer. New models came in, but they would not give me the new model which cost more, but looked exactly the same. A simple phone call would have fixed both problems but Menards has a problem with using the phone.
Rita Fern Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Poor service!

I went to the Menard store in Mount Prospect, Illinois on Rand road and had an awful experience with an employee name ALAN in the kitchen sink section. He was mean and cruel to me. I was looking at a merchandise when he approached me and asked me if I was going to buy it. I told him I have not fully made up my mind. He grab the merchandise from my hand and put it back on the shelf and told me not to touch it if I have not made up my mind to buy it. I had another second incident with this same associate of cruely.
Rita Fern Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Poor service!

Shop at Home Depot; they have a hassel free return unlike menard who put the return merchandise under the microscope before giving your money back. Purchases made at mendard are as such; if you try the merchandise and is defective; Menard will not accept the return saying you have used the products. I like to ask Menard where is the Merchandise satisfaction Guarantee. If Menard dont want returns they should not sell low quality products.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    buydocuments - BUY AUTHENTIC FAKE AND REAL PASSPORT / BIRTH CERTIFICATES...
    We offer only original high-quality real and fake...
    MetLife Dental - Did not send termination letter
    My children's father retired from the military and so...
    buydocuments - BUY YOUR HIGH QUALITY PASSPORTS,Driver's...
    We offer only original high-quality real and fake...
    buydocuments - BUY AUTHENTIC FAKE AND REAL PASSPORT / BIRTH CERTIFICATES...
    We offer only original high-quality real and fake...
    buydocuments - BUY AUTHENTIC FAKE AND REAL PASSPORT / BIRTH CERTIFICATES /
    We offer only original high-quality real and fake...
    RedBox - Cancellation
    I subscribed to redbox instant three months ago, before...
    Taylor Walker - Do you need Business or Personal Loan?
    Do you need Business or Personal Loan? Do you wish to...
    Carls Jr - Hardee's vulgar commercials
    My 5 year old daughter just saw the first few seconds of...
    M2 Media Group - Unwanted magazine subscriptions
    Like others, I recently received two unsolicited...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username