Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

National American University

United States,
Minnesota

Consumer complaints and reviews about National American University

Old But Determined Send email
 
Mar 18, 2012

Financial Aid/Grades

I have had the same problems with the financial aid and the classes. NAU had misrepresented the cost of books and are maximizing the amount of money that they suck out of each student. Is there some national office that we can file complaints?
MikeLK Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Financial Aid/Grades

I will add the %'s of people who have contimplated suicide from the lies they have received from NAU. I will also come up with some additional topics and complaints that all come from diff people from diff states who are not aware of eachother nor the problems the others faced, yet the lies they were told are similar, as were they way their situations were disatisfying handled...you write the paper facts, I'll write the real deal...your version sounds more priofessional, mine is factual and real stories from real victims...i will have this info in a week, but since i archived most of the e-mails, thismight take a while...many emailed me instead of writing here, hence, i need to open my archive folder...oh, btw, we ARE paying the loan and not tryingto get out of anything (though my wife couldnt complete a full year, we r still paying)...dont listen to the ones taking your money, listen to the students complaints...many are not disatisfied w/ their grades and causing a fit, but have been lied to, and lies that are effecting their lives...I will have it all here soon. People, look in to the University of MN, a school with so much more to offer, and in cases cheaper...im my opinion if you go to NAU you will tremendously feel it like a hurricane hit you hard, and loans take a long time to pay off, and there wont be a month you dont kick yourself in the ass for enrolling there. IN ALMOST ALL THE E_MAILS I RECEIVED (for at one point I was going to put together a protest, so i received tons of e-mails, but I became disabled) ...ANYWAYS, THESE E-MAILS WERE MOSTLY CALLING THEIR FINANCIAL ADVISORS GLORIFIED SALESMAN...NOTHING ELSE, EXCEPT MAYBE A FEW OTHER CHOICE WORDS.
-Mike
MikeLK Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Financial Aid/Grades

Great facts...But I had hundreds ofcomplaints from diff people regarding NAU, several from people who became suicidal from their situations from NAU. There used to be tons of complaints here and I wonder why most r gone, but the thing is, at one time i was going to start a rally (then i becamedisabled and had no time) but becaiise of this many people e-mailed me of their problems w/ NAU. People, STAY AWAY!!! I was told by many people theuir financial advisors lied to sign them up and then never backed things up...these r many people who do not know eachother but were able to quote the same exact lies these people used to sign them up...PEOPLE WHO DO NOT KNOW EACHOTHER...what r the odds huh? I heard the term glorified lying salesman regarding their descriptipons of their financial advisors...hey, i evenn had the op to read a complaint justthe same but from an actual proffessor...people, look in to alternative schools, if i was you...the U of M a university going down in history as one of the best can be even less expensive in many cases...you reallly need to stay away from NAU.
One last thing, I love the stats they listed, I will look in my archives and bring up my old saved e-mails and give stats of my own, and watch people, THEY CANT HOLD ME LIABLE FOR THEY ARE THRUTHS, I will have it up here within a month, I got stats that will truly take their bunch of stats and render them useless for a prospective students information, i mean, suicide? Yes, some have felt this school ruined their lives with lies that ended up devistating their life. My opinion, stay away.
MikeLK Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Financial Aid/Grades

oh, one last thing, sev people told me a diploma from this school is about as worthless as a diploma you can make yourself at kinkos or on your own computer...go somewhere credible as The U of M, and possibly for les money..on line school? do u really think you'll succeeed with this "money maker"? Ok, please daddy, but if u wanna learn something, go to a good school, like i said, possibly for less.
Struggling Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Financial Aid/Grades

I enrolled at National American University in a 4 year Bachelor Degree program as a Paralegal. My first semester I had no problems at all and enjoyed the classes and teachers. Since then I have had nothing but problems concerning the financial aid department and with trying to disput one of my grades.

I had received a C as my final grade in one of my classes even though I had been carrying a high B throughout the semester. I have requested numerous times for my final paper grade to see my grade with no success. I have asked the instructor and the Academic Dean for the last 5 months again with no response. This grade effects my GPA and my ability to receive certain grant and scholarship opportunities.

The second most important issue is with the financial aid dept. I am disabled I cannot do physical work. That's why I am enrolled in college to change careers. The last two semesters I had to drop a class which lowered my grant funding but I am still considered 3/4 time. I needed the extra funds from dropping the class to live off of. It amounts to about $900.00 each semester. The problem is that the financial aid dept. doesn't adjust my award letters properly nor do they do it in a timely fashion. It seems as if after I had so many problems the first time (they told me my financial aid would not be affected by dropping the class, but it did!) that I complained to the head office, the Board of Higher Education and the Mn.State Deptartment of Education they are now determined to take as long as they can legally to adjust my awards. They still do not reflect adjustments made for my Federal and State grants properly. I am still waiting for my check even though it states in my account the money has been stipend to me and now this semester is almost over. It has taken them 8 weeks to send me my money. Because of this delay I have almost lost all my belongings in storage. I had to pay hundreds of dollars in late fees, am looking at being evicted and losing my mother rings I inherited that are in the pawn shop. When I spoke to the financial aid head adminitrator I was told that I cannot use my grant funds (they apply my loans first instead of grant funding towards credit costs) for living expenses nor should I depend on that. This hardship has been put on me unnecessarily causing me undo stress. It has left me with a bad taste in my mouth concerning this University to the point of quiting even though I like the curriculum. I have also asked about the FSEOG grant and what consitutes need in order to obtain this grant and have been told they do not know about it. Even though they received over $100, 000 dollars last year in funding from the Government in the form of FSEOG grants. They only dispersed $35, 000. On my FAFSA I was eligible for FSEOG.
I would like to add that NAU states it works closely with students to make sure that they receive all financial aid and opportunities available for all their students. What I have experienced is the opposite. I was not informed of the 48 credits each year necessary to finish my 4 year bachelors degree on time. Nor was I given the funding to do so. I had to take out another student loan for my summer semester in the amount of $ 3, 000.
The University hangs onto grant funding gaining interest for their own investments and shows no concern over their students what so ever. I have sent over 10 E-mails to both the financial aid and the academic advisor and program director with no response. I am so angry at the lack of care since I am paying for their product!!! They act as if they are doing me a favor instead of the fact that consumers like me are enriching their business and lining their pockets.
Education should be a positive step for all who seek after it to better their lives and others. Institutions like this ruin people. Instead of focusing on my studies I am depressed and on the verge of a nervous breakdown. Being unable to confront the problem because no matter what authority I have contacted I am told the same thing. If it's not illegal there is nothing we can do.
In closing I would like to say that there is something I plan on doing and that is in the future I am going to make institutions like these liable for deliberately causing undo hardships on students. They will be held accountable, laws will be put in place. I am pissed!!!
Reporter23 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Financial Aid/Grades

Look how much money they made. They are spending 38 million in expansion and advertisment. The figures do not include there private investments and profit in other sectors and they only have less than 10, 000 students many of them online students. Most of there money comes from fedaral student aid so if the student goes into default they get there money anyway.

NATIONAL AMERICAN UNIVERSITY HOLDINGS, INC. REPORTS FISCAL 2012 FIRST QUARTER RESULTS
Company to host conference call on October 6, 2011, at 11:00 a.m. ET
Financial and Operational Highlights
* Enrollment by headcount increased 13.7% over the prior year to 9, 390 students as of August 31, 2011.
* FY 2012 first quarter total revenue increased 9.6% to $25.4 million from $23.2 million in the prior-year period with the Company’s academic segment’s revenue increasing 10.7% to $25.1 million, compared to $22.7 million in the FY 2011 first quarter.
* FY 2012 first quarter net income attributable to the Company was $1.0 million, compared to $1.3 million in the prior-year period, primarily due to increased educational service and SG&A expenses incurred from the expansion and development of physical locations I don't think the net income reported includes there private investments returns.; FY 2012 first quarter EBITDA was $2.7 million, compared to $2.8 million in the prior-year period.
* The Company’s Board of Directors declared a cash dividend in the amount of $0.03 per share on all shares of the Company’s common stock outstanding and of record as of the close of business on September 30, 2011, to be paid on or about October 7, 2011.
* Balance sheet at August 31, 2011, included cash and cash equivalents and investments of $43.7 million; working capital of $38.1 million; no short-term borrowings or long-term debt; and stockholders’ equity of $58.9 million. Notice how high the stockholders equity is. Not a bad scam considering they have no debt and most of there money is fom student loan. Tax payermoney.

Rapid City, South Dakota, October 5, 2011 — National American University Holdings, Inc. (the “Company”) (NASDAQ: NAUH), which through its wholly owned subsidiary operates National American University (“NAU”), a regionally accredited, proprietary, multi-campus institution of higher learning, today reported unaudited financial results for its fiscal year 2012 first quarter ended August 31, 2011.
The Company, through its wholly owned subsidiary, operates in two business segments: academic segment, which consists of NAU’s undergraduate and graduate education programs and contributes the primary portion of the Company’s revenue; and ownership in multiple apartments and condominium complexes from which it derives sales and rental income. The real estate operations generated approximately 1% of the Company’s revenues for the quarter ended August 31, 2011.
Ronald L. Shape, Ed.D., Chief Executive Officer of the Company, commented, “We are pleased with NAU’s double-digit growth in enrollment and revenues during the fiscal 2012 first quarter, despite difficult conditions in our sector. We believe that NAU will continue to benefit from steady expansion and that our enrollment will continue to grow as we open new physical locations and bring new academic programs to existing campuses. While the regulatory approval process for opening geographic locations has lengthened significantly, which has had a negative impact on our short-term enrollment growth, our goal for this year remains to open six to eight new locations. We made improvements at several already existing locations and began the process of building out new hybrid learning centers in Minnesota and Texas during the period. While we incurred additional operating expenses to finance these expansion opportunities without offsetting them with revenue, we feel these investments will generate positive long-term returns for our Company. We are also working with the appropriate governing bodies to obtain the necessary approvals to expand our nursing program into New Mexico and Texas, further building upon our position in a market that we feel has incredible demand. We remain steadfast in our commitment to providing our students with a quality education, along with the necessary support infrastructure that will enable them to succeed in any job market once they graduate from our institution.” National American University Holdings, Inc. Page 2 October 5, 2011
Facility Expansion
The Company’s wholly owned subsidiary currently owns one property and leases 34 locations for educational sites in the states of Colorado, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota and Texas. The following sites are pending regulatory approvals:
· Mesquite, TX
· Weldon Spring, MO
· Richardson, TX
· Tigard, OR
· Georgetown, TX
· Rochester, MN

NAU has continued to expand its academic and degree programs online, which has continued to grow. In addition, NAU continues to operate hybrid learning centers, which utilize small physical facilities in strategic geographic areas, allowing its students to meet face-to-face with staff for assistance on their educational choices and related services while completing the majority of the coursework online.
During fiscal year 2012, the Company plans to continue executing on its campus expansion plans. The Company continues to closely track the expenditures associated with these new educational sites, new program development and program expansion within the selling, general and administrative expense category. For the three months ended August 31, 2011, business expansion and program development expenditures totaled $3.8 million, compared to $2.5 million in the same period in fiscal year 2010. Since 2005, NAU has invested over $38 million to expand and develop physical locations and academic programming. I Think most of the 38 Million went to expansion and adverstisment.
Upon receiving regulatory approval, NAU’s hybrid learning centers have historically become profitable within 12 to 18 months and, on average, each center achieves enrollment of approximately 150 students.
Student Enrollment
Though the summer term is typically NAU’s slowest enrollment period due to seasonality caused by traditional summer breaks, total NAU student enrollment for the summer term of 2011 increased 13.7% to 9, 390 students, up from 8, 255 in the last summer term. Students enrolled in 81, 175 credit hours compared to 72, 993 credit hours in the summer term of last year. The current average age of NAU’s students is 34 years, with those seeking undergraduate degrees remaining the highest portion of NAU’s student population (virtually unchanged from the prior year).
The following is a summary of student enrollment at August 31, 2011, and August 31, 2010, by degree type and by instructional delivery method:

August 31, 2011 August 31, 2010
No. of Students % of Total No. of Students % of Total
Graduate 345 3.7 % 342 4.1 %
Undergraduate and Diploma 9, 045 96.3 % 7, 913 95.9 %
Total 9, 390 100.0 % 8, 255 100.0 %
August 31, 2011 August 31, 2010
No. of Students % of Total No. of Students % of Total
Online 4, 610 49.1 % 3, 584 43.4 %
On-Campus 3, 364 35.8 % 3, 283 39.8 %
Hybrid 1, 416 15.1 % 1, 388 16.8 %
Total 9, 390 100.0 % 8, 255 100.0 %
Struggling Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Financial Aid

I enrolled at National American University in a 4 year Bachelor Degree program as a Paralegal. My first semester I had no problems at all and enjoyed the classes and teachers. Since then I have had nothing but problems concerning the financial aid department and with trying to disput one of my grades.

I had received a C as my final grade in one of my classes even though I had been carrying a high B throughout the semester. I have requested numerous times for my final paper grade to see my grade with no success. I have asked the instructor and the Academic Dean for the last 5 months again with no response. This grade effects my GPA and my ability to receive certain grant and scholarship opportunities.

The second most important issue is with the financial aid dept. I am disabled I cannot do physical work. That's why I am enrolled in college to change careers. The last two semesters I had to drop a class which lowered my grant funding but I am still considered 3/4 time. I needed the extra funds from dropping the class to live off of. It amounts to about $900.00 each semester. The problem is that the financial aid dept. doesn't adjust my award letters properly nor do they do it in a timely fashion. It seems as if after I had so many problems the first time (they told me my financial aid would not be affected by dropping the class, but it did!) that I complained to the head office, the Board of Higher Education and the Mn.State Deptartment of Education they are now determined to take as long as they can legally to adjust my awards. They still do not reflect adjustments made for my Federal and State grants properly. I am still waiting for my check even though it states in my account the money has been stipend to me and now this semester is almost over. It has taken them 8 weeks to send me my money. Because of this delay I have almost lost all my belongings in storage. I had to pay hundreds of dollars in late fees, am looking at being evicted and losing my mother rings I inherited that are in the pawn shop. When I spoke to the financial aid head adminitrator I was told that I cannot use my grant funds (they apply my loans first instead of grant funding towards credit costs) for living expenses nor should I depend on that. This hardship has been put on me unnecessarily causing me undo stress. It has left me with a bad taste in my mouth concerning this University to the point of quiting even though I like the curriculum. I have also asked about the FSEOG grant and what consitutes need in order to obtain this grant and have been told they do not know about it. Even though they received over $100, 000 dollars last year in funding from the Government in the form of FSEOG grants. They only dispersed $35, 000. On my FAFSA I was eligible for FSEOG.

I would like to add that NAU states it works closely with students to make sure that they receive all financial aid and opportunities available for all their students. What I have experienced is the opposite. I was not informed of the 48 credits each year necessary to finish my 4 year bachelors degree on time. Nor was I given the funding to do so. I had to take out another student loan for my summer semester in the amount of $ 3, 000.

The University hangs onto grant funding gaining interest for their own investments and shows no concern over their students what so ever. I have sent over 10 E-mails to both the financial aid and the academic advisor and program director with no response. I am so angry at the lack of care since I am paying for their product!!! They act as if they are doing me a favor instead of the fact that consumers like me are enriching their business and lining their pockets.

Education should be a positive step for all who seek after it to better their lives and others. Institutions like this ruin people. Instead of focusing on my studies I am depressed and on the verge of a nervous breakdown. Being unable to confront the problem because no matter what authority I have contacted I am told the same thing. If it's not illegal there is nothing we can do.

In closing I would like to say that there is something I plan on doing and that is in the future I am going to make institutions like these liable for deliberately causing undo hardships on students. They will be held accountable, laws will be put in place. I am pissed!!!
MikeLK Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Financial Aid

People, i had an attorney all set up a year ago...everyone wants to complain but had me doing all the work so i stopped and just was going to do my own thing, but a surgery left me short of spreading out my time. I am not great but ready to roll. I saved MANY (i iish all) e-mails explaining how they were lied to by the NAU financial dept...and other complaints, funny thing is all complaints i received were shared by others, specially lied from NAU's financial aid dept, or should we call them salesman (I believe they receive commission off of you)...
OK, who knows a good attorney specializing in class action suits? Suicide was one alternative from two different students i chatted with (they r both ok now).

This school hits u all hard...hit back.

Many dont check this site anymore, but i saved their contact info...you supply the attorney and i will supply some offensive e-mails (against NAU staff) and their authors to the attorny's...there was even a teacher who had complained regarding students and how they r treated.

Lets see if this site is constructive or just a place to vent.
MikeLK Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Financial Aid

wow, quite a few complaints i c were removed from this site, i see spaces wheree it seems many bad "letters" were posted here but now gone...i saved these peoples e-mails though that they sent me...but it makes me look as if i just copmplained and complained, with no complaints between...hmmmm...either way, i saved tons of e-mails that will never be erased.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    R. E. Lee Associates - INSURANCE SCAM
    I had been getting a lot of sales calls to buy Life...
    Shopper disc.co.uk Switzerland - £10 removed from my bank account
    On checking my recent bank statement I noted £10 card...
    MORGAN AND MORGAN - NOT for the People ... ONLY for the $
    I've called Morgan and Morgan several times for...
    ADT - Response unit
    Adt response unit driver keeps parking in front of our...
    Smart Tuition - credit card fee
    I have always payed on time every month for 4 years......
    Copper scrap 22 - Buy Copper Scrap .00.0
    We supply quality copper scrap for our customers...
    Copper scrap - Buy Copper Scrap..2
    We supply quality copper scrap for our customers...
    Copper scrap - Buy Copper Scrap
    We supply quality copper scrap for our customers...
    Bob's Discount Furniture - Technician inability to take care of problem
    In 2012, I purchased a bedroom set from Bob's. ...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username