Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

NYCHA

United States,
New York

Consumer complaints and reviews about NYCHA

vmartin Send email
 
Feb 3, 2016

DREW HAMILTON HOUSES

I have lived in Drew Hamilton Houses for more than thirty years and the maintenance has gone down considerably.What I am complaining about today is the fact that the water is constantly being shut off without prior notice.There is no water in the kitchen and none in the bathroom which means that I am not able to flush the toilet.This is not acceptable for a tenant that is current in rent.Something needs to be done now.
adam2510 Send email
 
Jan 14, 2016

Noise, Refusal of Transfer, Drug Sales

I live in Smith Houses for the pass 8 years, I've been asking to transfer to a one bedroom from a shoe box studio because of my disability wich I have bought doctor letters and manager refuses me, I am having problems with neighbors making noise and drugs being sold on my floor and no one cares, NYCHA is the biggest SLUM LORDS in this city, they turn a blind eye on everything , they are just interested in the rent money.30248
Fee Send email
 
Dec 14, 2015

Drug use and trepassers in Queensbrigehousing

I downsized to a smaller apartment not knowing that the some tenants in 4011 Vernon Blvd 4th flr are allowing trespassers to use and sell drugs in the stairs.It is everyday at 6:00-11:00pm everyday.It is not safe and I have called 311 everyday and 911.I have to be subjected to strangers getting high in stairway and the smells come in to your apartment everyday.I cannot even bring by grandchildren over beacause of the drug use in building.Queensbridge North houses in lic Queens.Help please !!!
mdiaz Send email
 
Dec 4, 2015

no heat for over a month

I live at Stanley houses project, 1806 1st. Ave. #24D,N.Y.10128, I have been complaining for over a month regarding no heat in my bedroom and my kitchen only. I complained to the my housing assistant, and assistant manager. I called in several tickets for no heat in the 2 rooms I have mentioned. The ticket numbers are:10/21/15-#40055821, 11/17/15-#40586529, 11/30/15-#40752305; 11/24/15-#40705557; 12/1/15-#40770605; 12/3/15-#40807186;#40807180. These are only a few; the problem still has not been resolved. I still have no neat since the winter started in my kitchen and the bedroom comes and goes.

Please help me with this important matter. This is not right, every year housing raises my rent and I'm not getting the services. I go thru this situation every year.

Please help, my cell # 917-678-9282 or 212-371-6230

Thank you.
Maritza Diaz
Sara Hartley Send email
 
Nov 19, 2015

Heat

I wish there was no heating in my apartment. What is nycha trying to do cook me?? I understand that it's cold outside and heating is a requirement from oct 1st but I'd appreciate an adiquite amount. I have to sleep in my living room with the air conditioner on. I can't even sleep on my own bed because it's so hot. Even when it's 60 something outside they have the heat on 80 or so. Not only is it not cost effective but it's probably not good for anyone's health. Dehydration and going from an oven to a fridge and back again isn't good and there are a lot of elderly folk in nycha
leopardprints Send email
 
Nov 2, 2015

Transfer request

After most of my household moved out of our 4 bedroom apartment I got a notice from NYCHA saying I needed to downsize and failure to downsize can result in an eviction. So I filed a transfer form, it's been over 2 months now and every time I go back to see my assistant she claims my papers are on her managers desk but she hasn't had a chance to sign them because they have more pressing issues. I know there's a bigger family out there dying for more space and can use that 4 bedroom apt. Plus is know some of these housing assistant be up to no good. They are gonna give me the run around and turn around and try to evict me and claim I never filed for a transfer. Can someone help me with this issue?
Donna w Send email
 
Sep 10, 2015

Nycha

I live in Marlboro housing for 1 year and i have cancer the walls are crack there have many problems. With this apartment. Call someone give me a call to help me with these problems. At 3472627927
Delene Lewis Send email
 
Jul 29, 2015

peeling paint and leaking toilet

I live in Moore houses and have lived there since 2013 since I've lived there I have had no paint job when I moved in the walls were badly peeling and moldy looking I have a six year old daughter and have repeatedly asked for this problem to be addressed as well as my toilet this problem is in my bedroom and bathroom yet no one has done anything all I keep being told is that they don't have enough staff to accompany my request which in no way is my fault or concern I would just like to have the work that's needed done on my apartment without the run around
brojpace1 Send email
 
Jul 26, 2015

HOLDOVER CASE

NYCHA IS AS DIRTY AS THE FILTH IN THE ELEVATORS AND HALLWAYS. I DO AGREE THAT ITS NOT ALL NYCHA'S FAULT...MANY OF THESE TENANTS AND OCCUPANTS ARE JUST AS DIRTY AS WELL!!!! I AM A REGISTERED OCCUPANT IN QUEENSBRIDGE NORTH HOUSES AND FACING EVICTION IN A HOLDOVER CASE. I CAME TO LIVE WITH MY ELDERLY, AILING AUNT WHO WAS ALL ALONE AND COULDN'T TAKE CARE OF HERSELF. I UNSELFISHLY GAVE UP THE APARTMENT I HAD TO COME STAY AND TAKE CARE OF HER. SADLY SHE PASSED ON TWO MONTHS AFTER MOVING IN. BEFORE SHE PASSED...I REQUESTED A PERMANENT APPLICATION TO BE PLACED ON HER LEASE, THAT SHE WAS OKAY WITH AT THE TIME. I RECEIVED THE APPLICATION, FILLED IT OUT, MY AUNT SIGNED IT AND I SIGNED IT. TURNED IT INTO THE MANAGEMENT OFFICE...AND WAS TOLD I WASN'T ALLOWED TO REQUEST PERMANENT STATUS. THEY WOULD ONLY ALLOW TEMPORARY CONSENT UP TO ONE YEAR. I HAVE AN APARTMENT APPLICATION ON FILE WITH NYCHA FOR THE PAST FIVE YEARS STILL WAITING FOR AN INTERVIEW, MY AUNT PASSED AWAY IN OCTOBER 2014...SINCE THEN I HAVE BEEN GOING BACK AND FORTH TO COURT AND HEARINGS AND BY GOD'S GRACE... I AM CURRENTLY STILL OCCUPYING THE APARTMENT. ITS VERY DISHEARTENENING THAT AN APARTMENT DEVELOPMENT I GREW UP IN AS AN ADOLESCENT, NOW WANTS TO EVICT ME AND MAKE ME HOMELESS AFTER RETURNING TO TAKE OF A SICK RELATIVE WHO HAS DIED. I AM PAYING USE AND OCCUPANCY, BUT ONLY HALF OF WHAT MY AUNT WAS PAYING SO I'D BE ABLE TO SAVE SOME MONEY FOR A ANOTHER PLACE. THE RENTS EVERYWHERE ARE SO DAMN HIGH!!! I DON'T EARN MUCH...AND HOPED THAT QUEENSBRIDGE NORTH WOULD TRY TO HELP ME SUCCEED MY AUNT'S LEASE. I CAN'T DO HOMELESSNESS. I NEED REAL HELP!!!
dnyce2487 Send email
 
Jul 20, 2015

Elevators always break down

Our elevators always break down and nycha does so little to fix them . I met a guy in the building who lives here but also works for nycha and said the guys who fix the elevators don't fully fix them so they get paid isn't that illegal there are handicap and elderly ppl in our buildin which is located on 595 Trinity ave bronx ny this is the worse especially now that summers here ppl can't leave or come and visit and I'm on a high floor there's 21 floors and I'm almost at the top so this sux especially for us high floorers
Cool_gurl88 Send email
 
Jul 2, 2015

Tenant harassment

This has been going on for quite sometime now. I have been living in nycha for years. I live under an old woman who has a
Grand child. For the last couple of years, everything it gets hot,
And everytime I turn on my a/c. She says hi to me when she sees me but confronts my husband when she sees him about my a/c leaking. It's to the point I called management yesterday and they said they were coming but never did. I purchased a fan just so I won't have to deal w the non sense. This woman has tried to get me evicted, by filing false complaints about me all because I won't pull my a/c in. She reported me to housing regarding the a/c and I'm tired of the none sense. I'm disabled pretty much, I have my own problems w nycha. Last thing I need is this foolishness. Since she knows everyone else's business she's been trying me for a while now. And I don't make friends where I live, I stay to my self and I don't bother any one. The prosperity manager said its because your air conditioner is not supposed to leak and the neighbors above me isn't supposed to leak ither. So I guess the water supposed to back up and flood the apt?? But yet they never showed up??? I told them I felt like I was being harassed by this woman and nothing gets done. I seriously want a transfer out because it's a constant issue. I'm very anti social and I live very privately for the simple fact I don't want to be the center of some ones gossip because in kingsborough once people know your business so will the whole neighbour hood. Please if any one has any advice please e mail me mocahbrown36@outlook.com
suzieferr Send email
 
May 20, 2015

nycha is always tryng to evict me

everytime i do a recert they claim at the managment office they either didnt get it or when they have they say they cant send ot through and i dont find out until after i get mptices in the mail..this jas been happening for over 5 yrs. when i go back to them they say they couldbt send it tbrough because 250 bdwy is evictng me but they are trying to evict me because they dont process my recert when they are suppose to. The last time i went to court tp handle everything after i got a 7 day notice to move out. I got an lawyer and she settle everything. Now all of a sudden they arecalling me again saying i was evicted over a yr ago and they are giving me 1 MONTH notice so i have to go to 250 bdwy. Because i never gave them my income.. and i told her i gave all of that already and have the stamp from whwn they recieved it and gave me.a cppy of it. Now they are saying no that was for you to add your children to the lease but i told it was also for that but to ipdate my records since they said theu disnt process it but they still didnt process it. Now im getting evicted
Milcordh Send email
 
May 11, 2015

NO Hot water

It is crazy that people who work and pay their rent are not entitle to hot water. This been going on over two months where NYCHA in Jacob Riis Houses have not been giving tenant hot water to wash themselves or dishes. Once in a while is okay but Ever SUNDAY NOW TO TWO MONTHS THERE SOMETHING VERY WRONG AND NOT NOTICES. Someone in charge need to take a look at these problems of no hot water and get it corrected. I work for a living and pay my rent every month. I am not living in here free no one is. Give us a break and give us HOT WATER the way it should be.

For those who read this. 311 will not help us because it is housing what makes them special that they don't have to follow the rules. This is such injustice because you live in NYCHA that give them the right not to do what the law demands. Today is May 11, 2016
skyyeblue101 Send email
 
Apr 29, 2015

Neighbors doing drups

my neighbors are doing drugs in the hallway where my kids have to pass by to go to their school bus. The Mother is Maria and has two grown sons that lives with her but are not on the lease. They also put holes in my wall. The police didn't do anything. I'm looking into getting a transfer. This is 50 Paladino Avenue. Their apartment is 3G. The son are Alex and Tito. Alex is a registered pediflie. This was my only choice to get an appointment. I didn't want to live here because of all the crack heads in this area.
Gwen48 Send email
 
Dec 2, 2014

BROKEN WINDOW

I CALLED THE HOTLINE ON SEPT 9, FOR A BROKEN WINDOW IN MY LIVING ROOM , I WAS GIVEN A TICKET NUMBER AND A APPOINTMENT FOR 10/24. NO ONE SHOWED UP AND THE TICKET WAS CLOSED WITH NO REASON. I'VE CALLED MANAGEMENT SEVERAL TIME ABOUT THIS AND WAS TOLD HE WOULD FORWARD REQUEST TO MAINTANCE SUPERVISOR. AS OF TODAY 12/2 I STILL HAVE A BROKEN WINDOW IT IS COLD OUT SIDE AND I DON'T THINK IT'S RIGHT THAT I HAVE TO WAIT FOR 3 MONTYH FOR SOME ONE TO COME FIX THIS PROBLEM. I DID PUT IN ANOTHER TICKET, WE WILL SEE IF THIS WORKS . PLEASE ADVISE ME HOW TO GET THIS FIXED
henrie Send email
 
Nov 2, 2014

NO Notices

This complaint refers to Marcy Housing Development Turning to Hot Water boiler on and off without sending out notices that the hot water will be off for a certain amount of time. I find it unfair to the tenants that have to work on Saturday Mourning, as well as people that attend church on Sundays. Is it asking too much to print notices stating what hours the water will be cut off? November 1-2 2014 we were inconvenienced !!
Matos65 Send email
 
Jul 14, 2014

Discriminated against due to marital and disability

Dear Madam or Sir;

I am writing to make you aware as a NYCHA tenants at Stapleton housing I am being discriminated against due to marital and disability. My husband and I have been tirelessly requested to be relocated to Queens and to be given a 504 due to our disability we are constantly held back by management with many obstacles we have submitted medical letters and family reasons or both since 2 years even the adding to lease of my disabled spouse Luis A. Pumarejo Jr was a dilemma and now we are sitting in a studio apartment which is over crowded and constitute our safety and well being. Please investigate

Thank you!
roberta boyd Send email
 
Jun 8, 2014

noisy neighbors

I have lived here 30years in peace a family moved in about 3years ago it's been a constant battle with their loud music domes Times into the night 3 or 4 0 clock housing has done anything far as speaking to them I can't hear my tv my family comes over we can't hear each talk I have taken out a petition no good called 311 nothing they do the same thing . I complain to my housing manager she does nothing on beginning to feel discriminated against because I am black
unique2269 Send email
 
Jun 4, 2014

nasty building

Dehostos housese in nycha building 201 is very nasty the caretakers that suposed to clean up the building are out there smoking and drinking with the tenats the building is always dirty with urine and garbage on the stairs and in the elevators!! Rats are running around the building in the daytime!!!
garden drama Send email
 
Apr 22, 2014

hazardous fence around garden

Unstable fence definitely a fire hazard loose wood and tangled wires in the rear of building at 998 Williams ave bklyn ny 11207 .spoke to housing rep to no avail need to remove fence clean up debris
mvermilyea1031@gmail.com Send email
 
Apr 9, 2014

scared for my childrens saftey

To whom it may concern,

I live in Tompkins Houses in Brooklyn ever since I have moved here I suffer from anxiety and depression I am scared for my life the constant shooting day and night is scary I am petrified and it seems like no one cares! They are shootings and I call 911 not sure what happens after that because I rarely see police come sometimes I think they are scared to come here! It is really bad it is not fair to live like this we pay rent like everyone else! If we don't we will be harassed with eviction and court proceeding but what happens when we get shoot in a cross fire or a bullet comes through our window when we are sleeping! Something needs to be done military assistance because the local precent is not cutting it!!! Please help someone I cannot live like this anymore!! And as far as our stupid mayor with the no stop and frisk they need to concentrate on stop and frisk in the appropriate locations which would be within the nycha locations where most of the teen boys walk around with guns!!!!
Evelyn Rivera Send email
 
Feb 9, 2014

Cats being left on NYCHA properties

I live in Patterson Houses, There are some of us that feed the cats left in the building or around the area. I know for a fact that an employee has been threaten, do to the fact that they assume she is feeding the cats. The man that cleans the building where I live has told me that she was told that she will get a memo. They in the office keep thinking its her, but its not. She keeps taking the blame. Its a shame how they are not calling the animal control and care. Don't want to pay the $15.00 fee, but can go to the store to buy ALCOHOL.
XOXO Send email
 
Jan 28, 2014

Home Day Care in NYCHA

Why is NYCHA allowing home day cares to run in their apartments? This is the most terrible idea I have ever heard of , don't know whether it is legal or not! For all the housing managers, housing assistants and housing employees that feel it is okay for home day care services to be provided in NYCHA apartments here is MY solution. Get a NYCHA development specifically for home day care services, get them all in that one development and then have these NYCHA employees live in that development as well. I am sure that after ONE week of hearing noise all day on a daily basis, they WILL have a change of mind. They have no resolution for my problem with the day care next door issue yet they want to downgrade me to a 1 bedroom apartment after 35+ years in this same apartment because my dad passed away. Yeah right, keep dreaming. They will get me out of here in a body bag first before I ever consent to leaving.
yoyok152 Send email
 
Mar 28, 2013

eviction

On January 2013 the manager from Independence Towers faxed me a notice to vacate to complete and sent back.the problem I that I was evicted they stated but no-one can provide me of the eviction forms and why would I complete a vacant if I was evicted .
locnewbie1 Send email
 
Nov 16, 2012

Disrespectful Assistant Manager

The Assistant manager of Howard Houses Mrs. Johnson has a very disgusting attitude toward tenants at the development. I have personally experienced issues with Mrs. Johnson. She had an issue with my mother, my mother has since then moved out of the apartment and I have personally noticed Mrs. Johnson talking about me to my current housing assistant. She has done this many many times. A few times inside the office and a final time while she and my housing assistant were making rounds to other apartments I witness Mrs Johnson point in my direction and look directly at me and say something to my Housing Assistant. After Mrs. Johnson preformed all other those actions My housing worker then Looking in my direction as well. Which gave me further reason to believe that indeed Mrs Johnson has been talking about me and issues that involved my mother. I believe that Mrs. Johnson is being unprofessional and I am feeling very uncomfortable with her. I'm also looking into other ways I can either stop her from being inappropiate with myself and other tenants, a possible transfer for myself or Mrs. Johnson. I am always in contact with my lawyer when it comes to Mrs Johnson and her actions especially toward me

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints


         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username