Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

NYCHA

United States,
New York

Consumer complaints and reviews about NYCHA

chiqita Send email
 
Jul 22, 2016

dienied apllication because of back arrears

i was accepted to section 8 on 2009 the application went to the interview and accept was getting a voucher than in 2009 because of the economy the section was frozen so they found me at my current address and was scheduled a interview for my voucher on july 5th i had the option to fill out a form to go to hra after i moved into my apartment when i got my voucher then the woman said no hra will not pay i had to pay out of pocket i live on a very low income after the accepted me with two interviews now i', denied that it seriously not fair what can i do , but take nycha to court
John888 Send email
 
Jul 17, 2016

Noisy neighbor/loud music all day/ night

I have been living in NYCHA in 41-08 ,12 ST with my two kids. The lady from 41-08 ,12 ST Apt #1A, Long Island City, NY she put portable stereo who blasts music everyday/night with her buddies 3/4 males from 41-10,12 ST they always hang out infront of building and blasts music eveyday till 4am not only music drinking /smoking weeds /drugs no matter how mant times me and my neighbor report/call 311/911 even CEO Shola Olatoye and housing Manager Jacob can't helps us in this matter. WHY? NYCHA can't ignore that ,other thing they send us notice about garbage not to throw outside building trash container as soon all residents get that notice we follow we dnt do that ,so they should do same thing sending notice to residents to 41-08,41-10 ,12 ST these are two building puts music so loud my kids can't concentrated in their studies ,we all have to closed our windows/AC on 24hrs still we can hear speaker so loud inside our apartment we are prisoner in our own apartment and children can't go and outside we can smell mad weeds these people r playing/enjoying loud music because they r smoking/drinking/drugs so they like do but for us working people with kids have this environment is so distressful atmosphere . And it's always same lady from 1A and from the building 41-10 ,12 ST, if they r not then no one put music, only them have problem and they have no respect for their neighbors we r helpless and not getting help for this matter is distressing, causing hardship in our daily living. Our next step will be going to media/news/nyc council member or even Court. Because these people blasting music in speaker everday /night is not acceptable. We need help and stop these people blasting music infront of the building ASAP.
0pyhb Send email
 
Jun 30, 2016

Housing Assistant - Mr. SEBASTIAN/QB South

The Housing Assistant who covers some Blogs on the 41st Side of 10th Street is very disrespectful and uncooperative with tenants. I have had several situations with him. I've was put on the list for a 4 Bedrooms in 2014. When my 2years was up for the Internal List, I began to request the Working Family/Need Based list every 2 wks. Mr. Sebastian seems to have a problem printing the list when I go to the Office or call to have it left at the Reception area as well. I have called the Boro Office to report him numerous times. I've been told to "leave him alone", then they assist me with whatever my issue is at the time. This is crazy to me. Even in the QB South Management Office, they will assist me after he states to me in a very NASTY TONE AND DESPOSITION that he's not going to print the list. His excuse is either "I'm busy right now or the new list is not out yet. Maybe it's me but isn't his job to ASSIST TENANTS WITH THEIR ISSUES WHEN THEY COME IN THE MGMT OFFICE.? EXACTLY!!!! So whatelse is he busy doing, if not helping the tenant! Then we literally get into a heated argument which is usually ALWAYS witnessed by the Assembly. Mgr or Manager of QB South (who then will print the list out in 2 minutes) from their computer as Mr. Sebastian previously just lied to be 5 minutes earlier saying that the new list is not out or his computer in not working. This is an ongoing issue (every 2 wks to be exact). I've asked to be transferred to another HA but was told unfortunately, he covers your building. Basically, he is the one you have to deal with. This is becoming a serious problem for me NOW. Something needs to be done about this man. He picked this job and unfortunately for myself and other tenants, we are being treated like "trash" when interacting with him. Im at my witts ends. This man needs to be FIRED!!! If not that, then he should be REPRIMANDED for his actions and downgraded to another job which doesn't entail dealing with PEOPLE! Who can I speak too in pursuing a COMPLAINT against him now. His colleagues and the Boro Office are covering for him. I need someone over them at this point. Please help me so I can resolve this issue. Until a Development, I WANT is on the list, I have no other option but to deal with him. I need help!!!!!
LaLuna Send email
 
Jun 14, 2016

neighbor's washing machine upstairs

My neighbor who lives upstairs hangs the hose of their washing machine out the kitchen window. The water hits my window sill and comes inside. And the noise is really loud too. They wash always at night so no one from NYCHA can see.
This is a step away from what used to happen before. The water used to come down the pipe by the stove every once in a while. I do not know who to complain to.
Slohan Send email
 
Jun 6, 2016

heat when was 60 degrees no heat when its cold turning off hot water every weekend

Pelham houses has gone to the dogs filth and broken glass, uncollected garbage for days on end grounds a mess, buildings even worse at times. They were pumping up heat when was 60+ degrees and giving no heat when was cold. Every weekend hot water goes off and sporadic hot water during the week, who wants to shave and bathe at 3 or 4am when water is hot? by 9am its getting unusable what crock of crap Pelham has turned into as for all NYCHA developments. Some of us do pay good money to live in these hell holes.
josief77 Send email
 
Jun 1, 2016

Noise, property damage, uncleanliness

The residents at 54-15 Beach Channel Drive Apt 4C have guests visiting at all hours of the day and night. They loiter outside the building, leave their litter throughout the lobby and urinate in the elevator. I have reported this to the management office and asked them to anonymously speak with them as all the residents are affected by their behavior but there has been no change. It would benefit everyone that lives there, and guests who visit, if this situation could be resolved.
Mr C Adams Send email
 
May 27, 2016

Noise

For over several years now, my neighbors who live above me has been deliberately pounding and banging and stomping on the floor. My mother and I tried many times to resolve the issue peacefully but to no avail. I then took the law into my own hands one day and as a result; got arrested, an order of protection against me and a program for addicts. Now this stomping is continuing day and night and I had to call the police last night. The landlord is completely incompetent and I'm at Whit's end here. I was once a quiet man who stayed away from the shootings and the drugs and stuff, now I'm far past being nice. I have made threats against this family. Keep that in mind.
mannybx Send email
 
May 19, 2016

NYCHA-Bronx

The tenants living at 877 Taylor Ave on the 6th floor are dirty and nasty. They be always dirtying the floors, smoking and making loud noise. The tenants are; Raymond Lewis, Gerard Lewis, Valerie Lewis Servon Lewis and Lillian Milanes. NYCHA needs to make sure that tenants that live in there buildings are following rules.
Stuart Send email
 
Apr 16, 2016

Disrespectful and always drunk

1309 washington ave bronx ny the varetaker is very disrespectful and always smell of alcohol ever since sge came the building hasnt been upkept the right way garbage in halls and piss in the elavators i think her name is mizell something
fei9004 Send email
 
Apr 13, 2016

drug use and trepassers

40 11 Vernon blvd lic queens ny 11101.Trepassers are using drugs everyday 9am -until whenever they feel like.There is a trepasser 6 feet tall black guy who smokes weed and dirty the building and urinates in elevators.He is a nuisance and our quality of life is being jeopardize.He refuses to stop.And he knows the code to get in the building and he brings other drug users.Also apartment 4D knows him and they use drugs in hallway and on staircase.Sometimes you cannot even go down stairs because people are on stairs and in halls. I am asthmatic and have to deal with the stress of drug users and trepassers. I reported to managment over and over again.THIS NEEDS TOO STOP ASAP. There are reports with 911 and 311.I even smoke to Dective Johnson from PS9.Please help.
harryinbrooklyn2@aol.com Send email
 
Apr 2, 2016

Garbage

On 70 Pitt Street, some keeps tossing pampers from their window. The place is riddled with disposed pampers and no one seems to care. I want the person to stop and if possible, fined, maybe that will stop them from this animal like behavior. Who throws their garbage out the window anyway?
The address
70 Pitt Street
New York, NY 10002

Back of the building, pampers on awning and grass.
Lgbt Send email
 
Mar 5, 2016

Income fraud , non tenant living on nycha grounds

Tenant inside of queensbridge north 12 this side
Has been withholding all of his income from nycha . As well as renting out a room for about $150 and he only pays nycha $80 for rent each month


Sex offender leaving on premises without housing permission they stay inside the home all day
kimberly goodrich Send email
 
Feb 28, 2016

same complaint # 1-1-121251684

My name is Laura Goodrich I live 70-29 Kissena Blvd apt. 3d in Flushing Queens and I feel so disrespected and annoyed with Pomonok Housing office workers it's been 5 weeks and I'm still not able to leave my apartment because I don
t have key to apt lobby or mail box. This has been goi9ng on since 1/28/2015 with the same complaint what else am I suppose to do. lobby key 42232121 apt. key lock change 42232141 kitchen cabinet 42232201 no one showed on the 2/223/16 for cabinet. I'm always on time paying my rent but no service from NYCHA. My Family have to clean the hallway floor for being so dirty our walkway at the entrance of my building you could hardly walk from the garbage everywhere, I'm afraid I might fall and if I do it's going to be a big problem that could be avoided. I'm asking for assistance for the last time!! I need to be able to lock my own door!!!!
vmartin Send email
 
Feb 3, 2016

DREW HAMILTON HOUSES

I have lived in Drew Hamilton Houses for more than thirty years and the maintenance has gone down considerably.What I am complaining about today is the fact that the water is constantly being shut off without prior notice.There is no water in the kitchen and none in the bathroom which means that I am not able to flush the toilet.This is not acceptable for a tenant that is current in rent.Something needs to be done now.
adam2510 Send email
 
Jan 14, 2016

Noise, Refusal of Transfer, Drug Sales

I live in Smith Houses for the pass 8 years, I've been asking to transfer to a one bedroom from a shoe box studio because of my disability wich I have bought doctor letters and manager refuses me, I am having problems with neighbors making noise and drugs being sold on my floor and no one cares, NYCHA is the biggest SLUM LORDS in this city, they turn a blind eye on everything , they are just interested in the rent money.30248
Fee Send email
 
Dec 14, 2015

Drug use and trepassers in Queensbrigehousing

I downsized to a smaller apartment not knowing that the some tenants in 4011 Vernon Blvd 4th flr are allowing trespassers to use and sell drugs in the stairs.It is everyday at 6:00-11:00pm everyday.It is not safe and I have called 311 everyday and 911.I have to be subjected to strangers getting high in stairway and the smells come in to your apartment everyday.I cannot even bring by grandchildren over beacause of the drug use in building.Queensbridge North houses in lic Queens.Help please !!!
mdiaz Send email
 
Dec 4, 2015

no heat for over a month

I live at Stanley houses project, 1806 1st. Ave. #24D,N.Y.10128, I have been complaining for over a month regarding no heat in my bedroom and my kitchen only. I complained to the my housing assistant, and assistant manager. I called in several tickets for no heat in the 2 rooms I have mentioned. The ticket numbers are:10/21/15-#40055821, 11/17/15-#40586529, 11/30/15-#40752305; 11/24/15-#40705557; 12/1/15-#40770605; 12/3/15-#40807186;#40807180. These are only a few; the problem still has not been resolved. I still have no neat since the winter started in my kitchen and the bedroom comes and goes.

Please help me with this important matter. This is not right, every year housing raises my rent and I'm not getting the services. I go thru this situation every year.

Please help, my cell # 917-678-9282 or 212-371-6230

Thank you.
Maritza Diaz
Sara Hartley Send email
 
Nov 19, 2015

Heat

I wish there was no heating in my apartment. What is nycha trying to do cook me?? I understand that it's cold outside and heating is a requirement from oct 1st but I'd appreciate an adiquite amount. I have to sleep in my living room with the air conditioner on. I can't even sleep on my own bed because it's so hot. Even when it's 60 something outside they have the heat on 80 or so. Not only is it not cost effective but it's probably not good for anyone's health. Dehydration and going from an oven to a fridge and back again isn't good and there are a lot of elderly folk in nycha
leopardprints Send email
 
Nov 2, 2015

Transfer request

After most of my household moved out of our 4 bedroom apartment I got a notice from NYCHA saying I needed to downsize and failure to downsize can result in an eviction. So I filed a transfer form, it's been over 2 months now and every time I go back to see my assistant she claims my papers are on her managers desk but she hasn't had a chance to sign them because they have more pressing issues. I know there's a bigger family out there dying for more space and can use that 4 bedroom apt. Plus is know some of these housing assistant be up to no good. They are gonna give me the run around and turn around and try to evict me and claim I never filed for a transfer. Can someone help me with this issue?
Donna w Send email
 
Sep 10, 2015

Nycha

I live in Marlboro housing for 1 year and i have cancer the walls are crack there have many problems. With this apartment. Call someone give me a call to help me with these problems. At 3472627927
Delene Lewis Send email
 
Jul 29, 2015

peeling paint and leaking toilet

I live in Moore houses and have lived there since 2013 since I've lived there I have had no paint job when I moved in the walls were badly peeling and moldy looking I have a six year old daughter and have repeatedly asked for this problem to be addressed as well as my toilet this problem is in my bedroom and bathroom yet no one has done anything all I keep being told is that they don't have enough staff to accompany my request which in no way is my fault or concern I would just like to have the work that's needed done on my apartment without the run around
brojpace1 Send email
 
Jul 26, 2015

HOLDOVER CASE

NYCHA IS AS DIRTY AS THE FILTH IN THE ELEVATORS AND HALLWAYS. I DO AGREE THAT ITS NOT ALL NYCHA'S FAULT...MANY OF THESE TENANTS AND OCCUPANTS ARE JUST AS DIRTY AS WELL!!!! I AM A REGISTERED OCCUPANT IN QUEENSBRIDGE NORTH HOUSES AND FACING EVICTION IN A HOLDOVER CASE. I CAME TO LIVE WITH MY ELDERLY, AILING AUNT WHO WAS ALL ALONE AND COULDN'T TAKE CARE OF HERSELF. I UNSELFISHLY GAVE UP THE APARTMENT I HAD TO COME STAY AND TAKE CARE OF HER. SADLY SHE PASSED ON TWO MONTHS AFTER MOVING IN. BEFORE SHE PASSED...I REQUESTED A PERMANENT APPLICATION TO BE PLACED ON HER LEASE, THAT SHE WAS OKAY WITH AT THE TIME. I RECEIVED THE APPLICATION, FILLED IT OUT, MY AUNT SIGNED IT AND I SIGNED IT. TURNED IT INTO THE MANAGEMENT OFFICE...AND WAS TOLD I WASN'T ALLOWED TO REQUEST PERMANENT STATUS. THEY WOULD ONLY ALLOW TEMPORARY CONSENT UP TO ONE YEAR. I HAVE AN APARTMENT APPLICATION ON FILE WITH NYCHA FOR THE PAST FIVE YEARS STILL WAITING FOR AN INTERVIEW, MY AUNT PASSED AWAY IN OCTOBER 2014...SINCE THEN I HAVE BEEN GOING BACK AND FORTH TO COURT AND HEARINGS AND BY GOD'S GRACE... I AM CURRENTLY STILL OCCUPYING THE APARTMENT. ITS VERY DISHEARTENENING THAT AN APARTMENT DEVELOPMENT I GREW UP IN AS AN ADOLESCENT, NOW WANTS TO EVICT ME AND MAKE ME HOMELESS AFTER RETURNING TO TAKE OF A SICK RELATIVE WHO HAS DIED. I AM PAYING USE AND OCCUPANCY, BUT ONLY HALF OF WHAT MY AUNT WAS PAYING SO I'D BE ABLE TO SAVE SOME MONEY FOR A ANOTHER PLACE. THE RENTS EVERYWHERE ARE SO DAMN HIGH!!! I DON'T EARN MUCH...AND HOPED THAT QUEENSBRIDGE NORTH WOULD TRY TO HELP ME SUCCEED MY AUNT'S LEASE. I CAN'T DO HOMELESSNESS. I NEED REAL HELP!!!
dnyce2487 Send email
 
Jul 20, 2015

Elevators always break down

Our elevators always break down and nycha does so little to fix them . I met a guy in the building who lives here but also works for nycha and said the guys who fix the elevators don't fully fix them so they get paid isn't that illegal there are handicap and elderly ppl in our buildin which is located on 595 Trinity ave bronx ny this is the worse especially now that summers here ppl can't leave or come and visit and I'm on a high floor there's 21 floors and I'm almost at the top so this sux especially for us high floorers
Cool_gurl88 Send email
 
Jul 2, 2015

Tenant harassment

This has been going on for quite sometime now. I have been living in nycha for years. I live under an old woman who has a
Grand child. For the last couple of years, everything it gets hot,
And everytime I turn on my a/c. She says hi to me when she sees me but confronts my husband when she sees him about my a/c leaking. It's to the point I called management yesterday and they said they were coming but never did. I purchased a fan just so I won't have to deal w the non sense. This woman has tried to get me evicted, by filing false complaints about me all because I won't pull my a/c in. She reported me to housing regarding the a/c and I'm tired of the none sense. I'm disabled pretty much, I have my own problems w nycha. Last thing I need is this foolishness. Since she knows everyone else's business she's been trying me for a while now. And I don't make friends where I live, I stay to my self and I don't bother any one. The prosperity manager said its because your air conditioner is not supposed to leak and the neighbors above me isn't supposed to leak ither. So I guess the water supposed to back up and flood the apt?? But yet they never showed up??? I told them I felt like I was being harassed by this woman and nothing gets done. I seriously want a transfer out because it's a constant issue. I'm very anti social and I live very privately for the simple fact I don't want to be the center of some ones gossip because in kingsborough once people know your business so will the whole neighbour hood. Please if any one has any advice please e mail me mocahbrown36@outlook.com
suzieferr Send email
 
May 20, 2015

nycha is always tryng to evict me

everytime i do a recert they claim at the managment office they either didnt get it or when they have they say they cant send ot through and i dont find out until after i get mptices in the mail..this jas been happening for over 5 yrs. when i go back to them they say they couldbt send it tbrough because 250 bdwy is evictng me but they are trying to evict me because they dont process my recert when they are suppose to. The last time i went to court tp handle everything after i got a 7 day notice to move out. I got an lawyer and she settle everything. Now all of a sudden they arecalling me again saying i was evicted over a yr ago and they are giving me 1 MONTH notice so i have to go to 250 bdwy. Because i never gave them my income.. and i told her i gave all of that already and have the stamp from whwn they recieved it and gave me.a cppy of it. Now they are saying no that was for you to add your children to the lease but i told it was also for that but to ipdate my records since they said theu disnt process it but they still didnt process it. Now im getting evicted

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Multichoice - Paying for something I do not have access to...
    Paying for something I do not have access to... I...
    Macys Worry No More Protection Plan - Waste of money
    I purchased a red leather sofa and love seat. The...
    Carls Jr - Inappropriate content
    I'm beyond tired of having these slutty, raunchy...
    All PCH games - Errors in games
    They're PCH is a computer. Hope everyone knows. It...
    StreaMate.com - STREAMATE WORSE AT EVERY DAY
    STREAMATE is a mess,the paradise of deceivers has until...
    PINNACLE FINANCIAL SERVICES - losss and loss
    They are bigger cheater , don't join the bloody...
    Dollar General - staff
    I had a coupon from the newspaper which was $1 savings...
    Celcom - Poor connection compared to few years ago
    5/6 years ago. Celcom had a very good line here at Kuala...
    DEPARTMENT OF LABOUR - This is not a complain, My marriage has been restored....
    My life was destroyed when my husband sent me packing,...
    CHEVROLET MOTORS WORLDWIDE LTD. - received sms
    I received bellow the sms my mobile Your Mobile No. Has...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Multichoice - Paying for something I do not have access to...
    Paying for something I do not have access to... I...
    Macys Worry No More Protection Plan - Waste of money
    I purchased a red leather sofa and love seat. The...
    Carls Jr - Inappropriate content
    I'm beyond tired of having these slutty, raunchy...
    All PCH games - Errors in games
    They're PCH is a computer. Hope everyone knows. It...
    StreaMate.com - STREAMATE WORSE AT EVERY DAY
    STREAMATE is a mess,the paradise of deceivers has until...
    PINNACLE FINANCIAL SERVICES - losss and loss
    They are bigger cheater , don't join the bloody...
    Dollar General - staff
    I had a coupon from the newspaper which was $1 savings...
    Celcom - Poor connection compared to few years ago
    5/6 years ago. Celcom had a very good line here at Kuala...
    DEPARTMENT OF LABOUR - This is not a complain, My marriage has been restored....
    My life was destroyed when my husband sent me packing,...
    CHEVROLET MOTORS WORLDWIDE LTD. - received sms
    I received bellow the sms my mobile Your Mobile No. Has...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username