Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Pimsleur Approach

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Pimsleur Approach

Thomas Murphy Send email
 
Jun 10, 2014

double billing

I ordered and paid for learn Spanish CDs. i am now(2014 being billed for the CDs purchased and paid for in 2012
bsewall Send email
 
Jun 16, 2012

Unwanted CD Set

I had the same problem as the previous complaints. I bought the discounted set and received it a few days later. Then, unexpectedly, a much bigger box of CD's arrived from Pimsleur a couple of weeks later. I never ordered those CD's. Note, I paid for the first set with a virtual credit card number that can be only used once. Now Pimsleur is sending me dunning notices telling me that I have to pay for the second set that I never ordered.

Do not buy from this company.
User930233 Send email
 
Apr 11, 2012

sending unwanted CD sets

I purchased the introductory CDs about 3 years ago and had no issues with billing or unwanted product. I hate to hear that people have had issues. I used it before my trip to visit my foreign in-laws and it helped me to communicate on a basic level but don't think you'll be reading and understanding at a fluent level in 10 days. That is a ridiculous assumption. Otherwise, I've had no issues.
User930026 Send email
 
Apr 11, 2012

Scam and lies

First comment. I ordered the free package from the spam email. The package arrived fairly quickly, but it was the gold package. I read the instructions, and tried to download the booklet from the web address given, but it did not download. I listened to a couple of lessons, and realised that I'd have to pay installments to keep the course. I emailed the company for a RMA code as directed on the web site, but received no reply within 24 hours apart from an automatic answer.
I telephoned the company and asked for an RMA, and was eventually given one after efforts were made to encourage me to keep the product.
I will return the product tonight, well within the 30 days allowed and the 10 days allowed for the RMA. I will post again here when I receive my refund (Or not) and if I am still charged for the course which I will have returned.
I don't recommend anyone to get involved with this product.
User927679 Send email
 
Apr 4, 2012

Pimsleur Approach is a Scam! Don't Buy!

I purchased the Introductory $10 version of the language lessons about a month ago and have not received anything else. I'll update this site if I do.
User924641 Send email
 
Mar 28, 2012

Scam and lies

They got me too. I told them I did not want it that I did not have the time and most importantly, I want it to return my order. They never send the UPS return number and charged me for the whole amount.
BEWARE. They will get you too.
User923516 Send email
 
Mar 26, 2012

sending unwanted CD sets

I have purchased from this company, and have recommended friends purchase also; the product I received was just as it was advertised, as were the three I recommended... Now that's not to say I was able to get those results, but as far as the company goes they were professorial and polite.
AblahH Send email
 
Mar 24, 2012

Scam and lies

So, i heard about the Pinsleur method and used it once before and loved it. Then found the ad online about the "discount" and fell for the people in charge of this scam and their way of using the Pimsleur product. I've tried to cancel my order but received the Gold edition anyways, so now I need to know how to get out of this mouthly payment scam before things get really out of hand and i have to pay more then i need for something i dont want anything to do with anymore.
MarkBo Send email
 
Mar 19, 2012

Scam and lies

Seems like we need to separate Pimsleur as a method of learning language from all these apparently crook re-sellers...

The Pimsleur method of learning another language is absolutely tried and true... Buying directly from Simion and Schuster for the full retail price allows you to know exactly what you are getting. The $9.95 bait-promo is a common way to "hook" unsuspecting customers who don't read the fine print... But all that "bait and switch" scamming has NOTHING TO DO WITH Pimsleur's materials or effectiveness in learning another language...

It is an EXCELLENT way to learn another language...
Squalid Send email
 
Mar 17, 2012

Pimsleur Approach is a Scam! Don't Buy!

I ordered an introductory CD for $9.95 then they sent me a huge box of lesson CDs that I did not order and charged me $65.00 for them. I called them to resolve the matter and they refused to refund me. The rep on the phone kept trying to sell me more discs. I had to get a new banking card so they would stop charging me.
Drtx Send email
 
Mar 17, 2012

Pimsleur Approach is a Scam! Don't Buy!

similar to my situation. I received the large box and did not want it, so it was marked return to sender and given to post office. my credit card was charged $65 twice a week apart and then a second package came and i took the same action. Again my card was charged twice for $65 each. My letter to them was not answered and my calls never got through. This is an inferior program to start with. When I went to Citi card, they refused to reverse the charges as the company insisted they had been ordered. The result is they had both the product and my $260. Stay away from them.
Irinairina Send email
 
Mar 16, 2012

sending unwanted CD sets

Well, thank you so much for information, bcs., I thought about use their offer, but now I would like to ask everybody, did you expect something better for $9. What are you, people think about...?
Nope101 Send email
 
Mar 15, 2012

Scam

Thought I only owed 1 small payment and just got a letter for money I owe and had no idea about not happy
Squalid Send email
 
Mar 15, 2012

Scam

I ordered an introductory CD for $9.95 then they sent me a huge box of lesson CDs that I did not order and charged me $65.00 for them. I called them to resolve the matter and they refused to refund me. The rep on the phone kept trying to sell me more discs. I had to get a new banking card so they would stop charging me.
RM Sahagun Send email
 
Mar 9, 2012

sending unwanted CD sets

DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY!! I REPEAT DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY!!! They will rip you off look at their home page and it tells you that for 9.95 you will get the following:
"• FREE SHIPPING (ships Next Business Day)
• Full 30-day money-back guarantee (just in case)
• 8 fluency-oriented language lessons on 4 CDs
• Entry in the Pimsleur Rapid Fluency Purchase Program
• Learn from a Native on CD audio, iPod or MP3
This is the worst company I have ever worked with. The customer service rep (an older lady sounding individual, woes horribly rude, even yelling at me over the phone at times. When you go to order on the next page it has the same information as the first page, which one believes to be an honest representation of the first page---that is the same information and deal. Therefore, one orders believing one will get the special rate deal. But this IS NOT THE CASE THEY WILL RIP YOU OFF AND FURTHER IN A MOMENT OF HEATED ANGER THE CUSTOMER SERVICE REP JUST SAID I AM SENDING YOU TO COLLECTIONS. HAVE A GOOD DAY. IS THIS THE TYPE OF COMPANY YOU WANT TO DO SERVICE WITH? NEVER!!! A GOOD SOLID HONEST BUSINESS ALWAYS TREATS THEIR CUSTOMERS WITH RESPECT AND SEEKS TO GAIN THIER LOYALTY. Pimsleur Approach NEVER DID ANY OF THIS.
Scam Companies Suck! Send email
 
Mar 9, 2012

sending unwanted CD sets

And they never will. I recommend you contacting the bbb or your attorney general as well as the Pennsylvania attorney general. This tactic is called bait and switch and is illegal. I would also recommend that you call Simon and Schuster who are the publishers of Pimsleur. They get your cc information and start charging you for things you did not order.
Elementalcobalt Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Scam and lies

I read this before even going to their site, but you guys trying to deal with them are just wasting time. Just file a credit card dispute with the credit card company to get the money back, keep their crappy gold program they sent you, change your credit card number, and move on with your lives. If they are this well known as scammers, trust me, your credit card company is aware of it and will bite the cost.
Mdj1266 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Scam and lies

Obviously a scam. I also recieved the "Gold" edition that I never was informed I was going to get, and they are supposedly going to start charging my card $64 per month. I attempted to contact them to ensure I was returning the CD's to the correct address, and the phone call would NEVER go though. Anyone out there have ANY luck returning the program and not getting charges to your account?
Teej42 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

shipped the 30-day trial "in error"

I am so glad I looked into this before ordering. Anytime something sounds too good to be true, it never fails to be exactly that...not true! Thanks for saving me that incredible anguish which obviously comes with the small loss of $10. I usually do the research first before I jump at an unbelievable offer, and this is a really good example of why that is such an important example to follow!
Read_The_Fine_Print Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Scam and lies

Most of you are complaining for no reason. The website clearly states that when you order the Quick & Simple you will start to receive next level Pimsleur Gold course in your selected language. This happens automatically . You can't claim that you didn't ask for the future shipments, because you do so by ordering the Quick & Simple. It also states that you have 30 days to cancel by calling 1-877-802-5283. It says If you decide to keep the course, simply do nothing and they will bill the same credit card provided 4 monthly payments of $64. They also state If you decide you do not want the course or any future courses, simply call 1-877-802-5283 to return it within the 30-day trial period and pay nothing except for the return shipping cost. It may be inconvenient for those that wish to cancel, but they are not tricking you or making fraudulent claims. (https://www.pimsleurapproach.com/about_the_program_acq026.html).
I can't believe some of the comments that deny ordering any future shipments. You need to grow up and be responsible for your actions. Not complain about everything that you don't get for free. Life is not like that. If you have trouble getting them to cancel, simply call your Credit Card Company and tell them to stop making payments. Better yet use a one time use credit card number that most credit cards offer on their websites.
Siagakoti Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Scam and lies

Hahaha. After reading all of this I called the customer care line, and they tried pretty hard to keep me on the bandwagon.
I had purchased both the Q&S Italian and German, and I wanted to not even both getting the trial. But, the woman (who "seemed" nice [but everyone knows that that is a reps job]) kept trying to tell me that they can help me focus on a particular language, and that there were other options. She took about ten minutes.
I just continued to tell her that I didn't want to get involved in the scamming mess that most agencies have, as much as she denied that *their* company was like that (yeah right).
So...if you do happen to read this, I personally recommend not getting involved and just to cancel the trial once you get your Q&S package, and hold your ground about canceling. These people can be persuasive, thus their job.
Stosh33 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Scam and lies

go to travis thydzik's blog and you can download these audio books for free. www.thydzik. why deal with the rip offs? F em
Peyton At Delphi Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Misleading website

I agree. I fell for the same hidden "Free trial". I'm working with them now to return the items, but I'll also be watching my credit card bills like a hawk!
Leyla And Her Two Daughters Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Misleading website

Misleading: I paid $9.95 for the basic Italian CDs. I did not see the little asterik that said I would then be enrolled in the Gold program. Shortly after receiving my basic CD - which I did not even have time to start - I got a package with the first Gold level Italian lesson. They write "Congradulation!" on the package. Congradulations for what? Being duped into receiving more than I wanted? It cost me $10.75 to return the package. So my basic Italian lessons cost me double what was advertised on their site. They should be upfront about the enrollment in the Gold learning program rather than sneak in a little symbol that is easy to miss.
Inou Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Misleading website

The Pimsleur Approach program is not a scam or fraudulent. Most of these comments don't even comment on the product itself, just issues people had with shipping, billing and things of the sort. If you want to comment on problems with that then there should be a separate topic based solely on that. I find it very ridiculous how people order things off the Internet without reading the terms and conditions and the fine print. IT"S OFF THE INTERNET PEOPLE!! You should take the time read them for a lot of the things your purchase. If after reading the terms and conditions, it would have been known that after purchasing the offer you would later be charged for future shipments and so on and so on. Don't just order things off the Internet just according to how you perceive it to be without actually reading the terms and conditions and say that you have been deceived or it's a fraud. Also when it comes to ordering products on line from the Internet or by call and pay by phone, I don't recommend it since too many people have issues. Which is why I recommend just getting it from Amazon or eBay. You get what you ordered with a greatly slighter chance of shipping problems and you don't have to worry about automatic recurrent payments.

Now to talk about the product and my personal experience with it, the Pimsleur Approach is real deal. It does exactly what it says it does. When I began taking French in high school i quickly saw that it was not very effective when it actually being able to use and communicate in the language. At first I decided to take french since it was a language I needed to learn and was thrilled at the opportunity of being able to do so.
Being Congolese, I come from a french speaking family and culture. Unfortunately, my parents never really spoke to me in french or in any of the other languages they knew. A reason for that would be for some reason there are some American doctors that tell foreigners not to teach their children their native language, because this is America they must speak English and too many languages being spoken at home will delay a child's development. And being foreign and seeing that this is being said by an AMERICAN doctor, they must be right therefore some comply.
So within the first few months of class I could pick up the material a little better than the others because I was already accustomed to hearing french so some of the stuff just clicked. But, it still was not enough. So I began searching for language learning software and programs that could help me out. None of them seemed to be efficient. Finally I came across Pimsleur. After trying it I could actually start conversing with my dad in french. My classmates began to see that I was actually somewhat of a french speaker and my teacher even commented several times that I should be in French 2 not French 1. Also on my trip to visit family members in Congo, many of them were surprised on how well my french was for an American and with no accent. Here in the states I attend mass in french, and even the fellow french and french speaking church goers noticed how well I am able to speak in french. Pimsleur Approach is definitely a great program, and I would highly recommend it.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    KFC Malaysia - no manners, poor service
    No manners, every time I go pack, that they will give me...
    NOKIA E5 - Mobile Lost
    IMEI 355949045476743 Color : Black Date of mobile lost:...
    cop@vsnl.net - lost cell Phone
    Mr. Nitin Damodar have lost Cell Phone on 10/9/14 at...
    banknotes Producers - Buy Real/Fake Passports,Driver’s License,ID Cards,Visas,...
    Buy Real/Fake Passports,Driver’s License,ID Cards,Visas,...
    P C Richard & Son - Disgusted In P C Richard and Son in Paramus NJ.
    Purchased a French Door Refrigerator Approximately less...
    Motorola - stolen of mobile
    Respected Sir, I have lost my mobile near Astha at...
    BEAMER URGENT CARE CLININ - HOW I GOT MY LOAN
    Hello, I am Maris Peters, currently living in Texas city,...
    BSNL / CellOne - Sim Card Registration failed
    I have cellone SIM whose number 9429533022. Whose says...
    Samsung - lost my mobail
    name: Dnyanoba nununche IMEI...
    PCH instant win games/Publisher's Clearing House - failure to 'receive tokens that I won
    PCH instant win games frequently stop and fail to deliver...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username