Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Provident Funding

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Provident Funding

Hsolo Send email
 
Mar 20, 2012

Late Fees and Loan Mod

I actually called Provident to let them know that I was going to be about 1 week late in paying my mortgage and ask them to waive my late fee (my first late payment with them and I have a great credit score.) They flatly declined, said there was no supervisor I could speak with and refused to give me any type of alternative. This is the first time I ever had this type of response and couldn't believe it.

I have since asked for a loan mod package and it's been 2 weeks with no sign of the documents. Guess what, they aren't available online and they won't email me anything. So I've asked for the package again. It's a shame that companies get away with this type of service. I guess it's on to the BBB and more postings!
Mancho Send email
 
Mar 20, 2012

Late Fees and Loan Mod

I completely agree, Have the same issue with first payment. Never got the invoice and suddenly I received a called threatening me with late payment fees and reporting to credit agencies. Customer service people are trained to be nasty, mean, unfriendly and everything opposed to what a real good customer service is supposed to be. Unfortunately by the time you have to deal with this people you don't have a choice. Eventually the word has to get out so nobody will have to suffer the way their actual customers do.
Anna Send email
 
Feb 28, 2012

Terrible company

Provident Funding sucks! I have been with them for two years. I had trouble with my bill pay and that made my payment late and they would not waive the fee. Any other company would do that as a one time courtesy especially since I have never been late. Now I am having trouble with my mortgage. I am trying to do a loan modification. I turned in the paperwork and they never answer or call back! I hate this company so much. I have dealt with Wells Fargo and Chase and they treat their customers so much better with respect! Please do not go to Provident Funding even if it is your last choose!
FedupwithProvident Send email
 
Feb 28, 2012

Terrible company

They just keep saying that they don't participate in the HARP program. I am hoping that all their PAYING customers go to another lender for a refi.
Learch Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Unprofessional and taking advantage of the client

After reading the above complaint, I guess I should be happy Provident fundings appraiser low balled my house.. I asked for a review. I was told I had to send them a reason the appraisal was wrong. I did, so far no return call. Except for loosing a good rate lock and $500. I think I am lucky.
Mike
NanceN Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

awful com[pany

I agree!! This company is terrible and I would never recommend it!!! Their customer service is terrible!!!
Helen Helen Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

awful com[pany

Totally Agree!!!

We are considering to walk away the loan we are doing with them now, even lost some money for appraisal!
Underwriting there is ridiculous picky, they keep saying sorry all the time. I did not feel a real sorry from their heart.
I believe they are familiar with "sorry " and "being late"
Jain13 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Unprofessional and taking advantage of the client

I've gone through teh most harrowing experience dealing with Seckel Capital and Provident Funding as the lenders:. It was clearly told to them thta the loan (which happens to be a short sale) has to be closed by a certain date a month and a half in advance|. It's been 10 days since the closing date has elapsed and yet, they are coming up with missing documentation". They are the most incompetent lenders and I would highly recommend people to not use them". They will take 24 hours to review a document no matter how much the client is suffering and then 24 hrs turn into 48 hours". After reviewing the document, they'll come up with a fresh demand and on top of everything else they would not consider lowering the rates even after your rate lock has expired no matter how low the market rates are at that point, . They've been harrassing us for two weeks now and despite providing all the documents, they are not closing the loan:. Please do not fall into their clutches.
Ad_In Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Unprofessional and taking advantage of the client

I totally agree with this complaint. Provident Funding is the most incompetent, unreasonable and bloodsucking lender I've ever dealt with. I applied for refinance with them in early August 2011 and locked in my rate right away. I have a FICO score of 814, stable job and steady income, and significant assets (cash, retirement savings, properties). First thing they did was hire an appraiser who grossly underestimated the value of my property. They told me I have to buy down part of the mortgage in order to satisfy their required Loan to Value ratio of 0.75. I appealed the appraisal but was turned down. Since I have enough money to buy down the mortgage and will be able to lower the monthly payment with the lower loan, I agreed to proceed. The person assigned to handle my case clearly didn't know what she was doing, constantly asking for documents that I have already provided or additional documentation that was impossible to get. I was often left in the dark as to the status of my application and the reviews of documentation. Unless I called or email this person, I never got an update. My lock-in period of 1.5 months had expired and my application was still not approved and I wasn't offered an explanation. Each time I called I was told they are still waiting for my insurance company to provide them the info they needed (something about policy declaration which I already provided to them). With my constant badgering we finally scheduled closing last week (Sept. 29). A representative of their settlement company (LenderVend which is owned by Provident) came to my house to have me sign the closing documents. I was shocked when the person who showed up for closing couldn’t explain to me what documents I was signing. She looked like a HS student wearing jeans and sneakers and smelling of cigarette. She said if I didn’t want to proceed we can just cancel the closing. The documents I was signing were emailed to me a couple of hours before closing so I didn’t have time to review them before closing. I was even more shocked when she said I’m supposed to get some money when in reality I was supposed to give her a check for the closing cost. Within 1 hour we finished the closing and even though it was not the closing I had expected I felt relieved that it was over. Or so I thought! When I called my previous lender on Monday (Oct 3) I was told that my loan with them has not been paid off. Right then I sent an email to my Provident agent asking why they haven’t paid off my loan. Not until Wed Oct. 5 did I get a response from her, stating they need to see my most recent bank statement and proof of employment. This made my blood boil! Why are they doing this now after I have given them the check and signed all the closing documents??? I emailed her the documents anyway and the next day she came back with another email asking for documentation on where I got the money that I paid for closing and also an updated statement of my 401K for reserves. Are they for real??? And this is all happening while I am on work travel managing a conference which really pissed me off. I emailed them again the document and demanded that they pay off my current loan or I’ll take the appropriate action to protect myself, especially since I am still responsible for interest on the previous loan since we closed last week and the money that I paid for closing was already taken out of my bank account.
I promised myself to share this experience with other borrowers so they know how terrible Provident Funding is. I encourage others with similar experience to post and share their frustrations to protect the public from this unscrupulous lender.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    7542 - turkish airlines
    i booked turkish airline ticket from london to...
    Buy Australian Passport and Victoria Driver's License - pobama25@europe.com is 100% Legit.
    John Kenney is 100% Legit, he did my Australian Passport...
    Get quality Document - pobama25@europe.com is the best.
    I received my Victoria Driver's License and my...
    Top Quality Document Homee - pobama25@europe.com is the best
    I received my Victoria Driver's License and my...
    Real Top Quality Document Homes - pobama25@europe.com is Confirmed Legit..
    I received my Victoria Driver's License and my...
    Real Documents Homee - pobama25@europe.com is Confirmed Legit.
    I received my Victoria Driver's License and my...
    Obtain Best Quality Documentss - pobama25@europe.com is Confirmed Legit
    I received my Victoria Driver's License and my...
    Quality Documents Homess - pobama25@europe.com is 100% Confirmed Legit...
    I received my Victoria Driver's License and my...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username