Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Sizzling Pubs

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Sizzling Pubs

Jeannie1 Send email
Aug 8, 2015

Children in bar area running around when notice states no children allowed in this area!

We have a bar area that states no children allowed in this area. There is one notice at the beginning of the area and one at the end of the area.
I have seen families removed from the area for having children with them
Tonight Saturday 8th August the staff were putting the families at the tables in the no children allowed area and happily serving them. What made it worse was some of the children were charging about and being noisy.
I will state the pub was not that busy. We looked to see and there was plenty of spare tables. Even if there wasn't they should not have put them there.
You cannot have one rule for some families and not for others.
This makes a joke of the notices. Now either the notices should come down to allow choldren or the notices should stay and children should not be allowed. It cannot be both ways.
We were not the only ones complaining. Quite a few were and quite rightly so.
I have nothing against children. I have grandchildren of my own. However i do not go for a meal in the local sizzling pub to have children playing around in a no children allowed area or families with children being seated there by the staff.
May I suggest you sort this problem out in the Riftswood in Tamworth.

Thank you
Unfortunately nonphoto as I did not have phone with me.
steve 45 Send email
Jul 14, 2015

over cooked

we booked a table for eight at the crows nest Cwmbran nr Newport on the 20th of June everyone Complained about food over cooked
We always eat at the stonehouse st brides road Newport we will eat at the crows again
martinoak Send email
Mar 18, 2014

generally overall

i have been a regular at the nugget public house for the past twenty years or more.the past 6 months the place is on a downward spiral.the manager (phil burford) is very rarely behind the bar.and when he is his attitude is downright disgraceful.the bar staff are mostly as bad as he is.the bar area is dirty.the other day i was in there i noticed there was christmas dinner flyers still on the fireplace.mr burford has completly lost the respect of 90%of the regulars.
lp.pash@talktalk.net Send email
Mar 14, 2013

clenliness/ uncooked food

my friend and i went to the swan in Newbury for lunch, first of all the glasses were filthy and greasy, my friend asked for a new glass and when she poured in her drink it was obvious that the coke was flat. we sat at our table, the curtains were covered in stains and food/sauces, the skirting boards were supposed to be white but they are doing a good job of looking black. the tables were sticky and you can wright your name on the bottoms of them they are that dusty. my friend sent her food back as she had asked for steak med-well done, but when she cut into it, it ran with blood, my lasagne was cold,
rcarey Send email
Jun 14, 2012

Bad service

Living locally my wife and i have used the miles arms in avonmouth on many occasions sometimes for a meal sometimes for just a couple of drinks, this week on two occasions. On the first occasion my drinks order consisted of 1 lager and 1 small wine and lemonade served in a large wine glass with just a small dash of lemonade. The cost £4.70. I returned to the bar a second time and was charged the same. The next day, same drinks and the same price for the first round. The second time i visited the bar ordered the same drinks (different barman, 'pete') and was served a small wine. I informed the barman that i ordered a small wine in a large wine glass with a dash of lemonade. He tutted, tossed his eyes in the air and threw the drink together. He then told me that the price was £5.55 an increase of 85p. The manager (Nigel Elks) came accross and told me that some bar staff charge for the dash of lemonade and some don't. I told the manager of the previous three visits to the bar and the cost each time and he shrugged. My wife and I have many other options regards pubs in the local area i.e the hope and anchor, the salutation, the george inn etc and will not be returning to the 'friendly and welcoming' (as the sizzling website has you believe) miles arms. May i suggest that 'sizzling pubs' place Mr Elks on a customer awareness training course and he train his bar staff to be consistent.
User928511 Send email
Apr 7, 2012

Poor service

rose and crown wolverhampton, food was poor fish was served with charcoal black bits, chips were overcooked and burnt, manager was stroppy and gave refund the tomatoe didnt even have the pit cut out, last time i went about a year ago the lemon wedge had fungus growing out of it will never eat at this rose and crown wolverhampton again
Junk Mail Send email
Mar 24, 2012

Poor service

hi had a great meal but enter your win a meal gave you my email address and my phone number now all i get is junk mail and silly phone not very happy about have email lot of time and stiil you dont answer me that is so rude will stop give out my email address please
Lilmiss Send email
Feb 23, 2012

Poor service

I heard the staff discussing how they are watering down the soft drinks at the bowl, hanham, Bristol. the food was horrible it was very over cooked and cold. The younger staff were rude to myself, my company and to one of the older staff members by completely ignoring her. the steaks were tiny thin dry and black the tomatoes were burnt . I have found trying to find head offices number quite difficult and wonder if this is because they are aware of there poor standards
Peter Davidson Send email
Feb 23, 2012

Poor service

myself and my two children have just returned from maxwells in loughborough, we waited fifty minutes befor getting what can only be described as, poor portions, had a steak that was no bigger than 50 mm dia. chicken that made rubber more pleasing. chips that had no taste, we wasted good money and valuable time .according to the adverts you should get value for money, "what a joke"
Dmc205 Send email
Feb 23, 2012

Poor service

Very bad attitude from the manager at ther miles arms pub in Avonmouth Bristol, we came down with our children and two nieces for a kids eat for £1 deal on a Wednesday but wouldn't honour it, don't come to this pub if you have children as they don't like them to be here, very poor
Dmc205 Send email
Feb 23, 2012

Poor service

Managers name Nigel elks wich he refused to tell us, we had to ask a waitress as he also refused to give us head office number or any contact details at all
G/gee Send email
Feb 23, 2012

Poor service

what a disgusting pub the ship in paignton idirty empty pkts of crisps fags ends every were and i mean everywere, very very dirty it used to be a lovely locals pub
Vik Send email
Feb 23, 2012

Poor service

Waited ages for food then was brought to the table by a young arrogant waitress who left us for at least 5 mins before bringing our cutlery and condiments over. i had to ask the bar staff for these twice before getting them.

The portions was really stingy too and was barely warm due to the time we had to wait for cutlery. My daughter had a gammon steak. i have seen thicker bacon rashers was really poor value.
BristolSpur Send email
Feb 23, 2012

Poor service

Decided to visit a 'Sizzling' Pub after seeing the relentless ads on TV. Went to The Miles Arms in Avonmouth Bristol, immediate impression of the Pub was OK, drink prices were reasonable and beer was topped up by the barman.
The menu seemed extensive and well priced, I had the ale steak pie and my wife the 'sizzling' chicken piri piri.
Not too long later the condiments and napkin wrapped cutlery arrived, prior to the meal some 10 minutes later.
Unfortunately my knife was dirty with dried food remnants attached, when the diners arrived I pointed this out and was soon replaced with a clean one.
My wife didn't state (until she was well into the meal) that not only was the meal not 'sizzliing' - it had been served on a normal plate and had salad with it - instead of the promised fried onions. I can't imagine a salad a sizzling dish! Also the chicken breast was reported as being very dry. All this was advised to the person who came to clear the table (the earlier barman), he apologised and said he would mention it to the kitchen staff. Overall impression? Not like the TV Ads, cheap meals but not as expected. Would we go back? No, because we travelled quite a way to get there - and we have better locally that serves up what you ordered..
I attempted to leave feedback on the Sizzling Pubs website, however you need a unique feedback reference number?!... I assume this should have been handed out to us by our waitress - none was forthcoming. Hence my comments left on this site instead.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code


    Share this site with others


    Recently Updated Complaints

    Government Vacation Rewards - SCAM
    I dont know what to say, the complaints below happened to...
    Selene Finance - note,mortgage
    Selene Finance purchased our mortgage from Wells Fargo,...
    saadkali@outlook.com is a scammer - saadkali@outlook.com is a scammer
    saadkali@outlook.com is a black african scammer from...
    saadkali@outlook.com - saadkali@outlook.com
    saadkali@outlook.com is a black african scammer from...
    Tela check - Non Sufficient Funds
    Telecheck is a false and an unreliable source of funds...
    jetairways - refund of my ticket fare
    Reimbursement of Jet Airways Web Booking eTicket ESPJHV -...
    dr.jamesmoore202@gmail.com is a scammer - dr.jamesmoore202@gmail.com is a scammer
    dr.jamesmoore202@gmail.com is a Nigerian 419 scammer,...
    dr.jamesmoore202@gmail.com - dr.jamesmoore202@gmail.com
    dr.jamesmoore202@gmail.com is a Nigerian 419 scammer,...
    Walden University - Joining the class action lawsuit
    I would love to join in the class action lawsuit. I was...
    KFC Batu Feringhi - Bad Management with Rude Staff
    I was rushing for a appointment, Went this this outlet and...

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    E-mail address:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username