Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Straight Talk

United States,

Consumer complaints and reviews about Straight Talk

foodlady1 Send email
Oct 10, 2016


I had a problem with my cell phone with outgoing and incoming calls, while I was traveling. I called and talked to a rep who insisted I tell him my location, I was in Ft.Lauderdale airport. I had to go ask the ticket agent to give me the airport complete address to give the rep who told me my phone could not be used in that area. I asked for a supervisor and after a while I talked to one, who told me my SIM card was bad and they could send me one in 2 days. When I returned home I went to Wal-Mart and brought a new SIM card only to be told it could not be used for my phone. On Sunday morning was the final straw, I called and spoke to Mary Jo who insisted that I had to wait for the new SIM card to arrive and nothing could be done. I had an old Sprint phone that I had used on Straight Talk that I asked her to add back, she refused and said that the device was not compatible, so again I asked to speak to a supervisor. This Mary Jo flat out told me she would not let me speak to a supervisor and refused to transfer me, I told her that in my 30+ years in Customer Service I have never heard of that not happening, she finally transferred me to a gentleman name Murphy, when I asked his position he stated Agent. After going back and forth with him and hanging up and he calling me back I finally got to talk to a manager named Anna. Her question was why didn't I let Murphy help me, I had to explain to her that I wanted a supervisor but he identified himself as an Agent. When I told her the call was being recorded as it was, she changed her tone. Murphy did help me get the Sprint phone activated so I can have service, but the Customer Service at this company stinks. I don't know who Mary Jo is, but she should be fired, you never tell a customer you will not transfer them to a supervisor. Today, I'm looking to change services.
MLD Send email
Oct 8, 2016

Horrendous Customer Service

Don't order a phone from them. Customer service is horrendous.I ordered a phone online and have had a very unpleasant experience.


They promise delivery sooner than actual. They promise free delivery and then put delivery restrictions making delivery difficult and doubling the time for receipt of product.

When I purchased one month of service along with the phone, I was advised by online sales rep that I could carry forward unused time for lost phone; Not true.

The customer reps all lie and claim to be supervisors. Not true. They spend a lengthy time on phone promising to help and then they do nothing.

A service pin is required for activation yet after I bought one month of service along with the phone, none is provided. Cant complete activation. Rep said I had to purchase again.

Worst of all they sent a supposedly new unrefurbished phone yet the package contained a wrong size back cover. They have no interest in accommodating a customer. They wont overnight ship the correct component and require me to return the phone that will leave me without service for another couple weeks.

After I research my options and the appropriate agency for complaint, I will report them to federal agencies such as Federal Trade Commission and/or Federal Communications Commission, and/or any relevant consumer complaint organization for misleading the customer. I suggest others do the same. Power in numbers. If I had foresee these problems I would never have ordered from them and wasted so much time without a badly needed phone...

cpettis48 Send email
Sep 27, 2016


santhony36 Send email
Sep 20, 2016

Phone order wrong

I Ordered a phone going by my zip code I need Verizon phone they send AT&T phone and now say I have to pay for shipping back that's bull shit I will never order a phone from them again they may as well shut down that useless website !!! go by your phone for straight talk at Walmart why pay shipping from theses Idiots thanks for nothing
Adenareeves51 Send email
Sep 13, 2016

MEID database is incorrect

so i am NOT a straight talk customer i have always been happy with Verizon... That being said tonight at 7pm I received a call from a unknown number and wen I answered the phone the caller said he was a officer and that he was calling to get his stolen galaxy 7 he said that straight talk told him i changed the number 5 minutes prior to his call to me... Which is a total LIE.. I told him he was wrong or miss dialed the number straight talk told him. My phone is a iphone 5 and the number has been on a Verizon contract for going on 4 years now... Anyway I thought that would be the en of that right... Wrong... A short time later my phone rings and again another unknown number so I answered and its a girl yelling at me and demanding my name and tellimg me i stole her galaxy 7 tellimg me that i was at a store she works at today accusing me of theft!!! I hung up and called the police department in the area the phone was stolen from and got no help from them either because they think I stole the phone as well because straight talk says the MEID number on my Phone was reported stolen... The girl has called me over 80 times threatened my life and called me so many things I do not deserve!!! Straight talk even called and argued with me and calling me a liar wen i told her that my phone is a iphone 5 NOT a galaxy 7 and even though I can prove that my number has been the same for 4 years on a Verizon contract and even show the bill of sale for the iphone 5 im using.... This is outrageous and something I should never have to go through!!! I'm so upset!! Straight talk needs to get their shit together!!! There is no reason my iPhones MEID number or my number that belongs to a Verizon wireless contract to even be in their database I shouldn't be dealing with this straight talk has caused me so much trouble and stress!!! Im not stopping with this post regarding this problem!! I will talk to someone about this and clear my name of this shit!!!
Colleen51665 Send email
Sep 4, 2016

Phone won't activate after restore

I had to do a restore on my phone I did the factory restore and now it's telling me I need a special ial code to activate my phone. I've had this Motorola moto E for a year and it won't allow me to get passed the activation screen it has a message saying mobile network not available. I called straight talk and after an hour and a half of not knowing what they are doing the rep tells me to get a new phone and hangs up. Now I have no phone at all. If anyone knows how to fix this please help.

Thanks Colleen
rbrett Send email
Aug 30, 2016

Incompetent Customer Service Personnel

My phone stopped charging so I called the customer service department which determined a "NEW PHONE" would be issued. But, before that could happen they would send me a package so I could in turn send them my old phone via Fed-Ex. I complied and they sent me a "NEW PHONE". Turns out, their package sent from Doral, Florida to Memphis, TN, was received opened without any contents. I was informed by straight talk representatives that I would receive a "NEW PHONE" by Tuesday this week. Today is Tuesday, and NO PHONE. So I called the customer service department and asked where my "NEW PHONE" is and they were using the OLD tracking number to track my "NEW PHONE". I spent hours on the phone with folks who reside in the Phillipines and they are the WORST customer service department. I asked to speak with managers and I was transferred to folks who speak broken English at best. BUT TO TOP OFF EVERYTHING - they deactivated my phone that I was using as I wait for my "NEW PHONE" to be delivered. I asked to be transferred to a person in Miami, Florida and was told they couldn't assist me. WHAT AM I GOING TO DO NOW THAT MY PHONE HAS BEEN DEACTIVATED BEFORE THE EXPIRATION DATE? I USE THIS PHONE FOR BUSINESS YOU ARE COSTING ME MONEY. 808-348-6127.
karla1 Send email
Aug 27, 2016

product and customer service

First my phone quits working after having it only about 4 months! Then I get the run around with the automotive system BC it hangs up on u every time u try to get to a repersentive! Then I tell the customer rep I want my old number when I finally get through I want to keep my old number and I end up with a new number! I call back and the girl trys to change it but I had to hang up and restart my phone it was not my old number! Then I call the third time and the girl tells me to call back on a different phone and then I did. Then I'm told I need to wait for a new sims card in 7 to 10 days before I can get my old number! At this point I'm discussed and ask to speak to a supervised and he ignored my issues all through the call! I even asked him a question and he didn't respond! I ask him to transfer me to complaints and he says he will but all I got was a recording about track phones and it hung up on me! I called back and said I wanted to speak to a supervised that knows what they r doing and he sent me to a guy that just repeated everything I knew and didn't even acknowledge my complaint!!! I give kodos to the first rep that he was friendly and personable, but everyone else had no personality!!! I work 3 jobs I had to call off 1 just to get my phone number changed to be told I still couldn't do it! and after 5 calls I asked for a direct phone number to put in a serious complaint and they had none! Only a address to take time to write a letter that I don't have time to do! I'm really discussed with straight talk! If I had the money to get a new phone and service I would asap! As soon as I can though I will no longer be a straight talk customer! I know good customer service is hard to come across but any other service would be better than straight talk!!!!
Rukkaboi Send email
Aug 24, 2016

Scammed By Straight talk

First I would like to say that I am starting a lawsuit against Straight Talk Wireless if you would like to be a part of this lawsuit please contact me at DRucker615@gmail.com This is the worst company ever and they are scam artist. And I advise anyone if you are thinking about switching to Straight Talk think again. A joint Straight Talk on July 30th with the $50 10 gigabyte plan on August 5th I received a text saying that I had exhausted all 10 gigabytes of data. This is impossible because 75% of the time I'm connected to Wi-Fi I switch to Straight Talk Wireless from another company in which I only had 4 gigabytes of data. Out of two years of being with that company not once did I exceed those for gigabyte. I called Straight Talk and explain this to them customer service was rude very uncomfortable and unwilling to compensate me for my lost in any way. They told me that I use the data and that's just what it was going to be. After arguing with them for 2 days I just gave up and said they got that. Next problem. On August 17th I wake up and my phone is turned off. I called Straight Talk and ask them why my phone is cut off and my bill is not due until the 22nd of August. They asked me for my phone number and look into my account. They say that they cannot find the number and asked me for my IMEI number. I give them the IMEI number and they tell me yes that I have an active account and my bill is not due until the 22nd of August however there is a different number assigned to my account. Basically what Straight Talk did was cut my phone off take my number and reassigned it to someone else without my permission. I asked for my number back they said that was not optional and the number was no longer available to me. After arguing for hours again with them I finally gave up again. So yesterday August 22nd my bill was due. I waited until today to pay my bill because if you pay your bill early with Straight Talk you will lose all remaining days of your plan. After I paid my bill on August 23rd which is today. I checked my account online and was shocked to find out that they were saying that I had exhausted my data already again as of August 22nd. How can I exhaust my data on the 22nd when I did not purchase the data to the 23rd. So I call Straight Talk and ask them to resolve this issue and again even though they are clearly wrong they are unwilling to give me my data back. They told me to wait 24 hours and I will see a reflection on my account with my data restarting back at zero. So I wait a few hours and I check my account again. Now my account is saying that I paid my bill on August 22nd which I did not. So straight talk is trying to cover up their mess up by saying I paid my bill early so they can say that I used my data before I received it and they do not have to give me my data back. However before I even call Straight Talk I screenshot all of my account information before and after. So I have the documentation showing that I paid my bill today and I have the documentation showing where they changed it and try to say I paid my bill yesterday. This is not acceptable and straight talk will not get over on me. If you feel the same way please email me and my lawyers are getting ready to start a mass tort litigation against straight talk if you do not know what a mass tort litigation is it is when Super Lawyers go after bad companies.
NUNYO Send email
Aug 17, 2016

Useless customer service WTF

We have been with straight talk for years.No problems.Was looking for an I phone through straight talk,found one at Walmart,there were issues,anyways they took my money then they told me the product was out of stock.
Thought to call straight talk and order from them directly. I explained that I wanted a phone and not the card,already bought one 3 days prior. "I just want the phone!" He told me the total would be 154.99 . No email confirming my order,then when I went to track my order on the site.It said the total was $210!!!!!!!!Of course the dumb ass added the card!!!!!!When I called customer service to refund the money,they told me no.not until I refuse delivery of the package and it is delivered back to straight talk then refund will be reviewed.
STRAIGHT TALK AND WALMART STOLE ALMOST $400 FROM ME IN ONE DAY.NEVER AGAIN!!!!!!!! Of course look who I'm talking about.
YouPissedOffTheWrongGuy Send email
Jul 2, 2016

No Service - No Assistance - No Refund!

Call Stephanie (Reception) at Tracfone Corporate (Straight Talk Wireless is owned/operated by Tracfone) @ 305-715-6500 and ask to speak with Gustovo Blanco - (one of the directors according to FL Secretary of State) His assistant - Nicole would not allow me to speak with him directly, however she directed me to Perline (305-715-6526) (allegedly a Corporate level (escalations) Customer service rep). I am still waiting for a resolution.

I have dedicated 35+ hours attempting to resolve the false advertising claims (unlimited data, talk, text) at this point its been 29 days with non-existent to marginal service, (if calls dropping after 2-3 mins, phone not ringing, phone not placing calls, and texts not sent/received, and forget accessing email, webpages, or using internet based apps throughout the upper Midwest can be considered marginal service) My first 19 days were completely without data service allegedly due to the fact, I did not request my line to be "properly provisioned".
Additionally my service connectivity issues are not caused by my phone, it works flawlessly with a Verizon SIM card. (I've checked) It is not the service area, unless the entire southern half of Minnesota and ALL of Iowa, and Eastern North & South Dakota, are considered dead zones.

The Philippines based call centers are a stopgap to intentionally delay remedy to poor to non-existent service allegedly offered by this fraud of an organization. All the Philippines agent know how to do is tell you to turn your phone off and back on, or remove/install the sim card. These agents will directly lie to you and provide deliberate false information.

I.e - When I asked the alleged senior floor manager (Annabelle - Agent ID CEB1ANALYOS) in the Phillipines to speak with her superior, she claimed she is the highest level manager, however with more insistent questions on my part, she claimed her superior's name is Rain (Reighn?) and and refused to transfer the call allegedly due to the fact Rain was assisting other agents/customers.

However, when I continued to ask and insisted to speak with Rain or his superior, she claimed, Rain does not take calls, and is "only there to assist agents with customer issues", further in to her web of lies, she claimed Rain was not in the office on the date of my call. (also Rain was allegedly not in the office on the previous day according to Mary - Agent ID 518272, and Roglin, and Joey - Senior Floor manager. Also according to Joey, Rain's Superior (operations director) is Irene, but she does not take calls, nor has a phone number, email address, or any rational means of contact, either internally or externally)

When I called Annabelle out on her web of lies and stated both statements she has provided can not at the same time be true, she claimed her previous statements were not lies. (Lies about the previous lies)

I have no time for lairs and do not tolerate being directly lied to and having my time deliberately wasted by these degenerate and grossly incompetent call center agents.


If Tracfone is in the business of selling a service, deliver the service, and if you fail to deliver the service, I expect a refund! It is simply that simple!

Feel free to republish this information everywhere as deemed appropriate to put an end to this fraud.


allegedly one of the "top dogs" Karen Calderon, and her email is kcalderon@tracfone.com -

Keva M Hall - 305.715.6673 - kbygrave@tracfone.com

Perline - 305-715-6526
Delphine Bailey - 305-715-6581 ext. 11

Technical Support manager is Donovan at 305-715-6500 ext. 3912


TracFone Wireless, Inc.
9700 NW 112th Ave | Miami, FL 33178

Foreign Profit Corporation
Filing Information
Document Number
FEI/EIN Number 65-0655753
Date Filed 10/10/2007
State DE

Principal Address: 9700 NW 112TH AVE. | MIAMI, FL 33178
Mailing Address: 9700 NW 112TH AVE.| MIAMI, FL 33178

Registered Agent Name & Address

Officer/Director Detail
Name & Address

Title D

JIMENEZ, ALEJANDRO C (According to Stephanie at reception this director does not work/direct, and never has, at TRACFONE WIRELESS, INC.)

9700 NW 112TH AVE.
MIAMI, FL 33178

Title D, T

BLANCO, GUSTAVO - (assistant - Nicole)
9700 NW 112TH AVE.
MIAMI, FL 33178

Title D

Cortez Gomez, Salvador Francisco
9700 NW 112TH AVE.
MIAMI, FL 33178

Title S

9700 NW 112TH AVE.
MIAMI, FL 33178

Title Director

Aboumrad, Daniel Hajj
9700 NW 112TH AVE.
MIAMI, FL 33178
bboyett152 Send email
Jun 29, 2016

worst company ever

Straight talk just straight up screwed me out my data. My phone gets shut off on the 17th of every month. Well I went and purchased my new phone card on the 17th and re activated it. Well its been 11 days and I hardly ever use my data unless I really really need it. I have used it maybe 3 times for few mins. And make sure I turn it off. Well they are trying to say I've used all my freaking data which is total bs. Worst company ever. I advice everyone to stay away from straight talk they screw you over multiple times and try to say the can't help u.. This is bs.
Rachaeldun Send email
Jun 22, 2016

Worst company

My name is Racheal....I purchase a iPhone 5s from Walmart....my phone was damage so I called straight talk they told me to send it back....I paid the $50 deductable.... I received the label and sent the phone back on 5/25/2016....today is 6/21/2016...and I still haven't receive my phone as yet....everyday I called and it's the same bull shit....no one to really help me just a bunch of stupid customer service representative... I'm tired of the run a round....I'm sick of all this shit ....I HATE STRAIGHT TALK...I need my damn phone....
bailster Send email
May 16, 2016

Still waiting for replacement phone. Straight Talk

Bought a ZTE phone in January 2015. March 2015 the phone would not charge. Called Straight talk and was told to send phone back with their mailed return label. Received their return mailing label and mailed out my phone to them. I received conformation from USPS that they received my phone. I called customer service and asked when would I receive my replacement phone. I was told 1 week from the time they received my returned phone. Well it's been a month and with multiple calls lasting an hour or more 3 days a week from me to Straight talk all get is the same old story.... " We'll send out your replacement phone when one is available. We don't have your replacement phone in our warehouse." WHAT? I contacted the BBB and wrote to my Florida congressman. Shaddy Company. I do not recommend this cell company.
Linalove Send email
May 6, 2016

Service expected from a

**READ BEFORE BUYING** I got a Straight Talk/Tracfone about 2 years ago and I didn't have many problems other than dropped calls but understood because I live on a mountain outside a city. I bought the insurance thankfully as a few months later I dropped my phone into a glass of soda making the insides sticky and unusable. I called to let them know and was given the exact price of phone, a code to go online or into Walmart and purchase another phone at equal price or pay the difference. No problem. Phone came in mail 3 days later with everything as it did when I bought it. In Nov. 2015 I bought a new phone from Walmart with insurance and the phones screen went white and was completely unusable. I called for a replacement on Feb. 23 and finally received one on March 15. By the end of the month the same thing happened with the replacement. April 3 call for replacement and was told again a replacement would be sent within the 'week' and a bag to return the phone. On April 13 I receive only a fedex bag to send the phone so I send both since I was never sent one nor even had a chance to send back the other. 2 days later it was received and signed for by them. So, now it's May 5 and still no replacement and I'm sometimes told it will be here 2 days from the day I'm calling or better yet my package wasn't received and my favorite. It still hasn't left the wherehouse! Not to mention the entire month of no phone I was not allowed to be refunded nor even the original option of picking another phone. So I've been waiting for over a month now! And to even remotely speak to someone that is either kind, knowledgeable or my by guess told to lie is the worse business practice I have encountered since a drunk employee on his last day. I have now contacted the BBB and FTC and tomorrow the Attorney General of FL. I suggest that any and every one having these issues to also do the same until they are forced to clean up their business practices or shut down!I am so livid (obvious by my rant) that I am seriously considering informing a lawyer to open another class action lawsuit. By all the complaints I've seen here and elsewhere I know there is more then plenty enough evidence and disgruntled customers.
fuckstraighttalk Send email
Mar 9, 2016


Help For Others/ Contact Information
This information has helped me when no one helps at straight talk and no one seems to care or want to help. I have spent well over 5 hours on the phone with Straight Talk and gotten nowhere. You have to go to the "big dogs" with these guys. Straight Talk conventional support will not do anything but read from a script. Especially if you want a refund or a number transferred. Also, important to note that Straight Talk is owned and operated by Tracfone located in Miami, Florida -- TracFone Wireless, Inc., 9700 NW 112th Ave, Miami, Florida, 33178

Main phones and fax for corporate office in FL -- 800 876 5753 x 6175

305-715-6500 x 6175

fax 305-715-6737

Karen Calderon is one of the "top dogs", and her email is kcalderon_AT_tracfone.com

Keva M. Hall --

Keva M Hall

Manager, Customer Care
TracFone Wireless, Inc.
9700 NW 112th Ave | Miami, FL 33178
O: 305.715.6673 | F. 1-800-821-0216

The customer service manager in Miami is Pearline, direct number is 305-715-6526 and the other manager is Delphine Bailey 305-715-6581 ext. 11

Technical Support manager is Donovan at 305-715-6500 ext. 3912

FJ Pollack is the CEO and Richard Salzman is on the board of directors. Their numbers are not given out, but you can call this number -- 305-640-2000 and ask for them directly. Also you can ask for their emails.
Lisa Fowler Send email
Mar 8, 2016

Alcatel one touch pop

DO NOT BUY!!!!! they have sent me SEVEN different Alcatel One Touch Pop phones they go into roaming for no reason. I need a phone that will work. When I called straight talk a manager told me the reason why my phone did not work was due to a 1 1/2 miles from my home was a dead area. What does that have to do with anything? I am on the phone right now and about to scream. I have been working on this issue since December!!!!!! It is now MARCH!!!!!! Save yourself the trouble and time and just don't waste your money by buying this POS!!!!
lisat2u Send email
Mar 1, 2016

thieves and deceivers

i purchased a hotspot device about a month ago they are stealing data and two weeks now cant access amount of data used and poor tech support i purchased a straight talk device about a month ago and every couple days the data disappears. then i have to call in to see whats going on. they say that their reports indicate that all the data is used, but that is only when they try to credit back data and the previous data that was on there disappears. for the last two weeks, i have not been able to even access my data usage because their server they use UMX and the straight talk website aren't communicating with each other. because of this my balance read zero for 2 weeks and i had to add 10 gb data resulting in $100.00. The contract pamphlet allows you to check your data whenever necessary and the umx server is attached to the data, but with the communication issues they are having, i can not check the usage. on saturday the man named danny from their columbia office was suppose to add back 3 gb data when it didnt show about an hour later i called back and a man named jeff id#522627 reassured me that the 3 gb was added back even told me that i had 2974 mb almost equalling 3 gb left. neither could email me the information verifying this. i went to bed and yesterday i woke up to no gb data on my device. i proceeded to call and nanette id #511539 did her tech support and my device showed up on available wifi devices as umx$050, umx$050 2, January, and then as some foreign language symbols. she proceeded to tell me that danny had in fact added only 1 gb of data instead of the 3 like he and jeff has said. She said when he added the 1 gb it erased the rest of the gb that were available and changed the ending date. danny's was suppose to have been a credit to the account for the "glitch" as he called it. she said that once its erased it can not be added back. she got really rude with me cursed me and hung up the phone. i called back in and got maria supposedly a floor manager like danny. her id#522307 and she was supposed to help but after being on hold for over 5 minutes she came back pushing the telephone buttons in my ear and then hung up. Today, i woke up approximately 8 am est and called markmuzl id#510639 transferred me to supposedly christopher that was supposed to be a manager in technical support and he refused to give me his id#. christopher couldnt find where danny had addded the 3gb data and said i used all the data and he couldnt help me. i asked to speak to his supervisor and then a virgillo id#5221375 answers the phone and tells me he is the supervisor in the refund department. he said he researched and i wasn't getting a credit back and said i had added the 1gb data that erased my other data not Danny. then he said he was checking with the fraud department. put me on hold and came back and said they agreed with his decision. when i asked for the ext of the fraud dept and to be transferred he said he was the fraud dept but earlier he said he was the refund dept. Then he refuses to help me gives me a toll free number to the miami corporate office which ended up being ack in the philipines. i called back in and got samuel id#515941 from philipines as well the corporate office number that virgillio had given me. he gives me two more numbers for the corporate office with extension numbers both of these ended back in the philipines. the 2 numbers they had given me for the corporate office in miami was 18668061840, 13057156500 ext 1029, 18006264883 ex 1029. finally after 3 hours today i got throught to someone named april at the "corporate" office in the philipines. after an hour with her and telling her i was going to report this fraud to the fcc she adds 4gb data back on my device. i asked her why so many names are associated with the device i bought and she said when people go into the account and work on the device that their name attaches to the device itself. i am starting to wonder if they take the wifi credit they issue out off of another person's account and thats why the date mysteriously disappears while you sleep.
melania1034 Send email
Feb 5, 2016

will not let me online at all very poor customer service

I have been with this straight talk for 5 years and I have never had a problem but in the past 4 moths I can get online or call or text or anything. I bought a new phone in October and this phone has gave me problems and I paid more for a warranty that I have to wait a month or more for new phone they should send it then I would send them mine they want me to send my phone in so I will be a month with out a phone. I would really would like to no could they go a month with out a phone. I have called customer they have told me that I need to go buy a new phone card when I just got one and I had minutes but they wanted me to spend more money for no reason he asked me right away could he get my card number did not even try to fix my problem they also told me that I had no GB left for my internet so that means that I could not get on there at all. ( I no it would slow down but it would not let me on there at all). I think I have been a very loyal customer after 5 years of being with them if they don't fix this today I will be going to a new phone companies ASAP. customer reps ID number 521540- 520433 one of them did not want to give me his id number.

dewey2 Send email
Jan 26, 2016

Phone Activation, Number Transfer, Substandard Customer Service, Questionable Company Policies.

I was a Straight Talk customer for over five years. During that time I had numerous problems with their customer service dept., as well as some of their company policies in general, but stayed with them because I could not find a cheaper deal that would give me as many minutes of talk time plus unlimited texts. During the last few months I noticed that I no longer had service on my phone in several places where it had worked before (including most of my own house! I contacted Straight talk about this and they offered no explanation other than I might need a new phone. I explained that i could not afford a new phone, but I had an LG phone that a relative had given me that was only a year old. I then asked customer service if they would activate the LG using my current phone number. I then spent the next ten minutes giving them the model numbers, serial numbers, etc. off of the LG phone as well as my old one, and answerring various security questions, etc. After what seemed like an eternity of someone i could barely understand entering all of that info on their end, the service rep tells me, "We cannot activate service or transfer your number to that phone because it was originally issued and activated by TracFone." I then told them that I know that Straight Talk and Tracfone both used to sell the identical LG phone that I'm trying to activate and that furthermore they must be a joint venture, since the start-up screen on my old phone states that "THIS IS A SERVICE OF TRACFONE WIRELESS." All I got was, "We are not allowed to activate a phone originally activated by Tracfone." Apparently, though they declined to say, there is some kind of non-compete agreement between Straight Talk and Tracfone. I told the service rep that I was tired of being crapped on and would not be doing any further business with Straight Talk. Later on I also heard that Straight talk and some others were cutting the power of their phone signal at certain times, and telling customers the problem was their phone.
Lauren.Wyman Send email
Jan 25, 2016


Well, I had Purchased a straight talk phone almost a year ago. Here recently my phone went black, and I called to have my Phone replaced. My husband spent nearly an hour for the lady to tell us she was sending a PHONE. we got the Box in with the way to ship it back. but, Because I have some crucial non replaceable items in my phone that I cannot lose because I Need those things. We called them back, and Trust me, I know the policy may be have to, but, I feel, this is absolutely unnecessary. We even asked if they could get the stuff off and they wouldn't. I am only complaining because There are some things that should be allowable. There are only so much they can do, I understand, but seriously not being able to help the customer even try to find a solution without a lawyer is kind of ridiculous. I have absolutely come close for them losing me as a customer. :/
VampRose Send email
Dec 22, 2015

I have been waiting 2 months for a replacement phone

I have been waiting for 2 months for a replacement phone and having trouble with getting it I am a high risk pregnant woman who is needing my phone because i am do any time and i would like to have something to call an ambulance or my mother-in-law to take me to a hospital but it seems like this company doesn't care about the stress they put on me.
AngelaClout Send email
Dec 7, 2015

horrible customer service!! horrible service!!!

I have gone through straight talk for years. The screen went blank on my latest phone, So I went to buy a new phone. Got home and called to transfer my number. Easy right.....NOOOOOO!!!!!!! Was told there was an error in the transfer, was told that it would take at least 72hours and a few more bullshiz lines that were told to me. I was asked to talk to a supervisor. So as soon as she got on the phone and I started talking she hung up on me! This is how they make there money! Hiring anybody they can for cheap (people that no one can understand and that dont care about human life) They all sound like robots and repeat themselves over and over. No one has consiquences for there actions (obviously because a supervisor hung up on me) Any other company someone would have been fired for that! People need phones for every day life! No one at this company! obviously all the want is money! Every time I hear about someone calling customer service they have the same issues! Maybe if there was better customer service the company would make more money... I give up! What a waste of time! I guess I should just go buy a phone and plan from a company that deserves my money and cares about my time and troubles.
Craig Barhorst Send email
Dec 2, 2015

Double Charged Credit Card

I received a text message on my phone with what I thought was a great deal from StraightTalk. It was for an extra $55 off the one year plan. That plan already saves a customer around $45 over buying monthly so the net savings was close to $100 a year. Seems like a great deal, right? A double charge on my credit card later and a lost opportunity to buy the plan on a second phone has me wondering.

The same night I was texted the deal I went on the StraightTalk website to buy the plan for my wife's phone and my phone. When I bought it for my wife's phone it erroneously billed the credit card twice. Two charges for $481 for just one 1 year plan were put on the card. I only found this out when I went to purchase my plan and the card was declined. It's a small credit union VISA with only a $2000 limit and the two charges didn't leave enough room another purchase.

I called up the credit card history online the next day and saw the two charges. One had posted and the other was listed as "pending". When StraightTalk was first called they said they didn't show two charges and suggested the matter should be taken up with the credit union. When the credit union ws called they said StraightTalk had already marked the charge as an erroneous charge but also had a hold on the $481 amount for four days.

Because StraightTalk had put this hold on the amount I was sure I would miss out on the deal by the time it was lifted. After asking if anything could be done to speed things up the credit union suggested a second call be made to StraightTalk and gave instructions on how the hold could be removed sooner if StraightTalk sent a fax directly to the credit union.

At this point things started to get fishy with StraightTalk. During the second call to StraightTalk they admitted they could see the second charge placed on the card. Strange how they couldn't see it during the first call but could now. The instructions and information for using the fax method to remove the hold were passed on to StraightTalk.

All of the above mentioned phone calls occurred this morning. It is now midnight and the hold on $481 on the credit card still remains. The deal is still being advertised on their website but when I went through the ordering process the regular price was reflected in the checkout, not the discount. Where's the false advertising police when you need them? It looks like regardless of their own website's advertising the deal is over.

The bottom line is that it looks as if I have missed the deal because StraightTalk double charged my credit card, then put a 4 day hold on the erroneous charge. I did get the deal on my wife's phone, but what should I do now? If I eventually buy the normal deal at the regular price not only will it cost $55 more, but won't I be rewarding them for this mistake and their strange policy of holding erroneous charges for 4 days?

Since it looks like there's no deal on the table anymore I'm looking into Metro PCS or Cricket Wireless. The StraightTalk deal would have put the service at about $40 a month including all taxes. Metro PCS offers a plan for $30 a month including all taxes, but it has less GBs per month. Cricket offers one for $40 but I can't tell if it includes taxes.

StraightTalk may very well lose a good customer because of all this. It's quickly become one of those situations where I don't feel comfortable rewarding a company for bad behavior. I switched from Verizon to StraightTalk and there's nothing keeping me from doing the same to them. If you are with StraightTalk I suggest you look around as well. There are other options.

What really bothers me the most and the reason I posted this is because I wanted to warn people about the danger of double charges, in this case with StraightTalk. I know I didn't hit the purchase button twice. It just happened. And what if I had used a debit card instead of a credit card? I imagine the money would have been drained from my account, only to be returned days later. Here at the first of the month that's a recipe for bills bouncing. The whole experience made me look elsewhere.

A few years ago StraightTalk was the cheapest. After looking around I found out that's no longer the case. There are many other options out there and some are even cheaper with close to or the same level of service. If you are with StraightTalk and it's been a while since you've compared, I suggest you look around. The cheapest plan for StraightTalk is $541 a year. Compare that to MetroPCS at $30 a month which ends up being $360 a year. Who doesn't want to save an extra $181? I know I'm really thinking about it.
Sarah0412 Send email
Oct 26, 2015

straight talk

I have a straight talk phone that I've had several years. The Samsung phone's microphone stopped working - no one could hear me. 9/1 bought new phone and asked to migrate my phone over. It's now 10/26 a month and a half later and I've been paying for two phones (so my number is active to assign to the new phone). So I'm out a phone number, $100 for two months $50 a month for the extra phone plus $100 for the new phone. I was promised everything under the sun - new SIM card, new phone, reimb for the cards I bought to keep the number active. What a HORRIBLE joke on me. My Haloween TRICK early.

Straight Talk has mediocre phone service with HORRIBLE cusomer service. The call back survey for 'excellent customer service' is a joke.

Please, please choose another provider. This one has made a grown woman cry over fustration of calling every other day and being on the line over an hour each time.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code


    Recently Updated Complaints

    Celcom - Credits
    I'm using celcom magic sim. I have a balance rm 33....
    Microsoft Office - unable to own load properly
    I was unable to load or use Microsoft office that I...
    - 913536 3412 PayT M Customer care service And...
    Force Factor - Misleading language for free trial
    If you signed up for the free trial call the number on...
    Award Notification Commission - Award Notification $12.99 Fee
    I also received one of these fraudulent letters. Advisers...
    Circle K - Employee
    CIRCLE k 3650 SOUTH dale mabry tampa fl. 33629 KATHARINE...
    Getaroom.com - SCAM
    The person on the phone portrayed themselves as being...
    U S Pharmacy - retraction of complaint
    I am the one who submitted the complaint about being...
    Hallmark channel - CHRISTMAS MOVIES
    Please discontinue your practice of showing two months of...

    Share this site with others


    Recently Updated Complaints

    Celcom - Credits
    I'm using celcom magic sim. I have a balance rm 33....
    Microsoft Office - unable to own load properly
    I was unable to load or use Microsoft office that I...
    - 913536 3412 PayT M Customer care service And...
    Force Factor - Misleading language for free trial
    If you signed up for the free trial call the number on...
    Award Notification Commission - Award Notification $12.99 Fee
    I also received one of these fraudulent letters. Advisers...
    Circle K - Employee
    CIRCLE k 3650 SOUTH dale mabry tampa fl. 33629 KATHARINE...
    Getaroom.com - SCAM
    The person on the phone portrayed themselves as being...
    U S Pharmacy - retraction of complaint
    I am the one who submitted the complaint about being...
    Hallmark channel - CHRISTMAS MOVIES
    Please discontinue your practice of showing two months of...

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    E-mail address:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username