Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Straight Talk

United States,
Arizona

Consumer complaints and reviews about Straight Talk

lesleymrgn Send email
 
Apr 18, 2014

Deactivated phone in retaliation for disputing erroneous charge with AmEx

I upgraded a flip phone to a smartphone last month and called customer service to make the change. She said she did the following: deactivated old phone, unenrolled old phone from autofill ($30/month), activated new phone, enrolled new phone in autofill ($45/mo). She also gave me a new service end date of April 24. On April 3 they charged my AmEx for autofill for the old phone plan. I rightfully disputed the charge with AmEx. In retaliation they deactivated my new phone! This amounts to theft of the service I paid for through April 24. Numerous attempts to resolve this went nowhere. When I called customer service they would only transfer me to Loss Prevention because I disputed the erroneous charge. When I tried to explain what happened (two different reps) they talked over me, would not listen, laughed at me, and hung up on me - twice. I did not yell, cuss, etc., I just wanted them to listen to me. The rep that transferred me to Loss Prevention refused to transfer me to anyone else. Naturally I took my business elsewhere, and also disputed the amount I paid for the new phone with AmEx because their fraudulent cancelling of my new phone made it impossible to use it. I also filed a charge with the BBB in Florida - here's the link if you'd like to do the same: http://seflorida.app.bbb.org/search?complaint=Y
karmakat3 Send email
 
Mar 12, 2014

Straight Talk auto-refill used to overcharge

After completing my 3rd call to Straight Talk's Direct Response Hot Line, (866) 806-1840, I am bewildered by the continued lack of response from my previous letters, faxes, and emails over the previous 3 months. They not only refuse to refund spurious charges made by their auto-refill for my phones, but add insult to injury by saying I must go through my bank to have my current credit card cancelled, apply for a new one, and then re-enroll.
charles Send email
 
Mar 3, 2014

personal

why is it that the u.s. has so high a employment rate but straight talk uses people from other countries to talk to us. i can not understand what to do they go over the instrucations i think maybe they are not paying the people much money. as for me i need a job so just e-mail and offer me a job. and i live in south georgia. comeon straight talk give the americas a shot at this. stop the bull charles
robertlowe Send email
 
Mar 2, 2014

phone services

if i don't get a answer back with in 10 minutes i will sue the corp within fcc board reg. of your rules and regulations.please call me now at 607-349-9827 thank you robert lowe
robertlowe Send email
 
Mar 2, 2014

very bad service

no americans to talk to and alot of passing the buck
robertlowe Send email
 
Mar 2, 2014

very bad service

i'm put on hold and wasting my minutes and being charged for calling cs. my phone # is 607-349-9827 i want a phone call back now
Texas Send email
 
Feb 27, 2014

Straight Talk

Started Straight Talk cellular a month ago. Brought my unlocked Iphone with me. Can't get internet service to work from directions. Went back to Walmart. Was told they could not set it up for me because they don't have Wifi at the store. I called several Walmarts in our area & was told the same thing, no Wifi. Could not help. I called the number for Straight Talk, went overseas, & was given information that didn't work. Called back, hard to understand these people, different info., still didn't work. Back to the store. Told sorry, but no activation because no Wifi. Given several different applications to use, none of them worked. My month is up & still no internet. Pd $45 for only phone & text, no data. If Walmart is going to sale this service, they should offer FULL service. /This is a nightmare!
Called ATT store locally. Told to bring in phone & they would completely set it up to work on their service. I don't have to do anything & it's $45 a month with no contract. Going to ATT.
P.O.'d at straight talk Send email
 
Jul 31, 2012

The REAL numbers to call at Straight Talk

Don't waste time calling the numbers they give you. Here are numbers for corporate office. Here is customer service manager in miami. Name is
Pearline , direct number is 305-715-6526 or another manager is Delphine Bailey 305-7156581 ext. 11 or technical issues manager is Donovan at 305-715-6500 ext.3912
or even better, leave customer service behind and call 305-640-2000 and ask for FJ Pollack who is the CEO, or Richard Salzman is a member of the board of directors. Give them HELL!!
Shane0613 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

HORRIBLE SERVICE - WON'T ACTIVATE PHONE

I have had a straight talk ever since it came out. I have had issues both times while activating and reactivating the phone. That being said I can't completely blame the ST support staff. When I initially bought the ST phone package at Walmart I got home and tried to activate it. Waited the 24 hours and nothing. The ST staff was at a loss and so was I. I was ready to throw the phone or bust it with a hammer. Then I found out the reason it would not activate. When you purchase the phone the Walmart cashier has to enter the serial number from the ST phone's box into her register. I'm not sure if they still have to do it that way but 2 years ago they did. Well anyway, the stupid Walmart girl had a typo when she entered the serial number of the ST phone. Due to her doing that the phone would NEVER be able to be activated. I had to return the phone and exchange it for another one. This time it went flawless.
Strike one against Wal-Mart.
After using the phone for a while I got a job where I was given a company phone. I didn't really have to keep adding minutes to the ST phone. Well enough time passed for the ST phone to lose the phone number I originally had due to not keeping minutes on it. I recently parted ways with the company I was working with and decided to reactivate the ST phone rather than pay $15 for 7 days usage on my GoPhone. The $30 ST plan is plenty for me. Well I bought the card 2 nights ago. I added the $30 card to the phone and it would not reactivate and the ST staff kept telling me to wait 24 hours and call back. I waited called back and still nothing. Wouldn't activate. I could see that the phone still had my old number programmed into it and feel that this is where the error was coming from. I spoke with a fellow named Javier that worked with ST support. He had me go through the typical *22890 crap and nothing worked. He took the time to lookup the manual for the phone I was using probably due to it being the first model offered by ST. In Javier's defense, he tried everything and did not stop until I got my phone working. He eventually gave me a couple of long numbers to enter into the Code Entry setting on the phone. After putting in the numbers the phone rebooted and I was able to make calls and my phone has worked great ever since.

I would like to thank Javier @ ST for being patient and going the extra effort until my phone was working. I talked to 2 other tech support people the night before and they just rushed my off the phone with the wait 24 hours excuse. Javier also found out that the number the tech from the night before gave my phone was a temporary number that expired later that same day. If he would have not noticed that I may still be without a phone. As a person who works in the IT industry, I know it can be a difficult job to put up with irate customers all day but Javier was extremely nice and got the job done.

Thanks Javier.
Dennis780 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

HORRIBLE SERVICE - WON'T ACTIVATE PHONE

I spent appx $250 ordering a new phone and 3 months of service directly from StraightTalk and cannot get the phone to work. Three days and counting, all I've been told is that my PIN is no good (it's the PIN they sent with the phone), and then they said it's a network problem and they'll have it fixed in 24 hours. I waited 24 hours -- still nothing. I still haven't been assigned a phone number. I called back again and this time they hung up on me. As near as I can tell, when I call StraightTalk (I have to use a friend's phone to call them), I get put on with someone from India... Three days now, I've used up all my minutes on my old phone, and now I have nothing. StraightTalk is a piece of garbage. I'd be better off with two cans and a piece of string.
Annie 2011 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

HORRIBLE SERVICE - WON'T ACTIVATE PHONE

I understand why so many people ahve complaints with Straight Talk. They're service is reallyr horrible. I just had a phone changed and it took me 4 days, because they kept telling me that it would take 2 hiurs, 24 hours then 72 hours until it reach to 2 days. It doesn't make any sense at all. Even the managers were incompetent. I spoke to like 8 different managers and nothing good came from it. The thing is, I did not tell them to touch this phone number. Yert they did. Well, after many days and a headache, thank God. Well, just when I thought everything was clear, my friend tried to call me and she couldn't get through. They turned off her phone for what ever reason. DId I get a good explanation? Not at all. Someone who did not know what they were doing, just turned it off. I have never, ever had a company to be so unreliable in my life and I've had a LOT of cell phones. I would not recommend my worst enemy to this company. There's tooo many other good companies out there to be bothered with their headaches. For 4 long days my phone was just in a wreck. Go somewhere else. Take my advice. Thanks. Merry Christmas!

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    cop@vsnl.net - lost my samsung GT s7500
    sir, Name:Salam phone model: Samsung Ace Plus GT...
    sawa stc sa - Deducting SAR 3.00 for VAS once a week
    My STC mobile number 0556629714 is deducting SAR 3.00 for...
    Nashua Mobile - Poor Service
    Note Please refer to the relevant dept. Hi Customer...
    Wal-Mart / SmartStyle Hair Salon - No Customer Service
    On November 25th 2013, I purchased a Limited Edition...
    First Data Global Leasing - STEALING MONIES FROM BANK ACCOUNT
    OH SAME STORY AS ABOVE EVEN IN ARIZONA,FIRST DATA GLOBAL...
    NYCHA - hazardous fence around garden
    Unstable fence definitely a fire hazard loose wood and...
    Braums - Asst Mgr
    Went into Braum's at 10:55 AM. Bought milk and...
    SafeCart.com - unauthorised payment
    On 02-04-2014 and 16-04-2014 unauthorised payments, to...
    25621 - High quality Mephedrone, methylone, Pentylone,...
    High quality Mephedrone, methylone, Pentylone,...
    ScoreSense - Unauthorized withdraw of $29.95 from credit card.
    Opened their website indicating that my three credit...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username