Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Straight Talk

United States,
Arizona

Consumer complaints and reviews about Straight Talk

marc 69 Send email
 
Sep 14, 2014

poor customer service

called customer service and got put on hold for over a hour and a half waiting to talk to a supervisor ,cause the person could not solve my problem, they have a set of instructions they go threw and try to solve things, but its very repetive and annoying to deal with . I bet I heard the same thing 50 times while talking to the first person, not helpful at all, I will be calling the BBB on them and also calling corp to complain, this was the last time I am givein the run around, they need better customer service !!!!!
raymondwendt57 Send email
 
Aug 31, 2014

straight talk stole from me

I bought a card called to add it talk to the people they said they added it but never did then told me they put it on somebody elses phone so now I am suing them
V.SHORT Send email
 
Aug 22, 2014

BAD SERVICES

I purchased a new phone from straight talk at walmart with a pin card. The phone was already off and I wanted to turn it back on. So I purchased a prepaid card and activated it. The same number I had when I purchased the phone. Which was a $45 plan. I used the same number i had before, come to find out that number had been giving to someone else so their for I spend my money putting a $45 plan on someone else phone. Straight talk company never was posted or in the contract. That if you dont use your phone in a month time that the number that you had will go to someone else. My Mother is a elder lady and needed that phone, Straight Talk had cheated her out of her $45. The bad part is that it went to someone elses account..PAID..Nothing they can do about it. We spoke to Supervisor and Managers they both spoke the same language. They pretented to be each other. Still Nothing was resloved, what can be done about these Company that cheat the Elderly. Who dont have anyone to take care of them.
gloria71 Send email
 
Aug 22, 2014

texting issues

I want you all to know that you are not allowed to make text to or receive texts from anything other thank local phone numbers. I have ace check cashing and I know a lot of banks that do the text notification and I can not receive these with this service. I was told that that is "not within there scope" what the heck does that mean.....well I am not allowed to get or receive the messages I need to get to run my business because they don't allow it but they did tell ace check cashing that they allow it so it is in there phones list for the ones who accept it if I would have known this I would not have spent the money on them to start with......here lies the LIES from straight talk be aware of the side talk with them OH and watch the dates when you refill they jip you a couple days here and there and think you don't notice it....be safe I am going to Verizon now and T mobile sucks too signal really low along with boost my daughter cant hold a signal for anything but good customer service and sprint my mom cant even text and be sure anyone gets it. I really wish I would not have gotten used to cell phones land lines are reliable....
obey_maronda Send email
 
Aug 10, 2014

replacement SIM card

I have been waiting for 2 weeks to receive a replacement SIM card but have yet to get it. Every time I call customer service to track my shipping they tell me that my ticket number does not exist. The one SIM card I did receive was the wrong size after I specifically ask for the one that fits my phone. Just recently I was told that everything was fixed and it would be shipped over night due to my long wait. when I did not receive it again I called to find out that was another lie. I begin school in less than a week and I still do not have a phone. All I have ask for is a SIM card and I get the run around. If you do not want me to be a customer just say so, don't make me wait two weeks after being told lie after lie. This does not make any since and is terrible for service. You will lose lots of customers with this blemish.
clayface Send email
 
Jul 22, 2014

SIM card wont work

I was sent a sim card for a phone that I purchased. They sent the wrong sim card and the representative said oh well sorry you just have to take the $45.00 loss. It is unbelievable that I am unable to talk to anyone in the USA and not only that they refused to give me any number to the corporate office. I need someone to contact me ASAP at 7574058873. How do you expect to keep loyal customers if your representatives are going to treat us like crap. This is unacceptable. Glynda Goings
DGM Send email
 
Jul 15, 2014

Straight Talk is Garbage, Even For Prepaid

I purchased a Straight Talk phone card to pay my phone bill. For some back history-- I have been paying 45$ for the unlimited plan for almost a year now and the entire time I have not been able to access the internet, receive picture messages etc. I called great ol' Straight Talk customer service only to wait on the line and in the end receive no help at all--nothing that resolved the problem. They've basically been collecting free money from me for services paid for but unable to be used. I let that go however......with my busy schedule, I can't continue to call them constantly and devote 30 minutes +, each time, hoping that somehow the next experience will be a bit different. So this time, after purchasing a 30$ phone card, I attempted to add it directly through my phone. There was no customer service option to speak to some one via 611, so the automated system kept hanging up on me. I guess straight talk thinks people would much rather talk to a computer than a real person.

I decided to call customer service using a different phone, and the service only got worse from there. I could barely understand the thick accent on the other line, coupled with the lack of care and consideration for there customers, and the rude, short, attitudes, not to mention being hung up on. I explained that I wanted to add money to my account and also switch to the 30$ plan as opposed to the 45$ plan....after all, I had been paying the extra money for nothing. The first representative told me that I couldn't switch.....wait ....what?.... but that since I had already purchased the non refundable 30$ card, and scratched the pin, she would make a 1 time exception and accept the 30$ pin but give me 20 days of service instead of 30. I accepted that. She then transfers me to a completely new person, who asks the same questions all over again---hi, my name is Bla bla bla, may I have the phone number you are calling about?....I was in disbelief. Are you kidding me? I then re-explain everything that just took place, to this new representative. She basically tells me who gives a rat what the other rep just told me, she won't be giving me the 20 days worth of service, to take the card back to Walmart with the pin already scratched---EVEN THOUGH IT'S NON-REFUNDABLE!!!! I guess those words have a different meaning in India. She didn't care that I'd be at a loss of 30$ and wind up now paying 75$ for one months bill. At least 30 of it, free money in their pocket. She was nasty, rude, awful. I asked to speak to a manager and she refused to transfer me! She told me she didn't have to and therefore wouldn't, because "she already answered my question. After repeatedly asking her, she finally put some other Indian on the phone and then I was hung up on.

To summarize, USER BEWARE! Prepaid services can be a hassle sometimes but Straight Talk is by FAR the WORST. Save yourself the constant headache, wasted time, wasted money, and problems. USE A DIFFERENT SERVICE. I wouldn't recommend them to anyone. If you have no choice but to use prepaid, there are many other carriers out there. As far as Straight Talk ----run the other way.
bosn45 Send email
 
Jul 15, 2014

Stupid SIM card policy!

I have been with Straight Talk for maybe 2 years. The only two times I have had a problem went unsolved by policies that have no flexibility at all. Even the big boys of the industry bend every once in a while. I bought a couple Galaxy Notes for my wife and mother and needed SIM cards for them. Spec sheets for them called for a "mini" SIM. I wasn't sure of what to order so I called ST and was told that I needed the micro SIM so I ordered a micro for both. I still haven't gotten them and it's been a week. When I finally got one of the phones I tried my micro SIM in it. It's too small. I called ST and was told there was nothing they could do since "I had agreed to buy them". Yesterday I called again to find out what could be done about the situation. After talking to the supervisor of the supervisor, I was told I had to buy two more of the right size SIMs. No matter what I had to say they would not bend a bit! So, I bought two more SIMs and had them overnight FedEx them so I could get this all done. This morning I got the package and it only had 1 SIM in it and it was another micro, not the right size. I called them again, told the gal that barely spoke even broken English what had transpired and she is going to send out a replacement for the one I got but was wrong. She said I would have to wait for the other one to come and then call back to get it replaced. When I asked about the FedEx fee I was told there was nothing they could do about it. This is all so ridiculous it's not even funny! I will get down off my soap box now because I have a strongly worded letter to ST Corporate. Metro PCS is looking better and better!
mannkynd Send email
 
Jun 29, 2014

replacement phone downgrade

Got a replacement phone from straight talk for my Samsung galaxy s2. That phone went out in like a month and a half. I called and they said they would replace with another galaxy s2. They didn't do that. Sent me a zte. When I called to tell them this they said they didn't have any more s2 and downgraded me. I paid full price for my s2 directly from them. Its not fair to downgrade a customer when u tell them u will send them the replacement as the same. My name is Dorian Thomas. My number is 803-664-5368. This ZTE sucks and drops my calls. I can't download. I paid for an s2 and want my s2 replaced.
phantom inkdot Send email
 
Jun 24, 2014

Straight Talk Inc.

I have a new straight talk phone that won't be activated due to a scanning issue that Walmart caused. I went with my receipt and explained the issue and they refused to return it or exchange it because of some time frame for electronics. This was bought and not used so I could run my time out on my previous phone. Now I have a perfectly legitimate phone that I can't get service for and I'm very disturbed. I feel like straight talk let me down. Wal-Mart is expected to be go between and screw up stuff. Straight talk should have already handled this and got me up and talking. I'm so very disappointed.
valman Send email
 
Jun 7, 2014

straight talk

Bought a Samsung S3 from straight talk at walmart 399.00 and not even 3 months later it doesn't work so I call them to get another phone under warranty 11 days ago, they tell me that they emailed me a return shipping air bill about 10 times now and I still have nothing, plus they tell me they physically sent one in the us mail only to find out from them 5 days later that it was return for being undeliverable, I told them they had the worse customer service and that I believe they are never gonna give me a new phone, it's all lies, so I'm fed up after another call today and still not receiving an air bill in my email I told them to just give me money back that I want nothing to do with this company and they said sorry we can't do that, it makes sense cause they can't do anything else.
jomsubs Send email
 
May 29, 2014

Phone replacement

I have been having trouble with my Samsung galaxy phone that I bought from Straight Talk. Since it was still within the one year warrantly period, Straighttalk agreed to send a replacement phone in 3 -5 days. It has been 20 days!!! I have been calling everyday to check on the status. Each time I call I am told, wait 3-5 days. This is the most ridiculous thing I have heard. It like "Groundhog day" or "tomorrow never comes". Their 3-5 days never end.
I have been a customer of Straight Talk for over 5 year, almost 6 years. I have told many of my friends about their cheap rates and have brought them new customers. However, I think now I am almost at the end of my patience. Unlike back in 2008, now there are several companies that offer pre-paid service, including Verizon. I am finally leaving Straight Talk. I wish I did not have to, but this time I think their (lack of ) customer service has just crossed the limit.
lesleymrgn Send email
 
Apr 18, 2014

Deactivated phone in retaliation for disputing erroneous charge with AmEx

I upgraded a flip phone to a smartphone last month and called customer service to make the change. She said she did the following: deactivated old phone, unenrolled old phone from autofill ($30/month), activated new phone, enrolled new phone in autofill ($45/mo). She also gave me a new service end date of April 24. On April 3 they charged my AmEx for autofill for the old phone plan. I rightfully disputed the charge with AmEx. In retaliation they deactivated my new phone! This amounts to theft of the service I paid for through April 24. Numerous attempts to resolve this went nowhere. When I called customer service they would only transfer me to Loss Prevention because I disputed the erroneous charge. When I tried to explain what happened (two different reps) they talked over me, would not listen, laughed at me, and hung up on me - twice. I did not yell, cuss, etc., I just wanted them to listen to me. The rep that transferred me to Loss Prevention refused to transfer me to anyone else. Naturally I took my business elsewhere, and also disputed the amount I paid for the new phone with AmEx because their fraudulent cancelling of my new phone made it impossible to use it. I also filed a charge with the BBB in Florida - here's the link if you'd like to do the same: http://seflorida.app.bbb.org/search?complaint=Y
karmakat3 Send email
 
Mar 12, 2014

Straight Talk auto-refill used to overcharge

After completing my 3rd call to Straight Talk's Direct Response Hot Line, (866) 806-1840, I am bewildered by the continued lack of response from my previous letters, faxes, and emails over the previous 3 months. They not only refuse to refund spurious charges made by their auto-refill for my phones, but add insult to injury by saying I must go through my bank to have my current credit card cancelled, apply for a new one, and then re-enroll.
charles Send email
 
Mar 3, 2014

personal

why is it that the u.s. has so high a employment rate but straight talk uses people from other countries to talk to us. i can not understand what to do they go over the instrucations i think maybe they are not paying the people much money. as for me i need a job so just e-mail and offer me a job. and i live in south georgia. comeon straight talk give the americas a shot at this. stop the bull charles
robertlowe Send email
 
Mar 2, 2014

phone services

if i don't get a answer back with in 10 minutes i will sue the corp within fcc board reg. of your rules and regulations.please call me now at 607-349-9827 thank you robert lowe
robertlowe Send email
 
Mar 2, 2014

very bad service

no americans to talk to and alot of passing the buck
robertlowe Send email
 
Mar 2, 2014

very bad service

i'm put on hold and wasting my minutes and being charged for calling cs. my phone # is 607-349-9827 i want a phone call back now
Texas Send email
 
Feb 27, 2014

Straight Talk

Started Straight Talk cellular a month ago. Brought my unlocked Iphone with me. Can't get internet service to work from directions. Went back to Walmart. Was told they could not set it up for me because they don't have Wifi at the store. I called several Walmarts in our area & was told the same thing, no Wifi. Could not help. I called the number for Straight Talk, went overseas, & was given information that didn't work. Called back, hard to understand these people, different info., still didn't work. Back to the store. Told sorry, but no activation because no Wifi. Given several different applications to use, none of them worked. My month is up & still no internet. Pd $45 for only phone & text, no data. If Walmart is going to sale this service, they should offer FULL service. /This is a nightmare!
Called ATT store locally. Told to bring in phone & they would completely set it up to work on their service. I don't have to do anything & it's $45 a month with no contract. Going to ATT.
P.O.'d at straight talk Send email
 
Jul 31, 2012

The REAL numbers to call at Straight Talk

Don't waste time calling the numbers they give you. Here are numbers for corporate office. Here is customer service manager in miami. Name is
Pearline , direct number is 305-715-6526 or another manager is Delphine Bailey 305-7156581 ext. 11 or technical issues manager is Donovan at 305-715-6500 ext.3912
or even better, leave customer service behind and call 305-640-2000 and ask for FJ Pollack who is the CEO, or Richard Salzman is a member of the board of directors. Give them HELL!!
Shane0613 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

HORRIBLE SERVICE - WON'T ACTIVATE PHONE

I have had a straight talk ever since it came out. I have had issues both times while activating and reactivating the phone. That being said I can't completely blame the ST support staff. When I initially bought the ST phone package at Walmart I got home and tried to activate it. Waited the 24 hours and nothing. The ST staff was at a loss and so was I. I was ready to throw the phone or bust it with a hammer. Then I found out the reason it would not activate. When you purchase the phone the Walmart cashier has to enter the serial number from the ST phone's box into her register. I'm not sure if they still have to do it that way but 2 years ago they did. Well anyway, the stupid Walmart girl had a typo when she entered the serial number of the ST phone. Due to her doing that the phone would NEVER be able to be activated. I had to return the phone and exchange it for another one. This time it went flawless.
Strike one against Wal-Mart.
After using the phone for a while I got a job where I was given a company phone. I didn't really have to keep adding minutes to the ST phone. Well enough time passed for the ST phone to lose the phone number I originally had due to not keeping minutes on it. I recently parted ways with the company I was working with and decided to reactivate the ST phone rather than pay $15 for 7 days usage on my GoPhone. The $30 ST plan is plenty for me. Well I bought the card 2 nights ago. I added the $30 card to the phone and it would not reactivate and the ST staff kept telling me to wait 24 hours and call back. I waited called back and still nothing. Wouldn't activate. I could see that the phone still had my old number programmed into it and feel that this is where the error was coming from. I spoke with a fellow named Javier that worked with ST support. He had me go through the typical *22890 crap and nothing worked. He took the time to lookup the manual for the phone I was using probably due to it being the first model offered by ST. In Javier's defense, he tried everything and did not stop until I got my phone working. He eventually gave me a couple of long numbers to enter into the Code Entry setting on the phone. After putting in the numbers the phone rebooted and I was able to make calls and my phone has worked great ever since.

I would like to thank Javier @ ST for being patient and going the extra effort until my phone was working. I talked to 2 other tech support people the night before and they just rushed my off the phone with the wait 24 hours excuse. Javier also found out that the number the tech from the night before gave my phone was a temporary number that expired later that same day. If he would have not noticed that I may still be without a phone. As a person who works in the IT industry, I know it can be a difficult job to put up with irate customers all day but Javier was extremely nice and got the job done.

Thanks Javier.
Dennis780 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

HORRIBLE SERVICE - WON'T ACTIVATE PHONE

I spent appx $250 ordering a new phone and 3 months of service directly from StraightTalk and cannot get the phone to work. Three days and counting, all I've been told is that my PIN is no good (it's the PIN they sent with the phone), and then they said it's a network problem and they'll have it fixed in 24 hours. I waited 24 hours -- still nothing. I still haven't been assigned a phone number. I called back again and this time they hung up on me. As near as I can tell, when I call StraightTalk (I have to use a friend's phone to call them), I get put on with someone from India... Three days now, I've used up all my minutes on my old phone, and now I have nothing. StraightTalk is a piece of garbage. I'd be better off with two cans and a piece of string.
Annie 2011 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

HORRIBLE SERVICE - WON'T ACTIVATE PHONE

I understand why so many people ahve complaints with Straight Talk. They're service is reallyr horrible. I just had a phone changed and it took me 4 days, because they kept telling me that it would take 2 hiurs, 24 hours then 72 hours until it reach to 2 days. It doesn't make any sense at all. Even the managers were incompetent. I spoke to like 8 different managers and nothing good came from it. The thing is, I did not tell them to touch this phone number. Yert they did. Well, after many days and a headache, thank God. Well, just when I thought everything was clear, my friend tried to call me and she couldn't get through. They turned off her phone for what ever reason. DId I get a good explanation? Not at all. Someone who did not know what they were doing, just turned it off. I have never, ever had a company to be so unreliable in my life and I've had a LOT of cell phones. I would not recommend my worst enemy to this company. There's tooo many other good companies out there to be bothered with their headaches. For 4 long days my phone was just in a wreck. Go somewhere else. Take my advice. Thanks. Merry Christmas!

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    cop@vsnl.net - Lost My Moblie
    Name Amit Balkrushna Phalke A/P Satara-Road...
    Carls Jr - Carl's Jr. Commercial
    Objectifying women in order to sell a burger is...
    27382 - canadaseopro aka Todd Herman
    canadaseopro aka Todd Herman First of all guys, look at...
    27386 - canadaseopro aka Todd Herman
    First of all guys, look at the complaints about...
    Hardee's commercial - Hardee's Commercial
    I just saw the Hardee's/Carl's Jr. advertisement...
    Young Again Products - RUDE ASSHOLE
    PLEASE be warned of how rude this man is. I ordered 2...
    kay - RUDE ASSHOLE
    Please be warned of how rude this man is. I ordered 2...
    sterling cigarettes - 19 in a pack and holes in 2!
    I purchased a packet of cigarettes, I asked for 20, the...
    Carl's Jr - Porn Advertisement
    The Carl's Jr ads are soft porn and not appropriate...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username