Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Texas Direct Auto

United States,
Texas

Consumer complaints and reviews about Texas Direct Auto

baddog Send email
 
Feb 7, 2014

500

If your out of state don't give these 500 you better test drive it i wounder how much they make a year keeping peoples 500 they told me to get the discount i had to give the 500 that day Ray Dohse was the saleman the car had bad tires and i did not buy it maybe that was cheap compaired if i had bougt the car buyer beware i hope they take the 500 and put new tires on the car for the next buyer.
Mwaengr Send email
 
Mar 20, 2012

Misinformation, Failure to Deliver

Found Chevrolet Tahoe on Ebay and went to Texas Direct Auto on Monday, March 12th. When I looked at the vehicle everything looked as pictured on Ebay with the exception that the navigation/stereo system was missing. This was not mentioned on Ebay nor in the vehicle description. I was informed that there was a minor problem but was being repaired. I went ahead with the purchase after being assured that the vehicle would be ready for pick up by Wednesday, March 14th. I told my salesman that I would be back on Thursday to pick up but to call me when the vehicle was ready. I finalized my financing and everything on my side was complete. The problem is a severe lack of communication from Texas Direct and misinformation. You have to take the initiative and call them. I have been promised returned phone calls that were not returned. It is Saturday morning, March 17th and I don't have a vehicle or a returned phone call. I intend on completing this transaction and probably at considerable expense since I now have to rent a vehicle for now. I will not ever due business with Texas Direct again or recommend to anyone.
Texas Direct Auto Send email
 
Mar 20, 2012

Misinformation, Failure to Deliver

@mwaenger,

We're sorry to hear of the miscommunication - we will do everything within our power to rectify your situation quickly. Please send your grievances to complaint.texasdirectauto.com and expect a response within 24 hours.

-Texas Direct Auto
Sandra Altheeb Send email
 
Feb 27, 2012

Would not refund deposit

My son's friends father is the manager at Texas Direct Auto and my son was in desperate need of a car because he had to leave in a couple of days to go to work in Arkansas so he called his friends father and told him this and his friends father told him not to worry pick out the car he wanted and come down and he would have a saleman (Jimmy) to bring the car up and let him test drive it and would do everything he could to help him get a car and would give him a great deal. WELL that was the biggest mistake of his life!! Once we got there and waded thru all the masses of people we stood there for almost 1 hour for the salesman to bring the car up. My son drove it and really liked the car but wanted to test drive 1 other car so we stood there about another 20 - 30 minutes until he brought that one up. After that he took us to a computer so my son and husband (co-signer with good credit) could fill out an application form and take a $500 deposit. My son asked him if he would be able to drive off with it that day, and told him his situation to make sure he knew about it and he said yes, it would take about 1 hour. I asked him at that time how much for the car be ause it was listed at almost $30, 000 and he said he would go and check. When he comes back at first he said $22, 998. When I first heard the price I thought WOW he really is going to give him a great deal and then as my son repeats what he said he changes it to $29, 998. After that we waited 1 - 1 1/2 hrs for them to tell us that they were having trouble getting them approved and it might not be until Monday. Well my son would not be here on Monday so we asked for our deposit back and he then says I'm sorry but I told y'all it was nonrefundable even if he does not get approved. I just about had a fit. We all 3 told him he never said it was not nonrefundable and he said he did. I told my son to call his friends dad but guess what? He wouldn't answer his phone. I told him to keep calling and told him I wanted my sons deposit back now! Well he went and got a manager and the manager told us he was sorry but he could not give us back the $500 CASH if he wanted to because it is droped in the safe. Well first thing don't tell me that business could not come up with $500 cash after the thousands of people that walked in that place that day. But then he tells me that now he can not even sell that car all weekend (it is now Saturday night). I said your night and his reply was " 24 hours a day online" and I said to him you mean to tell me you can not sell that car online and he said it is locked in our name. Well that is bull****!!!he could changed what ever he want to on the computer and he knows it!!! After I walked out he finally told my son he would refund the deposit to him on Monday IF he wasn't approved. I have no doubt in my mind he will never see that money again. If that is how your treated when the manager is your friends father and tells you he'll give you a great deal and do everything he could to help him, I hate to see how other people are treated!!
Gatortracks Send email
 
Feb 27, 2012

Would not refund deposit

You agreed to pay a $500 deposit on a car without negotiating the price and didn't even know the asking price. You agreed to the deal even after they jacked up the price $7000. Not smart.
Sandra Altheeb Send email
 
Feb 27, 2012

Would not refund deposit

No I knew the asking price, I didn't know the discount price
Mary Cilia Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Extended Warranty

I purchased a car from Texas Direct Auto on 6/21/10 and was sold an extended warranty for an additional $1, 931.00 that was called the MasterTech Vehicle Protection Program. We were given all of the paperwork on the warranty. We had an issue with the car and took it in to be repaired. We gave the dealer the warranty information (Ron Carter Cadillac) and they informed us that the Administrator informed them that Texas Direct Auto had never submitted the policy to them and they are required to do so within 60 days of the sale. I have now been informed that the warranty is null and void. I have had difficulty getting anyone to call me back from Texas Direct Auto. I will attempt to have the charge reversed through American Express, but feel that I have been cheated.
James122 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Extended Warranty

This company is awful. I did my due diligence and read up on my warranty before I took it into the dealership to get worked on. I have the "Ultra" warranty, which is supposed to be the best coverage they offer. I read off of their website the exact details of the warranty and the claims specialist I spoke with explained to me that these items fall into a broad category of excluded coverage. It was quite a grey area but on paper it looks black and white. They were able to conveniently put these included coverage items in an excluded parts section. I called them out on it and they said they could have one of their people come out and look at it. They explained it would take a week for them to have someone come out. This company is a joke. I'll probably purchase another car from Texas Auto Direct just so they can offer me this warranty again and I can laugh hysterically at them.
DLease Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

bad business

I am not an unrealistic person, I realize buying a used car does not come with the assurance of a quality product that you get (or are supposed to get) with a new car. I open by saying this because I know some people expect the world when they make a purchase and regardless of what the item is, that is rarely the case. In this case the "item" was a 2006 Land Rover LR3.

I first was connected with Texas Direct Auto via a friend that told me they bought used vehicles, much like CarMax. (they give you a quote and will buy your car regardless of what you buy from them) At the time I was trying to unload my 2008 Dodge Ram 1500 and get a 4X4 instead. I made an appointment and went in to get a quote. While I was there, I browsed their inventory for something that would suite my needs for my next vehicle. Now while I was there, it was extremely crowded and I include this only as a description of my experience but not so much as a complaint. Although it is not my preference to be in an establishment that is overrun with patrons, you can't fault a business for its success and i took it as a positive sign at the time. After some time an employee called me to the front desk and produced my quote. All in all, i thought i was pretty fair and they were willing to give me an additional discount if i chose to buy something from them. As it turned out i did find a couple vehicles that i thought might work for my situation so i asked to speak with a sales person.

Lui was my salesman and overall he seemed like a quality guy. He walked the lot with my wife and i, showing us several vehicles that we had chosen. (No high pressure sales and an over-all pleasant guy) After a couple test drives we decided on a Land Rover LR3. After our decision was made, we did some negotiating and settled on a price. At that point we were handed off to Calvin for the financing portion of the purchase. Again, Calvin seemed like a good dude and our dealings with him were pleasant overall. Of course there was all sorts of paperwork including an "as is sale agreement" which although wasn’t my favorite, I understood it's function. We left that day with our new purchase and felt good about the whole situation.

Over the next week, as we got to "know" the Land Rover better, there were little issues that popped up but nothing beyond reason. (the windshield wipers needed to be replaced BADLY, the left turn signal was burned out, etc) Again, i chalked these things up to "buying a used car" and considered them "the cost of doing business" when it came to used vehicles. After this week was up, i received an email from Calvin (the finance guy) that simply said, "there was a problem with your paper work, we need you to come in and sign some additional forms". Obviously concerned, i called Calvin directly. After a little dancing around i come to find out that they had charged us the wrong price in the paper work... and what's worse (for them), they had charged us $3000 dollars TOO LITTLE!!! This put them in quite a pickle because legally, we had all signed all the right paperwork so if we so desired, my wife and i could just tell them to get bent and walk away a couple thousand dollars richer. Although slightly humorous, after some discussion my wife and i decided to do "the right thing" because, after all, we had verbally agreed to the higher price. We went in and over Calvin's many, MANY apologies, we signed the right paper work and were on our way.

Fast forward another week; the Land Rover is still meeting our expectations and the world is right. I am out of town on business and my wife is driving the car when suddenly the brake pad sensor lights up the dash. Again, at this point in the game i am still of the mindset that the brake pads are something that are going to be "used" on a used car and it's just bad luck that they would need to be replaced right after we bought the car. I have my wife take the car into a Midas brake shop to complete the repairs. After some inspection the mechanic comes back and informs my wife that the front brake pads do indeed need to be replaced... HOWEVER, the back brake pads are so far gone that the back breaks are totally non-fictional. It's beyond metal on metal; the rotors, pads and housing must all be replaced. Hoping against the worst, i have my wife take the car to a couple other shops to confirm; all agree, the total damage is around $1200!!

Now, this is no longer "the cost of doing business", this is a non-working key component of a motor vehicle. (like the wheels or engine). Hoping for a positive outcome, i take the itemized bill along with the three additional quotes to Texas Direct Auto and ask to speak with my sales person. I figured with our situation, ESPECIALLY given the fact that we came in and made right with the paperwork fiasco, certainly they would be reasonable about this small issue. After a short (but pleasant) talk with Lui, he passed me on to Pat Tucker, the customer satisfaction manager. (the fact that they have a "customer satisfaction MANAGER" should have been my first sign of trouble) At this point i am still pretty level headed about the whole thing, I explain to Pat what has happened and hand over the various paperwork i brought in. He informs me that he will take this information to the "powers that be" and will get back to me in a couple days.

A couple days later i receive a call from Pat; he says that "he really went to bat for me" but unfortunately they are a vehicle whole-saler and would not be able to compensate us on our claim". ... at this point, i lose it. I don't often curse but i let Pat have it pretty good. I'm not going to go into what was said but it was not pleasant. After my outburst and recount of our expericne, Pat tells me that he was unaware about our paperwork foul-up and he wished he would have known that before going into speak about our claim. This angers me even more and I "kindly" ask why it is that I would need to tell him every detail of my experience, shouldn't a HUGE foul-up like that be the first thing that comes to mind when he spoke with my sales person about my situation? (i assume he never spoke to my sales person but that's irrelevant at this point i suppose) Either way, he says now that he has this "new information" he would go back to the "powers-that-be" and see what he could do.

Today, i heard from Pat again; They have decided to pay for $280 of our $1200 repair cost. Obviously this doesn't please me but at this point I’m kind of over being mad. I am saddened by the fact that this didn't work out better. In my situation, from one week to the next LITERALLY the roles were reversed in regards to who had the upper hand financially. I could have very easily screwed Texas Direct Auto out of $3000 but decided not to because i knew it wasn't right. Less than a week later, Texas Direct Auto had the opportunity to screw me out of $1200 and fortunately they also decided not to take full advantage... instead they only screwed me out of $920.
Tomahawk Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

bad business

Maybe everyone should know that when buying a used vehicle they should spend $100 and have it inspected by a reliable mechanic. Don't we know that buying a used vehicle is "as is" with no waranty. So what would make a dealer spend money inspecting a vehicle for sale?
Mike Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Stole $500.00 For car never accepted.

I saw a car on ebay and it was a great deal! or so I thought!!! In the pictures the car was extremely clean and looked like brand new! The description stated "Perfect Example of a one owner Yukon"... I gave them the $500.00 deposit they requestesd to end the auction, and scheduled to come and finish the paperwork and testdrive the car. My first impreassion of the car was, Your kidding right!!! The car was in horrible shape, all sorts of damages and such. Examples: the paint was in bad shape, it had swirl marks all over it, like it had benn over buffed, the mirrors didn't match, all the plastic inside the car was cracked and broken, rear bumper was cracked, backup sensors didn't work, Y on the leftside of the car was missing from the word Yukon, DVD system was cracked and not working, seat arm screw covers missing, and lots more... I told them I didn't want tyhe car as they had fooled me with the pictures, and they stated they hadn't and they wouldn't give me a refund. Anyways the story goes on and on... Just beware of these guys as the are seasoned scam artist who know how to manipulate the system and sell crappy cars for more than they are worth. Thanks
Tomahawk Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Stole $500.00 For car never accepted.

Always get it in writing what a salesman tell you. ie deposit is refundable. Normally a deposit is not refundable unless a buyer is lied to. Take them to small claims court.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    smartData Enterprises - Professionals at smartData
    I had an assignment with smartData Enterprises which...
    cop@vsnl.net - lost my micromax canvas knight A350 mobile
    PLEASE HELP ME TO FIND MY MICROMAX CANVAS KNIGHT...
    Chowking - Very Poor Customer Service
    For several times, when we order via Chowking Delivery,...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username