Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Toyota service center

Malaysia

Consumer complaints and reviews about Toyota service center

silver11 Send email
 
Jun 1, 2014

2011 Highlander engine malfunction safety issues

Toyota Motor Sales, U.S.A., Inc. –discriminating against Toyota owner due to vehicle safety issues; NOT offering compensation/replacement for families 2011 Highlander that is proven unreliable and unsafe with a number of service records for engine malfunction issues.

September 18, 2013

James Lentz
Toyota Motor Sales, U.S.A., Inc.
19001 S. Western Avenue
Torrance, CA 90501

Dear Mr. Lentz:

After 10 years as a loyal, proud repeat buyer of Toyota model cars, it appears the quality of your vehicles has gone down significantly, or my 9 months of research, test driving every comparable SUV possible and competitive pricing lead us to make the wrong vehicle purchase and we got a lemon. The vehicle(details below) purchased has defects or problems that cause it to repeatedly malfunction, and interferes with our ability to operate the vehicle safely. I am seeking remediation relief under s. 218.0171, Wisconsin Statutes lemon law; as defect was reported twice within the first 3 weeks after delivery date and continues to reoccur. I communicated my grave concerns over this condition repeatedly to three dealerships that failed to properly repair and escalate the problems, or take action after a series of repeated malfunctions.
On December 16, 2010, we purchased a new 2011 Toyota Highlander; color(Silver/Ash) with options (Tech pkg, Tow prep pkg, Cold weather pkg); VIN#5TD############## at Bergstrom Toyota dealership in Oshkosh, WI. Within days, we began to experience the following problems related to the vehicle:
(Detailed dealer visit and service/issue to date)
Tuesday December 28, 2010
After a 12+ hour night at work, warmed up truck for a couple minutes before heading home. When I got in Engine light was flashing and ‘Slip’ Indicator light was on; only 189 miles. Tried driving to see if lights would go off, they did not go off and truck just would not go; RPMs went up, but very little speed(like in neutral hitting the gas). Drove a couple minutes, stopped, turned off truck and let sit for a couple minutes and tried again. Lights came on again and as I tried driving truck was shaking, making chugging noise and felt like it was going to stall at stop light heading back to work.
I called LeMieux Toyota in Green Bay to see what I needed to do to get the truck there because it was inoperable.
Service Advisor Tyler gave me Kozloski Towing Service phone number 434-0780.
09:20am Arrived at LeMieux Toyota. Gave vehicle information and requested a car to go home because, after 12+ hour night at work, I did not want to be sitting in a dealership for hours and wanted to go home.
09:30am Tyler did NOT get me transportation home because, he was unable to find a Toyota vehicle at local car rental locations and told me it would take 1 hour to look at truck. [So much for customer service].
09:45am Finally got truck in garage
10:00am Saw there were 4 people hanging all over truck. Went out and asked if there was a problem because, we didn’t buy the truck there. I was not happy to start and this made it worse.
10:06am Service manager asked if it was ok for him to take truck for 10 mile drive to see if problem shows up again.
10:22am Returned in service area after 10 mile drive. Told me nothing showed up and everything is normal and sent me on my way with very little to no information of cause and had no intentions of fixing anything. Basically they had no safety concern and I felt that the truck is not quality, or reliable to drive.
LE MIEUX TOYOTA
2550 S. Oneida St., Green Bay, WI 54304
Miles: 189
Service Record information:
GUEST STATES ENGINE LIGHT IS ON.
TRAC LIGHT ON, VEHICLE WONT MOVE
TOW IN

Wednesday December 29, 2010
11:12am Called LeMieux Toyota to verify that a code did show up. Left message for call back, after a couple attempts to get a person.
11:18am Rick from LeMieux Toyota called and confirmed that a code did show up
Code: C1201 -Engine System Malfunction ... he said that it is a generic (comforting) code. [Wow, not very comforting if this were to happen while driving on the highway and cause a serious accident].
04:10pm Called Bergstrom Toyota (800-769-5784) and talked to Joe Laftus, again Engine light flashing and ‘Slip’ Indicator light was on. Told him what happened and that it is a concern and we don’t want to drive the truck anywhere because of what was experienced. I stressed that it is a concern and wanted to let them know. Because, we live an hour and 1/2 away from Oshkosh we can’t just stop in. He said that he will talk to Steve(because, that’s who we purchased truck through) and see what they will do.

Monday January 3, 2011
Did not hear from Joe so sent e-mail to recap our conversation and what the status is
From: (email)@yahoo.com
Sent: Monday, January 03, 2011 11:00 PM
To: jloftus@bergstromauto.com
Subject: 2011 Highlander issues....
Hi Joe,
Have not received a call back from our conversation last Wednesday with the issues I had with our 2011 Highlander and that we don’t want to drive the truck anywhere because, of what was experienced.
Recap..
‘Engine’ light was flashing and ‘Slip’ indicator light was on
Tried driving to see if lights would go off; they did not and truck just would not go. .. RPMs want up but, very little speed (like in neutral hitting the gas) Drove a couple minutes, stopped, turned of truck and let sit for a couple minutes and tried again.
Lights came on again and as I tried driving, truck was shaking, making chugging noise and felt like it was going to stall.
You were going to talk to Steve.

Tuesday January 4, 2011
04:40pm Called Joe to see what he found out and he transferred me to Steve and he was heading to his office. Steve said that he sent an e-mail and said that there may of been some moisture in the lines or bad gas causing this to happen. Did not seem overly concerned but, I requested that I want a second opinion and would like them to look at it for peace of mind.
e-mail from Steve:
From: sfranzen@bergstromauto.com
Sent: Tuesday, January 04, 2011 9:41 AM
To: (email)@yahoo.com
Subject: Bergstrom Toyota
Good morning,
I spoke with Joe this morning about your concern and took you description of your concern to a mechanic. Both Joe and the mechanic concluded the same without discussing the concern. They believe your TRAC control may have been turned off which could explain the dash lights and the wheel spin (rpms increasing without speed). When the car was shut off the TRAC control will reset to the on position and go back to normal. Have you experienced the concern after that one time? The Highlanders never have had any history of what you described so this is our best answer. But let me know how it has been driving from that day forward,
Steve Franzen
Sales Manager
Bergstrom Toyota & Scion of Oshkosh
Also, noted that the steering wheel is not centered and when we put it center, truck veers to the left. Going to talk to service department and call me back.
05:10pm Service department called to set up a time to bring the truck in to have it checked and the steering wheel adjusted Also, asked about a Toyota Tow Hitch installation while were there. He was going to see if they had one in stock or if they order one to see if it will be there when we take the truck in to be checked. Set up time for Friday January 7th at 10:00am.

Friday January 7, 2011
10.00am dropped truck off at Bergstrom and they were scheduled to check components for the check Engine light issues: reset the steering wheel to make it straight: install Toyota Tow Hitch. They gave us a car to use for the day. About 4:30pm Bergstrom called and said that they did not find anything and the truck is running great and ready to go. 4:50pm arrived back at Bergstrom to pay for hitch and pickup truck.
BERGSTROM TOYOTA - SCION
3245 South Washburn Street, Oshkosh, Wisconsin 54904
Miles: 378
Service Record information:
GUEST STATES THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS ON
LIGHT IS FLASHING. VEHICLE RUNS POOR
TECH RAN NUMEROUS TESTS AND ALL IS OPERATING WITHIN
FACTORY SPEC

Thursday December 15, 2011
Took truck in for 1 year scheduled oil change and tire rotation at Kolosso Toyota.
KOLOSSO TOYOTA
3000 West Wisconsin Avenue, Appleton, Wisconsin 54914
Miles: 5999
Service Record information:
CUSTOMER REQUEST EXPRESS LUBE "PLUS" SERVICE
CHANGE OIL AND FILTER, ROTATE TIRES, INSPECT BRAKES
Express Lube "PLUS" 3.5L AWD 11/12

Thursday July 26, 2012
Took truck in for scheduled tire rotation at Kolosso Toyota.
KOLOSSO TOYOTA
3000 West Wisconsin Avenue, Appleton, Wisconsin 54914
Miles: 11065
Service Record information:
INSPECT ENGINE OIL AND ADJUST ALL FLUID LEVELS, ROTATE TIRES,
VISUAL INSPECTIONS….

Thursday December 13, 2012
Took truck in for scheduled oil change and tire rotation at Kolosso Toyota. Also, made them aware that the tire pressure light keeps coming on and they need to check the front drivers tire because, something is wrong with it. This day was a nightmare. Again, previously called to schedule appointment and they said no appointment needed, just stop in. Get there and told that I needed to call but, will get me in. Specifically told Ryan about front driver tire issue and it needs to be looked at. A couple minutes after he put all information into computer he came to me with a slip to sign that an oil change will be about $100. This was the second time service was done here and now they were telling me that I didn’t have Toyota Care coverage. It was a battle to get this resolved and initially denied service until Service Manager Joe got involved. I was told many wrong things this day and I was so mad my wife had to talk to them because, I was no longer keeping my cool and lost it. I was not convinced that they completed the services I was there for and I did tell Joe that when we were in his office. Finally they got truck in and Joe came and said that tire pressure was low and that the tire is fine.
KOLOSSO TOYOTA
3000 West Wisconsin Avenue, Appleton, Wisconsin 54914
Miles: 13631
Service Record information:
CUSTOMER REQUEST EXPRESS LUBE "PLUS" SERVICE
CHANGE OIL AND FILTER, ROTATE TIRES, INSPECT BRAKES
COMPLETE MULTI-POINT INSPECTION, TOP OFF FLUIDS

Tuesday March 19, 2013
5:15pm, Engine light was flashing and ‘Slip’ Indicator light came on and stalling; truck was vigorously shaking and chugging, would barely move. My wife was stranded with two young kids and I was on my way to work. This was the second time it happened since truck was serviced in December 2012. Also since December service, tire pressure light on often and rotated front driver to rear passenger tire still going low but, I was told there is nothing wrong with that tire.

Wednesday March 20, 2013
Called Kolosso Toyota and talked to Service Manager Joe. He said Engine light is covered under 3yr/36. Back window seal seems to be shrinking and coming off frame, he said that is covered 3yr/36 also. Tire issue there will be a charge if it needs to be fixed; if defective covered under 3yr/36. Set up another inconvenient time with Ron on March 21, 2010 at 10:00am and will need about 2 hours.

Thursday March 21, 2013
9:58am arrived at Kolosso Toyota; 10:03am signed form ‘no cost line’
10:10am truck moved up; 10:20 truck went into shop area
10:35am Service Manager Joe came out and asked what molding was coming off and I told him that the rear window right corner.
10:42am Service Manager Joe came out again and said that the tire has a small nail in it. (hmm, they should of found this the first time I told them that tire had an issue). Said yes to the $24.95 to fix, then said to hold off and I decided that I wasn’t having them fix it. So tire was not fixed by my request.
11:18am They are ordering seal and engine issue they said its possibly the gas cap and ordering a new one. Said that when I bring it back, can also do a smoke test to see about possible leaks.
KOLOSSO TOYOTA
3000 West Wisconsin Avenue, Appleton, Wisconsin 54914
Miles: 15530
Service Record information:
CUSTOMER STATES CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON
VSC. TRAC LIGHT ON
DTCP0441/P0455 EVAPORATIVE EMISSION CONTROL SYSTEM
DETECTED (GROSS LEAK) INCORRECT PURGE FLOW
also:
TIRE PRESSURE WARNING LIGHT IS ON –
CHECK AND ADVISE RIGHT REAR TIRE
CHECKED AND SET ALL TIRE PRESSURES – ALL DOWN EQUALLY
MOST LIKELY DUE TO COLD AMBIENT AIR TEMP – RESET LIGHT

e-mail confirmation of codes:
Subject: Re: Highlander Truck codes
From: Ron@kolossotoyota.com
To: (email)@yahoo.com
Date Friday, March 22, 2013 7:54 AM
CODES CURRENT IN SYSTEM ARE
P0441 EVAPORATIVE EMISSION CONTROL SYSTEM
INCORRECT PURGE FLOW AND
P0455 EVAPORATIVE EMISSION CONTROL SYSTEM LEAK DETECTED (GROSS LEAK)
-- Original Message —---
From: (email)@yahoo.com
To: Ron@kolossotoyota.com
Sent: Thursday, March 21, 2013 2:14 PM
Subject: Highlander Truck codes
Hi Ron
I was in at 10:00am with the 2011 Toyota Highlander that had some issues checked.
Can u please send me the codes they found today about gas cap issue?
I want to make sure I have the correct ones noted.
Thank you for your time

Monday April 1, 2013
Did not hear back from Kolosso about parts for truck. Sent e-mail to Ron to find out what the status was:
From: Ron@kolossotoyota.com
To: (email)@yahoo.com
Sent: Tuesday, April 2, 2013 7:00 AM
Subject: Re: Highlander
parts are now in stock you can set up appointment time at your convenience
----- Original Message -----
From: (email)@yahoo.com
To: Ron@kolossotoyota.com
Sent: Monday, April 01, 2013 10:29 AM
Subject: Re: Highlander
Good morning Ron,
Can you tell me if the parts arrived for our Highlander?
Bach Hatch Window Seal and Gas Cap.
Have not hear anything and it's been over a week.
Not sure why I have not been called..
Thx

Thursday April 4, 2013
Called Ron at Kolosso Toyota to make appointment to bring truck in to be fixed.

Thursday April 11, 2013
8:42am arrived at Kolosso Toyota; 8:50 truck was taken into shop area
Within a few minutes Ron came and got me and we went into Service Manager Joes office; Tech said that they could not perform smoke test because, fuel tank was full of gas. Now, I told Joe, Ron and Tech that I was not told that the last time I was in to have truck issues checked and if they would of told me I would have not put any gas in it. Made Joe aware that I am not coming in after 3yr warranty and having them tell me a list of things that need to be replaced. Also, told Joe that they need to take the Black Box and get to the bottom of what’s happening and he said that they cannot do anything with the Black Box. Joe is going to call and talk to someone at Toyota about concern and also took copy of first issue service record.
KOLOSSO TOYOTA
3000 West Wisconsin Avenue, Appleton, Wisconsin 54914
Service Record information: (updated: from Thursday March 21, 2013)
VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED (NO LIGHT ON TODAY) FUEL CAP REPLACED
SYSTEM TEST COULD NOT BE COMPLETED AT THIS TIME.
FUEL TANK TO FULL

Thursday April 18, 2013
3:25pm Called Joe for update on who he talked to and what he found out. He was waiting for information and should have something within a couple days.

Friday April 19, 2013
Due to Kolosso Toyota neglecting to find what was wrong with tire going low the first time I told them something was wrong with tire, had it repaired by local Pomp’s Tire Service, Inc.
Pomp's Tire 126 N Andrews St

Monday April 22, 2013
Contacted Service Manager Joe again about Highlander issue.
From: Joe Hall <service@kolossotoyota.com>
To: (email)@yahoo.com
Sent: Tuesday, April 23, 2013 5:13 PM
Subject: RE: Highlander issues -attn: Service Manager Joe Hall
I spoke with my F.T.S. and he did some resource and did not come up with any real feedback with your concern, he said that you would need leave the vehicle over night for couple day to try to duplicate the concern.
thanks Joe
----- Original Message -----
From: (email)@yahoo.com
Sent: Monday, April 22, 2013 1:33 AM
To: service@kolossotoyota.com
Subject: Highlander issues -attn: Service Manager Joe Hall
Good morning,
You are investigating with Toyota on some issues that we are having with our 2011 Highlander.
Due to my work schedule the next couple of days;
Please email me any information you receive from Toyota and I will call with questions when I am available.
Thank you for your time and service.

No results! Just randomly bringing the vehicle in and letting them have it overnight will not prove anything. This should be the immediate concern when it is brought in when serious malfunction occurs.

When I attempted to resolve engine malfunction issues with the dealerships, I was treated as if I was a waste of their time and that there is nothing wrong with the vehicle; eventually sent on my way with no answers. I am certain these employees are not the type of people you want representing your fine company. Moreover, I know that you stand by your vehicles, and the one we purchased is clearly not up to company standards and mechanically flawed/defective.
We have suffered a great deal of personal hardship, including multiple phone calls, shop visits that are an hour drive and emotional distress, trying to resolve this issue. Please immediately investigate how this has occurred.
To resolve the problem and dissatisfaction, I would appreciate Toyota working with us as a valued Toyota owner. This is our second new Toyota vehicle purchase, and I am expecting that Toyota will prove to us that they value our dedication to the Toyota brand in the future. I am requesting an exchange/trade transaction that would allow us to purchase a new 2014 Highlander Plus(comparable to model we have) or upgraded model when one is available including additional accessories(Genuine Toyota Tow Hitch w/Wiring Harness and Cross Bars) that were purchased but, not included in the vehicle purchase price; get top trade in value for our current 2011 Highlander and Toyota stepping up to cover remaining balance(including: fees, tax, title, license), for an out-the-door price of $0.00.
I can send copies of all vehicle records at your request. I assume with the information I have provided that it is all in your system for review. Please advise that this is a serious matter not taken lightly as I know it will happen again.
I look forward to your reply and a resolution to my problem and will wait until October 9, 2013 before seeking help from a consumer protection agency or Better Business Bureau. Please contact me at the above address or by phone at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

From: Danica_Sorenson@toyota.com
To: (email)@yahoo.com
Sent: Wednesday, September 18, 2013 12:52 PM
Subject: From Toyota Executive Offices
Good morning Mr. W,
My name is Danica Sorenson and I am with the Executive Offices of Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc.. I wanted to acknowledge receipt of your email and letter sent to Mr. Lentz and Ms. Fein. We are very sorry to hear of the concerns with your 2011 Highlander. Based on your letter and request for “seeking remediation relief under s. 218.0171, Wisconsin Statutes lemon law”, I will be forwarding a Lemon Law Demand request for review. You would receive acknowledgement of your request within 5-7 business days and the review process can take up to 30 days. Even though I am forwarding your information, I invite you to contact me back if you would like to speak directly. I have left a message at the number documented in your letter. I can normally be reached between 8:30 a.m. and 5:00 pm, PST, Monday-Friday. If we do not connect, please advise if you have an alternate number or best time to reach you.
My sincerest regards,
Danica Sorenson
Executive Offices
Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc.
310-974-7520

Thursday September 19, 2013 NCDS sent letter Dear (owner name), Toyota Motor Sales, U.S.A., Inc. (“TMS”) is in receipt of your correspondence, dated (September, 18, 2013), where in you seek relief under the Wisconsin Lemon Law. This letter has been received at Toyota Headquarters and was forwarded to our Chicago Regional office to ensure efficient handling and a prompt response.
In order for a proper review of your claim, we will need the following information, which you may have in your possession:
1. Legible copies of any and all documents relating to the purchase or lease of the subject
vehicle;
3. Legible copies of any and all documents relating to the purchase and installation of any
after-market equipment added to the subject vehicle on or after the date of purchase;
4. Legible copies of any and all documents relating to any accidents involving the subject vehicle.
5. Legible copies of the current vehicle registration and any other documents related to the
registration and/or title of the subject vehicle.
If you have not already done so, please send these documents to the following address:
Toyota Chicago Regional Office
2350 Sequoia Dr.
Aurora, IL 60506
ATTN: Wendy Lutzow
In the meantime, we will compile our records on this matter. Depending on the underlying facts, we may want to conduct a vehicle inspection.
Also, we would like to make you aware of the National Center for Dispute Settlement (NCDS). This informal dispute resolution program is part of Toyota’s effort to provide, at no cost to you, an impartial and non-affiliated organization to promptly and equitably address your concerns. If you would like to contact NCDS, the toll-free number is 1-866-272-4872.
We appreciate the opportunity to lend our assistance. Please be assured that we will be contacting you shortly with hopes of amicably resolving this matter
Respectfully,
Wendy Lutzow
Dispute Resolutions Administrator, Sr.

Monday September 23, 2013 Faxed requested information to NCDS
Thursday September 26, 2013 NCDS sent second letter stating: Dear (owner name),
Thank you for providing us with the opportunity to evaluate your Lemon Law claim. In order to investigate your concerns, we did the following:
1. Reviewed the Toyota warranty history for the subject vehicle;
2. Reviewed all known repair orders from all Toyota authorized repair facilities;
3. Reviewed the documentation you sent us;
After accomplishing the above, we believe that all of the reported concerns have been repaired. Therefore, we cannot offer you any assistance at this time.
Although we do not wish to suggest any particular course of action, we would like to re-introduce the National Center for Dispute Settlement (NODS) program. Again, this program is part of Toyota’s commitment to provide free of charge, an Impartial and non-affiliated organization to promptly and
equitably address your concerns, If you would like more information, please contact the Toyota Customer Satisfaction at 1-800-331-4331, Monday through Friday, 5:00 am. to 6:00 p.m., Pacific Standard Time.
Very truly yours,
Wendy Lulzow
Dispute Resolutions Administrator, Sr.



Sunday October 06, 2013 10:30AM ‘Engine’ light was flashing and ‘Slip’ indicator light came on again; truck was shaking, making chugging noise and stall. Truck would not go. My wife and kids were stranded AGAIN. Our kids were scared and crying. They wanted to get out!
Monday October 07, 2013 7:52AM Called Service Manager Joe at Kolosso Toyota. Told him that the ‘Engine’ light and ‘Slip’ indicator light came on again, shaking, making chugging noise and stall. I set up appointment for 9:00AM Wednesday; said to ask for him. He was very quiet and didn't say much.
Wednesday October 9, 2013 8:45AM Arrived at Kolosso Toyota. Asked the service tech to get Service Manager Joe. He informed me that Joe was not in today and was in Chicago for training. (Joe should have called and informed me, since he knew of all the issues we continue to have with our Highlander). Ron Marx then came to work with me. I told Ron what the issues are and also told him I want everything documented what they find and not to clear any codes until I give ok. At 8:54AM truck went into shop area. 9:05 Ron came and told me that code P0455(EVAP System Gross Leak) is what they found and that a Smoke Test will be done to detect the leak. The Vehicle Diagnostic Report he showed me also included code P0441(EVAP Incorrect Purge Flow) that he was avoiding to investigate because, the report said No. I had a list of things I wanted them to check for both codes because, the issue is not getting resolved and gets worse every time it occurs. Ron pushed the sheet back at me and said that they will run the Smoke Test. At this point they should not be telling me NO since there not fixing issue. 9:08AM I went out to receptionist and asked for the owner or whoever is the highest up to talk too. Met with owner Bill Kolosso. Gave him the details of what has gone on with the Highlander from the start of the issues and concern at 189 miles to current. As I got to the part where Kolosso Toyota entered the picture and the things that have happened he was getting defensive and did not care about my concern. When I told him what codes came up and what I wanted his techs to check, he told me that “you’re not telling my people what to do” and also stated that he didn’t know what the codes were and would have to go find out. Well, I had information about the codes with me and when I slid them over for him to look at, he didn’t look at them and pushed the sheets back to me. He did not care and customer service was not priority! I walked out, went to shop and requested Ron to get Highlander and paper work so I can leave. KOLOSSO TOYOTA
3000 West Wisconsin Avenue, Appleton, Wisconsin 54914 Miles: 18242 Service Record information: CUSTOMER STATES CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON
SKAKSS/VIBRATES ON START UP (INTERMITTANT CONCERN)
STALLS, DOESN’T SHIFT PROPERLY.
CODES WERE CHECKED AND DTCP0445 FOUND IN SYSTEM
EVAPORATIVE EMISSION SYSTEN (GROSS LEAK)
CUSTOMER WAS INFORMED THAT SMOKE TEST WAS GOING TO BE
DONE AND THAT HE COULD VIEW LEAK WHEN FOUND
CUSTOMER CAME BACK OUT AND DEMANDED THAT NO WORK BE DONE
AND CAR TO BE RETURNED IMMEDIATLY
NO WORK WAS DONE CODES PULLED ONLY
CUSTOMER WAS GIVEN CODE PRINT OUT
Vehicle Diagnostic Report indicated that the current codes were: P0441, P0455, and C1201

After leaving Kolosso Toyota, called Bergstrom Toyota, Oshkosh to see if I can get in; already drove an hour and there about a half hour away from Appleton. 10:12AM arrived at Bergstrom Toyota and told them the issues that occurred with the truck, also gave them the information I received from Kolosso and explained that I need them to look into issue and see if they can figure out what is going on. About 15 minutes later Craig from service dept. came and got me. Took me in an office and was telling me that because, this vehicle is in review for Manufacture Buy Back; he does not want to be a part of that and will not provide service if that is the case. I told him that I received a letter stating that it did not qualify at this time. He also had a concern and said that his codes will match the codes I had from Kolosso. I told him that I know that but, he didn’t know the history of their service and mistakes. Will have tech get the codes and see what they can find. Tech verified ‘Engine’ light on and found DTC’s P0441 and P0455. Technician ran Self Pressure Test and found no leaks. When truck was ready, I asked if they did a Smoke Test and they said no because, truck does an automatic check/test at startup. Robert B and Craig said that they can’t explain why the vehicle does what it does.
BERGSTROM TOYOTA - SCION
3245 South Washburn Street, Oshkosh, Wisconsin 54904 Miles: 18265 Service Record information: A GUEST STATES CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS ON
DIAGE DIAGNOSIS ELECTRICAL
2012 IT
TECH VERIFIED CHECK ENGNE LIGHT ON AND FOUND DTCS P0441 AND P0455
EVAPORATIVE SYSTEM LEAK. TECHNICIAN RAN SELF PRESSURE TEST AND FOUND
NO LEAKS PRESSENT AT THIS TIME. NO RUNNING CONCERNS PRESENT, SELP TEST
PASSED. CLEARED DTC’S

Thursday October 10, 2013 From: Danica_Sorenson@toyota.com
To: (email)@yahoo.com
Subject: From Toyota Executive Offices
Date: Thu, 10 Oct 2013 20:04:06 +0000
Good afternoon Mr. W, I wanted to touch base and confirm you received my voice message left on 10/9/13. I am so sorry to hear you had another incident with your 2011 Highlander. Please let me know if I may follow up with you. If so, please advise of the best contact time and number to reach you during the business day.
My sincerest regards, Danica Sorenson Executive Offices Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc.

Friday October 11, 2013
Danica from Toyota Executive Office called because, she saw that Highlander was in for service again. She asked if I wanted to file another claim. She is going to contact some Regional Service Technicians to see if they have anymore insight on the issues were having and get back to me by Monday or Tuesday.

Tuesday, October 15, 2013
From: Danica_Sorenson@toyota.com
To: (email)@yahoo.com
Subject: From Toyota Executive Offices
Date: Tue, 15 Oct 2013 22:03:19 +0000
Good afternoon Mr. W,
The Regional offices are still reviewing the history of your concerns. I apologize for the delay in providing feedback.
My sincerest regards,
Danica Sorenson
Executive Analyst
Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc.


Tuesday, October 22, 2013
From: (email)@yahoo.com
To: Danica_Sorenson@toyota.com
Sent: Tuesday, October 22, 2013 7:50 PM
Subject: Re: From Toyota Executive Offices
Yes, I can meet John Deering at LeMieux Toyota in Greenbay, Wisconsin on Tuesday, 10/29 at 8:00 AM.
From: Danica_Sorenson@toyota.com
To: (email)@yahoo.com
Sent: Tuesday, October 22, 2013 6:57 PM
Subject: RE: From Toyota Executive Offices
Good evening Mr. W,
Would you be available to meet John Deering at LeMieux Toyota in Greenbay, Wisconsin on Tuesday, 10/29 at 8:00 AM?
Please confirm if this date and time will be convenient for you.
Thank you,
Danica

Tuesday October 29, 2013
8:00AM Arrived at LeMieux Toyota. Met with Service Manager Rick Dantinne and Factory Tech John Deering. Told them what the concerns/issues are with Highlander.
John said that he does not make repairs but, was requested to go through the vehicle and check for any issues. With the emissions issue, talked about a Smoke[Vapor] test that would check for tiny leaks in system. Told him that I was told vehicle does this check by itself; according the them that is not true (who knows anymore).
8:10AM John took vehicle into shop area.
8:40AM Rick brought me to the shop area where the vehicle was. To my surprise, Toyota Regional Office Dispute Resolutions Administrator Wendy Lutzow was also there which I was not informed of. She said that she was there for something else and heard I was also there. (I don’t believe by chance she was there the same time I was scheduled to be there).
John showed me a rodent nest under the engine cover and some wire coating damaged(no wires were split). Nest looks like it was started less than a few days old. John made it sound like the entire engine was infested and that this particular nest has been there forever and was the problem. He concluded that there is nothing more he will do.
I was under the impression that he was going to do a thorough inspection of our vehicle. That was not the case. When I asked him if he was going to continue the inspection, told me No.
By the expression on John, Rick, and Wendy’s face, this was some joke to them; I found no humor in it and was not happy how I was treated. Went into the lounge area and waited for paper work as they had their meeting/talk about me. They offered no written estimate for repairing the wire. Basically they told me to go somewhere else and have it fixed. This was noted in the service record that repairs are the guest responsibility.
LE MIEUX TOYOTA
2550 S. Oneida St., Green Bay, WI 54304
Miles: 18,844
Service Record information:
FTS TO INSPECT SUV AS PER TOYOTA
FTS JOHN DEERING INSPECTED THE VEHICLE, NO DTCS NOTED IN ANY
SYSTEM. CHECKED VEHICLE OPERATIONAL HISTORY. NO MALFUNCTIONS
INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND NOTED RODENT NEST UNDER THE HOOD
OF VEHICLE AND THERE IS SOME WIRING DAMAGE NOTED
THIS IS NOT MANUFACTURE DEFECT AND REPAIRS ARE THE
GUEST RESPONSIBILITY.
DATE 10/29/13 TIME 8:45AM
I went home, took the nest out and it is very recent. No rodent droppings or hair, not soiled, no smell.
The underlying issue is not resolved. After damaged wire is replaced, issue will occur again!

Tuesday October 29, 2013
7:54 PM Sent Danica K Sorenson (TMS) the information detailed above.

From: Danica_Sorenson@toyota.com
To: (email)@yahoo.com
Sent: Wednesday, October 30, 2013 7:10 PM
Subject: RE: From Toyota Executive Offices

Good evening Mr. W,
I am so sorry the meeting and inspection did not go as you had expected. I also heard back from John Deering. Based on your feedback below, would you like me to open up another request for the Lemon Law review?
Please confirm.
My sincerest regards,
Danica Sorenson
Executive Offices
Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc.

Thursday October 31, 2013
3:30PM Danica called; I told her that I am not happy with the inspection and how I was treated. Made her aware that Toyota does not care and is not resolving this issue; putting our family’s safety at risk with this vehicle. She went on to say that she wouldn’t work for a company that she doesn’t believe in (she gets paid to support and stand behind Toyota).

Monday November4, 2013
Sent email(with attached history details) to dealership we purchased vehicle form:
From: (email)@yahoo.com
To: tim.bergstrom@bergstromauto.com
Sent: Monday, November 4, 2013 3:06 AM
Subject: Highlander

Dear Mr. Tim Bergstrom,

This is a serious inquiry.

Bergstrom Toyota Oshkosh, from our personal experience is the best Toyota dealership in the area. Every time we have come the staff is friendly and I am happy with the service we receive.

When we purchase a Toyota, we are not simply purchasing a car or truck, we are placing our trust in Toyota and expect the highest-quality, safest and most reliable vehicles in the market.
I am deeply disappointed that this is not the case with our 2011 Toyota Highlander we purchased from your dealership in December 2010. Unpredicted times ‘Engine’ light flashes and ‘Slip’ indicator light goes on. Vehicle shakes, makes chugging noise and close to stall. Highlander is proven unreliable not knowing when/where it won’t work and has been nothing but a nightmare for our family.

After exhausting ALL possible ways to get this issue resolved; the actions of Toyota Motor Sales is expressed clearly: ‘Oh well, too bad, your screwed, good luck!’

See attached letter sent to Toyota Motor Sales, U.S.A., Inc on Sept 18th in regards to 2011 Toyota Highlander engine malfunction issues.

I expect that Bergstrom make it their personal commitment to restore our trust and work with us on exchange/trade transaction that would allow us to receive a new 2014 Highlander Plus(comparable to model we have) when one is available including additional accessories(Genuine Toyota Tow Hitch w/Wiring Harness and Cross Bars) that were purchased but, not included in the vehicle purchase price; or buy back Highlander for the full price paid!

We are young and have a few new vehicles to purchase in our future.
I trust that you will value our families’ commitment to your dealership and will give us a fresh start/second chance to experience Toyota quality, safety, or reliability that we are used too and expect.

Sincerely,
C

As of November 25th, No response….

Wednesday November 6, 2013
Got damaged wire fixed. . .
* Auto LLC
Shawano, WI 54166
Miles: 18,889
Service Record information:
Mechanic fixed wires to ignition coil that were chewed by mouse.

Wednesday November 6, 2013
Sent second email to Toyota Motor Sales, USA CEO Jim Lentz and Vice President of Customer Relations Nancy Fein
From: (email)@yahoo.com
Date: November 6, 2013 at 2:45:01 AM EST
To: Jim_Lentz@toyota.com
Cc: Nancy_Fein@toyota.com
Subject: 2011 Highlander engine malfunction issues

Dear Mr. Lentz:

On September 18, 2013 I sent you a letter regarding serious engine issues with 2011 Toyota Highlander. The problems we are experiencing have continued. .

(sent detailed information after first notification to current)

I feel our Consumer Rights have been violated. The vehicle history and authorized dealer notifications/letters(sent by Toyota Motor Sales) about vehicle poses huge threat to be denied service, vehicle no longer holds any value to sell/trade due to negative continuous issues(total loss), safety and reliability are proven to not exist. Are we at the mercy of this vehicle when it malfunctions on the highway? This Highlander is putting our families life and safety at risk!!
In the midst of past Toyota accelerator pedal related recalls and Prius breaking issues, we trusted the honor and values that Toyota was built on, which is the reason we purchase your vehicles. When we purchase a Toyota, we are not simply purchasing a car or truck, we are placing our trust in Toyota and expect the highest-quality, safest and most reliable vehicles in the market.
I am deeply disappointed that this is not the case with our 2011 Toyota Highlander we purchased in December 2010. Unpredicted times ‘Engine’ light flashes and ‘Slip’ indicator light goes on. Vehicle shakes, makes chugging noise and close to stall. Highlander is proven unreliable not knowing when/where it won’t work and has been nothing but a nightmare for our family.

After exhausting ALL possible ways to get this issue resolved; the actions of Toyota Motor Sales is expressed clearly: ‘Oh well, too bad, your screwed, good luck!’

I expect that Toyota Motor Sales find a way and make it their personal commitment to restore our trust and work with us on exchange/trade transaction that would allow us to receive a new 2014 Highlander Plus(comparable to model we have) when one is available including additional accessories(Genuine Toyota Tow Hitch w/Wiring Harness and Cross Bars) that were purchased but, not included in the vehicle purchase price; or buy back Highlander for the full price paid!

We are young and have a few new vehicles to purchase in our future. It will be very, very difficult not purchasing Toyota vehicles if we are not given a fresh start/second chance to experience Toyota quality, safety, or reliability that we are used too and expect.

Sincerely,
C

Thursday November 7, 2013
From: Danica_Sorenson@toyota.com
To: (email)@yahoo.com
Sent: Thursday, November 7, 2013 11:57 AM
Subject: From Toyota Executive Offices
Good morning Mr. W,
I apologize, as I understand you are not satisfied with Toyota’s position. If Toyota is able to duplicate and diagnose the concerns with your Highlander, we would address them appropriately. It is extremely important that our customers feel confident in their vehicle. If you are only seeking to have Toyota replace or buyback your Highlander, I would need to advise of Lemon Law and/or Arbitration. Please let me know if you would like me to open up a Lemon Law and/or Arbitration case for review.
I will be out of the office on Friday, 11/8/13 and Monday, 11/11/13.
My sincerest regards,
Danica Sorenson
Executive Offices
Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc.
310-974-7520

Summary/Bottom Line: -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Toyota Motor Sales, U.S.A., Inc. will do anything to sell you a new vehicle; but, when you notify them of a major safety issue with your vehicle that is not getting fixed or resolved, they want you to die and go away.

Toyota Motor Sales, U.S.A., Inc. is NOT dedicated to customer satisfaction, safety or reliability. Dealers continually claim that they can't find anything wrong with vehicle to get through the warranty period. Then, they will try and rip you off with a smile on their face!

Toyota Motor Sales, U.S.A., Inc. has no concern that its authorized dealers discriminate against me for my concerns and get in your face with anger when they don't like what you are telling them.

Toyota Motor Sales, U.S.A., Inc. tramples you down like a rag doll when you send a letter (including service records) to corporate indicating vehicle safety concerns and demand replacement/buy back under Lemon Law.

Toyota Motor Sales, U.S.A., Inc. Arbitration process is a feel good opportunity for the manufacture thinking they are taking your issue seriously and providing a fair review on the consumers behalf. From my experience, they pay these people to protect the company and not the consumer. This is just a way for the manufacture to get you to ‘Shut Up’!

Toyota Motor Sales, U.S.A., Inc. has put fear in our young kids; when we take this vehicle they ask if we’re going to get in an accident. What am I supposed to tell them? There is no answer to this question.

Toyota Motor Sales, U.S.A., Inc. is neglecting the safety of our family and others. Should an accident happen due to engine malfunction, Toyotas fault will be evident.

Toyota USA Corporate Office Headquarters
19001 S. Western Ave.
Torrance, CA 90501 USA
Corporate Phone Number: 1-310-468-4000
Fax Number: 1-310-468-7800
Customer Service Number: 1-800-331-4331
Key Contacts at Toyota of North America
Jim Lentz – President/COO – 310-468-6285
Nancy Fein – VP of Customer Relations – 310-468-5277
Toyota Corporate Office Headquarters
Toyota Motor Corporation
1, Toyota-cho
Toyota-Shi, ACH 471-8571 Japan
Corporate Fax Number: 011 +81-565-235800
Akio Toyoda – President (akio.toyoda@toyota.co.jp)

2011 Highlander UNRELIABEL/UNSAFE -engine malfunction issues
User Send email
 
Mar 28, 2012

Irresponsible response

My car was sent for service at toyota service centre (Larkin, JB) and the bumper was dented which I had only discovered 1 day later. I forwarded my complaints to the abovementioned center becauses I suspected it was damaged there. I was given a reply bluntly by the manager that such thing would never happen at his center and his workers would not lie to him without conducting a thorough investigation. I was baffled with his remarks thinking that I was out to ask for compensation. I couldn't say that they were responsible because I had no proof. The case was then handled by a customer relation officer and I was grateful that the officer handled quite well though it was confirmed by them that the damage was caused elsewhere. I am writing this complaint because I was disatisfied with the response the manager had given me becuase that was my first time buying a brand which is well-known and my first service there. As a customer I am truly disappointed with their service and I shall never step into any of the service centre of Toyota ever again because I was deeply hurt by the manager's attitude.
User924618 Send email
 
Mar 28, 2012

Irresponsible response

I have a 2011 Toyota Camry and I am having problems with reception on my radio. Took to the dealer and was told nothing could be done about it. Well I am fond of Toyota's and for 10 years owned a 2002 Camry and never once did I have bad reception with that radio. I can not believe nothing can be done about such a problem. Have the radio is off a lot because of this problem. I hope since you are the complaint center you take these complaints seriously. From a radio listening person who is not very happy.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Telstra (Australia) - Extremely poor Customers service
    Re : Extremely poor Customers service, told lies, Make...
    Flexi Club - CANCELLATION OF MEMBERSHIP
    Hi there my name is Boikanyo Jantjie i joined flexie club...
    Best Document Home - Get Real and Novelty Passports,id cards,visas,drivers
    Our company has years of experience producing real...
    Document Home - Purchase real and Novelty Passports,id cards,visas,drivers...
    Our company has years of experience producing real...
    Cash for Laptops - Scammed me on good iphone 4s
    In less than2 weeks, I got quote from you people on a...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username