Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

WageWorks

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about WageWorks

Dissapointedcustomer12 Send email
 
Mar 15, 2012

Train Pass

WageWorks is supposed to make it easier for you to get your commuter train pass every month and for less money since you get it taken out of your paycheck pretax dollar. But since they process the pass for the following month on the 10th of every month, if you are not going to need next month's pass- they don't give you much time to really figure that out. GOD FORBID you return a monthly pass to get a refund they will not give it to you. I called and was told that if I returned my monthly pass that I would be sent a check for the money that I paid out of pocket (which for a 208 train pass it turned out to be 83 dollars I paid out of pocket). I was told I would get that money in my own pocket by two people - only to now find out today that the company does not give you any money back and all they do is give you a credit on your account (for me 208) for a future pass. ONLY PROBLEM IS - WAGEWORKS - IS THAT I NO LONGER NEED TO COMMUTE SO I NO LONGER NEED ANY CREDIT! ... don't see how they can't understand the concept..i paid for the train pass they send it to me - i send the pass back I SHOULD PROBABLY GET MY MONEY BACK. i guess the concept is too difficult for them to understand. They are morons and scam artists in my mind. I will never use the company ever again in my life and i do not recommend anyone else using them either. If i ever have to commute again - even if a company i work for uses WageWorks I will NOT be using them. I will find a different company that does the same thing but instead - have brains.
WageWorks Executive Escalation Team Send email
 
Mar 15, 2012

Train Pass

Dear WageWorks Participant,

Thank you for your communication dated March 9, 2012 concerning your account issues. Your feedback is very important, and on behalf of WageWorks, we sincerely apologize for your experience.

We recognize your level of dissatisfaction and would value the opportunity to resolve your account concerns. Please contact us at executiveescalationteam@wageworks.com for additional assistance.


Sincerely,
Executive Escalation Team
NeverEverUseWageWorksHealthcare Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Claims Approval

It's almost impossible to get this service to cover anything. I sent in a claim last week, and here's what happened:

1) It was rejected because I didn't check some box on the form. I'm fairly certain that I did, but I resubmitted the paperwork, anyway.

2) It was rejected because "the date of service could not be determined." This was simply false, the receipt was clearly dated.

3) I called, and was given a new reason for rejection - that my receipt didn't prove I bought prescription contacts (as opposed to color contacts). At this point I asked to speak with a manager.

3a) I asked how anyone got anything covered, since a lot of independent doctors don't give itemized receipts with full product/service descriptions and serial numbers. I was told that it was standard practice to do this. I'm looking at 2 receipts from different doctors that don't have it. I guess I'm bad at picking doctors.

3a[1]) I actually had an itemized receipt from my dentist earlier this year, but that was rejected several times (first for reason number 1, then because it was handwritten). Handwritten receipts are apparently no good, because it's a lot harder to forge something that came out of a printer these days.

3b) I asked if I could send them a copy of my prescription, if that would adequately demonstrate that I was buying prescription contacts. No. The explanation was that I could have been trying to get non-prescription color contacts covered even though I had a prescription. When I asked why I would ever be buying non-prescription lenses when I CANNOT SEE without a prescription (and have written proof), he blamed the government (seriously).

3c) I asked him if I could send him the bar code from the contacts I bought. Not even a copy, the original. No. Not unless I get it signed by the doctor on his office's letterhead.

I'm actually going to do this, because I'm a sucker and think there is at least a tiny chance they won't find another reason to reject it.
TAR2 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Claims Approval

You are not alone in experiencing problems with how WageWorks handles claims. They don’t provide any written explanation as to why a claim is rejected and make people jump fences to collect what is their own money. WageWorks would be wise to consider the reactions of Netflix, Bank America and Verizon customers and be much more concerned with making as it as easy as possible to collect on a claim, or face a similar backlash.
TAR2 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

WageWorks is a waste

WageWorks is less than forthright about how they evaluate the receipts provided for reimbursement from Flexible Spending Accounts. I have found no consistency or transparency in how they interpret the validity of a receipt and a reluctance to put anything in writing about how guidelines are used to disqualify a receipt. It seems to me that a legitimate company would not hesitate to document their decisions. This is a cause for concern.
WageDontWorks Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

WageWorks is a waste

We have had the same experience with our medical bills. After our son was born we were out a good amount of money; after going through insurance we still had over a thousand left to pay out of pocket. We planned for that - that's why we had WageWorks. We were so wrong. The birth took place end of September. After all the insurance paperwork was done, and the final bills came in, it was already the new year. Initially, WageWorks just denied everything. I mean, everything. We kept sending in receipts, hospital bills, itemized list of charges (a separate printout we had to go to the hospital during business hours to obtain), and of course a volume of insurance statements. Still, nothing. Total denial.

So not to the phones. My wife called, got placed on hold too many times to mention, wasted hours of her time, and finally learned that "oh, sorry, we didn't notice you have until March to submit your claims for the previous year". Right - they didn't notice. Every account has that three month grace period because it's obvious the insurance companies don't turn around that fast. They paid out eventually, but the time wasted, the frustration - all of that was too much for a simple medical expenses savings account.

Now fast forward to this year. Again it's December, and again all of the sudden there are all these charges they started to question. So our account is suspended, and they're questioning over $200 of charges. We've already submitted our receipts and insurance statements, but seems that's not enough. And they don't communicate - just like the original complainant said. They just tell you they don't like a transaction, and then you figure out what it is that they need.

So we think we've figured this out. WageWorks makes their money when, at the end of the year, there are funds left in the accounts. They just keep that. So in fact it's in their interest to just not pay out. And the plan is probably that most people will become too frustrated to jump through all the hoops, and give up. Do that a million times over and you've got yourself a tidy profit margin.

This is why next year we're giving a different company a try - PayFlex. People at my work have been saying good things. And if that doesn't work, we'll just keep all our receipts and itemize. Seems like at the end of the year that may be more time-efficient than dealing with WageWorks.
L. Hausmann Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Customer service/claims denials

My husband uses a CPAP machine for sleep apnea. His employer switched FSA administration claims for the 2009 benefit year to Wageworks. Our health care plan leases the CPAP equipment to the patient on a monthly basis until the equipment has been paid for, (as patients may sometimes need to change the piece of equipment). Our FSA administrator in the past year has covered CPAP equipment.

As the annual insurance deductible renews in January, the entire lease payment is due out of pocket (to the tune of $139.26. The payment was charged to our Wageworks debit card. We received a card use verification form requesting the receipt for the item, which was faxed to them and then processed. The claim was denied.

I contacted Wageworks so-called customer service. The representative was almost entirely clueless, and could not tell me anything more than what I was able to read for myself on the Wageworks website. The customer service is completely divorced from Wageworks claims, and the representative could do nothing to elevate my concern over the claim denial. Further, she had no information as to "how" I could actual dispute the denial.

Not only are Wageworks customer service reps unempowered to do anything other than listen to a complaint, but the one I spoke with could not understand that a CPAP was a critical piece of medical equipment. I finally contacted the HR department for my husband's employer to elevate the issue (and hopefully negotiate with another FSA administrator next year).
Cubg1 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Customer service/claims denials

I agree 100% with these folks. WageWorks is a joke. I fought them over an electric toothbrush being covered that was perscribed by a doctor for receeding gums. I took it all the way to the IRS who said it SHOULD be covered. Threatened a lawsuit through the state of Illinois against WageWorks, that got their attention and they covered it. WageWorks=WasteWorks.
JenniferEvette Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

They always come up with excuses not to pay

went to the Pediatrician and submitted my receipt that says MD on it and my claim was denied. I went to the eye doctor and submitted my receipt and the claim was denied. Do they want blood? DNA. No legitimate reason to deny the claims. I have provided every single detail they have requested. They can call the doctors office if they need more information.
JenniferEvette Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

They always come up with excuses not to pay

Not sure how to advise the public, all of the disgruntle wageworks customers, but we all should forward our complaints to the ATTORNEY GENERALS OFFICE http://www.atg.wa.gov/FileAComplaint.aspx, with all of our complaints, only then can we stop WageWorks
WageWorks Executive Escalation Team Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

WageWorks is a waste

Dear WageWorks Participant,

Thank you for your communication concerning your account issues. Your feedback is very important, and on behalf of WageWorks, we sincerely apologize for your experience.

We recognize your level of dissatisfaction and would value the opportunity to resolve your account concerns. Please contact us at executiveescalationteam@wageworks.com for additional assistance.

Sincerely,
Executive Escalation Team
Mcardo Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

WageWorks is a waste

Wageworks has denied every receipt I've sent in for medical bills. With every denial I call and ask what they want. I send them what they asked for, and denied again! Finally they said they want an explaination of benefits from my insurance, so I send that. STILL NOT GOOD ENOUGH!!! Now were on rejection number 5, I called again and they still can't tell me what it is they want. I have sent in every receipt I can get my hands on and its not good enough. I'm just going to pay the dang thing and be done with it. This company has cost me more money than I would be paying in taxes. If my company uses Wageworks next year, I will NOT be signing up.
Almost Retired Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

WageWorks is a waste

I have tried everything under the sun to (1) log-on to my account with WageWorks - I can't remember my password and no one from the company will answer my question; (2) get my balance for the current year by calling their customer service number - no response even after two weeks. WageWorks questions each and every expenditure I submit (by faxing because I cannot log onto their website) even though each one is obviously legitimate. I hope to retire within the next four years and wonder if Social Security could be any worse than WageWorks. If so, OMG!!! WageWorks is just another example of U.S. companies who take your money and then proceed to thumb their noses at you.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    BlackBerry Curve 9380 - Blackberry
    My Blackberry curve 9380 stolen at kurla station. IMEI...
    GEICO Auto Insurance - unauthorized bank withdrawals
    Feb 23rd 2014 we purchased a geico auto insurance plan for...
    H&R BLOCK CUSTOMER SERVICE DEPARTMENT - h&rblock
    im trying to get money refunded for federal tax filing...
    SHOPPERDISC.CO.UK - Shopper discount deductions
    I wish to be removed from shopper discount subscription...
    cop@vsnl.net - LOST MY MOBILES
    FIRST NAME : K GOVINDA ADDRESS : CHILLAPETA...
    ACCOR Group - Rude attitude of reception employee
    My name is amr nazmy abdalla I stayed in novotel tower...
    Samsung-E1200 - LOST MY MOBILE
    Lost my mobile This is to request you that I lost my...
    25680 - UNAUTHORIZED /ILLEGAL CONSTRUCTION
    THIS IS FOR YOU KIND INFORMATION THAT NAME- DINESH KUMAR...
    1178 - unauthorised / illegal construction
    THIS IS FOR YOU KIND INFORMATION THAT NAME- DINESH KUMAR...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username