Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Walgreens

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Walgreens

123Go! Send email
 
Apr 7, 2014

Can't take days off

I've been working in a retail store for the past 2 years. I have always been able to work holidays, even if they don't put me on the schedule. Last year I worked every single holiday except July 4th (Independence Day) and the previous year was the same. This year I attempted to use my vacation time for Spring Break. Management was very hesitant in even letting me take just 2 days off. Other people had requested a week. This one other employee who had only worked there for just 5 or 6 months was able to get 4 days and me? I just wanted 2 days and they were almost not willing to comply with my request.

My family and I are planning on going out of town again in June. I haven't told them yet, but management will not be enthusiastic about it and say I'll receive a written warning the next time I request another holiday off and that I may get deductions from my salary. I understand that retail has its policies regarding taking days off. Is there something I may not be understanding about the vacation time and time off policies?

I'm 17 years old by the way. And this has been my first job that's been helping me save up for my college tuition. I work 35 hours a week.
clacy5229@yahoo.com Send email
 
Jan 16, 2014

Pharmacy Workload

I have been a technician for well over 5 years, but have only worked for Walgreens for a cumulative total of 2.5 years. I absolutely hate it. When I first started working for Walgreens (which was in 2008-2009) I loved the company. Employees and management were wonderful, I liked helping people, and liked going to work every day, which is a luxury most people don't have. Then, they cut almost all of my hours, because the brand-new store I helped to open wasn't "busy enough," but they were willing to let me work in the front-end, for wait for it, almost $6.00 an hour less. I immediately said no, I quit, and went to work for another company. I worked at said company for almost 3 full years, and I only left because I moved across the country, and the pharmacy chain I worked for is not out west. So I figured I would work again for Walgreens, because I needed a job, and figured I liked it before... Boy did I make a bad decision.

Now, in 2014, I dread going to work every day, I drink after work (which I don't even like alcohol!), and any and all requests for time off get approved, then denied a couple of days before the date requested.

I am a Senior Certified Pharmacy Technician. I have been complimented by both Pharmacists and other Technicians, as well as management in every store I have worked in, on how efficient and knowledgeable I am. I know that I am an asset to the store, as since my arrival, our customer satisfaction has increased from an average of a 4.5/10 to a 9-9.5/10, depending on the month.

For over one year, consistently, our script volume has increased from 200/day (when I got hired) to an average of 350/day. That is almost double the rx volume! That is very significant for a one year time span. In addition to this, the number of immunizations has stayed high this whole season, our KPIs are good, and we are doing everything right. However, the number of tech hours keeps getting cut. It is really frustrating, because while I'm good at multi-tasking, there's only so much one person can do by themselves. This last week alone, 12 more hours got cut. For a store that fills 350/day, we are at 109 tech hours. That is one full-time person, 2 part-time techs, and a 4-hour shift once a week. To top this off, I am expected to train externs and devote at least 3/4 of my shit answering their questions and hovering over them, all while still getting all of my own stuff done. On the day we receive the truck order, which is still massive, I was the only tech until 1:00pm. I wanted to cry.

The worst part of this is that while my Pharmacy Manager is a nice guy, he is not helpful in workflow at all. I dread opening with him because all phone calls, all customers, all prescriptions to be filled, and all the side things, like checking in the Amerisource order, rely solely on me, while he stands at the computer and F4's. From 8am-9am (I start my shift at 9), not a single prescription is typed or counted...and I know this because of promised times printed on leaflets.

Just a side note: I hate the stupid "Be Well!" you have to say to everyone. It is fucking stupid and sounds ridiculous in actual conversation. Although I like Welcome to Walgreens! They want better customer service, but requiring each conversation you have with a customer to be exactly the same is not good service. It sounds automated, and like something a corporate monkey would sit at their desk and make up, with nothing better to do.

I do everything I can to maintain a clean, efficient store, but after 5 when I leave for the day, nobody maintains that, and then I get blamed for it the next day; I can't keep doing everything alone. I feel so overwhelmed at work, and it transcends into my home life when I get texts constantly about work-related things, which I no longer respond to. If they can't figure something out, fuck 'em, it'll be left for me the next day anyway, right? We are supposed to work on chargebacks 3 times/month, but I don't think I have even looked at them in over 3 months. We are supposed to send weekly returns to our vendor, but I get maybe 1-2 every month done. Outdates, I at least make sure to pull them so we aren't dispensing expired medication, but I have only sent out one salvage claim in about 4 months.

It has been a common thing at my pharmacy for everyone to come to me. "Oh, just ask her. She knows everything." I hate these words more than any others. It does not occur to everyone that the only reason I know everything is not only because everyone asks me, but because I care enough to figure things out myself. That's the only way to learn: to do it yourself. use your common sense. Seriously, people! It's a lot of pressure to be obligated to know everything that goes on in the pharmacy, even for the hours that I am not there. How am I supposed to know that so-and-so said this to such-and such patient about this medication, and what's going on with it, especially when I wasn't around when it happened and there are no notes?? ... anyway, didn't mean to ramble.

In conclusion, what I HATE the most about my job now, is knowing that I can in no way get everything done that my job requires of me. It is a real downer, and nobody cares no matter how many times you tell them, or WHO you tell. So my goal here is to inform others before taking a job at Walgreens, to perhaps check into other options before working here.
kkk Send email
 
Apr 16, 2013

Employee disservice

My retired father works for Walgreens and has for several years. He works every weekend and takes the crap shifts no one else will work. He is honest, reliable and very conscientious, in all, a loyal employee. Last week he came home fuming because management was told a new policy just went into effect that not only would prevent employees from accruing sick time but they actually took what was already accrued away also! Same thing for vacation time. He had more than a week vacation time coming to him and now he has non, zip, zero. He is in his 70's and does not deserve this kind of bs treatment. No one does. Walgreens, you suck. And karma will bite you in the ass one day, wait and see. Bunch of greedy bastards!
FarfalleAlfredo Send email
 
Mar 24, 2012

Won't let me shop in peace.

Next time you go in, just wear a sign that says "Don't offer me customer service, I don't want it" and that will solve the problem.
Tesla Send email
 
Mar 24, 2012

Very dissapointed

I worked for two years at this place, I don’t ever want to even see one again! I quit because I hated how they treated their employees. Its completely crazy how bad it was.

The scan department (price team) rarely ever does their job and Walgreens wants to fire the employees on the register that want to help build a better customer base. One of the employees was recently terminated for giving the customers the price on the shelf. It wasn’t that she was getting something out of it, she just wanted to help the customer and give the customer an experience that would make them come back. But instead she gets fired and told it would go on her record. Its not her fault that the scan department isn’t working.

What is outrageous about this is that when any employee did a price modification, we made sure that it was approved by the higher authority in the store. The manager should be the one in hot water too! The customers want the items for the price marked, not what the computer says it should be! Whats the point of having price tags if they’re never marked right. Sounds like Walgreens is out to get the customer. Hopefully the customers wise up to this scandal.

Being in retail for even a short amount of time you realize that “the customer is always right, ” (within reason of course) but as a guideline the statement rings true. The recently fired employee questioned Loss Prevention about this issue. The women advised her that she should have told the customers that the tags were out of date and that its no longer that price. There is no way to win in that situation.

Apparently, either way you’re going to get fired. If you change the price to appease the customer then you’re getting fired for theft, but if you make the customer pay the price in the computer than you get fired for lack of customer service. I will never shop at a Walgreens ever again, and I will advise others to do the same. Either way you’re screwed!
FarfalleAlfredo Send email
 
Mar 24, 2012

Very dissapointed

That sounds about right. I just quit Walgreens after 10 months of employment. They put my availability in the computer wrong and refused to fix it, denied all my requests for time off (while granting all my co-worker's requests). I hated working Saturday night because they put up new sale tags before the items were scanning, but just try to tell a customer "That price does not go into effect until tomorrow", the shelf says that price and that is the price they want to pay.
JustSayin99 Send email
 
Mar 19, 2012

Won't let me shop in peace.

You are truly one of the problems in retail today.
12Nancy Send email
 
Mar 19, 2012

Treat employees bad

After 4 months of working in the Walgreens photo lab I knew the company was evil, so I just drank on the job.
12Nancy Send email
 
Mar 19, 2012

Treat employees bad

I really hope some employee sues the heck out of Walgreens. I know a diabetic has a lawsuit going.
Send email
 
Mar 4, 2012

Pharmacy sucks every time!

Every time . . . I give them another chance and another chance, hoping that maybe they would get a little better at what ever they are running over there. Every time i get a prescription filled there, it could be 8 hours later and they still won't have it ready. Every time i go there - drive-thru or going inside - there is always a long, long line, and it takes about 10 minutes just for someone to finally get their medicine. I always see customers shaking their heads with disbelief, and i ask myself why do we go through Walgreens for prescription refills? Yes, it may be closer to the house than other places, but i am at the point where it is not worth it! The time it would take to drive somewhere else, pick up the meds, and come home, i would still be in the drive thru waiting for my Walgreens refills. I am changing my pharmacy tomorrow, this place is awful with a capital "a"!!! Thank you for letting me vent.
FLOYD IN FLORIDA Send email
 
Mar 4, 2012

Pharmacy sucks every time!

I deliver to Walgreen and they have more part time people that McDonald's!
Part time people up the Ying Yang!
They must have minium wage pharmacist as none of them ever stays!
Use to go to Walgreens for Prescriptions but Since the fools decided to dump Tri Care
I was forced to go to CVS? What fools, now they have lost half of their Prescription sales!
Good show CEO ur running Walgreens right into the Ground!
Walgreens is firing at the Bottom to cut cost when they should be firing at the Top!
Walgreens says Express Scripts was offering “below-average” reimbursements for the more than 80 million prescriptions it fills annually for Express Scripts’ members[8]. In ending their contract with Express Scripts, Walgreens faces potential losses of $5.3 billion in annual sales[9].
Get rid of you Walgreen's stock now as the Bottom is about to fall out Especially in the Miltary areas of the nation!
Whythelongfaces Send email
 
Mar 4, 2012

Pharmacy sucks every time!

I work for a pharmacy, not Walgreens, but a busy store. There is a process to filling a script. We do not just grab stuff off the shelf and slap your name on it. Please remember, we have walkins, pickups, faxed scripts, call ins, refills, insurance processing, pick ups etc all while trying to fill your request. It can take awhile. Yelling and snapping your finger and cussing and grumbling will not make us go any faster.

If you want faster service, use a slower pharmacy, like a mom and pop one. The Medicine Shoppe comes to mind. Do not go to a busy pharmacy then complain about how busy it is.
DennetteD Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

couldnot find web-site

...like everyone else, could not find www.walgreensfeedback.com
Janis Barnhill Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

couldnot find web-site

I took the survey. In addition, I want to compliment Cody and Chris and rate them a 9. They were fantastically helpful to me with my photo print order, and I appreciated them so much. I wanted you to know how helpful they are at the Walgreen's on Hwy. 36 in Gatesville, Texas (our only one).

Janis Barnhill
jandjbarnhill@embarqmail.com
Gatesville, Texas 76528
Janis Barnhill Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

couldnot find web-site

I give Cody and Chris a "9" for customer service at the Walgreen's at Hwy. 36 in Gatesville, TX. They were terrific as they helped me with my order of prints in the Photo Dept.
Ihatewalgreens Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Won't let me shop in peace.

Walgreens employees are REQUIRED to ask you if you need any help, the cashier was just trying to be friendly and helpful. Management is all over employees to provide "Customer Service" to its customers. Maybe you should shop online where you can shop in peace and have no interaction with employees or go to Wal mart where no one will even speak to you. Its customers like YOU that make retail employees hate their jobs!!
Tasha4 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Won't let me shop in peace.

Just wondering you do have a good point, however if you hate walgreens so much why are you sticking up for them.
Tasha4 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Won't let me shop in peace.

Ndleaks, she had the opposite problem at another store where no one asked her for help and she complained about that as well. So damned if you do, damned if you don't. Yu have to be able to read her mind. That is what she expects.
Ndleaks Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Won't let me shop in peace.

Idiot, it is called customer service. That is walgreens policy you must speak to every customer that comes within a few feet of you.
Dicktrickle Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Won't let me shop in peace.

Go back to Puerto Rico if you don't wanna be harassed you fuckin' spic!!
LoyaIShopper Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Won't let me shop in peace.

My mom and I were shopping a t Walgreens and I was asked by the employee if I needed help. My mother got angry and told them if we wanted help we would ask for it. I have a feeling that we are being discriminated against because we are Hispanic. They think because we are Hispanic that we are going to steal or we don't know how to read. If we wanted help we would have asked for help.

To make it worse the cashier asked if we found everything we were looking for. My mom said we are not stupid and yes we did find all we were looking for.

Why can't a person just go shopping in peace and not have to worry about employees harassing them when they shop.
Tasha4 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Won't let me shop in peace.

You have a lot of times on your hands don't you. In one review you are complaining that you were shopping and no one asked or offered to help you, now you are complaining that you are being asked for help when you do not need help. Guess there is no pleasing you and it is all a matter of reading your mind to find out what you want. GROW UP, you can't have it both ways. Wait you are not grown up you are only six years old.
Hholmes Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Treat employees bad

I was recently let go after 4 years... Never missed 1 single day for that company, worked harder than anyone, went out of my way for my customers( whom I adore). I became stl 2 years ago but was doing the same exact job (most times more) than the assistant managers and getting paid $4 hr less than them and then let go for taking a coupon from a customer who didn't want it and using it for my purchases and their coupons didn't add up right so they said I took it but I called payroll to ask about my banked sick days and was told ..." you lost them...nothing we can do for you" I thought this was a good company but I was wrong... If you're thinking about a career with Walgreens...please " RETHINK " !!!
Iusetocare Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Treat employees bad

I use to work at a Walgreens in Texas. I was there for 2 years & had a family problem & had to deal with it. My manager got mad that I called in to work even though my nephew was placed in the ICU. He didn’t have a heart at all. When I returned to work to do my job, I was told that I had posted something bad about Walgreens on my myspace. I had posted something about how “I didn’t care for my job like I use to due to the lack of heart & understanding within the system.” It wasn’t anything horrible. So since I was fed up with being pushed around I ended up quitting the next day. It wasn’t just them telling me they were going to put me on probation without pay that hurt .. I worked my butt off for that place. Was excellent at my job & was one of 3 other employees that cared about who they worked for. I felt like I got pushed around because I was a college student who worked the cosmestics counter & I didn’t have a kid so I didn’t deserve respect. Well .. Now I can say out here & out loud, screw you Walgreen’s. I hope CVS over powers them. That is all.
Lil91 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Treat employees bad

Walgreens do not know how to treat their good workers! I have worked there for over 10 years. Never late, always did my best, put in the unpaid over time (salaried), was a great worker. When I applied for higher positions, it is the a kissers that got the job - Not the hard worker. I'm sorry - Walgreens Managers - that I didn't spray you with a can of Kiss-A$$! HOPE THAT KARMA WILL WORK ITS COURSE! HOPE YOU ROT! GO CVS!!!

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    cop@vsnl.net - lost Phone
    Name:- Anshul Tyagi Address-C-6 R.K.Puram Govindpuram...
    Veteran Advantage - Ripoff
    Veterans Advantage is a big ripoff. I look online for...
    Microsoft billing bill.ms.net WA - ILLEGAL CHARGE
    I GOT A $99.99 CHARGE DRAFTED OUT OF MY ACCOUNT...
    Samsung Mobile i9082 - Missing
    My Name Venkatesan Samsung I 9082 Model Imei...
    Topix.com - PASSPORT
    We offer only original high-quality fake passports,...
    wells fargo dealer services - Buy fake Passport ,Visa,Driving License,ID CARDS etc
    We offer only original high-quality fake passports,...
    Cleveland Clinic Foundation - Buy Registered / FAKE Australian,USA etc Passport...
    We offer only original high-quality fake passports,...
    Buy Fake passport legit - We offer only original high-quality fake passports,...
    We offer only original high-quality fake passports,...
    Samsung - LOST
    I lost my samsung mobile (EMI NO 355830052787323) on...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username