Log inRegister
Submit Complaint


United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Walgreens

nelsonx6 Send email
Oct 3, 2015

Always out of generic Accolate

It seems that every time that my generic accolate 20mg x 2 daily has to be refilled Walgreens is always out of the medication.They
generally have it ordered and filled within 3 days or less.This time it's pushing 7 days as of tomorrow.Although it does make my
breathing much better,to hell with it.The cost of the mess is un-realistic.It's more than than the name brand used to be,and no,I don't
want to hear,well every thing cost more these days.Prescription medications are a rip off.Hell,Al Capone must still be alive setting
the prices on this stuff.Yes,I have to have my blood pressure pills,or I'll end up like Mom with a massive stroke.But these companies
know this and they are punishing us just to stay alive
Back to the generic accolate.I will train my body to go back to pre-accolate conditions of which I was still alive,not dead,just a little less endurance,a little more trouble breathing.I will no longer be at the mercy of the manufacture of accolate or Walgreens sitting
around on their sorry behinds,taking their sweet time about getting this medication.If they knew from from the past,that this trouble
existed,why didn't they attempt to begin to order it long before it began to get in short supply on their shelf?
Of course,you'll say I'm crazy.That's fine with me as I no longer care or give a dam$.But as of tomorrow when I call and they tell me it still hasn't come in,I'll tell them to forget it and throw the prescription in the trash.Everyone have a beautiful day!
Robert Faust Send email
Sep 21, 2015

Pharmacy staff (Pharmacist)

On Sunday, 9/20/15 in the early a.m. my wife and I went to the store on Princeton Drive in Huntley. Prescription for Trifluridine was electronically submitted and the store had received same. About 25 minutes later, pharmacy staff stated they did not have the medicine and to go a mile north to other Walgreen's as they have it. While just exiting store, loud speaker summoned us back to pharmacy as the other Walgreen's does not have the medicine. Staff informed us that pharmacist was calling other Walgreen stores to find the medication. Some 20 minutes later, unable to locate required medicine. Spoke with manager who stated Walgreen's phone system is very slow? As a result of an extended waiting period, suggested that the staff check across the street at the Wal Mart pharmacy. Sure enough, Wal Mart had the medication which was provided within 15 minutes. Very frustrating dealing with the Walgreen's pharmacy on Princeton Drive in Huntley. Will take future med's business to Wal Mart..........................................................................................................
FthatS Send email
Aug 19, 2015

Horrible Application Process

Man I'll tell you....I spent hours with the online applications, multiple tax credit surveys, and no less than 5 assessments! As you can imagine, it is very frustrated spending half the day on one application for a retail job!! The best part is all the distractions and quite frankly way more important things you have to ignore whilst in the weeds with this damn application process!! All for what....at the very end of the long, arduous and ridiculous last survey....a box pops up that says "Thanks, but Walgreens can't offer you a position at this time". WHAT?!!! I will never set one foot into any of their dumpy, cheap-ass, smelly locations EVER AGAIN!!!!!
Loyal Customer Send email
Aug 16, 2015

Photo services

Ordered photos to be copied and enlarged online through web service. Ordered 4 hours before going to the store and 2 hours after they said they would be done. I went to the store and I was meet with confusion. They knew my name but didn't know where my photos were. The manager was called ovet by the sales associate and told him there was a problem. My photos weren't processed or even printed out. TWO hours after they were supposed to be done! Should have gone to Walmart! Know I know for next time. Biggest disappointment was the manager who didn't even want to tell me the problem. He made his sales person tell me. Walgreens that is not Managemwnt or Leadership. I have other choices and it won't be your stores. Everyone makes mistakes but not dealing with it properly made matter worse!
Georgemcguire478@gmail.com Send email
Jun 25, 2015


Currently I am out on workman comp. My doctor prescribed a pain killer which I was to use as little as possible. When I learned it was $1800 for a thirty day supply, I made 10 days worth stretch over a month. Had a call about Walgreen mail order, said fill the next 10 days worth at the local Walgreen pharmacy and they'd send the other 10 days. Well, because I said that was ok, they took another prescription for a 30 day supply with two refills and sent me a 90 day supply, $5000+ worth of pills which they won't take back. They said they only fill 90 days on mail order and didn't care that it said 30 days. I'm so disgusted with Walgreen I can't take this medicine and their local store where I had filled the original prescription refuses to help.
I will never spend another dollar with Walgreen for the rest of my life.
Axes Send email
Jun 22, 2015

Playing God

The pharmisist I had been speaking on two medications I have been on for sometime she has not nor came across with me the customer in mind at all. All it appears is she is going to direct my doctors on how to prescribe my meds. 1st I had my primary dr. Call in my ADHD med. on Saturday 6-20-15 at which time they informed me they would order the med. it will be in on Monday . I had no problem with that. To further our conversation on the 2nd prescription 8mg hydrophone according to my pain doctor and ins. Company I could pickup on Sunday the 21st. FOR SOME DAMN REASON THIS PHARMACIST THINKS SHES GOD, SHE KNOWS NOTHING OF MY MEDICAL HISTORY AND FURTHER IS NOT AND I REPEAT IS NOT MY PROVIDER. SO SHE CALLS MY DOCTOR AND GETS HER WAY POWER SEEKING BITCH ...... AND I MEAN IT...... SO NOW I PICKUP MY SCRIPT ON THE 27th just LIKE SHE WANTED FROM THE BEGINING. WHEN I HAD ASKED HER ABOUT THE FENTANYL PATCHES THAT FELL OFF LAST MONTH 4 WHOS RESPONSABLE FOR THOSE . HER COME BACK WAS WHEN THEY SOLD THEM TO ME ,
Romanov Send email
May 25, 2015


My dog is getting a second knee surgery tomorrow at 8 am. The vet gave me a prescription for a patch they put on him after surgery. I dropped of the prescription and everything was fine. When I returned however I was informed that the pharmacy did not feel comfortable with filling such a high dosage of medicine for me. I had this same prescription filled at the same store a month ago. They claimed they called me but I did not receive a call. I understand the concern over high dosage of pain medicine being prescribed but nobody asked the circumstances of why I need this and as far as I know nobody called my vet to ask him why he would prescribe this amount. Now I have to find a pharmacist that will fill this prescription by tomorrow morning and it adds more stress to an already stressful situation because my dog needs the patch when he gets out of surgery.
omarollie Send email
Apr 17, 2015

red nose

I'm an employee and I'm dreading red nose day. I'm going to feel like an idiot wearing a clown nose my whole shift.
tim1tim1 Send email
Apr 15, 2015


Oh and by the way, I never had a problem for 10 yrs picking up 240 norcos a month at least 3 days early every time. Seems so silly that I have to struggle to get bunavail filled. Its a goddamn sham.
tim1tim1 Send email
Apr 15, 2015

bunavail, uneducated pharmacists

They messed up my savings card by thinking a 14 day supply was 14 films even though my script is for 90 a month. Then I had to go back 7 times in one month to pick up partial films. Asked them to order, said they would. Went to pick up yesterday and they had 6 total films, a 2 day supply for me and said it'd be a week before order would be in. Obviously they have no clue what the medicine is for and that waiting a week for it could easily lead to someone's death. I will never go there for anything ever again. Addiction is a desease and proper treatment shouldn't be so hard. I paid more out of pocket than the total for the month with the savings card. What a sham. And to top it all off they were rude to me every fucking time.
asv10121 Send email
Apr 13, 2015

Very disappointed with pharmacy

Walgreen's does suck! It's a shame that they have been able to get away with so much and for so long. I unfortunately have had the last of bad experiences. I kept thinking to give them a chance because after all every store is different and with different personality employees but today I went in to pick up an antibiotic and specifically requested this antibiotic but the pharmacist gave me two prescriptions that included the one I had requested. When I got home, I realized that I was given one I had not asked for so I went back to return the second, 45 minutes later. After being told to wait (after 15 mins), Daniel Min Pharmacy Manager of the Walgreen's on 5201 Belt Line Rd., Dallas, TX rudely told me that there was nothing that could be done and that I needed to get out of my vehicle and go inside. Then he began to "argue" and talking over me saying that he didn't know what he wanted me to do, that supposedly "by law the prescription could not be returned" even though I had just been deceived into buying it, given that I had told the pharmacy tech what I was specifically picking up. Daniel Min stated, "we just assume"....totally unacceptable behavior, response and customer service. Mr. Min was very condescending and offered no other options, in fact, he just refused to even listen or take any accountability, blaming the doctor and the patient. Walgreen's and Daniel Min show proof of such an unethical business and practice. SHAMEFUL!! A business should never "assume" as Mr. Min stated. Good customer service entails giving the customer thorough information so that the customer can make a choice of what they need to purchase. It seems Mr. Daniel Min just manages his techs as 'paper pushers' and not responsible service providers. He himself takes no accountability for their own mistakes which only demonstrates proof of terrible management. It is very disappointing.
SKIPPY Send email
Mar 30, 2015

Bait and switch

The prn floater is emailed with an emergency request for assistance at a store 80 miles from base store to work an 8 hr shift.
Thepharmacist cleans up, packs a bag and drives does, the shift. one hour before finishing the shift, district office calls the pharmacist stating that they could not find someone to fill the next shift, so they tell the pharmacist that if he doesn't take the next shift, the store will have to close the,.pharmacy

The scam is that the shift was originally a 12 hour shift in which the market scheduler couldn't find someone to work so she only advertises an 8 hour morning shift to sucker someone to commit to the store thus blackmailing the floater into working a 12 hour shift with no break and no lunch This scam is done around holidays and when prima donna salaried pharmacists want a special day off. This practice is high prevalent in Alabama districts One Alabama district has been routinely pulling this scam since at least 2007 Due to the rapid turnover and burnout, Alabama WAG continually has to recruit and train new pharmacists
This unfair play and dishonesty is poisoning the district with anger and bitterness.

It's called integrity do the research get rid of district management. Also remove salaried pharmacists robbing WAG by coming in 2-3 hours late and leaving early OOO/XXX SKIPPY
Worthlessgreens Send email
Aug 21, 2014

Walgreens, at the corner of Greed and Profits

The people who currently mismanage Walgreen's on the corporate level have spent the last six years making the absolute worst possible decisions on the future of the company. The pre-Barack Obama Walgreen's DOES NOT EXIST. This company is run by Democratic Senator Dick Durbin. There is now only 25% of the merchandise selection in a Walgreen's store than there was six years ago. The tenured employees.... DO NOT GET ANNUAL PAY INCREASES. There is nothing more for the thousands and thousands of tenured employees that make up the heart and soul of Walgreen's. Nothing for them. This company put in place a "pay cap" that the tenured employees reached years ago. The place is now staffed by people with ADD and OCD, because "they need jobs too." Good hiring logic right? Simply put, this company has been destroyed by unbelievably bad business decisions. They intend to siphon their annual profits out of the pockets of the people that work at Walgreen's. Have a complaint about it? There's the door...... They will purchase an entire chain of stores in the U.K., however they will not give pay raises to their tenured employees. The most unbelievable bunch of lying phonies in retail. The people making decisions at the corporate level have never set foot in a retail store. If I have to work there until I am two hundred years old, I will see them close down the entire worthless chain of stores.
Cocoyeo Send email
Jul 2, 2014

Gift card not activated

I received a Starbucks gift card.. In the amount of $25. ( Purchased 6/28/2013...) and purchased at an unknown Walgreens. Upon attempting to use it at a local Starbucks, I was told it was't activated. I put the card away and neglected to do anything about it. When I recently attempted to have the card activated at a local Walgreens in North Carolina, I was informed that since I only had a gift receipt, not the actual receipt and had no knowledge...or way of finding out exactly where the card was purchased, ...that I was out of luck...
I called Walgreens customer service...spoke with a Sonia and a Stephanie...both were polite but unyielding...I was told that company policy requires a receipt and knowledge of the store where the card was purchased. I offered to send the unused and unactivated card, along with the gift receipt, but was told that would not be sufficient.
I am mystified that such a large company as Walgreens is not willing to consider fixing a problem caused by a Walgreens employee error. I am surprised that I encountered such poor service recovery. I have been a long time Walgreens customer, but will not be one in the future if this problem is not resolved.
Catherine Yeomans
10415 Annalexa Lane
Charlotte, , NC
123Go! Send email
Apr 7, 2014

Can't take days off

I've been working in a retail store for the past 2 years. I have always been able to work holidays, even if they don't put me on the schedule. Last year I worked every single holiday except July 4th (Independence Day) and the previous year was the same. This year I attempted to use my vacation time for Spring Break. Management was very hesitant in even letting me take just 2 days off. Other people had requested a week. This one other employee who had only worked there for just 5 or 6 months was able to get 4 days and me? I just wanted 2 days and they were almost not willing to comply with my request.

My family and I are planning on going out of town again in June. I haven't told them yet, but management will not be enthusiastic about it and say I'll receive a written warning the next time I request another holiday off and that I may get deductions from my salary. I understand that retail has its policies regarding taking days off. Is there something I may not be understanding about the vacation time and time off policies?

I'm 17 years old by the way. And this has been my first job that's been helping me save up for my college tuition. I work 35 hours a week.
clacy5229@yahoo.com Send email
Jan 16, 2014

Pharmacy Workload

I have been a technician for well over 5 years, but have only worked for Walgreens for a cumulative total of 2.5 years. I absolutely hate it. When I first started working for Walgreens (which was in 2008-2009) I loved the company. Employees and management were wonderful, I liked helping people, and liked going to work every day, which is a luxury most people don't have. Then, they cut almost all of my hours, because the brand-new store I helped to open wasn't "busy enough," but they were willing to let me work in the front-end, for wait for it, almost $6.00 an hour less. I immediately said no, I quit, and went to work for another company. I worked at said company for almost 3 full years, and I only left because I moved across the country, and the pharmacy chain I worked for is not out west. So I figured I would work again for Walgreens, because I needed a job, and figured I liked it before... Boy did I make a bad decision.

Now, in 2014, I dread going to work every day, I drink after work (which I don't even like alcohol!), and any and all requests for time off get approved, then denied a couple of days before the date requested.

I am a Senior Certified Pharmacy Technician. I have been complimented by both Pharmacists and other Technicians, as well as management in every store I have worked in, on how efficient and knowledgeable I am. I know that I am an asset to the store, as since my arrival, our customer satisfaction has increased from an average of a 4.5/10 to a 9-9.5/10, depending on the month.

For over one year, consistently, our script volume has increased from 200/day (when I got hired) to an average of 350/day. That is almost double the rx volume! That is very significant for a one year time span. In addition to this, the number of immunizations has stayed high this whole season, our KPIs are good, and we are doing everything right. However, the number of tech hours keeps getting cut. It is really frustrating, because while I'm good at multi-tasking, there's only so much one person can do by themselves. This last week alone, 12 more hours got cut. For a store that fills 350/day, we are at 109 tech hours. That is one full-time person, 2 part-time techs, and a 4-hour shift once a week. To top this off, I am expected to train externs and devote at least 3/4 of my shit answering their questions and hovering over them, all while still getting all of my own stuff done. On the day we receive the truck order, which is still massive, I was the only tech until 1:00pm. I wanted to cry.

The worst part of this is that while my Pharmacy Manager is a nice guy, he is not helpful in workflow at all. I dread opening with him because all phone calls, all customers, all prescriptions to be filled, and all the side things, like checking in the Amerisource order, rely solely on me, while he stands at the computer and F4's. From 8am-9am (I start my shift at 9), not a single prescription is typed or counted...and I know this because of promised times printed on leaflets.

Just a side note: I hate the stupid "Be Well!" you have to say to everyone. It is fucking stupid and sounds ridiculous in actual conversation. Although I like Welcome to Walgreens! They want better customer service, but requiring each conversation you have with a customer to be exactly the same is not good service. It sounds automated, and like something a corporate monkey would sit at their desk and make up, with nothing better to do.

I do everything I can to maintain a clean, efficient store, but after 5 when I leave for the day, nobody maintains that, and then I get blamed for it the next day; I can't keep doing everything alone. I feel so overwhelmed at work, and it transcends into my home life when I get texts constantly about work-related things, which I no longer respond to. If they can't figure something out, fuck 'em, it'll be left for me the next day anyway, right? We are supposed to work on chargebacks 3 times/month, but I don't think I have even looked at them in over 3 months. We are supposed to send weekly returns to our vendor, but I get maybe 1-2 every month done. Outdates, I at least make sure to pull them so we aren't dispensing expired medication, but I have only sent out one salvage claim in about 4 months.

It has been a common thing at my pharmacy for everyone to come to me. "Oh, just ask her. She knows everything." I hate these words more than any others. It does not occur to everyone that the only reason I know everything is not only because everyone asks me, but because I care enough to figure things out myself. That's the only way to learn: to do it yourself. use your common sense. Seriously, people! It's a lot of pressure to be obligated to know everything that goes on in the pharmacy, even for the hours that I am not there. How am I supposed to know that so-and-so said this to such-and such patient about this medication, and what's going on with it, especially when I wasn't around when it happened and there are no notes?? ... anyway, didn't mean to ramble.

In conclusion, what I HATE the most about my job now, is knowing that I can in no way get everything done that my job requires of me. It is a real downer, and nobody cares no matter how many times you tell them, or WHO you tell. So my goal here is to inform others before taking a job at Walgreens, to perhaps check into other options before working here.
kkk Send email
Apr 16, 2013

Employee disservice

My retired father works for Walgreens and has for several years. He works every weekend and takes the crap shifts no one else will work. He is honest, reliable and very conscientious, in all, a loyal employee. Last week he came home fuming because management was told a new policy just went into effect that not only would prevent employees from accruing sick time but they actually took what was already accrued away also! Same thing for vacation time. He had more than a week vacation time coming to him and now he has non, zip, zero. He is in his 70's and does not deserve this kind of bs treatment. No one does. Walgreens, you suck. And karma will bite you in the ass one day, wait and see. Bunch of greedy bastards!
FarfalleAlfredo Send email
Mar 24, 2012

Won't let me shop in peace.

Next time you go in, just wear a sign that says "Don't offer me customer service, I don't want it" and that will solve the problem.
Tesla Send email
Mar 24, 2012

Very dissapointed

I worked for two years at this place, I don’t ever want to even see one again! I quit because I hated how they treated their employees. Its completely crazy how bad it was.

The scan department (price team) rarely ever does their job and Walgreens wants to fire the employees on the register that want to help build a better customer base. One of the employees was recently terminated for giving the customers the price on the shelf. It wasn’t that she was getting something out of it, she just wanted to help the customer and give the customer an experience that would make them come back. But instead she gets fired and told it would go on her record. Its not her fault that the scan department isn’t working.

What is outrageous about this is that when any employee did a price modification, we made sure that it was approved by the higher authority in the store. The manager should be the one in hot water too! The customers want the items for the price marked, not what the computer says it should be! Whats the point of having price tags if they’re never marked right. Sounds like Walgreens is out to get the customer. Hopefully the customers wise up to this scandal.

Being in retail for even a short amount of time you realize that “the customer is always right, ” (within reason of course) but as a guideline the statement rings true. The recently fired employee questioned Loss Prevention about this issue. The women advised her that she should have told the customers that the tags were out of date and that its no longer that price. There is no way to win in that situation.

Apparently, either way you’re going to get fired. If you change the price to appease the customer then you’re getting fired for theft, but if you make the customer pay the price in the computer than you get fired for lack of customer service. I will never shop at a Walgreens ever again, and I will advise others to do the same. Either way you’re screwed!
FarfalleAlfredo Send email
Mar 24, 2012

Very dissapointed

That sounds about right. I just quit Walgreens after 10 months of employment. They put my availability in the computer wrong and refused to fix it, denied all my requests for time off (while granting all my co-worker's requests). I hated working Saturday night because they put up new sale tags before the items were scanning, but just try to tell a customer "That price does not go into effect until tomorrow", the shelf says that price and that is the price they want to pay.
JustSayin99 Send email
Mar 19, 2012

Won't let me shop in peace.

You are truly one of the problems in retail today.
12Nancy Send email
Mar 19, 2012

Treat employees bad

After 4 months of working in the Walgreens photo lab I knew the company was evil, so I just drank on the job.
12Nancy Send email
Mar 19, 2012

Treat employees bad

I really hope some employee sues the heck out of Walgreens. I know a diabetic has a lawsuit going.
Send email
Mar 4, 2012

Pharmacy sucks every time!

Every time . . . I give them another chance and another chance, hoping that maybe they would get a little better at what ever they are running over there. Every time i get a prescription filled there, it could be 8 hours later and they still won't have it ready. Every time i go there - drive-thru or going inside - there is always a long, long line, and it takes about 10 minutes just for someone to finally get their medicine. I always see customers shaking their heads with disbelief, and i ask myself why do we go through Walgreens for prescription refills? Yes, it may be closer to the house than other places, but i am at the point where it is not worth it! The time it would take to drive somewhere else, pick up the meds, and come home, i would still be in the drive thru waiting for my Walgreens refills. I am changing my pharmacy tomorrow, this place is awful with a capital "a"!!! Thank you for letting me vent.
Mar 4, 2012

Pharmacy sucks every time!

I deliver to Walgreen and they have more part time people that McDonald's!
Part time people up the Ying Yang!
They must have minium wage pharmacist as none of them ever stays!
Use to go to Walgreens for Prescriptions but Since the fools decided to dump Tri Care
I was forced to go to CVS? What fools, now they have lost half of their Prescription sales!
Good show CEO ur running Walgreens right into the Ground!
Walgreens is firing at the Bottom to cut cost when they should be firing at the Top!
Walgreens says Express Scripts was offering “below-average” reimbursements for the more than 80 million prescriptions it fills annually for Express Scripts’ members[8]. In ending their contract with Express Scripts, Walgreens faces potential losses of $5.3 billion in annual sales[9].
Get rid of you Walgreen's stock now as the Bottom is about to fall out Especially in the Miltary areas of the nation!

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code


    Share this site with others


    Recently Updated Complaints

    Aflac - aflac delial of claims poor customer service
    Aflac denied claims for accidental injury care stating a...
    Reliance Telecom Ltd., Odisha - Unauthorized deduction of Amounts
    Dear Sir, Reliance telecom service provider in Odisha...
    Clark Shoes - 2 pairs of shoes melted
    I bought two pairs of your shoes and they fell apart one...
    carl's junior - Television ads
    Just saw another terribly sexist and degrading Carl's...
    Microsoft billing bill.ms.net WA - Debit card
    I was charged $59 by you and I want it back right now....
    Carls Jr - Degrading to women. - geared towards shallow male needs
    Hardee's commercials are geared completely towards...
    carl's jr - innapropriate advertising
    The advertising coming this company is deplorable! I...
    shawnryan0000@gmail.com is a scammer - shawnryan0000@gmail.com is a scammer
    shawnryan0000@gmail.com is a scammer, beware of Him. I...
    documentconsultant1@gmail.com is a scammer - documentconsultant1@gmail.com is a scammer
    documentconsultant1@gmail.com is a scammer, beware of Him....
    papersolutioncenter@gmail.com is a scammer - papersolutioncenter@gmail.com is a scammer
    pas sportbynight@gmail.com is a scammer, beware of Him. I...

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    E-mail address:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username