Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Wedding Photography

Australia,
Victoria

Consumer complaints and reviews about Wedding Photography

Sallyhater Send email
 
Mar 16, 2012

DO NOT USE THIS PHOTOGRAPHER

oh my...I am so glad that i found this thread. I found the owner Sally so very strange. I could not understand her bloody jargon and she made us sign all sorts of things. The only thing that was positive was the photos were lovely but obviously not worth the stress and heartache of what is above. I wish i had seen this before I signed.
Disgruntledandunimpressed Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

DO NOT USE THIS PHOTOGRAPHER

It seems their service is atrocious for everyone. Whilst my story seems to be similar to everyone else's I might as well repeat it, another voice added just makes our screams louder.
My husband and I ended up choosing this company as they were slightly cheaper than another who had a similar photography style and albums, my how I wish we had gone with the 'more expensive' company, because we ended up being held to ransom at a much higher price.
I believe our original cost was around the 2.5-3k mark. The amount of photos seemed substantial and we believed we could easily place them within the stated page limit. Luckily for us we didn't have Sally as our photographer - and we loved the guy we had. When our videographer asked who our photographer was he shook his head and warned us, he said that they were notorious in the wedding circle, having changed their company name many times to avoid litigation. Unfortunately we had already put down 50% of the fee, and as we were paying for our entire wedding ourselves, and recently bought our first home, we believed we couldn't afford to lose the money - we SHOULD HAVE FLED.

On the day we were told to come in and choose the photos, the photos weren't even up! We waited hours just to see the photos. Then after selecting an amount that was 75% less than what the contract stated we could pick Sally, dressed in filthy tattered clothing with horrific BO - told us that the new price was going tobe around 8k because of all the 'extra' pages. You see, the contract doesn't state that Sally is allowed 'artistic licence', which to her means putting 1-3 photos on PER PAGE. She also then mentions that any background image used (out of your selected images) is charged per page! If you don't pay then all your photos are printed on a white background. As most people said, this is why you end up being in her studio for 15hours + - she REFUSES to make the album any way but her way, so suddenly the 750-1200 odd photos you were allowed to have in our contracts in her hands ends up with a massive photobook costing 3x what you agreed on.
We managed to stay calm and try to reason with her and ask to put more photos on per page, but there is no REASONING with a maniac and a criminal.
At one point she actually threatened, and I quote 'IT WOULD BE A SHAME IF THE COMPUTER CRASHED AND ALL OF YOUR PRECIOUS WEDDING PHOTOS WERE LOST FOREVER'.
I have never wanted to physically harm another human being in my entire life, but at that moment I had to restrain myself from beating her to death with a paperweight. IT became horrifyingly clear that she would stop at no length to get the extra money she wanted. So the next day I returned with my father who is an attorney and we managed to get the cost down to 5k with the original amount of photos we wanted. Despite the contract being a laugh my father warned me that with someone like Sally, who had already closed shop a million times, it wasn't worth risking our photos to try to take legal action.
The reason they are still in business is because even once you get your photos, if you do try to shut them down, all of those other couples whose photos they have will never see them, and despite our intense hatred for this despicable miscreant, we couldn't risk those other innocent people's photos.
The only thing you can do is spread the word to anyone you know is getting married to STEER CLEAR.
Once we got the album (a lifetime later, due to a supposed parental death etc), like the person above, it wasn't even a week before it bubbled and deteriorated, I can't even bring myself to look at it anymore and there is no point asking her to re do it, you'd be waiting til your deathbed.

DO NOT USE THIS CRIMINAL COMPANY!!
SallySucks Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

DO NOT USE THIS PHOTOGRAPHER

I am surprised Serindipity is still in business. My wife and I went through the same issues as everyone else, so it seems to be their business model. Show you artistic photos, and a decent price structure, and then hold you to random with your wedding photos, and make you sick and tired at 3am until you through in the towel and pay more.

It is not really about the money, is the fact that there are human beings as low as "Sally" that cannot be honest in life, and choose to torment people instead.

On the day that we where choosing the photos to be put in the album (i.e. being held to ransom) a couple had some in, and left crying after they had been though 4+ months of drama AFTER they got their album because Sally was some cheap printing factory that delivers 2nd grade quality goods. Even our album developed bubbles etc after only a couple of months, and this is after paying more for an air sealed case for it.

If anyone is googling this BEFORE they use this company, thank god you have found this. RUN FOR THE HILLS, and tell all of your friends before they get married too! Even if the photos are offered to you for FREE, it IS NOT WORTH IT. Having a scumbag at your wedding, and having them own the copywrite to your special day is not fun.


This all happened over 3 years ago and I personally still cannot get over it.
Sally, if you are reading this, and I know you are because you have posted above 3 or so times with "fake reviews". Is it all worth it? Is your white collar crime worth it? Is the extra 50% you scam off every customer worth it? What if one of your customer crack one day, and kidnap your kid and hold you to random?

Sally your heart is black and I only wish that one day you will redeem yourself...but I know that this will never happen and I ashamed that I was born to be apart of the same race as you. You are the cancer in this world and one day, karma will come back to it will do much worse then bite you in your fat ass.
Disgruntled Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

DO NOT USE THIS PHOTOGRAPHER

Unprofessional and rude, no customer service. We signed a reasonably priced contract only to have them spring costs that were mandatory but not included in the contract. She would not have our input in our own album and made us sit in her studio for 14hours.The photographer was making inappropriate comments and lewd remarks to our guests.Pay the extra money and go somewhere else. Serendipity's photos may look good, but it is not worth the heartache. 2 of our friends have had the same experience.
Shitendipity Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

DO NOT USE THIS PHOTOGRAPHER

The above comments bring back a flood of memories. Thankfully due to a double booking, we didn't have Sally as our photographer on the day, but rather her partner/husband instead (who didn’t stay for the whole thing but just parts of it). Although, we received a few comments from guests, we felt he was ok and the photos themselves were really, really good.

However, the album planning sessions and contract negotiations were a complete nightmare! As mentioned by others the original 'contract' was a scrawled mess that was almost impossible to decipher. I asked for it to be typed up and was rebuffed even after pointing out that such a 'professional' company such as theirs could surely type up a receipt. This ‘contract’ is certainly open to adjustment too and we were consistently browbeaten into buying more, basically told we were cheap when we didn't and endured hours upon hours of rants, aggression and nonsensical tirades during the album planning session that lasted between 5.30pm and 3.30am the next morning. Thankfully my wonderful wife was both smart enough to bring food in anticipation of the extended time and tough enough to resist Sally's financially motivated melt downs. Like other people here we also saw a traumatised looking couple preceding us in the studio.

During the session we were told which photos we were allowed or not allowed to have and derided by Sally when we wished to include photos that she didn’t like. She pressured us to get certain artistic (but expensive) flourishes and revealed additional expenses not previously mentioned like touch-ups and the like. During all of this we were treated to further ‘professional’ touches like her kid riding around the studio naked on a scooter, her conducting the session sans bra whilst wearing a tank top and the ultimate highlight of her storming out of the room when we disagreed with her one too many times, yelling “You can do it all yourselves!”

In the end we got the album, a disc with the photos, some prints and two parent albums for about $2000 more than the original ‘contract’. It took several more months and a lot more phone calls and changed appointment times before we collected them though, and we felt like our photos were hostage to their demands until we collected them.

The final kicker was they asked for an endorsement for their website. Well, here it is.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Jad Loan Service - HOW I GOT MY LOAN FROM A RELIABLE AND GENUINE LOAN COMPANY
    Hello everyone... I am Nicole Morgan by name, currently...
    22834 - HOW I GOT MY LOAN FROM A RELIABLE AND GENUINE LOAN COMPANY
    Hello everyone... I am Nicole Morgan by name, currently...
    ADT - Absoute Security of America And ADT
    I signed up with ADT and evidently their "authorized...
    IBPS RRB - CHANGE MY EXAM DATE
    SIR, I applied for both RRB and SSC exams.problem is both...
    cop@vsnl.net - Mobile theft
    My mobile is stolen in train Name - Arun Yadav Model No...
    kia soul - 2012 Kia Soul paint shipping
    I have a 2012 Kia Soul. Hood is all chipped and so is the...
    private-personal - maternity UIF unpaid
    on the 25 May 2014, to date have not received any...
    P C Richard & Son - I got a refrigerator that does not work
    I am furious with the store in Paramus NJ. On July 2014, I...
    htc one s - lost mobile
    Lost htc one s - silver grey color Name - Ashlmo F...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username