Submit a Complaint

2003 Saturn Vue

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about 2003 Saturn Vue

Becky White Send email
 
Feb 28, 2012

transmisson and other

I have had my saturn vue for a 1yr1/2 now and i have had nothing but trouble with it and i am a single mom also and have two years left to pay on it.shortly after i had it i had to replace my wheel bearing and axel then it was my hub bearing and brakes then my carrier bearing need replaced and my awd was going out so since the carrier bearing was bad they just took the carrier bearing out and dismantled my awd that was just 3 week ago and then last week my engine locked up and i do not know what to do i have 2 more yrs left on my loan.
Angiee1978 Send email
 
Feb 28, 2012

transmisson and other

I bought a 2003 Saturn Vue last year with 78000 miles on it. The motor had to be replaced after 3 months. Then the whole car had to be rewired 3 months later. and now the transmisson is going out, , Are you serious? I am a single mom and I thought this would be a great car boy was I wrong. If you dont like spending lots of money on repairs I would stay far away from this car.
MariAuro Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Major transmission problems

2003 Saturn Vue totally unwanted. We bough the car hoping to get to work on it, but now we are just working to pay for all the repairs it needs. recently we replace some parts of the engine...now the transmission!!!
and no dealer wants them back...any info on the civil actions?
Tns422 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Major transmission problems

I have a 2003 Saturn Vue and guess what the transmission went. I called GM and they had told me that they are no longer honoring the 50% or $5, 000. My car has only 95, 000 miles on it. Does anyone know if they are still going with this class action against GM or is it over with? If it is still going on how do you become apart of it? I never had a problem dealing with Saturn ever since GM took over they don't care about the Saturn customers, it is what it is they just want you to buy their brand and then they will treat you better!!!
CmdrNoval Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Major transmission problems

I can say this... The drivetrain of the Vue was designed solely for the sub-compact... It was never designed to pull the weight of an SUV loaded with passengers... Some "genius" at the GM Design Center made the call to use this drivetrain in this vehicle... To all of our dismay... I hate to even see one pull in my shop, because I know I am going to have to tell some poor soul that they got screwed. What many of you may not be aware of... This "VTI" transmission actually uses a rubber belt as the internal drive mechanism... This is why the failures are sudden and silent... There is also no dipstick in this transmission to check the fluid level... Low fluid levels cause the belt to degrade rapidly, and without warning. Rid yourself of this vehicle as soon as possible. Also, Saturn is not the only Manufacturer that used this type of transmission... Chrysler and Honda, amongst others use a "CVT" transmission which is of the same flawed design. And those makers are having the some of the same issues. Honda uses a much higher quality belt and suffer less failures, but really it is not worth the risk when spend that big money... When you buy a new vehicle... DO YOUR HOMEWORK!
Smf_7 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Major transmission problems

Fuckin Transmission problems again on our 2003 4cyl. @ 95, 000 miles. WTF!
Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Major transmission problems

I have a 2003 Saturn Vue with major transmission problems. I bought the car with 35000 miles on it, at 35990 the car starting making a grinding noise and found out the transmission was having problems, Saturn said they fixed it.

I drove to about 70000 miles and heard the same noise and took it to Saturn, this time the transmission had to be completely replaced. I thought at this time I was safe for the life of the car, because it had a new transmission. I am at 10300 miles and the same noise has appeared again. I called saturn consumer customer call line and was told to take it to a dealership and have it diagnosed. I did this and was told that the end cover needed to be replaced and that it could be flushed but this would only be at temporary fix. I called Saturn back and was told that the transmission needed to be completely replaced again and that it was out of warranty and they would cover half as a good will gesture and I would have to cover the rest. I asked how that could be when they had put a brand new transmission in at 70000 miles and it went out again. I also told them that I was aware that they have had severe problems with this model year car transmissions, the girl on the other line stated that was not true. I am at my wits end, I cannot afford another car, I still owe alot and cannot afford another one at this time. I am beside myself and don't know what to do. I thought I would come here to see if there was help out there that I did not know about that you could point me to.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username