Submit a Complaint

24 Hour Fitness

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about 24 Hour Fitness

snehalpatel Send email
 
Dec 2, 2017

Membership scam and cheating

I bought a 24hr fitness membership way back in 1997 that gave me all club access.
Over the years they have created tiers and now claim that I have access to only Active clubs. It was Ok for a while since I had some clubs nearby but now there are no Active clubs near me. All of the clubs I used to go to have been upgraded and I can no longer go to them. They effectively sold me a service and then over the years the service is no longer available and they want me to pay more for an upgrade. The new price is now over 4 times what I pay if I have to go to the super sport club nearby. I tried to ask for a rebate but they said "take it or leave it". They would rather lose me as a customer of 20 years than help me with a reasonable price.

This is really bad service and they should not be allowed to run a business with such unfair practices. If they upgrade a club in my area they cannot stop me from going there. There has to be some regulation.

Wondering if anyone else has had this issue?
Mei1997 Send email
 
Dec 28, 2016

Didn't give me back my refund!

I signed up for a one-year membership at 24-hour fitness that came with one free lesson with a trainer. At the end of the training, she asked me if I was interested in buying a session for $299 but I misheard it as $2.99. When I got home, I saw I was charged $299.99 so I texted the trainer the next day that I misheard and I want to cancel the sessions to get my refund back. She told me she was going to process my refund but I waited a long time and still didn't get it. I called her several times to ask about my refund and she always told me to wait a little longer. I even personally went to look for her to ask about my refund and she gave me the same response.I waited for like 6-7 months and finally talked to the manager there and he said I couldn't get back a refund because it passed the time to get the refund. My trainer was supposed to be in charge of the refund and I did tell her immediately the next day I wanted to cancel it. It's her fault for not doing her job properly and so I can't get my refund. That doesn't make sense. I even have the text messages as proof that it was the employee's fault but they told me I can't receive a refund and that she quit already. If she quit, does that mean they don't have to take responsibility? She was still an employee there when this incident happened so they should take responsibility and yet they told me I can't get my refund no matter what. They're scammers!
cchoi3999 Send email
 
May 12, 2015

What a scam and cheating!

My wife and I registered for 24 hr fitness membership for my 17 yrs old son so that he can workout with one of his friend whom goes there for his work-out. Basically he wanted us to get the month to month base membership. So when we went there asked for a membership with proper explanations to the guy(I remember his name clearly) and he responded that "Sure we have the monthly base membership and you can cancel it anytime...and so on" we double check and double check it for sure just in case, so that we we trusted that ..next, he wanted us to sign on computer screen with bunch of contract things with his reiteration that "no worries and nothing is different than what I told you". After a couple of months, my son wants to cancel it saying it is not very clean environment plus his friend is starting to work out at LA fitness. Knowing what I know about those kids wants to work-out with their friend...so my wife went to 24 hr fitness to cancel the membership of my son...but the guy (i.e., the same guy who even helped us to get us the membership) was saying ...gotta pay for 6 months membership penalty saying that the contract is for 1 year?? So talked to service manager , but same things - What a BS this is...that I think is biggest scam to rip off their customers...and they don't have any original paper for the contract. My wife tried to contact their corporate manager and left a voice mail with phone number,but no calling back(?). No wonder they are loosing all their royal customers to other gyms. It almost all sounds like well planned internationally 24 hour really suck how they treat and how they conduct their business. I don't know how to get out of it...it feels got stuck and no way out - can any body has any idea?
RIPPED OFF 999 Send email
 
Mar 23, 2012

Stolen funds! Plain ordinary rip-off!

DO NOT SIGN A CONTRACT WITH ACHIEVE 24 HOUR FITNESS IN HACKETTSTOWN, NJ. I MOVED 90 MILES AWAY . I NOTIFIED ABC FINANCIAL, THEY REQUESTED A COPY OF MY LEASE. I PROVIDED THE LEASE AND THEY CONTINUED TO BILL MY CREDIT CARD FOR AN ADDITIONAL 3 PAYMENTS STATING THEY DIDN'T GET MY ADDRESS AND SIGNATURE. THEY ARE CROOKS AND DIFFICULT TO WORK WITH.
Send email
 
Mar 23, 2012

Stolen funds! Plain ordinary rip-off!

I signed up for a membership with 24 hour fitness at work in Omaha, Nebraska on approximately 11-8-06. They scanned my bank debit card and were supposed to charge me $64.00. On 11-9-06 they withdrew $114.16. I contacted them on 11-9-06, and spoke with a Stella Hedin, and advised her of the situation. She advised that they would put the difference back into my account. The funds were not put back into my account at that time. I have since spoken to her and her supervisor Reggie Morton about 6 or 7 times by phone, and each time they assured me that the funds will be returned immediately. The funds have never been returned. I have attempted to be patient, but at this point it has been well over a month, and I can no longer trust that they will ever return the funds. It is very difficult for me to believe that a corporation like this would not even have the decency to resolve their own mistakes, but would rather have a person like myself tell everyone who will listen, that this company is a plain ordinary rip-off. Sad!
Thud Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

I'll never go to them again

$400 a month...lol!
WGAS Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

I'll never go to them again

This has to be a joke... $400 a month for a fitness membership... at 24 hour fitness? What did you have on your membership, manicures, massages, waxes, facials, vip access to the hot tub where you are the only one allowed when you take your dip?

Well, I can not believe you were "paying them over $400.00 USD per month" either!

At any rate, late payment is late and yes, if you cancel your contract early, you get charged for early cancellation.

Just because someone says something you do not want to hear or disagree with, does not mean they are being rude.
Melinda Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

I'll never go to them again

I lost my credit card and 24 hour fitness contacted me requesting me to pay my late payment. The person was very rude, and I decided to cancel my membership. She told me she was going to charge me a penalty for canceling. I asked to speak with her supervisor and her supervisor told me the same thing...

I'll never go to them again! I can't believe i was paying them over $400.00 USD per month!
24hoursuckiness Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Monthly Membership Dues

I stopped going to 24 hour fitness about a year ago. I usually frequented the one at Lowery in Denver. The customer service at the front desk had been rude on several occasions and I came to find out that 100% of 24hr fitness' political contributions are to the republican party. I tried repeatedly to discontinue my service by telephone, but was each time put on hold for EXCESS OF 20 MINUTES. After paying for the better part of a years membership fees, and in that time failing to get through a phone call for membership cancellation, I endured the 25 minutes of "your call is important to us" recording and eventually did get a customer "service" representative. I cancelled my membership, but was told I was going to be billed for the current month as the due date had just passed. I protested, citing my difficulties in getting through, and the rep said that I could have gone to the fitness center (where customer service had become so bad) or called, and that they were not aware of any problems getting through the phone lines. I asked to talk to a supervisor, and basically was told that I had not tried hard enough to cancel my membership.
I vow to never again be a 24hourfitness member. Their service is atrocious, they have minimized their staff numbers to a point that they don't care about the customer because they are so overworked, and apparently that is the case with their call centers too. I've since joined a public rec center and am very happy with it. 24 used to have good service and nice facilities. I encourage everyone I know to join the public rec center rather than fund this corperate monster that has forgotten who keeps it's lights on. 24 hour fitness sucks 24/7.
Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Monthly Membership Dues

My wife and I have been members/clients of 24 Hour Fitness since 1997 where we joined the club in Pleasanton, CA. We moved to Missouri and have been trying for 4 months to cancel my wife's membership (she gets her workout chasing 4 kids). She has called several times and was told 24 Hour Fitness policy prohibits them from canceling memberships over the phone? What if we lived in a State without a local 24 Hour Fitness Center? She was told memberships could only be canceled "in person". Since I workout at the Chesterfield MO center, I spoke to the person behind the desk the very next day and asked them to cancel my wife's membership - done. Or so we thought, the very next month we get a debit for both membership dues. I spoke to the person (different person this time) behind the desk and was told they bill 1 month in arrears, so billing should stop the following month. Didn't happen. So, once again I brought this matter to the attention of the person behind the desk (3rd different person), and was told my wife's account shows it is "closed/terminated". Guess what, this month we got billed again for both membership dues, and this time the person behind the desk (4th different person) told me I would need to “come back in person during normal business hours to speak with a sales person". Quiet obvious this is an intentional business model implemented by 24 hour fitness to generate unwarranted revenue. Since 24 Hour Fitness Centers do not belong to the BBB, it is difficult without Legal assistance to get them to act ethically and with integrity.
SouthernCalifornia Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Scam and cheating

Yes! Let's do something! Contact me, please!
Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Scam and cheating

I tried out the 24 Hour Fitness here in Scottsdale after seeing a trial month offer. But after 2 weeks I decided that I liked the Village Health and Racquet Club a lot better. When I went to go cancel my account, they told me that I would be forced into a 6 month membership.

What good is the trial then? Eventually after arguing, they canceled my membership. By trial, I guess they mean that they will put you on 'trial' and force you to defend yourself for even trying out their cruddy establishment.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username