Submit a Complaint

8ta

South Africa

Consumer complaints and reviews about 8ta

earlton Send email
 
Mar 22, 2017

simswop telkom

My phone was stolen and whent to telkom shps at greenacres, got a new sim did the simswop to keep my old number and it has been 5 days and nothing is happening
Gys Send email
 
Nov 27, 2016

Network problems

Hi if been with 8ta for about 3 years having received good service but lately having alot of problems with network problems 1 in 4 calls i try to make says not registered om a network then i have to wait a few minutes or restart my phone sometimes even restart a few times its realy annoying.
Im waiting on feedback from 8ta
roseygalz Send email
 
Jun 17, 2015

poor service

i have a contract with 8ta and lost my phone on the 27th of May 2015 and went to the store to ask for sim swap and a new phone since i didnt have a phone and they gave me a phone as an additional contract and i asked to keep my number so they migrated my number to the new phone and said that i will have to pay for the previous phone since the contract was only six months old , i asked them to give me only the services that come with the phone but they decided to add internet bundles without my concert and when i asked them they said they will investigate and come back to me and for almost 2 weeks the case is not resolved and to my suprise they debited the money for the add on bundles while my case is not yet resolve....please help
samteboho Send email
 
Jun 10, 2014

contract phone

hi my contract with 8ta is now erro i know i had paying proble
eventually i pay full amout then my sim stop working after i pay since then they dont contact me i dont
know whats going no my number 0815857075 is in erro
please call me on 0795301686 sam
Delphine De Beer Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

complaint regarding my new contract

i baught my son the huawei s7 slim tablet for christmas.he then put in a pattern lock.he forgot the pattern and locked the tablet itself.we have spent the last three weeks on the internet trying to fix it.i wrote a email to huawei in chinathey sent me a email back saying that the network provider must unblock the tablet.we then phoned 8ta and they tell me there is nothing they can do because the sim is not blocked.we then phoned telkom and they said they wanto send it away.i ask you how can i pay for something that cant be used.
Regan Craig Davids Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Late Delivery, Incorrect Account, Bad Service

I recently paid for a 8ta sim swap and 8 days later and two visits to the Telkom Direct Tygervally Shop the sim card is still not activated.Let's hope today is the day ."3rd time is a charm" I wish
Senginyathi Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

complaint regarding my new contract

I wonder if it is the correct way 8ta is advertising their products. What you get when you enquire from their stores is very different from what they advertise in the media. Can't the Advertising Board help us with this?
Hannesjventer Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

complaint regarding my new contract

Good day

I would like to log the following complaint regarding my new contract. I received a phone call from a consultant who sold all the benefits and conditions to me.

According to my knowledge the following was said:

I will receive 25 mb for free every month to use
I will receive 130 minutes for free any time
I will receive 50 sms per day
I will receive one free phoning on landlines
I will receive my contract with the conditions on delivering of my phone

After receiving my phone I noticed the following:

Only 10 mb available as per sms received?
Free minutes – 11 minutes to other networks and 55 minutes from 8ta to 8ta?
Didn’t receive any sms on my sms availability?
Don’t have a land line – that’s ok
I didn’t receive any contract or documents on delivery of my phone.

If it was said that the free minutes will only be from 8ta to 8ta I would definitely not have considered taking up the contract!!
Sanele Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Late Delivery, Incorrect Account, Bad Service

A cell phone(nokia x201) was delivered to me on 18.10.2011 but up to today the sim card has not yet been activated yet its supposed to be activated within 48hours.I have spent more than R400 calling the 0861939351 without help. my contact no is 0798578073
Brian VS 8ta Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Late Delivery, Incorrect Account, Bad Service

I recently ordered/purchased the 10Gig promo that 8ta was offering:

Firstly; 8ta failed to deliver on the sim card (as promised) on time(5 days late).

8ta then proceeded to block my usage prematurely when my they suspended my Internet when my account showed that they were in fact in error.
( Included data:10 GB
GPRS: 2 MB remaining 3070 MB used. )

When trying to resolve this error:
There "helplines" listed under "value added services" on there website are constantly engaged (even though they are supposedly listed as 24 hour services).
When you finally manage to get through, follow the voice prompts and then directed to wait for a call centre operator you have to wait an additional 28 minutes until you give up...

8ta's service is obviously lacking in many regards.
Bayegirl Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Incorrect account

Hello Dear
My name is Mariam and i am looking for honest partner if you are interesting please just mail me back through my email address ([email protected] )so we can know each other and from there i will send my picture to you thanks and have a nice day!
Mariam.
J26 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Incorrect account

During September I received a phone call from a 8ta consultant powered by Telkom. Before the conversation even started I informed the consultant that I am not interested in any contract as I am already a satisfied Mtn customer and I wanted to end the call. The consultant however persuaded me to listen to him. He told me that he does not want to offer me a contract and that I am receiving a FREE Nokia X2 cellphone plus an additional R1000.00 cash because I use so much airtime monthly. The warning lights immediately went off in my head and specifically asked the consultant if he is sure that this is for FREE and that there will be no charges payable from my side. He in turn told me that the only money I need to pay will be a ONCE OFF payment of R280 for the airtime that will be loaded on the phone before hand. I still thought that this whole situation was odd, why would 8ta give me a phone and cash back if I'm a Mtn customer? The phone arrived a week later and I needed to sign a delivery note from UTI couriers. The R1000.00 would be payed into my bank account 21 days after arrival of the phone. Surprise surprise, no R1000.00 was payed into my account. Instead a RECCURRING BILL for R344.66 arrived in the mailbox. I phoned 8ta on numerous occasions to try and sort out this whole situation but instead received no assistance. I have not used the phone or sim card since its arrival and refuse to pay a contract I did not sign up for. Why would I want a Nokia X3 cellphone when I have a Blackberry Curve 8520? The account number on the invoice is: 333622148, Cell no: 0815317457

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username