Submit a Complaint

Abercrombie, Hollister

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Abercrombie, Hollister

Larissa Send email
 
Jan 26, 2013

Let's face it

I'm 15 years old and I have friends of all sizes, literally from 000's to 14's and 15's so I understand that it can make people insecure sometimes but let's face it, it's a business for profit and considering the demographic that they've already attracted adding larger sizes would not help the company. Manufacturing bigger sizes would require them to shell out more cash and since typically, only smaller girl do come in and shop at these brands, it might be a waste because they would be left with too many big sizes that nobody's going to buy. Another thing is I truly don't think Hollister sizes run small, it's just that Aeropostále runs big. I am a S or even an XS in Hollister, Abercrombie, Pacsun, Urban Outfitters, Zara, etc. so to say that their sizes run small is quite contradictory to experience, I'm not bone thin either, believe me. The sizing in these stores aren't made for adults but for us teens so if you're an adult complaining that the sizes are too small for you, you might also have to think about your clothing options. And most importantly, do keep in mind that I am a teen. So I can give you a better perspective as to what your "bigger" children feel and what you should do about it. Last year, I was at 134 lbs. at heaviest and only 5'3"-5'4" and I used to always think that I can't do anything about it, that's just my body. And with my 16 year-old older sister being less than 100 lbs., I thought it was unfair too. Add the fact that I'm Filipino, most of us are much smaller so even my mom subtly compared me to my sister's figure and sort of hated her when she did. To be completely honest, for your daughter to cry about it and not do anything is a little immature. Living in SoCal, I'm surrounded by all these skinny girls who eat everything and never gain weight and go to the beach and still look amazing no matter how many In-N-Out double-doubles they eat. But you know what I did? Instead of feeling sad for myself and mope, I did something about it. I cut back on my fast food, white rice, unnecessary snacking, etc. And just that little does help because I'm not athletic. And now I'm at 120 and I feel really good where I am now. I thought my mom was being superficial and hard on me but without that push I would still be on the edge of being overweight. Sure, accepting her the way she is really good, it really is. However, if you know you can do something about it, help her and don't enable her to be complacent with how she is.So take it from me, from my experience with the insecurity, tough love does help. It's not the company's fault with sizing and whatnot. You can clearly help your daughter but you're not. You're clouding up her perspective.
NIANDRA1 Send email
 
Jan 12, 2013

Descrimination against heathy sized girls

MY DAUGHTER ASK FOR HOLLISTER CLOTHING AS WELL AND I POSED THE SAME QUESTION..... WHY ARE THERE NOT BIGGER SIZED CLOTHING, HERE IS WHY.
1ST THE 12 YEAR OLD GIRL, MOST LIKELY IS GOING THROUGH PUBERTY. AS A HEALTH CARE PROFESSIONAL THIS TELLS ME THAT IT IS POSSILBLE THAT THIS CHILD MAD BE THIS SIZE OR HAS GAINED WEIGHT DUE TO THE FACT THE THIS IS THE TIME THAT THEY BEGIN PUBERTY. ( LOOK IT UP KIDS GAIN DURING THIS TIME) HOLLISTER IS VERY POPULAR AMONG THE KIDS TODAY. AND I COMPLETELY UNDERSTAND WERE THIS MOTHER IS COMING FROM I FELT THE SAME WAY. MY DAUGHTER WAS A CHUBBY GIRL FOR A YEAR AND A HALF THEN THE WEIGHT BEGAN TO DISAPPEAR!
IT IS SAD THAT AS A PEOPLE WE JUDGE THIS MOTHER AND HER DAUGHTER, ONE BEFORE THINKING OF ANYTHING OTHER THAN BLAME SMDH! SAD
AND LETS FACE IT MOST URBAN PEOPLE HAVE MORE WEIGHT THAN PRIVILAGE PERSON, SO LET JUST SAY THAT HOLLISTER IS NOT TARGETED TOWARDS URBAN GROUPS!!!!!
ASDFGHJKL Send email
 
Nov 11, 2012

????

I don't really agree with any of your complaints. First off, who requested you to shop there?? There are hundreds, thousands, and millions of other stores for you to shop at. Plus, I'm fine with the price, it's not that expensive when you look at it, there's always a clearance with every item, you just have to check and when there is, it's always 30 bucks and below. Oh and, it's spelled DISCRIMINATION, NOT DESCRIMINATION.....U should've know at first your daughter can't fit those clothes so, you should blame yourself and I could tell you have terrible parenting. Teach your child to accept how she is instead of yelling Hollister. If you can't learn the basic step of reality then, there's really no point for you to even be here complaining..... FACE IT...UR DAUGHTERS TOO BIG FOR HOLLISTER CLOTHES, LEARN TO FACE REALITY BEFORE YOU STEP OUT INTO THIS WORLD!
User928945 Send email
 
Apr 8, 2012

Descrimination against heathy sized girls

I'm a 5'2", and I weigh 105 lbs. Don't know why your 12 year old daughter can't fit into Hollister though. I'm 12 too and I wear an XS for the top size. Love Hollister!
User923575 Send email
 
Mar 26, 2012

Descrimination against heathy sized girls

I personally don't like Abercrombie clothes anyway, but my best friend loves them. Here in England she is a size 4-6 (0-2 in america) and she fits the jeans but has to get something ridiculous like a large!!! When she's not large at all!!! And she can't wear the t-shirts either cause she is an E cup, meaning she doesn't fit anything on the top half unless it has a zip, and also cant purchase Gilly Hicks bras. I think the fact that they don't accommodate larger girls, even those that are 18 or 20 (14 or 16) is disgusting!!! Why, just because you're bigger, should you not be able to wear a clothing brand!!! I'm a size 14 (10 to the yanks) and extremely proud, because i have CURVES!!! I'm not just a horrible bag of bones! And, besides MEN (as opposed to boys) prefer a woman with a bit of meat, gives em something to hold on to (if you know what i mean ;]). We should be teaching kids to be comfortable with ourselves, AND teaching those kids who ARE stick thin that just because someone has a different body, doesn't make them better than them.
I agree that if the weight of a child is affecting their health, then yes something should be done about it. Otherwise, live and let live... there are more important things in life.
User923575 Send email
 
Mar 26, 2012

Descrimination against heathy sized girls

"So the entire Abercrombie and Fitch brand should change because your chubby daughter can't fit in our extra large? So I guess Lane Bryant should sell smaller clothes since skinny folks can't fit in it. Perhaps a BMW dealership should lower prices because not everyone can afford it right? Get over it. Abercrombie sells clothes to our target consumer, skinny, attractive adults, a demographic your daughter CLEARLY doesn't fit into. A&F doesn't advertise, and uses the customers who wear our clothes as the advertisers. We can't have overweight people representing our brand, as it will damage it. On the bright side, your daughter can always get perfume or flip flops! :-)"

EXCUSEEEE ME!!!??? your target audience is "skinny, attractive adults"??? Just because you're skinny, doesn't make you attractive... Or is this a new rule? Have someone by the door judging peoples looks and turning down those with a mole on their face, or big nose??? You disgust me.
Susie.sexton Send email
 
Mar 17, 2012

Descrimination against heathy sized girls

Look at it from the other point of view as well. I am literally, a size 0. I CANNOT find anything in my size most of the time. I do not have any eating disorders, I am naturally around 86 pounds (20 years old). I hate going places, especially around swim wear season and I have to buy KID sizes because most places don't have an extra small. I find XL and L galore at most places like Hollister, but not any for little girls like me. So, I settle for kids stores, and it's embarrasing.
A&F MANAGER Send email
 
Feb 27, 2012

Descrimination against heathy sized girls

So the entire Abercrombie and Fitch brand should change because your chubby daughter can't fit in our extra large? So I guess Lane Bryant should sell smaller clothes since skinny folks can't fit in it. Perhaps a BMW dealership should lower prices because not everyone can afford it right? Get over it. Abercrombie sells clothes to our target consumer, skinny, attractive adults, a demographic your daughter CLEARLY doesn't fit into. A&F doesn't advertise, and uses the customers who wear our clothes as the advertisers. We can't have overweight people representing our brand, as it will damage it. On the bright side, your daughter can always get perfume or flip flops! :-)
Aniyah Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Descrimination against heathy sized girls

OK people I'm neutral about this OK the mom wants her daughter to be happy not embarrassed about shopping there but you do not have to be cruel and say disgusting things about the daughter because u don't know how she is in person and in thee other hand the reason why they have a certain size because they want people to be healthy not what other people say loOKing anorexic or skinny to the bones. And yes I do agree they should have bigger sizes online and in the store so I agree with the mom but people do not have to be cruel about it
WHAT123? Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Descrimination against heathy sized girls

I am so confused?? How can a 12 year old not fit in any clothes at Hollister or Abrecombie? I am 42 years old and can wear the jeans there? My 12 year old daughter struggles with wanting the WOMEN'S jeans that are too big still...some 00 are a bit baggy !! so we stick to abrecombie kids for the jeans, and she can easily wear an XS shirt in women's or a 10/12 in kids...umm, remember the golden rule? if your child is 12 they wear a 12? Your daughter is bigger than some adults? she is 12 and weighs a 130 lbs.? time for you to get her on a strick diet, visit her doctor and find out what is going on w/her...that is very large for a girl her age !! I am sorry, but that is just sad. All young girls grow at a different rate, but come on, 5'3" and 130 lbs., she is the weight of an adult, not a tween !! Hollister and Abrecombie fit everyone that I know, even some of the chunkier freinds of my daughters, and I know for a fact that at "chunky" they are pushing 100 lbs...Wow, I feel sorry for your daughter, again, go visit her doctor !!
Millka Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Descrimination against heathy sized girls

It's funny to have read these four years of comments on the same topic. I believe company does have to do something about it. There is no such thing as XL size for 'bettys' and Large is pretty European.. However, American sizes changed year by year, and if the company has more than a century of history, they are supposed to remain true to the original sizes..

What is completely inappropriate is the employees attitude, not all of them though (I live in SoCal), but loads of them do make you feel intimidated. And this is wrong. Always remember, Dudes and Bettys of HCO, it's not the company who pays you a salary, it's your customer..
Lu Lu Wilder Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Descrimination against heathy sized girls

I never comment on these. But... I am a 41 year old mother of a 13 year old average girl. She cannot only fit into the smalls and extra smalls at Abercrombie and Hollister, but she is still able to fit into the kids abercrombie clothing. Your original post makes no sense. There is no way that your daughter is an average sized 12 year old. My daughter attends school with hundreds of girls of all sizes. All of her friends are able to fit into the Abercrombie and Hollister clothing. I feel really bad for your child that you blamed and cursed out a store for something that is completely untrue. You should be ashamed and keep your negativity to yourself. If you would refrain on the negativity and stress the positives in life, you may help you daughter in the future and may prevent her from "crying" in a store because of your head problems. Good luck to you and yours. You will need it. Shame on YOU!
Garru777 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Descrimination against heathy sized girls

I totally disagree and here's why, A&F caters to people of a certain shape and size. So getting outraged about not having a large enough size would be like going to Lane Bryant and getting upset because they don't carry size 00 jeans.
I Know My Rights! Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Descrimination against heathy sized girls

excuse me stop being prejudiced and look at your selves yous think yous are so cool working in holister which in fact is for snobby freaks who jus are big hEADed and aDmire themselves in fact a monkey would be better to discuses with yous are jus people who stan d at a till its nt a real job so everybody is not SKELTONS like yous so dont say stuff about others
I Know My Rights! Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Descrimination against heathy sized girls

not to harm others !
I Know My Rights! Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Descrimination against heathy sized girls

i dont have to explain my rights
SassyBlonde Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Descrimination against heathy sized girls

I would suggest her trying the tops there that are NOT 100% cotton--pick tops that have some spandex and stretch in them. Those tops fit me the best--especially with my breasts...a lot of the 100% cotton tops COMPLETELY flatten my breast! It is embarrassing! I sware sometimes I really wonder when they made those tops if they forgot that not all women are a complete 180 degrees up and down. And YES Hollister clothes do run small. I do still wear the clothes because I like their style and the whole surfer lifestyle thing. I wish they would have models that actually had breasts though.
Iloveeuroaccents Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Descrimination against heathy sized girls

I am actually really offended by your post! I am an abercrombie model (yes on the walls/posters) and I'm going to tell you that, not all of us are bone thin. Most of my model friends including myself are at a healthy weight of 120lbs! We are not anorexic or bone thin. Maybe you should think about your complaint before you actually post it.

Xoxo
- Abercrombie Models.
Mistycantsleep Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Descrimination against heathy sized girls

First of all any employee of Hollister needs to STFU! All you guys are required to be super skinny, so you can't be objective. If you looked like the average kid, they wouldn't have hired you. And anybody saying that this woman needs to teach her kid to do this or that, you guys need to STFU too! You can't tell someone else how to parent. And I have yet to actually see an XL Betty anything in one of their stores or online, except sweat pants, XL is a Dude size. They DO cater to super skinny girls, if they didn't then why do they make XS and not XL in EVERYTHING they sell, not just DUDE sizes and sweats? And telling a kid to lose weight is heartless, some people's frames are naturally bigger or curvier than the stick figures that wear the clothes in the ads. And Hollister is NOT NOT NOT about a healthy life style is about brainwashing kids into thinking that they have to wear their clothes to fit in. Its about an industry that wants to drain parents of their money so they kids can make a stupid fashion statement by wearing a shirt with a dumb bird on it. Its about elitism, not nutrition! Hollister may have been about surfing, like forever ago, but the majority of the kids who wear the clothes have never even been surfing. LOL, designers in highrise buildings with fake tans and so sense of teenage angst, are the people that design the "surfing styles"! Seriously, what real surfer gives a rat's azz about any brand, except what is on his board! I will continue to buy my girls Hollister, as long as they ask for it, I just wish that their sizes ran a little closer to conventional sizing. One trip to the dressing room in that store can make a girl with PMS feel like a freak!
Gingerboyswag17 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Descrimination against heathy sized girls

Obviously, neither you nor your daughter are very intelligent. This is clearly displayed through your lack of common sense and your fourth grade grammar errors: "...they do not SALE any larger...", I do believe you meant to say "sell". You also spelled Abercrombie wrong more than once. Anyway, Abercrombie and Hollister do not cater to you or any other self-righteous parents. They manufacture clothes for a specific group of people. There are women with size 20+ feet, and do they walk into Footlocker and throw an enormous fit because they don't have their size shoe? No. They have enough sense to know that they're the outlier, and need to adjust their shopping plans accordingly. So instead of throwing a huge fit on a website where you aren't going to get any sympathy, run out and grab your daughter some Slimfast.
88boom88 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Descrimination against heathy sized girls

im a plus sized girl and i hate it wen all my friends go into a hollister and i cant since im too big... p.s hollister's XL is like a normal S... u guys suck and should learn to be kinder to us big girls!
Lillian Cox Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Descrimination against heathy sized girls

maybe you were looking at the wrong size im 12 and i wear an xs and 00 is your daughter tall?? im soooo sorry to your daughter how embarrassing. PEOPLE STOP POSTING MEAN COMMENTS NO ONES WANTS TO HEAR THEM!! try aeropostale :)
SweetBaby95 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Descrimination against heathy sized girls

I am sorry but that is big for a twelve year old and these people that says Hollister clothing is small it's not. Their xs small is too big even I have to go to A&F kids to even wear jeans and their shirts it sucks! Seriously if your 12 year old can't fit into the largest size in Hollister which is for adults than she is way too big...like Hollister goes to a size 11 I mean a 12 year old should be able to fit into that like seriously. How can you not think your child is big when they can't fit into the biggest size and adult store carries? Yeah that right there should tell you she needs to lose weight like maybe not go to mcdonalds so much or cook bad foods and get her to exercise or something.
Jp12x Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Descrimination against heathy sized girls

I'm an average sized 19 year old, (5'6 and 110 pounds) and I can fit in a 0 or 1 at Hollister. I don't get why everyone says their sizing is so messed up. If there are girls thinner than me, and I'm a 0 or 1, then obviously, Hollister caters to a large selection of people. My 29 year old friend who is a size 13, has given birth to a child, and isn't by any means average or thin can wear hollister jeans. So maybe it isn't the companys problem. The short shorts they sell aren't intended to be worn by a larger person. It's no different than designer brands coming in certain sizes only.
Peter Brockman Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Descrimination against heathy sized girls

Stores are going to sell the sizes that are profitable. That is not "discrimination."

If you feel that fashion is unkind to those who haven't thrown up everything they've ever eaten, that is one thing. Vote with your wallet.

But it is ludicrous to call a lack of larger sizes "discrimination." Just further feeding the sad, pathetic, entitlement mentality that is destroying this country.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Hertz Florence Airport - Unexplained charge on my credit card
    Same issue, I rented a car in September from Hertz...
    dstv multichoice - overcharged and bad service
    I am tired of been treated like an idiot.I open an account...
    Gerard Gianoli MD Ear and Balance Institute - Worse than before
    Dr. Gianoli is a one-size fits all doctor. He completely...
    Tinder - Extra charge
    I got charged 3 times One for 3 then 34 then 19 wt??
    Pch.com - Unable to play Sweepstakes,Lotto,Keno,And of her games
    Everytime I play or try to start to play ads pages...
    First Convenience Bank - Illegal charge of overdraft fee
    I checked my checking account online before and after...
    First convenience bank checking account - Illegally charged overdraft fee
    I checked my checking account online before and after...
    Carid.com - NOT HONORING THEIR ONLINE PRICE
    On 1/12/20, I ordered an air compressor online with Car...
    Florida Power and Light FPL - Asplundh tree trimming
    Fpl tree trimmers have not picked up all the mess they...
    Te-Data - Applications for compensation submitted
    I was damaged due to service interruption from 11/21/2019....

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Hertz Florence Airport - Unexplained charge on my credit card
    Same issue, I rented a car in September from Hertz...
    dstv multichoice - overcharged and bad service
    I am tired of been treated like an idiot.I open an account...
    Gerard Gianoli MD Ear and Balance Institute - Worse than before
    Dr. Gianoli is a one-size fits all doctor. He completely...
    Tinder - Extra charge
    I got charged 3 times One for 3 then 34 then 19 wt??
    Pch.com - Unable to play Sweepstakes,Lotto,Keno,And of her games
    Everytime I play or try to start to play ads pages...
    First Convenience Bank - Illegal charge of overdraft fee
    I checked my checking account online before and after...
    First convenience bank checking account - Illegally charged overdraft fee
    I checked my checking account online before and after...
    Carid.com - NOT HONORING THEIR ONLINE PRICE
    On 1/12/20, I ordered an air compressor online with Car...
    Florida Power and Light FPL - Asplundh tree trimming
    Fpl tree trimmers have not picked up all the mess they...
    Te-Data - Applications for compensation submitted
    I was damaged due to service interruption from 11/21/2019....
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username