Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

ABSA

South Africa

Consumer complaints and reviews about ABSA

Julie789 Send email
 
Jul 3, 2017

Fraud

About 3 months ago money was stolen from my ABSA accounts while I am settled overseas. I have been using ABSA since I can remember and always trusted them with my finances aspecially while I am continuesly transferring money from Dubai to South Africa.

I only received an email from the Investigation dept 2 weeks after the evens. With emails back and forth the issie is still not resolved and I have not been able to access any of my accounts ever since. I have not been able to pay my credit card account to use by cheque account. No the Collection dept is calling me for interest that I need to pay seeing that my account bas been inactive.

I am super dissapointed and shocked at how careless they are. Hopefully I can take my business elsewhere very soon
bernito Send email
 
Jun 28, 2017

unhonoured will,estate.

My father passed on June 2006.paperwork was done.2008 we received letters two weeks after I called for enquiries.Those letter explained things
We didn't understand.we were referred to Absa in
Pretoria for a clarification,but the person we met
was new on the case and could not clarify the letters
.Nothing happened until now.nothing was paid to us
We were given copies of will by Absa in vanderbijlpark.We are so disappointed that Absa didn't honour our late father's will he did with Absa.
We don't know what to do for assistant. Please help.
my email.tebonhle @gmail.com
me2222 Send email
 
May 9, 2017

not paying

what a joke I had to call these pple like 100 time each time they had a new story to tell me they keep telling me they wil call me back they never do each time a difrent story why they don't pay out be carefull when u deal with these pple
Leslie-Ann Send email
 
Apr 28, 2017

fraud and unauthorised debit order

(Fraud) - unauthorised debit orders

I noticed a debit order from RCCS Bos J for R1937.00, I don't have any debit, accounts or in fact any debit orders going off my account.

I called absa call centre where I provided my account number and the consultant advised that the account holder is a different person. the consultant advised that my account has been duplicated and that I need to visit my nearest absa branch.

when I got to absa I advised the consultant to stop the debit order and reverse my funds, which he did not do. he did not know how to resolve my query and kept me waiting for close to two hours.

I then took initiative and went to a manager where she advised that she had never seen such a query before but it was clear that this "other person's" debit orders were being debited from my account.

she told me that I will have to wait for an investigation.

close to two hours at ABSA branch with no resolution to my query.
Nkosinathi Send email
 
Nov 7, 2016

Fraud

My card got stuck on the machine and all my money was cleaned out within minutes.Went to the bank as l feel its their right to protect our money but the services that was granted was apaulling. Requested to speak to the manager who was as useless as his consultants.Was Promised a case number on Monday till to date.Absa is scamming us poor people aint make enough profit from the interest rates we pay everyday
I would like to believe that this is an inside job as my card was swipping at spar tops while l was standing with your security next to the machine that had my card.
I would also like to be compensated for debit order reversal charges,time lost as l believe its your duty to protect our money and bank cards inserted on any atm.
The consultant that l spoke didnt even ask if l need another card as my card is still stuck in your machines.
Please refund me and kiss me goodbye as your stuff are so unprofessional,but well maybe its cheap labour.
Diedericks Send email
 
Nov 1, 2016

Estate late

Good Morning,

My mother passed away on 26 November 2015. Her estate was with ABSA. We send all the documents required to ABSA and waited for a response. As my mother died in New Zealand while visiting us, there was a bit of extra paperwork etc. Finally her estate ended up with the lawyers, was rejected by the Master once more but we were not informed that we need to send in more paperwork by the lawyers.

I phoned to ask how far away mum's estate is and was then told that more paperwork are needed. I had to ask though whether they were ever going to let us know, if I didn't phone. Got a sort of answer yeah they would have gotten to that. I once again saw that the paperwork gets done and have been told this morning that the estate will take another six months to a year to be finalised.

WHAT?????

How is this even possible? It is a cash estate. There are absolutely no fixed assets or debts whatsoever? Please explain the once again hold up as I fail to understand it. Where is my mother's money at this point in time and who is earning the interest on it?

Please get back to me as soon as possible.

Kind regards

Magdalena
chibuike2006 Send email
 
Jan 19, 2015

Trust fund statement

I need assistance regarding a matter with ABSA Trust in Pretoria. My brother has a trust fund with Absa that he got from the road accident fund, they
advised us that they would handle his funds and give him monthly allowances as,they said he is mentally unfit to handle his own finances.

The problem is that since they started giving him the allowance and bought him a house,they have never issued him any statements of his trust fund,we have gone to their offices in Pretoria to ask for it and they promised to email it to me,but till today they have not sent it,I have called Zinhle the lady that is handling my brother’s finances but she has made empty promises.

Your response and assistance will be highly appreciated

Thank you.
Kobus Myburgh Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Illegal Advertising of Sex Services

I was on facebook and stumbled on this ABSA employee on facebook by chance. She is an ABSA employee in Pretoria Brooklyn Branch advertising sex services. HOW UNBELIEVABLE!!! She states her name as Yolette Cunha on Facebook and even gives ABSA Brooklyn's telephone number. How does ABSA allow this, are you a banking institution or an escourt agency???

I am an ABSA customer in Gauteng and right now I am too ashamed to say that I do business with ABSA. Employees like these give ABSA a bad name. They should not be employed by ABSA or any banking institution for that matter.

This matter should be investigated, and the employee concerned should be dealt with. There are some bad apples among ABSA employees and ABSA should get rid of them, before they contaminate the rest of ABSA. I have banked with ABSA for years, and have never come across something like this. I am also sending ABSA's top brass an e-mail with regards to this. ABSA I am disappointed!
Rozz Atanassova Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Illegal Advertising of Sex Services

Hi Kobus,
Thank you so much for bringing this to our attention, I can assure you that we take this very seriously and are already in the process of investigation. Please could I ask that you email me your contact details to taft@absa.co.za so that I may touch base with you with regards to feedback. If you’re not comfortable with that, I’d like to thank you again for taking the time to bring this to our attention and rest assured that this matter will be dealt with.

Regards,
Rozz
MS03 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

harassment

Made a late payment to Absa instead o f paying on 28/09 I paid
on 30/09. As from 12/10 I start receiving phone calls that I had not
paid my account. The more I explained the more calls I received.
telecalls 12/10 14/10 15/10 17/10 and 18/10. This upset me terribly as my next installment due date was 25/10.
Today 18/10 I receive another statement due date 02/11 and the
installment due has doubled. How can they send two statements
1 dated 28/09 due 25/10 and the other 29/09 to 06/10 due 02/11
and then decide to harrass me for another payment?
Rozz Atanassova Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

harassment

Thank you very much for your feedback. Please note that we are active on our Facebook page (http://www.facebook.com/Absa.Bank
) and we encourage you to engage with us there, alternatively please e-mail your details to taft@absa.co.za and we will get in touch with you

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    leeco le1s eco x570 - stolen my mobile
    sir i have lost my mobile last 21july 2017 8;30 pm
    UNI Strategic Pte Ltd - FDB Events Pte Ltd
    I'm an Australian Professor of CRM and have been...
    Innovation direct employment Service - Irrelevant Approval Request From Clinic
    Dear All, my name is Syed Imran and my insurance card #...
    KTMB - Request For Refund
    Dear Sir/Madam, I have purchased ETS two-way ticket via...
    cop@vsnl.net - Mobile stolen
    Name Kiran Address : Neelkamal Building Suhag Colony...
    Samsung Galaxy C9 Pro - Miissing My samsung Galaxy C9 Pro
    Name :- Mr. Indrajeet Balasaheb Dalvi Address :-...
    PAYTMAG bank - CUSTOMER HELP LINE 917564889902
    CUSTOMER CARE NUMBER 91 7564889902
    Axis Bank - CUSTOMER CARE917369090429
    CUSTOMER HELP LINE No917369090429

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    leeco le1s eco x570 - stolen my mobile
    sir i have lost my mobile last 21july 2017 8;30 pm
    UNI Strategic Pte Ltd - FDB Events Pte Ltd
    I'm an Australian Professor of CRM and have been...
    Innovation direct employment Service - Irrelevant Approval Request From Clinic
    Dear All, my name is Syed Imran and my insurance card #...
    KTMB - Request For Refund
    Dear Sir/Madam, I have purchased ETS two-way ticket via...
    cop@vsnl.net - Mobile stolen
    Name Kiran Address : Neelkamal Building Suhag Colony...
    Samsung Galaxy C9 Pro - Miissing My samsung Galaxy C9 Pro
    Name :- Mr. Indrajeet Balasaheb Dalvi Address :-...
    PAYTMAG bank - CUSTOMER HELP LINE 917564889902
    CUSTOMER CARE NUMBER 91 7564889902
    Axis Bank - CUSTOMER CARE917369090429
    CUSTOMER HELP LINE No917369090429
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username