Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

ABSA

South Africa

Consumer complaints and reviews about ABSA

Nizaam Sodoms Send email
 
Aug 10, 2018

Taking money that does not belong to me

Good Day

I opened an account with Absa...on the 7th my account was debited with R9160 with a ref of RCCS bos.

I when to the only branch that was opened as telephone banking could not assist or explain who and why my account was debited which was the OR Tambo branch 200km only to find out that it was Absa.

I had a personal loan in 2009. I have been unemployed can't could not make payments to. I received no call for Absa with regards to my account getting debited as the funds in my account don't belong to me.

If an arrangement can be made, I can agree to a monthly debit but the R9160 is to much.

Can someone call me before I go to social media... Or get put in jail for other people money or my legs getting broke...

Not impressed with Absa bank.
Nizaam Sodoms
0823995568
Ferious Send email
 
Jul 27, 2018

FRAUD

I have a business account with ABSA.
On 24/07/2018 somebody paid out of my business account two payment!. I reported the fraud immediately at the branch. Today on 27/07/2018 I phoned the Fraud department to find out who is the investigator officer on the case and they say no one is yet allocated! This is month end and I must pay creditors and rent on month end! This is totally unacceptable, the two payments was to clients with ABSA accounts open at ABSA branches in Johannesburg (is this with fraud ID's? how is this possible and what detail can you see on this accounts?) Mr KA Molelekeng 9341961639 and Mr VS Mkwanazi 9341996167. This will take 30 days to resolve, they said. We are loosing interest and I can't pay my creditors because ABSA have not even put a investigator to this fraud but they are working 24 hours as they say in the fraud line email? Are ABSA staff also one off the suspects then? Why don't they contact me? Why must I wait 30 days?
Lusanda.Ndzwaiba Send email
 
Jun 26, 2018

Charges

My name is Lusanda cell number is 0737973871...I could not believe last night when i went to draw out money and there was R907.92 deducted from my account and they informed me that its for unpaid debit orders and i should check my agreement...When i checked this agreement nothing specifies that there will be a deduction of R151.32 for every unpaid debit in my account...I really cannot believe absa... The charges are just ridiculous... I want to close this account and bank somewhere else rather than having absa take my money without my consent

Absa must send back my money, I cannot have charges this much it does not make sense...

I am so angry and cannot wait to change my account and go to a bank that will treat their customers fairly and will not just take money without their consent. They took all of my money in my bank account...
Lusanda.Ndzwaiba Send email
 
Jun 26, 2018

Charges

I could not believe last night when i went to draw out money and there was R907.92 deducted from my account and they informed me that its for unpaid debit orders and i should check my agreement...When i checked this agreement nothing specifies that there will be a deduction of R151.32 for every unpaid debit in my account...I really cannot believe absa... The charges are just ridiculous... I want to close this account and bank somewhere else rather than having absa take my money without my consent.

i want my money that i worked for so hard back

My name is Lusanda Ndzwaiba cell number is 0737973871
lemeko Send email
 
Jun 19, 2018

te lemekob trust 733538403

Good day,

Please I'm not happy about the trust fund of Absa the way its operating and no longer interested in putting my money with such bank.
Please send me the required forms to be fill in so that i can be able to invest my money somewhere else.

Shall await to hear from you before intervention of third party.

Your may send the necessary forms for cancellation to d.lekgori@gmail.com

Your respond will be highly appreciated.

Regards
lemeko
Chantalcj Send email
 
Jun 6, 2018

Absa Trust

My daughters RAF money has been put into ABSA without my consent.
Asba is there for the beneficiary but they have not really complied and tqien care of beneficiary.
I was plaintiff in the case for 12 years and fought this case longside attorneys. No one sees how and what i sacrificed for this case.
No caregivers were appointed, occupational therapists were allocated to my childs case no reports tracjs records of sessions.
Asba is a money making business that only interested in the money it has and thw interest what happens to my childs interest. If my childs account gets taken away it will be a loss for Absa one less client. So by ll mens put up red flags and use court orders to hold onto the money for business purposes. Money was paid to me now they certificates and priof credentials which they were supposed to ask from the word go but no... auditors had to wake them up.
My problems are endless with ABSA Trust and I do not ser the need for them at all a trust is a business making decision and nothing more.
ramosebi Send email
 
Jun 2, 2018

ABSA LIFE

Dear sir /madam

My name is Pakiso Collen Ramosebi, the eldest son of the late Ms Margaret Tshabangu. My mother passed away on the 1 January 2018 and we buried her 06 January 2018. My mother had a policy with ABSA under the following Policy number: 642 139 0569 ABSA LIFE.

The reason for this email is we tried to communicate with ABSA AND EVEN GONE TO Kempton Park branch regarding this matter, but we failed. Then on the month of May we received a LETTER OF EXECUTOR from fdp Administration Services and we dont even know that company. To our surprise, on the LETTER OF EXECUTOR appears a person by the name of Mareese Lucille Joseph, Estate Number: 005712/2018. What is frustrating us is, we haven't spoken to that Mareese Lucille Joseph. The only person we spoke to is Ms Nazreen Dadoo (nazreen@fdpadmin.co.za) from fdp Administration Swrvices and our communication is not fruit full. Now we are receiving phone call and emails from different Attorneys demanding our ID copies and swon affidavits. We dont know whether are they all from ABSA since ABSA is not communicating with us regarding our late mother's policy.

As the elder son would like your intervention in this matter because now we dont know who to trust. I will be happy if my application will be taken into account of consideration.

Yours Faithfully
P. C Ramosebi
083 329 0295
Sipho Send email
 
Apr 19, 2018

Absa Trust Fund

Hi My name It's Sipho,I have a brother(23) who has funds in his absa trust fund,since the court released the funds (millions) to absa the only amount absa is sending is R3500 every month,when my mom tried to take the matter to her hands they told her that the court didn't give them authority to release the funds,but at first they said he'll get the funds when his 21years old,now his 23 years but they don't allow his fund to be released they say they'll only pay for his studies only meaning the rest of the millions they'll be kept on trust fund till his done with his studies,my question is since my brother is mentally unfit for school should my mom leave the money just like that?every month they send the statements but we can't get hold of the money what can be done?
It's clear this trust funds they not doing their trusted job but to steal to those who got injured or died.

If you can help please feel free to call me 0730392918
Urchula Send email
 
Apr 9, 2018

BAD SERVICE GREENSTONE

On 6 April 2018 at 05h15 I was smashed and grabbed, resulting in the loss of my handbag, that consisted of my ID, Drivers and also my bank card and phone. i blocked my card asap. on Sunday morning i went in to the Greenstone branch with a bank statement, a copy of Id and also a old temp drivers licence and the affidavit from the police to request a new bank card. The consultant and the branch manager refused, if though i tried every possible way to identify myself to them, i asked if they cant use the biometric system as i opened my account with my finger print they refused as replied its not there for that purpose, my dad asked them how that can be. today the 9 April i went to Southdown's branch with the same paper work and they helped me with no problem, and clearly stated that is why the biometric device was installed to identify a client????

been already traumatized by the crime this branch made me feel even worse.

i would like this matter resolved and feedback regarding this matter, or i will have no option but to take this matter further and even the newspapers if i have to 0739608526
ENGO Aged Care Senekal Send email
 
Apr 9, 2018

ABSA MERCHANDISE DEPT

See attached for your urgent attention from ENGO Aged Care Senekal.
Tel: 058 481 3361
I cannot upload this letter, if it was sent their is also no evidence of it. This complain details is not functioning good. Please phone me in this regard. This complain detail is just as poor as the service we received from ABSA merchandise department.
Matron EC Nieuwenhuis
thabo89 Send email
 
Apr 4, 2018

teller defroud and steeling

hi i cant say my name i have a girlfriend who works at absa bank as a teller she sometimes tell me how they opporate on daily basis,first theycan take your money if your depositing lots of money if your not correctly counted it,secondtly when they have shortage in their safes they dont record them they just balance and put money the next day,,i knw some of the people they took they money but i cant prove anything as they do this carefuly,,so how can i lay a complain,,i was thinking of talking to news papers
QeteMR Send email
 
Feb 20, 2018

ABSA Trust Fund

Good morning

My niece has a trust fund at ABSA. She has registered at Star Schools to upgrade a few subject and has been liaising with Jane Matsomela for money to be paid to the School. Jane has not been helful at all. I also sent he an email on the 15th of February, which she has not responded to. My niece has faxed and emailed the letter she requested from the school more than once, and the school still has not received the payment. Please advise on what is the delay and what can we do to speed up the process as my niece needs to collect study material and start attending soon.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,
mcetywasimamkele61@gmail.com Send email
 
Feb 16, 2018

Unauthorized debit

Hi
On the Feb 15, 2018 I had an unauthorized debit:NAEDOTracked DO Evoent VH/EVON 155287 of R123.85 and R8.50 transaction charge and I don’t know what is it for???? And I want it back!

Please see attached

Unauthorized debit

lorrainevilj Send email
 
Feb 15, 2018

Incurance Claim - Building

On the 23rd December 2017, I Mrs Drieka Crombie logged a claim with ABSA, as my property insurance is with them. My flat's roof got damaged by rain.
From Jan 2018 I have called them every week to follow up on the claim, till date I have not received any feedback from them. And very time I phoned I get the same response. I have come to the conclusion that nobody is will to help me. this morning again I call the call centre got the same response and insisted to speak to the manager. After holding on for 20 min with no one available to speak to me, I hung up.

This is really unacceptable as I my bond is paid up after 30 years and I have paid the insurance every month to ABSA and there is just no one will to help.

The claim number : 3379819. on the 23 December 2017 when the assessor was there to assist the property, he was more concerned about my dog then to assess the property. The more I told him that the dog will not bite him the more he was making a commotion about the dog. Thus his report was inconclusive, he did not asses the property properly.
mammie80 Send email
 
Jan 9, 2018

wagtyd

Goeie middag

Graag verneem ek hoe lank die wagtyd deesdae vir kliënte is. Die tak het twee tellers waarvan net een oop was tussen 12 en 1.
Die tweede teller was by haar toonbank besig wat gelyk het na transaksies of admin nagaan en met rekkies vasmaak. Die kliënte het almal gewag. Ek is 10 oor 12 daar in en was gelukkig om darem 5 voor klaar gehelp te wees. Ek is bewus mens kry kliënte wat dalk meer as een transaksie het, maar kan die tweede teller nie eers die kliënte help en daarna die admin of waarmee sy besig is afhandel nie. Ons almal staan in 'n werk en het ook ander werk om te doen as om in n ry te staan. Ek was 25 jaar werksaam by 'n besigheid en kliëntediens is eerste op die lys. Die bankbestuurder het gesien ons wag maar het net verby geloop. Ek vra maar net, maar regtig dalk moet jul bietjie meer kursusse aanbied vir klientediens, of soos die een dame genoem het dalk wil hul ons laat wag, ek nie seker nie maar as dit nie 'n moet is nie sal ABSA nie my gou weer sien nie.
mnisimbuso Send email
 
Aug 18, 2017

Unauthourized debit

My name is Mbuso David Mnisi an Absa Customer on the 18/08/17 i realized my statement had a transaction of R89.60 that went on on the 28/ 07/ 17 and i didnt realize then. i called Absa then they send me to Fraud division, which transfered me to another department where i was told that they cannot reverve my money and send me back to Fraud department , which said i must be send back to the guy who couldnt help me. I spend more than 89, 60 looking for the 89,60, i decided tyo hang up, My complain is why cant i get my money back?
Julie789 Send email
 
Jul 3, 2017

Fraud

About 3 months ago money was stolen from my ABSA accounts while I am settled overseas. I have been using ABSA since I can remember and always trusted them with my finances aspecially while I am continuesly transferring money from Dubai to South Africa.

I only received an email from the Investigation dept 2 weeks after the evens. With emails back and forth the issie is still not resolved and I have not been able to access any of my accounts ever since. I have not been able to pay my credit card account to use by cheque account. No the Collection dept is calling me for interest that I need to pay seeing that my account bas been inactive.

I am super dissapointed and shocked at how careless they are. Hopefully I can take my business elsewhere very soon
bernito Send email
 
Jun 28, 2017

unhonoured will,estate.

My father passed on June 2006.paperwork was done.2008 we received letters two weeks after I called for enquiries.Those letter explained things
We didn't understand.we were referred to Absa in
Pretoria for a clarification,but the person we met
was new on the case and could not clarify the letters
.Nothing happened until now.nothing was paid to us
We were given copies of will by Absa in vanderbijlpark.We are so disappointed that Absa didn't honour our late father's will he did with Absa.
We don't know what to do for assistant. Please help.
my email.tebonhle @gmail.com
me2222 Send email
 
May 9, 2017

not paying

what a joke I had to call these pple like 100 time each time they had a new story to tell me they keep telling me they wil call me back they never do each time a difrent story why they don't pay out be carefull when u deal with these pple
Leslie-Ann Send email
 
Apr 28, 2017

fraud and unauthorised debit order

(Fraud) - unauthorised debit orders

I noticed a debit order from RCCS Bos J for R1937.00, I don't have any debit, accounts or in fact any debit orders going off my account.

I called absa call centre where I provided my account number and the consultant advised that the account holder is a different person. the consultant advised that my account has been duplicated and that I need to visit my nearest absa branch.

when I got to absa I advised the consultant to stop the debit order and reverse my funds, which he did not do. he did not know how to resolve my query and kept me waiting for close to two hours.

I then took initiative and went to a manager where she advised that she had never seen such a query before but it was clear that this "other person's" debit orders were being debited from my account.

she told me that I will have to wait for an investigation.

close to two hours at ABSA branch with no resolution to my query.
Nkosinathi Send email
 
Nov 7, 2016

Fraud

My card got stuck on the machine and all my money was cleaned out within minutes.Went to the bank as l feel its their right to protect our money but the services that was granted was apaulling. Requested to speak to the manager who was as useless as his consultants.Was Promised a case number on Monday till to date.Absa is scamming us poor people aint make enough profit from the interest rates we pay everyday
I would like to believe that this is an inside job as my card was swipping at spar tops while l was standing with your security next to the machine that had my card.
I would also like to be compensated for debit order reversal charges,time lost as l believe its your duty to protect our money and bank cards inserted on any atm.
The consultant that l spoke didnt even ask if l need another card as my card is still stuck in your machines.
Please refund me and kiss me goodbye as your stuff are so unprofessional,but well maybe its cheap labour.
Diedericks Send email
 
Nov 1, 2016

Estate late

Good Morning,

My mother passed away on 26 November 2015. Her estate was with ABSA. We send all the documents required to ABSA and waited for a response. As my mother died in New Zealand while visiting us, there was a bit of extra paperwork etc. Finally her estate ended up with the lawyers, was rejected by the Master once more but we were not informed that we need to send in more paperwork by the lawyers.

I phoned to ask how far away mum's estate is and was then told that more paperwork are needed. I had to ask though whether they were ever going to let us know, if I didn't phone. Got a sort of answer yeah they would have gotten to that. I once again saw that the paperwork gets done and have been told this morning that the estate will take another six months to a year to be finalised.

WHAT?????

How is this even possible? It is a cash estate. There are absolutely no fixed assets or debts whatsoever? Please explain the once again hold up as I fail to understand it. Where is my mother's money at this point in time and who is earning the interest on it?

Please get back to me as soon as possible.

Kind regards

Magdalena
chibuike2006 Send email
 
Jan 19, 2015

Trust fund statement

I need assistance regarding a matter with ABSA Trust in Pretoria. My brother has a trust fund with Absa that he got from the road accident fund, they
advised us that they would handle his funds and give him monthly allowances as,they said he is mentally unfit to handle his own finances.

The problem is that since they started giving him the allowance and bought him a house,they have never issued him any statements of his trust fund,we have gone to their offices in Pretoria to ask for it and they promised to email it to me,but till today they have not sent it,I have called Zinhle the lady that is handling my brother’s finances but she has made empty promises.

Your response and assistance will be highly appreciated

Thank you.
Kobus Myburgh Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Illegal Advertising of Sex Services

I was on facebook and stumbled on this ABSA employee on facebook by chance. She is an ABSA employee in Pretoria Brooklyn Branch advertising sex services. HOW UNBELIEVABLE!!! She states her name as Yolette Cunha on Facebook and even gives ABSA Brooklyn's telephone number. How does ABSA allow this, are you a banking institution or an escourt agency???

I am an ABSA customer in Gauteng and right now I am too ashamed to say that I do business with ABSA. Employees like these give ABSA a bad name. They should not be employed by ABSA or any banking institution for that matter.

This matter should be investigated, and the employee concerned should be dealt with. There are some bad apples among ABSA employees and ABSA should get rid of them, before they contaminate the rest of ABSA. I have banked with ABSA for years, and have never come across something like this. I am also sending ABSA's top brass an e-mail with regards to this. ABSA I am disappointed!
Rozz Atanassova Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Illegal Advertising of Sex Services

Hi Kobus,
Thank you so much for bringing this to our attention, I can assure you that we take this very seriously and are already in the process of investigation. Please could I ask that you email me your contact details to taft@absa.co.za so that I may touch base with you with regards to feedback. If you’re not comfortable with that, I’d like to thank you again for taking the time to bring this to our attention and rest assured that this matter will be dealt with.

Regards,
Rozz

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    DEPARTMENT OF LABOUR - UIF
    UIF PAYMENT-4 MONTHS NOW-STILL NOT PAID OUT! Worst...
    TNTNPAYM - Addebito non riconosciuto
    SellaMemoShop 16/08/16 ora 19:38 4118 83XX XXXX...
    Ashra Koehn Spells - I got my ex back with a powerful spell.
    Dear Priest Aluta, Thank you, thank you, thank you, Two...
    bad internet system - no connection of internet system
    I register for internt service since 2972018 till now no...
    TE Data - بطء في سرعة النت
    مشكلة بطء في سرعة النت من يوم 5...
    chandigarh transport undertaking - Requesting for bus stop
    Sir I'm a resident of sunny enclave kharar and there...
    Future satelite DSTV - Non delivery of a working DSTV package
    Hi I recently bought a 3rd decoder to connect to my...
    Renault - Renault Kwid Climber
    We bought a brand new Kwid Climber in May 2018, beautiful...
    USA MILITARY BASE - Fraud r real
    With pleasure to receive possible approval from our...
    cop@vsnl.net - Missing Mobile
    Complaint regarding Missing of mobile Name- Vilas Laxman...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    DEPARTMENT OF LABOUR - UIF
    UIF PAYMENT-4 MONTHS NOW-STILL NOT PAID OUT! Worst...
    TNTNPAYM - Addebito non riconosciuto
    SellaMemoShop 16/08/16 ora 19:38 4118 83XX XXXX...
    Ashra Koehn Spells - I got my ex back with a powerful spell.
    Dear Priest Aluta, Thank you, thank you, thank you, Two...
    bad internet system - no connection of internet system
    I register for internt service since 2972018 till now no...
    TE Data - بطء في سرعة النت
    مشكلة بطء في سرعة النت من يوم 5...
    chandigarh transport undertaking - Requesting for bus stop
    Sir I'm a resident of sunny enclave kharar and there...
    Future satelite DSTV - Non delivery of a working DSTV package
    Hi I recently bought a 3rd decoder to connect to my...
    Renault - Renault Kwid Climber
    We bought a brand new Kwid Climber in May 2018, beautiful...
    USA MILITARY BASE - Fraud r real
    With pleasure to receive possible approval from our...
    cop@vsnl.net - Missing Mobile
    Complaint regarding Missing of mobile Name- Vilas Laxman...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username