Submit a Complaint

ABSA

South Africa

Consumer complaints and reviews about ABSA

AndrePrevin Send email
 
Apr 30, 2021

FNB Private Clients a waste of time

Terrible service

I was suckered into signing up for an FNB Private Clients account, with the high monthly fees because they apparently do so much for you as a valued "Private Client".

Total rubbish. I've called 6 times into the Private Clients call center for my private banker to contact me regarding a Single Facility application.
It seems my private banker has either died or left the planet.
It's been over two weeks.

Every time I call there, the people seem confused. As if I'm asking them to solve Quantum Physics problems.
To make matters worse, it seems the only person that can help me is my "dedicated" private banker, who has suddenly gone AWOL like Jason Bourne.

They have a team full of private bankers but apparently their protocols are such that no other private banker could possibly assist me with my insanely complex requirements.

FNB private clients - for getting scammed privately.
Debbie Gough Send email
 
Apr 30, 2021

POOR SERVICE

I am always appaled at the long waiting time at ABSA Galleria Mall Amanzimtoti. If you want to be helped at customer service you wait longer than 2 hours. Today I was made to wait almost 2 hours to do a simple transfer. when I enventually got into the bank in the waiting area an ABSA employee came in from outside to say that all the customers are frustrated and angry waiting outstide and that it is taking too long. There were only 2 tellers and one was occupied with a customer for a whole hour, no one else stepped in to help. The teller complained that she wants to go on lunch!
This is month end surely they should have enough staff??? Regarding their service I would never recomend any one from going to ABSA if any one says they want to open an account I tell them what a terrible bank it is and not to.
ABSA your service is losing you clients!
tebza Send email
 
Feb 25, 2021

VERY VERY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE

ABSA MADE AN INTERNAL PARTAIL PAYMENT WITH OUT MY CONCENT, I CALLED IN ON THE 19/02/2021 TO FIND OUT WAY THEY DID THAT AND I WAS PROMISE AN ANSWER FROM ABSA WITHIN 2 DAY, YET ITS BEEN 4 DAYS AND I VE NOT RECIVE ANY CALL OR EXPLANATION AS TO WHY. YET WHEN I CALL THEM TO FIND OUT WHATS TAKING SO LONG NOBODY FROM ABSA COULD EXLAIN TO ME WHY.
I HAVE CALL ABSA 4 TIMES TODAY 25/02/2021 TO FIND OUT ABOUT MY COMPLAINT AND ALL THE AGENTS I SPOKE DONT KNOW WHY AND INSIST I MAKE THAT PAYMENT.

THANKS ABSA FOR UNTRAINED STAFF MEMBERS WHO CANNOT GIVE ME A ANSWER AS WELL ESCALATE THE MATTER. I WONDER HOW THEY GOT HIRED AND STILL KEEP THIER JOBS. IT MUST BE FAVORS FOR JOB AT ABSA CREDIT CARD DEPARTMENT.
Zelna Send email
 
Jan 28, 2021

Debit journal Robotics o acc

Journal Robotics took money out my account what is not mine. As my son sell his bike and transfer it in my account. As my Husband was in Hospital from Nov-Dec last year and still off work. Of injuries at work.. Was to the Bank to give all nessary documents of Drs /Hosp/Employee. And have make arrangements with them on phone and personal inside Bank. To hold back loan amount payments as husband is still in hospital. And not back at work... But afterwards the Journal Auto Robotics still deduct money out account without any notifications and money what is not ours. Please see that my account will be Reversed of that amount ASAP please. Thank y.. Was today in the Bank again.. But people can't helped.
Ilse35 Send email
 
Dec 15, 2020

Poor service

Good Day

Please assist as i feel i am receiveing very bad service when trying to open a bank account for my daughter ,. I have been a client with Absa for many years and feel that the Lady at Absa Carmen Carolus have been delaying the proses with the application due to taking very long with feedback and the saracsm over the telephone as a client with Absa is not ok , I feel that the way she is handling this by making me feel if i am a criminal due to the fact that my surname and my daugters surname is diffrent . This is no way for clients being years with Absa should be treated , this is not the first account i have opend for my daughter but is sure is the worst service i have ever received by being treated this way

Please resolve this matter as account is still not opened

Ilse Oosthuizen
0824149818
Ilse35 Send email
 
Dec 15, 2020

Trying to open an account for my daugther

Good Day

Please assist as in regards to the client service that are very poor with Absa, I am trying to open an bank account for my daughter and The Lady with the Name Carmen Carolus at Absa is assisting in the matter via email , But i do feel the way that i am being treated is very unprofessional and also at a time via a Telphone call she was very sarcastic with me. I sended all the supporting documents as needed for my daugthers account which was correct as she then started quetioning my Surname and i had to send proof to show that my surname had changed as it was diffrent from my daugters surname. I feel that the way this procedure in being delt with and making me feel like am a criminal and asking al kinds of proof that my mainden surname was Strydom is no way to treat an very old and long existing client of Absa bank for years now. This is not the first account that i am opening for my daugter with Absa but still this proses to open this account is dragging because of staff being very unprofessional regarding matters like these .

Regards
Ilse Oosthuizen
0824149818
M Jordaan Send email
 
Dec 12, 2020

My money that is someware in Absa

Absa closed all my accounts. M Jordaan ID 5509085023 088 ( tjek, sawvngs, kreditcards ) nr 2250145252. Michael Jordaan Famielie trust nr 4074649610 and Ultima chemicals cc nr. 9358306553. .According to the three notices, i reseved te 10th of Septemder 2020. The creditcard nr. 4787692163485050. In there notice's of cancelation, it said for the creadit card ( whith imediet effect ) whitch si tru. I tride to deposit , in cash te 12 September 2020. At the atm but could not sucseed. I reseved a bank statement in this regard for the period 4 Nov to 2 Desember i decided to deposit the money in bank. And it worked. Absa aded bank fees and rent on this account that they. Closed the 10 / 9/ 2020 that is thiewing. The other accounts the letters read, that they wil be closed 30 days later, that is then 10 Oktober 2020. There were money deposited in my account the 23 Oktober 2020 R 7051. That is fraud, how can jou deposit money into a account, that suposedly was closed, and was closed only in November, accourding to letter? With numeres e mails to, starting aprox. 14 September 2020, to [email protected], [email protected], ( Heston Macgaskan ) [email protected] To this lady and gentelman i spoke to on the telefone. Heston kontacted someone els. About my case. Absa not doing wat they let me know in there notices. All i reseved from admin is. A letter letting me know, that my cases wil be attend to in due corse. Janine willemse gave me ref nr.
M Jordaan co81226632
Michael Jordaan Famielie trust co 8122814
Ultima chemicals co 8122924
Ther were exept for the creditcard - R 550. Plus R 56 in absa rewards. M Jordaan R 240
Famielie Trust R 200 ( give and tack a few rands )
Ultima R 400 in my accounts. Whe the R 7051 were deposited they starting to deduct all kinds of servis fees. Internet banking kost ets. Ets. They asked me for my new bankieng details, whitch i send them the 23 / 10/ 2020. The R7051 is my wifes money. Se pay for the stand when we go on holliday, and i the rest. Til date i did not reseve a clear answer on all my e mails. Reseved statements only that my accounts is nou been colsed in November. With numeros fees deducted. This is fraud and theft. There is someware R 6300 left. Nobody in ABSA know wher it is. Til date i did reseve nothing.
Please help. I am a pensioner.
LouiseDW Send email
 
May 30, 2020

Journal Debit RCCS BOS J...........

I opted in for payment relieve on my personal loan account when I received the first payment relieve offer message in March. I received 7 messages after (first message on the 1st of April another on the 8th, 15th, two messages on the 17th and another two messages on the 18th) I had to call in numerous times to follow-up, I even asked to talk to two managers after as every time I called they are not aware??????? I finally got assisted by a consultant who called me (Danseen) she advised that the payment relieve has been approved and that because they are pushing up my account by three months my payment amount also changed to a lesser amount (new amount payable will be R4901.51). She also said that I don't have to worry she confirmed that no payment will be deducted from my account, yet the end of the month came and they deducted (and they cannot say it is because my payment relieve request was not approved) AS THE AMOUNT THEY DEDUCTED WAS THE NEW AMOUNT WITH THE CHANGES MADE???????????? I then had to call in again and ask why as I have payment relieve, they confirmed this and reversed the amount back into my account, No obviously I was not worried for this month as hey they now noted and gave me back my money so what is the chances of this happening again?????? Yet, I get a call today this morning from MBD Debt department stating that my account is in arrears with R9932.53? I then called ABSA having to repeat what the issue is to 4 people and getting cut off with each and every one of them (Natrisha, Mapeso, Cena, Sindele) i called back again for the 5th time speaking to a Potunia, she confirmed that my account does reflect as on payment relieve and that my account is not under MBH and that i dont have to worry? YET WHEN I WANTED TO BUY PRE-PAID ELECTRICITY TODAY, I SEE THAT THEY HAVE TAKEN MONEY FROM MY ACCOUNT ON THE 29TH OF MAY (TOTAL OF R9932.53 WITH REF JOURNAL DEBIT RCCS BOS J............) (NO DISCUSSION, NO AGREEMENT AND I DID NOT EVEN GET A NOTIFICATION MESSAGE AS I GET WITH EVERY OTHER PURCHASE OR DEBIT ORDER THAT GOES OFF FROM MY ACCOUNT NOTHING ?????????????????????) I called the fraud department ALSO USELESS if I might add, in order to ask what this is for, the gentleman confirmed that this is for my personal loan account (double what I should pay monthly???????????????????????) WHAT THE F#CK people how many times must I call you, explain myself over and over again, and get told don't worry all is sorted now and I STILL HAVE ISSUES????????????? Now I have to wait until Monday, to go to the bank and ask why they took the money, and yet I spoke to 5 DIFFERENT PEOPLE 5 I am telling you........... and still they have not resolved my issue????????????? IF ABSA DOES NOT RESOLVE THIS ISSUE then I might have to consider going elsewhere which is VERY SAD as I HAVE BEEN WITH ABSA MY WHOLE LIFE and ABSA I can tell you now, your personal loans account department is going to cause your DOWNFALL my suggestion will be to either re-train them or have people work in your call center that actually knows how to do the job and actually wants to help a customer!!!!!!!!!!!
SelloM Send email
 
May 23, 2020

Theft money from my account

Absa bank stole R20 000 from my Savings account I need my money back into account immediately My cell number is 0836284823
SelloM Send email
 
May 23, 2020

Theft money from my account

On the 22 May 2020 Absa bank stole an amount of R20000 from my Savings account.I do not know who gave them permission and I therefore asking them to refund me or we will meet in the court of law
Mieska Send email
 
May 2, 2020

Unauthorised debit made by Absa

Absa deducted R3318.00 from my savings account. This funds was made avaialble for the covid 19 and i have been layed of at work with no pay. This could be for a long time that i will be unemployed and the money taken was to provide for myself and my children. I need this money reversed as this is for food and necessities needed during the corona virus lockdown.

I am desperate as i have no other funds to support my family.

Contact
Mieska Edwards
0836666040
Mieska Send email
 
May 2, 2020

Absa bank

Absa deducted R3318.00 from my savings account. This funds was made avaialble for the covid 19 and i have been layed of at work with no pay. This could be for a long time that i will be unemployed and the money taken was to provide for myself and my children. I need this money reversed as this is for food and necessities needed during the corona virus lockdown.

I am desperate as i have no other funds to support my family.

Contact
Mieska Edwards
0836666040
Mieska Send email
 
May 2, 2020

Absa deduct unauthorised debit

Absa deducted R3318.00 from my savings account. This funds was made avaialble for the covid 19 and i have been layed of at work with no pay. This could be for a long time that i will be unemployed and the money taken was to provide for myself and my children. I need this money reversed as this is for food and necessities needed during the corona virus lockdown.

I am desperate as i have no other funds to support my family.

Contact
Mieska Edwards
0836666040
Mieska Send email
 
May 2, 2020

Unautorised debit

Absa deducted R3318.00 from my savings account. This funds was made avaialble for the covid 19 and i have been layed of at work with no pay. This could be for a long time that i will be unemployed and the money taken was to provide for myself and my children. I need this money reversed as this is for food and necessities needed during the corona virus lockdown.

I am desperate as i have no other funds to support my family.

Contact
Mieska Edwards
0836666040
Mieska Send email
 
May 2, 2020

Absa bank

Absa deducted R3318.00 without my authorisation. This funds are for my survival during the covid 19 lockdown. How can i get this funds back as i have been put of work with no pay.

Mieska
0836666040
Hannetjie Voges Send email
 
Jan 23, 2020

ABSA Digital banking - Refund

Incorrect BANK ON ME reversal required since 18/12/2019.

Have been waiting for a bank on me reversal since 18/12/2019.
Have 3 Case no's already.

Please take note that this issue already has two case numbers.
1st – The reference number for this Case is C-02947701.
2nd - The reference number for this Case is C-03090168.
3rd – The reference number for this Case is C-03091801.

I cannot understand the delay in this reversal that were send to ABSA digital since:
19/12/2019.

All information has been provided.
1) The account number the money was paid from
2) The account number the money was paid into
3) The date of the transaction
4) The amount of the transaction

The 3rd party and I have been in contact since the wrong payment and I have already made a correct payment to him, so he has been waiting for your call to agree to the reversal.

Why is nothing happening?
See ABSA's reply below.

Reply:

Dear Hannetjie Voges (0732898060)

Thank you for your request.

Your Case has been forwarded to a consultant who will provide feedback as soon as possible.

The reference number for this Case is C-02947701.

Kindly be advised that our working hours are:
Mondays to Fridays (08h00 - 16h30) excluding Public Holidays.

At Absa, we are committed to giving you exceptional service.

Kind regards

Absa Disputes

I phoned ABSA DIGITAL on 23/01/2019 to ask if they can assist:
They will give me a call.

Regards
adinda Send email
 
Jan 8, 2020

Card robbed at ATM

On 8th December 2019 I went to ABSA Brooklyn (top floor) to use the ATM. 2 ATM's were blocked and a man told me that the 3rd is working, he has just used it. The same problem occurred and when I tried to put my card in the machine he put his arm above me and all of a sudden my card was gone!! I was very upset, and ran to the security of Nedbank to help me. But within minutes I got a message that there were monies withdrawn from my cheque account.

I have been a ABSA client for 48 years, and I cannot believe that other Banks in Brooklyn Centre all have security guards outside their Banks, but ABSA who suppose to be one of the big Banks, do not have ONE SINGLE SECURITY GUARD outside their Bank on a Sunday morning!! This is an open invitation for these scumbags to rob people and clients. Should we arm ourselves with our private weapons if we want to use the ATM's??? Another question I want to put to you is, when I have a limit on my account, I cannot exceed this limit, but when a scumbag robs me from my card, he can exceed my limit without even my private pin???

This is mind blogging for me, and with all the clever IT guys in your Bank why cannot this be prevented?? You know why, all these scumbags have contacts in the Bank who assist them in this game of robbing poor innocent pensioners!! Is there nobody clever enough to trace these scum??

I was promised by the Bank Manager, the day after when I reported this matter, that "somebody"of the fraud dept will be in contact with me, but you know, one full month has passed, and NO ONE has ever contacted me!!?? I went to the Bank to complain and requested an update, however, to this date I am still waiting!! Is this the way the bank treats all their clients??? You know very well to let us pay the highest bank charges, but there is NO CLIENT SERVICE AND NO SECURITY??

Maybe I will get a response from somebody now, because I will now also lodge a report on Hello Peter and the Bank Ombudsman.
SihleM Send email
 
Dec 19, 2019

ABSA un-authorised Journal Debit of R16111.94

ABSA has just debited an amount of R16111.94 from my ABSA Savings Account without my consent or any notification. Apon contacting customer care, I was told to call the collections department. After getting through to the Collections Department I was informed that funds were debited due to my Personal Loan outstanding debt which is in arrears. I informed the consultant that this is not allowed and not permitted by law however I was informed that I will not get a refund as I am owing the bank. I explained that this in not my money as I am currently unemployed and funds deposited into my account were for a stokvel distribution. I was told sorry, I will not get a refund, Apon having a discussion with the consultant and the supervisor I continued to asked for assistance as these funds do not belong to me. The supervisor said she can only refund 10% of funds debited, I begged and explained that these funds were not for my Personal use but for distribution to other people. She said she would speak to her manager but can only negotiate for a refund of R9000. I explained that this is not right as these funds do not belong to me. I am unemployed and will not have money to pay the intended beneficiaries who want their money immediately. How does ABSA get away with doing things this way, my life could be in danger due to this as people want their money and I don't know what they will do to me. Why is ABSA not adhering to the South Gauteng High Court Judgement handed down on 27 June 2019 in favour of the NCR in respect of the Common Law Right of Set-Off found in (section 124 of the National Credit Act). The Court Judgement clearly stated that Banks may no-longer take monies from clients accounts to settle a credit agreements withowithout their concent. I URGENTLY need these funds reversed so I can immediately pay the people it was intended for. The banks urge us not to withdraw large sums of cash for stokvel distributions but when monies are in accounts they use technicalities to debit monies from our accounts, even those not intended for our private use. This is not right. ABSA please reverse debited funds.
Phiwe Send email
 
Dec 13, 2019

Unauthorised Debit by Absa

Absa made an unauthorized debit from account for RCCS BOS for an amount of R9342.70. I went to query this debit at the bank an I was told this was for a personal loan. I didn't get a call or a notification regarding this debit. My agreement with Absa is to deduct on the 21st and not randomly on the 13th , the money does not even belong to me, it belongs to a Stokvel.

I need the funds to be reversed into my account and Absa will debit on the 21st as per our contractual agreement.
I'm very aggrieved by this, this is awful customer service. I spoke to a very rude consultant called Lungile at personal loan.

I regret not leaving the bank sooner, this is nonsense and is unacceptable. You don't have a right to do as you please with our accounts . Please reverse my funds!!!
MADELANE Send email
 
Oct 15, 2019

Unauthorised Debit Journal RCCS C Bos

Unauthorised debit journal done on my cheque account. This is shocking. I'm going to change from ABSA Bank to another reliable Bank. Deduction was done without my knowledge and without any sms cell phone notification. I'm shocked ABSA
MADELANE Send email
 
Oct 15, 2019

Unauthorised Debit Journal RCCS C Bos

Without any cell phone notification I was debited via my cheque account with an amount of R1102.03 with the following reference Journal Debit RCCS BOS J and my credit card number. Without my consent it was deducted. This is shocking and after 33 years I have to change to another Bank Group

Kind regards

Madelane Stewart
Tebello Send email
 
May 18, 2019

Unauthorized debit

Hi, RCCS Bos just debuted my account with an amount of R12 228.23 without my knowledge. I have no clue what this is for. Please can someone urgently help reverse the amount, fraud department failed to assist me.
GC van Staden Send email
 
Mar 1, 2019

taking money from account unknowingly

Taking money that does not belong to them after arrangement was made for payment!! Stealing the poor's money - Social media - Facebook ,twitter, Instagram, newspapers they will all be made aware of ABSA unethical fraud and 3rd party companies. will suggest to stay away from ABSA to avoid taking money from your account that was meant for food for your family. the money was meant for my utility bill.


I have an account "credit card" with Absa...on the 2019-02-28
CC TRF 74565469059771654376131
2,830.84 my account was debited with R 2,830.84 with a ref of Journal debit RCCS bos J -

I went to the only branch that was open to reverse the funds as they had no right to take the debit order. they just stole it from my account. if only we had the capability to dig into their funds unauthorized as well - i wouldn't complain.

if this was towards my Credit Card - a fixed arrangement was made to the collections department for the 15th march -

If this is the way that - Director MARIA RAMOS from absa does business and treat their clients by taking their surviving funds - i need to move to another bank where you can trust them with your hard labored little money

I have been demoted and do not receive a salary anymore and basically work as unemployed which led that i can't could not make payments to. I received no call for Absa with regards to my account getting debited as the funds in my account don't belong to me.

Can someone call me before I go to social media and i will spend all my free time to warn ABSA clients and potential clients ... if this was me i would get put in jail for stealing other people money or my legs getting broken

Not impressed with Absa bank - I trust they will put the money back just as they took it - not even a notification was send to me -
Gerhardus van Staden
0721874590

Please Note - i will close my account and not honor my payments if this is how you do business. you can blacklist me all you want and take me to court - i will move to another bank that is professional - POSTED ON YOUR FACEBOOK AS WELL
GC van Staden Send email
 
Mar 1, 2019

Stealing money from the poor

Taking money that does not belong to them after arrangement was made for payment!! Stealing the poor's money - Social media - Facebook ,twitter, Instagram, newspapers they will all be made aware of ABSA unethical fraud and 3rd party companies. will suggest to stay away from ABSA to avoid taking money from your account that was meant for food for your family. the money was meant for my utility bill.


I have an account "credit card" with Absa...on the 2019-02-28
CC TRF 74565469059771654376131
2,830.84 my account was debited with R 2,830.84 with a ref of Journal debit RCCS bos J -

I went to the only branch that was open to reverse the funds as they had no right to take the debit order. they just stole it from my account. if only we had the capability to dig into their funds unauthorized as well - i wouldn't complain.

if this was towards my Credit Card - a fixed arrangement was made to the collections department for the 15th march -

If this is the way that - Director MARIA RAMOS from absa does business and treat their clients by taking their surviving funds - i need to move to another bank where you can trust them with your hard labored little money

I have been demoted and do not receive a salary anymore and basically work as unemployed which led that i can't could not make payments to. I received no call for Absa with regards to my account getting debited as the funds in my account don't belong to me.

Can someone call me before I go to social media and i will spend all my free time to warn ABSA clients and potential clients ... if this was me i would get put in jail for stealing other people money or my legs getting broken

Not impressed with Absa bank - I trust they will put the money back just as they took it - not even a notification was send to me -
Gerhardus van Staden
0721874590

Please Note - i will close my account and not honor my payments if this is how you do business. you can blacklist me all you want and take me to court - i will move to another bank that is professional - POSTED ON YOUR FACEBOOK AS WELL
FFARRED Send email
 
Feb 21, 2019

UNAUTHORIZED DEBITS

good day

R4000 WAS TAKEN FROM MY ACCOUN FROM RCCS BOSS NOBODY CALLED ME REGARDING THIS WHEN I QUERIED THEY COULD NOT ASSIS AND SAID THAT THEY CANNOT REFUND ME I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED IN THE SERVICE NOW FROM ABSA THAT IS ALLOWING UNAUTHORIZED DEBIT ORDERS TO GO FROM OUR ACCOUNTS I NEED MY MONEY BACK THAT IS THE ONLY MONEY I HAD IN MY ACCOUNT TO FEED MY FAMILY CAN SOMEONE PLEASE GET BACK TO ME OR I WILL GO TO OMBUTS MAN. 0722667921

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username