Submit a Complaint

AccountNow

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about AccountNow

mickey4911 Send email
 
Feb 4, 2013

atm withdrawer

more a question then complaint had 800.00 on my card went to atm would only let me withdraw 400.00
jimmyjet Send email
 
Dec 20, 2012

Direct Deposit

My Social Security check was placed into a false account by AccountNow and they have not corrected the error.
Which leaves me hungry and homeless.
Enkisse Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

They claimed my tax refund did not belong to me

I had part of my federal tax refund go onto my accountnow debit card on 1/29. I used the card several times that day without problem. Next day, my card was decined. I had to wait until business hours to call accountnow. Monfay 2/1 I called. They requested that I fax my driver's lic. SS card, utility bill & w-2's. I am self employed and do not have w-2's. I was given no reason why, but my account had been lockes. I had $1853.90 in my account that I could not access. I caled several times over the next 3 days without a resolution. I was always told that someone would call me back within 24 hours. I was not allowed to speak with anyone but customer service. On 2/4 I received a call from a "lady" at accountnow. She told me that "unfortunately my account was being closed" They claimed my tax refund did not belong to me, even after I sent the faxed items proving my ID. They are supposedly returning my refund to the IRS. There is no way to describe the hardship that this has left me facing.
Fightingbck Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

They claimed my tax refund did not belong to me

They froze my sons account right after his $8000 tax return posted saying he needed to prove his identity. That was Jan 31. Have faxed 15 pages of identifying information because they needed to verify his identity. Have phoned numerous times and account still restricted. Wake up people..this company is asking for personal information and closing everyone accounts that have large tax returns. Somehow all this money just disappears ? I Know what they are up to. They want our information so they can close our accounts and open up new ones using our personal information. New accounts for themselves. Figure it out...they are committing identity theft against their own customers..First of all they ask us to fax w2s ? They are not the IAS. They did not prepare my taxes and that money was cleared through the IRS..its a scam and they are getting away with it by hiding behind the patriot act..not once is it ever mentioned how they secure our personal information..who has access to those documents or what happens to them..they will continue milking us and getting away with it unless we fight back..I mean come on now they must be breaking some federal laws here..we need to all the accountnow card holders who have gone through this to fight back and shut them down..lets all get together and file complaints with federal banking agencies state reps bbb, ftc, occ and particularly in CA. Since that's where they are headquartered. We need to make these people listen..Eventually if enough of us complain they will investigate..I'm ready to call the media and expose them for the crooks they are..I'm fed up, exhausted and broke thanks to account now
Alexzanderj Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Beware

I had this card for a while and had direct deposit. At first i didnt have any problems until i had fraud on my account. $400 dollars were taken from an atm 100 miles away from where i live. I called to dispute and they stated that their is nothing that can be done because as they stated " your pin was used at the atm how do we know if it wasnt you? you could have given your card to someone to use and then try to report it?" That was insulting! so i asked how they would go about investigating it because i live no where near the money was withdrawn at. and their answer was " we are unable to do anything because we do not ivestigate and are not insured by the FDIC". SO WHATS THE POINT OF THEIR FRAUD DEPARTMENT????
My advise to anyone thinking about this card, if your looking for something stable and safe this is not the choice. Beware or the same thing can happen to you. I highly do not recommend this card. I have since thrown this card away and am glad that i never have to deal with their horrible, rude, and insipid customer service again. In this case there was a price paid for learning a lesson and it was $400.00 dollars that i never saw again.
Fightingbck Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Beware

They froze my sons account right after his $8000 tax return posted saying he needed to prove his identity. That was Jan 31. Have faxed 15 pages of identifying information because they needed to verify his identity. Have phoned numerous times and account still restricted. Wake up people..this company is asking for personal information and closing everyone accounts that have large tax returns. Somehow all this money just disappears ? I Know what they are up to. They want our information so they can close our accounts and open up new ones using our personal information. New accounts for themselves. Figure it out...they are committing identity theft against their own customers..First of all they ask us to fax w2s ? They are not the IAS. They did not prepare my taxes and that money was cleared through the IRS..its a scam and they are getting away with it by hiding behind the patriot act..not once is it ever mentioned how they secure our personal information..who has access to those documents or what happens to them..they will continue milking us and getting away with it unless we fight back..I mean come on now they must be breaking some federal laws here..we need to all the accountnow card holders who have gone through this to fight back and shut them down..lets all get together and file complaints with federal banking agencies state reps bbb, ftc, occ and particularly in CA. Since that's where they are headquartered. We need to make these people listen..Eventually if enough of us complain they will investigate..I'm ready to call the media and expose them for the crooks they are..I'm fed up, exhausted and broke thanks to account now
Benandlay Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Fraudulent account

Someone opened an account and electronically filed a tax return for 2009 using my personal information with Account Now. The thief was able to close the account to zero balance and now I am trying to gather information and dispute to the IRS that the account was open without my authorization. I have been getting the run around having to send multiple affidavits and documentation resulting in the response from the IRS is that they deposited the money into the Account Now account under my name. Has anyone experienced a similar issue? I need help...
Fightingbck Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Fraudulent account

They froze my sons account right after his $8000 tax return posted saying he needed to prove his identity. That was Jan 31. Have faxed 15 pages of identifying information because they needed to verify his identity. Have phoned numerous times and account still restricted. Wake up people..this company is asking for personal information and closing everyone accounts that have large tax returns. Somehow all this money just disappears ? I Know what they are up to. They want our information so they can close our accounts and open up new ones using our personal information. New accounts for themselves. Figure it out...they are committing identity theft against their own customers..First of all they ask us to fax w2s ? They are not the IAS. They did not prepare my taxes and that money was cleared through the IRS..its a scam and they are getting away with it by hiding behind the patriot act..not once is it ever mentioned how they secure our personal information..who has access to those documents or what happens to them..they will continue milking us and getting away with it unless we fight back..I mean come on now they must be breaking some federal laws here..we need to all the accountnow card holders who have gone through this to fight back and shut them down..lets all get together and file complaints with federal banking agencies state reps bbb, ftc, occ and particularly in CA. Since that's where they are headquartered. We need to make these people listen..Eventually if enough of us complain they will investigate..I'm ready to call the media and expose them for the crooks they are..I'm fed up, exhausted and broke thanks to account now
Victim Of Online Fraud With ACCOUNT NOW Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

they are robbers

i wanted to insure in search options you look at the spelling of ACCOUNTNOW AND ACCOUNT NOW. PLEASE CHECK BOTH. SEE ALL COMPLAINTS BEWARE OF THIS COMPANY!!!THEY ARE GETTING AWAY WITH STEALING YOUR MONEY AND GIVING IT IN LOANS TO SOMEONE ELSE WHICH THEY THEY GAIN INTEREST SEVERAL WAYS THAN ONE. CHOOSE DEBIT CARD COMPANIES CAREFULLY...REMEMBER THEY ARE NOT A BANK. ALTHOUGH THEY ARE SUPPOSE TO FOLLOW FEDERAL REGS JUST THEY SAME BUT WILL ARE ABLE TO GET AWAY WITH NOT BECAUSE THEY ARE SMALL COMPANIES.
Fightingbck Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

they are robbers

They froze my sons account right after his $8000 tax return posted saying he needed to prove his identity. That was Jan 31. Have faxed 15 pages of identifying information because they needed to verify his identity. Have phoned numerous times and account still restricted. Wake up people..this company is asking for personal information and closing everyone accounts that have large tax returns. Somehow all this money just disappears ? I Know what they are up to. They want our information so they can close our accounts and open up new ones using our personal information. New accounts for themselves. Figure it out...they are committing identity theft against their own customers..First of all they ask us to fax w2s ? They are not the IAS. They did not prepare my taxes and that money was cleared through the IRS..its a scam and they are getting away with it by hiding behind the patriot act..not once is it ever mentioned how they secure our personal information..who has access to those documents or what happens to them..they will continue milking us and getting away with it unless we fight back..I mean come on now they must be breaking some federal laws here..we need to all the accountnow card holders who have gone through this to fight back and shut them down..lets all get together and file complaints with federal banking agencies state reps bbb, ftc, occ and particularly in CA. Since that's where they are headquartered. We need to make these people listen..Eventually if enough of us complain they will investigate..I'm ready to call the media and expose them for the crooks they are..I'm fed up, exhausted and broke thanks to account now
Spig Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Gave me wrong routing number

This company sucks. Got my new prepaid debit card. In the letter where i recieved my card, it gave me a routing and account number..with a nifty tear off card to keep in my wallett. I used this card to file my taxes. Come to find out, the routing number is completely wrong. Called account now, and they simpy replied that that routing number goes to another bank. I was on the phone for 45 mins. I look up the other bank and call them. They are in fact parters with account now.. but they coud not help me!! You have to Call account now they said. So i did, again.. and there is nothing acount now do about sending out people their new debit card with paperwork with the WRONG routing number. Now i have to wait and see if my refund is returend.. and then wait for a paper check.. how dumb. This company sucks!!
Stressed_out Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Gave me wrong routing number

Same thing happened to me. I don't understand why the heck you would send your customers wrong information like that.
Now I have to wait and see. I was really counting on my refund. Now I am totally screwed for god knows how long
Juke Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Rip off

Anyone want to file a class action suit?

On June 28, 2010 there was a card to card transfer (debit) for $150. I have been out of the country and after getting my daily email with the account balance, I noticed it said, "$14.00. I immediately called from China only to be informed that they had no way to trace who took the money out of the account and that my account would be closed and they would keep the remaining $14.

Not only did someone steal my money and they didn’t care, but they closed my account and kept the balance.

I got transferred finally to the Dispute Department and kept on hold for ten minutes until I finally hung up.

What kind of business is this? Where are the protections for the consumer? I paid them $10 a month and barely used their services.

There are no email contact addresses or any way to lodge a complaint.

Cards are issued by MetaBank or Palm Desert National Bank, members FDIC.

They do have this disclaimer: AccountNow reserves the right to modify or discontinue any product, services or special offers with or without prior notice.

Does this mean they can steal your money anytime they want with impunity?
Hurtu Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Rip off

well my advice to you is to get copies of the employees and the boards information and use there info the same way, display there info and use the info to do stuff, so i urge each person not use accountnow and log a complaint wit BBB, if nothing happen go down there and blow up there cars and there property, then they will learn not to steal ppl shit, they nic pic depending on the states they choose as vulnerable, i got 193.21 on my card, they dont know im im there state and is waiting for them so i can talk to them in person, and if i feel there lieing, then thats a all together different story, so be aware.
Animinia Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Scammed

On Jan. 29, 2010 both of our Federal returns were deposited into my my account. They closed the account telling me that I participated in an illegal deposit! They then told me that both of our refunds were sent back to the IRS. We contacted the IRS and they told us that they have NOT returned the deposits!!! I am VERY fed-up with AccountNow . I will never do business with them again. It's been over 2 weeks now and guess what - ACCOUNTNOW is making a million dollars + just on the INTEREST alone sitting in THEIR account.
Hurtu Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Scammed

Dont be a fool, go to them and get your money, as long as you dont step up to the plate, they will play like a fool that you are. My inside connect say that they can spend your money and u will not know it...

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username