Submit a Complaint

Accounts Recovery Corporation

Canada,
British Columbia

Consumer complaints and reviews about Accounts Recovery Corporation

luannrayment Send email
 
Aug 21, 2019

ARO Inc

this company has been collecting money from me for several months now saying I owe Cogeco cable $364.00 and if I don't pay this I will be taken to court. I called Cogeco and they told me that me past balance with them is $0. 00. How can they collect this money when I don't owe anything? Should I Quit paying them?
upsetone Send email
 
Jul 18, 2019

Overpaid amount

I had a debt that went to Collections. It was with an old Canadian Tire MC that I had 15 years ago in my Marriage.
I am not in denial about the debt and I know it has to be paid.
I had papers delivered to my place of employment to garnish my wages. I don't even think they are legit papers.
Upon calling ARO to get this corrected, I came up with a payment plan. I have paid my debt off in FULL yet I keep getting reports and falsified spread sheets that I still owe a lot money. I am getting a total run around with ARO. They sent my file to their layers apparently, even though I was paying my debt monthly. Now I am dealing with their "lawyers", who I must say are not very cooperative.
I do not know what to do now. I know my debt is paid, actually its overpaid at this point. They are threatening me to pay more.

I cannot afford to get my own legal advise. What should I do? They are harassing and bullying me. I hate this, and have no idea how to get rid of them. I am afraid they will threaten my wages again. I owe them NOTHING at this point.

Any advise would be greatly appreciated.
Rosy11 Send email
 
Nov 18, 2017

False and misleading information to my bank

I went to my bank to renew my mortgage and they told me that one of my bill is due of 2013 June from enmax and they gave my name of collection agency and i never received any call from collection agency (which was a surprise) so i called enmax to resolve the issue and i was surprised how come my bill was not paid as it is on pre-authorized withdrawal and money should automatically go from my account so enmax told me no u never missed any payment ever and they can't see anything on file.They said each and every bill is paid and they never sent any complains to collection agency.They said u check it in your bank statement and take your bank statement (that your payment was done) plus enmax letter and talk to collection agency that it must be some error.so i called collection agency and for 3 consecutive days they kept telling me that they will give me the call back which i never received so i decided to call them back but same answer i was getting so i got pissed off and said give my call to some supervisor or manager so i can explain (may be they will be lil bit smart) and then i got referred to Patrick (supervisor) and he was like not even grade 5 passed guy.when i told him about complaint he was not even listening,kept talking and was taking every complaint personal like i was telling something wrong about him.i said your company is giving false information to my bank and i will complain to be attorney journal of Canada and he hung up.i don't know why they r so rude people,instead of solving an issue they r taking it personally.Rude Rude person i ever spoke in my life Patrick.
Raebw Send email
 
Aug 23, 2017

Rude Aro Collector

Call from rude woman telling me that I owe $280 to the Minsitry of Quebec from a speeding ticket fine from 2013. It is now 2017. I felt that the whole phone call seemed dodgy. I tried to collect as much info from her about ticket and her company as I could before she hung up on me.

I am calling the Minstry of Quebec to verify. But will be looking into this. Have not heard about this debt for 4 years and looking into options about challenging. all seems dodgy...
Cecile Send email
 
Apr 11, 2017

Response on phone calls

Don't be intimidated by ARO. Look up the statute of limitations, where if you do no admit you owe them any money, and you have not paid them during this time, after 2 years they can't sue you in Ontario. If after this time, you admit that you owe them money , or start paying them, then you are back to square 1, where they can sue you. All provinces have different periods where they can no longer sue you after inactivity and non-payments. There are laws that they can't garnish certain assets such as a car up to a certain value, etc. provided you have not signed contract as collateral of these assets. A great book is "The Wolf at the Door" by Mark Silverthorn, that explains what you can do to protect yourself from creditors. If creditors reveal your personal information to any party other than the debtor, they are acting illegally on third party disclosure. They could also be acting illegally on privacy laws such as PIPEDA. You can request the collection agency's information they have on file as well as all their taped telephone conversations and any personal information in hard copy and electronic files, credit reports, any correspondence both incoming and outgoing regarding your account. This falls under your rights with PIPEDA. Send it to the collector's representative for PIPEDA. They may not have any proof of when your last payment was made or when you admitted you owed them money. This will help especially is you are sued in a time period past the statute of limitations timing. Collection agencies also must abide by your province's legal requirements such as being a licensed collector (phone the office of the provincial licensing administrator for collectors). In some provinces they can't phone your place of work, or are limited to number of calls made per day and during time intervals, they can't make misleading statements such a sending a Sheriff to seize your property, and they need to send you a letter prior to making the calls.Etc. You can find out more information about laws they must follow from Ontario Registrar of Collection Agencies. GOOD LUCK and don't be intimidated.
Phd Send email
 
Feb 25, 2017

Very very old tickets that have all been paid

I got a call about parking tickets from years and years ago, I have had tickets in the past for parking that I let slide for a bit during school but paid them all up as of now.

The first thing they had for me was a $100 parking ticket from 3 years ago, def haven't not paid any in that time.

The second thing they looked up was 8 unpaid parking tickets!!! Haha. I've maybe had 8 in my life. They clearly have any ticket I didn't pay right away, as I said I paid all of these up to date so they clearly are trying to collect on old tickets already paid (I'm sure they don't update when u pay the city).

Anyways not worried about it. As soon. As I heard the 8 tickets I knew it was bull and told the scum bag I'm going to be hanging up.

What a scam. PS my credit is amazing it's such bull that you even have to pay or it will effect you. Especially for small things like parking and especially with little fake private parking companies. Those guys will take a pack of smokes as payment if you tell them it's all you aren't going to pay. They only make money on suckers who get scared. You do not have to pay them a cent.
alasbee Send email
 
Dec 10, 2016

BE EDUCATED

Hello guys. I think most you guys making this complain online are just uneducated about your rights and duty. I told my friend once that any time he gets a cal from a so called collection agency not to ever give out any information. From the moment your name is sent to collection means that their debt has been sold and bought over by that company. If you owe 3000.00 to any bank, after a while, the bank will sell it for anything that the can get. But I guess most Canadians do not read and try to understated how these so called agencies work. I am happy that I live in Quebec --yes we are socialist province but we have protection- where they know how the law can easily go against them

I owe close to 8000.00 that I signed for someone who never paid back and coming after me. I ignore their calls and do not care what time or how many times they call. Be careful also because the so called Credit bureaus sell out your info for money.
Cmkayes Send email
 
Dec 8, 2016

ARO

They contacted me for a $397 outstanding bill I had had with Videotron. I have paid $100 every 2 weeks paying a total of $300. Today I received a bill from Videotron stating I have only paid $100. WTF??
Curtis Fee Send email
 
Apr 9, 2016

Aro

Aro is by far the most unprofessional I have dealt with by farrrrrr. There is a female I have been talking with R*** that will say anything. She will say "Frankly I don't car you don't have a job","do you have mental issues", your a bad payer", 'what's wrong with you , you should have a job.

She calls my relatives that live in different addresses, she constanly lies (a lot) and saying she just got off the phone with her client (lie) RBC, she won't accept payments as she wants it in full, she phones five times a week, she has told me over ten times if full payment is not made we will proceed with the paper work and they will put a lean out on the house. The amount owing is 18K. I said I woukld pay the full amount in July when i sell the house. ANY ADVICE OUT THERE?
meenuis Send email
 
Jan 7, 2016

Harrassment!!!!!!!

I am getting calls from a Company called ARO Collections for a while now. In regards to a RBC debt that they are trying to collect on behalf of RBC. I understand I owed to RBC and I am willing to cooperate and pay whatever I owe. First ARO wanted me to pay a lump sum amount of some $18k, but I said I can't pay in a lump sum. She started suggesting I take a loan. When I didn't get successful with the loan, she has been forcing me to sell my property. The property that has my husband and daughter on the title. I agreed to pay $200 every month, which I have paid for last 2 months already. She keeps calling me almost everyday asking when I am putting my house up for sale!!!! Then she keeps calling to see when and how will I be paying next. I work and cannot keep answering ARO calls. Secondly these people are so damn rude. I told them I am not running away or I am not hiding or I am not denying the payments. Then another lady claiming to be in management calls, and guess what????? She started yelling at me, not letting me talk (and when I am at work). So unprofessional and rude!. I hung up coz I cant be just listening to her harassments of taking legal action, suing etc etc. Taking legal action for what?????? I am willing to pay and I am paying my monthly amounts. Please someone give me advice as to what I can do to stop this....
Harajaku princess Send email
 
Dec 22, 2015

ARO INC

Hi I've worked at aro inc on behalf of bell Canada as
A third party collector . the files that we work with are very old files but to be completely honest from my understanding of it all, your file should be removed from the collection file. They never really do so since it takes time and effort. I always try to do so as there are thousands of customers within our data base. Regardless, if your file is in out system and its over 7 years old hence the fact that its not on your credit beareu, I advise you all not to give out or confirm any informatiom regarding this matter. Once you decide to confirm anything, you then reopen the case file and it will be in collections to screw with your credit. Its pretty messed up how these collection agencies work and ofcourse we cant tell you that because then we lose our jobs. But i advise you all do not confirm any information rrgarding an accoung that is over 7 years past due. Also they will pay the credit beareu for any information regarding you to make it seem a little bit more legit but this company, and i speak on behalf of aro inc is a fraud.
Jewellez32 Send email
 
Dec 15, 2015

Demand Payment for ICBC

I received several calls from 1(866)-563-7673 many times on my work business Cell phone. Every time I answered and waited a few minutes it clicked and I was disconnected. I phoned it back twice and get an answering service named Arrow and then it goes into French greeting and if you know the name of the persons extension please input it now. I then hang up cause it goes no further. I disregarded the call today and finally someone left a voicemail. I played back my voicemail and returned the call and entered the Extension number. It disconnected me and I tried again one more time. This time someone actually answered on the other end. A lady greeted me and asked me if I had a case number (it was left in my voicemail) and then to confirm my name and address. The address I gave her was incorrect. I only gave her my house address not my postal code or city. I then gave her my last address, she again said No that was not it, I then gave her my address from another city I once lived in. She again said No that was not correct. I asked her if she could give me a hint, because those last 3 addresses I gave her were where i have lived in the last 20 years. She said the street name was Ashgrove, I could not remember for the moment of this address and told her to hold on so I could google map it and asked what City this was in. She said in Lethbridge Alberta. Then she asked what the house number was, I said I didn't know and that I was googling it. It came up on google maps and in the moment she said 1424 Ashgrove way. I am like "What!" I haven't lived there in 21 years. What's this about, she told me that it was for a collection of ICBC I asked her who this was and what kind of collection is it. She said its a 3rd party debt collector we are collecting for a traffic fine in British Columbia that occurred in July of 2009. I did, nor do I remember getting any kind of fine in BC in 2009. She asked how I would like to pay for this fine. I said, well how much is it. She said $196.00. I said well No, I am not paying this till I find out more about it. I never received anything by mail in 21 years and now you want me to pay this. Her comment was well letters have been sent to this address. My license has been changed to my current address every time I have moved or had it expire. I have moved 3 times in 23 Years, owned every house I have moved to and changed my address on my License every time. I was living in Fort Mcmurray AB at the time, I allegedly received this fine and have been living in Fort Mcmurray AB since 2000 and currently in the same house since 2006. Why is this debt, even if held True trying to be collected now? Any advice as to how to handle this, would be greatly appreciated. I can be contacted at [email protected] Thank you
FedUp1 Send email
 
Sep 30, 2015

Harrasing phone calls by rude people

I got a call from these Aro Inc people rudely asking me to verify myself so they can tell me what they are calling about. They told me they are collecting a 12 year old debt from the Quebec government.These women rudely demand me to pay back $8000 just at one go. I told them that I'm not even currently working so they force me agree to a monthly payment amount. When I asked them how much they want me to pay they jump over and say I should tell them how much I want to pay them. I suggested $20 per month until I get a job and they freaked out. I told them that is what I can afford to squeeze out since you are forcing me to pay something monthly. I had to contact Quebec government and they were understanding and referred me back to these rude people, hoping Quebec government had mentioned something towards our conversation and agreement. When I called Aro Inc. I was answered by another rude person who like most of them that I have spoken with mumble through their 'fake names'. All the time its a different person although it feels like its one person because they all are champions at being rude and hanging up on you. Then they call me everyday at awkward times early in the morning like 6am and 7am Mountain standard time. More so, 90% of the time when I say 'hello' there is no-one on the line to speak to until the phone hangs up deliberately or not , who knows. These people do not even give you a chance to present your case just because they have your name. They just don't care. They call you everyday asking you the same questions which is so highly annoying to be repeating yourself. I wonder if that is how they are trained to behave. I have never in my life encountered such poor customer service. Even if I owe you something please try to be nice because if you think harassing me and being rude will help matters then, you are ill informed.
Jason2675 Send email
 
Mar 17, 2015

Harrassed by ARC

Started getting calls last week at work, they didn't even say who was calling, just asked for my address and birth date. Refused to give it to them, Women then threatens me saying I better Cooperate. I hung up. They called me at work today I just hung up, then they called my supervisor and asked her to put them though to my extention, I told them to stop calling me at work.

Got home and there is a message from the same person with no details other then a call back number. They didn't even give a file number to quote. Called the number they said them sent letter by mail on March 4, 2015, it is now March 17, and I still haven't gotten a letter. Told them to stop calling and that if they want to contact me it is to be only in writing. Will see what happens.

They say the debt is from Royal Bank, I haven't dealt with Royal Bank in almost 20 years.
MBme Send email
 
Dec 21, 2013

ARC or ARO or whatever name

A.R.C. Accounts Recovery Corporation (A.R.C.) announces its acquisition by ARO Inc.

October, 15th, 2013, Victoria, BC A.R.C. is pleased to announce its acquisition by ARO Inc.

The merger of these two family owned companies, one headquartered in Eastern Canada (Montreal, Quebec) and the other headquartered in Western Canada (Victoria, British Columbia).

OR ... let's se how we can by-pass the system, by changing our name.

We will call you, in Ontario, from British Columbia, and tell you to call us. And we will keep calling, even if you are the wrong person ... because we're just calling a phone number and we don't know who actually lives at that number.

The onus should NOT be on me, the current phone number holder, to prove that I do not have a debt in default.
cchong Send email
 
Mar 3, 2013

harass being phoned everyday with voice mail for nothing

This ARC phoned me everyday with voice mail and requesting us to phone 1-855-499-3616. I do not know who they are and I do not owed any money from anyone. What is going on and how to stop them from calling us. I am really mad with this stupid call for nothing. Do they know what they are doing? They should not keep phone people for nothing and harassing anyone they wish.
bubblegumbandit Send email
 
Sep 5, 2012

Harrassing phone calls

ARC phones my house at least 5 times a day. It is never a person; always just a recorded message.
The issue is...
I don't owe them money. The debt belongs to my 32 year old daughter. I have explained this to them on numerous occasions, even given them her phone number, but still they harrass me. I am at the end of my rope with these people.
Any suggestions?
Confusedlm Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Harassing phone calls!

I am confused ...I thought after 6 yrs a debt is stats barred. I am receiving calls from ARC trying to collect on an old phone bill (Bell). I have no problem with a collection agency doing their job, but do not understand how they can break the law, laws are made laws for a reason. I was in the middle of my marriage ending and I did end up claiming bankruptcy as it was a priority to feed and house my two kids (this was years ago). I am assuming some how that the phone bill did not get included. It wasn't something that even entered my mind until I started hearing from ARC. Now I am not sure why this bill was missed in the bankruptcy, I do know at the time my mind was a bit off due to the separation. Which is why I assume that stats barred laws exist, so people in such circumstances are not held accountable for the rest of their lives. I am not someone who decided one day "I don't think I'll pay my bills anymore". just for fun. Any way, back to "Stats barred". This bill is approx. 10 yrs old, are they allowed to still try and collect? The last letter said, "We will take further steps, if payment not received in 5 days". What is the next step? Can they take a stats barred bill to court ? I have been told not to have contact with them at all because they are trying to reset the date ...is that true?
Confusedlm Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Harassing phone calls!

Also, they are stating the bill is $1600, I have never had a phone bill like that in my life. Where would they be coming up with this number ?
PGYC Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Harassing phone calls!

If you live in British Columbia, Canada please go here to file your complaint. A investigator will review your file and contact the company. You MUST file a official complaint with the forms available at our website.
Thank-you
http://www.consumerprotectionbc.ca/consumers-debt-collection/how-to-make-a-complaint/debt-collection
ARCsucksstaledogfarts Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Harassing phone calls!

ARC are complete bullies! I do agree that if you buy something you should pay for it. I bought a Dell laptop when I was employed and making my payments. I lost my job and have very little funds coming in. I have to pay the necessities first like rent, car, gas and food. After all that is taken care of, there is nothing left. I have offered to surrender the laptop, but they won't have that. They are demanding an amount that I obvious can not muster up in a couple of days. Her tone was very unprofessional and I had expressed that I didn't appreciate it. She proclaimed that she speaks like this to her own mom and children. I feel so sorry for her kids. If I was her mother, I would feel guilty that I spawned Satan from hell and unleashed her onto the world. For the collectors of ARC, you seriously need to consider that you catch more flies with honey than vinegar. Stop being total DICKHEADS and take a course on professionalism.
PGYC Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Harassing phone calls!

***URGENT
If you live in British Columbia, Canada please go here to file your complaint. A investigator will review your file and contact the company. You MUST file a official complaint with the forms available at our website at the link provided below.

Thank-you

http://www.consumerprotectionbc.ca/consumers-debt-collection/how-to-make-a-complaint/debt-collection
OneManInAjax Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Harassing phone calls!

ARC is currently under investigation by the RCMP, and most provincial police forces, along with numerous government ministry's including Ministry of Consumer Affairs. They DO NOT hold a valid license for operation in Canada and have over 185, 000 complaints against them for attempting to bypass collections laws in Canada. They have been found liable in 3581 cases of harassment via telecommunications by CRTC and RCMP. Many of the companies who deal with ARC have severed their contracts as a collections provider and ARC still continues to call/mail/harass clients of those companies even 2 years after the contracts were ended.
ARC is currently prohibited from contacting clients in Ontario, unless the call/mail originates from a verifiable Ontario office. Arc is under a order from Consumer Affairs to contact all clients via mail PRIOR to any phone contact. If the person(s) cannot be contacted via mail, they then CANNOT call.

If you DO NOT have dealings with a company quoted by Accounts Recovery Corp. contact your local police department or RCMP
If you DO have dealings with the company quoted, contact that company and verify they hold a CURRENT contract with ARC, then request to deal with the company DIRECTLY, and not ARC effective that day. Any further contact from ARC is harrassment and please report it.
In most cases the company will be more than pleased to deal with you directly, as they will not have to pay ARC, and your settlement or payments will be vastly different if you go through the company directly.

All of the above can be verified with a simple call to Ministry of Consumer and Small Business Affairs, RCMP, your local MP or MPP, or in BC, the Provincial Courts
PGYC Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Harassing phone calls!

If you live in British Columbia, Canada please go here to file your complaint. A investigator will review your file and contact the company. You MUST file a official complaint with the forms available at our website.

Thank-you
http://www.consumerprotectionbc.ca/consumers-debt-collection/how-to-make-a-complaint/debt-collection
Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Harassing phone calls!

I have been receiving 5 to 7 calls a day from these people. I owe money on a credit card. It started with Nor don collections and they harassed me so much at work, it was part of the reason I was let go when they were bought out. Now Accounts Recovery Corp. has my account and they are relentless. They call daily 5 to 7 times. I explained I no longer was working and they made fun of me and said pay! I said I would send them some money, they said I wouldn't and now they just keep calling. Every time it is someone more abusive than the next.

The last guy I took a call from said he was sending someone to work to send me papers because they were suing me, I told him to go ahead, I don't have a job anymore. He said they were on their way to my old company. Then they called back and left a message saying this was the last chance to pay or their client had advised them to proceed. What the heck do I do? I also asked them to stop calling and only correspond with me through the mail, they said no!

The amount is also over double what Nor don agreed to accept.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    uif - UIF Payments and submissions not validated
    Good day Please can you help with the above and...
    Multichoice DSTV - BAD SERVICE
    BAD SERVICE THE STAFF DO NOT NOW WHAT THEY ARE DOING. I...
    reserve bank complaints board - my matter pending over month ago
    Reserve bank complaints board my (RESOLVED ) matter 4...
    Hallmark channel - Bring Back Cheers!!
    Why was Cheers removed from your channel? Cheers is a...
    usell - I phone
    While I was conducting a deal with the Usell company, I...
    Impulse Products - Uif claim rejected
    Hi, my contract ended at my previous employer. Now...
    McDonald's - STAFF MCDONALD'S KURANG AJAR
    Pada jam 12:32 malam hari ini, tarikh 19/9/2019 saya telah...
    BMTC - Rude behaviour of conductor
    I have taken the BMTC bus no. KA 01 F 0086 from garebhavi...
    Fraud - Unauthorized account withdrawals
    I NEVER AUTHORIZED ANYONE FROM THIS COMPANY TO TAKE ANY...
    McDonalds Meru Raya DT - Budak Langsi
    Sorry la saya cakap tolonglah tegur crew awak tu untuk...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    uif - UIF Payments and submissions not validated
    Good day Please can you help with the above and...
    Multichoice DSTV - BAD SERVICE
    BAD SERVICE THE STAFF DO NOT NOW WHAT THEY ARE DOING. I...
    reserve bank complaints board - my matter pending over month ago
    Reserve bank complaints board my (RESOLVED ) matter 4...
    Hallmark channel - Bring Back Cheers!!
    Why was Cheers removed from your channel? Cheers is a...
    usell - I phone
    While I was conducting a deal with the Usell company, I...
    Impulse Products - Uif claim rejected
    Hi, my contract ended at my previous employer. Now...
    McDonald's - STAFF MCDONALD'S KURANG AJAR
    Pada jam 12:32 malam hari ini, tarikh 19/9/2019 saya telah...
    BMTC - Rude behaviour of conductor
    I have taken the BMTC bus no. KA 01 F 0086 from garebhavi...
    Fraud - Unauthorized account withdrawals
    I NEVER AUTHORIZED ANYONE FROM THIS COMPANY TO TAKE ANY...
    McDonalds Meru Raya DT - Budak Langsi
    Sorry la saya cakap tolonglah tegur crew awak tu untuk...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username