Submit a Complaint

ADCB

United Arab Emirates

Consumer complaints and reviews about ADCB

[email protected] Send email
 
Nov 16, 2021

Harassment by credit card collections staff

HI There,

My Name is Athira Kuyilath Karthikeyan Nair.

I have a credit card and I am under settlement now. I couldn't pay for a few months as per the settlement plan due to some financial and personal reasons (My Father passed away couple of months back)

However, I always paid amounts to my card every month as per the emails and calls I received.

I have already paid 8150 AED towards my card and my settlement amount is 18000 AED which is till April 2022 valid.

I have only a 9850 AED balance to close the card and my settlement letter is valid till April 2022 and I have another 6 more months time and I promise and agree that the remaining amount will be cleared and the card will be closed before the settlement date.

I have always paid as per my promise, and all this money I paid to my card is my hard earned money from the very low salary I am earning.

But the collection and the bank staff, keep calling me every now and then and threatening me going for a legal case and shouting on me.

I cannot work at my office as they keep calling me and threatening me, I am really depressed stage due to my father demise as I could not even see my father for a last one time because I didn't had money to go to home country and see him.

I will pay my card and close my card before the expiry date of my settlement but I can't take this threatening from the bank and collection staff.

Saritha the lady keep calling me(052 319 8654) and Muhammad Aamir Qureshi from bank threatening me saying my settlement will be cancelled permanently and they file legal case on me.

Regards,
Athira

Ref no: CID11272198/COL24827/2021
ddlfsh Send email
 
Feb 9, 2021

fees charged on inactive credit cards

hi, hope your 2021 is a better year than 2020. I have not closed my bank account when i left the UAE in 2018 as I was naive and I heard a friend also kept his cards. I had no credit card debt and no loan before leaving the UAE, however the bank held my EOD and I withdraw cash from the credit card and ask them to pay off with my eod, which they did but there is a small balance left, which i paid off, but when i ask for clearance and closure of accounts and credit cards, they never respond.

I have it in writing that the credit card has no annual fee for life from adcb, but after i settled the balance, they blocked this credit card, and charged an annual fee plus a late fee. so the balance is around 2500 drm. Honestly its nothing and i can pay it off but even if I pay off, there's no guarantee that they will give me clearance or close my account at distance.

Even though I Emailed the bank, they insisted on me paying for the annual fee on a blocked card first, then simply stopped replying. I thought it was clear as they stopped talking to me for 2 years, but now another debt collector are starting to send me emails again.

I am wondering for a few things :
1) should I escalate to their CFO as the amount is really small

2) should I fill a court case? but I am not in the UAE so I guess it's more expensive getting a lawyer to represent me?

3) this is a silly question but should i pay off to stop all this? I would like to go back to the UAE to visit my friends obe day and really don't want to be stopped at the airport.

thanks a million in advance for your advice
best regards and warm wishes for the new year 2021
YuY
ddlfsh Send email
 
Feb 9, 2021

harassment over trying to impose annual charges and late fee on blocked credit card

Dear all, thanks for providing this place.

I have not closed my bank account when i left the UAE in 2018 as I was naive and I heard a friend also kept his cards. I had no credit card debt and no loan before leaving the UAE, however the bank held my EOD and I withdraw cash from the credit card in a foreign country after and ask them to pay off with my eod, which they did but there is a small balance left, which i paid off, but when i ask for clearance and closure of accounts and credit cards, they never respond.

I have it in writing that the credit card has no annual fee for me for life from adcb, but after i settled the balance, they blocked this credit card, and charged an annual fee plus a late fee. so the balance today is around 2500 drm. Honestly its nothing and i can pay it off but even if I pay off, there's no guarantee that they will give me clearance or close my account at distance, judging from their behavior.

Even though I Emailed the bank, they insisted on me paying for the annual fee on a blocked card (unusable for tge last 3 years) first, then simply stopped replying. I thought it was clear as they stopped talking to me for 2 years, but now another debt collector are starting to send me emails again.

I am wondering for a few things :
1) should I escalate to their CFO as the amount is really small

2) should I fill a court case? but I am not in the UAE so I guess it's much more expensive getting a lawyer to represent me than just 2500 aed?

3) this is a silly question but should i pay off to stop all this? I would like to go back to the UAE to visit my friends one day and really don't want to be stopped at the airport.

thanks a million in advance for your advice
best regards and warm wishes for the new year 2021
YuY
Madz63 Send email
 
Feb 7, 2021

Inactive Account -Charges

I hope that this matter as I wanted to raise a complaint and dispute of payment to the charges which I am not aware of against ADCB Bank.
Sometimes on 2017, I was planning to take a bank loan ftom ADCB by a certain agent. All of the necessary documents for the processing was then submitted however, the validity of the given date for the processing been overdue which resulted that documents becomes invalid, application for the loan was disapproved due to not complying the documents on time. By then, I told to the agent that I decided not continue my desire to take a loan in short decided cancelling my application and all documented matters related to my application. Meaning I am sticked with my current bank. No transfer done or loan taken either from ADCB.
To my dismay I came to found out that I have an existing inactive account with ADCB and asking me to pay for 2,300 dirhams for settlement and closing the account as the agent didn’t cancel the account. I told to the Manager, how would I pay the amount for an inactive account. During those times I never received any call from any bank representative about the matter. I was so disappointed how the bank mistreated clients at least someone from the bank should call or inform the client regarding inactive accounts or any related matters that the client may feel comfortable with guidance from the bank.
I hope the matter will be resolved as close as I am planning to escalate this in social media. Very bad experienced I feel like I was robbed silently.
archumon Send email
 
Jan 7, 2021

EOS Benefit from ADCB Bank

My job was affected due to Covid 19 that forced me to leave my previous job and joined a new company in the month of Dec 2020. I have received my EOS from the previous employer and it was on hold by ADCB.

As per the bank request, I have submitted all the required documents to the Sharjah Main branch on 20th of December 2020 and it was confirmed by Customer Executive that documents are inline with your requirements and the concerned team will contact me.

I have received an email from Credit team Lowden on 22nd December 2020 requesting to submit all the documents to the bank and I have informed them back that all the required documents have been submitted. Further to my continuous emails follow-up they have replied to me back on 29th December (after 7 days) requesting me to provide the request reference, which I have provided at the same time. I have received a reply from Credit team on 30th stating the following;

"Upon reviewing the submitted documents, it was evidenced that your Debt Burden Ration (DBR) exceeds 50% of your monthly income Hence we will be adjusting the gratuity component to the loan to reduce your monthly instalment."

But in my case;
1) My Recent is company was listed with ADCB
2) My existing salary is higher than the previous salary.
3) My EMI falls under well below half of my salary.
4) My current debt with ADCB is also below what I was taken with my previous salary
5) I do not have any other cards, loans with any other bank other than ADCB.
6) I didn't default on any of the repayment.
7) Finally, my first month salary (Dec Month) is credited to their account. (It was again they deducted the EMI for January)

I tried to reach them many times, through call center, emails, visit to branch - but they never responded till 6th of January. (more than 15 days). At last, I have called the call center insisted to speak with a Supervisor, after a long chat, I finally got a call from the Customer care Supervisor and assured a call call back from the Manager of credit team.

Meantime, I have gathered the emails of CEO, CFO, Retail Head and sent them an email. Which resulted immediate call back from the credit team and informed me that the DBR issue was a system error.

Irrespective of the above facts, they have adjusted by EOS, given me a new EMI structure. They have proceeded with re-structure without even my knowledge, they did not bother whether am okay to keep the long period or short period.
So, based on my experience with ADCB I would like to share the followings tips for everyone.

1) Never go to ADCB. Based on my experience – they do not deal with customer point of view. They will stick in to their advantage and terms & conditions. They don’t treat you with your necessity. Don’t expect any mercy and stretch out help from ADCB. Even if you explain all your troubles, they wont help you, they will stick with their T&C.
2) Don’t take a personal loan 😊 – I know its not possible for us.
3) Terms Conditions - Read all the Terms and conditions clearly. At the end they will say, its written in T&C, why you did not read.
4) End of Service - Please note they will not release your end of service benefits if your loan is exceeding the EOS (I have got an email confirmation on this). Even though your salary is high, even your current employer is listed, even if your first salary is credited, they will not release. So please do not think in that you are going to get the end of service when you change your job. Do not plan at all.
5) Customer Care – Please don’t rely on the information given by the front line customer executives. The back-end operations have different view and we will end up with change in plans.
6) Do not Disconnect the Calls - If you are unable to solve your issue within couple of calls or emails, please call the Call center and insist them that I am not going disconnect the call until unless you transfer the calls to the concern person that can assist you. They will assure you a call back, but do not accept, do not disconnect. They cannot disconnect call during the conversation.
7) Emails to higher authorities – If they still fail to give us the solution you can write emails to the higher authorities. In my case, I have written emails to CEO – CFO – HOD

Many of us may have different opinion about ADCB, but I would say, its one of the worst experiences during my 16 year stay in UAE. So I would say good bye ADCB (that doesn’t make any difference, but it would make me better, I think that’s important)
Sujithuic Send email
 
Jan 29, 2020

End of service benefit with hold

Dear Team

Please find me the break up below

Gratuity AED 6452
Leave Sajary AED 7800
Incentives AED 4039
Due salary AED 5633

Since my company is not listed entire amount can not be under hold , please let me know any letter from HR can be provided to get a solution if so please share me format

Also my current month EMI has been deducted from my salary and salary is already been credited.

Financially little held please try and support me on this issue

Awaiting your positive reply ..

Thanks and regards

Sujith Kumar S
0507546978
Mohammed Kabir Send email
 
Sep 6, 2018

Credit card

aention, Actually I m very much disappointed from ADCB collection agents. Let me give you a short review about the story Around five months ago I contacted Adcb for settlement then I got approval from NR. Surojit from AZZITE with authentic account email when I paid that amount after someone days I tried to call Adcb but I was surprised to know Mr. Surojit is no more employee of AZZITE he is fired because he without approval he gave me settlement. After big struggling I found Mr. Abdul Kadir He tried his best to help me out and refereed me to Mr.haider ali Then Mr.haider ali told me don’t worry I’m official employee for Adcb I m not third party agent I will help you out. Then i received his email Please pay 5600 and deposit this cheque in academic city ADCB I deposited there as per instructions. Then I waited like 2 months and more Yesterday I got new surprise That still there’s outstanding in my account. I tried to call Mr.haider ali Number switched off I emailed him but can’t send on official email At last I called call center nd requested them for a call back. But as I can’t stop myself I called on 04-4265299 one lady answered my call and she asked me to call concerned person so she gave me extension for Mr vickey which was 04-4265229. The moment I called him first he not answer I thought may be he is busy Then I tried to call thrice by the grace of Allah he answered Again big shock for me Mr.haider ali is no more employee of the ADCB who said I m official employee nd trust my words nd many more. Now again I m fully confused and lost What I should do Again I explained everything to Mr.vicky and He took it very casually as there is call record He smiled and said first Surojit no more working then when I asked him about Haider ali he smiled and said he is also no more working with ADCB I ask him very simple question may be by tomorrow you Will also be same either you will resign or terminated then again I have to call and explain everything to new agent. He start argument and instead of giving me solution he said better you go to those guys. His behavior was so rude and he didn’t even try to understand my part it’s like I can feel he don’t want anything on his shoulder I ask him reply on email he said from today start counting 30 days and come collect your NOC I told him Surojit Also said same Nd Mr. Haider ali as well So how I can trust please send me an email But he was sticked on on sentence and that was come after 30 days At last he said I will inform you when I have time I don’t expect this behavior and so cold response from ADCB agent

Credit card Credit card

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username