Submit a Complaint

ADT

South Africa

Consumer complaints and reviews about ADT

MaW0962 Send email
 
Jul 2, 2022

Unacceptable response time

For the 2nd time in as many weeks ADT’s response time has been totally unacceptable. I was called 3 hours after my alarm was activated. If it had been a real emergency the perpetrators would have been long gone.

Congratulations ADT, you have just lost a customer that has supported your business for many years.
fymohamed Send email
 
Jan 26, 2021

Continous deduction after cancellation

Good day,

I would like to file an official complaint against ADT Fidelity. As you will see from the correspondence below, I have cancelled my contract in October 2020, I was informed that they would still need to deduct for November, but after that, my contract will be cancelled. I accepted, even though I have explained that I had cancelled my contract months ago, only to discover that they have been deducting all this time. The only difference is that this time I have evidence in a form of an email, which you will see below, confirming cancellation of my contract. In December they continued to deduct a double payment, I have been in contact with them ever since. I contact their customer service almost every day for the past 3 weeks and every day they come up with some lame excuse, but no effort to ensure payment is made. Most of the time I am placed on hold with the intent that I will eventually give up and hang up the call, which I end up doing because of airtime depletion. I have been promised by Mr Davids on numerous occasions that the payment will reflect in my account the next day. It is 3weeks later and still no payment. I have requested on several occasions to speak to the supervisor, to no avail. They place me on hold and never come back to me. They have just continued to deduct even for this month.

ADT is unethical and should be investigated, they should not be allowed to run a business in this manner. Their services is pathetic to say the least. In a time where anxiety and depression is on an all time high due to the pandemic and lots of other factors, they seem to think it is okay to fool around with people's lives. Michaela places me on hold for a solid 20minutes and laughed about it. The staff at ADT think it's okay to mess clients around.

Please investigate this fraudulent activities at this company.

Kind regards,
Faiza Mohamed
0833914710
FERLICIA Send email
 
Apr 12, 2017

APPALLING SERVICE

Good day Sir/Mam,

Purpose

Writing this email in the hope of receiving feedback or resolution to my queries and complaints logged.

Background

I have been a client with ADT since November 2013. In the past three weeks crime in and around my area has increased - we had 5 burglaries and 1 attempt in a what we thought is a secure community of 17 houses in an estate called Oakwood. To date the police, ADT and other security companies were unable to identify these criminals, their entry points or to bring them to justice.

Substantive Issues

1. Due to the safety concern I have opted to upgrade my security system with ADT and installed a beam in the backyard.
Service received from Debbie (sales person) and the installation team was excellent
2. Last week there was another incident and I requested a quote to install beams all around my home
Service received from Debbie (sales person) was excellent. Issues arisen with the booking confirmation of the installation. I paid deposit for the installation on Monday, 10 April 2017. I called between 10:30 -11:00 on 11 April 2017 requesting a status update. Lady from the technical team assured me that there is a technician scheduled for today, 12 April 2017 to address the faulty alarm and will be attending to the installation. I asked if she can give me a time, reference number or will there be confirmation sms sent – she advised that I should not worry as he has confirmed the booking. I actually rated her service after our call.
3. ADT vehicle response time
Alarm went off on 10 April 2017 at 02:50am. Armed response only arrived at the gate at 03:20 (could be later). The neighbourhood security team came to my home, patrolled and left – still no sign of ADT. Considering the recent spike in home invasion in our complex this was very disappointing.
Alarm went off on 11 April 2017 at 09:11. By 10:30 I had received no call from armed response to enter the main gate or feedback. I called ADT and requested update and lady said they had no access. This is uncorrect as access to the main gate is given if they call me at the gate and on the 1 April 2017 we purchased a pad lock to ensure ADT will have access to the yard. This is serious! I am very concerned about my safety at this point.

Conclusion

I am not satisfied with the level of service from ADT in the following departments;’

Technical support
ADT armed response

Once beam installation and final payment is concluded (by 25 April 2017) – I will have no other reason but to terminate my services with ADT. I am not receiving my monies worth and for half the price I can count on armed response in less than 3 minutes to my gate.
[email protected] Send email
 
Jan 17, 2017

Poor Service and misrepresentation

On 18/06/2016 I signed ADT an agreement with ADT in the presence of my housemate and ADT Sales person. I then asked the sales person what if I want to cancel my alarm system, what steps must I take.
She told me that I can cancel it anytime by contacting them telephonicaly or via email. She went further by saying that a technician will be sent during the week to come and activate my alarm system. No one came nor contacted me.
Technician only came out on 06/07/2016. ALMOST THREE WEEKS LATER to activate alarm system. I called in their call center to ask questions like how will they gain access to our complex since it is remote access controlled gate with no security guard. Why on the system it states that the 1st debit order is going to go through on 01/08/2016 whereas on the Agreement I signed it stated 01/09/2016.
They failed to answer me. They would transfer me to someone else and will get no joy.
I contacted them on 07/07/206 via emal to cancel the agreement because I felt that I will be paying for the service that is not rendered to me. ADT people/vehicles are not visible in my area, not random checks to check if everything is working in order.

Now they want to penalize me for early cancellation. ADT reps told me that early cancellation fee is the remaining months balance of my contract which is 36 months minus the months that I paid for already. But on the contract it states that cancellation fee is equivalent to 3 months.
theu Send email
 
Dec 29, 2016

Bad Service

The ADT radio at my premises which links to the Control room is faulty
I requested them to come and replace the radio, which is the property of ADT
They want to charge me between R500.00 and R850.00 to come out and replace THEIR faulty equipment
The actual alarm was tested by a qualified DSC technician and found to be in order.
I had an alarm and the neighbour informed me. I contacted ADT and they could not even find my details. They also refused to assist, even though I still pay for the service
They also have the audacity to deduct radio fees for a radio which is faulty
I made calls to their call centre numerous times, the refuse to assist and they also refuse to put me in contact with management
I think this really poor service, and the worst is I have to pay for this
Carmendevos Send email
 
Jul 26, 2016

House Breakin and ADT didnt do there Job

21st June events :

Alarm trigged , ADT called and I asked them to check.
Got a call back parameter check done.
My partner also called the contact center and was assured all in order.
Get home at 18h00 house indeed broken into .
I activate panic button.
25 minutes later ADT drives past my house and stops 5 houses down , I have to run to officer to show him where I live. (We live 5 minutes from ADT head office )
Officer was in such a hurry didn’t even check inside of house.
No note left the time alarm went off to say ADT was there !
We have a safety box with our keys not checked either!
Officer that they claim was there when alarm went off apparently on checked the front ! I pay ADT for full parameter checks.
The Safety gate lock was broken off and safety gate was open and visible from front so why did the officer not see that if he could as they claim get in ?

After numerous calls emails hello peter and facebook a claim was logged with ADT .

The in turn appointed a Cunningham Lindsey to investigate.

Again several calls emails and the response I get is :

OUR INVESTIGATION HAS REVEALED THAT THE INTRUDERS SPENT NO MORE THAN FOUR MINUTES INSIDE THE HOUSE.

THE CONTROL ROOM DISPATCHED AN OFFICER TO YOUR PREMISES IMMEDIATELY AFTER RECEIVING THE ALARM SIGNAL FROM THE PREMISES.

THE OFFICER ARRIVED AT YOUR PREMISES 12 MINUTES AFTER THE ALARM SIGNAL

ACCORDINGLY THE INTRUDERS HAD LONG LEFT YOUR PREMISES BY THE TIME THE OFFICER ARRIVED AND TEREFORE ADT COULD NOT PREVENT ANY LOSSES ALLEDEDLY SUFFERED BY YOU.

SO ??? ADT WILL COME WHEN THEY WANT ?
So I am saying 12 mins maybe guys was still in area and could be caught?
6 hours Later how would anyone trace them … Pathetic

I Have requested all reports of tracking and Alarm from Cunningham Lindsey and they refuse to give it to me.

I called Sandra Pillay last week for reports and was told it will be emailed.

I call Sandra again to ask for report today still no Joy. The phone gets cut and I must call and call. According to them I can’t have reports ? I am the customer I pay for a service.

So We pay ADT and they will come when they feel like it and just check the front of the house and throw their hands up in the air.


There website says : In an emergency you can be sure that should the need arise for reaction or assistance ADT will be there and key to an efficient and effective Armed Response.

Well sadly I have lost so much valuables and I have lost all faith in ADT as They Just don’t live up to all the frills on there site and in media.

I am in a contract that I have to pay so if something happens to my family ADT will just come when they please and check what they please.

Totally disgusted.
jwessels Send email
 
May 26, 2016

Alarn system

Good day,

I would like to log a complaint against ADT security. I am extremely disappointed in the service delivery. I have been paying my monthly premium and installation fee as per agreement, however my alarm system hasn't been working since end of March. I've spoken to several agents at the call centre, I've been referred to their technical desk, promises have been made that my alarm would be fixed, to-date, nothing has happened. I'm an seriously annoyed by this as I have sleepless nights, yet I pay for a service which isn't being rendered.

I would like someone to contact me with a resolution or my monies to be credited.

Angry customer.

J. Wessels
0828818394
ruwaida kader Send email
 
Feb 24, 2016

poor service

After lodging a complaint last week Tuesday, a supervisor , named Keith, called me on Wednesday with regards to the poor service I was receiving. He promised to get back to me after investigating. Today, 7 days later, I am yet to receive a call from him. So much for service delivery
ruwaida kader Send email
 
Feb 16, 2016

poor service

Takes half an hour to respond to a panic, security guys get onto property when instructed to check from the outside and cause havoc with driveway gate due to faulty device being used. As a result gate opens and closes on its own for the entire day. A call was expected from a supervisor, but it's two days now and no response.....
Help
[email protected] Send email
 
Jan 6, 2016

Incorrect billing, very bad response to alarm activation

I was incorrectly billed by ADT for the amount of R3 307. They have acknowledged this and promised to refund the money, but despite numerous calls (which have taken hours of my time) and numerous emails and promises, the money is not yet refunded.
I tried calling today but the phone to the relevant department just rings.

I have 4 different accounts with ADT - all of which are about to be cancelled - I shall find another security company more interested in servicing me.
nettosmith Send email
 
Aug 6, 2015

BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE

I AM VERY DISGUSTED WITH ADT THEY GIVE THEIR BLACK CLIENTS SUBSTANDARD SERVICE, COMPARED TO THEIR WHITE CLIENTS. EVERYBODY IN COSMO CITY IS COMPLAINING ABOUT THE LEVEL OF SERVICE THEY RECEIVE FROM ADT, I HAVE BEEN WITH ADT SINCE 2006, THIS YEAR IT WAS BROUGHT TO MY ATTENTION BY TRANSUNION THAT ADT HAS NOT BEEN UPDATING MY ITC PROFILE REGARDING THE ACCOUNT I HAVE WITH THEM, I CALLED THEM AND SEND THEM EMAIL MARCH 26 2015 SPOKE TO MR [Email Removed] HE PROMISED ME ON HIS RESPONSE HE WILL SEND MY QUERY TO THE RELEVANT DEPARTMENT, WHICH TOOK 4 DAY TO CALL AND THEY PROMISED THAT THEY SORT THIS MATTER OUT. YESTERDAY WHEN I PULLED MY CREDIT REPORT WHAT I SAW WAS APPALLING ADT LAST UPDATED MY ITC PROFILE IN SEPTEMBER 2013, WHAT ANNOYS IS THAT YESTERDAY I SEND THEM AN EMAIL COMPLAINING ABOUT THE SAME THING AND THEY DON'T EVEN HAVE THE DECENCY TO CALL ME BACK, THIS IS AFFECTING MY CREDIT PROFILE IN A VERY BAD WAY, ADT JUST DON'T CARE ABOUT THEIR BLACK CLIENTS, ALL THEY WANT IS OUR MONEY BUT THE SERVICE IS BAD TOWARDS BLACK PEOPLE.
AndreOosthuizen Send email
 
Jun 13, 2015

Bad service

Recently my alarm went off and the response to this was that everything was OK and that the security guard could not get into the premises as there is Fencing around the property.(A first for the last 10 years). I immediately contacted ADT call center to question this. After been promised by the operator that someone would contact me asap and between 7 and 8 that evening someone would come and see me and do a site inspection. At 10 o'clock that evening I contacted them again so as to inform that nobody pitched up or contacted me. Once again I was promised that they would by the next day contact me and reschedule a site visit at 5 the afternoon. By 7 o'clock nobody had phoned me or once again kept to there appointment. I phoned the emergency number again and asked to speak to a senior person. He was busy and did at least contact me a hour later. He promised to send someone out to do a inspection which did take place at about 7 that next evening. He had suggestions that I should do but said the supervisor will contact me the next day with prices and info etc. He did phone me the next day but had totally the wrong info of what was discussed the night with the officer who done inspection. I told him what we discussed and he promised he would find out and get back to me. Three days later and still nothing. However I still pay my premium and live in fear from day to day that if they break in I will be cleared out totally and ADT will stand at gate 30 meters away and say all is well. Who can I contact or speak to to solve this issue which over the last 10 years has not been a problem. I think the security guard was just lazy or to overweight to climb over the fence which is possible with little effort and that ADT has said previously is no escuse to get over.
Chadnight Send email
 
Sep 30, 2014

Response unit

Adt response unit driver keeps parking in front of our company drive way you talk to driver he gets rude with you you phone adt to complain and you complaint get put to one side and the driver dose it again and again if they can not organize there work force how can they provide a service to the public

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username