Submit a Complaint

American Van Lines

United States,
Florida

Consumer complaints and reviews about American Van Lines

User929605 Send email
 
Apr 10, 2012

Still No Items

Have you received your items?
User435727 Send email
 
Apr 9, 2012

Horrible customer service, delayed pick-up and drop-off, damage

Dear Sir/Madam,

On Behalf of the team at American Van Lines we want to extend our apologies for the troubles you underwent moving with us. We are making genuine attempts to rectify your situation as we are always working diligently to ensure that all of our customers are satisfied with our services.

Unfortunately, this has not been the case with you. We are aware that you would like to remain anonymous, however, we would like to speak with you to resolve this issue. We can resolve this pressing matter if you would kindly provide us with your job # ID. Call us at 1-800-338-9361. We are eager to work with you.

Sincerely,

Customer Relationship Manager
User926659 Send email
 
Apr 9, 2012

Horrible customer service, delayed pick-up and drop-off, damage

My experience with this company has been TERRIBLE. They do not return phone calls, especially the reps. They made up excuses for fees they couldn't explain, which changed constantly throughout conversations. Their moving company, Infinity Movers, never came when they were supposed to and American Van Lines did not care about the problems I had with either company.

My problems started when customer service could not tell me when my actual pick-up day would be. I had to call them multiple times to get a day and time which I was given the day before the supposed pick-up. Then they postponed my pick-up a day (1 day past the window). I had already moved, so I assigned a family member power of attorney. He had to call the movers to find out what time they were coming on the pick-up day, then they called later to say they would be late.

When the movers arrived, at first they did not recognize my brother-in-law as my power of attorney and then wanted $740 cash from him, which I was never told, so I hadn't provided him with the money. He had to take out money and pay the fee for me.

The movers wanted to box a floor lamp that my rep. as well as quality assurance specifically told me did not need to be boxed. The fee would have been $75 so my brother-in-law told them to leave it. They also put my suitcases in a box though I was never told they needed to be. Otherwise, I would have done it myself to avoid the fees.

The movers were supposed to drop off my boxes anywhere in the next 19 days. I had to pay extra to have my things transported to a van prior to delivery (condo community rules). I called the movers for days trying to find out which day they would arrive and what my remaining cost would be. I tried calling my rep twice because customer service was not helping me. He never answered or called me back. (I haven't heard from him since before the pick-up.) Each time I called customer service, they promised a call back the following day with this information, but they never called me. I found out the amount and delivery day the day before the estimated arrival (and the end of my drop-off window). Infinity Movers was supposed to arrive between 3:00 and 6:00pm. The community where I live does not allow movers after 6pm. After 6:00pm I tried calling customer service and dispatch, but no one answered or returned my calls. The drivers called us at 7:00pm and said they would be there in one hour. We asked if they were driving a van and they said they weren't because no one had told them that that was necessary. They said they would get a van and come back the following day (on day 20).

When they arrived the following day they were very careless with my boxes. They tossed them on the floor, piling heavy boxes onto light ones and CRUSHING them. I had labeled a few boxes, "fragile, this way up, " and some of them were unpacked up-side-down. Multiple boxes were wet and two were DESTROYED. One soggy, wet broken box was shoved into a garbage bag with empty broken cleaning bottles in it. They BROKE a few of my plates and glasses. Some of my art work was DAMAGED and my 50" plasma TV had multiple large cracks in the screen and no longer turned on. I paid $45 for them to box this TV (which they wrapped in a blanket and taped) and then they broke it anyway. Again we left a message.

Customer service called the following day to find out if we received our delivery. I told them about the damage, they apologized and then quickly told me to just submit a claim, which they emailed to me. I complained that the movers boxed things that I was told didn't need to be boxed and tried to box others, so I was not able to bring all of my things in the end. Customer service told me they would find out why the luggage was boxed (I still haven't gotten a reason) but made excuses in regards to my lamp, none of which made sense. Eventually, I just gave up.

During the last five days, American Van Lines called me two more times to find out if my stuff was delivered. Each time I asked them why they kept asking me this. Each time they said they would update my information. The second time I asked if they could give me a breakdown of my packing fees (everything that the movers had packed for me) because the actual price did not change from the estimated price though originally it was estimated that I would need many more boxes than I did (I had a friend go to my house and pack everything that I knew needed packed, other than my two TVs). The customer service agent tried to tell me that I was credited back all but $16 for the packaging fees and that that was reflected on my final bill. I told her that wasn't possible since my final bill was the same as my original quote and the weight hadn't changed. She said I didn't notice the price change because a destination fee was added and evened it out. I told her my destination did not change from my original quote and there was nothing about a destination fee or credit on my final paperwork. After a minute she went back to the same explanations so I asked her for a breakdown of all my charges. I am currently waiting for the invoice that I requested.
AVL Is SCUM Send email
 
Mar 10, 2012

Still No Items

AVL is SCUM !!!
Amber Daughters Send email
 
Mar 10, 2012

Still No Items

we were told they would come get our stuff on Sat Feb 11th then that turned into Sunday morning, then afternoon, they didnt show up till late Sunday night. We were told we would receive our things within 4 - 5 days and that the worst case scenario would be Feb 28th. Well its now March 7th and we still dont have our things. They keep giving us excuses like the weather is bad but I am not a dumb ass I checked the weather for where the truck is supposedly at and the weather is great! We were told last week that the truck had left New York, well when I spoke with the agents this Monday they said that the truck was still in New York due to bad weather which I checked and the weather is fine. So the truck has been stuck in New York for like 5 days now? They also wont give us any info on who the driver is and what truck company has our items, which they are in violation with the FMCSA, THEY ARE REQUIRED to let us know that information. We should have found this site and checked with the BBB before hiring these guys, and we wont be surprised if some of our things are stolen since thats a complaint that most people have with AVL.
AVL Customer Service Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Failure

Dear Sir/Madam,

We deeply regret to hear of your reported dissatisfaction with the level of service provided by our American Van Lines team. We would like the opportunity to address your issues and concerns but, unfortunately, with the information provided on this review we are unable to find any records of such a move with our company. If you in fact moved with us, we are requesting more information so we can have one of our moving specialists look into your move. If you provide us with your job number, full name and phone number, we will gladly do so and further assist you. You are welcome to contact our office with a proposal or in regards to this response at 1-800-338-9381. We are ready to work with you.

Sincerely,

Customer Relationship Manager
Michelle F Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

DO NOT USE AVL - WORST COMPANY EVER!

Please do not believe a word of this company's reply. They make absolutely NO attempt to please their customers or even to follow through with their basic promises of moving your furniture safely. I am going to court on Friday and assume the judge will side with me. Do not use American Van Lines!
AVOID AVL Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

lies

I filed a complaint with the FMCSA, with my fed reps., and with many, many more authorities. I filed, emailed, and called and called and called.
No one did anything!
I am sure AVL is very happy knowing no one will touch them.
But more potential customers will be much happier knowing to AVOID AVL!!
Movinghelperfor You Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

lies

Well you fell for the classic scam perpetuated upon many. YOu need to file a complaint with the FMCSA at protectyourmove.gov and also write your federal representatives. They need to make sur ehte fed does their job.
Judith H Warren Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

lies

I contacted American Van Lines for an estimate of a small shipment from Orlando to Denver. I spoke to a "Michael", that I now believe to be a generic name for anyone answering the phones.Probably the phone numbers for many different companies all go to the same office and "Michae"l answers.When I asked a number of questions, "Michael" assured me that he was not a broker and that the truck which would move my belongings would say "American Van Lines" on it. He also quoted me a price just under what it would cost me to rent a U-Haul and pay for the gas. He informed me that his company billed by cubic measurement rather than pounds. "Michael" told me that he liked to educate the public about movers who added extra pounds after the truck was loaded up and charged more money. His company was reputable. I sent him the exact measurements of each box and of each piece of furniture.The quote remained the same, and I would avoid having to find friends to pack up the truck and the long drive acrosscountry for a slightly less amount of money. Naive me! On moving day a white van showed uo with no permanent identity, just a small removable magnetic label on the cab door. After inspecting what I had to move, I was told that it would cost me another $1200. Here's the game on moving day: you have everything packed, you've sold your house (my renters were moving in that weekend) or your lease is up, you have no dishes to eat off of, no bed to sleep in, your utilites will be turned off the next day, your refrigerator is empty, and you must report to the first day of work for your new job in the immediate future. The movers know all this. It is called "the elenenth hour screw." I refused to pay. I then spoke to the rudest businessman in the world. His name was Gill Daniels from Colonial moving company in Orlando. Over the phone he slowly enunciated each word as though talking to an eight year old as he asked me "DO YOU HAVE A PENCIL AND PAPER?" He was going to give me a math lesson on how to figure cubic feet. When I told him to speak to "Michael, " he said "DO YOU SPEAK ENGLISH?" After a heated exchange, I ended up paying an additional $600 rather than $1200. I would lose a $200 deposit plus have a $400 cancellation fee charged if I cancelled Funny how that math works, isn't it? I don't know how Gill Daniels keeps his job. I next had to worry about the moving company holding my belongings on delivery day untill I paid the extra $600 dollars. I had read horror stories about that and decided that once the moving van backed up to my door, I would block it with my car and call the cops if they gave me any trouble. Luckily that didn't happen. They were, however, two weeks late on the delivery and I had to place many nasty telephone calls to "Michael." He was always conveniently in a meeting for the first few calls until I threatened a class action law suit based on the written complaints I had read of their moving company. All of a sudden they decided to answer my calls and be specific about when my belongings would arrive. The men who delivered the shipment were Armenian. They were polite and did not charge me any more money. I tipped them and thought to myself how sad it is that immigrants are more polite and more honest than the native born Americans that I had been arguing with. Maybe it's just in the moving industry.Hope this info helps you in your move.
JOIN THE FIGHT AGAINST AVL Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Fraud

Please describe in some detail for consumers the cunning lures and horrible situations you had experienced due to American Van Lines' deceptive operation.
Please tell everyone known and even unknown to you about AVL.
Thank you!
Deanna D Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Fraud

Wost bunch of crooks I have ever met. They lie to you, hold your stuff hostage and then steal your stuff and what you do happen to ever see again will be broken or damage. DO NOT USE THSES CROOKS!!! They will never call you back and will leave you on hold for ever. Do your research first!!! This company is owned and operated by Aldo & Anthony Disorbo, both of them have criminal records. Check with the Department of Transportation, BBB, Ripoff Report and any other place you can find a review on this company. Whatever you do DONT HIRE THEM!!!
Schippy51 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

THEFT

Hey AVL Customer Relationship Manager, where are you when I need you? Jessica, I know your pain. I'm going through the same thing with my mother in law right now. We moved her from Arizona to Oregon, she is staying with us until her belongings are delivered. Her home is sitting, rented, empty, waiting for some mystery truck to roll up at any minute. First it was a 3 to 4 day delivery, then another 2 days. Then nothing for a week because...AVL LOST THE TRUCK! They are now in breach of contract but if you read there conditions...that means squat. They will deliver when they choose and charge you what they choose. We have called the police, we know every customer agent assigned to our region by name, the young lady who was "assigned our case" what ever that means has a habit of not answering her phone. When she does answer, we hear the same story. "Let me look into this and I'll call you right back". We called her back 15 minutes after the last call and were told that she left for the day. Nobody within the company communicates with one another, nobody knows where my 71 year old Mother in laws belongings are, no two amount due numbers are alike, I feel like I'm in the twilight zone! Relo? One person told me they were one of the companies that contract with AVL, then I was told that Relo is a term for the type of paper work used when AVL uses a carrier other then themselves? One agent assures us we will get a refund, another a partial refund, another says "we'll have the amount due for you shortly", that was 6 days ago. Now today I hear that we will not be able to off load the truck unless we pay another $3300!?!? And really...will AVL refund that amount to us as they say they will? What do you think? This is by far the WORST choice I have ever made in my entire life, DO NOT HIRE AVL, DON'T BELIEVE ANYTHING THEY TELL YOU, DO NOT TRUST THE KIND VOICE ON THE PHONE BECAUSE ONCE THEY HAVE YOUR BELONGINGS, YOU CAN KISS THEM AND YOUR MONEY GOOD BYE.
AVL Is The BEST! Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Failure

Superior lies!
Magnificent deceptions!
Superbly misleading!
Outstanding lack of customer service!
Exceptional 100% guaranteed lack of concern for customers!
100% assured UNreliable!
Totally awesome UNprofessionalism!
Flawless move to hell!

Sincerely recommending AVL moving service to all AVL employees, their beloved families, & treasured friends!
Movinghelperfor You Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Failure

Make sure you file a complaint with the FMCSA at protectyourmove.gov
AVL, Aka, SNAFU Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Failure

You are welcome to tell your nightmare from hell on this AVL complaint site and other AVL complaint sites.
Consumers are grateful for your wonderful advice!
Please continue to tell everyone!
Disgruntled Mover Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Failure

I would not recommend American Van Lines for anyones future moves. I orriginally spoke to Don Otis who gave me a quote on a move based on a random number. The quote was around $2700 which was far less than other companies, and around the cost I could do the move myself. It interested me because I was very limited on time. Once the weight estimate sheet was done the quote was changed to around $3500, which was still within my budget, but higher than I could do myself. However, as long as it was done within my window I was ok with the price and Don assured me it would be. I gave a $1500 deposit and the day of the move, NO MOVERS?????? I could not get anyone from scheduling to return my calls and barely got Don to return them. I spoke to customer service once after 20 calls, and was passed directly to the scheduling voice mail which again noone answered. Around 4pm I was finally called to inform me they would be rescheduling my move for later, at a time I would not be available. I had to fly a person to the location at a cost of $500 just to be there the first time. A cost that was not reembursed. They did give back my deposit, and I did the move myself. Cost? $2000. Save the headache and do it yourself.
AVL Moves Customers To Hell. Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

fraud!!!!!

ps: proof must be undoubtedly established they are the REAL customers' follow-up testimonies, and not concocted by anyone else, as could be suspected!
AVL Moves Customers To Hell. Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

fraud!!!!!

I would like to read a follow-up comment from everyone who submitted a complaint and contacted Customer Relations (per recent request), that AVL / Customer Realtions actually compensated customers to the customer's satisfaction.
AVL put us all through living hell on earth...and it will be a cold day in hell if that ever happened!
SUCKER BORN EVERY MINUTE! Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

fraud!!!!!

Ok, so some may be thinking these
atrocious scenarios won't happen to them* (see ya here later?)
with this well-established, ** (says who? AVL?)
dependable, *** (re-read the testimonials)
professional**** (BBB rates F)
moving service. ***** (nope! Broker "service"?)

THINK AGAIN because that SHOUTS to us who experienced AVL HELL that you are already believing FIVE FALACIES!!!
AVL CONSUMER AWARENESS Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

fraud!!!!!

When that sales rep. gives you a surprising low rate, if you are smart, you will hang up immediately!
If you continue to listen, believe his marvelously sugar-coated deceits that are prepared to give you solid assurance, and sign the contract, YOU WILL FIND YOURSELF:
- paying an additional amount of his quote before you move (for broker fees, which he does not reveal)
- anxiously wondering where is the scheduled moving van,
- calling Customer Service and AVL supervisors numerous times and not get any answers or help,
- surprisingly learning some "minor" facts that your sales rep. conveniently neglected to inform you, which is you will also be paying double or plenty more in excess IN ADDITION TO YOUR QUOTES FOR A TRANSPORTING COMPANY THROUGH AVL. Showing up and delivering is when they get there.
- learning the alternate predicament when you will have to pay additional money for your belongings before they are unloaded, or retrieve them out of storage for an exhorbitant fee.

You will find yourself:
- calling Customer Service with no desireable satisfaction,
- calling lawyers to no avail.
AVL will tell you that YOU misunderstood the contract.
AVL Customer Service Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

THEFT

Dear Jessica,

We apologize for letting you down during your moving venture. We are glad to take this opportunity to further assist you, however, we cannot find your job number in our system. We will need a little bit more information before we can resolve the matter.

Please contact us at 1-855-820-6916 as soon as you are able and we will promptly assist you. American Van Lines wants to rectify the inconveniences caused to you and your young family. Thank you for your review.

Sincerely,
AVL Customer Relationship Manager
Jessica Barbuto Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

THEFT

Moving is one of the most stressful things, you put your trust into complete strangers and hope that they live up to their company's name and treat other people's life belongings as if they were their own. I called this company for me and my 2 toddler daughter's big move from Miami, FL to New York without knowing that my 1500 dollar move will end up in a lost of over 5, oo0+ dollars and depression. Being a single mother of 2 little girls i wanted a better life so i decided to relocate. Our entire lives were placed in a warehouse for a Month, it was picked up a week before our move so we will have it upon our arrival, instead we got NO calls for an entire Month, i had to call weekly to know what the status was on my delivery. When finally a Month passed and my stuff arrived, i was told by the driver that one box was not delivered and left at the warehouse due to the claim that something had spilled in the box, only to find out it was the box with my kids' gaming devices, $2, 000 worth of devices, ipods and games for the PSP, Nintendo DSI and New Nintendo 3D my oldest got for her birthday the month before the move. Not to mention all my furniture was damaged, it looked as if my belongings i worked all my life for were involved in and earthquake...treated WITH NO CARE! I was told by John the driver that i had 30 days to claim my property (the box) so when i called the next day i was told per the CSR rep that the warehouse manager "threw the box away" Who gave him the right to throw my property away damaged or not? As a result, i filed a complaint on their website according to their process and have yet to get a call back...it is a daily struggle and a very sad situation especially knowing that i am unable to replace those things my kids loved most. I am reporting this company to the BBB as well as filing a police report, very rude and UNPROFESSIONAL people working there and i will do EVERYTHING in my power to make sure the public knows about this. DO NOT let it happen to you and your family. They simply DO NOT CARE.

-Jessica Barbuto
AVL Customer Service Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Review

Dear American Van Lines Customer:

We are very sorry to hear that you are dissatisfied with our services. We apologize for the inconveniences caused to you and your family. We understand your disappointment and would like an opportunity to rectify the problematic situations and work with you until you are as satisfied as possible. Thank you for bringing issues to our attention.

In order to further assist you, we will need some basic information to look up your job number in our system and work with you to create a mutual resolution. Please contact us whenever you are free at 1-855-820-6916. We look forward to further assisting you.

Thank you,
AVL Customer Relationship Manager
Brittskee27 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Review

To say we were dissatisfied with their services is a vast understatement. This company is HORRIBLE. First, they called us the week of our move and doubled the estimate they'd originally given us, putting us in financial hardship with no option to hire another company because of the late date. Then, on the day of our move they attempted to charge us for a shuttle service to move our things from storage to the moving van when they were clearly told exactly how large our storage facility was ahead of time. Lastly - and by far the worst part - their driver continually told us he would arrive on a certain date and then called each of those days to say he would arrive a day later. We will move ourselves next time and are disgusted by their complete lack of customer service. Do not hire this company for your move.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username