Submit a Complaint

American Van Lines

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about American Van Lines

User435727 Send email
 
Apr 2, 2012

Failed Contract

American Van Lines regrets to hear of your dissatisfaction with the services provided for your recent relocation. We wish we could change such an unpleasant experience, however, we would definitely like the opportunity to resolve your existing issues. We cannot locate your move with the information you have provided. If you are indeed a customer, we are aware that you would like to remain anonymous, however, we would like to speak with you to resolve this issue. We urge you to contact our office to discuss your concerns as soon as possible as we always like to ensure that our customers are satisfied with our services. Please call and provide your name and job number so we can better assist you with your issues. Call us at 1-800-338-9361. Our team is eager to work with you.

Thank you.

Sincerely,


Customer Relationship Manager
American Van Lines
User924209 Send email
 
Mar 27, 2012

Failed Contract

I am experiencing the exact same situation. They were scheduled to pick up 3/25-26 and as of this afternoon still no truck has been hired. I'm on board to file any formal complaints
User923982 Send email
 
Mar 26, 2012

Failed Contract

I am still VERY ANGRY, and I am MORE than prepared to be part of a NATIONWIDE, CLASS-ACTION LAWSUIT AGAINST AVL!!!

If there is an assertive, intelligent attorney out there who is interested in making a powerful reputation for himself / herself, please make contact to us massive AVL victims ASAP!
User923553 Send email
 
Mar 26, 2012

Failed Contract

I hired American Van Lines a month before I needed to move. I needed to move Friday March 23rd they wrote in their contract it would be the 23 or 24th. Today is the 26th and what they are telling me is that they are still trying to hire a truck. Every day that I sit here is costing me 100s of dollars. In addition to not having movers the company will not return my phone calls. I have left dozens of messages and several emails and still nothing. when I finally got a hold of someone in customer service they gave me a shrugged shoulder reply "we are just doing the best we can" How is this their best?? When I asked for a refund they said I could talk to their cancellation department and start processing this request. I have never been so angry! I never in my life imagined a company could handle someones very stressful situation with such disregard. I think American Van Lines is PURE EVIL!!!
AVL Customer Service Send email
 
Mar 13, 2012

horrible service

We feel our customers deserve the best possible services and we like to ensure all our customers are satisfied with the services provided. Our office has reviewed your online posting and will definitely seek to address your concerns. We would definitely would like to provide clarity in reference to the agreement made between you our valued customer and American Van Lines.

As it relates to the total cost of the move, we always encourage our customers to relay all items to be transported in detail and the logistics of the area to be serviced to our representatives in order to provide the most accurate estimate of service charges. Providing that this is relayed, a binding not to exceed estimate is supplied based on these items as well as the services to be performed. However, if additional services are provided at the time of pick up or delivery that were not apart of the original contract or if the actual weight is more than estimated, the customer is responsible for these additional charges. This is explained in the terms of agreement provided to for review at the time of booking. Once the driver arrives to load your house hold goods if he states based upon visuals that your shipment will be more than initially estimated, he can provide you with a revised written estimate of the increase in weight he foresees. You will still be charged based on the actual weight of the shipment once it is weighed. According to your account, you paid less than initially estimated due to less weight. Included in the paperwork to be signed at the time of pick up is the bill of Lading which reflects insurance options for the household goods to be selected for transport. Our company offers full replacement valuation insurance and standard limited liability valued at $0.60/lb per article in case of any damaged or missing property. No additional cost is required when selecting insurance options. The paperwork received at the time also explains full replacement insurance is available upon request which has to be applied 72 hours prior to the execution of the move.

While moving is stressful, sometime issues may arise to prevent a successful move. Unfortunately, due to unforeseen circumstances we were unable to perform as anticipated Our customers are encouraged to file a claim upon completion of their move in the event of any arising issues occurring during their relocation process. Our records indicate that necessary documentation to initiate your claims process for the damages incurred has been sent, however, there is not indication that a completed claim form has been submitted. You have up t o 9 months after your move has been completed to submit your claim and we urge you to do so as soon as possible in order to address your concerns.

Our team at American Van Lines would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any frustrations that this may have caused. Your business is greatly appreciated and we will remain hopeful that American Van Lines will be among your considerations if relocation ever presents itself in your future endeavors. We appreciate your feedback as we are currently making efforts to improve our company in entirety. You are more than welcome to contact us with any issues or concerns you may have at 1-800-338-9361. Our Team is at your disposal.

Thank you

Sincerely,

Customer Relationship Manager
American Van Lines
AVL Customer Service Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Fraud

Dear Sir/Madam,

On Behalf of the team at American Van Lines we want to extend our apologies for the troubles you underwent moving with us. We are making genuine attempts to rectify your situation as we are always working diligently to ensure that all of our customers are satisfied with our services.

Unfortunately, this has not been the case with you. Our team values our employees and our customers and we are concerned that you do not feel appreciated. We are aware that you would like to remain anonymous, however, we would like to speak with you in regards to your disputes. We can resolve this pressing matter if you would kindly provide us with your job # ID. Call us at 1-800-338-9361 and we will handle your case.

Sincerely,

Customer Relationship Manager
Movinghelper Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Fraud

You shoudl read this link and notify your representative
http://commerce.senate.gov/public/index.cfm?p=PressReleases&ContentRecord_id=35f972b1-3531-440c-84f7-3acaeeca23cb
Neil In NJ Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Fraud

This company is based out of Florida and makes on line estimates and over the phone estimates on moving costs. They are a total fraud. They gave me a quote. I live in NJ. When they showed up, they started demanding several hundred more dollars before they started. I told them that I would not use them. They became aggressive and I became worried. I had to tell them I was going to call the police before they would leave. It has been 2 years and the company is still hounding me. They have sent this to a credit agency and have been trying to ruin my credit. Read their fine print. There is alot of it. You cannot sue them outside of Florida. My suggestion, use a moving company that gives you a fixed price or someone who will come to your house and give you an estimate on the move.
Chris Frank Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

MISLEADING! PLEASE TAKE HEED!

This company is a rip off. Their contract is a scam. They told us they would show by 9 am but we never heard from them. At 2 in the afternoon we hired a different company. Two hours later, after we raised hell asking for our deposite back, they called saying they were on. The way. Very clever, because in the contract they say they can show up within 24 hours of the time specified. So by them calling ten housr later, they could keep their deposit, because they claim we were the one who canceled. Never mind that we had to be out of the house by 4 pm. They are rude scumbag rip offs. Never ever trust theses people.
Pass The Word! Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

WORST EXPERIENCE - DO NOT USE

Lawyer? If you want to travel to the city/county/state where the SCAM AVL branch operation is located for a civil lawsuit (as stated on the contract)...and hire/pay a lawyer in that area...and pay for your travel & hotel expenses...and will accept being awarded much less than your items are worth (that is, IF you win)...well...???
AVL scoffs at lawyers. But AVL FEARS CLASS-ACTION LAWSUITS!

NOTE: report AVL to the BBB, & be ready for more lies from AVL.
Be determined, stick to your facts, and AVL will get another strike.
That's it!
Movinghelperfor You Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

WORST EXPERIENCE - DO NOT USE

You have the right by law to request a reweigh at destination. I suggest you do it. This way you will know that you will not be overcharged. After unloading you should go see the light weight and verify it by viewing both. You should be there when they weigh the items. Your first mistake was paying a deposit. This is the first sign of a scam. You should go to http://www.protectyourmove.gov and read up on your rights and responsibilities. You can also file a complaint with the FMCSA here. Was it an American Van Line truck or did they subcontract it out., Did they tell you they were also a broker. If you need further assistance I suggest you go to movingscam.dotcom and ask some of the volunteers there I
Stephb0625 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

WORST EXPERIENCE - DO NOT USE

WORST MOVING EXPERIENCE - DO NOT USE. I scheduled a move from California to Michigan. My sales/moving coordinator is Bobby Diaz. When I first called he quoted a price $300 lower than the actual contract that was sent. He then becomes conveniently unavailable once the moving disaster begins. My furniture was picked-up in CA on Saturday November 12th (which was a coordination nightmare). The dispatchers were rude and the movers showed up 9 hours late. Although irritating, I was still keeping positive about them. It's now Saturday December 3rd and I've yet to recieve my furniture. It was supposed to be delivered no later then Saturday November 26th. I've called everyday, when someone does answer they're horribly rude and not helpful. They tell me they don't know when my furntiture is going to arrive, because the driver doesn't have a phone so they can't get in contact with him! Then they tell me he'll be here on Friday December 2nd, so I take the day off from work and he doesn't show. I call the customer service department and they are unapologetic and don't know anything. They tell me "maybe he fell asleep". However, they do know that the driver "forgot" to weigh my furniture when it was picked up in CA, so if he should ever drop it off, I'll be charged the full estimate (even though they promised they'd call me 48 hours in advance of the delivery date with the actual weight and remaining amount due). It's now Saturday December 3rd and I still haven't seen my furniture. I called again this morning and they still haven't spoken with the driver, they have no idea where he's at and told me just to keep waiting at my new place for as long as it takes! UNBELIEVABLE! They will be hearing from a lawyer.
AVL, Aka, SNAFU Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

horrible service

Thank you for sharing your nightmare in hell because of AVL.
Consumers are grateful to you!
You are welcome to tell the same on other AVL customer complaint sites.
Yes, please continue to tell everyone you know and don't know.
Macy M Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

horrible service

I hired american van lines to move me from Miami, Fl to Phoenix, Arizona. I was quoted about 1700.00 and some change and was told (and it sounded like) they provided the best, fastest service around, plus the price was the most affordable I had been quoted. I quoted with other moving companies as well as PODS and renting a truck and moving myself. WHAT A NIGHTMARE. They arrived at my apartment and quickly wanted me to sign up for insurance (another couple of hundred) because them moving your belongings doesn't mean they will be careful and take care of your precious items, THEY DON'T GIVE A CRAP. Not only did they not tell me about that "additional" insurance, they almost took a month to deliver my items (they picked them up on the 10th of Sept and I received my belongings early last week). When my items were delivered, a lamp I had, which I bought at ARANGO in Miami, Fl and it cost me 250.00 was broken, an hour glass piece that I owned that was over 13 years old was broken.. the boxes were all mangled and they handled them very roughly. AWFUL company, AWFUL service. NEVER AGAIN. I will make sure EVERYONE I know knows about the horror's of hiring american van lines.
AVL, Aka, SNAFU Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Customer service

Danni6676, you are welcome to finish telling your nightmare in hell on this AVL complaint site and other AVL complaint sites.
AVL Customer Service Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Customer service

Dear American Van Lines Customer,

We apologize for the issue you are currently facing with our team. Your review is very important to us. Please call 855-820-6916 to provide your basic information and we will promptly look up your job number and answer your questions.

Again, sorry for the delayed contact. Please call us and we will provide you with the quality service you expect and deserve.

Thank you for your time.

Sincerely,
Customer Relationship Manager
Dani6676 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Customer service

Can not get a straight answer or even a call back for that matter. Picked up our stuff five days and no one can tell us where it is or when it will be delivered. Getting very angry...will call every 20 minutes until they get sick of me...
AVL Customer Service Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Misleading service

Dear American Van Lines Customer,

We apologize for disappointing you after you trusted us to service your move. We are deeply sorry for failing to accommodate your needs. Please allow us to communicate with you to reach a resolution. We understand your frustration and we would like to make you as satisfied as possible. Call us at 1-855-820-6916 to disclose your basic information and we will further assist you.

Thank you for your review and we hope to work with you soon.

Best Regards,
AVL Customer Relationship Manager
Drseuss0707 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Misleading service

Last week i scheduled a move with Don Otis of American Van lines to have a pickup in Greenville, SC and drop off at Richmond, VA and Midlothian, VA. This move was taking place on Friday, March 18th and was dropping off on Saturday, March 19th. I was advised by Don that the movers would take care of any disassembling and reassembling of any items needed.
I recieved a call that the movers would be in the area around 5pm, the call was from a lady representing Best Moving group. The first problem is i was NEVER advised that we were going to be using a sister company during this process. The second problem is the drive from Greenville, SC to Richmond, VA is only 6 hours. If the stuff was picked up Friday morning around 10-10:30 how did it take that long to get to Richmond, VA? The company advised us that the cost went up due to packing the items ( I later found out that additonal items were put on the truck and thats what the price up, why was this not mentioned in the call?).
The movers arrived in Richmond, VA at 6:45pm ( in a unmarked truck with no business name) and began bringing the items for that location. 1 of the items was a couch which the mover said he could not get up the outside steps and in order to get inside would have to disassemble the actual couch. Once brought up he said he would be able to reassemble and advised of the process...are you serious??? we were told this would be a handled situation!!! The entertainment stand was not put together as well.
They did leave Richmond and arrive at Midlothian and dropped off the necessary items and then stated that one of the other movers had the reciept and to call the main number to have it e-mailed to me. This was a very dissapointing and unprofessional move and i am doing everything I can to report it. I have just discovered a site called movingscams.com and I am about to to report this incident.
AVL Customer Service Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Overcharges, Breaks things, Horrible Customer Service

Dear Leah,

We are very sorry to hear about your unpleasant moving experience with our team. Please accept our apologies for the damage and delay. We hope that we still have time to rectify the issues for you and work towards a mutual resolution.

American Van Lines appreciates your review. Please give us an opportunity to speak with you about the issues that arose during your move. All we ask for is your basic information so we can look up your job number. You can reach us at 1-855-820-6916. Thank you for your time.

Sincerely,
AVL Customer Relationship Manager
LeahGA Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Overcharges, Breaks things, Horrible Customer Service

I have to say that I am extremely disappointed with the way our move was handled. I've waited a couple weeks to write this to allow myself to calm down from the anger and disappointment that I felt after our moving experience. You see, it wasn't as if only one thing went wrong - everything went wrong. Honestly if the situation hadn't been happening to me, I might have found it comical just how horrible it went. I've used professional movers twice previously (both times United Van Lines, who you can be sure I will return to for future moves) and have never experienced such poor service, unprofessional behavior, and extreme lack of coutesy as I did with American Van Lines. I've outlined my concerns and the problems I experienced below as I sincerely hope that you take action to prevent this type of experience from happening to any of your customers in the future.


Pick-Up

Movers arrived early morning on day 2 (they called the previous day to say that the packing and loading of the truck would only take 1 day) and movers remained at the house until nearly midnight

Movers arrived without packing materials (no paper of any sort), so they used magazines, napkins, papertowels, etc that they found around my house (when my husband asked if he could go buy them some brown packing paper, they told him it wasn't necessary)

Only 2 movers were on site including the driver, who wore sandals and did not do any loading of the truck except for some heavy furniture

Movers were not careful with any of our belongings or the house - they dropped a mattress outside and broke a large potted plant vase

Mattresses were not wrapped or packed in anything so arrived at the new house covered in dirt

No protective flooring material or banister protectors were used - despite what your website claims

A large statue was thrown in the back of the truck with no box or protection - big surprise that it arrived broken at the new house (driver did pay for this out of his pocket)

When looking in the back of the truck, it looked like a bunch of college kids were moving as so many items were not packed in boxes or protected in any way and were haphazardly thrown in the truck.

The movers took at least 2 smoke breaks every hour may have been why it took them so long.

The truck they were using was leaking so much oil that they used boxes to line the road under the truck.

They left obvious stuff in the house like the vacuum cleaner they had taken everything else out of the closet except that.

In Transit

Our belongings were to be stored until our new home was ready for move-in on August 20, but on August 5, we found out that we could move in on August 13, so we attempted to contact the movers (PS Movers) to change our move-in date. We called them immediately and on that date, we were told that their scheduler would get back to us shortly if they could accommodate the earlier move-in date. When we got no call back we began calling daily and leaving messages but were unable to get a hold of them again until August 11. On that date, we were told that their scheduler would get back to us shortly if they could accommodate the earlier move-in date. Later that day, we received a call that said they would be able to do the earlier move-in date and that they would call back to confirm but they never did. Late on August 12, we received a call that they would not be there on August 13 but would be there first thing in the morning on August 14. We received a call at 2 pm on August 14 saying that the driver was on his way and would be there by 4:30 pm. As my husband had to work that evening, we made arrangements for the move to occur at 7 am on August 15 instead.

On the morning of August 14, while we waited at the new home, we received a call from one of the representatives from American Van Lines with our total amount due statement, which turned out to be 50% higher than the original estimate. My husband questioned the new amount as your website promises that the final amount due would not exceed the quote, but the representative said you have no such policy and that the estimate is purely an estimate.

During the time from August 3 August 11 when we were trying to reach PS Movers, we called our original sales representative to see if he could help us get in touch with PS Movers, but we were told that he no longer had our file and that we would need to talk to PS Movers directly. Glad to see that he was serving as our single point of contact for our move as your website promises.

Move-In Day

No floor protection was used so our new carpets and hardwood floors were covered with black dirt, footprints, and dark dolley lines after the move was complete. I have pictures if you would like to see.

3 movers showed up this time including the driver although again the driver did little else than supervise the other movers.

The boxes did not have clear markings on them to designate where they came from so it was difficult to direct movers as to where to put boxes. Those that did have markings had MK (apparently master closet), GB (although we had 2 rooms packed into boxes with this label), or M (for master). Our kitchen and living room did not apparently have labels.

All boxes, even fragile ones, were loaded onto a dolley that was yanked up several concrete stairs to get to the house I am truly amazed at how little broke, but I think it was more luck than purposeful.

The glass top of a desk (that had not been wrapped at all) was completely shattered in the truck.

At least 1 handle is now missing from every set of drawers we have and the movers were unable to locate them in the truck.

The mover lost the screws to the bed so had to go to Home Depot to buy more.

The driver gave us $300 out of pocket and promised to send a check (that we have yet to receive) for the remainder of the items his crew broke.

Im sure Im forgetting some of the atrocities that we experienced during this move, but you should get the picture from the above. Overall, it was very disheartening to have our move handled by PS Movers as your website claims Unlike out of state moving companies that may contract individuals to relocate you, all of our long distance movers are full-time American Van Lines employees. If this was really the case, why did PS Movers not have an American Van Lines truck? And why did the American Van Lines customer service representative say that he no longer had our file?
AVL Customer Service Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

MISLEADING! PLEASE TAKE HEED!

Dear Sir/Madam,

We are very sorry to hear of your stressful moving experience. Our team apologizes for not delivering the comprehensive service you expected and deserve. Please accept our request to work with you to resolve this issue and gain your satisfaction. We will need more information about your move in order to investigate.

Contact us at 1-855-820-6916 and we will further assist you. Thank you for your review.

Sincerely,
AVL Customer Relationship Manager
Wiser Consumer Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

MISLEADING! PLEASE TAKE HEED!

AmericaN Van Lines lead us to believe they are the ACTUAL MOVERS! AmericaN Van Lines are ACTUALLY JUST BROKERS, WHO DID NOT CARE LESS >AFTER< OUR CONTRACT WAS SIGNED!! >AmericaN Van Lines was INSTRUMENTAL IN TURNING OUR JOYFUL ANTICIPATION FOR OUR RETIREMENT MOVE INTO HELL ON EARTH!<

From PA to FL - BEFORE signing the contract: "Jonathan, " an AmericaN Van Lines Sales Rep in Ft. Lauderdale, FL, gave us a low quote of $1, 800; and said when the truck is weighed, it might be just a little more. If the weight is less, we would be re-imbursed. He lead us to believe that our items would be picked up by their tractor-trailer*. (more below)
We questioned the Sales Rep about such concerns as to why AmericaN Van Lines has such TERRIBLE CONSUMER COMPLAINTS on websites. He had what seemed to be an acceptable answer for that, and for every other reasonable, delving question we asked. He gave us a LOT of assurance about AVL's entire moving protocol.
The Sales Rep questioned us about our distance from >>PHILA. and BETHLEHEM, PA.<< Then he "checked" something, and our moving date was focused on the availability of an "AmericaN Van Lines" TRACTOR-TRAILER passing thru our area. We signed the contract, and paid what we owed in full, which included extra payment for AVL to pack some of our electronic items.

AFTER signing the contract & paying, another AmericaN Lines Rep called to tell us we OWED approximately $1, 000 MORE...(despite our choice to eliminate some heavier items). We paid. NOTE: there was NO truck weight at this time.
Having continuing conversations with the Sales Rep, he was FULLY AWARE that we had contacted our local police, who agreed to block off some streets to ACCOMMODATE THE TRACTOR-TRAILER*
We made confirmed, FULLY-paid, NON-refundable travel plans for the day after our expected move, which was well over $2, 000. The Sales Rep was FULLY AWARE of our plans.

"MOVING DAY"... with an AVL CONFIRMED pick-up date via e-mail & verbally, a tractor-trailer NEVER arrived! Instead, AVL had SUB-CONTRACTED a small u-haul co. truck out of BETHLEHEM, PA, which was 3/4 filled with another person's items. They could NOT take our items, & they departed. Only having our cell phone for communication, we called AVL. For 6 AGONIZING HOURS, we BEGGED "Marie, " "Ed, " "Leon, " & Customer Service to send another truck. >>>Non-chalantly, they ALL REPEATEDLY KEPT SAYING there was NOTHING they could do!<<< And they often kept us on hold for indefinitely! Our cell phone was running out of minutes. Since we had a CONTRACT, we persisted until 9 p.m. We then tried to get another mover, but it was too late.

Due to AVL's care-less attitude, we then had to deal with MANY DISASTERS -with one being VERY CRITICAL- that happend between 9 pm, and the time we had to continue with our travel plans the next early a.m.
Our home was up for sale and had to be emptied for carpet layers scheduled for the following day and for a showing the following Monday.
At this point, WE HAD NO IDEA WHAT WAS GOING TO HAPPEN!

OVER a week later, AmericaN Van Lines CHOSE to sub-contracte a small moving co. out of PHILADELPHIA (<<Unkonwn to us). No one was at our former home to supervise the move. There was loss, damage, and they ABANDONED some items. They packed & charged us for items that we were leaving for the new potential Buyers. And we had to pay this company over $2, 000 MORE!
An AVL supvr., "Samuel" told us that if we want our abandoned items, we would have to pay MORE money to AVL!!!

NOTE: AVL's complaint dept. sent a letter to us that totally directs the blame- for what "may" have happened- on the Phila. movers. The letter also indicates that we chose those movers!!!

The tangled problems we had to deal with, which was prompted by AmericaN Van Lines "TACTICS" and IRRESPONSIBILITY, continued for us MONTHS thereafter. The stress is UNBEARABLE!
AVL Customer Service Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

No Truck

Dear American Van Lines Customer,

Our team apologizes for not meeting your expectations during your move. We would like to clarify a few things for you and look up your job number for an update. Please contact us at 1-855-820-6916 and we will promptly assist you further.

Thank you for your time and we look forward to communicating with you.

Sincerely,
AVL Customer Relationship Manager
Husker18 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

No Truck

Worst company ever for anything.
Contracted a month in advance and paid ahead to coordianate move.
They did not bring American Van Lines truck to your house. They try and find some other carrier.
They forgot about my order and there was no truck, and then lied that they couldnt find a truck.
They are a trucking company. Go out in the parking lot and get a truck.
They had a month notice.
Do not recommend.
Worst experience ever.
Don't worry, because they offer this: I'm sorry.
That always helps.
I hope they go out of business

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username