Submit a Complaint

Archives.com

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Archives.com

ewei Send email
 
Apr 1, 2021

Cancellation scam

Archives.com offers a free trial membership then makes it impossible to cancel to avoid getting charged. The website cancellation link is dead, the website phone number leads to a sex talk line, and the phone number I found via web search indicates minimum 15 minute hold.

Cancellation scam

Cadibell Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Simple low class scam by losers who depend on the user not reading the terms and conditions

I cancelled my membership a few hours after the 7th day and it was all down hill from there. I was billed 37 bucks first then when I put 80 bucks in my debit, they took all of it within a few hours and now all I have is 39 cents left...and they could't even find anybody for me. This was a total waste
JustMike Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Scam -- call cust svc @ 1-888-896-4442

Kelli B, glad you were able to reach a human being and cancel. You nailed it when you wrote - "When it is this difficult to cancel, something is wrong."

I'd suggest keeping the cancellation email for a long time and watching your credit card charges online like a hawk. Archives is a disreputable outfit and, judging from the numerous complaints, they'll miss no opportunity to slam your plastic. I'm sure I'm not telling you anything you don't already know.
JustMike Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Scam -- call cust svc @ 1-888-896-4442

"Hi JustMike, we're glad our customer service team was able to help you over the phone. The free trial includes access to our 260+ records collections. Members (including those in the trial period) also have the option to order hard-copy certificates and other special products (like DNA tests or discounted NewspaperARCHIVE memberships) at an additional cost. We hope to ensure our customers' full satisfaction, and we are happy to issue a refund when a customer is not satisfied with our products. If we can be of further assistance, please contact us at that number (1-888-896-4442) or at [email protected] Sincerely, Chelsea-Archives."

Chelsea, Chelsea, Chelsea... please give it a rest. But, thank you, I require no “further assistance” as I have successfully canceled my trial membership.

If you truly “hope to ensure our customers' full satisfaction, and we are happy to issue a refund when a customer is not satisfied with our products.” then fix your damned website. It would be a snap to put a customer support link at the top of the page and include the phone number on the customer service page somewhere near the image of the ditzy blonde. Here's your customer service page and it's still the same old same old, isn't it?

http://www.archives.com/contact-us

But websites that offer 'free trials' fall in one of two categories:

- Some that have faith in their service and know that a fair share of new customers will continue the service at the end of the trial period, or...

- Those that hope new customers will fail to cancel before the end of the trial period for one reason or another and the website will be able to slam the customer's credit card.

Sadly, your outfit falls in the latter category. You deliberately make it difficult to cancel, hoping that the process will take too long for the customer to contest the charges on their credit card. Shame on you, Chelsea. If anyone will take the time to Google "Archives.com" they'll find an abundance of complaints and the pattern is all too familiar, isn't it? Missing emails, slammed credit cards, zero customers service, etc. Worse yet, I could not find a single positive review of your service. Yes, I did notice your futile attempt at damage control...

As for the customer service 'ticket numbers' and (supposedly) lost emails, that's a load of crap. The entire registration, payment and – if necessary – cancellation/email process is easily **automated**. Cancellation and the subsequent confirmation email should be entirely automatic and require zero input from some minimum wage representative. It is not rocket science so, please, tell your boss to get a clue.
Kelli B Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Scam -- call cust svc @ 1-888-896-4442

Thanks Justmike, this really helped me. I agree with everything you said. The email address I signed up with was not recognized when I tried to cancel, the system archives.com set up for correspondence would not load properly (therefore would not send), and I saw no hope of reaching anyone until I saw this post. When it is this difficult to cancel, something is wrong.

I called the number you provided (thank you) and got a human who said he would cancel me (no charge).
Chelsea-Archives.com Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Scam -- call cust svc @ 1-888-896-4442

Hi JustMike, we're glad our customer service team was able to help you over the phone. The free trial includes access to our 260+ records collections. Members (including those in the trial period) also have the option to order hard-copy certificates and other special products (like DNA tests or discounted NewspaperARCHIVE memberships) at an additional cost. We hope to ensure our customers' full satisfaction, and we are happy to issue a refund when a customer is not satisfied with our products. If we can be of further assistance, please contact us at that number (1-888-896-4442) or at [email protected] Sincerely, Chelsea-Archives.
TheresaM Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Charged my account after i cancelled subscription

They did the exact same thing to me except they charged me $59.88 after cancelling and removing billing information from the account. They had absolutely nothing useful to me, whatsoever.
JustMike Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Scam -- call cust svc @ 1-888-896-4442

Wow! Looks like The Fact Police, Ramelle & Ragon (aka smegma breath) decided to hold Moron Fest 2011 on this thread. It never dawned on me that -- as welfare recipients -- they had no credit cards and therefore might be unfamiliar with anything requiring plastic.

Please continue the festivities and you may have the last word. C-ya.

;^)
JustMike Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Scam -- call cust svc @ 1-888-896-4442

http://www.archives.com/member/Default.aspx

Please have someone show you how to follow the link above and see if y9u can find Aboutus or the phone @ from withing the site.

Does the full moon bring out the trolls? Is Weed that boring? I realize that you've never enrolled and clearly you haven't read the terms & conditions. The words "cancel, " and "cancellation policy" are not mentioned anywhere on the website.

Sorry to know your significant other.
Ramelle Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Scam -- call cust svc @ 1-888-896-4442

The cancellation policy is in the terms and conditions that shoyld have been read before agreeing to the free trial. "About us" is available to anyone, member or no, by clicking on the site, and how dare you call Lovey a company shill!
JustMike Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Scam -- call cust svc @ 1-888-896-4442

Clearly you've never been a member of Archives and you appear to be shilling for them. I'm typing this slowly so everyone can read it, but:

- "Aboutus" and the ph # are **nowhere** to be found... once someone enrolls.

- Any reference to customer service, complaints, questions leaves one with two options -- email or snail mail.

- One might assume that the **customer service** ph # would be listed on the **customer service** page, but it is conspicuous in its absence. Oddly enough, the customer service page is graced by a smiling young blond wearing a headset. I wonder who she is talking to...

- If a person was a tad skeptical, they could almost assume that the lack of ph # was **deliberate** and that sets the stage for mysteriously "lost emails" and the total lack of response.

- No contact + no cancellation email = credit cards slammed for $39.95 + little recourse for the screwed consumer who will not be able to convince the credit card company that they cancelled...

Read the other complaints to discern the pattern and, by all means, please sign up for the 'service.'


:
JustMike Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Scam -- call cust svc @ 1-888-896-4442

I've noted the other complaints about Archives.com slamming credit cards, event though people **attempt** to cancel their trial membership. In my case, I tried to cancel the trial and received no reply. I made two more attempts to cancell and was still able to log in. Note that there is no phone number listed for customer service so you are at the mercy of their failed email response system.

Fearing the credit card slam, I located this number (1-888-896-4442) which is listed in the "Aboutus" section of their site if you can find it... I contacted them and (finally) they sent an email confirming my cancellation.

Note, If you order **any** "certificates" or other services during your trial period, you will be charged.

I should have checked this website before ever starting the trial membership.

Caveat emptor...
Queen V Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Simple low class scam by losers who depend on the user not reading the terms and conditions

If they charge after seven das, why did it take them 2 months to charge me. I recevied a message immediately stating that they culd not validate my account., now I have a 39.95 charge. I informed my bank that the charges were unauthorized and asked for a refund. I have the email from them to prove that's what they told me.
Justole Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Simple low class scam by losers who depend on the user not reading the terms and conditions

First, they say FREE. So why does FREE require a credit Card? Next, they TRICK you into going through several steps/screens and then bam: no results unless you give them credit card information to see the results of the FREE query. Simple low class scam by losers who depend on the user not reading the terms and conditions and failing to CANCE the Service... these folds are depending on ripping off unsuspecting folks...
SEMH Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

scam

I agree it is a Scam. I got hooked into a free trial as well; once I learned that very day that the information they said they had was not there I cancelled. I got a confirmation that the account was cancelled. They charged my credit card anyway. When I called to complain they said that I had not cancelled. I insisted I had. They said they would then cancel it so I would not be charged again. They refused to refund my money. They have a face book page. I suggest you take your stories to their wall. This organization is a scam flat out.
Kakepo Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

scam

I did the 7 day free trial. On the 6th day I cancelled. They still charged me for 1 yr. I have called my credit card company to get it taken off and to block them. I should have looked at your complaint board first. This is about looking for your heritage and they take advantage. DON'T USE THIS SERVICE. Can't find on the site how to e-mail them???
Chelsea-Archives.com Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

I will never use their services again

Hi Baptene, we apologize that you did not receive the renewal notification. These are typically sent to all customers before renewal billing. We try to ensure maximum email deliverability, and are sorry for any inconvenience. When you sign-up, your Archives.com membership automatically renews annually so you do not experience an interruption in service. You can cancel anytime online to prevent future billing and still retain access until the end of the year period. If we can be of further assistance please contact our friendly customer support team at [email protected] or 1-888-896-4442. Sincerely, Chelsea - Archives.com
Baptene Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

I will never use their services again

I had an charge for automatic renewal on my credit card statement. I called the phone number and was told that they sent me an email confirmation that my account was going to be renewed. I told them that I did not receive the email. Automatically I am at fault? They said I should check the way my email is set up. Junk mail, etc. I have been in IT Tech Support for more than 20 years. I think I know how to check email. They never sent any confirmation and even if they did, they should be required to wait for my reply before charging me. I canceled and will never use their services again. If you take my advice, neither will you.
Brad - Member Services Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Charged my account after i cancelled subscription

You are able to contact Archives.com at 1-888-896-4442 if you have a billing question.
K10889 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Charged my account after i cancelled subscription

I've been looking into my family history and was referred to archives.com by another geanology website. Of course, you cant even see the documents you search for until you are a paying member, so i signed up for the 7 day trial. Within 24 hours, i realized this website would be of no use to me, so i deleted my billing information from my account, and then cancelled my subscription. I got a confirmation email saying my membership was cancelled, and i checked my checking account balance and saw that they had not charged me. Today, i was looking for something else in my banking history when i came across a "transaction" from a couple weeks ago (and at least a week after i cancelled my subscription)- $39.95 taken out of my account by archives.com. I emailed them, and havent heard back yet- but that seems to be typical of them from what i've read on these scam websites today. I will be contacting my bank about this to see what can be done, and im going to see what else can be done to get my money back.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username