Submit a Complaint

Bank of America

United States,
California

Consumer complaints and reviews about Bank of America

teechlinda Send email
 
Dec 19, 2015

Fraud/Scam

I was scammed by a fake tech support company-"Ayogi Support". B of A said I had to provide proof that I was scammed because the scammer provided B of A with a bogus electronic contract with my name on it stating that I agreed to pay Ayogi $149.99 plus a foreign charge!!! B of A denied my claim and believed the scammer!!

I talked to the claims department by phone and convinced them to reopen my case. A couple days later I provided proof in print that this company scams people. Mine happened to be in connection with Netflix. I researched the internet and found an article stating that Ayogi support was a known scammer. I faxed the article to B of A, plus provided B of A the site address so they could confirm this. Then I got a letter from B of A saying my claim was once again denied because the evidence wasn't submitted in the required time frame. I faxed it all in right away!!!!

B of A said I should contact the scammer to see if I could get my money back! Seriously??????? None of this is making any sense to me. I am thinking I am slipping through the cracks of their system.

I have been a preferred customer since the 70's and they would rather lose me as a customer over $149.99+. None of this makes sense. I will be going to US Bank. I didn't realize B of A had such a bad reputation. I thought they protected their client's money. I was wrong! I am also checking into suing B of A. It isn't the amount of money, it is the PRINCIPLE! As long as these internet scammers get away with this, the more they will keep doing what they do.
Denise Wethington Send email
 
Mar 18, 2015

Excessive fees

Called on the phone to try and talk about fees on my account I have had this account for 30 years.
I was told by a bank representative on the phone could not give me his last name even though he is able to see all of my account, and this man could care less about any issue I had with the fees. I then went into the bank and spoke to the manager
a Mr. Ryan Davis who's card states he is the banking center manger-he proceeded to tell me some snarky remarks about the statement I brought in without even looking at my account and when I became upset about the way he spoke to me I stood up to leave the building and when I turned to look at him again he and the slovenly looking woman working next to him were laughing at me. I will be moving all my accounts to a new bank. Obviously these people are hired without any customer service experience and are low paid. I work to hard for my money to be handled by people who think my concerns are a joke. I will be moving my accounts to a new bank and tell everyone I know to do the same.
Finneyfaery Send email
 
Mar 19, 2012

LIVING NIGHTMARE!!!

STILL trying to close on a house. We are now up and over 60 days of escrow. Were supposed to close at the end of February, 2012. We've constantly been given the runaround on this. Been told again and again they need documents they've been given OVER AND OVER. the owner of the home has had to come out of his way to sign THREE extensions for us. he won't be doing it again. and we have LESS THAN a week to CLOSE or we lose this home. i am just HEART sick over this whole mess. Steve Fox that works for the CEO's office, supposedly saw another rant of mine on here and said he would get this done and rushed for us. we still have yet to see the end. we've had to move out of our apartment because of the 30 days notice, so we currently have ALL our belongings on the side of my mom and dad's house, out in the rain. we have a 4 year old that doesn't understand what is going on. we are homeless. having to live with my mom and dad until this is all resolved. it's a NIGHTMARE. we paid for the rent certificate that cost us $1200 that we really can't afford. just to get this closed. CROOKS! i bet they keep it too, should this not come out in our favor. i smell a LAWSUIT that shouldn't have to happen! we are preparing to take legal action. they say they have everything they need.. AGAIN.. for the dozenth time, and said we should be good to go. then we were just told that we need to get a pest inspection done.. and it was done already!!! this is just BEYOND ridiculous. i have names and all the PDFs we have sent back and forth to these BASTARDS! i am tired of being NICE and not getting anywhere.. CROOKS!!! horrible customer service, HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE company. when this falls through, we WILL be taking our banking elsewhere and i WILL see to it that everyone i know that banks with BofA does the same!!! Debra DeJong, Robert J. Sanchez, Shannon Barlow and Steve Fox are the ones supposedly "on top of things" and "rushing it"... FULL OF CRAP!!! these people should be hanged for what they do to people. i really hope they pull through like they're promised over and over. again and again.. UNBELIEVABLE and BEYOND ridiculous!!! DON'T BANK WITH BOFA or do ANY BUSINESS WITH THEM.. THEY ARE CROOKS and have NO idea what they are doing... messing with people's lives. this is the worst thing i have EVER been through in my LIFE!!!
Jfacada Send email
 
Mar 19, 2012

LIVING NIGHTMARE!!!

BOA is an perfect example of what does NOT work in America! I had my credit cards, mortgage, savings and checking accounts with BOA and it meant nothing to them when they jacked up my CC rates after I missed my payment dues date by one day and then missed my minimum payment by 82 cents! Both cost me my favorable 8.5% rate and after calling them to ask them to be reasonable and take into consideration my many years of charging and paying all their bills faithfully and on time, they rewarded me by reducing my credit line from $15K to $8K and because they did that, my outstanding balance now amounted to more that 80% of the credit line value so I was hit with another penalty and my interest rate went to 28.8%! Our AAA credit cards which were funded by BOA interest shot up as well and because my wife had her AAA credit tied into mine, her AAA BOA credit card rate went up as well! After spending countless hours on the phone mostly waiting after the automatic attendant placed me in Queue, I was not allowed to speak to anyone who had power to change the rates for me!

Seriously, I've had many banks in the past (Boston Five, Suffolk Franklin, Bank of Boston, Bay-bank, Citizens, Mt. Washington bank, South Boston Savings, Massachusetts Cooperative, and a few others) but I have never been treated with such disdain or impertinence and ultimately rudeness and disregard. Bank of America should have been allowed to fail so that perhaps out of the rubble a few decent SMALL banks could rise.
Jfacada Send email
 
Mar 19, 2012

LIVING NIGHTMARE!!!

I've already posted my opinion about Bank of America. It's a doomed to fail bank because it does not understand that people are it's customers and people matter. My wife and I dumped BOA and we refinanced with a local credit union. Try to get in with one if you can. They seem to be more like the banks of old that I remember, and worked with us in Boston. Also, note that their accounts actually pay an interest rate that you can calculate with out too many digits to the right of the decimal point: what is 0.05% on a savings account anyways? It's the principal of it that I'm talking about here. The kids can actually see their acct grow with the credit union. Check it out you may like them.
IronMuffin Send email
 
Mar 19, 2012

LIVING NIGHTMARE!!!

Bank of America is now bigger and more dangerous than ever. It controls more than 12 percent of America's bank deposits (skirting a federal law designed to prohibit any firm from controlling more than 10 percent), as well as 17 percent of all American home mortgages. The government can't afford to let them fail.
Annoyed2012 Send email
 
Mar 19, 2012

loan modification

I am dealing with the same issue... now only 3 months into the process but they keep losing documents, will not change my number in the system and when they do I get 15 calls a day... I am so sick of dealing with them. I am ready to walk away from my house just to screw them over (and myself) but we can not afford the house anymore and need help and no one is willing to help and no one can talk to you. I am working with a lady whos second language is english and makes things even more frustrating. I am just so ready to be done!!! They are a crappy company and I was so excited when they where going to sell my mortgage to a new company but no I am stuck!
Anti-SEO Send email
 
Mar 14, 2012

Excessive fees

"Furthermore, I plan to spread my story as far as I can to warn others."

What will you be warning others about exactly?
Maggiemct Send email
 
Mar 14, 2012

Excessive fees

I guess banks are all at fault for not being psychic, and knowing what we meant to do. Someday. When we think of it.
Joffholter Send email
 
Mar 13, 2012

loan modification

Hi there. I have been working with Bank of America for 2.5 years now to try to obtain a loan modification. I have heard every stall tactic, lie, been told countless documents were lost, incomplete, outdated, hung up on, I have not been contacted by my single point of contact for six plus months after filing numerous complaints with Bank of America and I could go on all day. We were a Countrywide loan, did a refinance back in November 2005 to an adjustable interest only with a pre-payment penalty for five plus years and have experienced substantial loss of income and medical hardship and like I said have been working with B of A for 2.5 years and gotten absolutely nowhere fast except 15 payments behind and now we are in foreclosure with no sale date and the bank has a hold on our account per Rincon Trust and they are waiting for instructions from the bank on how to proceed. We have a forensic loan audit that I submitted to B of A and all kinds of other documented issues with this whole loan modification process to the CEO/President's office who has assigned me to an advocate who is researching everything. I have filed complaints with my state's Attorney General's office (AZ), helpmewithmybank.gov and various other entities to try to assist me to get a loan modification. I have been told so many different lies by Bank of America and do not know what to believe anymore. We thought we were in underwriting for a modification for in house review after being denied for Hamp (no reason for denial known per the CEO's office), but we just found out from a local B of A branch worker that our scanned file is a complete mess and they believe it will be kicked out by the underwriter whenever they decide to look at it which according to this branch worker it should have been touched within three days, yet it has been almost 30 and it is still sitting in this person's queue. We want to save this house, we are really upside down in it of course, but just are requesting a low monthly payment we can afford. Principle reduction would be great, but we would be happy just extending the loan from 25 years to 40 with a fixed low interest rate and a low monthly payment we can afford. I have even emailed to the investor Bank of New York Mellon who emailed me back and said they are only the trustee whatever that means and to contact BAC. A new Deed of Trust was also just recorded at my county recorder's office on March 2nd, yet nobody at Bank of America knows about it when I call to ask. MERS was also corrected recently as well. Is there anything else I can do to get this resolved and stop the games over at Bank of America? Is there anyone else I can file a complaint with or contact that might be able to assist me? This has become a full time job for me here trying to save this home. Please help!!! Anything I can do I will try. How about the news? Is bad publicity any help? We were just told we were put on a list for someone to call us about this global department of justice settlement and they will get back to us in 60 days, but I am not so sure we have 60 days to waste here. Help please!!!
Debra Tate1960 Send email
 
Mar 13, 2012

loan modification

we are going through the same thing right now what was your outcome on this we need help badly .email me [email protected] please
Gatortracks Send email
 
Mar 13, 2012

Excessive fees

The Norton Anti-virus subscription caused an overdraft. That is your fault, not the fault of the bank.

No, the bank is not required to warn you that an impending charge will cause an overdraft.
NeveragainBofA Send email
 
Mar 13, 2012

Excessive fees

I don't write checks. I use my debit card for everything and I use it as credit to avoid ATM/ABT fees. Also, I do this because I don't want to get in to the overdraft fee game. And I am sure many people think the same way. But, I found out today - the hard way - that Bank of America can choose what type of purchases (charges) are being made to my account without asking me, thus opening up a way for them to keep my hard earned money.

Here is what I was told by customer service; If the B of A gets a request for funds from a vendor more than once for the same amount they consider it a reoccurring debit, and will pay it no matter what the account balance. Also, if the vendor tells B of A that the account is reoccurring they will pay no matter what the account balance.

When I opened my credit union account I kept B of A for when I travel - so I could still cash checks. But, my Norton Anti-virus subscription was still paid through the B of A account - I forgot to transfer it to my credit union. When my subscription renewal request went through it put a negative balance of $3.65 on my account for which I was charged a $35.00 overdraft fee - which is 958.9% interest due immediately. I was then sent an email stating I had to pay it by the March 16 - 3 days from now - or get charged another $35.00. When I called to figure out what was going on I was told by customer service that these fees would keep being applied until I brought the account to a zero balance. To make matters worse, to stop having this payment flagged as reoccurring I would have to pay an additional $30.00 - per charged item.

In the end my $3.65 overdraft cost me $35.00, because customer service waived the $30.00 fee - not out of the kindness of their heart, I had to beg. But, this could have easily cost my $100.00 by Friday if I didn't take care of it right away.

But, what makes me really angry is the $30.00 fee for correcting their change to my account. I never asked B of A to make this reoccurring. B of A just assumed it was and for it to be corrected I would have to pay. I'm not sure, but is this legal? What's more - and someone please correct me if I'm wrong - a Federal law was passed in mid-2010 making banks inform their customers that their account would go in to the negative because of a Debit/credit transaction. In my case I was never informed. Does the reoccurring debit free B of A from having to informing me? It seems to me that B of A has found a loophole in the Federal law and for those of us who try to close it, they charge us.

So, luckily I'm working near a B of A location. I went in and brought my account to zero and closed the account. I will never use B of A again. For anything. I will not even use their ATM's. Furthermore, I plan to spread my story as far as I can to warn others.
IronMuffin Send email
 
Mar 13, 2012

Excessive fees

"my Norton Anti-virus subscription was still paid through the B of A account - I forgot to transfer it to my credit union" - End of.
EnzosMom528 Send email
 
Mar 10, 2012

Closed Account

So about 4 weeks I opened up a B of A checking account. Long story short, my account got closed the second day after opening it, and B of A will not give me a valid reason. I only deposited $100 into the account the day I opened the account, and got declined at CARLS JR. the next day. So embarrassing! I called the man who opened my account and he said he would look into it and give me a call back, but that for sure the account was closed and I would be recieving a check with my money in 5-10 days. A month later and no cashiers check, just two forms 1) saying my checking account was credited $50 2) saying my saving account was debited $50. Okay, so where is my money? B of A will not answer any of my questions, and even the banker Juan won't even give me a call back. VERY UPSET about this. I am a 19 year old college student and just got ripped off of $100 that could had gone a long way for myself! If anyone has any suggestions of what I should do, or of someone I could contact to get my money back please comment.
Maggiemct Send email
 
Mar 10, 2012

Closed Account

Contact you're state's Banking Commission. They may have had (or thought they had) reason to close the account, but there's no excuse for refusing to give you an explanation & your money back.
Zum Send email
 
Mar 2, 2012

FRAUD AND DECEPTION

We did get the modification. All it took was a attorney to send a letter to Bank of America and they said the person that was handling the modification did not sent the documents to the correct department and was fired.
Homeless In Va. Send email
 
Mar 2, 2012

FRAUD AND DECEPTION

My loan was purchased by BOA from Countrywide.My income was reduced almost 70% from date of loan until present. I applied for a remodification (presidents protection for consumers right) and was told that if I caught payments up, they would remodify the loan under the lower interest rate, presently 5.7%. After payments caught up, they said I made loan 30 days before the elegibility date of the remodification date. Once again I fell behind and applied again and this time I was told that my income was too low to qualify for the new payments.Keep making the original payments $728.00. My ss income is $1000. monthly.
I am now almost 70 years old and everything I have ever worked for is being taken by BOA and I will be on the street. I feel that my tax money was used by BOA to set me out on the street. Thanks Mr. President.
Anyone else want to thank BOA and the UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT?
Ruth Perrigan
Virginia
Zum Send email
 
Mar 2, 2012

FRAUD AND DECEPTION

We have been with Bank of America for 20 years and got behind on our payments. We filled out modification forms three times and the last time they said that they could not verify our income. We sent them bank statements and pay stubs but still said they could not verify our income. So i sent them our W'2 and still they could not verify our income. Bank of America does not want to help anyone modify there loans.

Don
Whythelongfaces Send email
 
Mar 2, 2012

FRAUD AND DECEPTION

Zum, then REFINANCE instead of MODIFY. How about understanding the difference?
User1327808857 Send email
 
Mar 2, 2012

FRAUD AND DECEPTION

@ Whythelongfaces - I doubt Zum qualifies for a refi based on his comment.
Leo Lion Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Lousy customer service

Worst Bank ever! I too, am very upset with how I was handled with Bank of America regarding insufficient fees that should have not incurred. I will close my account and advise others to do so before it's too late.
Whythelongfaces Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Lousy customer service

Please do if you can not figure out how to not spend what you do not have.
Ricky12 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Phone tapping

Do you ever think about the employees that have to take your call from though call center. You call in about a problem do you know they have call time handle to finish that call in 3 minutes or less and solve your problems. If you do not wont to hear the what they tell you then don't used the credit card. Because those employee need to have a job and your complaint get them fired. They are human too so if you call into a call center it is not Bank of America it is a company that maintain your credit card for Bank of America and by they way Bank of America did not take over any companies they just take their company back. You was always dealing with Bank of America.
Ellen67 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Phone tapping

It isn't my responsibility to research the laws for each state; I am not the one with the complaint!

I am aware of NY law and FL law, as I live in both states. I am aware that each states may have laws that differ-but more specifically, I am aware that the governing law is what determines whether it is admissible in court.

A business may say the call will be monitored; if the customer is not comfortable with that process, they can disconnect the call. If they continue the conversation, they have given their consent. If a customer says they are recording a call; if the business says yes, the customer should still be aware of their legal rights & if it is admissible. If a business says no, the csr can disconnect the call if the customer is insistent. These big companies pay alot of money to staff a legal department; I am sure they are fully aware of the legalities whereas a disgruntled customer who has less legal knowledge is not the expert on the matter.

And no, you cannot dictate the manner in which I answer you. I can tell you that I have worked in the legal department and the quality department for two different call centers. Does that answer your question? There are dimwits who have TRIED recording (without mutual consent) a call with a csr. And some even tried to edit. So all your talk about what is traceable does not stop these idiots from wasting time and money, which reflects some of the the foolish points you made in your original post.

And do YOU comprehend that monitored calls are for internal quality coachings? PS: I have no interest in asking what you do for a living because it is obvious you have no idea what you are talking about (only how you feel about your perceived slight and a few subjective laws and rules that you have looked up. And you went on the defensive in an arrogant manner).

Other than your issue with how they may randomly record calls, what was your problem with Bank of America, that necessitated the above referenced call(s)?

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Kelly - No update and movement
    Hi, Referring to tracking no: EN359600365MY took too long...
    Poslaju Parcel Hub - Item stuck for almost 2 weeks
    My parcel has been stuck at Poslaju Parcel Hub and dont...
    Pos laju klia hub - Parcel stuck at KLIA Hub
    Parcel No. EHA204522365MY yg di hantar dr Shah Alam ke...
    TUV NORD (M) Sdn Bhd - Missing Parcel
    Dear Sir We have arranged for pick up of 2 parcels on...
    U-MOBILE - U MOBILE LINE PROBLEM
    Sudah seminggu lebih line U Mobile tiada internet dari...
    postlaju - Item missing, undetectable
    Subject: Document received not in , tracking number...
    NORITA - 1 week parcell stuck
    item arrive KLIA Hub on 30/7/2020. still now hv't...
    POSLAJU KLIA HUB - 1 week parcell stuck ERC235498343MY
    collect parcel from seri alam,johor on 28/6/2020 but stuck...
    UNIVERSAL MULTI AIRCOND PC BOARD - ITEM UNTIL NOW STUCK AT KLIA HUB
    Please.. barang saya masih stuck di klia hub, klau berhari...
    Heus - PARCELS STUCK AT KLIA HUB
    ERC137570480MY Please check my parcel. It’s arrive at...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Kelly - No update and movement
    Hi, Referring to tracking no: EN359600365MY took too long...
    Poslaju Parcel Hub - Item stuck for almost 2 weeks
    My parcel has been stuck at Poslaju Parcel Hub and dont...
    Pos laju klia hub - Parcel stuck at KLIA Hub
    Parcel No. EHA204522365MY yg di hantar dr Shah Alam ke...
    TUV NORD (M) Sdn Bhd - Missing Parcel
    Dear Sir We have arranged for pick up of 2 parcels on...
    U-MOBILE - U MOBILE LINE PROBLEM
    Sudah seminggu lebih line U Mobile tiada internet dari...
    postlaju - Item missing, undetectable
    Subject: Document received not in , tracking number...
    NORITA - 1 week parcell stuck
    item arrive KLIA Hub on 30/7/2020. still now hv't...
    POSLAJU KLIA HUB - 1 week parcell stuck ERC235498343MY
    collect parcel from seri alam,johor on 28/6/2020 but stuck...
    UNIVERSAL MULTI AIRCOND PC BOARD - ITEM UNTIL NOW STUCK AT KLIA HUB
    Please.. barang saya masih stuck di klia hub, klau berhari...
    Heus - PARCELS STUCK AT KLIA HUB
    ERC137570480MY Please check my parcel. It’s arrive at...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username