Submit a Complaint

Belk

United States,
North Carolina

Consumer complaints and reviews about Belk

Snappychappy Send email
 
Dec 20, 2017

New belk policies

I feel sorry for belk associates. They know they are overworked, understaffed, and work for "used car salesman" policies. I have been a card holder for 20 years for the coupons and points. Pay on time with never interest. My limit went from 900.00 to 100.00. With no letter or explanation. I even show a credit they owe me?? Jokes on belks. They have turned the store into a flea market. I will shop with Amazon and other dept stores. Farewell belks
WPB33409 Send email
 
Sep 26, 2017

Total Incompetance

I had the miserable "opportunity" to deal with this company by ordering off a gift registry. I so not have any Belk stores in my area ( thank goodness) so I ordered online from a wedding registry - 6 weeks prior to the event. I placed my order for two sets of china. Received an email confirmation of the order then never heard from the company again. A few weeks before the wedding I checked in about the order as I never received a shipping confirmation. Unfortunately when I tried to call the company was closed due to hurricanes ( they are located in Charlotte, NC). Since I could not call I sent an email to Belk. Received an email back stating they would take some time due to the hurricanes. I waited a few days for the hurricane to pass and then I called customer service. I spoke to a man who told me the order did not ship because I cancelled the order. I said I did not cancel the order. Then he told me that the order did not ship because the items were out of stock. No apology - nothing. So I moved on and went online to Macy's and placed a gift order - done - order confirmed and shipped within 24 hours.
Now the fun starts. Today - several weeks after the original contact about the whereabouts of the order and 7 weeks after I placed the order I get not one but two emails from Belk telling me to contact my credit card company because my charge card was declined. I emailed back and told them that NO it was not my credit card that was the issue it was that the items were not in stock. Just to be safe in case there was an issue with the card I called my credit card company ( actually my personal banker as the card is a business card linked to a business with significant assets). NOPE - the charge was not declined as it was never presented by Belk and NOPE there would be NO reason for it to be declined had Belk submitted the order.
What a total bunch of bozos! How to totally screw things up by messing up a done deal with sales from a wedding registry then to have such an epic customer service fail. Just pathetic.
Mathew Gibel Send email
 
Oct 16, 2016

New Store Mangager Suzie Hartman

I have been working at the belk in South point for a year now. I rarely call out and I enjoyed my position. Recently the company has been hiring employees that dont show to work. Yesterday 10/15/16 I worked an 8 hour shift in Ladies Shoe department and for 2 hours had to close the department by myself with no help. I have another shift the following day 10/16/16; which is a 7 hr shift. I called to ask, since i closed by myself can I work a reduced number of hoiurs? Suzie Hartmen responded after a year of service to that store; "maybe retail is not for you" and "Im sorry you had to pull your weight" instead of an "ok" or at LEAST a "Sorry you had to close by yourself". I don't think this is how you should treat your staff especially when no help was assisted.
User705213 Send email
 
Apr 5, 2012

Company Policy

Well Happy, if you hate your job, find another one. Don't accept a job then bitch about having to do that job.
User815984 Send email
 
Apr 5, 2012

Company Policy

Shop somewhere else OP.

Amen Whythelongfaces.
User927095 Send email
 
Apr 4, 2012

Company Policy

Shes just saying that she feels sorry for us at this job that we have to pray on peoples credit to keep our jobs and our pay. making a dash to beat the other sales ladies to a customer, they resort to desparate measures. i wouldnt want to support a company that focuses on greed forgeting the needs of the customer and employee. if they arent making corporate richer they get pay taken away hourly. Punishment for not forcing a customer to apply for credit in a horrible economy. Horrible place to work which is why theres such a high turn over of employees. we all wait for something better to come along and bolt for the doors.
User705213 Send email
 
Apr 3, 2012

Company Policy

You are cutting up your card because someone did their job and asked you if you had a card? Where do you work? I want to NOT patronize your place of business because I am sure I can find something you do as part of your employment does that I disagree with.
User927095 Send email
 
Apr 3, 2012

Do as I say, Not as I do.

To OUR FEES, this is a complaint page (guess thats why they called it Complaints Board) so everyone has a right to rave about their issues. in an economy like this its hard to get the job you really want and your stuck with what you can get until something better comes along. if i had read this page before appying i would have never worked for them. i just started a few days ago and its horrible. i did not know there was so much wrong with this company. They show lack of respect for their employees and take from paychecks if sales arent great. you cant play with peoples money like that when we have bills to pay. Thank goodness i have another job lined up. this is just something to fill the gap.
User917130 Send email
 
Apr 3, 2012

Company Policy

I originally came to this site to complain about an associate at Belk. The woman literally yelled across the store, "Do you have a card with us?" I told her I thought I did and she asked if she could check. Originally, I was going to complain about her. But you know what? I read the other complaints against this company, and I am not complaining about that woman. That woman was desperate to keep her job. Instead, I'm complaining about this INSANE Belk policy! I understand that Belk makes a great deal of money from interest fees. But it seems the focus of the company has shifted from selling quality items and providing exceptional customer service to mediocre items and employees who's jobs depend on your credit. Ridiculous! Belk needs to get a clue. I'm cutting up my card and hope others will do the same.

Also, it would be nice if the company provided new flooring for all Belk stores. I've never been into a Belk store that didn't have carpet that was caked in chewing gum.
User927095 Send email
 
Apr 3, 2012

Company Policy

When we gather for our morning huddles at this work place thats all we talk about is how many credit cards we opened. the sales team get cash rewards for you applying even if you are declined. theres no focus on a clean friendly affordable store. sales team gets money taken out of their checks if they are not selling as much or opening credits.
Our Fees Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Do as I say, Not as I do.

And, I take it, YOU have NOT made ANY effort to better your situation. You could look for a better job, but I don't think you will find one. I would bet a paycheck on the fact that you have looked half heartedly, if at all, and you could not find a better employer that is more willing to accomodate its employees, nor pay better. Or are YOU one of the many LAZY employees in todays world that just wants to complain because YOU cannot perform in todays market? MY ADVICE... Find Another Job, and a better employer, STOP BITCHING. Or, What A Concept, Just DO YOUR JOB!!!
Better Off Without Belk Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Rude manager

I have been treated rudely by the Sales Manager at the Burlington NC Belk the last 3 times I have been in the store. The first time, I was purchasing several suits for my son's wedding. I could not find all of the sizes I needed at one location. The sales person that was assisting me, Will, was very helpful but needed to ask the Sales Manager, Noah, a question. Noah was very rude to this associate in my presence which personally offended me. After all, I was the one who was trying to make the purchase. The next night, I went back to the store with one of my sons to try on a jacket and make sure we were getting the right size. I could not find the size I needed. Noah, the Sales Manager, was close by, so I asked for assistance. He said everything was out and turned to walk away. I was absolutely astounded that he did not offer to help any further. I asked the sales clerk to call him back over and told him that his response to my request was rude and that he should have tried to help me find the right size. His response was that he thought I had looked through all of the jackets. There must be over 100 on the floor. I told him that it was his job to help. He was not the least bit apologetic or helpfu. Additionally, he was dressed in jeans on both occasions, entirely unsuitable for someone in his position.
Today, I went in again. This time to return a blouse that did not fit. It took a few minutes to find another blouse to complete the return. Mine did not have the ticket on it for the bar code. When the transaction was finished, the sales clerk said, "All that for $8.16." I could not believe my ears. Did she make less money because she had to make a return? Isn't it her job to assist the customer? If I were her manager, she would be picking up her pink slip right not!! Of course, Noah was the manager on the floor today, and I knew it would be useless to discuss this with him. After all, she probably learned her rudeness directly from him.
All I can say is that I am through. If I can find the suits I need for the wedding elsewhere, Belk will get every piece of that merchandise back and I will never shop with them again. It is really very sad too. Every sales rep I have encountered in other stores has been exceptionally easy to work with. I don't know why Burlington's staff is so rude, but they are a black spot on the Belk employees everywhere.
Modern.Southern.Greed Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Rude manager

Yes that is very true, but they would have to pay us better than minimum wage and spend more on payroll to add more positions. As it now, we are cashiers, stockers, merchandisers, and cleaners.
Modern.Southern.Greed Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Do as I say, Not as I do.

As an employee at Belk, I can safely say that nothing is ever good enough. So you get your sales and credit apps, great! Now you have to do more and more and more to maintain that to keep managers and regionals off your ass. The same can be said for sales. So your store/area does a great job and goes higher than your sales plan. You don't even get a thank you or great job it's, "great now do it again everyday." So as the CEO's and regionals pad their pockets from all of your hard work and pay you minimum wage. So you have to do janitorial work, stock, merchandising, endless tasks, and customer service all while maintaining your sales per hour, your credit apps, r.c.c., and take customer's s***. Then only to have your staus check/review to find out you are getting a pay-cut. Then realize this entire company is a crock of bulls*** and sucks your soul away. So if any of you Belk employees out there feel the same way or would like to vent your endless frustrations, please feel free to comment.
RIP Common Decency Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Do as I say, Not as I do.

Executives in this company with genuine intentions are few and far between. It is sickening that these people can sit in front of someone and justify giving a hard working individual a HEALTHY pay CUT... the individual that is on the front lines, working hard for how long (doesn't matter) ... putting dollars in the register that only certain few reap benefits from at the end of the day, while "seasoned managers" (the certain few) sit in offices and talk s*** about everyone on payroll.
This company needs to get it together, take a hard look at itself, and ACT on a change! It starts from the top... I hope those walking stores in their suits hear some of these voices of the THOUSANDS of loyal, hard working employees that make this company those billions in revenue! Without your people, you have NOTHING!!! And you're losing the good ones one by one!!!
Modern.Southern.Greed Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Do as I say, Not as I do.

I totally agree, the way this company treats their associates and is then transposed on to their customers. Then the execs sit behind their desks in their plush offices scratching their heads and asking, "Why has our R.C.C. score dropped so low?" Wait...I know the answer. You make them clean up customers shit, literally and figuratively. Then cut their pay and wonder, "Why is associate turn-over so high?" To all these questions there is a very simple answer...Respect. If you would increase associates pay and hire more associates, so associates don't have to do 3 jobs in 1 and foremost, treat them with dignity and respect. Then they would exceptionally nice to customers, no matter how rude they can be. Which, would increase sales and spread positivity about the whole company. Any other Belk associates have any comments on this subject?

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username