Submit a Complaint

Bell Mobility

Canada,
Ontario

Consumer complaints and reviews about Bell Mobility

Arabigo Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

The truth behind Bell Mobility

Disclaimer: This is based on events seen by myself inside Bell Mobility as a person who works there. This is my personal opinion on how I am seeing things there and does not represent Bell Mobility itself or affiliates. People may agree or disagree. I am only saying what I am noticing.

This is from perspective of a Bell Employee. I want to show how things are on our end so people can understand and not assume that we have more authority and abilities than we really do. At the same time that blame goes to the company and quite a bit of agents for their lack of patience and interest in the job, customers are also to be blamed for their lack of knowledge and research of their purchases and devices.

At Bell Mobility, we are constantly pressured to perform and exceed stats required. Some of these stats are unrealistic and are not planned well. To make matters worse, Management usually have no understanding of how customer service works and just want numbers. I mean how can you limit the amount of time to handle a customer's call when you are supposed to help them? it gets really frustrating when people get so demanding and their issues take over 15 minutes to take care of (our handle time varies between 800-1100 seconds and if it goes around or over that hell is raised).

If you ask for too much help from Tier 2 (on 50% or more of the calls), then its deemed that you have no knowledge and require training. Now, they don't provide any additional training (the initial one is even lacking as they say we should learn from trial and error) and there is nobody else to ask. Half the times the team manager(s) aren't around and if you ask them a question they get angry and refer you to documentations that are outdated and offer no help. It is very frustrating working there with no help or support and yet expected to exceed expectations. Management walk by us looking at us like road kill laughing at us.

Morale is so low and everything they offer to employees has a catch to it ; ex: eating and drinking at your desk, you can do it between calls however there is no mute button so in case a call comes in they don't hear you eating or drinking, so you can't really eat or drink at your desk except on breaks and lunches. Many meetings and surveys get cancelled because of "business needs" on the phone and its busy ... well why is it busy ? because their forecasting is really horrible to say the least.

To make matters worse, Bell Mobility introduced this new queue called specialty to deal with tablets and data devices. Here is the deal, they never informed us that it will have to do with the billing aspect as well until we were in the actual training class and it was too late to pull out. The "perks" that they offered us we got them about 8 weeks after they were promised. There is no management of the calls coming in to know the amount of agents needed so you never know if it will be a busy day and you need additional people or if it will be light day and can let people go for the day to decrease cost. So now the technical support department is slashed into 3 sections with specialty being the least of them.

When people were trained for specialty they were trained for only 2 days on everything including bill where they never dealt with billing before. People on calls didn't know what they're doing and the billing documentations were outdated and did not apply to them, so they put customers on hold for 10-30 mins sometimes or even disconnect the call. The supervisors are not trained on these information so you can't ask them about anything. Bell has deceived its own employees too just like they did with their customers. No wonder morale is low and they constantly have to spend $ on PR and loyalty efforts.

Our dear Quality department, which is supposed to consist of experts who have dealt with calls before and have perfected it, don't have a single idea of what they are doing. First, they are either based in Montreal or in Philippines and so they are very weak or don't speak English. They can easily mistake words you say on the phone and deduct your score. The Quality Score sheet is very vague and is not clear at all to the point where we are always arguing with them over our scores. They really can make you hate the job.

To make matters worse, the specialty agents don't get any extra pay even though they deal with troubleshooting for cellular devices (technical), data devices (technical and billing) and tablets (technical and billing) while not receiving any extra pay ; we get paid the same as the others in the Smart phone or voice Queue who deal with only cellular devices (technical) and maybe data devices (technical - most of them end up transferring the call to specialty anyways cold transfer).

Now to our dear Bell customers. First, know what you're getting into. Don't just take the word of the agent or sales rep. Read about it on the internet as well on the Bell website and find out from multiple sources. Understand everything including billing process and the technical information on the device you're receiving. Learn about it, find out what others said about it before getting it. If you encounter a problem with your device, do basic troubleshooting from the user guide or from the internet by going to google.

Don't expect the agents to know all about your phone, we don't have them in front of us and we look at the guide too (unless we dealt with the phone personally or have a simulator for it). Sometimes people call to ask such stupid questions like how to do something ; go look it up for god sake.

I find that Canadian and North American customers are generally less knowledgeable, less aware, and less intelligent when it comes to their cellular services than the rest of the world. I traveled to many countries and so I seen and compared this. True that some agents may lie or not give proper information due to the lack of training they were provided in the first place, but at the same time you customers owe it to yourself to search and find out first before crying like little girls on the phone to the point we're annoyed enough to route you elsewhere.

Remember, when you're calling into Bell you're dealing with people who are not being paid enough to deal with the bullshit they have to hear and listen to and deal with. People are usually under-trained and are expected to rely on documents that are out-dated or don't even relate to what we're trying to do. Those documents are created by those who don't know how the job is and never done it before.

We are not sitting there with phones on our table to know what the hell you're talking about, so we rely on searching google and reading the user guide on lots of the devices. Therefore sometimes its really useless calling all together and might as well just search it yourself. The work condition is miserable to say the least with no management around to help if needed and the lighting of the place is so bad its depressing, and the seating areas don't help your back or your neck.

The company is even fighting the presence of a union within and there has been news of employees being threatened if they join (according to sources published within company internal communications). Now why would a company not want a union for its employees to make things better for them ?? so for customers, this is what you deal with when you call in.


I personally think its better off not to call except to dispute bills and disconnect your service. Even better, switch to a different telecommunication company all together so you rid yourself of headache of dealing with incompetent unhappy employees who don't even want to be there, and we as employees don't have to deal with your IQ of a squirrel l intelligent, your miserable attitude, and your stupid questions. This is my personal opinion based on what I seen from the company and its customers.

At the end, we're both very frustrated (employees and customers). The only employees that are not frustrated are usually pets of management and they get what they want and have good shifts that don't change and have the weekend off. Alot of agents hours changed constantly so you can't plan your life and the days off are horrible (non-weekend) so it adds more to the frustration. Bell employees are not being treated well to the point they're giving away their shifts to work less to get away, and bell customers are frustrated because of the poor service they receive as a result of the low morale and corporate culture of the company. The company promises surveys about employee satisfaction, only one was done within last 2 years and results were never shown. Wonder what that tells you about this company!!

By the way, according to internal sources Bell is no longer hiring Technical Support nor Client Care within Canada (not official) as it will all be overseas in Philippines, India, and other countries from now on. This will start decreasing the jobs within Canada specially Atlantic region to start with and eventually people maybe given the option to become billing agents or be laid off. However since there are many agents at the current time, there maybe lay offs. For customers, this mean expect more outsourcing and language barriers and communication with agents who don't know Canadians nor any place in Canada.

We both should blame the management for not understanding how things are really working for customer facing agents. If anyone wants more information or advice contact me. Feel free to forward this to management of Bell Mobility if possible so they can read and learn better.
CRAadmin Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

The truth behind Bell Mobility

you can get any fee or charges waived by asking to speak to CRA, even if they are valid usage charges. You may not get CRA if you ask for a supervisor, that might only get you a more experienced representative...just keep asking to escalate until you get to CRA to get anything waived. they can even send you out a free demo phone sometimes.
Arabigo Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

General

This is from perspective of a Bell Technical Support employee. I want to show how things are on our end so people can understand and not assume that we have more authority and abilities than we really do. At the same time that blame goes to the company and quite a bit of agents for their lack of patience and interest in the job, customers are also to be blamed for their lack of knowledge and research of their purchases and devices.

At Bell Mobility, we are constantly pressured to perform and exceed stats required. Some of these stats are unrealistic and are not planned well. To make matters worse, Management usually have no understanding of how customer service works and just want numbers. I mean how can you limit the amount of time to handle a customer's call when you are supposed to help them? it gets really frustrating when people get so demanding and their issues take over 15 minutes to take care of (our handle time varies between 800-1100 seconds and if it goes around or over that hell is raised). If you ask for too much help from Tier 2 (on 50% or more of the calls), then its deemed that you have no knowledge and require training. Now, they don't provide any additional training (the initial one is even lacking as they say we should learn from trial and error) and there is nobody else to ask. Half the times the team manager(s) aren't around and if you ask them a question they get angry and refer you to documentations that are outdated and offer no help. It is very frustrating working there with no help or support and yet expected to exceed expectations. Management walk by us looking at us like road kill laughing at us. Morale is so low and everything they offer to employees has a catch to it ; ex: eating and drinking at your desk, you can do it between calls however there is no mute button so in case a call comes in they don't hear you eating or drinking, so you can't really eat or drink at your desk except on breaks and lunches. Many meetings and surveys get cancelled because of "business needs" on the phone and its busy ... well why is it busy ? because their forecasting is really horrible to say the least.

To make matters worse, Bell Mobility introduced this new queue called specialty to deal with tablets and data devices. Here is the deal, they never informed us that it will have to do with the billing aspect as well until we were in the actual training class and it was too late to pull out. The "perks" that they offered us we got them about 8 weeks after they were promised. There is no management of the calls coming in to know the amount of agents needed so you never know if it will be a busy day and you need additional people or if it will be light day and can let people go for the day to decrease cost. So now the technical support department is slashed into 3 sections with specialty being the least of them. When people were trained for specialty they were trained for only 2 days on everything including bill where they never dealt with billing before. People on calls didn't know what they're doing and the billing documentations were outdated and did not apply to them, so they put customers on hold for 10-30 mins sometimes or even disconnect the call. The supervisors are not trained on these information so you can't ask them about anything. Bell has deceived its own employees too just like they did with their customers. No wonder morale is low and they constantly have to spend $ on PR and loyalty efforts. To make matters worse, the specialty agents don't get any extra pay even though they deal with troubleshooting for cellular devices (technical), data devices (technical and billing) and tablets (technical and billing) while not receiving any extra pay ; we get paid the same as the others in the Smart phone or voice Queue who deal with only cellular devices (technical) and maybe data devices (technical - most of them end up transferring the call to specialty anyways cold transfer).

Now to our dear Bell customers. First, know what you're getting into. Don't just take the word of the agent or sales rep. Read about it on the internet as well on the Bell website and find out from multiple sources. Understand everything including billing process and the technical information on the device you're receiving. Learn about it, find out what others said about it before getting it. If you encounter a problem with your device, do basic troubleshooting from the user guide or from the internet by going to google. Don't expect the agents to know all about your phone, we don't have them in front of us and we look at the guide too (unless we dealt with the phone personally or have a simulator for it). Sometimes people call to ask such stupid questions like how to do something ; go look it up for god sake. I find that Canadian and North American customers are generally less knowledgeable, less aware, and less intelligent when it comes to their cellular services than the rest of the world. I traveled to many countries and so I seen and compared this. True that some agents may lie or not give proper information due to the lack of training they were provided in the first place, but at the same time you customers owe it to yourself to search and find out first before crying like little girls on the phone to the point we're annoyed enough to route you elsewhere.

Remember, when you're calling into Bell you're dealing with people who are not being paid enough to deal with the bullshit they have to hear and listen to and deal with. People are usually under-trained and are expected to rely on documents that are out-dated or don't even relate to what we're trying to do. Those documents are created by those who don't know how the job is and never done it before. We are not sitting there with phones on our table to know what the hell you're talking about, so we rely on searching google and reading the user guide on lots of the devices. Therefore sometimes its really useless calling all together and might as well just search it yourself. The work condition is miserable to say the least with no management around to help if needed and the lighting of the place is so bad its depressing, and the seating areas don't help your back or your neck. The company is even fighting the presence of a union within and there has been news of employees being threatened if they join (according to sources published within company internal communications). Now why would a company not want a union for its employees to make things better for them ?? so for customers, this is what you deal with when you call in. I personally think its better off not to call except to dispute bills and disconnect your service. Even better, switch to a different telecommunication company all together so you rid yourself of headache of dealing with incompetent unhappy employees who don't even want to be there, and we as employees don't have to deal with your IQ of a squirrel l intelligent, your miserable attitude, and your stupid questions. This is my personal opinion based on what I seen from the company and its customers.


At the end, we're both very frustrated (employees and customers). The only employees that are not frustrated are usually pets of management and they get what they want and have good shifts that don't change and have the weekend off. Alot of agents hours changed constantly so you can't plan your life and the days off are horrible (non-weekend) so it adds more to the frustration. Bell employees are not being treated well to the point they're giving away their shifts to work less to get away, and bell customers are frustrated because of the poor service they receive as a result of the low morale and corporate culture of the company. The company promises surveys about employee satisfaction, only one was done within last 2 years and results were never shown. Wonder what that tells you about this company!!

We both should blame the management for not understanding how things are really working for customer facing agents. If anyone wants more information or advice contact me. Feel free to forward this to management of Bell Mobility if possible so they can read and learn better.
CRAadmin Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

General

you can get any fee or charges waived by asking to speak to CRA, even if they are valid usage charges. You may not get CRA if you ask for a supervisor, that might only get you a more experienced representative...just keep asking to escalate until you get to CRA to get anything waived. they can even send you out a free demo phone sometimes.
Ali Rafiaie Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

TERMINATION FEES

Here is my latest experience with BELL HELL!!!

I called Bell Mobility in the last week of January. I needed some help as I was getting ready to move to Nunavut.
I wanted to get a number for the local area I was moving to, and to make a long story short...
After an hour on hold, being transferred etc. I was told that they have NO SERVICE out there!!!
I was transferred to another agent "FLO" which was quite rude and offered me a HARDWARE UPGRADE??!!
What a dummy!! I am moving away and trying to get my phone set up before I go and this broad has no offer but a renewal of
contract. I refused and stated that if my phone will not work where I am moving to, I will have NO NEED for the damn thing.
Anyways, an hour and half later I was finally offered to cancel my line with no penalty because all these companies charge for cancelling a line. I was told that I will have to provide 30 days of notice to them so there goes another 100 dollars but I was happy that it was done and over with. I just recently came back to Ottawa as my whole family lives in the Ottawa area and I wanted to visit! I was handed a FINAL BILL from my father as BELL had gone ahead and charged me another $300 for switching the line off. I called them back right away, so much for being happy to see my family. The next hour of my life was yelling and screaming at the CLOWNS that work at BELL. Anyhow, again I am explaining what happened like a month ago, and what was PROMISED!! The first agent said "Yes, I see the note on your account and I will transfer you to the right agent, they will waive the fee". Next agent that came on the line mentioned that no such note existed. To be honest I have never been so rude on the phone with another human being but I was so angry for being lied to and felt so helpless. The rep was quite upset too and I told her "imagine how I feel, 2 hours plus of my life in the gutter due to slow and horrible service". I asked for a supervisor and "Nick" is the next clown I spoke to. He was as useless as any retard you would find anywhere in the BELL world. I had to explain everything again. It is so hard to keep your composure when you have been promised something verbally, it is not granted and then you are talked to like an idiot. All I can say is that I will never ever go back to Bell when I move back home to Ottawa in the future as this one experience is one that will never be forgotten. I have been in network marketing for 10 years and have thousands of contacts. You are not a contact but you are hearing about it too.

BELL HELL, is how all my friends refer to these clowns as now. One mad customer will tell many, happy ones tell few.
I hope they lose all thier clients to all the competition out there. LONG LIVE ROGERS!!!

Respectfully,

Ali Rafiaie
CRAadmin Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

TERMINATION FEES

you can get any fee or charges waived by asking to speak to CRA, even if they are valid usage charges. You may not get CRA if you ask for a supervisor, that might only get you a more experienced representative...just keep asking to escalate until you get to CRA to get anything waived. they can even send you out a free demo phone sometimes.
Mfoster Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

loyalty

our small business was looking for a shared mobile plan for four of our emplyees. We approached Telus, Bell, and Rogers. Telus was the lowest, Bell mid range, and Rogers the highest.

two of the current users where already with Bell, one for 12 years and one for 9 years. We approached Bell and asked if they could do a little better than the current offer. Guess what the response was "NO".

I called them and asked if they would rather lose 2 loyal customers than work with us and gain 2 more. They still would not budge.

Abosutly no customer loyalty. Now i know why i am with Telus, but have no say in who the company sticks me with in the shared plan.
CRAadmin Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

loyalty

you can get any fee or charges waived by asking to speak to CRA, even if they are valid usage charges. You may not get CRA if you ask for a supervisor, that might only get you a more experienced representative...just keep asking to escalate until you get to CRA to get anything waived. they can even send you out a free demo phone sometimes.
Bell Mobility S U C K S Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

rip offs

After being a loyal customer of BELL MOBILITY fot 15 years, one day they decided to cancel my long distance plan with out informing me. My bill went from the $70 dollar range up to $420 per month. After spending HOURS talking with there customer service and getting cut off, recieving LOTS of attitude, being denied the opertunity of talking to a manager, being lied to, and getting no answer as to why it happened, or being reimbursed, I found a solution. After the last customer service rep cut me off... I told them to cancel my F ' n contract, smashed my phone on the ground, then threw it in the lake and cancelled my direct Visa payments. There efficient billing department was on me right away. SCREW THEM ALL TO HELL
CRAadmin Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

rip offs

you can get any fee or charges waived by asking to speak to CRA, even if they are valid usage charges. You may not get CRA if you ask for a supervisor, that might only get you a more experienced representative...just keep asking to escalate until you get to CRA to get anything waived. they can even send you out a free demo phone sometimes.
Uly Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Service

I have only had my cell phone with BELL for 14 days . . . . Already I have had nothing but problems.

E-BILLING: I opted for online invoicing and for two weeks now my account "does not have permisssion" to register for the service. When I call, they simply tell me to call back because they are having problems with the Group Plan I am with.

BILL DETAILS: I called to get my bill total and I was quoted almost twice my monthly plan cost! So in 14 days, I was told that I owe nearly twice the monthly fees?? Ridiculous. I texted BELL for bill details and received a message saying $0.00 were due for this bill period. I have yet to be able to verify my invoice.

ACCOUNT HACK: I have also been contacted by a representative in Montreal regarding a totally unrelated corporate account. Somehow, my name has shown up as the key contact whom they belive has changed account information for a corporate client in Montreal. Neither I nor the account representative have any idea how this happened, given the marked difference in account numbers, address and names.

NO SERVICE: To top it all off, all of Toronto's customers have had no service (no text, calls out or in) for the evening. When I called BELL, they could not tell me what the problem was or when it would be fixed.

Never in my life have I had such a poor experience with a supposedly customer-oriented company. NEVER EVER WILL I RECOMMEND OR GET A BELL PRODUCT AGAIN!
CRAadmin Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Service

you can get any fee or charges waived by asking to speak to CRA, even if they are valid usage charges. You may not get CRA if you ask for a supervisor, that might only get you a more experienced representative...just keep asking to escalate until you get to CRA to get anything waived
Kevininontario Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

price

*****Usage outside Canada is way more expensive than other providers*****
Bell Charges $6 per MB of data usage outside Canada. Other providers include USA data in plans. This goes for data on phones, smartphones, mobile internet sticks, etc.
Text messaging is now $.60 per sent message when outside Canada

*****Voice plans are too expensive*****
Bell no longer has long distance plans other than the overpriced north america plans. $80 for 250 minutes is the lowest price plan you can take if you need long distance. I rcently bought a prepaid cell phone from the states and $75 gives me 900 international minutes!!! I planned to keep my Canadian phone and put it on a cheaper Canada plan, only to find out they no longer offer that. They also now charge the $.30 a minute if you go over your minutes, plus now charge long distance on those minutes as well!

Say goodbye to the $1000 a month I pay you idiots. The coverage is just as good with certain other providers now (not like a few years ago) so take a hike!
CRAadmin Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

price

you can get any fee or charges waived by asking to speak to CRA, even if they are valid usage charges. You may not get CRA if you ask for a supervisor, that might only get you a more experienced representative...just keep asking to escalate until you get to CRA to get anything waived. they can even send you out a free demo phone sometimes.
Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Cell Service

Unbelievable Bad Service!!!

I signed up for 2 year plan with Bell 3 yrs ago in NF. Shortly after, the cell phone wouldn't hold it's charge and had to send it back to LG. I was without a phone on 2 occassions for up to 2 months, during this time I called repeatedly to follow up as to status and was shrugged off as I was a nuisance. I was not given a replacement and when I asked why am I paying for a service that I can't use, was told I would have to cxl and sign up again (at a fee) in order to stop charges. When I did get my phone back, it was sitting there for a week before I called to find out it was there.

After the contract expired I went mth to mt, while I looked for another plan.

It's always amazing to me that, that when they want you to renew, they don't offer you anything that a new customer
wouldn't get. I thought everyone understood that it costs exponentially more to keep the customer you have rather than get a new one.

Yesterday I called to cxl and spoke to a very concerned gentlemen named Fahad at a call center in India, who was very persuasive in trying to convince me stay with Bell, he offered to personally look after any problems and gave me his ID #. He offered to give me a $250 credit toward a renewal, and waive most of the activation fee and took the time to review my account so he could recommend additional savings for features that I didn't use. I insisted on cancelling, and although there is a 30 day notice period, he said he would waive it. He said that he would be there until 5pm and to call him if I would reconsider. Well, I did and got another gentlemen, but he said that I could not speak to Fahad. I tried to no avail to explain my situation, but he did read the notes that Fahad left and indeed the points in notes were accurate. So I went the Bell store at Square One, and tried to explain my situation. The salesperson was new and deferred to whom I believe was a senior associate or the manager who simply said that he could not give me the $250 credit or the waive the activation fees, despite my insistence that this was offered and noted on my file. Moreover he just didn't seem to care and made no effort to look into my situation and was content to see walk out the door as soon as possible.

I have been a Bell Customer for over 30 years, and this plus other incidents have lead me cancel everything with Bell, I just recently signed up to have my home phone and internet switched from Bell to Roger's and I might add at a substantial savings.

I have had/heard my share my service issues/complaints as I am in the hospitality industry. And being so, probably am more tolerent than most. I almost never complain and have never taken the time to do what I currently doing.
I don't expect that Bell cares, and when they call such as they did last month to try to get me bundle everything with Bell, I told the very pleasant telemarketing lady, that there was little/no chance of persuading me. Next time they call, I will confirm that it will take a miracle.
CRAadmin Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Cell Service

you can get any fee or charges waived by asking to speak to CRA, even if they are valid usage charges. You may not get CRA if you ask for a supervisor, that might only get you a more experienced representative...just keep asking to escalate until you get to CRA to get anything waived. they can even send you out a free demo phone sometimes.
Cliffordsson Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Billing

First off, this is not the first "screw-up" of Bell's on me but I am a little "over the top" on this one so here I am.
It has got to a point where Bell (all services) mess up so much you throw up your hands and live with it.
This matter involves there cell phone catagory. Called again today (second month in a row) about over charges on my cell phone. I pay a fee for unlimited texting which I applied 3 months a go. Not only are they billing me for the unlimited texting they are billing me for the texts!! Roughly $100+ last month and again this month, above my normal fee's. This is after I thought I had straightened it out with them last month.
This is a huge company that continues to run like this over and over.
This past call this morning for over charging me again left me on hold for over an hour. Called at 10:27 a.m., hung up at 11:34.
Soooo, can't get the bill right and continue to treat coustomers like crap with service.
I could go on for ever. If there is anyone reading this that has a phone number email or what ever for me to contact or can recommend anything that is serious (I don't need anymore jokes, Bell has been a laugh) please amail me.
That's the worst part of this. You never expect such a huge company to be so pathetic with their coustomers but yet I have no way of really making them pay in some way for again and again messing up. Some ignorant people I'm sure are paying these over stated bills and not knowing it. That is stealing. You know Bell will not refund the money. They are over billing hoping even a small number of people pay the inflated mark up. What's the worst that happens to them??? People like me call and have it adjusted to the right amount!! That's it!!
Bell has nothing to lose by over billing but lots to gain by stealing from their coustomers!! Like I said, very PATHETIC!!

[email protected] if you have an answer to how I can really nail these bas****s
CRAadmin Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Billing

you can get any fee or charges waived by asking to speak to CRA, even if they are valid usage charges. You may not get CRA if you ask for a supervisor, that might only get you a more experienced representative...just keep asking to escalate until you get to CRA to get anything waived. they can even send you out a free demo phone sometimes.
Kaitlynd Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Cell Phone

In June, 2009 I brought my Blackberry Pearl cellphone into my local Bell Mobility store for repair. I was on my phone one day when the screen suddenly went black and stopped working. I was told that I did not need to send the phone back and a new one would be shipped to me as soon as possible. I was given a loner phone that did not have the smart phone services offered with the blackberry, however I was still paying for the same plan that included those services. I waited for my phone to come back and called the store after a month. My phone had not arrived yet and no one knew when it would. So, I waited and called back monthly. There was still no sign of my phone.
November came along and I had still not received word of the whereabouts of my phone, so I went directly to the Bell store, only to discover that my phone had been shipped to the wrong address in August. When I asked why a new phone had not been shipped to me, I discovered that Blackberry had changed their policy and I had to send my old blackberry in for repair. If their was anything wrong with it, such as a cracked screen, or watermarks, I would have to pay for the phone's repair, even though one had already been shipped to me for free. Since I knew that there was no physical damage done to my phone, I thought there would be no harm in sending the old one in, if it meant that I would get a new one back. This was not the case. I was not going to receive a new phone at all. Blackberry instead, offered to send my phone back, with a $75 repair fee.
I had already been paying for a service that I was not receiving for 6 months, so I decided to just cancel the plan and not get my phone repaired. I was told that there would be a fee of over $700 to cancel the plan. There is no way that I should have to pay this fee, when it was Bell who breeched the contract in the first place. I had been paying for a service for 6 months, that I had not received. When I called customer service to straighten this whole mess out, I was continually put on hold and moved up the ladder. After three hours of this I was transferred to a voice recording, "thank you for choosing Bell, have a nice day." Thank you, Bell, for wasting 3 hours of my day!
I have not heard back from bell about this issue, until today, (March, 16) when I received a letter in the mail stating that my bill will be sent to a collections agency if I do not pay it within 5 business days. The date on the letter is March 6, and when I called bell, I received a message that the bill has already been sent to collections. My plan has been cancelled, but they still want the cancellation fee from me. The customer service reps were all incredibly rude, which is no surprise. I even faxed all of the documents I had received from Bell since June, because the man I spoke to on the phone told me that he didn't believe that any of this happened. Quite an elaborate story for a consumer to just make up, isn't it?
Now I have to decide whether it's worth hiring a lawyer to fight this case, or if I should just pay up. However, after almost 10 months of nonsense, dealing with either incompetent, or completely rude employees and receiving no compensation for the months of paying for a service, which I was not receiving, I am definitely leaning towards fighting.
CRAadmin Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Cell Phone

you can get any fee or charges waived by asking to speak to CRA, even if they are valid usage charges. You may not get CRA if you ask for a supervisor, that might only get you a more experienced representative...just keep asking to escalate until you get to CRA to get anything waived. they can even send you out a free demo phone sometimes.
NikkiAlton Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

False Advertisment

I just got a cell phone through Bell on the 6th of November 2009. I downloaded a song on my laptop to be uploaded to my phone last night (November 11th 2009). I got the song from the bell website, it said that the song would cost me $3.50. I wake up this morning (November 12th, 2009), to find that it had charged me over $9.00 for the song. I find this is false adverstisment.
CRAadmin Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

False Advertisment

you can get any fee or charges waived by asking to speak to CRA, even if they are valid usage charges. You may not get CRA if you ask for a supervisor, that might only get you a more experienced representative...just keep asking to escalate until you get to CRA to get anything waived. they can even send you out a free demo phone sometimes.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username