Submit a Complaint

Bell Mobility

Canada,
British Columbia

Consumer complaints and reviews about Bell Mobility

Where Have All The Good Companies Gone? Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Bell strong arms customers

In the past week I have dug deep into the "Client Care" at Bell Mobility. I purchased a Palm Pre 9 months ago on the dreaded 3 year contract (never again). It took about 3 days for it to malfunction, and so it was replaced for free due to the insurance I bought for it ($7/mo. turned out to be the best money I've spent in years). It's 9 months later and I'm on the 4th Palm Pre...the phone has hardware defects that have been admitted by Bell and the insurance company, Asurion.
My request: replace the phone with one of comparable value.
Bell hides behind the small print in their contract stating they are not responsible for the phones they sell, period. The only thing I was told I can do is deal with the "3rd party" company, Asurion, and have it replaced with another Palm Pre. Obviously, this doesn't solve the problem. After finally making to the top of the food chain in"Client Care" in TO, I was told that they were"unwilling to help me at this time", even though I have been a customer for 7 years and spend about $8000 with Bell. They know I'm in a contract I have to pay to get out of, and that I would have to repay discounts given on the phone as well, $400. Bell's tactic is to ignore the customer if they already have you committed to paying them. Horrible idea. I may be with them for another year or so until I can get out from under the burden of their service, but I will most definitely leave, and they will lose many more years of income from me.
I remember the early days of providers when they actually would give you a phone to attract you as customer - without a 3 year contract.
Heather23 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Bell strong arms customers

I would never ever deal with Bell Mobility again I had a cell phone for 10 days and ended up paying 500 dollars to get out of the contract. I had used it to call the call centre for my bell t.v. that didn't work I was put on hold for a good 15 minutes and it took 40 mins to sort out T.V I then find out I am speaking to someone in Costa Rica and am being billed on my mobile.This company should be taken to court in a class action law suite. I am with anyone wanting to. I have paid off my bell mobility phone and pray I never hear from them again.
Echofaction Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Free phone = 350.00 bill

I have been a loyal customer of Bell Mobility for about six years. I payed the higher rates than all of my family and friends because everytime I had an issue, customer service was there to respond positively and efficiently to resolve my problems. Just before christmas my phone fell out of my pocket in a parking lot, was run over and damaged, but somebody took the time out of their busy holiday schedual to return my phone to the Bell store in our local mall. When I called in to report that I had lost my phone, customer service gladly informed me of where it was and I was thrilled to collect it.

I wasn't surprised when I saw the screen damage on my old phone and mentioned casually that my contract was almost up anyways. The gentleman behind the counter offered me a surprising deal. Because I had paid for my last phone by cash, I had a great rebate on my account for a new phone. That plus a new 3 year contract and a couple of promotions they had meant that I could get an iPhone for no charge, no activation, and a free case. My plan, he said, would stay the same and then drop once my original contract expired in a couple of months.

Free phone, free activation, free case, same bill.. sounds like a no brainer, right?

Until I got my 350.00 bill the next month! Now I can understand a couple of fees to change over the old number to a new account, etc.. but this was ridiculous, and no matter who I spoke to or emailed, they all assured me that the charges were all valid. Minus some 50.00 in overages for holiday chatting and Long Distance, everything else was service charges and plan fees. You can hear the shock and confusion in every rep's voice when I try to explain to them what happened, and some have even said "well that can't be right", but it is always followed by a long wait on hold while they consult their supervisor, followed by a scripted apology and "there's nothing we can do".

Beware the bait and switch, I could have had a much cheaper plan elsewhere and now I'm paying the 400.00 cancellation fee just to get the hell away from these cheaters.
CRAadmin Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Free phone = 350.00 bill

you can get any fee or charges waived by asking to speak to CRA, even if they are valid usage charges. You may not get CRA if you ask for a supervisor, that might only get you a more experienced representative...just keep asking to escalate until you get to CRA to get anything waived. they can even send you out a free demo phone sometimes.
Studiod Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

$200 fee for being told to leave early

Anyone thinking of going to Bell for their cell phone, this is a warning.

After 8 years with Bell Cellular, having constant drop outs, and the odd extra charge for no reason, I decided to leave.

Calling their "helpful reps", I was advised that I had just a few days over a month to go on my plan.
They told me that when I move my number over (port it out), that that would count as the 1 month notice. (so no matter what I have to pay an extra month for nothing)
That is bad enough, but wait...check this out...

The rep told me that, if I ported out one month early, I would be paying the final month anyway, so I could do it early. I took her advice. I WAS TOLD TO LEAVE EARLY...and because I was paying for the last month, it made sense.

I left 24 days early, thus I will owe one month, and 6 days ...right?

I just got a final bill from Bell, they had tacked on an extra $200 early cancellation fee on top of the extra month I did not use.

I did what she advised, and now have to pay over $200 for doing so. Do they do this to make that extra little last $$. Tons of bad reports about Bell online. Some people getting charged $400, http://www.psyc3d.com/content/beware-of-bell-mobility

The Bell rep and manager on the phone yesterday were no help.

It is now in the hands of the Better Business Bureau. Wish me luck.
Any lawyers out there...I am losing sleep over this...

Before you even think of going to Bell, do some research online to keep yourself from getting overcharged by this horrible company.
CRAadmin Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

$200 fee for being told to leave early

you can get any fee or charges waived by asking to speak to CRA, even if they are valid usage charges. You may not get CRA if you ask for a supervisor, that might only get you a more experienced representative...just keep asking to escalate until you get to CRA to get anything waived. they can even send you out a free demo phone sometimes.
KCollins Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Erroneous Charges on Bill

In reviewing my monthly statement, there appeared a charge for "Hardware Change Processing Fee" for $20. However, as there has been no change in hardware, in fact I have the same phone since April 2008, the charge is in error. I called Bell Mobility immediately to have the charge reversed. They indicated (after talking with both an assistant and their supervisor), that they could not reverse the charge, but the store that placed the charge on the phone could. I thought it was SOLO Mobile, as my other daughter also has a phone and did recently change her phone. However, after speaking with the SOLO rep, and her investigation, it was determined that in fact, it was not a related charge. I was then told to phone back to Bell Mobility, as they could tell me what Corporate Bell location placed the charge on the phone. I have now called back to Bell Mobility. They are still trying to find someone who can tell me who to call to reverse the charge. This whole exchange seems surreal to me. Bell Mobility is making this MY problem to investigate and resolve an error one of their representatives has made. So far I have spent upwards of an hour on the phone (and am currently on hold for the second time in this call), waiting for someone to direct me to someone else to call. Since when is that customer service?? This incident needless to say has solidified my intentions to cancel our company's dealings with Bell (our corporate cell phone plan is through Bell), cancel my daughter's phone through Bell Mobility and canel my other daughters SOLO account. No amount of cancellation fee could deter me from doing this. If I ran my business like this, I would be bankrupt. I will be sure to pass along my story to any one who is considering a new provider, and recommend NOT going with BELL.
CRAadmin Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Erroneous Charges on Bill

you can get any fee or charges waived by asking to speak to CRA, even if they are valid usage charges. You may not get CRA if you ask for a supervisor, that might only get you a more experienced representative...just keep asking to escalate until you get to CRA to get anything waived. they can even send you out a free demo phone sometimes.
Hurricanek Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Warranty Issues & more

Months ago (March), I brought my HTC Touch in for repair at a Bell store. I have an extended warantee, and I was quickly told that the phone would be returned for repair (because it was outside the 1 year policy). 2 days later i received a call and a refurb phone had come in to the store for pick up. The refurb phone was still locked to another account holder and I left the store with the loaner phone. A couple of days later, a new phone came in. I once again went in to pick it up, the new phone would not turn on. After switching my number back and forth with their loaner phones, my account was frozen and inactive for 24 hours and after getting fed up of waiting, I called customer service myself. within 5 minutes the phone was working again. After returning from a trip outside the country, and without using my phone for 3 months, I recieve a voicemail telling me that I will be charged 299.99 for the repair due to water damage. I was unaware that these charges occured as I was already given a new phone - I assumed they had already checked the previous one. I called technical support looking for further information or proof of this incident - who knows if the phone had been tampered with after I left it at a Bell store? They tell me they will write a letter on my behalf. I'm offended at the lack of customer care and feel violated to what I assumed to be their warranty policy. I would much rather return the refurbished HTC Touch than pay for a new one.

The lack of information given to me by Bell Customer Service leaves me frustrated at the lack of service given. Instead, I was asked to confirm my identity several times during the phone call and further, once being hung up on and calling back - told that the first call had never occurred. Having been a bell customer for over 4 years, I'm insulted at this treatment.

I'm not interested in paying the 399.99 (upped from the 299.99 in the voicemail left by a bell representative) cited from a customer service agent. I'm offended that this type of treatment, and inability to gage this circumstance beforehand occurs to their loyal customers (even after paying for the warranty!!)

alas, after complaining to customer service and technical support, I am told that I will be receiving a call from a different representative within 72 hours. I will be awaiting said call, especially to see if they decide to call at all.
CRAadmin Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Warranty Issues & more

you can get any fee or charges waived by asking to speak to CRA, even if they are valid usage charges. You may not get CRA if you ask for a supervisor, that might only get you a more experienced representative...just keep asking to escalate until you get to CRA to get anything waived. they can even send you out a free demo phone sometimes.
Meginashley Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Phone

THIS COMPANY IS BY FAR THE WORST EVER TO HAVE TO DEAL WITH!

FIRST OF ALL I HAVE BEEN A CUSTOMER WITH THEM SINCE I WAS 19 YEARS OLD AND I HAVE JUST TURNED 23.. AND HAVE ALWAYS PAID MY ACCOUNT.. I WENT ONTO MAT LEAVE ... AND THEY SCREWED ME OVER BECAUSE I DIDNT PAY MY BILL IN FULL AND ONLY MADE A PARTIAL PAYMENT... AND SUSPENDED MY ACCOUNT THEN! THEY CHARGED ME 500$ AND I PAID IT ONCE I HAD THE MONEY AND I HAD TOLD THEM THAT I STILL WANTED THE SERVICE AND THAT I WANTED THE SAME NUMBER IF IT WAS AVAILABLE.. AND THEY SAID YES...

THEN!

THEY CANCELLED MY ACCOUNT WITHOUT TELLING ME! AND CHARGED ME THE CANCELLATION FEE AND SENT ITTO COLLECTIONS WITHOUT MY KNOWLEDGE UNTIL I GOT IT IN THE MAIL FROM THE COLLECTION AGENCY...

AND NOW, MY BERRY CURVE I HAVE HAS STARTED UP AND TURNED OFF RIGHT AWAY SO I SENT IT IN AND THATS FINE NO CHARGES OR ANYTHING, MY ACCOUNT IT ALL UP TO DATE.. AND PAID ITS FINE.. BUT THEY WANT 250$ FOR A LOANER PHONE AND I SAID I DIDNT WANT THE LOANER PHONE AND TO CALL MY HOUSE PHONE.. AND THEY SAID THATS FINE, UNLESS YOU HAVE ANOTHER PHONE THAT YOU PREVIOUSLY HAD YOU CAN BRING THAT ONE IN AND WE WILL SWITCH IT SO YOU CAN USE THE SERVICE ON THAT PHONE UNTIL YOUR CURVE COMES IN, AND NOW THEY ARE SAYING THAT MY OLDER BERRY I HAVE WAS REPORTED STOLEN/LOST ... AND I CANNOT USE IT NOW BECAUSE IT HAS BEEN DEACTIVATED AND UNUSABLE..


THIS IS THE WORST COMPANY EVER TO DEAL WITH AND I WILL NOT EVER RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE WHO WANTS TO SWITCH PROVIDERS! I AM GOING TO BE CALLING THE BBB ABOUT THIS AND MAKING A REPORT AGAINST THEM!

ALSO THEY FEEL IT NECESSARY TO HANG UP ON ME WHEN I AM ASKING HOW I CAN GET THE PHOEN REACTIVATED WHEN I HAVE PROVEN TO THEM THE PHONE WAS NOT STOLEN
CRAadmin Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Phone

you can get any fee or charges waived by asking to speak to CRA, even if they are valid usage charges. You may not get CRA if you ask for a supervisor, that might only get you a more experienced representative...just keep asking to escalate until you get to CRA to get anything waived. they can even send you out a free demo phone sometimes.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username