Submit a Complaint

Best Buy

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Best Buy

[email protected] Send email
 
Feb 7, 2017

Geek Squad Repair

Called Best Buy when my Fridge stopped cooling and freezing. Geek Squad member came out and did something that was supposed to restore cooling or indicate a more serious problem. Well their attempt to repair the problem didn't work and I was advised that I could pay them $548 to repair or contact manufacturer to see if that pair was still under warranty. It was but I'd have to pay a service charge for the install. Manufacturer charged to come out then informed me whatever geek squad member did had invalidated my warranty. So they would repair it either, It cost me $200 just to get the bad news and I had to buy another Fridge. I was assured by a Bestbuy Executive at Bestbuy's Corporate office that he would stay on top of the situation until it was resolve. That was in July of 2016. Even with the attorney general's office contacting Bestbuy, still no results. I have to just throw away a stainless steel french door refrigerator that lasted less that seven years.

Geek Squad Repair

User927765 Send email
 
Apr 5, 2012

I will never buy another product from them ever

It sounds like the problem was that the phone itself was defective, which Best Buy isn't responsible for doing. I worked in Mobile, and there were a few kinds of phones that were just poorly manufactured. What happens when you have the plan is that the store sends the phone out to their repair company in Texas, and if it comes back that it can't be fixed, then you get a credit for how much the phone is worth off contract. If they can fix your phone, then you get the same one you sent out back, unless you have an iPhone. In which case, you get a refurbished one back either way. It sounds to me that you had an issue on the manufacturer's side. I'm surprised you had such surly employees. It sounds like a horrible Best Buy.
User915405 Send email
 
Apr 5, 2012

I will never buy another product from them ever

I bought a phone plan with best buy in March. I bought the insurance from Best Buy as well. I have been in the store 5 times with problems on the same phone.Every time i came into the store they would reset the phone etc. I have been in to repair the phone 3 times. The 4th time my phone locked and would not let me make any calls. I contacted sprint on my friends phone and they told me to go into the store and tell them that you have been in numerous amounts of times and ask for another type of phone that matches the same price as the one you got. I called Best buy to make sure that I was told the right information.

When I went into best buy for the 4th time (2nd time that day, phone was just given back to me for a repair), I waited for an hour until a worker came up to me and told me that the manager said he could not do anything for me since the mobile manager was not present at the time. The store was about to close, I could not turn my phone on, and I was frustrated after waiting an hour for no resolution. I told them that I needed something working today and it was not right to have me waiting for an hour and not be able to at least call the police if I needed to. Well they called the police on me and said that it was closing time and that I was being irate and that I needed to leave the premises. NOTHING was handled and even the police officer was confused about the help.

I had my mother go up to best buy to pick up my supposedly “working” phone. I did not want to deal with the same un professional people. I did not add any applications only my contacts just to make sure it wasn’t me who was accidentally messing the phone up.. but after a week it wouldn’t hold a charge. I went into best buy and told them that I was told that the 5th time I come in and turn this phone in with a complaint I was able to switch it out. I did not care about paying the difference I just wanted a working phone. Charlene said that she would not look up my information, and to read the pamphlet and take a used charger and that was it. She did not listen to what I had to say about the phone. After that she said well I cant speak with you anymore I told you to call best buy and ask them what to do. While I was IN best buy. She then proceeded to walk to the front of the door and tell the security to call the police. I was sitting down and had a witness with me. She told the police and the GM that I was irate and unruly lol. I started to realize that when I ask questions about my plan or phone the workers got frustrated or told me they did not know. I ask to speak with the person over her, she said she was over her and there was no other manager there. Soon the GM came out with guns blazing. Saying how I had to get off the property and that nothing is wrong with my product even before he asked me or checked it. Then he told me since i paid for the phone and the plan and got the insurance through them that they would not give me a working phone nor a new phone and I had to just deal with that. quote: “ your stuck with that one until you upgrade or it is discontinued, im not going to give you another phone”and then told me to go to the sprint store.

I saw another unhappy customer and they were cursing and nothing was done to them. I tell them I need a working phone before I leave and they call the police! Charlene did not explain anything to me, Mr. Dixon was on the defensive before he even met me and yet I still am paying my phone bill on time and the insurance for a phone that has too many glitches. . The customer service is terrible there. I work at DHS and have better customer appreciation than they do and EVERY client comes in with an issue. I felt because I was a black woman they immediately jumped to calling the police on a 125 lbs woman in tears.

The funny thing about it was one of THEIR workers told me that they can do it and told me to print out the paper and show them the competitors price and they would do it. That information may have been wrong but at the time I was not aware and yet was treated as if I was the one in the wrong. Now I am switching from sprint and BEST BUY.. I will never buy another product from them EVER!
Thud Send email
 
Mar 17, 2012

I will never shop at Best Buy again

How long did you wait before you tried to return it?
Anti-SEO Send email
 
Mar 15, 2012

I will never shop at Best Buy again

Obviously you don't understand what a manufacturer's warranty is. If you did, you would realize that absurdity of your complaint.
Airoke Send email
 
Mar 15, 2012

I will never shop at Best Buy again

I bought a dell computer on July 27, i15rn5110, and that week when I tried to use the internet it didn't work, so I called Dell and 3 hrs later they still couldn't get it to work, so the next time I was home, labor day weekend. I called them again and an hr later Dell got it to work as long as I was sitting beside the router. I'm truck driver so am gone alot, the next time I was in town and able to get back to the Mesquite store was last Monday, they said the computer had a defective internet card and too bad for you luck.

They wouldn't exchange it but sent it to Dell to fix and said I might have to pay. That isn't going to work, I will not pay for a defective computer that they should be exchanging since they sold it. What kind of store doesn't stand behind the products they sell? If they won't exchange it then they better pay for the repairs. I will NEVER shop at Best Buy again!
Ncoclub Send email
 
Mar 11, 2012

Best Buy Miami has the worst employees in the business

If you already purchased the computer they were dead wrong for not letting you check it out. If you didn't then they were right...witch was it?
Whythelongfaces Send email
 
Mar 8, 2012

You have lost my business, utterly and permanently

The store has nothing to do with the credit services. You should have just bought the stereo for him and had him pay you back. What exactly would have been your complaint had he been turned down for the card?
MauiAL50 Send email
 
Mar 8, 2012

You have lost my business, utterly and permanently

Why didn't you just buy the stereo and installation yourself in the first place, rather than waiting for your son to get his card?
Your Mom Knows Best Send email
 
Mar 8, 2012

You have lost my business, utterly and permanently

Your complaint is a rambling and nonsensical. What is your issue exactly? Any store can't release merchandise to someone that didn't pay for it...
Poure Send email
 
Mar 8, 2012

You have lost my business, utterly and permanently

I wrote to Best Buy today about my terrible experience with them, not the first time something has been bad, and promised to post about them everywhere I could find, so here it is:

Why you have lost my business:

First, my son applied for a best buy credit card online. The card had not arrived but when we called the store (twice, to double check) they said they could look up his card number and he could make his purchases at that time. This was a lie. He wasted multiple hours and $20 of gas. I also called the store manager, left a message but he never called me back.

The card never arrived, and the trip for which I needed a car stereo is tomorrow. We have been checking the mail, since it said it would be one or two weeks, and it has been three weeks.

We called, and they said the card had just now been mailed out.

So, I needed to buy the stereo myself. I called the store to make sure it was in stock and they had time to install it today. I went online and found the correct item and installation. I called to make sure the order would be available to be installed right away. The person told me to place the order over the phone with him, and it would be available immediately.

My son once again wasted multiple hours and $20 in gas to drive to the Melbourne FL store, only to be told that the order was 'processing' and would not be available for up to 72 hours. That delay was never mentioned to me before I placed the order.

I called your 800 number and was connected to a remarkably rude woman who told me there was nothing that could be done by anyone and I was stuck, and if I wanted to be irritated with her I needed to call someone else. I cancelled the order.

I then called the store, where my son was still waiting, to see if there was a way to work through the issue and complete the purchase and installation today. The person told me that if I were in the store it would be no problem but since I was not there it was impossible. I expressed my frustration and conveyed that this was not the first, nor second, nor even tenth time something had been screwed up by best buy. The person said she was sorry but nothing could be done. I asked if she would prefer to try to work something out or if she would prefer for your company to lose my business entirely. She did not choose the first option.

You have lost my business, utterly and permanently. I am beyond angry, and I will be most happy to find every single customer alert board and blog, and post about my experiences with your excrescence of a company.
Useurhead Send email
 
Mar 4, 2012

Call of Duty

You are not old enough..deal with it. Have ur parents buy it then genius. The statemate then we tried stealing it but they were watching us like criminals...you were trying to be criminals morons
Zubi4545 Send email
 
Feb 27, 2012

Best Buy needs to hire more employees or train the ones they have to have better customer service

ATTN READERS: the above posts are all slander and lies fabricated by a very sick and pathetic individual.
We as a family are victims of MAFARIO ANTONIO AMICUCCI
He has been charged (twice) and is currently out on BAIL for the following charges:
-Criminal Harassment
-Vandalism
-Dangerous Driving with the intent to cause DEATH
-Stalking/creeping (inappropriate Watching and Following)
-Impersonation using emails/phone calls/letters to threaten public figures and members of the community
We as a family have been protected with a restraining order where by MAFARIO ANTONIO AMICUCCI is to not come within 500 ft of us, our place of residence, place of eduction and/or place of employment.
These are not allegations but FACTS as all the above mentioned charges are before the court and are also public record.
We have been victims of cyber stalking, psychological abuse, and defamation for the past SEVEN years by an individual who is obviously extremely disturbed and mentally unstable. Using IP spoofing, he has dedicated his life and every waking moment to feed this twisted obsession and fantasy of so called "revenge".
All google links are OPINIONATED blogs, complaints, and rants done by this "insider"
Isn't it odd how the SAME allegations and "updates" are obsessively repeated for days months and years...
"THE DEFINITION OF INSANITY IS REPEATING THE SAME MISTAKES OVER AND OVER AGIAN AND EXPECTING DIFFERENT RESULTS"
MAFARIO ANTONIO AMICUCCI you are the poster boy for INSANE JOBLESS LOWLIFE HOBO
-stopterrornow.wordpress.com (seriously)
-complaintsboard.com (you actually PAID to post that garbage?!)
-topix.com (enough said)
-various scam and terrorist sites
-thedirty.com (yes YOU are definitely DIRTY) etc etc etc
MAFARIO ANTONIO AMICUCCI is a social retard who some allege is a PC (diddler) case from PC breeding ground KINGSTON PENITENTIARY, smells like liquor and OxyContin breath, is balding, morbidly obese, and at age 50, lives with his MAMA MARIA GRACE AMICUCCI (SUPPA) who is clearly disappointed by his lack of social advancement. I guess ANNA-MARIA AMICUCCI (CATNILA) IS the golden child seeing as YOU are obviously the family LETDOWN

The reason this WACKOMAFO enjoys his "freedom" is because this trailer park white trash is protected by like minded pedophiles. Among them:

" JUDGE" Heather A. McGee of Newmarket Family Court- This CORRUPT Judge who actively supports PEDOPHILES and actively solicits and prostitutes her OWN CHILDREN to PEDOPHILES!!! Justice Heather A. McGee of Newmarket Family Court has actively allowed PEDOS to have custody of children. She is CLOSE and PERSONAL friend to corrupt and malicious JEW LAWYER JUDITH HOLZMAN of Maple, Ontario who actively supports these pedophiles. Justice Heather A. McGee of Newmarket Family Court ACTIVELY dismissed a request for a restarining order against WACKOMAFO against Fariba Maleki-Raei, Afarin Maleki-Raei and Foroozandeh Maleki-Raei (the harassed). This was done in ATTENDANCE of Det. Maurizio GENTILI #1133 of the York Regional Police. Det. Maurizio GENTILI #1133 of the York Regional Police is a very HONEST and RESPECTED member of the York Regional Police who did tons of work to get this PEDO and tons of WORK to get the child away from the PEDO. Justice Heather A. McGee of Newmarket Family Court sent away these THREE VICTIMS WITH no restraining order. Allowing the WACKOMAFO to terrorize and victimize not only this poor innocent girl MARYAM TORABIPOUR but also members of the YORK REGIONAL POLICE!!! Justice Heather A. McGee of Newmarket Family Court is CORRUPT, SUPPORTS PEDOPHILIA and is under investigation from various members of the York Regional Police services.


“JUSTICE “ Ronald P. Kaufman (Family Court Branch) . This is also another CORRUPT JEW JUDGE who is affiliated with JUDITH HOLZMAN. As a lawyer he has been under numerous investigations for PEDOPHILIA and CORRUPTION by the YORK Regional Police. He is also a pedophile who supports pedophiles and actively encourages CHILDREN TO BE MOLESTED in his NEWMARKET COURTS. He is also under current investigation as being a member of this SICK AND TWISTED molestation and pedo ring. His home address is :
Ronald P Kaufman
1315 Pickering Pky, Pickering, ON, L1V 7G5


Other members of the WACKOMAFO Pedophile ring (trailer trash village idiot MAFARIO ANTONIO AMICUCCI) and this is public record and under investigation by the York Regional Police:

MARIO RACCO who has allegations of SEXUAL ASSAULT against school children and corruption (can be verified via public records)
MARIO RACCO (numerous Children Aid Investigation for pedophilia) of THORNHILL ONTARIO CANADA
21 Checker Crt, Thornhill, ON, L4J 5X4
Sandra RACCO his wife has been under NUMEROUS corruption invetigations by the York Regional POLICE!!!

Close personal friend of JEW PEDOPHILE SUPPORTER JUDITH HOLZMAN:
ALAN SHEFMAN
113 Heatherton Way,
Thornhill, ON
L4J 3E7


CARMINE PERRILLI (under investigation for Pedophilia by the York REGION Police and nder other investigations by C.A.S)

1 Swan Crt, Richmond Hill, ON, L4S 1G3


OTHER corrupt NEWMARKET JUDGES under investigation by the YORK REGIONAL POLICE are:

JUSTICE McDermot (kiddiediddler)
JUSTICE A.M. HOURIGAN


Talk to the sickest most twisted piece of trailer park village trash MAFARIO ANTONIO AMICUCCI... He is a deadbeat dad who had his child taken away in a custody battle because he was deemed unfit (ONGOING PEDO ALLEGATIONS) and is now taking it out on the family... IT'S JUST REPULSIVE MY HEART GOES OUT TO MARYAM TORABIPOUR AND HER FAMILY...
XenoMiang Send email
 
Feb 27, 2012

Best Buy needs to hire more employees or train the ones they have to have better customer service

I agree about the training, I used to work there. They ran off all the good, hardworking people in our store and we were left with all new people on the sales floor that didn't care (I worked inventory). They are so tight with budget now that they usually only have one person per department, maybe 2 on Saturdays but that's it ... they aren't allowed to schedule more which led to hours being cut and people being forced to find work elsewhere. I eventually found a different job and put my two weeks in before it got worse for us in the back end of the store.
Alibraide Send email
 
Feb 27, 2012

Best Buy needs to hire more employees or train the ones they have to have better customer service

I have been to the best buy store many times. Every time I go to the store, there is many employees but no one to help the customers. Many of the employees are chatting with other coworkers or they simply are refusing to help the customers. Last year I purcharsed a PC, and I had the same problem getting help from the employees.

Today, I went to purchase a laptop, a camera, and a camcorder. I had a hard time finding help in the computer section. I would ask for help and was told to wait a minute. I finally had to get another person, and another, before one gentleman helped me. I needed help in choosing a laptop and everyone is always in a hurry to answer any questions!

Upon checkout, there was a long line. The process was as annoying as trying to get help in the different departments!

Best Buy needs to hire more employees or train the ones they have to have better customer service.
Thud Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Best Buy proved to be the worst buy of my entire life

Customers try to commit return fraud at retail stores all the time. Don't take it personally that they were suspicious. I would be suspicious too if I was told you've been sitting on a laptop for a week or longer and it was broken out of the box. Any time you buy a large ticket item, be sure to test it right away.
Ilitares Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Best Buy proved to be the worst buy of my entire life

About a month ago, during the crunch time of tax season, I purchased an expensive laptop on sale at a Best Buy nearby. At the time of purchase, I knew that I would not have the time then to set the computer up, install various programs, go out and purchase additional programs (since my older computer had Windows Xp and this new laptop had Windows 7), install these new programs as well, and transfer all of my data files onto the new computer. Such a laborious process often consumes a week’s time if all goes well; otherwise, it could consume an eternity.

So I left the laptop sealed and packaged in what appeared to be a flawlessly intact box, believing that it was better left protected in styrofoam, hermetically seal plastic wrap, and a thick cardboard casing than on a desk, prey to six very curious cats. Of course, I foolishly thought that if there were any problems with the laptop, that I could exchange it at Best Buy for another laptop. How dumb!

Yesterday when I finally had time to set up the new laptop, I opened the box, only to discover that the monitor screen had been damaged, making the computer completely useless. Consequently, I hopped into my car and drove down to Best Buy, expecting to exchange the computer for an undamaged one. How dumb again!

When I attempted to exchange the laptop, the manager on duty regarded me with the suspicion of a Gestapo officer examining my DNA. In spite of my repeated assurances that I had not dropped the laptop–swearing up and down that I had not even removed it from the box–he was as unmoved as an IRS agent seizing the very last dollar from my bank account. I explained to him that I had deliberately kept it in its protective styrofoam, sealed and unopened, and stored it in a safe place in my home, away from any temperature extremes, until I was prepared to set it up. My pleas of innocence were of no consequence. He refused to exchange it.

He did, however, offer to send it back to the manufacturer, adding, with the look of “don’t hold your breath’, that it would be entirely up to the manufacturer as to whether the damaged laptop would be replaced by Toshiba. It then occurred to me that Best Buy was simply throwing me under the bus to the whim of a manufacturer located perhaps in some very far off distant land.

The young lady at the desk, who processed my service requisition to have the laptop sent back to Toshiba for possible consideration of an exchange, explained that unless customers return their damaged laptops within an hour or so after purchase, that they are often regarded with the suspicion of having damaged the laptops themselves.

So I decided to post this blog entry to make other individuals aware of Best Buy’s posture toward its customers. There’s an old saying: buyer beware. I would also caution when purchasing anything at Best Buy, be afraid…be very afraid, and be certain to bring along your attorney, a notary public, and two witnesses. Needless to say, I recommend never buying anything at Best Buy. But if you do not mind being regarded as a liar, then I suggest before you purchase a laptop from Best Buy, that you have the sales clerk remove it from the box, plug it in, and then test every possible feature and program on that laptop for hours, if not days, before removing it from the store.

Best Buy proved to be the Worst Buy of my entire life.
Thud Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Best Buy Miami has the worst employees in the business

That is correct. New computers come with a factory seal. Once that is broken, no intelligent customer is going to buy it without a significant discount. Why did you want to open it anyway? Have you never seen a computer before?
Hoomake Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Best Buy Miami has the worst employees in the business

Best Buy Miami has the worst employees in the business. Refused to open box so that we could inspect a new computer. Told us there would be a restocking charge to open it. Employees are arrogant and abusive.
TheWayItIs Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Ripped off with Warrinty plan!!!

"Red ring of death" issues have been take care of directly by Microsoft under an extended mfr warranty for this issue only. Email Microsoft to get a return authorization to repair it. If you want outstanding customer service, take your business anywhere but Worst Buy.
Your Mom Knows Best Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Ripped off with Warrinty plan!!!

The warranty is offered by Microsoft, not by Best Buy. Furthermore, you have no understanding of said warranty.
Lazypages Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Ripped off with Warrinty plan!!!

did you contact the Mircosoft Office? If you didn't and if you hadn't opened you Xbox you can get it repaired MicroSoft will send a sticker too put on a box with your Xbox in it and you can send it too them and they'll repair it if you hadn't try too repair it your self, so give that a try.
Thud Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Fraud

This complaint might as well read "I tried to take advantage of someone's mistake, but they wouldn't let me."
Whythelongfaces Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Fraud

Computer errors happen. I guess such perfect specimens of human flesh this never happens with you? Is your name Jesus?
Online Shper Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Fraud

I am sure they changed the price rightaway. It happend to me many times. They are really bad at online customer service.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username