Submit a Complaint

british gold refinery

United Kingdom

Consumer complaints and reviews about british gold refinery

Moomintrog1 Send email
 
Mar 6, 2012

misleading

Every feedback, review and comparison website is going to hear about these crooks. A complete disgrace to the industry. Don't take it lying down guys. Small claims court doesn't cost a lot and I'd rather pay the court than pay the robbing swines at britishgoldrefinery.co.uk .
If they hold your items to ransom, as they are with me after I refused their laughable offer, then report it as theft to the police. Then it becomes evidence and they cannot dispose of it by refining it or otherwise - as they threaten to do within 10 days if you do not pay up the £50 they demand to return your jewellery. If they paid out what the display on their website you wouldn't ask for your items back!!! But apparently thats just a 'spot price' and not the price they pay!
People need to know that all of the bad reviews are true. So I'll tell as many as I can and I'd appreciate your help!!
Moomintrog1 Send email
 
Mar 6, 2012

under value

I have had to involve police and trading standards today too. They quoted me £500 online for my gold - then offered £214, saying that the online price is a 'spot price' and not the actual price they offer. I refused and asked for my watch back. They will not return it unless I pay £50. I won't pay as they are in clear breach of contract. Their website states
''•No Charge: There is absolutely nothing to pay. We provide free postage or courier collection and even free quotations*, and will return your jewellery to you completely free of charge if you decide not to accept our confirmed valuation''''
Their terms and conditions contradict this. Trading standards advised me that this is unfair business practice and a criminal offence.'
I had seen all the negative reviews about this company AFTER I sent my gold so I called and expressed my concerns and was told it was all being posted by rival gold companies trying to tarnish their name.
Well I'm here to confirm that it isn't!! They will rip you off if you give then half a chance. AVOID AVOID AVOID!!
I have now given them 24hrs to return my jewellery before I proceed with legal action.
DUKKE Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

under value

THEY ARE DISHONEST CROOKS TO SAY THE LEAST!!! PLEASE STAY AWAY FROM THEM! THEY DELIBERATELY MISLEAD PEOPLE AND THEIR T&C ARE BIASED AND UNFAIR. BUT DON'T WORRY... THEY 'LL BE SHORT LIVED AS TRADING STANDARDS ARE ON THEIR CASE!!
Paul Cleverley Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

misleading

anyone got their gold back yet?
me to has gone in feet first, should of stayed with hatton garden metals, brilliant they are.

i to get board meeting every day
Trysomewherelse Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

misleading

One of those companies that relies on the Small Print in return for the good faith one places in entrusting items to them, Not a good experience and one that has cost me Pds 50 and wasted time.
Constructivekm Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

under value

The company is a complete scam. No address on their website, no returned calls, lies about valuations. My jewellery has simply been stollen by this company. I have reported them to the police and suggest everyone does likewise.
Robbie19robbie Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

under value

on valueation of my gold on the web site my gold was 18ct and waight was 16 grams it was valued at £433.00. i sent my gold of which including the chain 2 watches and earings they phoned me and offerd me £144.00 the gold calculator showed me £433.00 this was very missleading and i think unfair now they want £50.00 to return my gold or they will refine it within 10 days if you can help me in any way it would be very much appreciated thanks anthony
Constructivekm Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

misleading

This company is now a complete scam. They are taking items of jewellery and simply keeping them without paying a penny. I have requested my jewellery back every day for a month and every day I'm told "sorry sir, it will definitely be sent today." When asking to speak to a senior member of staff, I'm told the same each day: "They are in a board meeting". Avoid.
Trainers54 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

misleading

Did my homework. Contacted them asking for the prices they pay for silver and gold. Expected return at least £80. Offered £24 and will have to pay £50 to get it back. Not happy!

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username