Submit a Complaint

Camping World

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Camping World

mnethery71 Send email
 
Oct 12, 2021

Leaking Coleman Lantern

They do not value their customers once you drive away!!! We purchased this unit in November of 2018 at Camping World Tyler, Texas and had a leak at the time and was assured it would be fixed through there rigorous testing. In June of 2019 we had to take it back to Tyler, Tx service department for the same leak. It stayed in there shop for three months due to having to replace the whole water damaged slide from a seal being installed incorrectly(not to mention when the replaced the slide they left screws to long and shredded our vinyl flooring). We were so dissatisfied with Camping World customer service they couldn't even communicate with us on what was going on. So now it has happed again the leaking in the same spot. This time we took it to another Camping World in Bossier, La and we are having trouble with the manufacturer warranty wanting to cover the same issue not fixed right the 2nd time. We reached out to the General Manager(Brandon Whitham Tyler, Tx)and wanted a buyback on our camper but he came back with some low ball amount that is way lower than what is owed so now we are stuck with useless camper.

Leaking Coleman Lantern

pcook Send email
 
Feb 26, 2019

Service Dept Damaged my Camper

I purchased a brand new 2019 Keystone camper from Camping World on December 1, 2018. I took it to them for scheduled service on January 12, 2019 to have a paint protection package applied on the camper. When we returned to pick it up on January 19, 2019 we discovered it was damaged while in their possession. They agreed to fix the damages but they have never provided me with any work orders for proof – but I do have the email communications. They told me to trust them, so I did. I had additional options installed from their recommendations while they were fixing the damages they had made. When the camper was returned to me on Thursday, February 21, 2019 @ 4:00 pm the camper had new damages to the cabinetry, along with extensive water damage. I took pictures and a video and immediately contacted Camping World. The camper was brand new (42 days old), winterized, never been used, when it was dropped off to have the paint protection. Camping World is playing the blame game – it’s a manufacturing defect – my guys didn’t do that. Everyone is in agreement the camper is severely damaged! We didn't purchase a REFURBISHED camper. Why am I now making payments on a REFURBISHED camper that had water damage? I have asked them to take the camper back, do a substitution of collateral, because the damaged happened on their property, while in their possession. They are now saying the camper is “USED” – it is not worth the same money we paid for it on December 1, 2018. I only had it for 42 days and it was returned to me with 6 inches of standing water and cabinetry damage. I was told by Camping World that I must allow the warranty work to completed on the camper to fix the damages. When I asked them to take the camper back on trade - I was told the camper is no longer worth what I paid for it because it’s “USED”. Camping World should have liability insurance for the damages that happened at their business, and should make us whole again – instead I now have a financial loss (diminished value) and they won’t do anything about it. They haven’t even agreed to replace the water damaged personal property. If WATER DAMAGE is no problem - HOW ABOUT A LIFETIME WARRANTY!

Service Dept Damaged my Camper Service Dept Damaged my Camper Service Dept Damaged my Camper Service Dept Damaged my Camper Service Dept Damaged my Camper

mwlaney Send email
 
Feb 24, 2018

lack of returning calls & messages

'The Camping World Employee manual must have a hard and fast rule - do not return phone calls to any customer or would be customer - ignore all messages, no matter what the message is. Same experience in North Carolina and in Texas. Total at different times over a period of several months: 23 messages left on phone calls-- about half voice mail messages and half left with reception operator and other personnel, 3 fax messages, more than 12 emails, to both Charlotte & near by town in North Carolina and Lubbock Texas CW Service departments - not one return call.ever received back on any of these efforts. .
The only time I can talk to the person being called is to happen to make a call at at time that the person actually answers the call.
I wouldn't keep trying if they weren't the only Winnebago dealer option in the geographic areas that I needed service.
Nicole123 Send email
 
Jul 27, 2017

Avoid Camping World

•••Customer Alert•••
Buyers Beware... Unprofessional, rip-offs to say the least. Spend money elsewhere. Avoid these stores like the plague. Our one too many experiences with this business both online and in-store have always left us always disgusted.
Thank you all for reading and heeding this with advanced warning signs given to you, family/friends and or enemies.
Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

The customer is NOT always right!

Camping World - Albuquerque,NM May 02,2007
Aaron Aragon - General Manager

At 8AM on April 23,2007, I arrived here for my appointment to install 2 window awnings on my 2006 National Seabreeze LX. Knowing that these awnings would have to be pre-ordered, I called at the beginning of the month and spoke to the service department at length to order the correct sizes and colors that would match the existing patio awning. We are full time RVers and would only be in Albuquerque for one week and I schedule the appt. for the first working day we were there.

On arrival, my appt. could not be found in their computer and I told them when I had called and who I had spoken to. My husband had called again on April 9 and added the installation of an air filter but they had no record of that either. We were told that it was lucky they had a cancellation that morning and should be able to get the jobs done by early afternoon. I was assured that our awnings were there and we left the MH and went off in our car to pick up friends staying north of the city.

We received a call a half hour later from the service department stating that there were no awnings there, as we had not prepaid for them. I was extremely upset and asked why a payment was never requested when I ordered them over the phone, and was even given an appt. and was assured they would be there on time. I asked to speak to the manager and was told he was busy but would call me back as soon as possible. In the meantime we turned around and drove 15 miles back to the store.

While speaking to the manager, I was informed that prepayment for special orders is their policy. That was fine with me but they apparently forgot to ask for it when I placed my order. I would have been more than willing to give them a credit card over the phone if they had asked for it. Now I asked how they could resolve this as it wasn't my job to know their policy. I asked for overnight shipping at their expense and the manager said it was impossible because no carrier could handle the 12 foot pole length of the one awning. Since we had reservations the following week further east, he said the only thing he could do is order the awnings then and have us drive to another location for installation and he would comp the installation charge of $80.00. I also stated that I wanted them to pay for the shipping charges for my inconvenience of having to go out of my way to another store location. He agreed and then went to the service department to write up the new charges.

The new bill reflected a savings of only $100.00 over the original bill of approximately $800.00. Upon closer inspection, we did not have the same figures I was quoted on the phone. My original quote for the awnings was $998.76 minus $199.00 for discounts and President's club savings. He stated those figures were wrong and how did he know where I got those numbers from and also that I probably heard wrong over the phone. I told him why do you think I wrote everything down that day including who I spoke to etc. He said the original bill would have been approximately $1000.00 and he was comping $300.00 for shipping and installation. I had been quoted $72.00 for shipping 2 awnings and $80.00 for installation less the President's club discount. He handed me a reworked bill and told me that was it, take it or leave it and you and I are finished.

To sum it all up, I expected to pay $800.00 for this job. I did everything necessary for this appt. and Camping World dropped the ball and offered me $100.00 for my inconvenience, 3 unpleasant hours at their store that morning, and a lesson that the customer is NOT always right and as a result I will no longer be a customer.

Sincerely,
Patricia Weber
Don-J Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

The customer is NOT always right!

So... you got a custom-made 12 foot awning produced, shipped to a different location, installed for free ... and for $100 less than you planned to pay for it in the first place (not to mention $300 less than the dealer really wanted) and... you're complaining about it? Sheesh, lady... really??

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username