Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Care.com

United States,
Massachusetts

Consumer complaints and reviews about Care.com

Paz.beta Send email
 
Nov 8, 2018

Discrimination in care.com

I feel I was discriminated with any chance to appeal to that decision.
No reason, no nothing.
And I loose every contact or possibility of job.
We have to do something.
Imbubblezz Send email
 
Sep 25, 2018

Unable to join for background requiremebts????

I have worked with children since I was 16 years old. I have gone through the rigors of exyensive training, fingerprinting, background checks, etcetera..many times in the last, 35 years, with absolutely no problems. I have supplement income, as a single mother, by working with children, and have never had any issues or complaints. I have a daughter that I have raised to adulthood and an 11 year old; I volunteer at her school, and pass that background check qith no problems.
BUT....
For whatever reason I have been told I cannot or did not pass a background check to join Care.com??? This is insane! I contact customer service and they state that I tried to sign up in the past, at which time I was given 90 days to rectify the issue, but did not. (I very well could have made an acct in the past, but certainly would have remembered if I was ban from something fir a background check, and would have fought it tooth and nail at that time.)
Ultimately, I am being told I am banned from the site, indefinitely, for not passing a background check. I am more than confused. If a customer writes to them with cincerns such as this, they should at least tKe the time to open an investigation. This could be mistaken identity, stolen identity, anything!
Mic Send email
 
Jun 27, 2018

Banned from Care.com

Something is seriously wrong with this company. I'm so glad to see I'm not the only one who's been terminated for no good reason. Had my account for years with only good reviews, had a premium membership and it was also my sole means of finding work. Being a single mother it helped tremendously for find work in the private care taking field. Years of good reviews with a profile in the top 10% went down the drain in one day. I complained and asked them to please look into the matter again because I am not a criminal, have a wonderful driving record and have broken no rules. They were kind enough to reopen my account only to close it once more 4 months later. They make no sense whatsoever and are causing innocent hard working people an unnecessary amount of stress for them and their families who rely on their site for employment. Buyer beware!!!
Bluebonnetbum Send email
 
Jun 3, 2018

Banned from Care.com

My account was closed on care.com for no reason. I was inactive for while and then became active for a week or so and before even corresponding with any members I was removed. Seems I am now banned for good. Its infair because so many parents seeking nannies will be using this site and people like me will miss out because of unfair practices by Care.com.
Cherbee Send email
 
May 17, 2018

Account termination

I have been a member of Care.com for about 7 years now. I'm a nanny. I recently have been looking for a new job. I was messaging back and forth with people. Everything was going great. All of a sudden, I get an email stating that my Care.com account has been terminated. I went through all of the possibilities and there is absolutely NO reason why it should have been terminated. Now I'm going through Hell trying to find a new nanny position because of God knows what! This is unacceptable. I need an explanation. All I can think of is, they are just allowing any jerk out there to make a false complaint without investigating and wonderful people are people kicked off for Nothing. So ridiculous and unfair.
Catherine Chandler Ashworth Send email
 
May 2, 2018

Banned account/ hacked account

Would give zero stars if I could. My account was terminated within like 2 hours of me having it. Apparently I had been sending emails to a woman I had ONLY sent ONE email to in reguards to watching my pets and checking out my listing. It was the basic message that care send for you. I then bgot an email update with her responses to emails that I NEVER sent her. She was angry and upset and I gave absolutely no idea as to why. I’m not sure if this type of hacking has happened with other users but it’s completely unprofessional and care needs to figure it out.
Alvarez100 Send email
 
Nov 17, 2017

Closed account for no reason

I had my account for so long, since i had a job i did not need it but keept it open! A few weeks ago i started looking for a full time job and paid then they decided to close my account for no good reason and will not return my email. They are jeopardizing my job and reputation by doing this! I have been hired by families thru this site and have never had an issue with them!
mgomo Send email
 
Sep 7, 2017

Auto renew billed for 10 months

Same trap. Selected one month subscription, didn't like the service and continued to get billed for 10 months before I realized. No emails saying I've extended another month, no subscription renewed confirmations, no messages even within my care.com account itself. This day and age this should not be happening. My credit card company will go back 180 days and credit me, assuring me regardless of what care.com says they consider this fraud. What care.com said when I contacted them was a form email (I'm sure they send it out a hundred times a day) saying I should have thoroughly read under section 8.2 in their user agreement! REALLY 8.2? You'd think 1.1 at the worst. I too am looking for a class action attorney.
mariazoey Send email
 
Aug 25, 2017

Care.com is contacting families as me without my consent

I registered as a care provider on care.com this week after a move. I have gotten jobs on the site before, but was mystified today when another member I had never contacted thanked me for contacting them and said she had already filled the position. Confused, I looked at my messages. There were several applications to jobs, sent to families without my knowledge or consent, containing my bio information.

I have NEVER authorized care.com or any of its bots or employees to contact families, applying me for jobs without authorization. I want a refund for the background check and a cancellation of my account. I am furious at this unauthorized misuse of my information, including my name and photo.
sgilleman Send email
 
Aug 23, 2017

Scammed by Unethical Business Practices

There really needs to be a class action lawsuit against Care.com. So many people, myself included, have been scammed by these unethical business practices. I was continually charged for premium membership $39/month for two years after an ENDLESS series of calls to customer service and assurances that my membership was cancelled. I never used this service but was charged $39/month for two years. A complaint to the BBB yielded nothing because Care.com simply said they never heard from me that I wanted to cancel my membership. I am a widow and every dollar counts; it is despicable of companies to prey on those families seeking help with childcare.
DinaM14 Send email
 
Jul 31, 2017

Charges after cancellation

I cancelled my care.com account within minutes of signing up. Specifically, I chose "I signed up as a care provider by mistake." I was looking for tutoring jobs this summer. Following this mistake, I thought I would perhaps get a refund, especially since I was directed to use a separate email and create a new account (which I did). Unfortunately, I realize that some mistakes are costly so I was not all that surprised when I did not receive a refund, or even an acknowledgement from care.com about how frequently this must happen since there is an entire cancellation category dedicated to it. I am a single mother and a school teacher and every dollar counts. Needless to say, I was surprised when my card was then charged another $39 a month later! I only found this complaint board by searching "class action suit against Care.com" after I found the unbelievable number of complaints on your Facebook page. I actually hired someone last fall from this website and that is why I thought it might work for me. Now I think it is just a scam. I fully plan to shout that from every mountaintop I can find and will definitely keep looking for whatever creepy lawyer is out there preparing that class action suit I searched for when I came across this page. I have contacted you four times by email and have held through you endless loop on the phone. I even tried to contact someone through my active account to try to get through. This must stop. You must refund me and all the other hard-working people out there that you are stealing from. Dina Marney
nimblemichael Send email
 
Jul 4, 2017

Care.com is engaged in unethical business practices

As others have rightly stated, CARE.COM auto renewal policy is unethical. They lure customer in with a trial and continue to charge the credit card every 3 month,s making the charges harder to track. I was charged $300 for the service subscription over the last year without my knowledge. I finally caught the charge and tracked it back to Care.com.

I contacted customer service. I explained that I had not knowingly continued the subscription past the trial period. I had not used their service after that point. The customer service representative stated that there was nothing they would do as there is a statement on the website allowing them to engage in ongoing charges until the customer cancels the subscription.

I understand legalities and loopholes, but this is about right and wrong. If a customer has not used a service and asks for a refund, regardless of their legal small print, a ethical company will refund the money. Care.com is clearly not interested in business ethics or their reputation. Care.com is a scam.
natalie@covrig.com Send email
 
Jun 1, 2017

Auto Renew / Charges After Cancellation

On 05/31/17, I received another charge on my debit card for $57.00 for a subscription I had already cancelled 6 months prior. On 12/30/16, I cancelled my subscription online with care.com. After not receiving any confirmation via email as most services provide, I called on 01/02/17 and spoke with Rebecca in customer service/billing. She assured me that my subscription was cancelled and no further billing will incur. I logged in on 06/01/17 to discover that my account was re-activated and my card was billed for more services. Now I have to go back and see what other charges from the last 6 months I did not catch on my bank statement.
venkatam Send email
 
May 2, 2017

AUTO RENEWAL SCAM

CARE.COM auto renewal policy is just unethical. I am an IT Professional but still fell into the trap. Wanted to try CARE.COM for just one month but my credit card keeps getting charged. There is no way you can reach Customer Service to express your concern and request refund. They just throw you out. Will never advise anyone to try CARE.COM
shenry Send email
 
Mar 28, 2016

AUTO RENEWAL CARE.COM SCAM

i signed up for a one month membership for my sister with my debit card on care.com, I used an account that I rarely used. i check my account and saw 1yr plus of unauthorized charges from care.com. I contacted the company demanding a refund several times and was told they can only refund me charges less than 30 days old. they said the renewal information is stating in their terms of service and is cleared for members to see which is a lie. the auto renewal is the smallest prints no one pays attention to. They don't even have the manners to send you a reminder that money will be withdrawn from your account so you can have an option to cancelled it. This company is a rip off, they don'f find jobs for you, the website is difficult to navigate beacuse each time you clicked on a job you have to start from the beginning if you applied for the job or decides you are not interest in the job. You get lot of scam employers emailing yuou about sending money to pay you upfront for baby sitting because they are on thier way from another country and wants you to deposit the money through ATM and wired the rest to someone else the same day. SCAMMED company. PEOPLE BE AWARE OF CARE.COM AND DON'T GET SUCK INTO THE SERVICES. I ALREADY CONTACTED A LAWYERS OFFICE TO BRING A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT AGAINST CARE. COM AND IS ABOUT TO CONTACT WHDH.COM SCAM DEPARTMENT, SO THEY CAN SHED THE LIGHT ON CARE. COM FOR OTHER PEOPLE TO KNOW. ANYONE WISHING TO JOIN ME please email me at shenry47@juno.com
Judith Elliott Send email
 
Oct 20, 2014

Scam

I received an email saying this person got my information from care. Com. He was looking for child care as he and family were coming from Australia . He sent me a check to be deposited into my bank and I was suppose to buy green dot checks. I waited for the check to clear before I acted on it and it came back as fraudulent . My question is how did he get my contact information? Now I just received another text from someone else stating that they got my info from care.com also. This one I will ignore please address this situation!
Christine072167 Send email
 
Jan 22, 2014

Wrongful termination from Care.com

I was amazingly surprised at how many people have been terminated from Care.com without explaination. I hired an attorney who can not get any information, based on what we all signed saying we can be terminated for any reason at any time without explaination.

Someone, an attorney friend of mine who knows how contracts like this work. She has suggested going on the news or reporting it to the news.

Anyone here willing to do that in there area? I am in the Boston area, and am looking for people to join in. It would also be wonderful if we all did it on our own local news.

What do ya think?

christinemello@comcast.net
User929687 Send email
 
Apr 10, 2012

Auto Renewal

Hi Care.com:
You heard from me today at Care.com. I was the one who waited on the phone for over and hour because there was a line of people like me on the phone the first of this month. That must be a great job for your reps. they must really appreciate your way of doing business. We spoke about how you auto-renewed my account. You did refund me because you saw I never even was on the site for a while. Who would think that when you sign up for a one or three month membership that you would be auto renewed after that time? Before you say, read the fine print or downgrade or whatever hoop you want to tell me to do.. we all know that auto renewal programs are sleazy ways to get people to give up a month or two of fees before they see what happened. And by then they are either embarrassed by their lack of reading the fine details or don't bother to follow up. Congrats care.com you've stolen thousands if not millions I'm sure, in money from people who would not think in a million years that a company providing care would do this. Why would a company set up from moms was it, do this auto renewal bs? Why not be straightforward, and let people know in large writing upfront that the 3 months will be charged over and over AND send an email when it is coming due AND a receipt. I will tell you why as a small business owner, only sleazy companies deal with auto renewals and hiding things that need a magnifying glass to see.

Google Amazon.com care.com reviews to see what people are saying. The trust is now gone. To top it off the service is not at all helpful. I had perpetual job seekers who just liked to post profiles and interview with no intentions of ever working.. And that was just a couple responses anyway. I had a lot better luck with friend and family referrals.

Time to close. You got greedy fast. The trust is gone. I only feel sorry for those who are at this moment being ripped off without knowing it.

Linda M
User908530 Send email
 
Apr 10, 2012

Auto Renewal

What a whiny ass rant. They didn't steal anything. Anybody not smart enough to read the terms of what they are agreeing to deserves to be held accountable for their stupidity.
User927839 Send email
 
Apr 9, 2012

Poor customer service and billing practices

I signed up for Care.com to find home care while I was recuperating from foot surgery. The caregivers who post ads are not very reliable and back out of things at the last minute. The person whom I thought was going to help never got in touch with me and I ended up getting someone else, who mostly complained about her fibromyalgia and how she could not lift anything, nor could she push a wheelchair, which she never told me about before. I don't think they really do any background checks and I would never use any of these people again. I am cancelling my subscription and what was supposed to be a one-time use ended up being a charge on my card every single month, as others have posted. I do not mind at all paying for quality, but to be charged $35 per month for substandard services is more than anyone can stand. I do not recommend using this website or company, ever. Right now I am on hold with them to speak to someone about cancelling my account, and I have already been on HOLD waiting for someone to talk to me for over 33 minutes, according to the digital timer on the phone!!
User926311 Send email
 
Apr 9, 2012

Poor customer service and billing practices

Hi Janice,
Thank you for sharing your feedback and I apologize for the experience you had while using Care.com. If you would like us to take another look into your account, please feel free to contact me at kschlemmer@care.com. I would be able to handle any complaint you have about another member and I would be able to address any concerns you have about the billing on your account. We are currently experiencing high volume in our call center, but we are doing everything we can to minimize the wait for our members.

Thank you,
Kristen
Care.com MemberCare Representative
User921721 Send email
 
Mar 26, 2012

Refusal to Provide Service

I signed up with Care.com so that I could post a position for a nanny. I submitted my job description and it got rejected, presumably because I used bullets instead of full sentences (I think). I resubmitted and it got rejected again, but customer service didn't know why. They stated they would look into and get back to me but have not. So I have paid foa subscription that they will not all me to use.

This is not a good business.
User921526 Send email
 
Mar 26, 2012

Refusal to Provide Service

Hi and thanks for your feedback. Without looking at your account, I can not give you a definitve reason why your account has not been approved yet. With that being said, I do apoloze for the lack of help you have received so far from our Member Care team. If you would like us to take another look at your account, feel free to email us at careteam@care.com. Just make sure to use the subject: ATTN: Kristen, so it will be directed to me.

Kristen
Care.com MemberCare Representative
George H James Send email
 
Mar 9, 2012

SCAM TO TAKE YOUR FUNDS

BEWARE OF CARE.COM These people are scammers. No question about their intention. DO NOT SIGN UP!! They will dupe you into one month and then charge you monthly for nothing after you use their services. Then when you question it they will for weeks send polite notes saying that they cant find you or your address or your card info ...AND THEN THEY ASK FOR YOUR SS NUMBER!!! That was the biggest alarm bell of all particularly as they wouldnt have had it in the first place.
THESE PEOPLE ARE ROGUES. DISHONEST CHEATS TRYING TO EXTRACT MORE INFO FROM YOU FOR OTHER PURPOSES. THEY WILL TAKE YOUR MONEY AND GIVE YOU NOTHING! Here are all their emails making excuses for days they cant find us yet they are still sending emails as you can see on their list to the address I gave them. The point is they know they are scamming every customer who joins for a month to find a nanny or cleaner and then fleeces them for months afterward until they notice regular charges on their bills. For those who travel will not see this for months and wind up owed hundreds when they eventually look over their card statements properly. There appears to be a lot of complaints about this company everywhere with regards to this illegal scam operative practice Care.com have created. BEWARE!
Martha At Care.com Send email
 
Mar 9, 2012

SCAM TO TAKE YOUR FUNDS

Hi George H James, I apologize for the experience you had, as it was never our intention to mislead our members. Care.com states on the payment page that "All subscriptions automatically renew until cancellation" so that members are aware that it is a subscription service. Once you upgrade, you get a confirmation page giving you the option to "Set a Reminder, " which sends you reminder emails leading up to your automatic renewal date. I reviewed the full email chain that you noted above and do see that you were sent a confirmation email about your subscription and that you would be renewed.

In your case, you replied to the confirmation email under an email account that we do not have on file thus we could not find your account. We would need more information in order to review your account like your full name and/or email address on file, last 4 digits of the card, etc. We do not capture individuals seeking care's SSN number thus would not request that. I've reviewed the emails and do not see that request. If you can find that email, please do forward that to us.

Again, we are happy to review your account once we are able to find it. You can also do this yourself by simply signing into your account, the scrolling to "Membership Information" under "My Profile and Settings." Once you are there, click on "Downgrade." This will set your account to downgrade to the free membership, but will keep your information in our system so that you can log in and upgrade anytime. This process is detailed out in our FAQ page under "How do I close my account?"

If you'd rather call in, the Care.com Member Care lines are open 10-6 Monday-Friday EST, voicemails are returned same day at 877.227.3115. -Martha at Care.com

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Immigration of malaysia - Illigel immigrants and fake agent
    kedai pancing undang atas tingkat 3 ada 15 bilik untuk...
    Chowking Market Market - Service
    It took 20 minutes before I got my ordered food. If I...
    Poslaju Parcel Hub - STUCK
    ER 646924961 MY ER 654233530 MY Dari 13 nov sampai...
    MYDIAL DIGITA LED A MEDIA PVT.LTD. - My dial
    Akash SARODE sabke paise lekar bhag gya h mere bhi 500000...
    Horizoncardserviceses.com - Y’all scammed me out of my money
    Give me my money back now or you will be hearing from my...
    EMS Speed Post - Mumbai, India - ATM Card
    I have applied for the ATM card on 26th October 2018 I...
    POS MALAYSIA - Parcel Not Delivered
    ER605756005MY Parcel stuck at ECPC subang jaya for more...
    Edcon - R1200-00 voucher if you buy for R1200 or more
    I got and SMS advising me if I buy for R1200-00 I will...
    POS LAJU - PARCEL NOT PROCEED
    ER705307525MY Status - Your parcel has departed the...
    pizza hut malaysia - BAD SERVICE
    The price for a take away pizza is suppose to be rm10....

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Immigration of malaysia - Illigel immigrants and fake agent
    kedai pancing undang atas tingkat 3 ada 15 bilik untuk...
    Chowking Market Market - Service
    It took 20 minutes before I got my ordered food. If I...
    Poslaju Parcel Hub - STUCK
    ER 646924961 MY ER 654233530 MY Dari 13 nov sampai...
    MYDIAL DIGITA LED A MEDIA PVT.LTD. - My dial
    Akash SARODE sabke paise lekar bhag gya h mere bhi 500000...
    Horizoncardserviceses.com - Y’all scammed me out of my money
    Give me my money back now or you will be hearing from my...
    EMS Speed Post - Mumbai, India - ATM Card
    I have applied for the ATM card on 26th October 2018 I...
    POS MALAYSIA - Parcel Not Delivered
    ER605756005MY Parcel stuck at ECPC subang jaya for more...
    Edcon - R1200-00 voucher if you buy for R1200 or more
    I got and SMS advising me if I buy for R1200-00 I will...
    POS LAJU - PARCEL NOT PROCEED
    ER705307525MY Status - Your parcel has departed the...
    pizza hut malaysia - BAD SERVICE
    The price for a take away pizza is suppose to be rm10....
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username