Submit a Complaint

Carid.com

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Carid.com

MikeM Send email
 
Oct 7, 2020

CARiD

THIS COMPANY IS RUN BY CROOKS THAT TAKE YOUR MONEY AND MAKE ALL KINDS OF EXCUSES TO NOT REFUND YOUR PURCHASE WHEN IT ARRIVES BROKEN< WRONG< SCRATCHED ETC> DO NOT I REPEAT DO NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM CARiD. THERE ARE MANY OTHER CHEAPER MORE TRUSTWORTHY ONLINE RETAILERS OF THESE PRODUCTS TO CHOOSE FROM> MOST ITEMS SOLD BY THESE GUYS ARE DROP SHIPPED FROM THE MANUFACTURE AND CARiD DOSENT EVEN HAVE STOCK OF ANYTHING> THATS WHY THEY TRY SO HARD TO FOLLOW STRICT RETURN ITEM RETENTION> ASSHOLES
[email protected] Send email
 
Jan 17, 2020

NOT HONORING THEIR ONLINE PRICE

On 1/12/20, I ordered an air compressor online with Car ID. The cost was $242.95 + $21.49 for shipping for a total of $264.44. I paid $264.44 on 1/12 via credit card. I then received an email confirmation of the purchase from Car ID on 1/12. At that point, I thought all was well. On 1/15, I followed with Car ID to see when I could expect delivery as I had not heard anything further. At that point, I was told the air compressor would not be delivered until I paid an extra $104.00 due to their pricing error. I first spoke with customer service and they said they made a pricing mistake and there was nothing they could do. I have talked to 3 different supervisors/managers to no avail . The basic messaging is that they are sorry, they will issue a refund but there is nothing more they are willing to do as they have absolutely no intention of honoring the quoted price. I asked for the next level supervisor and was told 'I assure you, you won't get any higher than me'. The same item is now listed on Car ID for $442.29. That is quite a big mistake (coming close to double the original cost), wouldn't you say? With a growing company making the money they are making, and talking the way they do about strong customer service and values, I strongly feel they are 'missing the mark' on this one! Order #32760034. Bryce W.
terry space Send email
 
Oct 1, 2019

Warranty

DONT DEAL WITH CARID
I purchased auto vent shades part# 194675 and installed as per mfg. instructions. when rolling up windows they binded and one visor broke. I removed all four as two others were binding as well. I filed a claim to have them replaced and received an email stating they needed a video of them installed on vehicle. THEY WERE REMOVED SO I COULD SECURE VEHICLE!! I called and was told that I am out of luck. This will definitely be my last order with this RIPOFF COMPANY!! order #31490704
ldmc Send email
 
Jun 22, 2019

never received product

Order Number 29937717 for
SKU: 937744648
Rixxu™ HD-F165-STTC - Hard Tri-Fold Tonneau Cover

I ordered this on May 12th, said the estimated shipping date would be May 17th, 2019. When I never received notification that it had been shipped I called and was told the ship date would be June 14th, 2019. My account had been charged immediately upon ordering instead of waiting until product shipped. This was something that was needed by June 1st. I did not cancel the order at that time,
but then June 14th came and went and it still wasn't shipped. I called today, June 22, 2019 to check on my order and guess what,
CarID was not going to be able to fulfill the order at ALL. Had they contacted me, NO THEY DID NOT. AS FAR AS I AM CONCERNED YOU HIJACKED MY MONEY FOR OVER A MONTH. NOW I HAVE TO WAIT UNTIL MY MONEY IS BACK IN MY ACCOUNT TO BE ABLE TO ACTUALLY BUY WHAT I NEED. THIS COMPANY IS THE WORST!!!!!!!
Integrity carid first Send email
 
Apr 24, 2019

Damaged used products sold as new

Carid sold damaged repaired rims as new. When questioned they explained damage occurs. Yeah but it's not pained back over w nail polish. They refused to review the issue and ignored at all costs.
Robert nowak Send email
 
Feb 6, 2019

Torque thrust rims will not fit on my 86 El Camino

Bought torque thrust aftermarket wheels through CARiD the sales person guaranteed me they would fit my vehicle and even their advertising said guaranteed fitment. First of all when the wheels arrived I tried to fit them on and it appeared to fit so I went and had tires mounted and then went to put them on my vehicle and they sent me the wrong Lugnuts no big deal things happen. They sent me out the right Lugnuts and a nice sunny day I went to go for a drive and got 50 feet away from my garage and heard a scraping noise. Here are the rims were rubbing against steering components when I put weight on the front of the car after taking it off Jack’s stance. Called Carid and they said that the rims are guaranteed to fit but they do not and will not refund me because I had mounted tires on them and I kept saying what about guaranteed fitment so I sent him pictures and videos what happened and they sent me wheel spacers. Well here we go again with the guaranteed fitment they do not fit my vehicle either they want me to measure The hub and give them the measurement why should I do their job when their expert technicians are the ones getting everything wrong four weeks later still on able to drive my car and fighting with them to get this resolved this is a lot of BS stay away from this company very poor customer service and guarantees. All I want is the right front wheels for my vehicle they will not even swap the wrong ones for the right ones terrible terrible company
tattboy Send email
 
Mar 29, 2018

Wrong part

Ordered a patch body panel for my truck, the conformation email showed the right panel with the right size, the one I received was wrong with a tag on it of its size, the wrong size. After arguing with them for 45 minutes they switched me to someone who can assist me with the return & here's where things get interesting, after debating with her for several minutes I finally demanded her to give me the info on returning the item with a refund, she said ok but we need a favor from you, we need you to destroy the item & send us the images & you'll get an immediate refund.........I said are you joking with me? She said no. If you want a refund destroy the part & send us the images. Why? So you can have proof that it's destroyed & not give me a refund? Hung up! This ain't over!
ahousefullj Send email
 
Feb 7, 2018

CARid attempt to bribe!!!

I recently placed an order for front end parts.
I was informed by the person I spoke with that all the parts were in stock and would shop out following day.
These parts were urgently required which is the reason for clarifying the availability and shipping info.
I received partial order! When I called and inquired the person that I placed order with, and who gave me an extension number to reach her directly, could not be reached!! The number given was not a valid extention number! I finally reached someone who informed me that the missing parts would ship out that afternoon! This was 5 days after the order was placed!!! Today I received a call from CARid stating they would provide me a " $5 " dollar gift card if I would remove my complaint!!!!
I lost a 9500$ sale because of CARid's incompetency !!!
Midas Send email
 
Nov 28, 2017

Fradulent Company - Can't return

I bought window shades for 2017 Honda Ridgeline. 3 Experienced technicians could not install them since they caused the power windows to go down automatically due to errant fitment.
I have had nothing but problems trying to get a return tag.
They lied and said they sent one , but did not.
Now they say that they want a Video of the installation , and if the part has been installed they will not accept it back. You have to install it, or attempt to , to ascertain that it won't fit.
They seem to be a Sham outfit.

Mike Chilando
Nashville TN
shopland Send email
 
Oct 18, 2017

CARID dose not honor warantee

Purchased new air shocks for my 2008 GMC Envoy. had them installed and in less than 2 weeks they leaked down & went flat. Had mechanic inspect to find problem (I thought the lines or connectors may have had leak) to find the new air shock has a hole. I called CARID to get replacement under warantee, but they said it was not covered?

It was easy to order, but hope you dont have any problems because they will not fix it or help with any problems
GregS Send email
 
Apr 26, 2015

Part backordered 4 months

In February I ordered a power steering pump. The website showed it as "in stock". I was not surprised when a week later it became backordered. I accepted this delay. Then a month later, another email from them said it was backordered again. I accepted this also thinking that it would ship before this month long additional backorder. It did not ship and in fact I received another, third, month long backorder.
In the meantime I contacted the company that actually does the rebuilding of my part. They stated that the part would take only several days to repair. But I could not send them my part, only an authorized distributor could send the "core" in. When I sent this email to carid.com they said that they were not a distributor but bought their parts from a distributor.
So now I have cancelled my order. End of story, NO. After cancelling my order they have not even started the refund process and even my cancelled order does not appear on their website as ever existing of being cancelled.
Keith247 Send email
 
Mar 24, 2012

Innacurate product description

Complete escalade conversion lol . 2500 bucks you get some fender covers a grill cover and a hood with no latch no mounting brackets or hardware . Car id is a rip off i was robbed to say the least.
Toby Send email
 
Mar 24, 2012

Innacurate product description

The descriptions and photos of the products on their website are a farce ! Inaccurate descriptions and photos are not representative of the item they are selling, Spent HOURS on hold to speak with "customer service" to return the Coverking seat covers that I purchased ( "Easy Returns", "Hassle Free", "No Headaches" ) and after two weeks and a dozen emails and phone calls, have still not received an RMA from CARiD and have submitted a dispute through my creditor for a full refund.

Submitted a "Customer Review" of the product on the CARiD website ( "1 Star" ) and it was not posted to the site so evidently, only "good" reviews will be posted on their site -- FAR from honest !

IF YOU ARE INTERESTED IN READING THE DETAILS ABOUT MY EXPERIENCE WITH CARID, INCLUDING PHOTOS OF THE ACTUAL SEAT COVERS I RECEIVED ( CARiD PART # 141744 ), VISIT WWW.RIPOFFREPORT.COM AND SEARCH "CARID"

CARiD is the absolute worst I have ever dealt with -- CHEAP, POOR QUALITY products, NON-EXISTENT customer service, and their "Easy Returns" policy is anything but "easy". I have submitted complaints about this on just about every unbiased customer review site that I can find on the internet, filed a dispute with my creditor and submitted a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. I am making it my personal mission to spread the word about CARiD -- CAVEAT EMPTOR ( "Buyer Beware" ) !!!
Keith247 Send email
 
Mar 24, 2012

This is a horrible business that needs to be shut down

I got taken for over 2500 bucks for an escalade cover . Car.id called it a complete escalade conversion kit. This company should be shut down i agree 100%
Peggy Send email
 
Mar 24, 2012

This is a horrible business that needs to be shut down

I ordered front and back bumper guard bars for my truck from them. i called because i wanted to make sure they had what i wanted. they told me yes everything i wanted was in stock and would be mailing monday. monday nothing. so wednesday still no tracking number. i call and they told me they were gonna check for me and would call me back. i get no call back but an email. telling me that they have one of my bars and the other is on back order. they said they would be mailing me one and the other was on 30 day backorder. so what am i supposed to do with one bar. i instantly replied in the email that i wanted a full refund. i called the next day as soon as they opened and told them i want a refund. they told me i have to wait for the manufacturer to give them the money back. even tho i paid them, not a manufacturer. its now been over a week and i still dont have my money. im out close to 500$ right now. ive called way too many times and still nothing. this place is the definition of unproffessional. this is a horrible business that needs to be shut down. do not buy anything at all from this place.
Keith247 Send email
 
Mar 24, 2012

Garbage parts, no backing of product

I bought an escalade conversion kit for a 1996 chev carid said all you needed was headlights and profetional install recomended. They charged me 1250 to start added 300 bucks for shipping after duty brokerage etc ... cost me almost 2500 bucks for a crappy grill cover a hood with no latch and fender covers . Carid said kit includes hood fenders grill&bumper . 100% ripped me off they are a scam
Makenzy Send email
 
Mar 24, 2012

Garbage parts, no backing of product

Garbage parts, no backing of product...Stay away from carid. High prices for cheap parts...e-bay is a much better choice. Run around from day 1. I wish I would of looked at reviews of carid first. Live & learn!
Hobbyharley Send email
 
Feb 27, 2012

Biggest mistake ordering from them

Well, I just ordered from this company for the first time. Sunday Feb 26, 2012. Will post a comment later after my items come, or don't come, in a timely manor.
Julien Send email
 
Feb 27, 2012

Biggest mistake ordering from them

Ordered items on July 5th, 2011, large order, i have received only 2 items out of 6, I payed 300$ for shipping on 947$ order, and now the third item came even with COD and tax, item value is 79.95$, shipping 18$ and COD +tax 22$, so its together now 119.95$, i asked them if they have done international shipping if the item price for me goes up by 50%! i ordered HID kits too, which they were saying they will ship very fast, its 2 weeks now and they still are not even shipped out... Bug deflector they didnt have in stock so they said aprox estimated shipping date is August 5th. Im gone call tomorrow to the bank and will try to get part of my money, because this is not even funny!!! I left msg that i want to talk with manager, do you think somebody called me, of course not! This place is just $#*!hole, STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE!!!
CARiDcom Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

They essentially inflate the price, then discount to MSRP to appear as if you are getting a good deal

Dear valued customer,
We are sorry for the inconveniences you have experienced with our store. We are not able to locate your order based on information you provided in your review. Would you please comment leaving your order number or email it at community(at)carid(dot)com so that one of our CS supervisors could look up your order and find a satisfying solution for you. Thank you.

The CARiD Team
800.505.3274
[email protected]
[email protected]
Lobruzzo Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

They essentially inflate the price, then discount to MSRP to appear as if you are getting a good deal

First order, they took 2-3 months to ship a body kit they kept "promising" would ship. As "retribution" they offered a $25 gift certificate toward a future purchase. When I went to buy floor mats using this gift certificate, the code given didn't work. When I connected through their online chat, the sales representative contacted billing and they said they would honor the certificate on floor mats that said "usually ships within 24 hours" a few days later, still without an order confirmation email, I contacted sales again and they claimed that the order would ship in a week and that billing decided not to honor the gift certificate after all. This is after I was quoted a price, and after I gave my credit card information...

Also, their website claims the floor mats are 20% off; however, they are selling these mats at MSRP, which is fixed by the manufacturer, and they CANNOT change the pricing. They essentially inflate the price, then discount to MSRP to appear as if you are getting a good deal...

After the floor mats I WILL NEVER DO BUSINESS with CARID again.
CARiDcom Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

These guys really do not care about doing the right thing

Dear Online Shopper,

We sincerely apologize for this inconvenience with your order. Usually we have no problems like this. We will be more than happy to resolve this inconvenience for you and save you as a happy customer. Unfortunately we were not able to look up your order based on the info in your review, would you please provide your order number (seven digits starts with 2xxxxxx) so that I could investigate the situation and resolve the problem. My name is Henry and my e-mail address is - [email protected]
Thank you in advance. Have a good day!
--
Sincerely,

Henry Kanunik
Customer Service
[email protected]
Paxule Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

These guys really do not care about doing the right thing

I purchased a Bull Bar online for my Toyota FJ, pay for it and then I am advised there was a mistake on the website with pricing not the part number just pricing. The Rep admits the fault sends my an email confirming their mistake and honoring the purchase. Next thing I know I get a bunch of emails saying they are retracting their offer?????? Poorest customer service ever. Spend a little more and deal with a company that backs their business practises these guys really do not care about doing the right thing. My next step is BBB and a few other Government Agencies, people need to know absolute these guys.
CARiDcom Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Stay away from these crooks

Dear Valued Customer,

We greatly appreciate your business with us. I do apologize if you have inconveniences with this order. Please be assured that our first priority is providing you with the highest customer service and satisfaction possible. Usually we have no problems like this. I will do my best to resolve the issue with your item, but in order to do it I will need some more information from you. May I please ask you to send me your order confirmation number and last and first name to my direct e-mail address - [email protected] I will be able to find your order in our system and check all the notes and information.
Thank you for your time and patience with us. Have a good day!
--
Sincerely,
Henry Kanunik
Customer Service
[email protected]
Hosse Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Stay away from these crooks

Ordered a grill for a VW Jetta. It was the cheapest piece of junk! The body shop refused to install it. There was no access for the hood release. Because of the time involved to get an appointment with the body shop, I was 2 days past the 30 return policy and Carid refused to take the product back. I tried twice to deal with customer service and now I'm stuck with a POS. They told me to put it on ebay! Who would I want to stick with it? STAY AWAY from this company.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username