Submit a Complaint

Cell C

South Africa

Consumer complaints and reviews about Cell C

0781127837 Send email
 
Nov 17, 2020

Unfairly treated

I have sent my cell phone to be repaired,but instead they send back with the same problem. That cell it doesn't sence I cannot call or answer any calls.

And it is a contract phone

From
Nthabiseng Mulyata
Cellphone number is
0781127837
Charmaine Send email
 
Oct 16, 2015

unprofessional and treated unfairly

Kindly note that I am VERY disappointed in your service at the Cell C branch in Gallaria. I took out a contract with you on the 20/09/2015 which was the Huawei Router E5330 for R199.00 per month.
I used is for a day and a half and then the router did not wanted to connect at all. I took it back to the store and was told that it needed to be sent away. Bear in mind that the connection fee of R195.00 was paid and debited from my account. I was furious, why pay for something that I don’t have !!!! And you debited my account for R319.00 for something that I have not even had for 2 days.
I submitted a complaint via Hello Peter. Maropeng contacted me and explained the situation to him. He contacted Sandesh Ganpat your so called manager from the Gallaria store and Maropeng
advised me that everything is sorted and that they will give me a loan router… Sandesh will contact me that same day….. Well I did not received any phone call from Sandesh at all. I got a message on the 06-10-2015 that I must go pick up the router.
My Fiancé wanted to pick it up and then it was an issue as well. I was inconvenienced in the first place which was not my fault. I contacted Sandesh and confronted him as to why he did not had the decency to contact me ? I was told by him that he don’t have my contact number????? Now you tell me, how do I take out a contract with Cell C and you don’t have my number ???? Lies once again!!!!
I have reported this to the head office as well as I don’t feel that I have been treated fairly. This email was sent to you on the 13th and up until today once again shows me how unprofessional you are.
I am not leaving this as this is day light robbery
Marjou Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Phone barred

I know how you feel because I have a battle on with them in much the same manner. It feels like there is no customer service with them whatsoever! I feel like a criminal when I deal with them!
Taureros Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

BAD CUSTOMER CARE

Cell C internet coverage in the North East of Johannesburg sucks . Between 4 pm and 8.50pm, you connect but no internet access ??. I know that they share equipment with Vodacom . Is Vodacom choking the Cell C service to give Vodacom clients preference . Nothing more frustrating than trying to use the net and you simply get a no access message . Frustrated and pissed off .
Tracy Roberts1502 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

BAD CUSTOMER CARE

Extremely Bad Service - Cell C - Shop 84, Somerset Mall

On receiving my new Contract and LG KP500 Cell Phone at the end of May, I am still trying to be able to get connected to internet and send emails from this phone. When visting the Cell C shop, I was told by the Assistant (young lady) that I needed to go to Telkom to have the service activated - I went to telkom and they looked at me with a blank look on their faces and told me the Cell C consultant "was smoking her socks" she had never heard that a Cell C phone had to be activiated at Telkom for the email service. All I wanted to do was be able to read the emails on the phone. After spending over 1 hour in the Cell C shop again the young lady called the Cell C customer care centre and was talked through various steps...hence...guess what...still no access to email or internet by this Service Provider.

Not only do I think that the Cell C service provider is sub-standard, their Consultants need to be more trained and have more knowlege about their products and how services work.

I was also told that the contract would cost only R100.00 per month and have 100 Free Anytime Minutes, but now on querying my account, I apparently owe R236 and still have over 100 Free Minutes...very confused...and needless to say I cannot get hold of Cell C due to "high call volumes"...probably not for praising them!!!
ELIZABETH1234 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Legal department

I WAS BLACK LISTED BY CELL C UNDER PHOLOSA INVESTMENT, I PAID ALL MY BILLS AND THEY SENT ME A LETTER TO CONFIRM ME THAT AM NO LONGER BLACKLISTED. BUT WHEREVER I GO TO CHECK ON MY ITC, IT SHOWS THAT AM STILL BLACKLISTED. I'VE MISSED JOB OFFERS BECAUSE OF CELL C. I WANT TO CLEAR MY NAME. (I STILL HAVE THE PROOF OF PAYMENT AND THE LETTER FROM PHOLOSA WHICH WAS SENT TO ME) ELIZABETH - 0734791567
JCK9603 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Legal department

I ran a credit check on myself about a week ago. Turns out that I have been blacklisted by Cell C on an account that has been indeed settled in full on 18 August 2010. I still have a copy of my proof of settlement (and also confirmed this again with Select Online). I have been trying to get 8n tough with the legal department of Cell C for almost 48 hours now.. ...nobody answers the phones. I have left numerous messages with operators etc. Everybody just tells me that the leagl department will phone me back...NO results.

All I want to do is clear my name. I am stronly considdering leagl procedings against Cell C for wrongfully blacklisting me.
Tombern Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Phone barred

my cell c phone has been block for 4 month but every month stop order goes thru for the contract i have with them. have been to cell cl shop in savanna polokwane and and they say phone payments are up to date i just wonder how legal is it for c ell c do do this
Pushla Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Phone barred

In November 2011 was phone was barred for almost a week, with Cell C claiming that I owed them money. The matter was resolved but the same story is on again, just a different year! My phone is barred and Cell C is claiming that I owe them for 2 months and that they are going to hand me over to their lawyers. I do not owe Cell C any money as the last debit went through on the 1st of January 2012. I am so tired of fighting with Cell C, every month I have an issue with them.
Halalqa Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Unauthorised Charges

This same thing happened to me, I did everything "the voice"asked me to do.But unfortunately I was cutoff in the middle charging me about 50 Ethiopian Birr.
Charlene Wild Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Unauthorised Charges

I belong to ‘Dreamcall’ and pay for it everyday for months and months now.

I received an sms late afternoon and assumed it had to do with Dreamcall. I phoned Cell C and they said Dreamcall does not go through them and they gave me the telephone number of Dreamcall, which is 0841934567 to phone, but I kept getting a fast engaged signal each time and COULD NOT GET THROUGH????
The sms read: "Customer ID: 44497013 (which is my cell phone number through my Cell C Contract but without the 08 in front of it); and
Pin Code: 92854379
Balance: 10 000
Call +22720392040 to transfer ur winnings to a bank account.
Thx for playing with us.”

I phoned the number and a recorded American lady’s voice came on asking for my name, which I gave and then it said press #, which I did. I got as far as my Surname with pressing # after saying it, as I was asked to by the recorded voice and then I was cut off, as by phoning this number it took R87, 00 off my airtime, leaving me WITH NO AIRTIME AT ALL!

I’m a single parent and cannot afford this. As it is, I am looking for work in East London, South Africa and battling terribly since my temp job ended and I have a 17 year old son to look after and put through matric next year. I DEMAND a refund of the R87.00 for sending me an sms making it look as if I had won via DREAMCALL!

I hardly check my emails, so can someone from Cell C Dreamcall please phone me on 0844497013 (seen you take R1, 50 off my account daily) as I get sms’s from you daily and clarify with me what is going on. PLEASE phone me on my cell number and not via email, as I hardly check emails, because the computer is in my son’s bedroom.

Thank you
Charlene Wild
East London, South Africa
Tel: 084 449 7013 (Contract number with Cell C)
Charlene Wild Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Unauthorised Charges

I belong to ‘Dreamcall’ and pay for it everyday for months and months now.

I received an sms late afternoon and assumed it had to do with Dreamcall. I phoned Cell C and they said Dreamcall does not go through them and they gave me the telephone number of Dreamcall, which is 0841934567 to phone, but I kept getting a fast engaged signal each time and COULD NOT GET THROUGH????
The sms read: "Customer ID: 44497013 (which is my cell phone number through my Cell C Contract but without the 08 in front of it); and
Pin Code: 92854379
Balance: 10 000
Call +22720392040 to transfer ur winnings to a bank account.
Thx for playing with us.”

I phoned the number and a recorded American lady’s voice came on asking for my name, which I gave and then it said press #, which I did. I got as far as my Surname with pressing # after saying it, as I was asked to by the recorded voice and then I was cut off, as by phoning this number it took R87, 00 off my airtime, leaving me WITH NO AIRTIME AT ALL!

I’m a single parent and cannot afford this. As it is, I am looking for work in East London, South Africa and battling terribly since my temp job ended and I have a 17 year old son to look after and put through matric next year. I DEMAND a refund of the R87.00 for sending me an sms making it look as if I had won via DREAMCALL!

I hardly check my emails, so can someone from Cell C Dreamcall please phone me on 0844497013 (seen you take R1, 50 off my account daily) as I get sms’s from you daily and clarify with me what is going on. PLEASE phone me on my cell number and not via email, as I hardly check emails, because the computer is in my son’s bedroom.

Thank you
Charlene Wild
East London, South Africa
Tel: 084 449 7013 (Contract number with Cell C)
Riaan Klopper Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Unauthorised Charges

Cell C in South Africa ran a "Dream Call" Competition that ended in May.

I have been receiving SMS' s every day since - announcing the so-called "winners"
The problem is that I'm being charged R1.50 EVERY time I receive this sms.

How can I be charged DAILY for a competition that ended in May?

This is proposterous, and could definitely be constituted as fraud.

I demand that my account be credited with the Airtime they took fraudulently.

R.Klopper
A Marysse Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

patetiese diens

Aan wie dit mag aangaan,
My klagte gaan oor die nuwe "diens"genaamd GET IT. 'n Telefoonverkoper dame het my geskakel met baie rooskleurige verhaal oor al die voordele wat ek kan kry as ek by GET IT inskakel. Heel aan die einde van die gesprek het sy genoem dat dit R39.00 per maand sal kos. Voor ek nog mooi kan dink oor die saak het sy afgelui. Ek het spoedig 'n SMS ontvang waarin bevestig is dat ek nou deel is van die transaksie met GET IT. Die e-pos adres wat genoem is as verwysing is afgekeur, so ek het dadelik die selnommer van die versender gebel. Die dame wat antwoord sê toe dat die betrokke persoon nie nou daar is nie, maar ek kan met haar praat. Ek het toe verduidelik dat ons graag wil kanselleer, want ons het nadat ons dit oordink het besluit om nie van hierdie diens gebruik te maak nie, waarop sy gesê het sy sal dit reel met die betrokke dame. Ongelukkig het ek nie die naam of die kontaknommer van die konsultant gehou nie, aangesien ek die saak as afgehandel en gekanselleer beskou het. Hierdie maand is die bedrag van R34.21 x 2 by ons rekening gevoeg. Graag verneem ek hoe ek die kansellasie van GET IT kan afhandel?
Dankie
A> MARYSSE
Carla Fourie Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

patetiese diens

HEIL DIE LESER 18/11/2011


AANGAANDE: PATETIESE DIENSLEWERING
CELL C NEWPARK KIMBERLEY


EK WIL NET ASSEBLIEF HIER SE EK IS NIE 'N MENS WAT OOIT SOMMER OOR IETS SAL KLA NIE, MAAR SELFS EK HET DIE PUNT BEREIK DAT EK VOEL HIERDIE IS NODIG.

Op 26 Augustus 2011 het ek na Cell c Newpark Kimberley gegaan om my kontrak, controle chat 100 op te gradeer. My kontrak nommer is 0822908635. Ek kon nie op die kontrak wat ek toe gehad het 'n blackberry kry nie en het toe my kontrak ook OPGRADEER van R100-00 PER maand na R150-00 per maand. Dit gedoen het ek besluit op 'n blackberry curve. 2 dae later terwyl ek probeer om 'n abb af te laai gooi die skerm ewe skielik net 'n swart skermpie uit met 'n klein wit blokkie in die middel wat se ERROR. My pa Hannes Fourie vat toe die foon terug na Cell c en vra hulle moet my bel, want ek wil nie die foon hê nie as gevolg van die error, aangesien ek nie kon af kry by my werk nie. Hulle vervang toe DIE foon.

In my skik met my nuwe blackberry curve. Op 14 September gooi die blackberry se screen weer 'n blokkie uit. Software update! Ek was moedeloos. Terug na Cell c.
Hulle se toe my foon moet weggestuur word want hulle kan nie die update hier in kimberley doen nie. Ek vra toe hoe lank dit sal neem, want damm my foon is my lifeline. Nee mevrou so 2 weke op die meeste. Op 16 september 2011 is die foon toe weggestuur na Johannesburg na cell c repairs afdeling. Hulle sê toe hulle sal my laat weet sodra my foon terug is en ek hom kan kom haal. 3 weke gaan verby en ek hoor niks van cell c. Op vrydag middag 7 oktober gaan ek om navraag te doen, want hulle het gesê 2 weke of korter. Niemand het my nog gebel of enige iets nie.

Die foon was toe klaarblyklik al op 26 september terug! Ek vat die foon sit hom aan om te kyk of als reg werk. My software wat my foon opgehad het was 4.2.1 of so iets...en hy was weg gestuur vir 'n software update. Net dieselfde sofware is weer van voor af opgelaai. Die foon was so stadig, dit het 2 ure gevat wat ek daar gestaan het net om my 102 emails wat ek ONTVANG het in die tyd dat ek nie 'n foon gehad het te download, whats app wou glad nie aflaai op die foon nie, skerm gooi toe uit internal server error ewe skielik terwyl ek nog in die winkel is. Ek Sê toe vir Deon ek wil nie die foon terug hê nie. Hy is nie geupdate soos daar vir my gesê is nie en sy skerm gooi die error kort kort uit. Ek vra vir Deon as ek 'n ander foon kies, watter Nokia foon het dieselfde funksies as die foon wat ek gehad het en watter Nokia foon sal ek kan kry volgens my kontrak. Deon wys toe vir my net die Nokia E5.

Hy se toe ek moet nou maar die foon vat want Carrol (bestuurderes) is nie daar wat die besluite kan neem nie. AANGESIEN DAAR TOE NIE VIR MY 'N ANDER KEUSE GELAAT IS NIE, IS EK DAAR WEG HUIS TOE met die foon. Ek sê toe ek gaan my pa stuur maandag met die foon want ek werk en kan nie af kry nie. Maandag oggend 10 OKTOBER is my pa terug met my foon. Hy gee toe die foon vir hulle terug en lig vir Peter May in 'n ander foon sal welkom wees maar nie weer 'n blackberry nie. Peter May sê toe vir my pa Carrol sal my bel. Ek wag en wag en ontvang geen oproep nie. Op 14 oktober is ek weer terug by cell c. Ek het 'n brief getik waarin ek my kontrakte kanselleer weens swak diens. Peter May lig my in as ek die kontrakte kanselleer gaan daar nog die res van hierdie kontrak se kostes wees wat ek sal moet betaal. Ek wil weer met Carrol praat. Sy is weer nie beskikbaar nie. Peter se hy sal kyk wat hy kan doen. EK vra ASB PETER HELP MY EK MOET 'N FOON Hè! Hy sê hy sal met Carrol praat, 'n email ter motivering stuur en die brief na Carrol faks om te sê hoe ernstig ek is en sê Carrol moet my bel. Hy sê ook vir my hy sal voor die einde van die dag vir my bel met 3 moontlike vervangings opsies op my foon. Ek het nou nog 'n oproep van hom of Carrol ontvang soos hy gesê het hy en sy sal.

My pa gaan cell c toe om navraag te doen en vir Carrol te spreek. SY IS NIE BESKIKBAAR NIE. Peter kan nie besluite neem nie. Ek raak desperaat en raadop. EK betaal vir 'n produk wat ek nie het nie. Saterdag 29 Oktober gaan ek weer terug na cell c. RAADOP, DESPERAAT VIR HULP EN DIENS!! Carrol is weer nie daar dat ek met haar kan praat en ek is nog steeds nie gebel deur haar nie. Ek sê ek gaan hulle aan gee by die verbruikersraad vir swak dienslewering. Ek kom huis toe le 'n klag teen cell c op die internet by Hellopeter.com. Maandag oggend 31 oktober 2011 bel Victor Mooi van cell c klientediens my. Ek vertel my hele storie aan hom. Hy bel my drie keer op dieselfde dag. Met die 3de oproep vra hy vir my watter foon ek wil hê want hulle gaan my foon vervang. Ek se ek is seker dit was die Nokia E5 waarna ek gekyk het. Hy lig my in Rhahaba sal my bel. Ek wag vir haar oproep, maar dit gebeur nie. Hy bel my toe weer die volgende dag nadat ek vir hom 'n email gestuur het om te vra nou wat nou. Hy VRA VIR MY HET Rhahaba my nog nie gebel nie. Ek sê nee. Rukkie later bel sy my met 'n houding. WIL MY NET INLIG DAT HULLE NIE VOORRAAD HET VAN DIE NOKIA E5 NIE MAAR HULLE STUUR VIR MY 'N NOKIA C3. EK SE TOE VIR HAAR DIS NIE EERS 'N SMARTFOON NIE, WANT EK HET GELUKKIG DIE VORIGE DAG OP GOOGLE NA DIE NOKIA FONE GAAN KYK. EK SE TOE EK WIL NIE DIE FOON HE NIE...EK WIL 'N NOKIA E5 HE. Ek gaan die vrydag weer hier na Peter by cell c kimberley en wragtig het hulle vir my 'n NODIA C3 IN PLAAS VAN 'N NOKIA E5 GESTUUR. Selfs Peter May by cell c kimberley dink dis belaglik. Hy sê toe vir my sy hande is afgekap. Ek stuur toe weer 'n email na Victor Mooi by cell c klientediens. Toe hy my terug skakel sê hy net hy verstaan my probleem maar Rhahaba sal my bel. Sy bel my maandag 14 November 2011 en sê aangesien hulle nie voorraad het van die Nokia E5 nie, gaan hulle vir my 'n blackberry curve stuur. EK VRA TOE AS HULLE DIE FOON VIR MY STUUR WANNEER SAL DIT WEES. NEE MEVROU VOLGENDE WEEK. EK Sê TOE DIS ONAANVAARBAAR. EK IS AL AMPER 2 MAANDE SONDER my FOON.

Intussen het my pa ook besluit om 'n Nokia E5 foon te vat met sy upgrade en Peter het vir hom gesê enige tyd van 16 November 2011 kan hy sy Nokia E5 kom haal. Toe my pa daar kom op 17 November sê Peter vir hom ook hulle het nie voorraad nie. My pa kanselleer toe daar en dan sy kontrak (0845000077) met cell c kimberley New Park, hy kry die bewys dat hy sy kontrak gekanselleer het en stap net oor na cell c Northcape mall. Hy wou net gaan vra het hulle nie dalk so foon nie. Ja se die dame daar vir hom... meneer ons het 3 nokia E5 fone. Sy het nie my pa geken nie maar iemand daar het want Carrol bestuur al 2 die winkels. My pa vra toe mag hy asb die foon sien... ja sê sy. Ewe skielik na 'n ruk wat sy toe wegbly kom sy terug en sê...jammer meneer Fourie maar al 3 die Nokia E5 fone is net gister uitverkoop. Ek het nie geweet nie sê sy want ek was nie gister aan diens nie.

GISTER MIDDAG 18 November gaan ek weer na cell c Newpark. Ek sê vir Peter daar hoe is dit moontlik dat hulle vir my sê hulle het nie voorraad van die Nokia E5 NIE EN by NORTHCAPE MALL was daar 3 fone tot gister. Hy sê vir my dis uit sy hande uit...ek moet met Rhahaba praat. Ek gee vir hom 'n afskrif van die verbruikerswet wat ek van die internet getrek het en sê vir hom ek EIS 'n foon voor 17h00, of ek gaan 'n klag indien teen hulle vir swak diens. 10 minute later bel hy my en sê weer vir my Rhahaba gaan my bel. Ek lig hom in dat ek nie enigsens belangstel om oproepe van haar te ontvang nie. Al oproep wat ek sal ontvang van hulle verder is om my in te lig dat ek my foon moet kom haal. Sy bel my weer met 'n houding. TOE EK MET HAAR AFRIKAANS WIL PRAAT, SE SY VIR MY in engels SY KAN NIE afrikaans VERSTAAN NIE...OP DAARDIE OOMBLIK WAS EK TE KWAAD OM ENIGSINS MYSELF IN ENGELS TE KAN UITDRUK. EK SE TOE in engels vir haar SY MOET DAN ASB VIR MY IEMAND GEE OM MEE TE PRAAT WAT AFRIKAANS KAN PRAAT en verstaan. EK SE TOE OOK VIR HAAR IN AFRIKAANS DAT EK HIERDIE KLAG TEEN CELL C GAAN INDIEN. SY WOU MY NIE DEURSIT NA IEMAND WAT AFRIKAANS KAN PRAAT NIE en het vir my gesê ek moet engels met haar praat anders is dit so goed soos ek praat nie met haar nie...TOE DRUK EK DIE FOON NEER.

AL WAT EK VRA IS ASB HELP MY? EK WIL NET MY KONTRAK BY cell c kimberley KANSELLEER SODAT EK 'n nuwe kontrak iewers anders kan gaan uitneem of dan die foon van my keuse asseblief he waarvoor ek nou in elk geval betaal en nie het nie!
Ek moet 'n ordentlike foon kry so gou as moontlik aangesien ek 'n geskeide dame is wat alleen woon en MY FOON IS MY LIFELINE! ASSEBLIEF HELP MY EK IS RAADOP, TELEURGESTEL EN DESPERAAT!!


BAIE DANKIE BY VOORBAAT VIR U HULP.

Die uwe

CARLA FOURIE

0822908635
Stargazers80 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Contract Cancellation

I will NEVER EVER have any dealings or recommend any dealings with Cell C. I have never has such an issue to cancel a contract as i do with them. My contract expired end Aug 2011, i put in my month's notice. Just to be double billed end September. When i enquired about this they said i had an upgrade (which i didn't). I was asked 3 times to submit termination notices, which i don't understand as the store had my first originals in hand (which they showed me) so i submitted a complaint on hello peter, two days later they told me it's sorted that i won't be billed further, just to get an email a day later to say i'll be billed till end November2011. When i enquired about THIS they indicated that my contract now only expires 12 December and i must provide proof that my contract expired end Aug. I have been given the run around and everytime land up back at the call center with another unwilling person not sorting out my problem. I even tried going through the HQ in Jhb but the unhelpful woman there just puts me back in the loop for the call center. I am disgusted with the level of customer service received from Cell C!!
Pikkie Langenhoven Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Contract Cancellation

I have been trying to cancel my contract with Cell C now for more than two, almost three years. I have faxed cancellation letters to them which they deny. I phoned Cell C once more on the 21October 2006 and spoke to a lady with the name Lindiwe. Then I spoke to Busisiwe. They gave me a Ref no. The no was ref:1522304. I called again on the 18th of July 2007. I phoned again on the 13th of February 2008. I spoke to Zandile. She gave the phone to the supervisor. Her name was Nikiwe. All of them telling me that I have not submitted a cancellation letter or fax.
Today is 16 February 2009 and I am still paying a monthly subscription for a phone that I have not been using for a very very long time. I am talking about much more than R 4000.00
This is absolutely ridicilous. I have faxed and e-mailed them today for the very very last time !
Cell C...Never again !!!
My next step now will be to hand them over. I should have done this a long time ago.
My contact no, 083 227 5029

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username