Submit a Complaint

cell phone

United States,
Minnesota

Consumer complaints and reviews about cell phone

Meylyn007 Send email
 
Jan 20, 2017

CALLA FROM SOMALIA!!!!!!!

I didn't answer, but just astonished to know that +252 is from SOMALIA.

The number was 634183763

I'll block it. I am so sorry for that country using VOIP numbers.
sdfjr Send email
 
Dec 2, 2014

Somalia call on my cell

I have been getting calls from 252615449547, 252 is the country code for Somalia. I will not answer calls from other countries. They never leave a message. I have started cancelling calls as they come in and they just call again. I want this to stop, now!
Doctor Snuggles Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Calls from Somalia

Since, I've installed iBlacklist on my iPhone ( check my comments above) I have not been bothered by the Somalis. I've recently checked my iBlacklist history and they have been trying to call me several times, but since I've adjusted iBlacklist for that number to get a busy signal each time they try to call me, I assume, they believe my phone has been disconnected and for about 3 weeks now, there is no attempt to call my number from the blacklisted Somali number. So seem to work out for me. Another problem occured though yesterday. Got a call from Portland Oregon number 503.201.7030 with an automated computerized voice claiming, that I've won a cruise to the Bahamas. Hung instantly up and put the number on iBlacklist. Googled it and that is another scam or better phishing attempt to get personal details ... but this is another threat.
Uberrob Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Calls from Somalia

I just read Egal's post up above about Somalia's using VoIP routing and getting incorrect numbers.that actually makes a lot of sense.

Btw, I posted a blog article about my experiences here:

http://uberrob.tumblr.com/post/14896876464/apparently-the-entire-country-of-somalia-is-crank

I included MP3s of several of the calls. Have a listen and see if the voices sound familiar.
Uberrob Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Calls from Somalia

This has been going on with me for about a year now. I have an android phone and have been dealing with it by loading Extreme Call Blocker. However, whoever is calling just keeps changing their number and getting through the block. (I've recently been using the new ECB feature of auto-answering with a high pitched squeal just for s**ts and giggles. ;)

When I let some leave a voice mail, the voice is:
- in Somali or Arabic
- male
- often frantic and/or pissed off (see my "auto-answering with squeal" above
- the same person every time. For a year. From different numbers.
- I hear children in the background

On a few occasions I have tried to call, 90% of the time it has resulted in continual ringing with no answer. On the 10% where someone answered, or if I answered the phone myself, the man on the other end of the line got increasingly agitated that I didn't speak the language, and started to scream at me louder in Samali or Arabic. (Kinda like American tourists in, say, France :) )

While these were amusing calls in the beginning, the fact that they are increasing in frequency, the numbers are changing, AND its the same person has started to get me more and more concerned...
Doctor Snuggles Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Calls from Somalia

Here a helpful link: http://techpp.com/2010/07/10/how-to-block-phone-number-free/
As I do have an iPhone jailbroken & unlocked with Cydia, I went ahead and installed iBlacklist (optionalwise Mcleaner). You may get Blacklist from iTunes. For all other smartphones read the link provided. It'll give you the right App to install on your phone. iBlacklist worked for me out well. Adjusted it, so that the Somalia guy is getting a busy signal each time he/she tries to call me. Ever since, peace and quietness for me!
Doctor Snuggles Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Calls from Somalia

Just started here in Chicago/USA, too. Phone calls all over the Thanksgiving weekend from the same +252 number. Used Skype to call the number +252618213000 back. Cost me US$ 0.80 for 39 seconds, which is for Skype very expensive, considering that landline numbers over Skype usually cost US$ 0.02 per minute to most countries around the world. Was recently in London/UK on business and am familiar with those Nigarian Paypal scams over gumtree.com (which is our US craigslist). Starting not to feel so sorry for those people in those 3rd world countries.
Rocket Captain Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Calls from Somalia

It's started here too. In India. Random calls from Somalia. And now from Sierras Leone too. I don't answer them and keep my phone on silent at nights.
Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Calls from Somalia

For the past week my boyfriend has been receiving unwanted calls from the # 252 907 89126. We traced the # to Somalia.

The phone rings and sometimes you can hear someone and sometimes they just hang up. If you try to call it back, it just rings and hangs up. Yesterday he received 40 calls, during all times of the day and night.

We have T-mobile and they won't do anything. The police won't do anything. The only option is to change the number and he doesn't want to do that as he has had this number for 8 years. Can anything else be done?
Egal Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Calls from Somalia

heyy guys im from somalia, the same problem happened to me. i tried to call one of my friends in WAshington state..and every time i call him a lady in somalia answers it. i was like what is going on, and kept saying she is in somalia. i started researching about the problem. i finally noticed that somali business people uses VOIP numbers, which belongs to USA. VOIP has call forwarding, and since the VOIP belongs to US companies it is possible to forward calls to US numbers without them getting your number. they think they are calling local somali number but are not..and that is caused by some technical problems VOIP (voice Over the Internet Protocol).

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username